Life Insurance Corporation of India [LIC] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Oct 18, 2025
Complaints 6253

File a complaint to Life Insurance Corporation of India [LIC]

Having problems with Life Insurance Corporation of India [LIC]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Life Insurance Corporation of India [LIC] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Life Insurance Corporation of India [LIC] reviews & complaints page 150

Madhukar Gunjan
Apr 26, 2016

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700135

To transfer my loan from lic hfl to sbi, list of documentsi. E. Lod is required.

I requested for lod (List of documents) document from lic hfl on 8-march-2016. I paid rs. 573/- as processing charge.

After one month i contacted lic hfl, lic hfl, 3rd floor, andhra insurance building, 12, chowringhee square, kolkata office. They said that that lod is still processing.

I made several request to "lic customer care" over mail i. E. [protected]@lichousing.com, but 6 times they gave false commitment. Every time they as ask for relaxation and gives another date of delivery. I have communication mail with me.

My several financial task and official task is dependent on this document. I am not able to go abroad as my i belong to it company and extending my departure dates. I already suffered $15000 loss till yet due to non-delivery of lod document by lic.

Please help to get me properly compensated from lic and provide lod document asap..

Loan a/c no[protected]

What should i do now? Should i knock door of consumer court?
Life Insurance Corporation of India [LIC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

tata srinivash rau
    from Rajahmundry, Andhra Pradesh
    Apr 25, 2016

Address: 560008

I have a policy no.[protected] taken in the year 2006. After every five years i supposed to get rs.10000/-. Initially in the year 2011 i got rs.10000/-. Again i supposed to get the same amount in this year i.E. 2016. My due date is march of every year. This year i already paid premium amount. But till date i have not received rs.10000/-. Please look into the matter and resolve the issue as early as possible.
    Life Insurance Corporation of India [LIC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

RKSinghal
      Apr 25, 2016

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700023

I have not received payments for my annuity no 091h[protected] for last 3 years. I am suppose to get ecs credit of rs 2400/- every 6 months, i. E rs 4800/- per year. However, i have not received these payments for last 3 years.

Policy is is the name of rajesh k singhal, contact no [protected]

arijitmandal
        Apr 24, 2016

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700069

Dear sir / madam,
        I had applied for the 'list of document' in lichfl office at andhra building kolkata on 20th feb 2016. The copy of the receipt for the amount deposited (Inr 573) is attached herewith. For the last 2 months i have been following up with lichfl numerous time but without no result. I really do not know how can i get relief from this harassment. Would you please guide me to take a legal step against lichfl with the below answers?

1. As a customer, am i not entitled to get the 'list of documents' especially where lichfl is charging me (10.6%) more than the others in the market for the home loan
        2. How long it should take to deliver this document to the customer

I will be very much obliged if i get the answer at the earliest.

Arijit mandal

Mervin christi
          Apr 24, 2016

Address: Ahmedabad, Gujarat, 380026

My name is mervin maheshkumar christi.
          My father name is maheshkumar william christi.
          We are having lic police name on my brother happy maheshkumar christi from our lic agent.
          We paid our installment regularly.
          The lic agent is not giving a commission worth of rs. 1000. Frm last 6 months.
          Making us a foolish.
          Bcz we trusted him. His name is kamlesh j. Dixit
          So plz do needy steps on him.
          His is not good at his job.
          He is not trust worthy.
          His behavior is very rude to customer.
          He is very lazy.
          He behaved very rude with my mother
          Sarojbala maheshkumar christi.
          His behavior is very very very rude.
          He do not know how to speak in front of a lic holder.
          We are very much upset bcz of his misbehaviour.
          Please do need ful steps.
          Please.
          As soon as possible.

Ashokrao M
            Apr 22, 2016

Address: 500008

Dear sir i did a payment on 17th march16 amount deducted but they said they are not received payment, then i talked with my credit card bank HDFC then they told payment success upto yet i didnt recredited. The eazy to pay team sent a mail like
            As requested by you, please note that the following SALE has been processed by IDBI Bank - Eazy2Pay Payment Gateway :
            Merchant Name: Life Insurance Corporatio
            Merchant Ref Number: 15986680

Payment Amount: Rs. 6728.53
            Payment Date: Thu Mar 17 07:32:02 IST 2016
            Card Used: XXXX XXXX XXXX 6601
            Transaction Identification Number:[protected]
            Please quote your Transaction Identification Number for any queries relating to this request.
            We thank you for subscribing to Eazy2Pay and assure you of our best services.
            Sincerely,
            Eazy2Pay PG Team

and HDFC bank sent me mail as
            Dear Mr. Muramalla,

Thank you for writing to us,

This is with reference to your email regarding the charge of Rs. 6728.53 on 17-Mar-2016 at M/s LIFE INSURANCE CORPORA MUMBAI

We understand from your mail that you have certain reservations regarding the above said transaction. We would like to confirm that the aforesaid transaction has been processed successfully to your card account from our end basis the instruction received from the merchant. Details of the transaction processed to your card account are given below for your reference.

