Citibank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Jul 14, 2024
Complaints 1855

File a complaint to Citibank

Having problems with Citibank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Citibank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Citibank reviews & complaints page 31

satish@july22
from Proddatur, Andhra Pradesh
Oct 16, 2017

I have planned to pre - close my loan of 76000/- balance amount 9 emi left and i have approached citibank officers on the same but unfortunately there is nobody interested in helping me.
I have been trying to get in touch with bank. I didn’t get any kind of response from them.
We understand that citibank officers are careless because it’s not their money. I have already informed/requested citibank that i want to close my loan and i will not be able to pay this month’s emi.
My worst loan experience with citi banks. I will never suggest anyone of my colleagues to take loan from citibank.
Citibank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Oct 16, 2017
Updated by satish@july22
Such a worthless and useless bank i have never seen. when i am ready to pay with interest also they are not accepting to close my loan account. and that phone call officer are such a dump don't ask while speaking to them.
simply one word they are saying sir not possible.
I have submitted by E-AADHAAR to citibank as address proof. However Citibank Not Accepting E-AADHAAR as Address Proof. Please help

prashanthi narala
    Oct 16, 2017

The dd was issued by citi bank on 28th february 2017 in the name of ‘prashanthi narala’ for an amount of inr 15, 430/-
    · the dd was dropped at the sbi branch at cyber towers, madhapur on 7th march 2017. The sbi account no. Of prashanthi is [protected]
    · the amount is not credited to my account till date. The staff at sbi cyber tower branch informed that they did not leave behind any dd.
    Dd number is:403396
    Can you please provide me the status of this dd, whether it reached to city bank for clearance or not and my email id is:prashanthi[protected]@gmail.com and mobile no :[protected].
    Credit card is dispatched through blue dart AWB [protected].
    please check the dispatch address details as follows...

B SHOURIE REDDY
    FLAT NO: 205, PLOT NO:386,
    VINDHYA LAKE VEIW COLONY,
    VINDHYA LAKE VEIW APARTMENT,
    OPP.JNTU,
    PRAGATHI NAGAR,
    BACK SIDE OF PANCHAVATI APARTMENTS
    KPHB,
    HYD-500090.

biji1204
      Oct 13, 2017

Address: Gautam Buddh Nagar, Uttar Pradesh

Credit card agents roam around almost all offices to get their cards applied by company professionals. This is a normal thing but their wrong commitments are ruining banks name. One of the agent in noida commit me that he will mention my colleague's name as referrer in my credit card application so that my colleague would be eligible to get referral points worth 2000. But all those were false promises only. Unfortunately i missed the agent's mobile no otherwise i would not have spare him. I am sure i am not the only case but nothing is happening to this type of cases. They are just ruining banks name nothing else.
      I am a regular emi payer of personal loan from citi bank and a credit card holder.
      Request you to do something if anything possible.

Card application no - [protected] (Indianoil citibank platinum credit card) applied from noida.
      Oct 26, 2017
      No resolution has been provided. The representative asked me to activate the card with min spent of Rs/- 100 which I did on the same day and told me after then the required points will be awarded to me but I did not get any. The person was requesting me to allow him few days and not to close the card which I wanted to do on the same day. If this he calls a resolution then what can I say, rest known to everybody.
      One representative called and asked to activate the card with min Rs 100 /- spent and told me that then only the rewards points will be added to my credit card. Today 25/10/2017 I got a mail with the first bill for my card but still no points. Whenever an official calls, requests not to close the card . But I am frustrated and going to close the card after repaying the spent amount .
      If this forum can do anything please do it or I will forget all in few days after closing the card just like any other frustrated consumer.

Ajit Devale
        Oct 12, 2017

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 410506

No credit card, but still getting sms from bh-citibk, stating,
        Reminder payment due 1480.31 due data 16-oct-17. Etc.

