Idea Cellular Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Oct 7, 2025
Complaints 16717

File a complaint to Idea Cellular

Having problems with Idea Cellular?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Idea Cellular customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Idea Cellular reviews & complaints page 487

anil_2016
Jan 26, 2016

Address: Gaya, Bihar, 823001

I have lost my mobile on 25 jan 16 and i have applied for duplicate sim for mobile no [protected] from Gaya idea cellular main office bazaza raod gaya on 25 Jan 16. I have been charged rs 75 and provided duplicate sim and have been told that your sim will be activated within 4 hours. However it has not yet been activated till 26 jan 16 night 1930 hrs. I have been facing a lot of problems due to non-activation of my duplicate sim. I am not neither able to do any financial transactions nor able to get any calls. What i know is charge for issuing duplicate sim in case of loss is hardly rs 30 and it takes 4-5 hrs only to get the new sim activated. It is pathetic that even my lost sim is not blocked. In the view of the above I request you to look in to the matter and resolve the case at the earliest.
Idea Cellular customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

We deeply regret the inconvenience. We have noted your concern and we have your contact details. We will get back to you at the earliest.

Customer Care, Idea Cellular

We tried contacting you on your Idea number but we couldn't reach you. Hence, we request you to inform us the convenient date & time to contact you and have your issue resolved.

Customer Care Idea Cellular

Yogesh Bhoite
    Jan 26, 2016

Address: 411046

I was using idea corporate plan 1299 for Number [protected]. And my alternate number given to Idea was [protected].
    The plan included 5GB data, which was exceeded. And I got a bill of 2400/-, and next month it was 3688/-
    Due to my budget constraints I was not able to pay it on time so my connection was disconnected, then the collection team of idea started calling my number.
    I told them clearly that I wish to continue with this number and service but I need some time to pay the bill, but still they were calling continuously.
    Two days back what they did was completely unprofessional thing, that they started calling people in my contacts, to the numbers which they found it from the itemized bill. To the friends numbers they called, first they mentioned that I had given their number as alternate number, and said that I am not paying the bill, and when they call my number, I put my cell number near TV and kept the voice loud all the time which is a complete lie from this collection team.
    When I asked this collection team why they did that, then they said that until I pay the bill, they'll keep calling my contacts which they've got from itemized bill.

Please advice what should I do now.

I got a call from [protected], said that he is from Idea Cellular and would life to give some refund for the problem I am facing, he was asking my credit card details along with 3D secure pin. I found it suspicious so refused to give the details.
    Requesting everyone to take care in case anybody asks for debit card or credit card number along with 3D secure pin.

We regret the trouble with your Idea mobile bill. Please allow us some time to check and revert with an update. You can also call 198 from your Idea mobile for further assistance.

Customer Care, Idea Cellular.

You can write to our email desk at [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for any queries. For further assistance, you can also visit our website: www.ideacellular.com.

Venkat46
      Jan 26, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400703

We have corporate plan & up to 100 connections of Idea celluar. But no network were we are living & mobile signal is 0. I called to customer care, he give complaint no (C1-[protected]). But they closed complaint without solved problem. They advertising that Idea provides coverage all across India. If they didn't provide network in Mumbai, whats status of villages.

We sincerely regret the coverage issue that you are facing. We'll contact u soon with assistance. You can also call 198 from your Idea mobile for further assistance.

We wish to affirm that your concern has been acknowledged and a complaint for Coverage has been initiated by us under reference number C1-[protected] and you shall hear on the same at the earliest. For further assistance, kindly contact Idea customer care helpline.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

ananda prakash panda
        Jan 26, 2016

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700054

I was go to odisa (puri) on dated 28/12/15 bu my mobiler tower nt seen then I have call costmer care but my problem was not solve .at that time company was res bill
        So I request you plz solve my problem and reduce my bill amount and obliged

We regret the inconvenience caused. Please reply with your Idea mobile number and alternate contact number and we will be glad to assist you. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com.

