Air India Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Feb 10, 2026
Complaints 3187

File a complaint to Air India

Having problems with Air India?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Air India customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Air India reviews & complaints page 159

Prachi Dashora Pendse
Aug 29, 2009

This is with reference to the in-flight on board experience when I traveled thru' Air India AI 348 from New Delhi to Shanghai on 18th Aug 2009. We had made the bookings thru Thomas Cook, and had made special meal & Bassinet seat requests done telephonically on 16th Aug 2009

I had an Infant of 2 months travelling with me, on calling up the toll free no. - [protected] of AirIndia from Indore, India, I was told that we are not allowed to carry any baby food in the cabin baggage and all the requisite things needed to feed the baby would be served on board and I need to place a request for these upfront. Hence I had requested for Lactogen 1, Boiled Water and skimmed milk to be served since the baby was completely prescribed by the Doctor to be fed formula milk only.

On the 18th Aug 2009, when I asked the crew for the baby feed, they said they have not been served the same from the caterers. However, the meal request was placed and very much there on the charts(passenger lists) that the crew carried inflight. I was such a horryifying experience on board. The baby was not fed for the entire journey of 5 hrs and 48 mins. Also there was a delay in flight departure from New Delhi. The infant had major trouble travelling and was crying bitterly for food. The crew sounded helpless and were shunning away from their responsibility of representing the airline and said it was not their mistake as the caterers didnt supply. At the time of landing also, the crew did not bother to arrange for the feed at the Airport.

It was a nightmare as a mother for me to pacify the baby. I could not believe how an airline could be so callous and casual about their approach towards hospitality that too with infants. It was one outrageous experience I have ever had and the baby could not sustain the hunger for such a long time. I was not able to eat food myself. I have a few questions for which I need answers.
How could an error of this nature happen?
Are you really taking care of you customers on board?
Are you all really serious about the special request that they make?
Is it worth charging so much when you dont serve what is desired?
Dont you check the inventory of caterers before the flight takes off.
How is an infant supposed to sustain 6 hrs of long distance journey without feed?
Is the crew responsible enough to own their/airlines/caterers mistakes?
I want the airline to repay me back the air fare and adequately compensate for the losses of health, sore throat of the baby due to constant crying and the trauma which I underwent as a parent, not being able to help my child.

Travel Details - (Eticket enclosed for reference)

Flight No - AI 348
Class - Economy
Seat No 6A, 6B and 7A
Name of Passenger - Mrs Prachi Dashora Pendse (Self Mother of the infant)
Name of Infant Passenger - Master Vishrav Pendse
Destination - Pudong, Shanghai
Boarding from - New Delhi, India
Crew Incharge - Ms. P Kumar
Date of Travel - 18 Aug 2009, Tuesday.

I had filled in a feedback form in the flight and handed it over to the crew making a mention of my complaint. However the airlines has made no reverts so far.

Looking forward to a revert from your end.

Kindly let know, the email ids of customer service head and the general manager, I would wish to mark a copy to him for the same

Prachi Dashora Pendse
Cell - +86-[protected]
This is really horrible management by Air-India. I am very sure that nobody from the airline will even bother about such matters. I also had bad experiences while travelling with Air India and made a onboard complain but with no reply.
But this situation is really really sorrowfull. Indians(may not be all) please change ourselves. Dont run away from the responsibilties, value other-s feelings, be sincere, keep some ethics. We must learn from Japanese people in this regard.

Behram Kolah
    Aug 4, 2009

My neighbour, who also happens to be one of the landlords, keeps stray dogs inside the building in the passage outside our doors and also on the staircase. She places food and water in the passage for them to feed on. This causes quite a nuisance to us as the entire area stinks, I get ticks crawling on the walls of my appartment sometimes and most people get scared to enter the building and so often we do not get our mail from couriers or my messages from my company as the couriers/ despatch riders are scared of coming home.

I have requested her several times but to no avail and when i shoo the dogs out, or pour some eucalyptus oil in the passage to neutralise the stink, she starts yelling and saying that as she's is the landlord, she can do whatever she likes in the common areas such as passages and staitcases. I have tolerated her nonsense for well over a year and now it's getting worse. Can you please help? Surely there must be a law that if you have a dog it should me kept in your own house and not outside someone else's? How can I get her to remove these dogs from the passage and staircase?

kanmaniraja
      Aug 4, 2009

I booked a ticket thro Air india website from Singapore to India. While booking the ticket it prompted to create an account. Since it is only account creation I entered my name and other details. I indent to book a ticket fort my brother bu the ticket got generated in my name. Now I want to change the passenger name. Air india call center customer executive and Chennai city office executives asy it is not possible to change the name of the passenger if booked online. Why is this so?. They are asking me to cancel the ticket. I will loose huge amount for cancellation. Is there any way to change the passenger name?
      Air india service is the worst. Just don't know why our nation carried doing this way. i was booking the ticket for my wife( she doesn't have any last name in her passport) but the in air india site both fore name and last names are manadtory so i put my last name in the filed. Now the air india is saying althought both the fileds are manadotory but if you dont have any fore name or last name then you should put mr mrs in that filed. is it justified. Also they are behaviong rudely while talking to them. any idea what should be done in this case

Gopal Singh Gusain
        Aug 3, 2009

Madam

I had sent my complaint to email address given to me by the helpline executive as they informed me that there is no system of registereing the complint at helpline nos. I had sent the complaint as given below. However, I am yet to get a reply. Please suggest me the name and address of the officer who is responsible for overseeing customer complaint so that I can file an application under RTI act to find out the result of my email.

