Show menu
Ask a Question FAQ Sign in

[Resolved]  ICICI Bank — ICICI credit card fraud and illegal lien on my ICICI bank savings account

Sir/Madam,


This is to request re-investigation of a case related to credit card fraud, which happened in Oct'07, and result of which I came to know about on 05-May-08 when I enquired about the same from ICICI, after a large amount of money (Rs. 50, 934.30) from my saving bank account (with ICICI[protected] was put on lien last week - without even intimating me about the result, and informing me/ getting authorization for deduction from my bank account.


It is all because of somebody – who, due to lapses in the security processes at ICICI in handling credit card – first managed to get both communication address and mobile number changed for credit card issued in my name (which was still in my physical possession), to get a loan on my card, which bank informed me about (on the last mobile no.) and I was able to cancel at least that one. Further, he managed to get an add-on card issued on that card – delivered to his address, and then enjoyed shopping on that newly issued add-on card.


I came to know that somebody changed my communication address and applied for personal loan on my credit card, when I got a call from ICICI around[protected] and they told me that my personal loan DD for Rs. Four lacs is ready and they were about to dispatch it. I was shocked that I had never applied for personal loan ever. Then I asked for my address, and found that it had been changed, along with the mobile no. I was told about an address of Delhi, while I am resident of Gurgaon and residing here for last 5 years. I was lucky that ICICI bank called on the old cell no. before dispatching the DD.


I requested to cancel the DD immediately and also informed ICICI bank to block my credit card account as it was hacked by somebody. I also requested to change my communication address back to the old one and update my cell no. Further I again called customer care on 20-Oct-2007 to cancel all credit cards. The service request id for this request is SR41649048. Then I cut my cards (main card[protected] and another online card which no. ends with 0002) into 4 pieces and dropped into a nearby ICICI ATM. I had also confirmed that my main card got cancelled on 24-Oct-07 from ICICI help line.


To my surprise, after some days I received a call from ICICI bank to inform that some transactions happened on add-on credit card on 26-Oct-07, which was issued against my main card. Again I was shocked, as I did not know that that guy even applied for an add-on card and ICICI delivered it to him. Obviously, I denied having done those transactions, as I had no idea about them at all. Then after some days one person from ICICI (From Credit card fraud investigation department.) visited me to get the dispute form filled from my side and sign it. He assured me that it clearly looks credit card fraud case and we will handle it. You should not worry. Later, I got one letter Ref. no. 110807/179393C dated 09-Nov-2007 from ICICI Bank with all transaction details that happened on add on card, along with the Case Ref. No. (SR[protected].


Following are the transaction details.


Date of transaction Name of merchant Amount of transaction

[protected][protected][protected][protected]----

26/10/2007 Mobile Gallery, Faridabad Rs.24000.00

26/10/2007 Mobile Gallery, Faridabad Rs.56000.00

26/10/2007 Kisalaya Enterprises, Agra Rs.2595.00

26/10/2007 Kisalaya Enterprises, Agra Rs.990.00



After that day, I did not hear anything from ICICI bank – through any medium – phone, email and letter. Suddenly, on 2nd May 2008 – almost 6 months after I received the letter, I got to know that some amount from my savings account was put on lien because of credit card outstanding. There was absolutely no communication (via email, phone call and hard copy letter) after the letter I mentioned just above. Upon knowing this, I enquired with bank immediately, and was advised to contact Credit Card recovery department located at Rohini, Delhi. From there I came to know that the case has been closed after the decision taken by the bank against me, and as the amount was to be recovered from me as per the decision, it has been put on lien from my savings account without even informing me about the same. Moreover, it is a completely one-sided decision, without even enquiring me about all the details.


Now, with this mail, I request to re-investigate the case (SR[protected], and particularly look for answers to the following queries from my side:


1.

When did my credit card communication address and mobile number get changed in Oct-2007?
2.

Why did not the bank send confirmation of address change to my old address?
3.

Did credit card department verify required details before actually changing the address?
4.

When did that fraud guy applied for add on card?
5.

Did credit card department verify enough details from that guy before actually honoring the request?
6.

May I know the request id for request of add on card?
7.

Do you see any photo Id of main card owner when you actually deliver the add-on card? If yes, please let me know the details of Photo id you got when you deliver add-on card no. [protected] (as stated in the letter)?
8.

Why did not all my credit card been blocked on[protected] after I informed about fraud on my credit card on phone?
9.

How the add-on card was active, when the main card was cancelled on[protected]. (The transactions on add-on card were done on[protected]
10.

How am I responsible for transactions made on add on card no. [protected] on[protected] even I request for cancellation again on[protected]?
11.