My bill last payment date is 06/02/2016
        So plz immediately solve my problem and oblige

Mob-[protected]

We wish to affirm that your concern has been acknowledged and your complaint for Billing Dispute has been initiated by us, under reference number C1-[protected] and you shall hear on the same at the earliest. For further assistance, kindly contact Idea customer care helpline.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Bhanuganti
          Jan 26, 2016

Address: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, 500047

I hold [protected] Idea mobile no since 2001, recently they gave me 4G data pack sim, stating that it's of no additional cost will be as my regular bill on 18/1/2016...however as on 25/1/16..I am receiving a message o[censored]ntil led amount of ₹6, 011...i am aghast of this balant fraud billing...spoke to Chaitanya (150001) em I'd...said don't use..data need to wait till billing on 14/2..

We regret the inconvenience caused. We have your contact details. We will get back to you shortly.

vivek Katara
            Jan 25, 2016

Address: Agra, Uttar Pradesh, 282007

My Name is Vivek katara, using idea cell number last 4 years and want to my idea postpaid number to prepaid but idea office-(Sanjay place Agra) guys told my number will not covert postpaid to prepaid.
            request you to please do the needful & suggest the right ways/process for converting my cell number from postpaid to prepaid or discontinue my cell number as well as relationship with idea cellular Parivar.

My idea Cell number[protected]

I am sure that will get good response from your side.

Vivek Katara

We regret the inconvenience caused. We have your contact details. We will get back to you shortly.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 26th Jan 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

You can write to our email desk at [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for any queries. For further assistance, you can also visit our website: www.ideacellular.com.

justonjoy
              Jan 25, 2016

Address: Pathanamthitta, Kerala, 691554

Yesterday I have got a message regarding the activation of skillderby service. Without asking my permission they have charged me 21rs for this unwanted and useless service. I am so frustrated with this good for nothing service. Please try to respect to your consumers value.

We regret the inconvenience caused. Please reply with your Idea mobile number and alternate contact number and we will be glad to assist you. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

आज मेने 50 ₹ का बैलेंस डलवाया, और सब काट के मुझे 40 का बैलेंस मिला, फिर थोड़ी देर के बाद एक मैसेज आया और लिखा था कि ये skillderby सर्विस एक्टिवेट हुई है और 35 ₹ कट गए हैं, जब मैने call center पर फ़ोन किया, तो उन्होंने कहा कि नेट से चालू हुई है, फिर मेने कहा कि इसे बंद कर दो, तो उसने तुरंत उस सर्विस को बंद कर दिया, अब बात ये है की सर्विस बंद भी हो गयी, अब मेरे 35 ₹ का क्या ...

अगर कंपनी को लूटना ही है तो डायरेक्ट बोले न, ऐसे घटिया और छोटी हरकत क्यों करती है कंपनी ...

ये जो भी हो रहा है बहुत गलत हो रहा है, कंपनी को इसका कुछ करना चाहिए ...
              Today, I've got an SMS from Idea saying that I'm charged Rs. 25 for activating Skillderby Gaming service.
              I contacted customer care team and they said that I activated the game through wap content at 12.45PM on 21.8.17.

At 12.45PM, my phone was idle and I wasn't using any wap content. I don't even use any wap content at all.

This is really frustrating and disgraceful.

Please refund my balance.

Skillderby gaming service - Comment #2824829 - Image #0
              Same case has happened with me 3 times...! I am really frustrated from idea services. They themselves activate their gaming service, deduct the money from account and blame this on customer that they activated this service themselves. What rubbish. Moreover the 4G speed is ridiculous... It's just like 2G speed. I am fully fed up from idea service and I am planning to port it with some other mobile service provider. It's shameful that idea is not taking any step for the complaints submitted by their premium customers.
              I got a message on 21st Aug saying from Idea saying that I'm charged Rs. 25 for activating Skillderby Gaming service. Since I did not activate I ignored it. again I got a renewal message on 28-Aug at 7:10 AM, I call up customer care at 10:44 AM and got it deactivated still I am charged Rs 35/-.

I contacted customer care team and they said that I activated the game through wap content when I asked which IP address they do not have any answer.

On 21-Aug at 10.54PM, my phone was idle and I wasn't using any wap content. I don't even use any wap content at all.

