Idea Cellular Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Oct 7, 2025
Complaints 16717

File a complaint to Idea Cellular

Having problems with Idea Cellular?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Idea Cellular customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Idea Cellular reviews & complaints page 183

Tanvi Suryawanshi
from Savantvadi, Maharashtra
Jul 27, 2018

I have been using idea postpaid since 7 months and I wished to port to prepaid.So I approached one of the nearest service center to do so but they declined and asked me to come during my billing period cycle.So the next month I went there and asked to do the same but they declined it again giving false reasons but I was adamant so I told them to do it right now.
So the processing was almost done they told me you will receive 2 confirmation calls which you have to answer.Like said I got a call which was not even a call, yes, it was a missed call and now they're telling me we can't port your SIM as you haven't received our calls(call)
This was pathetic.You ### show how dedicated you guys are towards your fellow customers in the crores of money you spend on your ads but not even 10% is true.Total total ###.I have decided to personally to n meet the manager over there and stop this ### going in the name of service.Pathetic.
Sep 22, 2018
Idea Cellular customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Aug 20, 2018
Idea Cellular Customer Care's response
Dear customer,

Apologies for the inconvenience caused and delay in responding to your concern. Kindly share your idea contact number in which the issue is persisting in order to assist you further. 

Prajakta

Dev.palak
    from Unnao, Uttar Pradesh
    Jul 27, 2018

Address: Chandigarh, Punjab, 160015

Some person claiming to be advocate siddhath mehra and another lady claiming to be police official manjeet kaur have been harassing me in the name of recovery of my idea bill wherein the bill is paid and number is deactivated...
    They are abusing me for committing fraud and shouting and passing personal comments... Why the hell your company cannot even protect the privacy of its customers?? Useless service and crappy people you hire for recovery...
    ‭+[protected]‬
    These are the few no’s out of 10-12 different numbers they called me from...
    If this is not going to stop, i will file a pil in court dragging the entire idea company for leaking out the personal details and alternative no. S of its customers to play fraud on them and generate undue income... Make sure something is done against these callers...
    Sep 22, 2018
    Aug 21, 2018

Apologies for the inconvenience caused and delay in responding to your concern. Kindly share your alternate number so that we can assist you further.

Neha

rananidhi
      Jul 26, 2018

My mobile phone is stolen today. I want to block my idea sim card with phone no.[protected]. I tried to call on my number with other handsets. But the number is already switched off. I also don't have imei number of hand sets. Please block the sim card for idea number [protected] immediately. So that misuse of this number can be prevented. Thanks.
      Sep 27, 2018
      Aug 27, 2018

Apologies for the inconvenience caused and delay in responding to your concern. Kindly share your alternate number in order to assist you further.  

Prajakta

Vivek rocks
        from Nilokheri, Haryana
        Jul 26, 2018

My phone number is [protected].in this number i recharged of rupees 449 in which i recieved 4g/3g speed. But the net is not working for two days. The speed of the net is 2g. And i am not able to recieve the incoming calls and make the outgoing calls also. This has been for two days. Please overcome this problem so that i will be happy to use. Thanking you.
        Sep 21, 2018
        Jul 26, 2018
        Updated by Vivek rocks
        My net is not working for two days. And also I am not making calls also. So please overcome the problem.
        Aug 21, 2018

Apologies for the inconvenience caused and delay in responding to your concern. We tried reaching out to you in different time slots. Seems you were occupied today. What would be a convenient time to connect with you. Let us know & we'll be happy to assist.

Neha

Ashish Singh Payal
          Jul 26, 2018

I'm facing week network issue from 23/7/18 and i explain my complaint to the cce. But my problem remain same on 25/7/18. Today i again explain same issue to the cce but he told me that their is technical issue that will be resolve at about 4 hours. And same issue i felt last month when idea network merge with vodafone. Idea provides very poor network strength.
          Sep 22, 2018
          Aug 21, 2018

As per recent communication, you've confirmed that your concern with regards to network issue has been resolved.

Neha

Kalakonda Shiva
            Jul 26, 2018

Address: Hyderabad, Telangana

26/07/2018
            Hyderabad
            Hi sir,
            Am lost my so i have replaced my sim on[protected]. But idea show room employee will not give 'sim replace acknowledgement letter'. I need that letter to claim my mobile insurance
            M. A sohil (The employee of idea show room kothapet hyderabad) will not take my request.
            Please take my complaint. I want sim replacement acknowledgement immidiatly.