Gopal Gusain
        Mobile no [protected]

I travelled on IC 863 on 16.7.2009 from Delhi to Mumbai at seat 18F.
        However, to my surprise I was informed by the flight attendant that due to shortage, I can not be served meals. This makes non availability of promised service to me for which I have paid. Please reimburse me the cost immediately but not later than 28.7.2009 failing which I shall have no option but to move to consumer forum. This may also please be treated as my notice in this regard.

However, I have not received any reply in this regard so far. Can you look into the matter? I need to resolve the matter at the earliest. Please also treat this as my final notice to you under consumer protection act.

Gopal Gusain

zenti78
          Jul 25, 2009

If we book ticket Air ticker in http://www.airindiaexpress.in using credit card, we have to give the front and back side of the credit card. Which is against the RBIs "Customer's confidentiallity". This may lead to fradulant usage of the credit card. This should be stopped with the immediate effect.

Refer the http://www.airindiaexpress.in/airindiaexpress/home.asp for credit policy of Air India

Air India — NOT GETTING PASSWORD FOR MEMBERSHIP

I M MEMBER OF YOUR CLUB N MEMBERSHIP NO. 1353129.I CTCD YOR CUSTOMER CARE FOR MY PASSWORD TO LOGIN MEMBERSHIP TO OIPEN SPARSH SCHEME . YOUR EXECUTIVE ATTENDED
          ME ASSURE THAT I WILL GET IT WITHIN 48HRS. I ALSO REQSTD HIM TO
          EMAIL ME THE PASSWORD ON ALTERNATIVE EMAIL ID I.E [protected]@REDIFFMAIL.COM BECAUSE I HV SO MANY MESSEGES COMING EVERYDAY IN MY YAHOOMAIL BUT HE REFUSE TO DO SO AND TOLD ME TO GIVE AN APPLICATION TO CLUB MAHINDRA OOFFICE THEN ONLY MY REDIIFMAIL EMAILID WILL BE ACTIVATED.THIS IS REALY NONSENSE. INSPITE OF TJIS I WAITED TO GET PASSWORD ON MY YAHOO BUT STILL I HVN'T GOT IT. I REQST U TO LOOK IN THIS MATTER N DO NEEDFUL FOR BOTH THE THINGS.

Manoj Tadhani
            Jun 18, 2009

I had Purchased a return Ticket for my Mother in law from Ahmedabad- Mumbai- Atlana to back to Mumbai-Ahmedabad.
            She had Air India ticket for Mumbai to Ahmedbad. When My MIL arrived Mumbai on June-13-2009 and show the Itinery at AirIndia counter in Mumbai to get a Boarding pass.
            Here is the conversation:
            (My MIL is aged and can speak only Gujarati; and un/fortunetly the agent was gujarati)
            Air India agent: Are you travelling alone?
            My MIL said: yes.
            Agent: Show me yr Itinery.
            My MIL show the Itinery.
            Agent: You don't have reservation. We can't issue you a Boarding pass.
            My MIL: Ben, you must be sleeping. Wake up and read the itinery properly.
            Agent: I can't see yr record in my Computer.
            My MIL: Your computer must have broken. Fix it. I am not gonna leave without Boarding pass.

They argued a lot.
            Agent offer to provide the train ticket. My MIL refuses.
            After 30 min long conversation at Midnight, Agent ask other guy to get the photocopy of the Itinery.
            When the other guy came back with photocopy, Agent check again in computer and issued the Bording pass.

How Ridiculous??? How come photocopy of the Itinery shows her record in her computer?
            These must have overbooked the flight and try to get rid of some passebger like this or so.

I have never ever seen or heard before this kind of strange experience in my life.

God Bless Air India!!!
            Unable to get boarding pass online can you guide?
            Dr Shubhada Kane

RAJAT NARANG
              from Jammu, Jammu and Kashmir
              Jun 12, 2009

I live in new jersey. Came to delhi via Mumbai on 22/05/09. I was carrying two liquor bottles from new york, purchased them from new york airport worth $80, was withe me till Mumbai. In Mumbai, while security check they took the bottles from us and said that we'll get the bottles on the luggage belt in Delhi as I had my transfer flight from mumbai. But it never reached here, I am so pissed. They did that complaint and all, they said Air India will call me directly but nothing has come up still. Is this the way????
              I Travell from Delhi to Singapore via connecting fligh from Mumbai, on reaching at Singapore i found that both of our luggage lock found in broken condition and on opening the luggage in front of security i found that the my digital camera was missing from the camera pouch. it was removed so expertly that the person break one lock and other lock put once again after taking the camera from inside.
              I am following up with Singapore airport authority as well as from air india but no one is giving us proper answer.can someone give me a valid email id for follow-up with these people.