Pl do the needful to help

I got 4000/- under Ur eMGM program of refering of credit cards 4000 is approved to my dashboard. As they r showing in it.
        But how I can use that amount.
        Contact details [protected] and [protected]
        Solanki.[protected]@gmail.com

credit card deductions - Comment #2881810 - Image #0
        No feedback till date. I am afraid
        Ajit Devale's [Complaint's author] reply, Nov 3, 2017
        No feedback till date. I am afraid

Shaik Matheen Faizan
          Oct 12, 2017

Address: 560068

I applied for credit card and i didn’t got it yet, its been more than 30 days, i have spoke with customer executive aswell and she has told be that my cibil score is not reaching as per the credit card criteria required, even i don’t know what is that cibil score mean, i have asked her how to regarding that and asked how to improve the cibil score, what she said was to call the cibil department they can help you regarding that, i asked for the number and she told it is available online but i don’t get one in online, please help me out to reach out to the cibil department to know the cibil score etc

YogeshKumar90
            Oct 9, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110043

I am using the citi bank credit card last 2 year and now i have some financial problem to pay the amount on regular basis due to my job change. So i hereby request you to convert the balance amount (Rs16809/-) into 24 month emi. Its easy to pay the bill on monthly basis.
            Otherwise its difficult to pay the monthly amount. I request you to please do the needful.

Rupesh r
            Credit card number: [protected]

lksfinance
              Oct 9, 2017

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400018

This is to inform you that i was given a credit card from your bank during 2007 in my name mr. Vijay kumar hanmat gaikwad.
              My mobile number is [protected] and [protected]. I have not applied for any credit card in any bank ever but while i have visited icici bank last week for
              Agricultural loan they said that in my cibil credit card outstanding is appearing for rs.20000/- and my credit card limit is appearing as rs.24000.
              For your kind information, i have never requested for any card and not even used my card in any outlet for any purpose.
              Due to this record since 2007 my cibil rating has been reduced and no bank is agreed to give me loan for my need because of your so called
              Credit card. When i have received my card in 2007, i have submitted the same in your ahdheri branch during 2007 only without using the same.
              Since i have not used my card ever then how outstanding amount of rs. 20000/- is appearing in my cibil which is used for mediclaim when i have taken a loan from the finance company but i have not applied for any insurance as well and if i have used the same, kindly provide me the statement for the card.
              I have not remembered the card number since it was already submitted by me to the bank branch in 2007.
              If you have any proof of documents which shows that i have used my card, then kindly provide me the card statement, copy of my duly signed form for credit card at the earliest. Failing to do so, i will be bound to take up the matter
              With banking ombudsman for citi bank. I am working with best, mumbai and i will inform all the organisation about the fraudulent activity by the citi bank by giving card to customers without any document signed and showing fraud outstanding
              In the cibil. I have 2 loans in my name where as on date there is no outstanding and all my emis are always regular for which bank has agreed to give me agricultural loan whereas it is interrupted due my cibil score which was impacted by your so called card
              Outstanding since 2007 and as on date it is appearing total write off amount as rs.10000/-. When i have never used any card why should i pay for the same and why outstanding is appearing in my cibil. Kindly provide me the details for my card statement along with the proofs when i have
              Applied for the same.
              I am a very honest and deligate person and any faudulent activity neither i have done nor i will allow any bank to do the same with me. I will take necessary action against your bank and will asked for compensation for my loss of creditibility in banking sector for any loan purpose.
              My details are mentioned as under. Please provide me the details at the earliest.

