Idea Cellular Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Oct 7, 2025
Complaints 16717

File a complaint to Idea Cellular

Having problems with Idea Cellular?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Idea Cellular customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Idea Cellular reviews & complaints page 489

Udaykiran146
Jan 21, 2016

Address: 500039

My name is Uday kiran. I had a Tata docomo prepaid sim card initially which i used for my communication over mobiles. Then Idea Cellular company representative called me and requested for switching docomo prepaid to Idea postpaid. I shifted my sim card to Idea. After using it for few months, as i am not satisfied with Idea postpaid, visited idea 3 Idea showrooms to convert from postpaid to prepaid. Initially they said that they dont have sims to exchange and asked me to come after 2 weeks. And same thing happened to me whenever i visited them. As i am dissatisfied with their behaviour, i said them that i will pay the bill only after they convert my sim from postpaid to prepaid. After two months, they diconnected my services and asked me to pay the bill. I said them i will pay the bill definitely whatever i used, but only after converting my sim from postpaid to prepaid. Many people from idea called me and i replied the same. Their legal department said me that they will send a idea representative to my home with prepaid sim card and resolve the problem by shifting connection and paying the bill. I waited for them but they didnt send anyone. After two months they sent me a legal notice to pay the bill (RS.743) which i need to pay and gave a number in that notice to contact and resolve issue or else come to metropolitian court. I called them and asked for the same. But now they are saying that they cant change my service and my mobile number is lost. I have to pay the bill but I shouldnt ask for my mobile number. I am ready to pay my bill with no problem. The only thing i am asking them is about my mobile number which i need as it was mine which i brought. There is no issue in paying the bill. But they are saying they cant give the number back but i have to pay the bill. When i asked them why dont u said it earlier, they are saying that i didnt asked earlier. This shows their unprofessionalism and way of cheating customers by having a big brand name in the country. Such kind of companies should be severely punished. I am seeking your help to resolve my issue as Idea sent legal notice and i have to act immediately. Hoping that you help for my consumer rights. I am ready to pay the bill. I need my mobile number back which is converted to prepaid. Thank you.
Idea Cellular customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Jan 21, 2016
Updated by Udaykiran146
Hello Idea Customer cellular customer care,

My Idea Mobile number is [protected].

My alternate mobile number for contacting is [protected].

We regret the unpleasant experience. Kindly share your Idea mobile number and alternate contact details, so that we can assist you. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

Customer Care, Idea Cellular
I have an idea post paid card. 3 or more billing cycles have been completed.
I went today to idea store located at E-77, Titanuim City Centre, 100 FT Ring Road, Prahladnagar, Ahmedabad.
I requested a lady customer care executive (named: Ujjawala) to convert my number from postpaid to prepaid.
She said that I will have to go between 8th date to 10th of next month. It was not possible to go there because of some reason.
Then she refused to do that straight way. After so many requests, she was not ready to do the same. Then I request her to close my connection.
She simply asked me to provide my ID proof to close the connection. Then I asked to customer care (12345) to know the rule about same matter.
Customer care executive (From 12345) replied that there is not any rule like this. Then I again requested the store lady to talk with customer care executive.
I was ready to pay immediately balance outstanding amount.
But she had refuse that also. She was very angry with me without any reason. She was behaving with me like a beggar was standing in front of her.She was very misbehaving.

I was not expecting like this kind of misbehavior from idea store. I am expecting prompt reply and quick strict actions against Ujjawala.

If you really regretted this service, you may contact me on [protected]@gmail.com.
I have an idea post paid card. 3 or more billing cycles have been completed.
I went today to idea store located at E-77, Titanuim City Centre, 100 FT Ring Road, Prahladnagar, Ahmedabad.
I requested a lady customer care executive (named: Ujjawala) to convert my number from postpaid to prepaid.
She said that I will have to go between 8th date to 10th of next month. It was not possible to go there because of some reason.
Then she refused to do that straight way. After so many requests, she was not ready to do the same. Then I request her to close my connection.
She simply asked me to provide my ID proof to close the connection. Then I asked to customer care (12345) to know the rule about same matter.
Customer care executive (From 12345) replied that there is not any rule like this. Then I again requested the store lady to talk with customer care executive.
I was ready to pay immediately balance outstanding amount.
But she had refuse that also. She was very angry with me without any reason. She was behaving with me like a beggar was standing in front of her.She was very misbehaving.

