Citibank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Jul 14, 2024
Complaints 1855

File a complaint to Citibank

Having problems with Citibank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Citibank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Citibank reviews & complaints page 77

Sharmishtha Basu
Sep 14, 2009

Dear Madam/Sir,
This is to bring to your notice that I applied for CITI Bank Credit Card but after some time they mailed me and called me as well that my mobile number is in CIBIL Defaulter List and I can't be issued credit card. However I have never owned a credit card from any of the bank.

This is wrong on the part of the person who has published my Number in the CIBIL Defaulter List.
Kindly do the needful as soon as possible so that I can apply.

Best

Sharmishtha Basu

Rajgopal Narayanan
    Sep 14, 2009

Credit Card Recovery agents

I had a pending of 80000 Rs of Credit card, I had got repeated calls from Mr. Vipul of Eserve in Delhi. He had called me up with threatening words like involvement of my family, my companies. I explained to him that my card has been used when it was stolen. However, I paid the due amount last week & asked him to clear my name from CIBIL which he assured would be done in 2 days time, However, when i crossed checked with him after 2 days,...
    Rahul Hans
    Sep 13, 2009

I have been a Citibank credit card holder since 2003. I have been regular in paying my dues. Since August 2009 I have run into financial trouble and have not been able to keep up with my payments.

Citibank Service personnel are calling me at all times during the day for collecting the dues. Due to my financial problems I cannot at present make a payment. However I have no intention of defaulting on my credit card.

I have explained the situation to Citibank personnel and promised to make the payment when it is possible. The however are calling me at all times during the day. This has disturbed my peace of mind and I am missing calls.

What are the options available to me?
    1. Does the incessant calling amount to harassment?
    2. Will Citibank keep on adding interest on the unpaid amount?
    3. Do I have the option to declare myself insolvent?

My problem is that I would like time to make the repayment. But if that time cannot be granted then at least the phone calls should stop.

Please advise on my exact legal position in the matter
    Rahul Hans

Shivam Dhawan
      Sep 8, 2009

I am having a salary account in citibank which has a standing instruction against my citibank credit card. I bought a desktop and paid online through my credit card.
      Citibank generated my statement on 22nd August and took all amount from my salary account on 24th August, this is 20 days in advance of my actual billing date 10th September(without intimation). Since then I am having negative balance in my account ans as and when some amount is debitted to my account it automatically gets swiped off.

I have been following up on this matter since and have not had any satisfactory response. No one is able to tell me the reason why the money was taken from my account early.

This is the main issue i am facing along with several other ill-communication consequences, viz;
      Despite several calls by me to relationship manager, I wasn't told about the charge date for my investment plan taken from citi.

Despite several mails and requests I am still waiting for a re-issue of my lost debit card, (waiting since 50 days)
      No answers to me written queries

I have received no communication within the time they specify to revert back.

Despite delayed responses they are still not answering the point to point questions that I ask.

Other late payment fees, penalties etc. have been reverted back but still the actual issues are not addressed.

Following is the mail thread :

To Citibank (all mail proofs are there, kindly see the pictures attached of the actual mail)....
      ________________________________________________________________________________...

ISSUE: I have received the credit card statement on 22-Aug-2009. As you can see below, the Total outstanding amount that was scheduled to be taken from my account on 10-SEP-2009, was taken on 24-AUG-2009
      20 days in advance.

Questions:
      1. Why did my SI got executed 20 days in advance?
      2. Why wasn’t I informed of any change in the billing cycle if this was to happen?
      3. Even as my case in under observation my whole salary was swiped off from my account and I am left with -19380 in my account. Why?
      4. My purchase of Desktop (Rs. 31631) is well in the next billing cycle. Why is it charged early?

Still I am having some issues that has kept me questioning the overall working of Citibank.

Regarding Service Level Adherence:
      1. Despite several reminders and calls why did my lost debit card not re-issued to till date? (BANK SLA – 4-5 business days)
      a. I had reported a lost card on 17th JULY, and received no confirmation on the same even after 3 reminders. If this was not the process I trust that the correct information should have been provided to me. I expect that the customer service representative should know all this and on top of that the relationship manager you assigned to me should be aware.
      Proof- Attached are the mail communications,
      i.
      ii. I am not having any track of the verbal communications that I had with Citibank representatives.
      b. I am waiting since around 45 days for the same and had to come over to bank and fill out the form.

2. My written requests were not responded within the timelines mentioned by bank. (BANK SLA 4 days)
      a. I had received an auto reply that stated the bank will respond to me within 4 days. Your own mail states that “Should we require more time for further investigation, we will keep you informed.” – Well this didn’t happen in my case.
      i. Proof
      b. With all my account swiped clean don’t you think that the issue should have been taken on high priority.
      i. Actual mail :
      c. Waiting period 7 days

3. Reffering to your explanation:
      “We would like to inform you that if the payment towards the Minimum Amount Due or the Total Amount Due did not reach on the Payment Due Date, the system will automatically generate Late Payment Charge and Interest Charges. Hence, we request you to make payment on the Payment Due date.

A review of our records indicate that we are not in receipt of your payment towards the Total Amount Due or Minimum Amount Due reflecting in the statement for July 2009. Hence, Interest Charges and Late Payment Charges has been debited to your card account. “

i. Despite several calls why wasn’t I informed about the date of my investment charges?
      I had the sufficient balance to pay my credit card dues had the insurance premium not been charged on 23/07. Had I been informed about the date when my investment product would start getting credited to my account, I would have comfortably arranged for the sum.

ii. I have invested 72,000 with you as an investment. It is a huge sum according to my living standard. At the time of signing the documents I was assured that my charge would be automatically be debited from my salary (ie; when salary comes in my account , MONTH END). I had called numerous times to check that was my billing date and I was assured that it would be deducted from my July month’s salary. (not credit card)

4. There is no information about the SI getting executed early in the mail. I hope I am clear with the epicenter of the problem. Let me know If I am missing something.

5. Kindly let me know the escalation procedures and concerned personals to whom I can reach out for such critical reasons. I guess with a bank like Citibank, people surely expect proper processes in place.

ulhas
        Sep 5, 2009

This is to highlight you again some recovery agencies in India are still working on behalf of citi bank,Dubai,UAE using local criminal baground peoples for making recovery of credit card/personal loan outstandings of Indian peoples.
        Citi bank,Dubai shuld follow laws of that country/Govt and shuld not use recovery agencies in India for collection purposes...n they shuld not suppose to use unrecognised agencies with criminal sourcing.
        Bank located in other country don't have any right to recover outstanding in India without permission of Govt or honrable court. also if citi bank,India is not ready to settel outstandings of Citi,Dubai,UAE then how can citi bank,UAE appoint collection agencies in India???
        Following peoples frm pune r trobling peoples for recovery using criminal harshments:
        Mr.Santosh: cell.no:[protected],[protected].
        Mr.Jakir:[protected]/[protected]/[protected]/[protected].
        Mr.Umesh Shinde:[protected].
        Mr.Shaikh:[protected].
        please enquire their legality and take strict action against them all.

saurabh agarwal
          Sep 4, 2009

citibank has increased the minimum balance required on individual Suvidha Account to Rs 25000/-
          how can a normal person be maintain this much!!!

it was a zero balance account from my previous job. Somehow i was able to maintain the min balance to 10000/- but this is too much!!!

this bank is s***

~saurabh

Suvidha a/c — Lost debit card

Hi iam karan yesterday i lost my debit card in train.My a/c is no.[protected].I wld request you to pls block my debit card.