Name - vijay kumar hanmat gaikwad
              Mobile - [protected]/[protected]
              Dob - 01/06/1968
              Citi bank credit card limit - 24000/-
              Address appearing in cibil for my card - new ambalal chawl
              51 b room no - 35 dr. Annie besant road worli mumbai - 400018
              Oct 09, 2017
              Updated by lksfinance
              This is to inform you that I was given a credit card from your bank during 2007 in my name Mr. Vijay kumar Hanmat Gaikwad.
              My mobile number is [protected] and [protected]. I have not applied for any credit card in any bank ever but while I have visited ICICI bank last week for
              agricultural loan they said that in my cibil credit card outstanding is appearing for Rs.20000/- and my credit card limit is appearing as Rs.24000.
              For your kind information, I have never requested for any card and not even used my card in any outlet for any purpose.
              Due to this record since 2007 my cibil rating has been reduced and no bank is agreed to give me loan for my need because of your so called
              credit card. When I have received my card in 2007, I have submitted the same in your Ahdheri branch during 2007 only without using the same.
              Since I have not used my card ever then how outstanding amount of Rs. 20000/- is appearing in my cibil which is used for mediclaim when I have taken a loan from the Finance company but I have not applied for any insurance as well and if I have used the same, kindly provide me the statement for the card.
              I have not remembered the card number since it was already submitted by me to the bank branch in 2007.
              If you have any proof of documents which shows that I have used my card, then kindly provide me the card statement, copy of my duly signed form for credit card at the earliest. Failing to do so, I will be bound to take up the matter
              with Banking Ombudsman for Citi bank. I am working with BEST, mumbai and I will inform all the organisation about the fraudulent activity by the CITI bank by giving card to customers without any document signed and showing fraud outstanding
              in the CIBIl. I have 2 loans in my name where as on date there is no outstanding and all my EMIs are always regular for which bank has agreed to give me agricultural loan whereas it is interrupted due my cibil score which was impacted by your so called card
              outstanding since 2007 and as on date it is appearing Total write off amount as Rs.10000/-. When I have never used any card why should I pay for the same and why outstanding is appearing in my cibil. Kindly provide me the details for my card statement along with the proofs when I have
              applied for the same.
              I am a very honest and deligate person and any faudulent activity neither I have done nor I will allow any bank to do the same with me. I will take necessary action against your bank and will asked for compensation for my loss of creditibility in banking sector for any loan purpose.
              My details are mentioned as under. Please provide me the details at the earliest.

Name - VIJAY KUMAR HANMAT GAIKWAD
              MOBILE - [protected]/[protected]
              DOB - 01/06/1968
              CITI BANK CREDIT CARD LIMIT - 24000/-
              ADDRESS APPEARING IN CIBIL FOR MY CARD - NEW AMBALAL CHAWL
              51 B ROOM NO - 35 DR. ANNIE BESANT ROAD WORLI MUMBAI - 400018

Please contact for any queries to mail id - [protected]@yahoo.co.in

Prasad a d
                from Lunglei, Mizoram
                Oct 7, 2017

Address: Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, 530046

I am using citi bank credit card since 5 years. Every time for payment of bill i am dropping check in the box provided by citi bank at ravi rays petrol bunk, ukkunagaram, visakhapatnam steel plant. Now that box has been removed.
                Every month i used get statement, but since last three months i am not getting statement.
                So, totally now i am unable to know outstanding balance for payment.

Kindly send me the detailed account statement for outstanding amount.
                At the same time i want to close the credit card account.

Please send me the details to same mail id or to the following address by post.
                House no:174, siddhardha nagar, vadla pudi, visakhapatnam - 530046
                Ph: [protected]

Althi durga prasad
                Credit card no:[protected]
                Valid up to :08/17

I need to change the mailing address which is associated with my citi credit card. Could you please help me for the same? What should i do for that?