Why wasn't I contacted about details regarding the case, during the case investigations at all?
12.

Why was I not informed about the one sided decision taken by the bank?
13.

How can credit card department put amount from my saving account on lien for recovery without informing me/ my authorization?


I would like to have this case reopened and re investigated at the earliest possible. Also, please remove the lien on my saving's account at the earliest.


I request you to please contact ICICI bank and remove lien on my savings account as it is pretty straight forward case of fraud, and as I had got my card cancelled on 20-10-07, I do not have any liability to pay for fraud transactions done on 26-10-07.


Looking forward to an early and favorable action from your side.
Complaint marked as Resolved 2020-08-14 00:07:41
Complaint comments  44 CommentsShare0Tweet0

Comments

Hi,

I would like to update my new cell number for alerts. what procedure I should follow. I have saving A/c in your bank.

Kindly Mail me with details.

Regards
Kantharaju
ICICI BANK

DEAR SIR,

I WANT FO CANCELL MY CREDIT CARD AND HEALTH CARD ISSUED BY YOUR BANK
PLEASE ADVISE ME HOW TO CANCELL IT

THANKS

WITH REGARDS

K.P.RAPHEAL palavakkam chennai 600 041
my credit card no is 5176 5338 5699 3008

please reply me the official rules of icici bank for cancell the credit card

with regards

k.p.rapheal palavakkam chennai 600 041
why again and again you are showing the same reply system

please answer me

thanks
with regards

kprapheal
hi, dear,
i also went through such a same situation.. i have a citibank card and got misused in april 2007. an amount of 26000 thousand purchasing done on my card. on my complaint they provisionally reverse the amount but again in september 07 they add the same on my account and told me the card was in my possession only at the time of purchase and the bank has no liability on it.
100 times i asked them, the chances of such fraud case and they said nothing.
in sept, i accidentally found that, my card was expired in april 07 and i understand that, they have sent a new card and same has go misused. i immediately informed the bank and from that day onwards there is no reply from them. i have started the payment of the disputed amount also as i had a personel loan against the card and if i stop payment, they can charge latepayment fees etc.
ultimately i filed a case with banking ombudsman in feb 08 and last week i got a call from citibank as they have received my complaint and apologize for the issues and they are ready to pay back my money. yesterday again they called me and given a settlement offer by returning all my money including interest, latepayment etc. but still i asked them for a compensation of mental tension i went through in last 2 year. they told me they will revert back.

you may check the validity of the card. just go through this site and http://www.rbi.org.in/Scripts/bs_viewcontent.aspx?Id=159 rbi is giving full support to the customers... you will get justice for sure. [protected]@yahoo.com
complaint as soon as possible... rbi wont accept complaint after 1 year
To

The ICICI BANk

Subject:issue with credit card statement and false information

hi,
This is to inform you that i had received my credit card statement for the month of[protected] my minimum amount due was 3, 780.00 and went to the icici bank to make the payments when i had cash of 4, 000 thats like 1, 000 each i was in the payment counter when i gave him the cash in the cash slip he said cashier said that he/she doesnt have change to give me back so i told him that i dont have change but he/she in the cash counter told me that you can make a payment of 3, 500/ and the remaining 280/ will reflect on your credit card statement for the next month and i did trust him and made the payment and after few days i had called ICICI bank to check my balance on my card they told me that i have any balance of 10, 000 which i can use it and on[protected] i got a call from ICICI in which the female who had callled me told that i have to make the payment i told i havent received the statement yet and my due date ids on july 10 but the female was not worried about my concern she was instiating on my payments of 280 which was due for last month statement i informed her what ever happend and why i did not pay the 280 but she told me that i going to send a representive to colect the cash but i refused it and she used some abuse languages on me and hung up and later on[protected] i not able to use my card in which i had a balance of 1, 200 still left on my card when i call the customer service and informed about it they still tel me make a payment of 5, 000 to get my card activated but i havent received any statement till now in which i had to undergo a very bad situation with the bank .i request some one to take action against this.

Thanks and Regards
Deepak.p
[protected]
Hi,

I would like to update my new cell number for alerts. what procedure I should follow. I have saving A/c in your bank.

Kindly Mail me with details.

Regards
Rajinder Kumar
[protected]
Hi

Same problem as in Sunil. Somebody managed to change my address to a Delhi address, got the phone number updated, requested for a add-on (Bandhan) card and within two days transacted for couple of lakhs. All credit limit gone in two days. Thankfully, the frauds department called me late night on the second day of misuse where I lodged a verbal complaint.

As a security measure, I have pulled out money from ICICI and transferred to a newly opened account with another bank. I got the clarification from banking division that if "credit card division knows your bank account number, they can request for blocking your saving bank account".