Citibank — CITIBANK A/C HOLDER HAS TRAPPED ME

I would like to inform you that Mr. Tushar Sharan, having account with Citibank, bearing A/c.no.[protected] had issued me a cheque bearing no.239391 / 28th March 2009 for Rs.1500.00, when I deposited this cheque I came to know that he has issued STOP PAYMENT for this cheque.

I have a business dealing with Tushar Sharan, had made an investment of Rs.25000.00 and above cheque was towards return over investment. Also, he has issued me further cheques bearing no.239392, 239393, 239394, 239395, 239396, 239397 i do not know if he has issued similar stop payment for all these cheques.

I am wondering if I have been trapped as iam not able to contact Tushar Sharan over phone or email.
          Please help me to understand how do I pursue further in this regard.

rgs
          TS
          Hello investor friends!

High Yield Investment Programs can make you wealthy, but you must have a good knowledge of them to avoid the ponzi schemes and other hyip scams. You have to learn how to avoid them and find the reliable hyips.

You arrived at this page it's because you are searching for few new High Yield Investment Programs which really pay you, you may find here, High Yield Investment Programs, posted by real investor.

Why I am posting all of this on my website? The answer is simple:

Visit below link to address bar for more info

http://ocean.co.in/hyip.htm

Jagjit Singh

Mobile: [protected]
          Seriously.. This is outrageous. I think they just want to get rid of the customers. And also steel their money if they are not cautious.
          Yes I agree same case with me, they may loose the coustomer

This is too much that, citi bank has increased minimum balance from Rs.10000/- to Rs.25000/-. as we are normal person getting a salary of Rs.20000/-. how can we maintain 25000/- min. balance.

The only way is that, all companies has to stop reletionship citibank and depositing salary into citibank.

Sekhar
          Hi.
          This is an american company and they think we are getting salary like US.
          this is INDIA BOSS here if they will maintain this much minimum balance
          there bank will be close soon...

CP.
          hi

citibank has increased the minimum balance required on individual Suvidha Account to Rs 25000/-
          how can a normal person be maintain this much!!!

it was a zero balance account from my previous job. Somehow i was able to maintain the min balance to 10000/- but this is too much!!!

i can say this stupiddddddddddddd bank. my suggestions need to revert bank to 10000 mininumm

if they do like this all S/B acouunt holders will close

this bank is s***
          RBI must have a guideline on the minimum balance. Why there is a difference in the min balance in other private bank? Citi bank charges 250/- per month if the average balance is below 25K...

This is ridiculous!!!
          The bank should have initimated by sending SMS alert in this case.
          The minimum monthly average net relationship value to Rs. 25000 is too much.

This is stupid to height..

Without any intimation, the bank has done that.

also the service / interaction with customer care is of no use...
          yes,

That's correct. initially they said 0 balance if you have a credit card linked. Later they said 5000. later 10000. Now 25000. i will close my account.
          Citi Bank is really sucking after the global recession.
          They want money some how. Simply looting thru customers.
          Close the a/c. go for any national banks like SBI, SBH, UBI, now a days national banks giving better customer service.
          True! Rs.25, 000 is exorbitant. I am planning to write a letter to the editor - Times of India. I also found publishaLetter.com where we can write our letters to the editors. RBI doesn’t have any guideline on this minimum balance till now, and we are seeing the result of it probably! May be if consumers just sleep over this without raising voice, Citi might manage to change its byline from "Citi Never Sleeps" to "Citi will ensure you never sleep"!
          no body will stick on to Citi...bull ..
          Dear customers

We have started focussing on the elite class of our customer segment, The minimum balance of Rs. 25000/- is not that much as every one who is earning a decent pay is atleast getting 25000/-

If you cannot maintain 25000/- its better you search for some other bank as we hav started serving our preffered customers..

R. Thakur
          Citibank
          ya, its really disappointed without your knowledge citibank is charging this much.I am also a victim of this minimum balance.

And i find it such a rude staement by R.Thakur, citibank telling us to find other bank.and i am very much agree to switch another bank, just that citibank people should inform us before charging so much on our money for their benefit.

Just answer me how we will know about citibank's often changing rules about minimum balances.first let us know about it, then you will see how people will choose you as a bank.citibank will be no where.

There is no mail, no nothing on your online account inbox, so that anybody can know why citibank is charging like this.
          ya, its really disappointed without your knowledge citibank is charging this much.I am also a victim of this minimum balance.
          CITI BANK is the "xxxxxx" Bank, I had one salary ac/ with them, once left the co. by mistake I kept some money with that. After 5 months I tried to draw my money an emty a/c was waiting for me. Somehow I cleared all and managed to keep 10000 avg balance as Instructed by them. Just now I was cross chking my a/c again missing Rs.2000 plus form my a/c. I used to get their promotional advt, alerts etc thru email and mobile. But never I seen these kind of minimum balance revision neither thru email or sms or thru post. F... bank.

Citibank — corrupt employee

A well paid employee of citibank, Mr Pradipto Kumar Biswas, needs, SOMETHING extra, from me, to do the work, assigned to him.

All of MUST stand against corruption.
          better go for some nationalized back.. SBI is mch better as they are offering cheque faclity A/c with only 1000/- Rs min . balance..
          CITIBANK - go to sleep.. u will loose many customers and in turn ur revenue
          i too lost money, bank did not send any mails regarding this, they should inform us if there is a change.

---Chandru---
          This MSG is for Mr. R. Thakur of Citibank.

According to you, you have started serveing your elite customers and can you please explain what do you mean by ELITE in context. Your statement is rude, discriminated, arogant and plus show how you all people care for customers. If this will be the notion of the employee of the bank then this bank is sure to see the return outward way.

I have a reson to support my above statement. Your so called prefered customers are very few in this country and if you wanna run your bank with approx 10000 customer base then plaese pack your coz you have cab to catch. This is a democratic country and latter or sooner there will be a resolution by RBI and you all will have bend your knees.