This is really frustrating and disgraceful, when we speak to customer care, they say its an issue with all providers, how do we use the skillderby gaming service we have been told to check on google. Not sure why do they do not systems updated to verify where n how was a serive activated.

Please refund the amount paid.

Skillderby gaming service - Comment #2843839 - Image #0
              very bad service by idea. i porting my number to JIO. the company have activated skillderby service without my permission and continually cutting money. ur business going to ruin Idea.

sandeep8757
                Jan 25, 2016

See attached screen shot of SMS. I have not activate any service but service activated in my Post paid Mobile no. [protected] and rupees 35 deducted (applied on bill) from mobile account.

Please deactivate this service and refundy 35 rupees.
                Please contact me in this no. [protected]

We have thoroughly checked Idea account details and it is found that the charges levied in your bill are correct as per WAP plan assigned. For further assistance, kindly contact Idea customer care helpline.

Please deactivate service and refund. I have not activate any VAS and not used activated service.

arunvict
                  Jan 25, 2016

Address: 560006

My number is [protected] and I am currently not using this number. However, I didn't make the payment due to financial difficulties. I am not denying that I will not pay I will pay it my this month itself.

Today, one of my friend has got a call stating the call was from the district court and the female spoke was from the verification department. She stated that your friend Victor Samuel Arunraj has a cheating case against him and didn't disclose that it was from Idea.

My father had 2 cardiac attack 3 days before and he is still admitted in the hospital undergoing medication. My friend didn't know about it and with fear he called and informed my dad that there is a cheating complaint filed against me and they are going to come with arrest warrant.

My dad collapsed after listening to this and his condition is worsted now.

I called this person back and she told that she is talking from the district court of Delhi and the case was filed by Vikram Rana and the case # is DL991015. When I asked her who filed a complaint she stated that the arrest warrant is ready and will just need a confirmation from the lawyer to arrest me.

I called the lawyer to find out who was it and the lawyer stated that the case was filed by IDEA mobile was 1200 rs. I explained them that I am not sating at my residence and I didn't receive any call before. if you would have told me that I need to pay I would have paid it without any delay. Why do you have to file a complaint for such reason. the lawyer stated that I need to contact the person whom I spoke with before.

I called the same person whoever spoke stating she is calling from district court and she stated that I need you to pay know or I will send the warrant.

Finally I got to know that it was from idea company and not court. I said why do you have to play with sentiments this is the first time you are calling me for money. you should have just said that you need me to pay and I would have paid it. my dad is hospitalized and your false information has worsted his healh so the representative reply stating is he still alive.

I told her that I will not pay the money until you company apologies for this behavior and she stated don't you have shame to eat idea's Money and I disconnected the line.

I pay tax to the government and I have always been loyal and this us what the government allows the servicers to treat people.

I want the consumer court to take action. after listen to that statement I reached my friend place to take the number. who would have been responsible if something would have gone wrong to me.

I am serious either you people need to take action and my dad is admitted in hospital and if something goes wrong to him the law and idea will be purely responsible.

I need justice. I will pay 1000rs right now but I need my respect back which is gone with my friends and my fathers health back.

He is admitted in CSI hospital. I have all the medical document to prove.

I even have the recording of the call.

The numbers from which I received calls are

The female who said that she is calling from district court - [protected].
                  Fake lawyers # [protected]

Thank You,
                  Victor

We tried contacting you on your Idea number but we couldn't reach you. Hence, we request you to inform us the convenient date & time to contact you and have your issue resolved.

hi victor,
                  even i got a call from this number and same talks and same behavior...
                  and tell me ...what happened next ...
                  This is really very bad that a reputed company Idea cellular playing such cheap tricks to get their money back. I have been through the same situation today. These people have called most of my recent contact list and have told the same. One of the worst thing that they have done to my life is; I have just joined a company after i lost my previous job in the month of February and the same details were provided as as victor mentioned [protected]. I have been fired from my new job as the company suspects me in some illegal issues. WHO WILL GET MY JOB BACK AND WHAT WILL IDEA DO TO GET ME OUT OF THIS SITUATION AND DEPRESSION THAT I AM GOING THROUGH.
                  This is very bad very very bad.too bad this gunda dari behaviour of idea's team is not acceptable.no wonder its called idea dats y they came up with diff ideas to torture people for 1000rs?R u listining IDEA Gunda Dari team.sunraha hai na gabar ka gang?