I was not expecting like this kind of misbehavior from idea store. I am expecting prompt reply and quick strict actions against Ujjawala.

If you really regretted this service, you may contact me on [protected]@gmail.com.
Hello Idea Customer cellular customer care,

My Idea Mobile number is [protected].

My alternate mobile number for contacting is [protected].
Dear customer,

You can write to our email desk at [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for any queries. For further assistance, you can also visit our website: www.ideacellular.com.

rvkaradi
    Jan 21, 2016

Address: Dharwad, Karnataka, 580031

Unethical behavior
    Not responded for the grievance
    No decisions / solutions are taken for the said problem
    repeatedly ask the same question by so many people

We regret the inconvenience caused. Please reply with your Idea mobile number and alternate contact number and we will be glad to assist you. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

amanCh
      from Jammu, Jammu and Kashmir
      Jan 21, 2016

Address: Ambala, Haryana, 133001

This is to inform you that on 17 Jan '16, a third party VAS namely " mydala deals" services were activated on my postpaid idea no [protected] without any request of subscription from my side.

It is further added that Idea customer care was approached for resolution of this incident but they declined to register any complaint stating that, ' This is a third party service not a VAS of Idea Cellular'.

As a complainant, I'd like to address the following:-

(a) The pop up advertisement of mydala deal sevices is corrupted since when one cancels the ad, it takes input as a "YES" to subscription which is what happened to myself as well.

(b) Also, for any third party service, one pays directly to the party not the cellular service provider. But it happened so when "mydala deals" subscription was unfairly taken and amount of Rs 75/- charged in the bill of Idea Cellular.

(c) Thus, one as a layman, cannot rule out some kind of collaboration/ arrangement/agreement between "mydala" and "Idea Cellular" for subscription and payment.

(d) For stoping/ unsubscribing the same service(mydala deals), Idea Cellular has in place a proper system of deactivation whereas Idea Cellular completely denies any role in activation of the same stating that it is a third party service.

(e) My question is if Idea Cellular is not accountable for the activation of mydala deals services, then why should subscription amount be deducted from idea account. Isn't it both ways or no way??

(f) Also, complaints and harassment of same nature are quite in numbers, floating on different forums over internet.

It is hereby submitted that following resolution be provided:-

(a) this undesirable, unsubscribed service be stopped.
      (b) subscription amount be refunded.
      (c) the whole procedure be checked and regularized so that in future, other consumers don't face such harassment.
      (d) compensation in terms of money as deemed fit by the authority.

Aman Chotani.

We understand your concern and regret the inconvenience. We have your contact details. We will get back to you soon.

We have thoroughly checked your Idea account details and it is found that the charges applied to you are correctly as per the WAP plan assigned. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

I completely agree with Aman Chotani and his pain/opinion/complaint. I am also raising the same complaint for my account ([protected]).

I am surprised that two times the same VAS ( "mydala deals") activated on my postpaid account. Totally I confused about this and RS 150/- added to my current Bill. If it is third party service, why idea cellular is not taking confirmation from their customer before activating from Idea.

I strongly suggest Idea, should not activate these types of 3rd party VAS services without customer approve.

Koteswara rao.M

Myself Biswajit, My Idea number is [protected]. I have also the similar complain regarding deduction of mydala balance of Rs. 25 from main balance on 23rd April, 2016. How to get back my deducted amount back.

Dear Mr. Aman Chotani,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience which you may have experienced with respect to the balance deduction.

Our customer support team tried calling you multiple times. Since, there was no response, we have escalated your request to the respective team.

for further support, we are always available from Monday to Saturday between 9.30 am and 08.00 pm @[protected] or you can mail us @ [protected]@mydala.com.

Mydala Team
      Dear Mr. Biswajit,

As per telecom, we have escalated your request to the respective team. The issue will be resolved within 24 hours.

for further support, we are always available from Monday to Saturday between 9.30 am and 08.00 pm @[protected] or you can mail us @ [protected]@mydala.com.

Mydala Team
      Dear Mr. Koteswara Rao,

As per telecom, we have escalated your request to the respective team. The issue will be resolved within 24 hours.

Mydala Team

nitinkanase
        Jan 21, 2016

Address: 411006

I have recharged of Rs. 26 for reduce my call rate to 1p/s on date 20.01.2016.
        But still it is not activated.

Customer care executive always lying on their statement.

Because last time I recharged of rs 57 and my call rate get high from 1p/s to 1.5 p/s. that time when I asked to change / cancel my plan, Customer care executive told me active any other plan then this plan will deactivate .