Folks, it is always advisable not to use credit card account with a bank with whom you have a saving account. Had I those many monies in my bank, the cards division would have surely called me after blocking my account.

Rgds,
Dilpreet

ICICI Credit Card — Loan Issued to somebody from my acccount

Credit Card [protected]
Saving A/C[protected]

Sir/ Madam,

Summary:
Without my concern 2 loans were taken from Credit card account in the sum of One Lakh thirty-six thousand and five hundred + Thirty thousand rupees (Total 1, 66500). It was neither issued to me nor transferred to my savings account.

Letter in detail:
In recent mini-statement taken on my saving account, I found a direct debit was taken on 18/08/08 -Rs. 1750.96. To my surprise I received the Cash in statement on 23/08/08, which had details of the loan. When I called up phone banking, I was told 2 loans were issued under my name. Which was transferred to my saving account. But there was no money on my saving account mentioned above. They have taken my complaint, but refused to give call reference number (quiet disappointing).

First Loan was taken dated 27 July 2008
Second Loan was taken dated 28 July 2008

I was totally disappointed how could anybody give away Rs 1, 66, 500 loan to somebody without any verification on the concerned person.

No Signature required?

Please help me in the above case
i am having a s/b account with icici bank in basant nager chennai s/b a/c number[protected].

ICICI BANK HAD ISSUED ME A CREDIT CARD WHICH I NEVER USED FOR ANYTHING AND I REQUESTED ICICI BANK CREDIT CARD DIVISION TO CANCELL MY CREDIT CARD.
AFTER CANCELLING THE CREDIT CARD NO. [protected]
I WAS PLESENT WITH MY FAMILY.
EVEN AFTER CANCELLING THE ABOVE MENTIONED CAREDIT CARD
THE ICICI BANK HAD FABRICATED A NEW CARD IN MY NAME AND ACCOUNT
THE NEW CARD NUMBER IS [protected] AND THE ICICI BANK STARTED SENDING A STATEMENT SINCE FEW MONTHS .
THE NEW CREDIT CARD I DID NOT RECEIVE TILL DATE AND I DO NOT KNOW THE PIN NUMBER ALSO.

I WENT PERSONALLY TO THE CREDIT CARD DEPARTMENT IN AMBATTUR, CHENNAI AND THE FRONT OFFICE STAFF COULD SEE IN THE COMPUTER WINDOW AND SAID THE THE OLD CARD IS CANCELLED AND A NEW CARD IS ISSUED TO YOU .

PLEASE EXPLAIN THE ICICI BANK OFFICIELS
WHEN I REQUESTED TO CANCELL MY OLD CARD THEN WHY SHOULD I APPLY FOR A NEW ONE . I DID NOT REQUEST OR APPLIED FOR A CREDIT CARD WITH ICICI BANK . THE BANK ITSELF IS DOING SUCH FRAUD

I REQUESTED THE BRANCH MANAGER OF BASANT NAGER ICICI BANK IN WRITING NOT TO DEDUCT ANY AMOUNT FROM MY ACCOUNT . AND TILL TODAY THE BRANCH MANAGER COULD NOT GIVE A REPLY .

I ONCE AGAIN REQUEST THE ICICI BANK CHAIRMAN/DIRECTORS AND THE ENTIRE STAFF TO CANCELL THE CREDIT CARD NEW AND OLD .
YOU WILL BE UNABLE TO FIND OUT THE CULPRIT . THE CULPRIT IS THE ICICI BANK THEN HOW YOU CAN FIND A FAULT

WITH REGARDS

K.P.RAPHEAL
MOBILE NUMBER [protected]
PALAVAKKAM CHENNAI
Hi

This is Durgesh i have some horrible experience with HSBC Bank. I have a HSBC Classic card no. [protected]and the bank has given me Rs. 49000 credit limit. I got the card on July 2007 and i expenses all the credit money in September 2007 after that i am geniality paying the minimum amount like at least Rs. 2000 one or two months. On December 2007 my card was closed by the bank and collection agencies pressurizing me by mentally and trying to physically. What happen on April 2008 i got a call from HSBC that there is a transaction of Rs. 50000 from my card i am shocked because my card was closed on December 2007 and transaction done on April 2008 i called to customer care and asked him they replied me that your credit limit is increased by bank. I am shocked i told me that my card was already closed on Dec 2007 and also i don’t have a good reputation with bank then how they opened and increase the credit limit they refuse my explanation. After a few months the collection agencies pressurizing me to give all the money and he mentally harassing and wontedly taken cheques from my side and pressurized me to sign and himself they written the amount in that cheques. Now every time they warning me that if i not giving him money they give this case to legal deptt. and then u go to court and give that money in Law. Till i am paying the money by giving at least Rs. 5000 per month please tell me what should i do or should i able to take a legal action against HSBC Bank.
Name : Santhosh N
Mobile : [protected]

I received a call from an agent of ICICI Lombard, and furnished the details of insurance plan, in which i was not interested. I was asked to say "YES" to an atomated call,
i was not clear enough in doing that so i said yes.Sum of 10, 000 is dedected for this insurance plan, it is really frustrating that they have dedected money from credit card without my concern.