abhishek 689
                    Jan 25, 2016

Address: 560087

hello sir, mam

i am abhishek, my idea cell number is [protected].
                    on 28 i closed my connection and my security Rs 300 and whatever the balance is there
                    ..the balance is Rs 135 i had paid means the balance is Zero..

but thinmg is the idea store and customer said that my connection is been closed
                    but why i got the bill????? for what purpose i will pay the bill if my connection is been closed..this is really
                    ashamed for me that why i choose idea postpaid...??

if the connection is been closed and before leaving i had paid full amount to idea ...!!!

but today i got the bill i am full shocked from your service...

WHY I WILL PAY THE BILL WHEN MY ACCOUNT AND WHATEVER THE AMOUNT IS
                    THERE IF I CLEARED THEN FOR WHAT PURPOSE I WILL PAY?????

niitdhanesh
                      Jan 25, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110062

My cell# [protected]. As per discussion with your Executive my Plan is Rs 99 for 325 Calls National & Local, but you have been given me only 250 Calls only. So I request to you please change my corporate plan as per discussion.

Change my plan from 250 Calls to 325 Calls N&L in Monthly Rent 99

Dhanesh

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 26th Jan 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

patilso
                        Jan 25, 2016

Address: 560100

I have already ported out on 7th of Dec-2015 but still bill generated for a billing cycle of 25th Dec-2015 to 24th Jan-2016 (Bill No.:[protected])
                        How can be charged for a service even though I am not your customer/user?

Mob no [protected]
                        Account no[protected]

Sandeep

Neeraj76
                          Jan 25, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110058

Hi, i am very new customer of idea and so far i feel like i feel like i have been cheated to adopt idea. And am so angry the way idea workers cheat their way around their customers.
                          I was vodafone customer for last 5 years and one day somewhere last week i got a call from idea service provider here is landline number[protected] and her (Sonali) mobile no is [protected]. She had a promising offer and lured me into the trap. She said - dear sir, i am speaking from idea and for you we have an excellent offer if you port your number to idea, we will give 30p/min local and 35p/min std call rate for life time. Well long story short i bought his devious act and opted to port after asking 4 times just to be sure what she was offering!! His executive came and take 130 rs/- and my id proof. Few days later i realised the scam when i was actually ported to idea.... There was no such deal as the representative of idea mentioned and when i called him back he just ignored my calls and even rejected them. For someone who was picking up all calls before port is now just ditching every call. I have same call rates as every idea customer. When i tried to call customer care, they just keep telling me my current call rates and says that is the knowledge we can provide... I mean what the hell is that supposed to mean? Hire some liars to do your dirty biddings for you and lure people with false offers and then disconnect the line saying you have been fooled hahaha!!! Now i really regret making the decision to join worst service providers who are actually cons. Vodafone before port warning me that idea are trying to con you in to a trap please sir don't choose idea and i called him again to ensure what he offering but the damn liar lured me into trap. I am so angry and feel cheated. I hope someone listens to this and stop that guy from doing this to more and more people. Because i am not going to stay with idea after the things they have done to make me port to idea. Please stop that guy from staining idea's image like that. At least someone should take this serious matter into hand as he didn't just cheat me. I am here just to know what kind people idea recruits, is there any justice? My name is neeraj and my number is [protected]. If someone cares please let me know!

Arbaaz Khan125
                            Jan 25, 2016

Address: Balrampur, Uttar Pradesh, 271604

Sms detail - idea

Hello sir...Im currently using idea and my no is [protected]...
                            Can u plz mail me sms details from 01.11.2015 to 10.01.2016..My mail id mohd.[protected]@yahoo.com
                            Plz sir its very urgent ...Plzzzz send me hurry...
                            Or otherwise many problems come in my life plz sir plz...
                            Thnx a lot

Message details require validation of your details. Thus, we request you to contact customer care by dialing 12345 from your Idea mobile. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com.