Ashu/Ajay

somaditya sen
                Jun 1, 2009

The Air India website has put several phone numbers in the list on its website but when you call it either guides you to some automated already known information or hangs up with a bizarre noise or engaged tone.
                Secondly the flight status option is just nothing else but the flight schedule. So no information can be known of what is happening. I consider it as a very careful way of being careless.

Air India — Bad Customer Care

I purchased a ticket (Goa Chennai) by credit card and lost the credit card that the Air India requests to present it at the check in.

So I sent my inquiry by e-mail to know what I should do.

Simply no response despite many times inquiries.

Are they working ?

Yalaguresh Jorapur
                  May 28, 2009

I was travelling from Bangalore to London on 25th May 09. I was travelling by AI-9505 from BLR to DEL and by AI-111 from DEL to LHR.

I got the boarding pass for both the flights in BLR. When I landed in DEL, the Air India customer support executive took my boarding pass and put a seal "NOT VALID FOR TRAVEL" and asked me to take seperate boarding pass at international airport. When I approached the Air India desk for boarding pass, he asked me to pay 1300 Rs UDF. As I did not have much time left for my flight, I had to pay and get the boarding pass. I feel cheated.

My transit time was just 2 hours in delhi. But I paid 1300 Rs in UDF. Please help to get the money back and to stop this practice in DEL airport by Air India counter.

Flight No From To Departure Time Arrival Time
                  AI-9505 BLR DEL 25/5/09 9:30 25/5/09 12:00
                  AI-111 DEL LHR 25/5/09 14:00 25/5/09 19:05
                  Hi!
                  It is not AI charging UDF.It is DIAL(GMR Group).Every passenger who travels from Delhi Airport has to pay UDF(domestic-200/- and international 1300/-).so better it would be, if you people get the full information before booking a flight.

ANIRUDDHA NAG
                    May 27, 2009

I live in Bangur Avenue.I've shifted my residence from 14/D to 31/C Bangur Avenue on 10.05.2009 and applied to Telephone Dept on 11.05.2009, Salt Lake Exchange assured me that they will change it by 15.05.2009. But till today 26.05.2009, nothing has happened. My case Number is BAR/LP-H9/NOR/09-10/0035.
                    Bangur telephone exchange is not taking it seriously and instead of having Work Order they are not working.

VASU KAUSHIK
                      May 18, 2009

A ticket was booked online on 18 May 2009 at 18:10 hrs (IST) for IC 555 from Chennai to Singapore on 23 May 2009 at 00:50 hrs. During this transaction, the amount of Rs 8329 has been debited from my account but the PNR was not generated.Due to availability shortage, I immediately booked a new ticket for the journey. I request to you to refund the amount for the ticket that was booked earlier for which the PNR number was not generated
                      I booked online ticket (PNR no. HW0WW) on 9 December 2009 for AI 840 from Abu Dhabi to Delhi and back for travel on 19th December 2009. Air India informed me at 12.00PM on 18th December 2009 that the flight was cancelled due to operational reasons and Air India could not accommodate me in alternative suitable flight, the PNR no. HW0WW was entirely cancelled.

In spite of repeated reminders and follow up with Abu Dhabi office, I have not received the refund till date

I request you immediately refund ticket cost without delay.

The Ticket was purchased thru web booking from Air India website The Transaction ID is 46974494 dated 9/12/2009

Rajeev Nanda

We had booked flight ticket vide indian airlines for Chennai to Ahemedabad for 5-5-11 and return on 11-5-11.These flights were cancelled by them owing to strike by pilots.I had called their call centre and the person promised on 4-5-11 that all money will be tranferred without any charges to my citi bank credit card through which i had booked ticket.So far even after 2 months they have not transferred and refunded the money.

On approaching our citi bank they told no amount has come from Air India.

I have called their call centre 4-5 times they say it has been sent and they can not give details when it was sent.

This an an absolute case of deficency in service.

OUR TICKET NUMBERS ARE 098-[protected]
                      098-[protected]

Digpal Asha Jain

Air India — No Refund Generated as promised

We cancelled a flight with Air India on December 19, 2011, and were told at the time of cancellation that the ticket would be refundable minus a processing fee, for a total of approximately $560 dollars. Since we booked through a travel agent, we were also told to confirm the refund with them, which we did immediately. After three weeks worth of follow ups on why our refund has not been processed, we are now being told by Air India that this ticket is non-refundable, despite repeated claims of the opposite in our intervening inquiries. We would like the promised refund returned to us without any further delay.

shipment not received

AIR WAYBILL NO[protected] AI660- 2 PC MUMBAI TO DELHI shipment not received till 10.15 pm in Delhi, where is my shipment . TO, PRADEEP KUMAR DELHI FROM -NEERAJ KR SHARMA MUMBAI [protected], [protected]

Balasubramanian A
                        May 4, 2009

The date of Travel 14th April, 2009 night from Bangalore to Mumbai by Air India flight
                        The date of Travel 15th April, 2009 by AI 191 from Mumbai to Frankfurt and by AI 127
                        from Frankfurt to Chicago.