Success of financial instituion and banks are in the hand of public. More in numbers more the profit they earn. This is a number game and you bankers should know how to run it...
          Remember, that you are doing business in India. Having said that you should consider the financial capability of the common people and focus your bunisess on them. You are successful becoz of the support and trust from the people from Mid/Lower Segement. And now you are considering them as worthless. Now you want to lick the elite . Why dont you freaking change the name from Citibank to Elite Bank. That would make more sense. Its my request to all the people of our nation to stop using Citibank Products. Spread the message and aware the fraud behavior of Citibank. Lets show them the power o[censored]nity and Integrity.

Lawrence
          Its really shameful and disgracefull to read comments from R Thakur. Citibank is successful today, because the common people have shown their faith and support in them. Its because of the mid/lower segment people, that the business has flourished and the bank has reached new heights. Now that you have achieved the popularity, you consider them worthless. Why don't you change the name from "Citibank" to "Elitebank". You want to serve the so called ElITE class, but remember by ignoring the common class you are asking for financial crisis and loss beyond your imagination. Your existense will soon be wiped out. I request everybody to stop using Citibank Products in our fight against monopoly. I would request the Govt of India to step forward and put some strict guidelines on minimum cap.

Lawrence
          Hey People did U realize now...haha... :) This is just the begining of the music all these big aaaaaaaa... non INDIAN Banks try to conquer Our INDIAN market in this way Only. Haven't U people learnt from the HISTORY? Britishers conquering our INDIA...This is the same...way...Enjoy
          By the time we relize EVERY thing is gone
          All the private banks are more or less the same. Avoid having accounts with these private banks after you change your job. They always wait for a customer to make mistake and later charge money from them. It's very sad that they have increased the minimum balance without any communication.
          Citibank always s****s. They were/are charging 100rs for using the bank staff to withdraw the money and many people are unhappy about it.

Never had a positive feedback about citibank from any of my known circle..Most people including me have closed the account

WOULDN't ADVICE citibank to be a personal banking account
          Hello Mr Thakur...

Is this the way citibank treats the customer.. and I am sure this is the most preferrable way citibank wants to treat the customers who they have managed to capture even from labour level...

If you want RICH people who have atleast 25000 in the bank everyday, Why the hell you go and get corporate account from labour companies that pay such a minimum wage to the employees who are labours? When they are with you it is corporate account but Poor people they wouldn''t know that if it is not corporate CITIBANK acts as a smuggler?

Learn to give convincing answers if you can not stop sending replies... if you start getting rude comments from all the customers, not only you, no business can survive for a long time. And that too in a country like where quite a bit of strong healthy competitions., .
          There was no whatsoever communication happened between the bank and the customer with regard to the increase in the "relationship value"(What relationship value-as if [censored]ing you invented and patented online banking) minimum deposit, well at least in my case and with many whom I know who has a Citibank account. This is ridiculous practice and its pity that this bank got rid of the whole issue with no impact.This is nothing but cheating and I think citibank will one day pay a huge price for this.If some one in the bank's strategic marketing team is having a laugh... well the day is not that long
          This is too much that, citi bank has increased minimum balance from Rs.10000/- to Rs.25000/-. as we are normal person getting a salary of Rs.20000/-. how can we maintain 25000/- min. balance. From last 3 months they are deducting Rs 250/, i am frustrated what should i do.

Mohammad Afraz uddin
          screw citi bank guys, and dont give a damn about the hired goons if they are already charging monthly fee for accounts having less than minimum balance.
          remember how they cheated the so called "elite customers" who have large amount in their deposit. The whole hierarchy is corrupt - remember the citi bank guy who was arrested in Gurgaon??
          Yes citi bank is very bad bank, If you have less then Rs.25000 in your account, Then it is dedcting your money.I am also victime of that.I have check my account after 2years and It have deducted my lots of amount from my account. So, I will suggest please avoid to open account in citi bank.I think SBI is very good bank we have to maintain only Rs.1000 only.
          Mr R THAKUR kindly close all the accounts in your bank which are not elite class.
          Remember one thing . even one private bank increased minimum balance from 5000 to 10000 but bank previosly informed all customers and had given them exit option also but did not charged direclty

dont looto my indian brothers and sisters
          other wise you will be no where
          and tell tomorrow if citbank kicks you off and you go to some other bank, wouldnt you critisize citibank
          first think then act
          be wise or else otherwise
          understand mr thakur
          Customer friendly Option Banks...
          HDFC Bank Minimum Balace = 10, 000
          Axis bank Minimum balace = 5, 000
          Stat Bank of India = 1000
          Punjab Nation Bank = 1000

they all are good banks...choose according your balace maintained

Faithfully..
          Mohan Prajapati

More about me find on facebook.com/mohanprajapati
          Im was an Employee at Reputed Firm, Im Just waiting for my PF claim, U Wont believe i did not have Intimation sent to me, Instead sent to the alternate company Address, I 've Joined another Company which offers three other banks also yours for salaried account, I prefer to go with the National Bank. Ridiculous Citibank Rules, I monthly earn twice the money which is the minimum Balance, But Better take take your bank from where ever you came from,

One Important Message to all people, If you have citibank account, Better Close the account immediately if you have a salaried account, You 'll Go through the same run around that i went through, Where i had over 1 lakh 30 thousand, in my account, They Just closed the account, and sent the DD worth 130000 to my Previous company, I would never recomend any to have Citibank For any reason.

I Hate their Rules and Service, Except the Internet Banking.. :(
          No one got the information about deducting the minimum balance and this is such a huge amount revison of 10000 to 25000. Do the citibank really want to maintain their Customers. This is really ridiculous. I definitely change my account soon that is the best way.

-Vijayamoorthy
          hi...
          Guys
          I was also having salary account with citibank of my prevoius job, Now it is changed to suvidha individual account, they charge me Rs.250, if the minimum balance is less than Rs.25000. without giving any alert message. Otherwise for every transaction they give alert message on mobile but after deducting (Rs250 +educaton chess charge) no alert message came in mobile.This is cheating by citibank

This is american bank and if this bank is imposing this type of rule in India so i think we all should take active participation to throw this bank back to America ...If this bank is not for comman man so, it also do not have rights to do bussinesss in India ("GO back CITIBANK")

Can sombody tell how to do complain against this bank.
          my email is [protected]@yahoo.co.in
          Hi All,
          I have one question regarding min balance in account it will include investment amt or not.

Vishal
          Hello Guys,

I totally agree to the point that Citibank should have intimated all o[censored]s before having the minimum balance baseline set although i had realized it after an year when i checked my transactions online randomly while i was abroad & when i had been updated by the Customer Care when enquired.