Transaction Date

Payment Settlement Date

Transaction Amount in Rs.

Merchant Establishment

Authorization Code

ARN

17-Mar-2016

18-Mar-2016

LIFE INSURANCE CORPORA MUMBAI

In this regard, we request you to take this mail as a proof to the merchant confirming the transaction was successfully processed to your card account and also request the merchant to liase with their bank for further clarification. In case, you still have any clarification, we request you to revert to us with recent dated confirmation from the merchant validating that they are not in receipt of the payment to enable us do the needful.

Further, we have arranged to suppress finance charges towards the disputed amount for 30 days or until receipt of the aforesaid supporting documents (whichever is earlier). Hence, you may effect payment towards the outstanding post deducting the disputed transaction amount.

We would be glad if this email receives your urgent attention and request you to revert to us by 07 days as there are certain time frames within which the dispute needs to be raised along with the above mentioned documents.

Your relationship is important to us. We request you to continue usage on the card and give us opportunities to be of service to you.

Kindly note the query reference number for this e-mail: [protected].

So please help me sir,
            my mail id ashok.[protected]@gmail.com phone no. [protected]
            Policy maturity date was in the month of march 16 policy[protected] KUNTAL SINHA
            AGENT code 10243441 no responce fm lic

sidd_clicks
              Apr 21, 2016

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700144

1. Please let me know the present value of money invested by me under policy no.[protected] in market plus-1.
              Date of creation: 29.3.10
              Paid two yearly premiums only. (@10000 p.A in 2010 and 2011.)

What amount can i get if i want to surrender?

2. Also i had one more policy:[protected].
              Paid just one premium in the year 2008.

Can i continue or surrender this policy and get back the amount?

Please help. It will be so helpful to me if i can get back the invested amount in these two policies.

Debansu kumar das

dheerajv
                Apr 19, 2016

Address: Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, 226001

I am a lic pol[protected] i had deposited my premium 35475 on 28/03/2016 but lic has again deduct the premium from my money back survival benefit so pl do the needful action soon

mail id is [protected]@yahoo.Co.In

Kavita Sureka
                  Apr 19, 2016

Address: Howrah, West Bengal, 711106

Before i start my grief i would like to bring to your notice few things to make you understand the case:

Policy no.[protected]
                  Claimed filed at : kmdo-i/claims/cb08
                  Policy holder name: late suresh kumar sureka
                  Nominee: smt. Kavita sureka
                  Copy of policy document : attached

Dear sir / madam,

With respect to above policy no. We have filed death claim and facing problem in getting the claims.

I have been asked to provide birth certificate or passport or school certificate only in support of age proof.

In this regard i would like to draw your attention towards few things:
                  1) the said policy was issued based on the one or two of the given document only which we have already submitted to lic claims dept. (I.E. Pan card, aadhar card, driving license & ration card);
                  2) policy should not have been issued if the policy holder has not provided the so called standard age proof;
                  3) the nominee (My sister - ms. Kavita sureka) has already received death claim hassle free for policy no.[protected],[protected],[protected] &[protected].
                  4) documentary proof of age is required only if the age is not admitted properly. I have attached the policy bond copy which has captured the date of birth correctly as per pan card given at the time of sourcing the policy. While submitting the death claim i have duly submitted copy of pan card, driving license, aadhar card in support of age proof and all document have the same date of birth as well.
                  5) i have raised the concern before lic, irda but did not received the claim amount till date.
                  Finally today[protected] i got a reply for my claim from [protected]@licindia.com, the extract of the same is mentioned here for your kind reference.

Re: your complaint ref [protected] and [protected] in respect of your policy number[protected].

This is to inform you that the said complaint has been redressed and the redressal details of your complaint are mentioned below.

