Show menu
Ask a Question FAQ Sign in

[Resolved]  Electrolux — Defective Refrigerator

I purchased a 190 Lits capacity Electrolux 2-door refrigerator, Model ECP204DH from Capital Electronics VIP(Unit of Anand & Co. Electronics Pvt. Ltd.) Kolkata on 14.12.12, at the full price of Rs.13,500/-(inclusive of VAT) which was delivered to my Kolkata residence(address CF-171, Salt Lake City, Sector – I, Kolkata – 700 064. Phone No.[protected]/ Mobile No..[protected].

The fridge was delivered to the above address on 15.12.12 and was observed to badly dented on both sides and also was observed to be noisy with excessive vibrations. This defect was reported to the Electrolux Toll free telephone No.[protected] immediately. They gave a complaint registration number, but did nothing about same. I kept on complaining & every time they gave a new complaint registration number. After in-numerable calls to the dealers(m/s Capital Electronics) & also to Electrolux they sent technicians, who came, inspected the fridge and went away. On each & every service report, I (the customer) endorsed that the fridge was dented & making too much noise. No action was taken by the dealer nor by Electrolux. The fridge was not used, thus causing me and my family much hardship. On informing them that if the fridge is not replaced, I intend approaching the Consumer forum, after which a new refrigerator was sent on 14.01.13(after1 month of purchasing the fridge) and the defective refrigerator was returned.

The replacement refrigerator was removed from the sealed carton in which it was delivered by the Electrolux technician on 16.01.13 and was again found dented and noisy(though less dented and less noisy than the first one). I immediately made several complaints both to the dealer and also to Electrolux on their toll free no., but till date nothing has happened. On 04.03.13 another technician came and inspected the dented fridge, but no further action was taken by Electrolux. Since then, several complaints were made, new registration numbers were given and strangely these complaint registration numbers were also closed by them by simply sending an SMS without checking if the defects were rectified or the fridge replaced.

At one stage the visiting technician stated that the dents were not very very deep/serious. I fail to understand as to why will I accept a dented fridge when I have paid the full price for same. Would anybody accept a brand new car from the show room with slight dents ?? If I had purchased a “seconds” refrigerator at a discounted price, I would have agreed accepted a slightly dented/noisy fridge but why should I accept a defective/dented set at the full price ?? I suspect that intentions of Electrolux are not honest and they are trying to pass off 2nd hand or reconditioned refrigerators.

I am absolutely fed-up with the services of Electrolux and their high handed attitude towards their customers. I suspect that all their 190 lts refrigerators of this model are defective/second hand and they ( a one time very reputed British Company) are trying to palm off these defective units to gullible Indian customers. I demand that they take back the refrigerator and refund me the total cost ( Rs.13,500/- inclusive of VAT), as both their refrigerators were observed to be damaged and I expect the replacements to be also damaged and have no faith in their product any longer. They have caused much hardship and mental trauma in regard to their product and their dealings for the last 4 months.

Dipankar Ghosh
Kolkata Mobile No. [protected](This mobile number is the reference number for all calls/correspondence with Electrolux)
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 13, 2020
Complaint comments  3 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

Electrolux Refrigerator — defective model / piece

Reference: Next, Jaljog< Jodhpur (Rajasthan)

Invoice No. 205007 / 123 dtd[protected]

Item : Electrolux EXL:275Lts-ER28DHOLFS- FROSTY SILVER REFRIGRATOR

REAPIRED : 5 TIMES IN 2 MONTHS.

WE FEEL CHEATED AND NEGLECTED TO UNDERSTAND THE APATHY IN AFTER SALES SERVICE. THOU SERVICE IS PROMPT BUT THE REFRIGRATOR IS DEFECTIVE.

YOU ARE REQUESTED TO EITHER COMPENSATE FOR RS. 2000 PER PROBLEM X 5 TIMES = RS. 10, 000 FOR THE PERISHABLE KEPT IN REF. GOT STALE AND SMELLY. OR REPLACE THE REFRIGRATOR.

PLEASE UNDERSTAND AFTER PROMPT SALES SERVICE DOES NOT MEAN THAT OUR HOUSE IS UTILIZED LIKE A SERVICE CENTRE.

PLEASE REAPLCE THE REFRIGRATOR AND ADVICE YOUR STAFF IN JODHPUR TO BE MORE UNDERSTANDING AND CUSTOMER ORIENTED OR ELSE WE SHALL BE LEFT WITH NO OPTION BUT TO GO IN FOR PRESS RELEASE WITH DOCUMENTS APART FROM CONSUMER COURT. MAY I SUGGEST YOU TO KINDLY TAKE THE REFRIGRATOR AND REFUND THE AMOUNT AS A ALTERNATE.



NOTE : YOUR ENGINEER HAD VISITED YESTERDAY TO RECTIFY THE PROBLEM AND THE COMMENTS WERE NOTHING IS WRONG. THE PROBLEM IS LIGHTS ARE ON BUT THE COOLING HAS GONE. THE ICE IS MELTING.

TODAY 04-07-08 : 7:00 AM AGAIN THE PROBLEM HAS COME (SAME) : ALL PERISHABLE HAS BECOME SOUR. KINDLY RETURN THE PAYMENT AND TAKE THE REFRIGRATOR AS IT HAS BECOME A HEAD-ACHE. IT IS A DEFECTIVE MODEL PLEASE UNDERSTAND AND DON’T LINGER THE PROBLEM GIVING BAD NAME TO YOUR COMPANY.

Electrolux — new fridge bought but defected sold

Dear sir,
I had bought a new regrigerator from Great Eastern Dealer in Kakurgachi, Kolkata on the 28th december, 2008.However, it did not freeze properly on the very first day itself. On informing the dealers about this they sent someone to repair it. However the problem keeps recurring every now and then . On complaining to them i have received no sympathy and i suspect that i have been given a product that wasnt new in the first place . recently the electric bill has also risen a lot. Kindly help by letting me have my money's worth of product by exchanging the defected one .

Refrigerator — Replacement of defective part in new refrigerator.

I purchase a double door refrigerator from samsung authorised dealer at Jwalapur on 10/03/10.
But the ice cool pack was defective when I open the refrigerator in the presence of man who came for delivery. Then I inform to the dealer but that defective part is not replaced sill now. I fedup to do phone to dealer. Please take necessary action.
Thank you.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    55%
    Complaints
    801
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    440
    Electrolux India Phone
    +91 22 6117 1000
    Electrolux India Address
    Corporate Centre, 5th Floor, Andheri Kurla Road, Andheri(East), Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400059