Regardings
            K. Shivakrishna
            Jul 26, 2018
            Updated by Kalakonda Shiva
            Am very disappointed
            Jul 26, 2018
            Updated by Kalakonda Shiva
            If the complaint not solve, me, my family, friends will change the network (idea to another network)

Madhukar Pillay
              Jul 26, 2018

Address: 560037

I applied for a new post paid connection and paid a security deposit of 500 to the idea executive. My post paid connection was canceled due to address proof issue. Trying to contact the idea executive but to no avail. .
              Cotact No. [protected], executive name Mohan, also another lady called, her contact no is [protected].

Please be carefull whilw taking idea post paid connection as i think idea cellular is duping customers.

My applied idea no is [protected]
              Called idea customer care, visited idea store but no use.
              Sep 22, 2018
              Aug 21, 2018

As per recent communication, you've confirmed that your concern with regards to refund issue has been resolved.

Neha

santosh.h
                Jul 26, 2018

Actually i dont have interest to go idea from airtel network since airtel network is better in everywhere, but idea dealer called me and asked to change network, i told them strictly i dont want to go switch to any network, but they forced me like our network is good in anywhere and i told them to come and check network speed and data speed, they sent newly joined person, he doest know anything about check network etc. And he told me that send port request and give port number, and i have given and he taken document and gone, i told them dont change network until show speed network and data speed and he agreed and went, after 3days i am seeing network changed from airtel to idea.

In my company i am facing so much problem since so many customer were calling but could not be able to connect, due to this horrible network issue i am losing business.
                Sep 21, 2018
                Aug 21, 2018

Apologies for the inconvenience caused and delay in responding to your concern. As per our records, the complaint has been raised for your network & data service concern and the resolution has been communicated to you that we are trying our best to enhance the network coverage in your region. Also, we would appreciate if you could bear with us while we strengthen the network and improve our services.

Neha

Rutvik83
                  Jul 25, 2018

Address: 382330

I want only incoming call detail on 9th may. I called customercare, but they say as you have prepaid we cant give you incoming details. Thus they denied to give. But on that day my one incoming call was so important. I want it at any cost.
                  I have tried all things. Its really important to me. Its about my brother.
                  I want only one number of that day. N nothing.

Day: 9th may, 2018 between 6pm to 9 pm
                  My idea prepaid no. :[protected]
                  Email: rutvik. [protected]@gmail.com
                  Sep 27, 2018
                  Aug 27, 2018

As per our recent communication, you have confirmed that your concern has been resolved regarding call details, hence this case is closed.

Prajakta

Alok Basera
                    from Sonipat, Haryana
                    Jul 25, 2018

Address: Gurgaon, Haryana, 122001

Got a call fm idea inquiring about network pblms. I told the lady there r network issue after i changed over to 4 g. Network gets lost internmently. I said it will b better if i port out. Upon this she said i[censored] want to port out then don't complain and port out. I chatted with customer care but they say they hav reg the complainant but even after 4 days and 3 chats i m at square one. This is the way they are treating their customers. Non responsiveness fm the company proves that they openly endorsed this attitude
                    Sep 24, 2018
                    Aug 21, 2018

Apologies for the inconvenience caused and delay in responding to your concern. We tried reaching out to you in different time slots. Seems you were occupied today. What would be a convenient time to connect with you. Let us know & we'll be happy to assist.

Neha

X
                      Xiz
                      from Kalanwali, Haryana
                      Jul 25, 2018

Address: Ludhiana, Punjab

I have not requested for any promo offer service, but on june 18, 2018 i got a message from iz-idea about the activation of promo offer on my sim card against communication id c[protected]. This service nirvana 999 has costed me a lot. I even contacted the customer care but they did not solved my problem. Please deal with it as soon as possible.
                      Sep 29, 2018
                      Aug 27, 2018

As per our recent communication, you have confirmed that you have not reaise any complaint reharding promo offer service, hence this case is closed.

Prajakta

Rishabh Deshpande
                        Jul 25, 2018

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 411027

I have received a legal notice via email from,
                        Kirti patki advocate pinnac memorise, kothrud, pune - 411038, stating that i have outstanding amount due for the mobile no which was already closed before 3 years. I already have closed email request (If account is closed how the amount will be outstanding?). This is mere harassment and i am thinking to file a complaint in consumer court.

Kirti patki

Advocate

Pinnac memorise,

Kothrud,

Pune - 411038

Legal notice

Dear madam/ sir,

In re: notice for recovery of outstanding dues rs.244.65/-in respect of account no. “” and mob. No. “”.