Now I recharged of rs.26 to get benefit but it still showing old plan.

This is really fraud and wrong selling of products to customer.
        To gain extra money from customers.

Please help on this.

Nitin Kanase.
        Mob ;- [protected].

We regret the inconvenience caused. We have your contact details. We will get back to you shortly.

We wish to affirm that your concern has been acknowledged and your complaint for recharge has been initiated by us; under reference number 1-[protected] and you shall hear on the same at the earliest. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

ravipscs
          Jan 20, 2016

Address: 400098

I am idea prepaid sim customer. I have 20 mb data but i used data my account 120 rupees detect. while 1 mb data remaining. Until now no any action my case please help me.
          Jan 20, 2016
          Updated by ravipscs
          My contact no is [protected]. until now 1 mb data remaining i spite of 100 rs detect for net use

We regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have your contact details. We will get back to you shortly.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 21st Jan 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

AK 4 me
            Jan 20, 2016

Address: 600006

I have recharged full TT RS.130 4 days before. When I checked my balance today 20.01.16, I got shocked. Balance was RS. 2. I spoke with complaint department and she arranged call back but she didn't turn up. When I tried again to reach complaint department, I was in screened list and no one responding.

We regret the inconvenience caused. Please share your Idea mobile number and alternate contact number and we will be glad to assist you. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

Vijender Rewaria
              from Meerut, Uttar Pradesh
              Jan 20, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110083

I deposit 600 rs for new idea postpaid connection. Vimla traders TRF-806 not start my connection and not giving my money back ... Plz do something against these kind of cheat venders...

Regads
              Vijender

We regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have your contact details. We will get back to you shortly.

Dear customer,

You can write to our email desk at [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for any queries. For further assistance, you can also visit our website: www.ideacellular.com.

DEAR SIR
              Still I am waiting for right decision against vimla traders. yet I do not received my money, plz do something for your valuable customer.

VIJENDER
              DEAR SIR
              Still I am waiting for right decision against vimla traders. yet I do not received my money, plz do something for your valuable customer.

VIJENDER

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 26th Jan 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Still I am not satisfy while talking IDEA costumer care executive, I want you to know about the how should I get My Money, Should I go to VIMLA TRADERS, or They should to come my Home and talk to me for that matter...

Regard

VIJENDER

Still I am not satisfy while talking IDEA costumer care executive, I want you to know about the how should I get My Money, Should I go to VIMLA TRADERS, or They should to come Home and talk to me for that matter...

Regard

VIJENDER

Akhil Jayachandran
                Jan 20, 2016

I m using idea sim. some value added services are activating automatically while browsing internet through mobile data. i didn't tapped on any pop-up or anything. yesterday(jan 19-2016) i got a message that "We have received your request for magic box service" & after some time it is activated & rs35/- deducted. it is not first time for me, 3 days before the same thing happened(that was Bollywood scoop-rs45/-). immediately i called customer care & explained everything. initially they rejected amount refund, but finally i got the refund. this is happening again & again... this is not happening when i m using wifi.

We regret the inconvenience caused. Please share your Idea mobile number and alternate contact number and we will be glad to assist you. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

Lalbazar
                  Jan 20, 2016

My idea mobile number is [protected].in my mobile more of the important numbers deleted so give me all call details of my outgoing and incoming calls last 3 months details on this email id [protected]@gmail.com.
                  Please do needful and oblige.

Call details require validation of your details. Thus, we request you to contact customer care by dialing 12345 from your Idea mobile. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com.

Dear customer,

Umashankar1986
                    Jan 20, 2016

Address: 110033

HI
                    My sel[censored]mashankar useing idea cellular
                    dated 10.01.2016 i was call to idea customer care at 8.00 am for know about my Internet & rate cutter packs validity he told me that my internet validity is 11.01.2016. after that my main balance deduct by idea.
                    Many time i call to idea and written complain also but no one listing.

details of complaint are given bellow by online complaint.