The competent authority at the divisional level has decided to repudiate all liability under the policy on account of the deceased having withheld correct information regarding his age at the time of effecting the assurance with us.
                  The deceased was not having any standard age proof. Had he declared the same, he would not have been eligible for insurance cover under t-150 in the first place. Hence, we hereby repudiate the claim for suppression of material fact. But considering the fact that the policy has run for more than 5years, notional paid up value is refundable as per policy conditions.
                  A letter regarding the same is being sent to the claimant by speed post by divisional claims dept.
                  In case you have any further query, you may please contact
                  Mr. / ms. S.C.Pattanayak, sr. D.M.
                  Lic of india
                  Divisional office kolkata (M)-i
                  Jeevan prakash
                  16 c.R.Avenue
                  Kolkata
                  West bengal
                  Contact number : [protected]
                  Your relationship with us is highly valued.
                  We look forward to serving you to your satisfaction in future.
                  Yours truly,
                  Grievance redressal officer

I have checked and found we have none of the documents as asked by lic. However we have already provided to lic copy of pan card, aadhaar card, driving license & ration card, which i believe is valid age and id proof issued by state & central government and is accepted by all insurance companies even today for sourcing new policies.

As per the extract of the reply received from lic, they have repudiated all its liability under the policy just for want of age proof, which i believe is not correct. The deceased has taken the policy in 2005 and had paid premium without fail till 2014. Only the policy was discontinued during the period 2014 to 2015 but the same was revived in july 2015 by paying due premium along with late fee. Its just a coincidence that his death happened just 2-3 days after revival of the policy. Only due to this coincidence the claim under the said policy was being doubted and denied. No one in the world know the date of his/her death in advance and plan accordingly.

I believe lic is taking advantage of the situation and trying to avoid the settlement. If at the time of issuing the policy, standard age proof was not given, why the policy was issued. The deceased has taken the risk cover to safeguard his family in case of any uncertain event, than why the deceased family is being asked for unnecessary documents. I just don’t understand where from the question of suppression of material fact is coming into picture when the policy documents clearly mentioned the date of birth and deceased family is giving proof for the same date.

I humbly request you to do justice for my sister’s family who have no other source of income.
                  Also find attached copy of policy bond capturing the date of birth which is correct as per pan card.

Waiting for a positive and prompt revert from your side.

Thanks & rgds
                  Manoj poddar
                  (Brother in law of late suresh kumar sureka)

Chandrakant Mahajan
                    Apr 14, 2016

Address: 411033

My home loan (acc. no. [protected]) rate of interest was 9.75% for first 5 years. Now it has converted to floating rate of interest 11.45%.
                    This is a drastic change by 1.7% and totally misaligned with market interest rates when the interest rates in market are around 9.5% & still coming down as declared by RBI.
                    How can any bank or a finance company increase the interest drastically when RBI is reducing the interest rates for home loans.

Life Insurance Corporation of India [LIC] — Not rrsponding put the call on hold for nearly 30min

Im the moneyback holder i want the detail i called the number the operator tell she will connect but i was kept hold for nearly 30min i dnt want to hear the hold music

Arumugamsubbiah
                      Apr 14, 2016

Address: Virudhunagar, Tamil Nadu, 626001

My health plus policy no is[protected] policy taken from lic rajapalayam branch tamilnadu and paying annual premium of rs 15000 per year and it is live from 2008 onwards I have sent my wife medical reimbursement bills to madurai divisional office on 30th march but no information about my claims are received from divisional office madurai so far arumugam

ChennaKrishna R Ch
                        Apr 13, 2016

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560062

I have paid the premium amount of Rs. 16109/- using net banking, amount is debited from my account, but premium payment receipt is not generated. Premium calendar also shows that need to pay the amount. My policy no:[protected]. Jeevan Anand

varunsundars
                          Apr 12, 2016

Address: 600001

Today i got a call from the number [protected] stating that they are calling from lic. The culprit told me that i have accumulated 1, 06, 375 dividends towards my lic policy and the amount remains unclaimed for the last few days and today is the last date to claim the amount. He cleared any doubts that may happen by saying confidently that i can cross verify the information immediately with my lic agents once he hung up the call. He told that my policy amount has been invested 60% in government bonds and 40% in private shares and this shares have only earned this dividend. Then he slowly asked for my pan, voter id, policy nominee, dob, policy start year, policy installment amount, agent name and so on and convinced me that it is for televerification only. Finally after getting all information he boldly told me to speak with my agent too to get more clarification (Think for adding credibility). I came to know it is a hoax after contacting my agent only. Now i feel really concerned for confidential information that i have shared. Someone kindly take action against these criminals by tracking the source of this number...

Life Insurance Corporation of India [LIC] — Online portal login problem.

There is connectivity problem for customer portal login from many days.
                          LIC is not bothered to solve the issue.