I must admit that i did loose quite some money but i would have lost only one month's fee if i had checked my balance on a regular basis. It would have been the same case for all o[censored]s if we had followed the same practice. C'mon Guys, we cant fully blame Citibank just for not intimating us(which is not right though) but there is a small level of responsibility from our side to check on our accounts regularly. Secondly, lets try to put ourselves in the Citibank's position, why would somebody just hike the minimum balance to 25k all of a sudden? Logically thinking, it could be because the Customer base could have grown so enormously that the services would have been difficult for them to provide on a timely manner therefore they had to give priorities to Customers from whom they benefit the most. But Guys, we need to admit that the services & accessibility of Citibank has been impressive across the Globe. And in today's world, for good things & for good services, we need to pay the price...that's how life is.

Even i am a common man just like any one of you & and i truly understand how difficult it could be to maintain a minimum balance of 25k all of a sudden. Possibly, i could advise you to put in a little more hard work for just 2 months to keep your accounts alive & healthy so that Citibank can also take care of you without any hesitation. Moreover, Guys, C'mon, 25k is your money...Citibank is not going to play around with it as long as it is 25k or above & it is always your asset & you can always have it back when you want to close it. At the same time, you get to have a small interest every 4 or 6 months if the 25k is kept untouched...so be cheerful...:)

Regarding the alerts, no banks actually give alerts for internal transactions & especially for deduction fees like this. Alerts are usually done, if any external transactions are done such as fund transfer, online purchase, password reset etc. If they had to keep alerts triggered for every internal transactions, probably their SMS server would have been blown off by now...

Hope i have justified the purpose of posting this message by not blaming any side instead to let know that everyone is responsible for their actions & their negligence too.

Peter Chacko
          I also faced the same problem. Now i d'nt want to continue with this bank.
          To make matters worse, Citibank has just increased its NRV (net relationship value) of my suvidha account from Rs 25000 to Rs 1 lac (for me). Jut got an email from them that my existing Suvidha account will be converted into this new citibanking account starting March 1, 2013.
          Unbelievable...They send me a mail saying my NRV is gonna be 1lakh, else i have pay 500 ruppees to maintain my account.

Day light robbery from citibank.
          How can a common man maintain 1 lac NRV!? Weird bank. I am transferring all my savings to HDFC
          Hi all, here is the latest.

Citibank has increased the minimum balance requirement for Suvidha accounts (where you are no longer getting your salaries) to INR 1 Lac rupees... yes 1, 00, 000.00 !!!

This is with effect from 1st March 2013.

I am already having to maintain this super costly account with a minimum balance of 25k (ridiculous by itself), as I have some investments linked to it.

But now, this is being increased to 1 lac.. that too, by just sending a email.

The mail states a few puny benefits and states:
          "The Citibanking Account starts at a monthly net relationship value (NRV) of 2 lakhs for new clients. A monthly charge of 500 is applicable when the NRV falls below this minimum level. We are pleased to inform you that, as a special gesture, for your long standing relationship, a lower minimum NRV requirement of 1lakh will be applicable for your Citibanking Account.

With this conversion, the benefits of the Citibanking Account, and the revised terms as above will apply to your account, effective 1st March 2013. However, for your convenience, your account number, debit card^, cheque book and PINs will continue unchanged."

I am going to de-link my investments within a week from this account, transfer them elsewhere and permanently stop ANY connections with Citibank. Just can't afford such an account.
          I too the victim of this Increase of minimum balance to 1 lakh. This is ridiculous. How can normal people in India afford to maintain 1 lakh as balance in SB account.
          Citibank, r u playing in India...This time I am sure people will reject citibank.
          I have received a letter on 24-Jan-2013, once again Citibank has converted all of the “suvidha” savings account to “citibanking” account type, and have now bluntly instructed their existing customers to maintain a monthly minimum commitment of Rs.100, 000/- and from new customers Rs.200, 000/-. There is a penalty charge of Rs.500/- for each time the bank account balance will go below Rs.100, 000. This means that Citibank is expecting to grow their funds straight 4 folds by imposing such exorbitant conditions, and they have done the same about 2 years back by increasing the limit by almost 2 folds. I personally think that this is an end to this arrogant behavior, with no care for customers. This is a greedy bank and only wants to retain the “affluent” customers. Citibank has minimum number of branches in comparison to the other available banks; the only good thing about them is their smart banking solutions, whereby the Indian banks still lacks such servicer due to some of their conservative ‘not so easy’ techniques. But everything has got its price, and Citibank’s price has now definitely gone out of worth.
          this is ridiculous. citibank is playing a role of dictator and want us to maintain 1 lakh in a saving account. today on 28 jan, they have converted my citibank suvidha account citibanking account without taking my permission. i am going to shut this account and will ask my company to shift my salary account to HDFC, which is also available in our company
          I have also got the same mail of increasing the NRV to 1 lakh Rupees. Is there any way of raising the complaint against citibank..?
          Hi All,

I got this communication in my netbanking Inbox on 28-Jan-2013.

When I called customer care, they insisted that my Fixed Deposits, Recurring Deposits, Mutual Funds and Home loan outstanding would be considered part of this 1 Lakh minimum balace

Citibank has LOWEST interest rated on Fixed Deposits - 7.25. Even scheduled banks give more interest rates

What motivation I have to continue my relationship with Citi? What is the guarantee that next year it won't go to 2 Lakh?

How come RBI does not play any role in this?

I am thinking hard because I feel my money will become stale (with only 7.25% intersest rate) in th Citi account. And perse, I do not enjoy any special benefits from Citi

Mrudula Barve
          I got an email that my account will be migrated to "new citibank" account and minimum balance is 100000 (and they are doing a favour by reducing it from 200000).

I will switch to SBI pretty soon.
          Either they are about to fly from India or about to sell the India Unit. how can avg person can have 1 lac rs in account. It's rediculous?
          If you call to the customer care, they will say you sorry, then you can close your account. I just wonder, will it not impact their profit?

I requested Citibank to convert my Suvidha Account to Basic Banking Account with Zero Balance and keep the account number, debit card and cheque book the same but they refused.

But they are ready to convert the same into Citibanking Account with Rs 1 lac and keep the account number, debit card and cheque book the same.

I have filed a complaint with Banking Ombudsman and request you all to file complaint with Banking Ombudsman.

Altaf Batliwala
          Dear all,

I feel it is the strategy of all foreign investors. First they come out with nice offers and make people to get in to their business model. Then they will show their actual reality. This is also one way of killing the competitor and making monopoly. Please keep this in mind before getting in to any foreign investors/Companies.

In this issue I recommend close Citibank account and open an account in any nationalized bank.

Don’t get surprised if Citibank asks money as “account closure charges” if you are closing the account

Prasanna
          Dear Indians,

It is the strategy of all foreign investors. First they come out with nice offers and make people to get in to their business model. Then they will show their actual reality. This is also one way of killing the competitor and making monopoly. Please keep this in mind before getting in to any foreign investors/Companies.