1. The provision of food stuffs without proper intervals and time schedule. There was a time gap of 4 to 6 hours between the break fast and dinner in the flight.
                        2. It is an International flight but the announcements in English is brief and not clear. The announcement in Hidhi is lengthier. (In the flight not only Indians but customers from other countries were also travelling.
                        3. Step motherly treatment for the passengers / customers to those who doesnot know Hindhi language, while the fare for the travel is equal for all customers
                        4.At Frnakfurt the flight AI 191 was landed in the ground and the stairs put on the ground not arranged to get in to the bay (tunnel bay way) The senior citizen like me were asked to walk to carry our hand baggage with out giving wheel chair assistance, to get into a bus to go to the train station and there also no assistance (wheel chair provision) was arranged by the Air India Staff.
                        Please note that I had travelled by Lufthansa and British Airways from India to USA, wherein best services and food, and snacks, drinks were provided at proper intervals. Hospitality and customer treatment were quite exemplary.
                        5. Conduct a special input training to staff and try to improve the service
                        6. Provide proper snacks, drinks and food to the passengers / customers, and avoid consumer disputes and unnecessary payment of compensation. The compensation payment by the company is also Public Money,
                        India is the Growing Nation and marked for hospitality and treatment of tourists in with utmost sincerity. But the behaviour of staff and treatment of passengers in the Air India Air crafts AI 191 and AI 127 were very very bad.
                        Air India only seems to care Indians who know Hindi. They need to realize that there are a lot of other indian people who dont know hindi. Their attitude towards non-hindi speaking people is horrible
                        I never experienced that Air India gives priority to Hindi.
                        Not all flights are accessable through air tunnels. For A 300/ A310/ A 320 for Boeing 737 or similar short flight aircrafts airlines and airports all prefer Ladders and convienient. If you have ordered a wheel chair assistence well before, they must brought it the aircraft. Unfortunately for such small aircrafts its simply not possible if you dont request well before.

Even British airways / Lufthansa does the same if it is a local short flights. For Lufthansa tickets if it has a connection with say train (carring lufthansa flight number) and short flights you should order wheel chair assistence well in advance.
                        AIR INDIA 127 sucks we al should baycot it due to poor service and no respect.
                        It is schdule to depart from NEW @ 1:30 it is still not sure when it will take off, passenger sleeping on air port floor whole night. Their excuse they dont have staff to fly air craft, What? they should shutdown and let other airlines service people. I am surelly not flying AI even after dead.

Tandra SrinivasaRao
                          Apr 21, 2009

I Purchased Air India Ticket to travel to San Francisco, CA from Airticketing Agent Named Skyline Aviation Services, Hyderabad. But the ticket is not used. Applied for Refund the same by the agent.
                          My Ticket Ref. is 098 [protected] dated 19th Feb 08 and Booking Ref is 2TISTV.
                          Submitted the Requisation for the refund on 10th March 09.

Please Take Necessary Action To refund the same.

mansi
                            Apr 1, 2009

WE WERE TRAVELLING FROM SINGAPORE TO MUMBAI ON 31.3.2009.

WE BEING STAFF OF AIR INDIA WERE SHOCKED TO SEE THE DISGUSTING BEHAVIOUR OF THE STAFF OF AIR INDIA AT THE COUNTER OF SINGAPORE AIRPORT.

THE COUNTER STAFF BEHAVES IN A VERY INDIFFERENT MANNER AND TREATS THE OTHER STAFF MEMBERS TRAVELLING TO SINGAPORE LIKE BEGGARS.

THIS IS TOTALLING DISGUSTING. STRONG ACTION SHOULD BE TAKEN AGAINST THEM.
                            lets vote for air india to shut down.there is millions of diffrent story of air india's employees misbehave attitude, take any story one is worst then other passenger are treated like animals i would say we treat our animal better then they treat passenger, you ask them any thing in the flight which you paid for waiters of air-india make you feel that you are beggars nothing else.
                            DON'T FLY WITH AIR-INDIA, NEVER FLY WITH AIR-INDIA
                            MOST DISGUSTING AIRLINE ALL BECAUSE OF THERE EMPLOYEES SPECIALY CREW, SECURITY AND TICKETING COUNTER.
                            LETS PROMISE WE WILL NOT TRAVEL WITH AIR-INDIA AS THERE ARE BEST OPTION AVAILABLE WE ARE PASSENGER AIR INDIA IS BECAUSE O[censored]S WE R NOT COZ OF AIR-INDIA.
                            ALSO REQUEST WITH OTHER AIRLINE OPERATOR NOT TO GIVE EX-AIR-INDIA EMPLOYEES JOBS OR THEY WILL MAKE YOUR AIRLINE SAME AS AIR-INDIA.
                            GO HOME AIR INDIA. HAD ENOUGH DICTATORSHIP NOW YOUR DADDY AIRLINE IS IN THE MARKET JET, KINGFISHER
                            JET & KINGFISHER TREAT PASSENGER AS THEY SHOULD BE TREATED YOU
                            WILL NOT FLY WITH AIR-INDIA EVEN IF THE TICKET IS MOST DISCOUNTED PRICE.