Varsha

Srishti79
                  Oct 6, 2017

Citibank rejected a payment of rs.50, 000 which was then reverted to my bank account. I was not given any intimation. Three days after the rejection, they raised the statement citing non payment of dues and blocked my card, making the minimum amount due, more than double of the previous month.
                  I was offered an emi plan to clear outstanding, but not informed exact rate of service tax before i confirmed. After i confirmed, i was told 18% service tax.
                  I tried to get a balance transfer from another bank, but due to citibank citing this last payment as due, in 13 years of having this card, no bank is agreeing.
                  They have also preclosed the loan on the card and added more charges as well interest continues to accrue.
                  I have been contacted on whatsapp by a citi employee and continue to get calls from the collection agents.
                  Despite repeated requests to speak with a supervisor about this issue, i am not given that option.
                  I have refused the emi plan and even after that i made a payment of 50, 000 to the bank. They keep adding interest, and i receive sporadic statements.
                  I am still looking to speak with someone from citibank in order to reach an acceptable end to this.

kroypaul
                    Oct 6, 2017

I have been paying my credit card bills through ecs from my account in syndicate bank, safdarjung airport, new delhi for the last many years but i was told that my bill for august was returned by the bank saying that this account does not exist. On checking up with the bank, i was told that the bank has no problem with my account and suggested that i should check with the credit card people what is their problem. They said that it was a mistake on the part of citibank but the credit card authorities keep insisting that they are right. Quite obviously credit card people are wrong since my cheque drawn on the same account has been honoured after the ecs was allegedly turned down on account of non existence of the account!

purabi samaddar
                      Oct 5, 2017

It is to inform you that i made a transaction on irctc using my sbi debit card through payment module-visa/master card (Powered by citi bank) for which the transaction failed.
                      Now irctc has refunded the amount as shown in refund status to your bank on 04oct2017, but still now i haven't received the amount back.
                      Kindly look into the matter and remit the amount to my account.
                      Details
                      Name-arijit samaddar
                      Transaction id: [protected]
                      Transaction amount:2770.0
                      Contact no-[protected]
                      Oct 06, 2017
                      Updated by purabi samaddar
                      This is to inform you recently i received a phone call from No-[protected] where the person addressed himself to be a CITI bank representative and asked my debit card credentials which i provided.
                      At last stage he asked for the OTP which is confidential and so i denied.
                      Thereafter he threatened to cancel my payment request, kindly clarify whether your bank relate to any such person.
                      My payment is wrongfully blocked for very long period if i don't get my money back then i would be bound to take drastic action.

ve.kathiravan
                        Oct 3, 2017

Address: 600053

Citi bank credit card no end with 7118

Fraudulent transactions done on my citibank credit card on 28 sep 2017 (11:31 am ist).

First transaction was of rs. 50 and then 2 consecutive transactions of rs. 3500 each (Amounting to rs. 7050) done.

It was done on google octro and no otp or any card number was shared from my end. As checked there are number of complaints
                        Online for the same site for the same amts.

Please revert back amount to card (Bank) as soon as possible.

I think bank also cooperate to the fradulent because why bank was not block the that merchant even after received lot of complaints to the same merchant?.

Rohit Banka
                          Sep 29, 2017

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 712248

Dear citibank
                          I received alert messages today that there were two transactions on my credit card. And my card is temporarily blocked. I called thier customer support and have blocked my credit card. They told me that there were two transactions of 5900 each in the name google octro inc.

I have not made any such purchases. Please revert the charges on my credit card.
                          I have applied for life time free citibank credit card 1and half month ago, the documents has been collected but no update on card status.
                          Application no. Is[protected]
                          Sarendra Gilani
                          Cont.[protected]

fraud transactions on my credit card - Comment #2871863 - Image #0
                          Am a regular customer. Tried to book tickets.. But transaction has got rejected saying try another option of payment.. And money got debited from my sbi acount thrice. However tickets were not issued. This is the first time it happening like this with irctc.

cadheeraj
                            Sep 28, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110017

My citibank cc application rejected on the basis of non-fulfilling internal policy criteria. When i called to citibank customer care to know the exact reason of rejection then they told me that my card is rejected on the basis of cibil report. After that i called to cibil with my cibil control reference no. And after verify cibil told me that my cibil report is clear and nothing negative in that.
                            So why citibank rejected my application since i am using credit card of other company and i never make any default or delay in payment.
                            Date of rejection of application: 31.08.2017
                            Application ref no. [protected]

prabakaran.qc
                              from Udupi, Karnataka
                              Sep 27, 2017