In this issue, I recommend close Citibank account and open an account in any nationalized bank.

Don’t get surprised if Citibank asks money to close your account as “Account closure charges” something :-(

Prasanna
          It was very hard for me to maintain an NRV of Rs. 25000/- till date. Suddenly, Citibank has enforced the rule that the NRV has been increased to Rs. 100, 000/- failing to maintain the same, a fine of Rs. 500/- will be charged on the account.

400% increase in the NRV? How come this was approved by Citi Officials? Is there anyway the Government of India can look into this?

This is really disgusting and I am planning to close all my accounts with Citibank due to this drastic increase of NRV.

All the customers of Citibank should oppose this new NRV rule that is being imposed.

AH
          I am closing my Suvidha account (opened sometime in 2000) ASAP. If the bank could choose the customers they want to cater to, we can choose our banks too.
          I have been pinched too with 1 lac min balance.

Strategy wise this is the worst mistake a bank could make...Most of the customers will move to banks who are more welcoming & have satisfactory service, may be today they dont need us but tomm we are gonna grow to the elite list...that is the day i will continue with the current bank & will never return to citibank.
          Today when banks are finding it difficult to get newer customers..this a** h***** have decided to let go a big chunk of their account base.

shifting bank accounts is no big deal. citibank there i go...

Will make sure u go to SLEEP :)
          OMG OMG OMG!!!

“We are pleased to inform you that your existing Citibank Suvidha account will be converted into the new Citibanking account...With this change, the Citibank Suvidha savings account will not be available from March 1, 2013. Your account will be converted into the Citibanking account from this date, ” the bank said in an email.

“As a special gesture, for your long standing relationship, a lower minimum net relationship value requirement of Rs 1 lakh will be applicable for your Citibanking account, ” the bank said.

A monthly charge of Rs 500 is applicable if the net relationship value falls below the minimum level.
          Ridiculous..!

I have been banking with this bank for 10 years and now all of sudden they are increasing the minimum balance to 3 times it was original (25K to 1 lac). Enough of this bank now. Better to switch to other bank. Any suggestions which bank will be a better option?

Cheers,
          Sameer.
          61 Comments

abini lad
            Sep 2, 2009

Subject: Information about Aditi Lad Expired.
            Respected Sir/Madam,

This is formally inform you and requested you that I m Abini Lad. My sister might (aditi lad) have a citi bank credit card no. ([protected]) we don’t have any idea about that credit card but now she is expired on 27 feb-2009 my self provide her death certificate around 20-22time citi bank branch fort & lower pare as well as bank employee also meet at parel station & take form me (abini lad) that death certificate Xerox copy after that he promises me will never ever call u family & u about your sister(aditi lad) payment.
            I am abini still studying in F.Y.S.C in SNDT College in churchget & staying also in college hostel m working part time job in one of Privet Company as a data entry job there I get only 2400/- in month so I can’t pay that amount at all my daddy also retired parson when aditi expired after that my mom dad both shifted in my native place because we three people depend on my sister only! & second thing wherever we was staying first in Kohinoor com. In Dadar there now staying Mr.bhoja he complaint agents your bank recovery boy because they told that recovery guy here not staying lad family after that also they visiting again & again that’s way he complain in bhoiwada police station that guy name I think subhash & his no.[protected]. your citi bank fort branch manager only told me once customer expired bank don’t have any authority to ask for payment & visit customer place but now she is no more we trying to forget her but your bank people not understanding are problem. My dad is hart patient.
            So last my humble request is that please don’t visit again & again that dadar add because that Bhoja family very upset on my family whatever problem have to discus u can call on [protected] on Sunday 9.00am to 3.00pm because I m studding & in my classes cell not allow i[censored] want to contact me send me mail also on this same id.

Your truly
            Abini Lad.
            Subject: Information about Aditi Lad Expired.
            Respected Sir/Madam,

This is formally inform you and requested you that I m Abini Lad. My sister might (aditi lad) have a citi bank credit card no. ([protected]) we don’t have any idea about that credit card but now she is expired on 27 feb-2009 my self provide her death certificate around 20-22time citi bank branch fort & lower pare as well as bank employee also meet at parel station & take form me (abini lad) that death certificate Xerox copy after that he promises me will never ever call u family & u about your sister(aditi lad) payment.
            I am abini still studying in F.Y.S.C in SNDT College in churchget & staying also in college hostel m working part time job in one of Privet Company as a data entry job there I get only 2400/- in month so I can’t pay that amount at all my daddy also retired parson when aditi expired after that my mom dad both shifted in my native place because we three people depend on my sister only! & second thing wherever we was staying first in Kohinoor com. In Dadar there now staying Mr.bhoja he complaint agents your bank recovery boy because they told that recovery guy here not staying lad family after that also they visiting again & again that’s way he complain in bhoiwada police station that guy name I think subhash & his no.[protected]. your citi bank fort branch manager only told me once customer expired bank don’t have any authority to ask for payment & visit customer place but now she is no more we trying to forget her but your bank people not understanding are problem. My dad is hart patient.
            So last my humble request is that please don’t visit again & again that dadar add because that Bhoja family very upset on my family whatever problem have to discus u can call on [protected] on Sunday 9.00am to 3.00pm because I m studding & in my classes cell not allow i[censored] want to contact me send me mail also on this same id.

Your truly
            Abini Lad.
            it's a very bad please help her that's request only

C M CHAUDHARY
              Aug 28, 2009

DEAR SIR/MAM
              I CHANDRA MAULY CHAUDHARY
              MY CUSTOMER ID-[protected]-
              CITI BANK LOAN NO-LCB-C[protected]
              MY EMI BOUNCED IN JUNE 09-YOUR BANK STAFF MY HOME BY CASH, DEPSIT SLIP NO-18510, RS-6226, 13.06.09.RONG LOAN ACCOUNT NUMBER WRITE MY SLIP,
              RONG NO IS 000LCBC[protected], RIGHI NUMBER -LOAN NO-LCB-C[protected]. .[protected], [protected],[protected]..CITI BANK STAFF MISSING MY EMI AMOUNT.
              THANKYOU

CHANDRA MAULY CHAUDHARY(DOB[protected].
              E-17, RAGHUBIR NAGAR,
              NR TAGORE GARDEN CENTRAL SCHOOL
              NEW DELHI-110027.
              DEAR SIR/MAM
              MY EMI BOUNCED IN JUNE 09-YOUR BANK STAFF MY HOME BY CASH, DEPSIT SLIP NO-18510, RS-6226, 13.06.09.RONG LOAN ACCOUNT NUMBER WRITE MY SLIP,
              RONG NO IS 000LCBC[protected], RIGHI NUMBER -LOAN NO-LCB-C[protected]. .[protected], [protected],[protected]..CITI BANK STAFF MISSING MY EMI AMOUNT.