VOTE-VOTE-VOTE-VOTE

SHUT DOWN AIR-INDIA

AMIT LOHANA
                              Mar 31, 2009

This is to inform you that I had faced gross negligence and threat to my life by AIR INDIA on my flight from Delhi to New York.I took a flight AI 101 from Delhi on the 27th January 2009.I am a frequent flier but have never heard or faced such incompetence on part of any airline in the world.I have put forward a complaint to Air India but they are just not taking any action.I have put below the emails sent by the airline to me for your reference and also what exactly I had gone through.

I had requested for a sea food meal which I did receive.The prawns seemed a bit smelly but I didn't bother.After one hour of having this meal I started to have severe pain in my stomach.I started to have loose stomach and had to go to the toilet twice.I called on your crew to ask for some medicine as the pain had become severe and also I started shivering.They were very helpful and called in a doctor from one of the passengers.The doctor suggested food poisoning and told me to be on ORS.The next few hours were a pain as I went four times to the toilet.The pain was excruciating.I requested the crew to arrange for a doctor on the JFK airport, I was told that they would pass on a message for a doctor but to my dismay when I landed the ground staff there told me to get the immigration done after which they would call the police to get an ambulance to take me to a nearby hospital.His attitude was of sheer inconsideration.I decided to take some pain killers I had in my checked in Baggage and took the flight to Miami and get myself check at a doctor there.

The doctor in Miami told me that I was suffering from Food Poisoning, told me to rest and prescribed me antibiotics medicine.I was on a Business trip and had to go through suffering, pain and agony because poisoned food served by your airline.The airline should take responsibility
                              for the Food being served to its customers.
                              These guys take Indians for a dangerous ride.I am sure if it would have been a foreigner they would have compensated him by now and apologized.

Complainant1065267
                                Jan 15, 2009

We were subjected to great mental agony and inconvenience due to sudden change of IC 0505 from Bangalore to Delhi on 6th January 2009 to IC 439.In our ticket booked on 5th December, the departure time was 9.30 am and arrival at Delhi was 12.00 noon with out any stops.

When we checked the internet on 5th January to know if there is any change in flight schedule our flight IC 0505 was not seen in the flight schedule. We tried to contact the toll free number of Air India but no one answered the call. I send a letter by e mail to Air India in the address, [protected]@indian-airlines.info to know about our flight status but no reply has been received upto now. We feel this as most unfortunate and irresponsible behavior in the part of Air India. According to our experiences the services and behaviour of low cost private air lines are much better than Air India..

When we reached airport we came to know that the flight No. is changed to IC 439 and the flight has now one stop at Chennai contrary to the ticket issued to us. Moreover the scheduled arrival at Delhi was changed to 13.45. This flight actually landed in Delhi at 14.45. It departed from Bangalore at 10.45 am instead of 9.30 am. We had an important meeting at Delhi at 14.30 and also missed the Jan Shatabdhi Express in which we were planning to go to Karnal- the place of our residence. Hence we had to take a taxi and pay Rs. 2500 as taxi fare to Karnal.

To add to all these, the behaviour of airhostess in the flight gave the feeling as if they are not trained in the fundamentals of hospitality. Passengers who requested for pillows were not provided and those who went and collected only could get it. Is this the way to treat the passengers? Really pathetic services, behaviour and the quality of food served were substandard.

You are requested to look into this matter and give us the necessary compensation by paying us Rs.2500 which we had to spend on taxi and an amount of Rs.50000/- for the mental agony and inconvenience caused to us within 15 days of the receipt of this mail. If necessary action is not taken we will be moving the matter to consumer court.

Jancy Gupta

Saurabh Kochhar
                                  Dec 17, 2008

Hi Sir

I want to bring to your notice the inconvenience caused to me due to Air India flight cancellation.
                                  I booked a flight for my sister from expedia.com for an Air India flight AI-126 from Chicago-New Delhi for 6th October which had a cost of $704.90. The flight got cancelled and Air India staff told that "flight may or may not go" even the next day also.
                                  It was very urgent for her to come back so she booked American Airlines ticket then and there itself which costed around $2000.
                                  When I contacted for refund, both Air India/Expedia started giving excuses and told that they don't have any information on this.
                                  I went to Air India (Hyderabad) office and they simply refused to refund the amount saying that the ticket was not booked by them.

Sir, kindly look into this matter as its been over a month and nobody is replying and I have spent more than 1Lac rupees for a fault for which solely Air India is responsible.

I have all the tickets/mails/call details list, in case you want anything, I will be providing you with the details.

Thanks for your kind consideration.

