Show menu
Ask a Question FAQ Sign in

[Resolved]  Airtel / GSM Connection — Poor Coverage and unwillingness to rectify

Aren't we all suffering at the poor quality of service at the hands of Airtel? The so called "atoot network" can't hold a conversation of 60 seconds without bad voice quality or call drops.

I have been a customer of Airtel for 10 years and in this specific instance I have been complaining for 1 year about the poor coverage in our building with no redress. First they kept denying it, then they asked for specific locations (e.g. DND bridge call drops), finally they asked for a list of subscribers with phone numbers in our building.

After initially being resigned to my fate, I put together a list of 70 phone numbers in our building and sent it across to Airtel (email history attached below). Needless to say their latest claim is that they are setting up a new base station in our location, uhh sometime next year maybe!

The honest truth is that operator networks are overloaded. They spend nothing on upgrading capacity and find it convenient to hide behind "the government does not give us more spectrum...". When in reality they are bending radio physics and have pretty much maxed out the usable spectrum/equipment. In essence each time they sign a new customer, they are diluting OUR existing customer quality!

What are we to do? I'd like a one year refund on my phone bills and "number portability" so that I can move over to Vodafone or Tata or Reliance.

The gaul of Airtel adverts - "Airtel ka atoot network" "100% Service Promise" are nothing more than misrepresentations to the public and the regulator TRAI should do something about this.

What is the correct forum for such redressal? Anyone have any ideas? Maybe we can start a signature campaign...


[protected]Transcript of latest emails from Airtel[protected]--

Dear Customer,

Thank you for contacting Airtel.



This is with reference to your email expressing concern regarding network problem on your Airtel number 98101290xx . We understand your concern and will work together to resolve your issue.



We wish to inform that as per your complaint number 16710369 we have checked our records and found that the new site is being planned at Noida Sector-6 and the same will improve the network coverage in that area.



The issue is being taken up with respective department again. We will revert to you at the earliest.



We appreciate & value your feedback as this helps us in planning our future network augmentation.



It has always been our endeavour to provide you with the best customer service and we assure you of our sincere commitment to meeting all your future requirements too.



We value your association with Airtel.





Regards,



Jagjeet Singh

Customer Services

Airtel





DISCLAIMER AND CONFIDENTIALITY NOTE:





The information in this email is confidential and intended solely for the addressee. Access to this e-mail by anyone else is unauthorized. Any copying or further distribution beyond the original addressee is not intended, and may be unlawful. The opinions expressed are those of the sender, and do not necessarily reflect those of BHARTI AIRTEL LIMITED. The e-mail has been successfully scanned for presence of virus. It is recommended to scan the attachment before launching.


---- Original Message ----


Hi Team,

Please process as self paid account.

Regards

Archita B
-------- Wrote by "Sachin Mehra" ("Sachin Mehra" <[protected]@inventum.cc>) on
05/28/08 9:20:13 AM with subject : RE: Complaint of Poor Coverage by
[protected] --------


It is now 14 days since we heard back on this issue. Airtel ka "atoot
network" is a joke... Maybe you guys should spend some more money on fixing
customer issues!

Please let us know if we should start negotiating with Vodafone and start a
"Airtel Haters" blog on Google?

Sachin Mehra

-----Original Message-----
From: gu.[protected]@airtel.in [mailto:gu.[protected]@airtel.in] On Behalf Of
[protected]@Airtel.in
Sent: Wednesday, May 14, 2008 6:09 PM
To: Sachin Mehra
Subject: Complaint of Poor Coverage by [protected]





Dear Mr. Mehra,

Thank you for writing to Enterprise Services - Corporate.

With reference to your e-mail regarding network concern, we would like to
inform you that the below mentioned request has been registered and
forwarded to the concerned department, your ticket number for the same is
16710369. You shall be receiving a revert with the status within 48 working
hours.

It is our privilege to have you as our valued customer & we look forward to
a long and fruitful association with you.

Assuring you the best of services.

Warm Regards

Gurpreet Singh Bal
Enterprise Services ? Corporate.

PS: In case you require any further assistance, please

? Call the toll free number[protected], available only from your
Airtel mobile or Airtel fixed line connection, anywhere across India
? Call at[protected], in case you are not using an Airtel Connection
(not a toll free number)
? Mail us at [protected]@airtel.in
? Fax us at[protected]



-------- Wrote by "Sachin Mehra" ("Sachin Mehra" <[protected]@inventum.cc>) on
05/14/08 3:49:27 PM with subject : RE: Complaint of Poor Coverage by
[protected] --------


Manish,

Answers to your questions:


Landmark: Near Rohan Motors, NOIDA.