THANKYOU

E-17, RAGHUBIR NAGAR,
              NEW DELHI-110027.
              DEAR SIR/MAM
              THANKYOU

E-17, RAGHUBIR NAGAR,
              NEW DELHI-110027.
              SUBJECT-EMI MISSING CITI BANK STAFF IN DELHI
              DEAR SIR/MAM
              LOAN NO-LCB-C[protected]
              RONG NO IS 000LCBC[protected], RIGHI NUMBER -LOAN NO-LCB-C[protected]CITI BANK STAFF IS CHEETOR.
              .[protected], [protected],[protected]
              .THANKYOU
              CHANDRA MAULY CHAUDHARY
              E-17, RAGHUBIR NAGAR,
              NR TAGORE GARDEN CENTRAL

Navin mehrotra
                Aug 24, 2009

So called customer Friendly and Relationship Building Bank CITi Bank who Says Citi Never Sleeps.
                Sleeping like Dead wood...After having great repayment history on my PL loan Account Number
                LTBTOP3096722 through ECS from my salary account while having transfered from Delhi to Kanpur By
                Mistake that account has got closed and despite my phone calls and even Registered post they offered
                no solution because they dont have any branch in Kanpur.
                Now i have paid entire amount to them but they have not send across NOC till now.Instead thay have reported it to CIBIL.Please help me remove my name from their.

Now to Talk About CIBIL, I dont know but it seems CIBIL want to see what these bank's want them to see.Still I have got Two Citi Bank Cards with the limit of 2 lacs + with 5 Lacs preapproved loan offer.
                and every month i do the transactions also and irony is that same bank has reported me in defaulters list.
                What CIBIL is doing like a organisation without their own EYES AND BRAIN it seems.

Do CIBIL have guts to ask citi or other bank why these double standards??????

I hope i am writing on the right paltform and this will be heard and seen from CITI and CIBIL ???????
                we deeply troubled with citi financial india limited and look forward for a prompt solutions.This is in regard to the consumer loan account number 10734093 ccfil had issued a laon of Rs.50, 000 for a tennure of 36 months and monthly installments of Rs. 2556/- as a repayment on the first month the executive collected the due of the same in cash stating that the ECS had been declined.
                To my shock the ECS had been cleared twice on the same day...5th march 2007.I had oficails conatcted imdly but the response was no avail.Its been June 23rd 2009 and my money has not been refunded or approcah by bank officials even after constant reminders at CCFIL, avinashi Road, coimbatore.Please treat this as important as the consumer is at no fault and the bank has committed this big error and amount of Rs. 2556 is pending with interest.

Sincerely
                J.P Savariammal
                O[protected]
                Acc.No[protected]

Sanjay
                  Aug 22, 2009

On a daily basis now, I have been getting calls from citifinancial Kolkata office, phone numbers being - [protected], [protected], [protected] to my cell phone. They claim that I have some loan running on my account with the amount being something like around 1000 EMI. This is really frustrating and even after telling them multiple times that I haven’t taken any loan - they still keep on calling me and trust me the conversation between us is not decent. This is now disturbing me.. The guys from Kolkata claim that the person is someone from west Bengal some place silguri. - I have never heard of that place or ever been there. I would request this be sorted out ASAP and some senior official gives me a call. What I don’t understand is if you guys gave loan to someone - why don’t you catch him at his house? Why harass some other individual.

Citifinancial — harassment

My loan account no. with Citi financial Co. Ltd. is 9783481and I have submitted all the post dated cheques @ Rs. 2, 352.00 to their office at Gauhati-6 on 11.10.2008.
                  The official are so irresponsible that they do not present the post dated cheque on time and continously harassing me by phone calls and sending messege that the cheque is bounced and they need cash. My banker has confirmed that no cheque has been presented by citifinance for clearence. I feel that if they collect cash then they gets some commission out of that.
                  If this continues I will have no alternative other that to sought help from legal authorities.
                  harrasment
                  i was in need of 70, 000/- but i received only 40, 000/- in this amout they have deducted Rs.5000/- as an
                  insurance and deposited 35, 000/- in my account. such a little amount doesnt fullfilled my requirement,
                  but now after six months, every day they are harrasing me to take more loan and right now there is no requirement, they keep on calling me and use harsh languages,
                  so kindly help me to get rid of this matter.
                  My loan account no. with Citi financial Co. Ltd.(siliguri branch) is 14318607and I have submitted cashpay for march 3 2009 and april 4 2009(PALASH ROY)MOBILE [protected].mony receipt no. [protected] and [protected].i gate, Receving cash they went to my bank and bounced my two cheque. I ask u why they do so.i need clarification..I am not going to pay next instalment unless my problme is solved.

shanti das
                  naxalbari
                  darjeeling

I have taken personal loan sep 2007 by citi financial could you please gide me how to close that loan account and get NOC. Till date i have prompt payment

waiting for advice

Abdul
                  I got a Television from Bharath Electronic Appliances, Coimbatore on March 2008 through loan - LG Colour TV 29". When i approached for loan 2 persons were there one is from ICICI and other was Citi finance. My papers was given to Citi finance 1st and the very next day he said that the loan has been closed so i moved with ICICI and got the loan and purchased a T V, now i am often getting call from Citi finance stating that my T V loan is pending and my cheque has been bounced. When i informed that my papers was misused by the citifinance person they asked me to meet Mr.Balaji who is incharge of Citi Financial, Tristar Apartments, Avinashi Road, Coimbatore. As per the customer care request i went to meet Mr.Balaji i came to know that he is very irresponsible person because the security there said that he has gone for lunch, the time i had gone there is 3.30pm and when the security gave a call that we are waiting for him he informed that he will be there by 5minutes but i was waiting there for 1 hour and not be seen so again when the security gave a call he said that he will late. When a person is least bothered like this then why should i wait for him as i have not got any loan from there. I can prove that i have not got any loan from your citi financial, so if this problem is not solved at the earliest then i will post a case in the consumer court.
                  even after continuous discussion with the above mentioned company, they are still calling me up with someone else's name, and on recorded calls are abusing me, which of course is not getting beyond limits... this has to be dealt with... waiting in anticipation for a quick resolution
                  I am a student at IITROORKEE. when I will be doing something, the call from the Same no. above mentioned...I am also frustrated from this...Please see that the problem solved

Citifinancial — harasement

I would like to file a complaint on Citi Financial. We have had problems with them being rude and calling every couple of minutes every day. My husband took out a personal loan with them. We have fell behind recently but we have got it caught up now we just owe this month which I will admit is late but I have talked to them and so has my husband about trying to get this paid. They still contiune to call leave nasty rude voicemails, when we talk to them they are rude the new office his account with is the worst they are rude talk over you and just call all day long. They are not willing to work with anyone. This bussiness is not properly ran. I have had a personal loan myself before and was never treated the way they treat people. They have even been rude to my little children on the phone.

bharati mallik
                    Aug 19, 2009

It all started with a purchase at Shopper's Stop, City Centre, Saltlake. I was offered a "Green Card" for which a form had to be signed by me, just for the sake of formality. However, at that point of time, no mention was made regarding any application (for credit card or insurance policy).