And also your executive told me very clearly like "You can pay the amount whenever you want i.e after 6 or 12 months down the line but now i am getting my credit card statement with ICICI Lombard on EMI basis.
I spoke to concern executives regarding this kind of misguidance. ICICI Lombard and ICICI Credit Card division executives gave me false information and sold the product to achieve their target. When I tried to convey my problems regarding this issue to your executives they said very coolly "yes the agent would have given wrong information for that we can not take action against him". they said if you want you can file a complaint. I really surprised to see this kind of big banking sector making fool the customers.
I wondered how you guys thinking about the customer... Are we fool ? your executive saying that he knows how to collect the money from the customer...
I REQUEST THE ICICI BANK CHAIRMAN/DIRECTORS AND THE ENTIRE STAFF TO give the false information to the customers.
DOnt be a CULPRIT "ICICI BANK"... dont cheat the customers
ICICIBank
Settalment Dept.

Sir,

I Rakesh Ranjan Praad, did not receive any card of ([protected]) and there was insurance on that card. I given the request for cancellation then assurance was given to are that insurance will be cancelled. Insurance was cancelled but cancellation charge 900/- was laved on my card A/c. Several reminders in customer care cancellation charged didn’t reversed. Then after I stopped making payment. Around 6 month I didn’t make payment. In spite of these charge didn’t reverse. I was out of Delhi for few months when I come back I received a letter. I went to S.D Tower on 13 the Aug. 08 and visited to settlement Dept. As per the settlement department statement the settlement will be done on 22000/- rupees. In 3 installment. I agreed. As per settlement dept., Executive will visit and he will give you no due certificate and he will collect the claque. But no bodey visited. On 14th Aug. I received on SMS that 15322/- is debited for you’re A/c. Once again I visited your office (S-D. Tower Rohni) on 18th Aug. 08. I met with Devansu, he has taken my card number given me assurance that every thing will be done. several time I contacted him I didn’t get any positive result. Once again I talked to customer care and one mobile no. given to me. I talked on that number Mr. Rakesh his picked up phone. Mr. Rakesh told me to talk to Mr. Devansu. Again I talked to Mr. Devansu on 23rd Aug., Devansu told me case is forwarded to backend and your have to talk to customer care. Again I talked to customer care and request for Settlement and told within 7 days your settlement will be done. Several time I made calls in customer care but repeated answer was there within 7 days settlement will be done. On 19th Sept. I receive a call from your recovery department and I told my problem then he was transferee Call Mumbai and told same body then after once again settlement request has been taken once again on 24 Sept. I visited to your settlement dept., and your settlement dept. told me nothing can be done only you will get 1% rebet.
I would like to know, if your have to done so, you should have to fell me very first day. That once amount is debated form you’re A/c. we can’t do any thing. If it would be intivited we earlier than I approached for settlement of rest amount (1154/-). Why I will pay interest on which card, which I did not receive yet?...
I want resolution from your site. And who is responsible for mental as well as physical harassment.???????

ICICI Bank — Freezed my saving's account because of cridit card fraud and made one sided decision

Admin OptionsEdit Discussion
Close Discussion Add Tags


Delete Discussion
This is related to ICICI credit card fraud, which happened in Oct’07, and result of which I came to know about today (05-May-08) when I enquired about the same from ICICI, after a large amount of money (around 50000.00) from my saving bank account (with ICICI - XXXXXXXXXXX) was put on lien last week - without even intimating me about the result, and informing me/ getting authorization for deduction from my bank account.

It is all because of somebody – who, due to lapses in the security processes at ICICI in handling credit card – first managed to get both communication address and mobile number changed for credit card issued in my name (which was still in my physical possession), to get a loan on my card, which bank informed me about (on the last mobile no.) and I was able to cancel at least that one. Further, he managed to get an add-on card issued on that card – delivered to his address, and then enjoyed shopping on that newly issued add-on card.