Under instructions and on behalf of my client idea cellular limited, a telecom company registered under the companies act and having its corporate office at idea cellular limited, worli, mumbai – 400098 and one of its circle office at idea cellular ltd, sharada center, 11/1 erandwane, karve road pune - 411004, we hereby serve upon you the following legal notice.

My client is engaged in the business of providing cellular mobile telephone services inter - alia in the maharashtra circle service area by virtue of license granted by department of telecommunication, ministry of communication and government of india.

My clients state that you have subscribed for a mobile phone connection and it was sanctioned to you on your submission of customer application form and other related forms/documents ("caf" hereinafter) to my client and theaforesaid mobile phone connection and account no. Allotted to you. You have availed and enjoyed best of the service/s provided by my client after activation of the said mobile phone connection.

As per the terms of the subscription, you were under an obligation inter - alia to make payments of the periodic bills raised upon you in respect of services availed by you. However, in spite of the receipt of the said bills from my client, you have grossly failed to make the said payments. As a result a sum of rs.244.65/-is due and payable by you to my client, as on date. Due to the failure on your part in payment of the said due amount, my client had suffered financial loss and was compelled to suspend/disconnect your aforesaid mobile phone connection.

I, therefore, call upon you on behalf my client to pay the said outstanding amount as mentioned above within the three (3) days of the receipt of this notice failing which i have definite instructions from my client to initiate appropriate legal proceedings, criminal as well as civil, against you at your absolute costs, risk and consequences. Without prejudice to the legal rights and contentions of our client, if in case you have any question on the above point, you may contact one of the officer named amol contact no. [protected].

In case, you have already made the requisite payments before receipt of this notice, please ignore this notice and else treat this mail as final call before initiating court proceedings.

To pay bill for inactive idea number or idea number ported to other operator.

https://care.ideacellular.com/wps/portal/account/disconnected-number
                        Sep 21, 2018
                        Aug 21, 2018

Apologies for the inconvenience caused and delay in responding to your concern. Kindly share your idea number in which the issue is persisting along with alternate number so that we can assist you further.

Neha

Akhila J S
                          Jul 25, 2018

Address: Kollam, Kerala

Hi sir/madam,

I got a message from idea regarding rs 149 special offer includes unlimited calls 1gb data per day. I had been recharged on 18/07/2018 for rs.149/- but now the data pack is over, i have complained the concern department, one of the idea customer care executive told that the offer includes only 1gb for 28 days, but i have received the message is 1gb per day for 28 days.
                          Strict action should be taken and each thing should be told to the customer about the limits or hidden things not mentioned in the pack when we recharge.

Akhila j s

I travelled from India to Dubai 10 days ago and since then my Idea sim is not taking any network. I tried to connect network both automatically and manually. It is still the same.

Phone number : [protected]

Please let me know how to solve this issue.
                          Call and sms detail

My number is [protected]
                          I need my idea call detail for last 2 montsh please send to my mail id all in comming and outgoing telephone number also need. my e-mail id - [protected]@gmail.com
                          Idea Cellular Customer Care's response, Aug 27, 2018

Apologies for the inconvenience caused. Kindly share your idea contact number in which the issue is persisting in order to assist you further.   

Prajakta

Moosakutty M
                            from Mahe, Kerala
                            Jul 24, 2018

I have been experiencing very low-speed internet and out of range issue at kannamangalam, vengara, malappuram, kerala - 676304.

Many customers (More than 50) are informed about this issue to the company by calling 198 and they registered the complaint. But no benefit. Last 3 months people are suffering this problem, some are ported their number to another operator.
                            The 4g speed that i see on my mobile at this location is 0.8 mbps. Is this even called a 4g? It's 2g. They are just cheating the customers.

Pls, take this problem as serious..
                            Sep 11, 2018
                            Aug 11, 2018

As per recent communication, kindly visit to the nearest my idea store to check the status of sim or to exchange the same for mentioned number. Refer to the link to know about the nearest idea store https://www.ideacellular.com/customer-care/need-help/locate-idea-store?cid=kerala

Neha
                            Network in my location is very worst
                            Idea Cellular Customer Care's response, Aug 11, 2018

Apologies for the inconvenience caused and delay in responding to your concern. Kindly share your idea and alternate contact number so that we can assist you further.