Later, an unknown call from Chennai, offered me a huge sum which, they claimed, I am the WINNER of some lucky draw (without any participation whatsoever) - however, I denied that amount.

After this, I received a CitiBank credit card along with a thanksgiving letter for initiating some "Goodhealth Insurance Poilcy". I was rather baffled. I did not ask for, or give consent to any policy, nor did I ask them to issue any credit card.

It was soon followed by funny bills - stating that I am supposed to pay CitiBank the amount within a stipulated time, or else I am liable to pay fines and late fees.

I complained to them, informing that I never applied for a credit card or health insurance policy - requesting them to investigate the matter and stop harassing me with threatening phone calls any further.

I sent them back the unused CitiBank credit card, duly destroyed, with a letter requesting them to close this illicit account they created in my name, without my signature, documents, or my consent.

They acknowledged the letter, and it told soon they are beginning an investigation.

Then one day, a person came from the Camac Street Citi Bank, to my residence to collect the "due payments" from me. I told him the real story - and he seemed to be convinced enough to take actions.

However, telephone threats and bill dues kept on coming. Despite my complaint to both Kolkata and Chennai branches, no step was taken to end this. They are now trying to scare me with Legal Threats.

Few days back I received a letter from an advocate, Lopamudra Sur of Dasgupta & Associates, Temple Chambers - threatening me to pay the (un)due amount within 10 days, or else they would initiate legal proceedings – that too, at my cost!!

Please help.

- Bharati Mallik
                    Hi Bharati,

Yeh sale citi bank wale bahut hi matherchod hai, mere sath me bhi sama case aisa hi hai, maine to salo ki watt laga rakkhi hai, sale starting me kuchh nahi batate bad me pata nahi kitane deduction karte hai, customer ko preshan kar ke rakkha hai salo ne citi bank walo ne...

Vipin

amitsotani
                      Aug 18, 2009

I have mentioned this to CitiBank Credit Card department many times but there no positive reply recieved from them yet:

Details of the complaint we have made are as follows:-

Card LOST was reported on 04-Aug-2008 in the morning. (But was lost on 03-Aug-2008 evening but we couldnot report as we were not having the helpline number and credit card number with us at that moment due to it was sunday our office were closed where we keep all the statements.)

I have recieved Statement on 12-Sept-2008 which was having misuse details so we spoke to following peoples for clarifying that it was not used by us:-
                      a) Mr.Sumit on 13-Sept-2008 Reference# [protected] (they said they will call back till 18-Sept-2008 but no reply). We also Paid 1879/- on 18-Sept-2009 as Mr Sumit told to make the payment of minimum due, which will be refunded once matter is sorted.
                      b) Mr.Viresh on 24-Sept-2008 Reference# [protected] (they said they will call back till 11-Oct-2008 but no reply)
                      c) Mr. Ajay on 20-Oct-2008 (we dont have the reference number as we forgot to write it.)

So please kindly sort this issue for us. We are your regular user since long and we have never been defaulted. We would like to have this card once all this matter gets sorted.

I also have Police complaint form for LOST of CARD.

Gagan Kr.Pipal
                        Aug 15, 2009

My self gagan kumar pipal i had a personal loan L55C[protected] which i have taken 4 years back for Rs. 1Lac From CITI BANK having 48 EMIs which has to be cleared by ECS but with some techinical problem ECS did not happen.then i have started paying the EMI through cheque.then after EMI started going through ECS, Then after sometime I got a job in abroad & my bank account was closed by which EMIs were going, then it was little delay in EMIs there were no communication from bank side so my family didnt able to know to whom they should give the EMI.Then after sometime they got a call from bank & started paying the EMI through Cheque & it was regular.
                        Then after an year i came to india & i got to know that there were 10 EMIs left for which i have made full & Final payment in the month of (May2009).After making all the payment i applied for the car loan to some bank then they said your CIBIL rating is not good thats why we cannot give u a loan i am so dissapointed.When i made made a Full & Final Payment then the bank people said we will update your status in CIBIL So you will not find any problem in your financial needs through banks.
                        But Sir it is not yet updated in CIBIL & am facing so much problem.I have explain my problem to you it was not my intension to delay in payments.But some circumstances was that so it was some gap in the payments.I have called up so many times in bank but no body listen any thing.

Now Sir i am so dissapointed that why am writing to you & i hope i will get some responce from your side.

With Thanks & Regards

Gagan Kr. Pipal

RajuKanjilal
                          Aug 13, 2009

I am Mr. Raju Kanjilal an Citi Bank Credit Card holder since12/2008 and my card No. is [protected]. I paid all my outstanding dues that is minimum payment till June, 2009 from Jan, 2009 before due date but certainly Citi Bank Blocked my card and claiming to pay them all outstanding dues that is Rs.9000 which is impossible to pay at a time for me. I mailed to CitiBank several times that "please unblock my card and I'll use your card properly and I also pay the minimum amount due before due date every month in future to maintain a lifelong good relationship with you" but the responsed me rudely. I am ready to pay minimum amount due (5% on outstanding as per credit card policy) every month to CitiBank & I also wat to build a strong relationship with Citi Bank.

Raju Kanjilal, Kolkata
                          PH: [protected] (033)

Karthik Iyer
                            Aug 11, 2009

I had settled my CITIBANK credit card no. [protected] but still it is showing outstanding in cibil records. I have the nil statement received from CItibank still i am being shown as a defaulter.Kindly remove me from the CIBIL defaulter as i need to apply for a home loan at the earliest.

Looking forward to a response from you at the earliest.
                            I had settled my CITIBANK Credit Card[protected] **14 in the year 2006 and closed the account. In 2009 Feb, I refinanced home loan with one of the local bank. They told me, my record appear at one of those system called CTOS. So I called Citibank, they issued me a released letter and promised the changes reflected in the following month of Credit Bureau Report. Today, August 12th, when processing a new home loan with another local bank, the told me same thing appear in the BRIS Information System.