I came to know that somebody changed my communication address and applied for personal loan on my credit card, when I got a call from ICICI around[protected] and they told me that my personal loan DD for Rs. Four lacs is ready and they were about to dispatch it. I was shocked that I had never applied for personal loan ever. Then I asked for my address, and found that it had been changed, along with the mobile no. I was told about an address of Delhi, while I am resident of Gurgaon and residing here for last 5 years. I was lucky that ICICI bank called on the old cell no. before dispatching the DD.

I requested to cancel the DD immediately and also informed ICICI bank to block my credit card account as it was hacked by somebody. I also requested to change my communication address back to the old one and update my cell no. Further I again called customer care on 20-Oct-2007 to cancel all credit cards. The service request id for this request is SRXXXXXX. Then I cut my cards (main card XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX and another online card which no. ends with 0002) into 4 pieces and dropped into a nearby ICICI ATM. I had also confirmed that my main card got cancelled on 24-Oct-07 from ICICI help line.


To my surprise, after some days I received a call from ICICI bank to inform that some transactions happened on add-on credit card on 26-Oct-07, which was issued against my main card. Again I was shocked, as I did not know that that guy even applied for an add-on card and ICICI delivered it to him. Obviously, I denied having done those transactions, as I had no idea about them at all. Then after some days one person from ICICI (From Credit card fraud investigation department.) visited me to get the dispute form filled from my side and sign it. He assured me that it clearly looks credit card fraud case and we will handle it. You should not worry. Later, I got one letter Ref. no. XXX/XXX/XXXX dated 09-Nov-2007 from ICICI Bank with all transaction details that happened on add on card, along with the Case Ref. No. (SRXXXXXX).

After that day, I did not hear anything from ICICI bank – through any medium – phone, email and letter. Suddenly, on 2nd May 2008 – almost 6 months after I received the letter, I got to know that some amount from my savings account was put on lien because of credit card outstanding. There was absolutely no communication (via email, phone call and hard copy letter) after the letter I mentioned just above. Upon knowing this, I enquired with bank immediately, and was advised to contact Credit Card recovery department located at Rohini, Delhi. From there I came to know that the case has been closed after the decision taken by the bank against me, and as the amount was to be recovered from me as per the decision, it has been put on lien from my savings account without even informing me about the same. Moreover, it is a completely one-sided decision, without even enquiring me about all the details.

Now, with this mail, I request to re-investigate the case (SR[protected], and particularly look for answers to the following queries from my side:


1. When did my credit card communication address and mobile number get changed in Oct-2007?
2. Why did not the bank send confirmation of address change to my old address?
3. Did credit card department verify required details before actually changing the address?
4. When did that fraud guy applied for add on card?
5. Did credit card department verify enough details from that guy before actually honoring the request?
6. May I know the request id for request of add on card?
7. Do you see any photo Id of main card owner when you actually deliver the add-on card? If yes, please let me know the details of Photo id you got when you deliver add-on card no. [protected] (as stated in the letter)?
8. Why did not all my credit card been blocked on[protected] after I informed about fraud on my credit card on phone?
9. How the add-on card was active, when the main card was cancelled on[protected]. (The transactions on add-on card were done on[protected]
10. How am I responsible for transactions made on add on card no. [protected] on[protected] even I request for cancellation again on[protected]?
11. Why I wasn’t contacted about details regarding the case, during the case investigations at all?
12. Why I was not informed about the one sided decision taken by the bank?
13. How can credit card department put amount from my saving account on lien for recovery without informing me/ my authorization?

I would like to have this case reopened and reinvestigated at the earliest possible. Also, please remove the lien on my saving’s account at the earliest.

Looking forward to an early and favorable response from your side.
Hello sir,
My father Mr. Subhas Chandra Bose have a two wheeler loan from your kolkata branch, and our agreement No. is LTCAL[protected]. Today one lady call us for the payment against this loan form [protected]. When she was calling I received the call, I said that my father not in home now you call him later but she was used slang language to me. I have a request to your bank that Please dont behave like this with your customer.
Sir

Please provide me your complete office address immediatley
since i have to sent letter.

with regards

narayanan
I have been writing emails to ICICI bank customer service for credit card billing. In spite of taking out money from account in the month of march 08, now again they are sending me bill in the month of october 08.
When brought to their notice, calls are coming from their goons.

However, they is no reply from the officials.
I would like to update my new cell number &address. what procedure I should follow. I have saving A/c in icici bank.

Kindly Mail me with details.

Regards
Sunil Lalwani.
[protected]

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    64%
    Complaints
    15999
    Pending
    521
    Resolved
    9637
    ICICI Bank Phone
    +91 22 2653 1414
    ICICI Bank Address
    ICICI Bank Towers, Bandra-Kurla Complex, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400051