Neha
                            Outgoing call details ...and incoming call details
                            Šhêhbäź Šhèîkh's reply, Jul 19, 2018
                            incoming call and outgoing call

Apologies for delay in responding to your concern. We would like to inform you, that to get the call details for the Idea contact number you can mark an e-mail on [email protected] or else you can send a SMS to get the invoice with the complete details that is for EBILL- EBILL<space>MONTH e.g: EBILL<space>JAN and send it to 12345. If in case your e-mail id is not registered with us we request you to first register your e-mail id by following these steps i.e. send EMAILID<space>e-mail address to 12345. For example EMAILID<space>[email protected]. Also, you can register your e-mail id via My Idea App/ Web. However, we are sorry to inform you that we'll be unable to provide you the incoming call details. As only chargeable transactions can be tracked by the operators. Also, you can check your outgoing call, SMS details & account related information in My Idea Application or Website. 

Neha

mpvuma
                              Jul 24, 2018

Address: 560064

Sir, An amour of Rs 398/ through PHONEPAY Transaction ID Ref No. N[protected] dt 21 Jul 18 and Rs 449/ through PAYTM Operator Ref No. AP[protected] dt 22 Jul 18, has been wrongly recharged mobile No.[protected]. My Correct Mobile No. is Idea [protected](R) [protected]. It is requested to Kindly help favorably to transfer said amount on my correct given number [protected] please. Thanks.
                              Sep 15, 2018
                              Aug 11, 2018

As per recent communication, we won't be able to refund the recharged amount as requested from your end. The best possible resolution has been shared with you. If there is anything else apart from this you can always write back to us or contact us at 198 or 12345.

Neha
                              Currently holding a SIM of maharashtra and goa not getting mobile data in roaming...no network in local area as well

Apologies for the inconvenience caused and delay in responding to your concern. Kindly share your idea and alternate contact number so that we can assist you further.

Neha

Prasad_Joshi
                                Jul 24, 2018

Address: 411057

I have been experiencing very low speed internet at blue ridge, hinjewadi, pune.

Inspite of several complaints done to the service provider they are not resolving the issue.

The 4g speed that i see in my mobile at this location is 0.01 mbps. Is this even called a 4g? It's 2g. They are just cheating the customers.

Trai should ask these service providers to pay fine and return customers money if quality of service is not met.

I am fed up and with shame i keep on calling/complaining the idea customer care.

Kindly help me to resolve this issue or tell me the process to take action against such providers.

I have history of all the speed test done at this location. I might have submitted more than 100 speed test report in trai speed test app.
                                Sep 13, 2018
                                Aug 11, 2018

As per our recent communication, please be informed that your concern has been raised under ref. no.[protected] which is expected to be closed by 17/08/18. Your patience & cooperation while we work on this, is much appreciated.

Neha
                                Without resolving the issue, my ticket was closed from Idea customer care. I had to re-open my ticket.

But after reopening the ticket I received a different ticket number and the resolution time is again extended.

My actual resolution date was 17th of August and after reopening the ticket, resolution date is extended to 20th of August.

My question is, who had asked the agent to close the ticket without resolving the issue?
                                Why an extension of date when the same ticket is re-opened? Idea is just trying to fool the customer by closing the ticket and reporting it.
                                Idea Cellular Customer Care's response, Aug 21, 2018

Apologies for the inconvenience caused and delay in responding to your concern. Kindly share your idea contact number in which the issue is persisting in order to assist you further. 

Prajakta

jageshtiwari
                                  Jul 24, 2018

Address: Shimla, Himachal Pradesh, 171002

I got fake call on behalf of sbi bank (Shimla, main branch) on yesterday (20 july 2018) at 2.49-3.02 pm from unknown mobile no.[protected]Said name: divyanshu bhardwaj, sbi shimla) about details of sbi atm card and got debited/lost total rs. 44, 997/- (19, 999 + 24, 998/-) in two transactions from my account.

Money were credited to
                                  1. Abipbl mumbai on 20 jul 2018 by debit card-othpg 233746 rs. 19, 999.00
                                  2. Airtelmoney mumbai on 20 jul 2018 by debit card-othpg 235400 rs. 24, 998.00

My request is to kindly locate the account holder (Mobile no.[protected] having account in your bank (Based on kyc submitted and above transaction details on 20 july 18) to block bank account, penalize him and also refund the money. Complaint has been submitted to police himachal pradesh.

Jagesh kumar tiwari
                                  Senior scientist
                                  Central potato research institute, shimla
                                  Bemloe, shimla 171001
                                  (My mobile no.[protected]
                                  We had purchase the prepaid sim last Saturday but still not yet activated.
                                  please suggest what to do now ?