I call Citibank, they told it was cleared in April 2009. She (Zura) asked me whether I was sure it was with Citibank? I said yes, that was what the bank told me. I asked them to issue me another letter stated the date they cleared the system. But she refused, it was not in their procedure. I call Bank Negara, they told me, Bank Negara only monitor CCRIS, not CTOS neither BRIS. They give me BRIS contact number, I called. Yes, it was in their system. I used to faxes Citibank's Feb 09 released letter. I was doing bank's job to save my credit credibility because citibank don't bother at all. When in marketing, YES anything is YES YES YES...

AMIT KUMAR MISHR
                              Aug 11, 2009

Dear Sir/ Madam,
                              In 2006 CITI bank had send me a Citizen First Card No:[protected], without my consent. They dont even taken any signature on any application form. Bill also came to me with US$ transaction. I never used that card. I called up customer care numbers of time. later on lodge my complain with customer care, dispute no was 125118. Customer care executive assured me that their is some fraud with you, so matter will be resolve.

Now i come to know that my name is reflecting in CIBIL with written off of amt. Rs. 53, 132.

My question is,

1. How you issued credit card without taking my signature?
                              2. How can you give my name in CIBIL, if their is dispute?

Now I am going to complain OMBUDSMAN in this regard.

Amit Mishra
                              is the complainst in consumer forum are getting solved did any ones problem got solved if ys please tell me how u got solved
                              I had a citi credit card some 2 years back and here is the issue.

I had an insurance policy taken using that card. But when it expired they again charged for the next year without my permission and insurance amount was about INR1100.
                              So when I complained about it, they credited INR700 back on it. They were forcing me to pay the remaining amount which was some INR400. I refused to do it and they have kept on adding interest on it and I think as a result of it I have been black listed. So what can I do about it?

Joseph Pailly
                                Aug 9, 2009

I want to clear my debts with citibank but i have no clue how to go about it. I had two Credit Cards with the limit of 25000 INR each a total of 50000 INR. Citibank has twice debited my old citibank account for huge sums. I dont know how much more they want from me. What should i do to get my name out of CIBIL? Please help and thanks for your coopeartion in advance.

Best regards,
                                Joseph Pailly.
                                I hereby by request your goodselfs that I setteled for closing my citibank creditcard No.[protected], on 9-1-2012 but it is not refelected in cibil report so please clear my defaultnation in cibil report control No.[protected]. Same as send copy to my E-mail ID. [protected]@yahoo.in

Mayur Patwari
                                  Aug 3, 2009

I have a salary account in citibank for the past 4 years. I shifted to Germany since a year and a half for my studies.

The bank never informed me that I had to maintain a minimum balance of 10000 Rs in my account and just kept deducting around 300 Rs as Service charges every month. When contacted, they claim to have sent me a letter stating the problem which I have never received. Forgetting all that, I decided to convert the remaining balance to Investment wherein I am not bound to maintain the minimum balance but again they deducted the same amount. When contacted, they stick to the reason that my balance was not enough!!!

Citibank is just robbing me of my money. It is the worst bank I have come across. It takes atleast 15 mins to talk to their citiphone officers who keep forwarding the call to other people as they are not authorised to answer my queries.

In short, it is the cheapest, un userfriendly, and the most Pathetic bank. I regret opening an account with them.
                                  I have been a customer of Citibank India (Suvidha account) for well over five years. I opened the account for parking my monthly salary. At that time, I found the bank better in terms of customer service and also superior in terms of its online banking experience. Five years later though, I wonder if Citibank is a good choice for retail customers. The service has deteriorated significantly. Their relationship managers chase you to get an investment commitment out of you, and that's the only attention you will receive from the bank, unless perhaps you're on the upper end of the HNI bracket with more than a few lakhs in your account. (I wouldn't know for certain though, my balance never exceeded 10 lakhs, but I would speculate that if your relationship with them is worth a lot more, they will treat you with more respect).

I'll recite my latest experience with them here to show how bureaucratic, sloppy and unresponsive to customers' needs the bank has become. I wanted to put some money in one of their deposit products. I called up the bank to find out details about the product. I suspect the call was routed to the call center. I started the conversation saying that I am existing customer, (in the hope that I will get better response), but the lady taking the call latched on to my opening sentence and wouldn't let the conversation proceed further. She insisted that if I am an existing customer, I should talk to another department. I tried to explain that I wanted to know about the bank's products, so it didn't matter that I came in as an existing customer. The call was terminated. So here you have a truly bizarre scenario: a customer wanting to give you business is put through a bureaucratic hassle that he wouldn't have suffered if he were not a customer!! (They call this "Priority Banking Service", digest that). Of course, in the first place, it took good amount of trouble on the phone (several disconnects and call put on hold) to get through to some human being on the other side of the phone, but at the end of it all this ridiculously frustrating experience.

To me, this is symptomatic of a business that has become extremly bureaucratic by creating layers of procedural walls between them and their customers. The petty authorities you are condemned to interact with are incapable of exercising discretion in the interest of business or are perhaps not authorized to. If you want to be heard, you've got to be a privielged customer, like maybe one who carries a few lakhs of cash in his wallet and a few crores in the savings account. :-)

For the rest o[censored]s folks, it seems to me that the bank is sending the message that we don't matter. Its business will run regardless of gripes from a few o[censored]s.

Or will it? Citi group is one of the enterprises that took a hit in the recent global meltdown. Indian banks, no doubt just as equally uncaring about customer service, have actually fared better. So if you take citibank's edge in customer service away, what really is the incentive to bank with them? You're safer with an Indian bank.

SURINDER SAHNI
                                    from Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
                                    Aug 3, 2009

Enhancement of credit limit

I have received sms on my mobile of enhancement of limit from Rs 30, 000/- to Rs 45000/-, but in recent statement of dated 22/08/09, thelimit has been still showing of Rs 30000/-.
                                    Please get me clear the above
                                    Surinder Sahni...
                                    gunvee
                                    Aug 1, 2009

I am completely fed up with citifinancial and their stupid phone calls which come at any time from 10am to 5pm asking for a Mr.Radha krishnan who has taken a loan from them.now we have told them that they should upgrade their info as no such person lives here and have told them our name and phone no also.inspite of this they still keep callin and asking for that person! now it is8 months and still no respite. also those guys are so rude. don't know what kind of software thy use to update but it really stinks.i am mentally and emotionally being harassed since i am recovering from a major surgery and these people just don;t let me rest .i have no idea who will take action and if any but now the time has come to make them aware of their shortcomings.stricter action shall have to be taken if these calls don't stop.

chandigarh
                                    I S.P Sharma took a loan 2 years back unfortunately from Citi financial services.
                                    These people are a true example o[censored]nprofessionalism, offensive language users, uneducated, unmannered people. I have already paid up the whole amount but still getting calls from citi financial. One of the executves even misbehaved at my place and used offensive language. If any of the top officials do notice this complaint then he should take proper action otherwise citi financial is going to ruin its remaining image soon.