Ali husan
                              Jan 25, 2016

Address: 110049

Dear sir/mam,

I am not using this no.[protected] and i dnt want to pay this bill amount because bill amount 1600rs is too high and dere is extra charges Nd i dnt want to pay your executive call to me and using abusive language he is not listening me what i am saying to him mr vishal his name nd his contact no ([protected]) kindly take a action nd revert me
                              Thanx
                              Ali hussain

We understand & regret the issue with your Idea mobile bill. We'll contact u soon with assistance. You can also call 198 from your Idea mobile for further assistance.

Gajanan Patil 1
                                Jan 25, 2016

Address: 411041

Hello All of sudden on my mobile i got SMS as got a request for barring on Mob [protected], after that i have paid my outstanding amount to DOCOMO still Idea had barred my Mobile Please see the payment details

Customer Details
                                Account Number [protected]
                                Amount paid(Rs.) 103.0
                                Transaction ID [protected]
                                Transation Status SUCCESS

Requesting you to check the details and continue my Mobile connection.

We understand your concern and regret the inconvenience. We have noted your concern. We will get back to you soon.

We wish to inform you that the service for your Idea number has already been activated. For further assistance, kindly contact to our Idea customer care helpline.

Satyasuranjeet Behera
                                  Jan 24, 2016

Address: Indore, Madhya Pradesh, 452010

Dear Indian consumer complaints forum,

I am extremely disappointing to write this that I received a confirmation from Idea that the Disconnection on Mob.No. [protected] has been processed successfully through SR No.C1-[protected] on 29 July 2015.

Then, later on 24 Jan 2016, receiving a legal notice from Mr. Ashwini Mehra under Section 403, 405, 406, read with Section 420 of the IPC with the subject line "Outstanding amount due and payable by you toIdea Cellular Limited (MPCG) under A/c No.[protected] and Mobile Number [protected]."

This is not only highly unprofessional but illegal way of sending such mails.

Satya

We regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have noted your concern. We will get back to you shortly.

Dear customer,

shwet81
                                    Jan 24, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400010

I am using Idea Cellular from last one year, My Average bill was of 1500 to 1800Rs. All of a sudden I got a call in id of month that your Unbilled amount is 4500. than Checked it shows heavy internet usage. Than after internet was stopped by Idea. The Final Bill came 6500. I had checked with Idea Office they said you had used till 16th Jan 2016. whereas Idea itself had stopped services.
                                    Also, The usage is not that much and no answer by them and said you have to pay this bill. Now, It Seems impossible to pay such overcharged Fake Bills. How can overcharged lke this ? and not make a call till bill reaches to that level, even I am not using Idea Data because I am having wi fi at home and Office. There is not even 70% usage of available data limit and now instead of 999 Plan they overcharged like this???. I am not in position to pay. So, request to check and revise bill else close the connection by settling the accounting. I had requested that I am ready to pay 2500/- than close it which was rejected by them. Pls. Give solution.

We regret the inconvenience caused. Please reply with your Idea mobile number and alternate contact number and we will be glad to assist you. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

Kumar Prasenjeet
                                      Jan 24, 2016

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 410401

Without my consent some plan named comedy munch was activated on my number. Balance was accordingly deducted. even after i got the subscription terminated by calling customer care, the plan was again renewed after few hours, i addition I got useless response from the customer executive the next time I called customer care to resolve issue.

sravisan
                                        Jan 23, 2016

I am using IDEA network for past 04 years and my no is [protected], on 20.01.2016 one message came to me that such VAS service has been activated on my no. Around 70 rupees detected from my main balance when I called to customer rep they said money was detected due to 03 VAS active for my number, whether I never clicked the on such link or advertisement also they said it will be activate during the internet use by touch the third party advertisement. Still I am not using that service even it is activate.

I need clarification how it will be activate without any request was send from me?

If I want deactivate the VAS service I need do the send the request message, but it will be activate just one touch the third party add.it is not at all the accept it is like fraud .

From your network I received lot of calls and messages daily but you not to make one only call to your customer for activate the service even it is accidentally touch the third party add.(I don’t know how you are detect the amount by using the third party add.)

I need my amount return back

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 24th Jan 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.