Open Date Product Name Type Communication ID Status Resolution Remarks
                    Jan 20, 2016 - R-Email Id updation 1-[protected] Processed Updated In Crystal
                    Jan 19, 2016 - C-WEB Related 1-[protected] In Progress.
                    Expected completion time : January 20, 2016, 09:55 AM -
                    Jan 15, 2016 - C-WEB Related 1-[protected] Cancelled Incorrect Tagging
                    Jan 14, 2016 - C-Wrong charging 1-[protected] Cancelled Incorrect Tagging
                    Jan 14, 2016 - C-WEB Related 1-[protected] Cancelled Incorrect Tagging
                    Jan 13, 2016 - C-Coverage 1-[protected] Cancelled Not Resolved
                    Jan 13, 2016 - C-WEB Related 1-[protected] Cancelled Incorrect Tagging
                    Jan 12, 2016 - C-WEB Related 1-[protected] Cancelled Incorrect Tagging
                    Jan 11, 2016 - C-Wrong charging 1-[protected] Cancelled Incorrect Tagging
                    Jan 11, 2016 - C-WEB Related 1-[protected] Cancelled Incorrect Tagging
                    Jan 22, 2016
                    Updated by Umashankar1986
                    Please note that my upper given complaint is not resolve till time.
                    see the matter and resolve my problem as soon as possible

Umashankar

We wish to affirm that your concern has been acknowledged and complaint for wrong deduction has been initiated by us, under reference number 1-[protected] and you shall hear on the same at the earliest. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Bossshiv
                      Jan 20, 2016

Address: Surat, Gujarat, 395023

I was port my number vodafone to idea.My number is [protected] that is not work in other state.massage shows subscriber is in suspended state

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 20th Jan 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Imran Kamal
                        from Guntur, Andhra Pradesh
                        Jan 19, 2016

Address: 671123

I am a new ported customer ([protected]) .. I have faced net work issues and offer complaint.
                        On 20.01.16 i called customer care at morning.. The executive response is very bad.. And he disconnected call without answered my questions..
                        I didnt idea is better customer care service..
                        Hope your reply soon
                        My mail id : [protected]@gmail.com

We understand your concern and regret the inconvenience. We have your contact details. We will get back to you soon.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 20th Jan 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Ankita Khole
                          Jan 19, 2016

Im frustrated with the charges on datapack proration.I changed 180 plan to 300 2g I got charged by 2300 . But when I was changing plan I didnt got any clear information about prorated overage charges. When I asked them why you informed us about that they said we dont tell like this. We got this answer from costumer care officer manikbaug. How will we come to know about that we get charge by changing plans. I want to complaint that I didn't got good service.if I was knowing about prorated tee why I would change. My no. Is [protected]
                          Jan 19, 2016
                          Updated by Ankita Khole
                          By mistake typing.
                          When I asked them why you didn't informed

We regret the inconvenience caused. We have noted your concern. We will get back to you shortly.

Dear Customer

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 20th jan 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

vinaypujari
                            Jan 19, 2016

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 411021

If you are using idea 3G network be careful as you will receive a popup while you are surfing the internet, and you are bound to tap that pop-up considering your touch screen phone. Some VAS (Cinemasti, VIP Games) will be activated and you will be charged even if those services are not from Idea and you have unlimited data plan. But you will get these VAS added in you bill. I have faced this #fraud and #ideacellular still not able to convince me.

We will be happy to assist. Kindly share your contact details. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

Soubhik Chanda
                              Jan 19, 2016

Address: Paschim Medinipur, West Bengal, 721101

A wrong deduction of sms pack Rs.27 has done from my number [protected].please deactivate it & provide me Rs.27.please don't spoil my money.

Dear customer,

Raju Halayyanavaramath
                                Jan 19, 2016

Address: Haveri, Karnataka, 581110

Dear sir, my idea no [protected] .please send call details and message details both incoming & out going for last 2 months (November 15, december 15) my email, [protected]@gmail.com send me as soon as possible. Thanking you sir.

Call details require validation of your details. Thus, we request you to contact customer care by dialing 12345 from your Idea mobile. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com.

Jitu Jatin
                                  Jan 19, 2016

Address: 284301

Hi. very rudely sorry from idea .i recharge my 98 data card for 1gb which is still showing in my mobile by dailing *121#. but i got only 400mb for 12 days. idea customer named ANJALIA said to me that there was no offer and you have no power to complaints for it .her senoir too. this is a fruad is idea creating daily this type of fraud there are many case like that pls give back .i m disappointed by this service

We regret the inconvenience caused. Please provide your contact details to assist you further. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