Please help for paying the premium online.

sandeeptandan
                            Apr 11, 2016

Address: 122009

The officer in charge, dated: 11th. April 2016
                            Life insurance corporation of india,
                            Pension & group scheme deptt.
                            25, k.G. Marg, 7th. Floor,
                            Jeevan prakash building,
                            New delhi -110001.

Re: non receipt of annuity under master policy no: gs gsi 46540.
                            (Assurance no: 049)
                            This is to inform you that the undersigned is insured under the above mentioned policy and had been receiving annuity on a monthly basis in my bank account as per the terms of the above policy, after retirement from company service.
                            On scrutiny of my bank account recently, i have discovered that my monthly annuity has not been remitted by you to my bank, since 01st. October 1915 to date. I would therefore be grateful if you would be kind enough to resume the monthly remittances of annuity to my bank account with immediate effect along with the arrears from 01st october 2015.
                            As a retired person, i am subjected to unnecessary hardship due to non-remittance of annuity to my account on a timely basis.

Sandeep tandan
                            C-513, sushant lok, part-1,
                            Gurgaon -122009.
                            (Haryana)
                            E-mail : [protected]@yahoo.Co.In
                            Mobile no: [protected].

mehta0273
                              Apr 11, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110002

I have paid lic premium for policy no[protected] and[protected] dated 04.04.2016 of rs. 2417/- and rs. 2140/- total of rs. 4557/- through www.licindia.com, but i do not recived any recipt till date and time. Rs 4557/- debited from my account on same time. Trans no.Fsbi[protected]ig0btjygm2 showing in my state bank of india vide account no. [protected] when send a mail to [protected]@licindia.com then he reply to "pcmc. Cell",
                              Eps1 with these comments
                              " sir/madam
                              The transactions dated 04.04.2016.
                              Pl do the needful.
                              I paid premium through lic website by own userid choose option billdesk internet banking of SBI. Amount debited from my bank account but not credited lic premium of releted policy.

mazagon
                                Apr 11, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400010

I have not recieved my annuity installment due on 2nd april 2016... Amount.. Rs1773/-
                                My policy no. Gsca[protected]
                                Company... Mazagon dock ltd
                                Dockyard road
                                Mumbai..400010
                                Name.. Vasant n jadhav
                                P no...97789
                                Bank. Icici.. Vashi branch
                                A. C. No.[protected].

HEMU anna
                                  Apr 11, 2016

Address: 603203

I have paid premium amount rs 10153/- on 7/4/2016 through online but not get receipt so for policy no[protected]. Lic of india, chengalpattu, premium due on 28/2/2016.In debited my bank account. Kindly look into this matter.

robin_almora
                                    Apr 8, 2016

Address: 497001

I have paid lic insurance premium online through sbi net banking. Money has been deducted from my account but i did not receive e-receipt of this payment. Details of the payment are given below:
                                    Policy no:[protected]
                                    Name of policy holder: robin tripathi
                                    Premium amount: 5512.00
                                    Payment date: 6th april 2016
                                    I, therefore, request you to kindly do the needful.

Robin tripathi
                                    Mi lic cha hapta bharala v majhya bom ac.[protected] madhil rs.1877 debit jhale pan lic madhe jama nahi jhalet majha tr.no.Bomtx412415 majha email id ayade96#gmail.com

monz9xry
                                      Apr 8, 2016

My salary savings lic policy no.[protected] matured on 28th march, 2016. Discharge voucher alongwith policy and cancelled cheque have already been submitted to the dealing office bhubaneswar branch-iii. But till date, the maturity amount has not been credited to my account.

kvineet85
                                        Apr 6, 2016

Address: Gurgaon, Haryana, 122001

I have purchased lic endowment plan on 24th feb 2016 through mr. Prateek(+91-[protected]) and mr. Gaurav (+91-[protected]) and check was cleared by 18th march 2016 till date they are not providing status even though at starting i was getting call from lic sales team ms. Anamika[protected] and that time she was assured me for better services but since long time i am trying to call her but she is not picking my phone call. I really don't know now to whom i will contact. It is my worst experience and i will suggest to everyone please avoid to take lic policies from these guys.

Attached check cleared date screen shot.
                                        Apr 23, 2016
                                        This is not resolved yet. Please do the needful.

I also bought policy from same agents in March. And I have not received any documents as of yet. There are some persons who bought policies through them in December and they are also saying same things.

And there is no acknowledgement/receipt/phone confirmation.

Thanks sir. These guys are crooks. Probably they are getting the policies cancelled and taking out cheque. Feeling so bad about my judgement.