Saurabh
                                  This is Nipan Sarma, had purchased one ticket vide PNR NO - YP974 for Kolkata to Guwahati sector. But due to some personal reason i had to cancel the same. The basket reference : AIBE7544947
                                  CCUGAU/S/17 MAY 13 JURN XXLD
                                  PNR YP974 XXLD ON 14 MAY 13 / 0930 HRS.
                                  MY SBI CREDIT CARD NO : [protected]. ( NIPAN SARMA)

shahbaz subedar
                                    Oct 30, 2008

My name is shahbaz subedar.we were flying with my family from Mumbai to New York by Air India Flight no. AI191 on Saturday 25th October, 2008.

As per the rule, we have bought a ticket for my kid master ZIYAN subedar (only 1year old) which costs me around Rs.26000/-.
                                    For that amount they are bound to provide me baby coat for my baby.

But unfortunately, they did not had sufficient baby coat or they didnot had baby coat for that whole journey which lasts for around 19 hours.we had to manage our baby by ourselves.

Due to this neither my baby nor me could sit comfortably.

I will definately raise this issue in consumer court also.

Shahbaz Subedar

Paresh Varsani
                                      Oct 8, 2008

The following Letter was sent to Air India HQ and London Office.

* I had to constantly chase the complaint
                                      * Show no sympathy or to honest didnt care
                                      *Did take responsibility and didnt no care on bit.

OVERALL - Will Never Use Again and Would Not Recommend !!!

I am filing a written complaint to Air India for compensation. Please read my frustrations with Air India

I came to find out from my friends on Saturday 20th September that Air India have changed the flight schedule which will mean that there will be no direct flight from London Heathrow to Ahmedabad. I don’t think Air India realised the amount of inconvenience they have create to passengers with regards to arrival times, departure time, pickup time from airport and hotel reservation and now I will have to incur extra hotel cost due to my flight not leaving until 15.15 which was originally leaving at 7.20. I know of over 15 people who are affected and now looking to cancel their flights and will travel with your competitor Jet Airway. The worst feeling is to find out from friends and family about your flight changes without being informed by the airline or the travel agency who you have paid. I have shown my frustration to my travel agency and I am now showing my frustration to the airline.

I am extremely angry and reluctant to let this go as I will explain below:

Back in March when I made the booking I had two options which included choosing flight with Air India and your competitor Jet Airway. Jet Airway came in cheaper by £75.00 but it was via Mumbai. However I choose to use Air India even after I was told by the travel agency, friends and family about the poor customer service and the unreliable service. At an extra cost of £75.00 and bad reviews I took the risk and showed my loyalty and purchased tickets with Air India for the only reason which was DIRECT flight to my destination. I will explain further to why this has proven to come back a haunt my decision. I will not receive the service I paid for and I demand appropriate compensation from Air India as I don’t have the luxury of cancelling and choosing another carrier.

* Do you think I will receive the same direct service I have paid for?

* If direct flight is not available - Do you think I should receive compensation for the inconvenience and a refund the extra cost which was paid?

On Monday 22nd of September 2008 at 9.00am, I called the customer number[protected] which was given to me by my travel agency because I was extremely unhappy. I called the number for over 4 hours continuously and to this date no have not managed to speak to a customer service advisor and have given up. As temperature were heating up, I when to the Air India website where I emailed “Contact Us For Complaints and Compliments” and called[protected] again and again to finally get connected to find myself being treated rudely/unprofessional and on number of occasion the staff disconnected my call. I spoke to number of your colleague from Vikran, Pankaj to name a few staff. I don’t expect any favours but I deserve proper customer service.

* What kind of service is this? Is this the type of service Air India want to be known for?

* Aren’t we paying for the service so why can’t Air India handle us as customers?

Lack of this will definitely lower AI’s customers’ interest and sales especially when travel agencies in the UK are advising their customers’ not to use Air India.

Here are some of the links of websites which hosts endless complaints on Air India flight and customer service who sound the similar complaint as me.

http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/worst-service-c36515.html

http://www.grumbletext.co.uk/vt.php?t=824&subj=complaints+Air+India+complain...

http://www.consumercomplaints.in/complaints/sheikh-jamil-ahmad-c30131.html

The whole service from Air India and the way it treats it’s customer is a clear attitude of their arrogance. I know I can not change anything with Air India but I decided to recommend family, friends and everybody else never ever board or book any Air India flights.

I request your assistance and your help for obtaining the fair compensation. If you need more information please call me on ********** or send email at [protected]@hotmail.com

Paresh Varsani

India Today — BAD & UNRELIABLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

I deeply regret the fact that inspite of calling the India Todiay Customer Care Number a No. of times and enquiring about the delivery status of my Reebok Fitness Kit, brought through phone transaction, the support people are not at all giving a concrete answer of when it will be delivered to me.

I Booked it on 08-Mar-2009 but haven't received any till date.

Also, they have been calling me again and again, for explaining their other offers, when i replied them my disinterest, they are asking the reason for it.

Too bad !!!

If this is going to happen for a week, i will definitely lodge a compliant against India Today group in the consumer forum.