Anooppg
                                    Jan 18, 2016

Address: 390023

I took a new SIM connection from the IDEA store @ Old Padra road - Vadodara 2 months back . I was assured that that teh SIM connection will get activated after 2 days . While the same commitment was not happened I visited the store again and they asked for one more ID for activating the connection and I had submitted my PAN card copy . After 1 months also I was not getting any feedback / reply from this store or any of the customer care executives of IDEA . When I visited the store again the customer care executive informed me that this connection is disconnected . They are note even bothered to explain me to arrange a re-connect request for the same SIM / to provide a new connection . I was told that this SIM is disconnected and I will have to pay for a new SIM . I had written a complaint on this issue on[protected] to [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com and could not receive a replay from IDEA customer care team .
                                    Aug 8, 2021

In order to resolve your concern, we need your Idea mobile number and alternate contact details. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

faiz2
                                      Jan 18, 2016

Address: 285205

I have an idea simcard in which on 18/01/2016 i got an offer to recharge with 98rs and get 1gb data with 28 days validity but when i recharged than i got just 400mb data with 12 days validity.
                                      Sir plz solve my problem.

In order to resolve your concern, we need your Idea mobile number and alternate contact details. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

sahi h mere sath bhi yhi hua abhi

vijayaurangabad
                                        Jan 18, 2016

Address: Aurangabad, Maharashtra, 431001

My name is Vijay Urade and I am using Idea services and my number is [protected]. since the day i switched to idea, i am continuously facing problems like network issues, call dropping and 3G connectivity. i m providing you the details below for all the complaints that i have raised till date. whenever i raised a complaint they never resolved any issue but sent me a message that my problem has been resolved without even confirming from me. At first i opted for the plan of Rs. 1599/- as i am using the idea postpaid service but due to very poor network and 3G services, i downgraded to Rs.1299/ plan. Professionally i am a businessman and most of my work is done by communicating with client on phone and sending them details about my project through email and whats-app. Last week without informing they disconnected my 3G services for 6 days. How can a person in 21st century stay away from internet for so many days ! Please help me out ! I have complained so many times that i am at the threshold of my patience now. I personally have undergone a tremendous business loss due to Idea's extremely poor services which led to my mental agony and affected my health in a extremely bad way. Due to all this mental harassment and business losses my family life has been disturbed alot. I am highly disappointed. so i would like to take a legal action against Idea company and I would also like to claim for the compensation of 5 lakh rupees to at-least recover my business losses. I look up to you with great hope in getting justice. PS: heights of the network issues are that even Idea customer care calls keep dropping and no 3G services in metro city like Mumbai. Complaint Raised... 3 feb 2015 - c1/[protected] data connectivity 6 may 2015 - c1/[protected] network issues data connectivity 13 jun 2015 - c1/[protected] data connectivity 14 june 2015 - c1/[protected] 14 july 2015 - c1/[protected] call connectivity data connectivity 17 july 2015 - c1/[protected] call connectivity data connectivity 19 aug 2015 - c1/[protected] data connectivity 23 nov 2015 - c1/[protected] call connectivity data connectivity 13 dec 2015 - c1/[protected] call connectivity 14 dec SIM card change with new one. 17 dec 2015 - c1/[protected] data connectivity 21 dec 2015 - c1/[protected] call connectivity data connectivity 4 jan 2016 - c1/[protected] call connectivity data connectivity 8 jan 2016 - c1/[protected] data connectivity call connectivity 13 jan 2016 - c1/[protected] data connectivity call connectivity 16 jan 2016 - c1/[protected] data connectivity call connectivity 18 jan 2016 - c1/[protected] call connectivity data connectivity

We tried contacting you on your Idea number however were unable to reach you. Please share a suitable time to speak for us to address your concern.

Even after continuous request to the appellate several times, my problems of poor network and 3G services are still remain unresolved. I have also requested the appellate and the customer service desk to send the Technician at my billing address to rectify my issues and install a booster i[censored]nable to sort it from the nearest tower but to my disappointment no body showed up. Seems that 'Idea' really won't bother about their customer problems and only intend in pulling customers money. On top of that Idea is continuously sending me messages that my concern related to call connectivity and data is successfully resolved without confirming it from me.

Instead of resolving my issues and offering me compensations for my losses & sufferings, Idea has now disconnected my outgoing and 3G services from last 5 days. I have clearly mentioned to the appellate and to the customer service department last month in January 2016 that I won't be paying the bill unless and until you resolve my problems completely. I am now continuously receiving messages and calls regarding the bill payment but to my consciousness I never ever got a call regarding my pending issues still exist...am I satisfied with the services ?? no courtesy call ever...
                                        what a pitiful mission statement...'An Idea can change your life...'