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560081

Below mentioned credit card details not belongs to me and i never applied city bank credit card, but it is showing in my cibil report with some over due, because of this my housing loan got rejected

So i need a compensation to buy the house rs - 30, 00000/- from city bank,

Below is my account number please transfer the same to [protected],

I have all the proof to go supreme court

Citibank
                              Member name

Credit card
                              Account type

Account number

Individual
                              Ownership

Account details

Credit limit

-

Rate of interest

High credit

88, 846

Repayment tenure

-

Current balance

25, 756

Emi amount

-

Cash limit

5, 000

Payment frequency

Monthly

Amount overdue

10, 620

Actual payment amount

-

Dates

Date opened/disbursed

Date of last payment

Date closed

Date reported & certified

Payment history (Upto 36 months)

Payment start date

Payment end date

Days past due (No. Of days) or asset classification (Std, sma, sub, dbt, lss)

Dec

Nov

Oct

Sep

Aug

Jul

Jun

May

Apr

Mar

Feb

Jan

Collateral

Value of collateral

-

Type of collateral

-

Default status

Suit filed/willful default

-

Written off status

Written-off

Written off amount (Total)

Written off amount (Principal)

Settlement amount

-

Mehrotrark
                                Sep 27, 2017

By mail/courier
                                To dated: 27 sept 2017
                                The head
                                Customer services
                                Citibank n. A.,
                                P. O. Box no.4830,
                                Anna salai post office
                                Chennai – 600 003

Sub: citibank ewards card no.5291 xxxx xxxx 1384 -
                                Sms message dated 27 set 2017 received in the mid night
                                Informing spending 4, 405.00 hnl on my card – complaint
                                Regarding and request to withhold the payment of rs 4, 405.00 for
                                Not using the card for the said payment.
                                Reference no. Of complaint made immediately - 8063

I received a sms message from citibank at 01.46 a. M. At my mobile no.[protected] in the midnight of 27-sept-2017 informing that 4, 405.00 hnl was spent on my credit card ending 5291xxxxxxxx1384 at unitec ec. Fx rates and charges as per t&cs, my available credit limit now is rs.309, 975.36.

When i got up for nature’s call at 3.00 a. M and on seeing the message light blinking i just glanced the message and i was shocked and surprised to see the said message as in the midnight i had not done any such transaction. I immediately called up at citibank number and spoke to your executive mr. Sanjeev at 3.02 a. M on 27-sept-2017. I informed him that i had not made the said transaction and how come the amount is charged without my authorization for which an otp is received and on confirmation only the amount is validated. I further inquired what was that currency hnl as per the message, to which he was also not aware. He told me that for foreign transaction no otp is sent.

However, he immediately blocked my above stated card ending with no.1384 and assured not to worry as citibank would take necessary step for the same. I requested him to withhold this payment and not to charge that amount to my bill as i have not made any such transaction.

I have not done this transaction and request you to withhold this payment and provide information where and when this transaction was made as per the message sent to my mobile number.

Your executive has taken my consent for sending the new card and i request that in the new card that is being sent to me please block any foreign transaction as i do not have any foreign connection and i never use the card for making any foreign transaction.

It is pertinent to mention that i am using the citibank card for the last 17 years and had full faith on citibank security system. Citibank is having such a good security method that even to speak to your executive an otp number is sent on mobile and only after validating the same we can speak but surprisingly no security step is taken for releasing foreign transaction that too without any authorization from the card holder.

Under the circumstances as explained above, please withhold the said payment of 4, 405.00 hnl and may not be charged to my ensuing card statement.

An urgent action in the matter will be appreciated.