My transaction id : [protected]

amount: Rs. 3, 199/-

flights — service

My husband and I travelled with your airline after hearing very favourable reports about how fantastic the airline was and what good service other friends had received. I would like to express my displeasure with our trip. We flew out on the 04.06.2009 and I asked for a window and an aisle seat which we duly got and the flight was okay despite us being late in take off. On arrival in Dubai we were helped by a very friendly staff member and that the plane we would be flying in had only groups of three seats so I was given an aisle seat and my husband a window seat and luckily there was nobody inbetween us which was great.

On the return journey we were assisted at the check in counter by a very friendly staff member from your airline but unfortunately the plane also had groups of three seats and I was given a middle seat on both flights and as I suffer from claustrophobia this was very unpleasant. We also found the seats on the plane very hard and uncomfortable and the light meals that we were served had hard stale rolls with very little chicken filling. There was a problem with the baggage loading on the flight EK004 and we should have left at 10.15am. We should have left from gate 221 but were told to go to gate 136 which is at the other end of the aiport building and then we were driven by bus to the plane and sat on the plane for and hour and a half while they loaded the baggage onto the new plane before we took off at noon..

On a more pleasant note the puddings were great as per my husband and there was enought liquid refreshement available and the hostesses were also helpful in supplying what we needed.

I don't like to complain but feel these things need to be brought to your attention as it only serves to enable you to give a better service.

Pauline Roux
                                      sir, good morning.i am subscriber to india today tamil issue.subscrib no ITT1880774.today ihave received one gift article from india today office newdelhi.very shocking to me .that parcel i opened, insde dilipkumarroy v state of sikkim 45 damaged pages only inserted parcel, iam very shocking. timex wrist watch not received to me.what happen? and what can i do?i dont understand the indiatoday group.please stern action to above complaint.(my parcel no-itetimex itt488277 epp 1).
                                      thanking you. aarison, reader indiatoday.

Air India — cancellation of flight and bad customer care

My Name is :Ayalur Subramanian Annapoorni
                                      My passport number: H8671791
                                      My ticket number: Document 098 -[protected]

My return flight from Austin-New York on 12th December 2010

My original Itinerary:

1) Austin to New York by AA684 on 12th December 2010 at 9.40am______ reaching New York at 14.30______
                                      2) New York JFK to Mumbai by AI-140 on the 12th of December 2010 at 21:30 reaching Mumbai at _22.15_____

Unfortunately my return journey turned out to be a nightmare.

To make things simpler, let me use a numbered format to describe the sequence of events.

1) The day before my travel, we called Air India to reconfirm my flight. We were told that my flight was rescheduled and it was now at 16:00 hours instead of the original 21:30 hours. No one had emailed me or texted me to inform me of the change. I panicked because this would only give me an hour and a half at New York JFK to change over. We asked the agent if they could reschedule us on an earlier flight but he said an hour and a half was OK according to Air India’s policy. We were very skeptical about that, but your customer care (CC) personnel assured that it would be enough.
                                      2) The next day, on 12th December, as planned I reported at Austin Bergstorm Airport at 7 am, on 12th. As American airlines would land at JFK at 14.35 hours the agent refused to let me take the flight to JFK since they said the baggage would not make it to the next flight. According to their policy they needed at least 1 and a half hours between the connecting flights. The American Agent called Air India to see if they could resolve the problem and to our surprise, the Air India agent said their policy was a minimum of 2 hours!! This meant that the information they gave me over the phone the previous day was completely inaccurate. Also, the agent said they could do nothing about my situation.
                                      3) I begged and pleaded with both agents over the phone and I reiterated to Air India that their original flight was 21:30 and they had combined two flights (JFK to Delhi and JFK to Mumbai) to change the flight time to 16:00 hours (this was the time the JFK to Delhi flight was supposed to depart). I was not responsible for missing my flight if the event occurred due to their schedule change.
                                      4) American Airlines told me they would take me to New York but they could not accept my luggage. My daughter and son-in-law were traveling to India by American Airlines that same day. My daughter asked American Airlines if they could take my baggage with them. American accepted this but said we would have to pay an extra 100 US Dollars (50 dollars per bag). Left with no other choice, we made the payment and the baggage traveled with my daughter on her flight to India via London.
                                      5) When we entered the terminal after security, we found out that the American Airlines flight to New York was delayed due to bad weather. I immediately contacted Air India about the situation. They again washed their hands off the affair. Remember that all this was occurring due to their schedule change. If my flight from New York were at 21:30 as scheduled before, I could have easily made it.
                                      6) When I reached New York airport, I ran to the Air India counter at my terminal. I was astonished to see the counters vacant. Not a single person from Air India was around. I phoned the AI customer service toll free number. I was asked to go to The American Airline agent and was asked to talk to the AI customer care executive, from there. So again I ran to the terminal number 8.The agent directly talked to AI and your CC service executive told they could not do anything. I was requesting them to put me in any other flight. They asked me to meet the duty manager there. Again I went to terminal 4, but in vain. No one was there either. When I enquired with airport authorities, they said only three hours prior to the flight, anybody would appear.
                                      7) I had no choice but to wait at the airport from 17:30 hours on the 12th of January to 16:00 hours on the 13th of January. Air India did not even bother to offer me any food or accommodation. Since I am a pure vegetarian, I could not eat anything at the airport. I do not understand American Accent well so I could not ask for descriptions of what was in each food item. All I had for the next 24 hours was a cup of coffee. At around 10 AM on the 13th, after more than 15 hours of waiting at the airport, I almost fainted of hunger and fatigue. I am 55 years old. I had spondylitis and mild arthritis too. Because of my mental and physical trauma my problems were aggravated. On the 13th at 11.30 AM or so AI agents came and opened the counters. I stood in the queue And got my tickets reserved, on AI -140, on 13th and reached Mumbai on 14th at 22:00 hours.
                                      My Grievances:
                                      1. AI should have informed me earlier, so that I could have cancelled my tickets on American Airlines (Austin to New York) and taken some other flight according to my departure time from JFK or other airport
                                      2. AI should have considered what its passengers would go through before rescheduling a flight to depart 5 hours before its original scheduled time!
                                      3. I anticipated the problem and asked your agents repeatedly if 1 and a half hour was enough time for transit at JFK airport. They said it was. And this turned out to be false even going by your own policy which is 2 hours.
                                      4. I had to shell out 100 US dollars so my luggage could reach India, all because of your rescheduling.
                                      5. AI should have had the minimum courtesy to take care of me for 20 hours; they should have provided me a hotel accommodation, so that I could have been safe. Or put me in a different flight so that I could have reached India at the earliest and joined my husband who is 65 years old and sick and alone.