? Duration of problem: Already mentioned in my previous email if you
had
cared to read. Replicating here:
Duration of problem : One year or more; recently it has become so bad



? Type of handsets: We have close to a hundred users with BlackBerry,
Nokia, Samsung and LG handsets. I use a Blackberry 8700



? Number of signals (0, 1, 2, 3, 4): Already mentioned in my previous
email.
Replicating here:
Signal strength : Mostly not more than 2 bars. In basement usually
1 bar. Blackberry users EDGE signal is intermittent



? Voice quality (Good, Average, Poor): POOR POOR POOR. Numerous call
drops. In fact basement it is impossible to answer a call.



? Area (Indoor, Outdoor, Basement, In car): Indoor - Basement, GF, FF
and SF of our own building




? Wall type (Brick, Concrete): Normal Brick building using RCC column
and beam structure




Thanks,
Sachin Mehra



-----Original Message-----
From: Manish30.[protected]@airtel.in [mailto:Manish30.[protected]@airtel.in] On
Behalf
Of [protected]@Airtel.in
Sent: Wednesday, May 14, 2008 1:58 PM
To: "Sachin Mehra"@bharti.com
Subject: Complaint of Poor Coverage by 98101290xx






Dear Mr. Mehra,

Thank you for writing to Enterprise Services - Corporate.

With reference to your email expressing concern regarding the network
coverage, we thank you for your feedback as your voice helps us in planning
our network augmentation.

We would request you to please provide us with the following details so
that
the needful can be done from our end:

Landmark:

? Duration of problem:

? Type of handsets:

? Number of signals (0, 1, 2, 3, 4)

? Voice quality (Good, Average, Poor):

? Area (Indoor, Outdoor, Basement, In car):

? Wall type (Brick, Concrete):

It is our privilege to have you as our valued customer & we look forward to
a long and fruitful association with you.

Assuring you the best of services.

Warm Regards

Manish Sharma
Enterprise Services ? Corporate.

PS: In case you require any further assistance, please


? Call the toll free number[protected], available only from your
Airtel mobile or Airtel fixed line connection, anywhere across India
? Call at[protected], in case you are not using an Airtel Connection
(not a toll free number)
? Mail us at [protected]@airtel.in
? Fax us at[protected]


-------- Wrote by "Sachin Mehra" ("Sachin Mehra" <[protected]@inventum.cc>) on
05/14/08 8:55:34 AM with subject : Complaint of Poor Coverage by [protected]
--------


Complaint being filed by : [protected] Sachin Mehra Area where poor coverage
: B-5, Sector 6, NOIDA (inside office building)
Duration of problem : One year or more; recently it has become so bad
that no calls are holding.
Number of Airtel users : Close to 100, numbers provided below
Signal strength : Mostly not more than 2 bars. In basement usually
1 bar. Blackberry users EDGE signal is intermittent


AIRTEL Numbers affected in the same building:

[List of 70 numbers]
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 14, 2020
Complaint comments  14 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

here also same position in the andhra pradesh of anantapur. we are staying at the centre of city but due to the worst capacity of cell towers we are not getting quality voice (poor network). other networks like tataindicom & bsnl are good so far
i had connect GPRS connection till 2005. plz disconnect the GPRS connection
My Mobile No. [protected] I had connect the GPRS connection till 2005. plz disconnect the GPRS connection as soon as possible
My Mobile No. [protected] I had connect the GPRS connection till 2005. plz disconnection the GPRS connection plz as soon as possible
My Mobile No.[protected] is got excess billed iam noway concerned for one time charges, please reduce Rs.957.04 from my bill

thanking you

K.Sreedhar
BPL Telecom pvt ltd.
3-6-155/1 1st floor,
BPL Gallery, Urdu Hall Lane,
Himayath Nagar
Hyderabad - 500 029.
My Mobile No. [protected] I want connection of GPRS plz connect the GPRS connection as soon as possible.

with regards,

Atul Kumar Sinha
no network in KUNDLI .. Delhi Border (Sindu Border) My office is there in BASEMENT and i don't get any signal bars (NETWORK) on my mobile phone *****BAD NETWORK*****

I have been a customer of Airtel for 8 years.

Sabse bara mobile network hai par phir bhi kuch nahin

I am very sad with this.

Airtel GSM — coverage problem

there is no coverage of airtel in the area bargi hills of city jabalpur (M.P.).
earlier there use to have satisfactory coverage before june 2009 but its gone now .
we have complaint several times on customer service . there are many connection in this area but they are of no use ...
Kindlydly Restart My INTERNET Connection

My Mobile No. Is [protected]
Very Good

K.K. SONI
NICE
FANTASTIC
CUG number [protected] has provided internet facility as it is not require so balane me be adjust.
From : Vinod Sharma
deactivate [protected]@1 this number [protected]

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    47%
    Complaints
    43593
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    19568
    Airtel Phone
    +91 96 6339 5551
    +91 11 4266 6500 [Head Office]
    +91 11 4666 6100 [Head Office]
    Airtel Address
    20, Sarakki Main Road, JP Nagar 1st Phase, Bangalore, Karnataka, India - 560078