Yours truly

(Raj kumar mehrotra)
                                E-mail: [protected]@hotmail.com

whiskeyromeo
                                  Sep 23, 2017

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700094

1. This is to bring to your notice that my card was used by unknown persons on 22 sep 2017 at about 20.55 hrs. I came to know of this on receipt of the message in my registered mobile number.
                                  2. Msg at 20.55 hrs. Three msg recd stating that a sum of 250 euros spend at facebk. Ads. Fx. Total 750 euros.
                                  3. Msg at 21.55 hrs. Sum of 250 euros spend at the same facebk. Ads. Fx.
                                  4. The same was imdtly reported to your help line [protected] at 21.00 hrs the same day. My complaint no is 1094 as given by mr manoj kumar. I had also requested that my card be blocked forthwith.
                                  5. I recd confirmation on 23 sep 2017, at 0814 hrs that my card has been blocked.
                                  6. Request kindly investigate the matter and resolve this dispute, since i have not made these transactions and neither is my card lost.
                                  7. An early action will be highly appreciated.
                                  Rgds,
                                  Jyotirmoy mukherjee

P.mosahary
                                    Sep 22, 2017

This is for your kind information and for immediate necessary action that i have received an email on 05/09/2017 from head customer care saying that my loan a. C ending 5328 is closed on 06/09/2017 closure letter will reach in three days. But till date i am not getting any closure letter nor refunded the excess emi of rs. 16288. Kindly do the needful immediately.

dharmeshprince
                                      Sep 22, 2017

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400022

I am a citibank signature card holder since many years and probably my billin gexceeds Rs 10 lakh annualy.Due to my trip cancelation certain refunds from my hotel & other was made back to the card approx 4 weeks ago. The amount is Rs 2.90 lakhs. upon requesting for refund and transfer to my account ( not a citibank ac) they asked for my bank statements proving that the payments which were already made to citibank by me. they aske dthe sam einformation 4 times and eventually even the executive response assistant Miss Archana Lulla mentioned that since the format of the documents submitted is not in pdf they are unable to refund me the amounts.

all the above is talking in circles and seemed highly ambiguous virtually demonstrating an ntent that citibank does not want to refund me the money which i so badly need to pay my taxes etc.

i have emailed them to send me the written policy on refunds or even the procedure for the same but have been refused ( on phone) i have emailed these to the ceo india, principal nodal officer, regional nodal officer, head customer care. nobody has replied except that i recieve an automated email stating they shall revert back in 5 working days.

please help me i need to pay my taxes as the amount is huge.
                                      Oct 6, 2017
                                      the matter was resolved last week based on my persistence. I thank Consumer complaints forum to help me on this. i contacted their India CEO through their website I went on their grievance cell and posted emails to the regional nodal officer and also their customer care division india head. Citi responded by their automatic ( donot reply) email that they shall get back to me in 5 working days etc. which they never did. However, the Assistant of the CEO and customer care responded well and we exchanged a couple of emails which were standard mechanical replies of they will get back in 2 days etc. finally i emailed them that if they fail to repsond within 7 days of this email then without prejudice I reserve my rights and contentions and take any remedial action available to me under Indian law. i believe this worked and then they transferred within 7 days.
                                      Oct 06, 2017
                                      Updated by dharmeshprince
                                      refund is received . matter closed.

deepaksporty
                                        Sep 22, 2017

I closed my citibank credit card with the bank. After like 1 year of closing the account i checked my cibil report and found that it showed the due of rs 42/-.
                                        I informed the citibank about it stating that the due should have been intimated to me at the time of closing my account so that no dues reflect my cibil records. They asked me to pay the amount outstanding on the credit card. But since i had closed the card a year back i did not know the card number. I asked them about any other mode of payment but they never reverted.

It's such a shame that just for mere rs 42/- citibank has spoiled my credit score. I would never recommend people to use citibank credit cards. Not only they spoil your score but some of my friends have reported fraud happening against their card. Such is the security of the bank.

Friends please stay away from citibank
                                        Dec 05, 2017
                                        Updated by deepaksporty
                                        still not updates on this