I request Air India to attend to my appeal and compensate me for all the trouble and inconvenience caused and the money (100 US Dollars) we paid extra for the baggage At Bergstorm American airline counter.
                                      I am writing this with absolute regret and dismay, My child boarded an Air India flight from Mumbai to Jamnagar on the 16/06/2013, but the flight had to return to Mumbai due to bad weather, It is disgraceful that the most incompetent half wits decided to bring the flight back to Mumbai, half way back to Mumbai the weather had cleared so these half wits could have gone back to Jamnagar to let there passengers disembark, instead they decided to go to Mumbai, no considerate for there passengers what so ever, it is an inconvenience for my child and my husband and myself considering that we had to foot the bill for her return to Jamnagar, flight, hotel accommodation and taxi fare. What the hell is wrong with these people, its like they take no notice of you. Come on people in the western world this a taboo, If you want to be a world class country behave like one, and look for a PLAN B, don't let you passengers battle themselves.
                                      SHAME ON YOU AIR INDIA!!! your passengers are important so look after them, if it wasn't for your passengers you wont have a business... and treat them with respect, VERY DISAPPOINTED...
                                      This is the first time I flew with Air India and I was really disappointed at the service and even more frustrated after the journey with the poor customer service. I have never experienced this in any other airline before.

I paid a lot of money to book business class ticket on this flight [AI113 - 4/1/13] as I was sick and wanted to travel comfortably for the 8 hour journey. I was discharged from the hospital just 2 days before and it was very important for me to have a comfortable travel. But in my seat, auto reclining was not working. The steward has noted this in his log book and the technical team tried to fix this before take off but with no success. They said its Air India's mistake as the seat should not have been allocated. By the time we reached Birmingham, I was in severe pain with swelling in my joints. And I had to be admitted in the hospital for another week in the UK

I called up the customer services to report this and they asked to submit a feedback online. I did that twice . No one has taken any notice of it. I called the customer service again, they gave me a telephone number for the Air India head office in London. I have been calling them for days now. No one is picking up. How pathetic can the services be?

So then i called the customer services team again and they gave an email id. I hope someone will see this and get in touch with me. I need compensation and refund of the money I paid for the business class ticket.

Better to fly in Emirates Economy services, 10 times better than Air India Business or First Class

my email: [protected]@gmail.com

nagaraj ramakrishnan iyer
                                        Sep 29, 2008

on 18th I'd arrived from Newyork by AI 140 and from my check in bag I had lost the following.

1. 2 boxes of FERRERO ROCHER HAZELNUT CHOCOLATES net
                                        weight 600 gms...
                                        2. a beautiful hand made imported shirt costing 80 US dollars

3. 2 costliest perfumes which was a gift for my son in law...

I wanted the authorities to know this for constant vigilance on the loaders in the month of may 23rd my elder son in law boarded a flight from air india to NY from delhi..a brand new banarsi saree was neatly removed from his check in bag which he realised when he reached and opened the bag at home..usually these type of things I have not experienced in Europe, middle east and USA but when this things are happening in our country I must make sure that the authorities take some action and let the passenger know what they should do in this case..
                                        please note that in security check in bags in Newyork the x ray machine was not working when I checked in..and the personnels forced me to go to the gate and said that nothing will happen to my check in bag!!!there was a common conveyer belt which was handled by few of the american counter parts and they didn't allow me to wait to see my bags going into the machine!!!

well I hope I have given the message and it depends what action does the authorities take?