Neha
                                  I m chandra soni s/o rambabu soni i lost my phone plzzz block my idea mobile no my idea mobile no is [protected] my address is - gf-23, J.D.A COLONY, vkia akhepura, amber akedadoongar (RJ)
                                  MY date of birth 04.05.1992

Apologies for the inconvenience caused and delay in responding to your concern. Kindly share your alternate contact number so that our team will get in touch with you.

Neha

vrnair42
                                    Jul 24, 2018

Address: Pathanamthitta, Kerala, 691523

Iam v r nair. Currently residing at adoor, kerala. Iam getting continously worst service from idea cellular. I have taken postpaid connection on [protected] number. Initially they took 250rs from me and said this amount will be given back when i surrender my connection. On mar 10 2018 i have changed to idea prepaid and ask for same fund, i. E 250. But they have not yet returned. I was out of country for 3months, idea customer care told me to deposit 175 rupees to avoid disconnection and again they said same 150 rupees will be refunded. Whenever i use to call for refunds which i should get they never respond. After several fights i just got 100 out of 175 rupees. I want to escalate this issue to higher level. Kindly help me. Iam totally not satisfied with idea so decided to move for another network.

Vr nair
                                    Sep 11, 2018
                                    Aug 11, 2018

As per recent communication, your case has been escalated to our team and we'll get back to you at the earliest as & when we get an update.

Neha
                                    I want to port my number from idea but the port message is not sending, showing retry. I called up customer care no proper response from them, while messages to other numbers are delivering except to 1900 is not delivering.

Apologies for the inconvenience caused and delay in responding to your concern. Kindly share your idea contact number in which the issue is persisting to assist you further.

Neha

AartiS
                                      Jul 24, 2018

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 411016

I was using idea services until 2013 september and later ported my number out to another service provider. However, now after 5 years idea is sending me legal notices for pending payments. On reaching out to them they claim that it is now that company auditing is taking place. There legal team is not contactable and the emails cannot be replied to. The legal representative whose numb er is provided in the email never answers the calls nor replies to the messages. This is happening for some months now. It is completely harassing me and my family. They call to the loknayalay and do not even provide the case number. Can you please help me.
                                      Pfb, email received.

To: (Removed for security reasons)
                                      Date: thu, mar 1, 2018 at 3:03 pm
                                      Subject: demand legal notice! Idea cellular
                                      Mailed-by: idea. Adityabirla.com
                                      Security: standard encryption (Tls) learn more
                                      : important according to google magic.

Dear customer,

Greetings of the day,

As per agreed terms and conditions of customer service agreement duly signed by you, we have provided cellular services towards your account no.[protected]/

As per the agreement signed, you have agreed to pay your monthly bills on or before due date of bills raised and if in case of non payment therein you will be charged late payment and interest charges as applicable.

However, you have failed to keep your commitments and not paid the billed amounts on time which has lead to outstanding of rs.992/- towards your a/c.

Thereafter, despite of repeated requests and reminders by our representatives, you have not paid the said overdue amount till date.

You are now hereby requested to make the payment of the outstanding amount of rs. 992/- within next 2 days from the receipt of this notice.

In case of any queries/support regarding the outstanding amount, please feel free to call on shraddha : 98xxxxx457

You can pay your bill amount by any of the below payment modes:

· use our insta pay service and pay directly without registering

https://care.ideacellular.com/wps/portal/account/express-paybill

To pay bill for inactive idea number or idea number ported to other idea circles.
                                      https://care.ideacellular.com/wps/portal/account/disconnected-number

· to make the payment through cash, cheque or credit card - visit your nearest my idea showroom (To know your nearest my idea, please dial *121#).

· to have a hassle free auto payment of your bills, opt for electronic clearing system (Ecs) or standing instructions (Si).

We value your association with idea, looking forward for your cooperation!

This is an auto generated e-mail; replies to this message are routed to an unmonitored mailbox.

Team service delivery
                                      Idea cellular limited
                                      Visit us at: www.ideacellular.com
                                      Sep 23, 2018
                                      Aug 21, 2018

As per recent communication, your case has been escalated to the concerned team and we will get back to you at the earliest the moment we get an update.

Neha

Geddam Muralidhar
                                        from Tenkasi, Tamil Nadu
                                        Jul 24, 2018

Address: Nizamabad, Andhra Pradesh, 503165

I have been ported from Airtel postpaid to idea prepaid by paying the entire bill, after a few days Airtel people called and inforeme that there was an outstanding which has been generated later, I also paid the newly generated amount..after 2 m onths now idea stopped by services stating my bill with Airtel seems to be pending o not updated.