Exide Industries Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Aug 6, 2025
Complaints 877

File a complaint to Exide Industries

Having problems with Exide Industries?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Exide Industries customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Exide Industries reviews & complaints page 37

krishkrishnan2000
Apr 26, 2011

I purchased a Matrix battery for my Skoda Ridewr. The car was bought earlier and the OEM battery was the same model and hence I opted for Exide. The purchase took place on 24th October 2008.

In 2010 sometime during I had starting problems(cold start) and went to the delaer (M/S Battery house, Royapettah, opp Music academy, Chennai.) Since his repsonse was poor, I called the exide helpline. The person came and checked the battery and suggested I check the alternator and declared that there is no problem in the battery. I took the car to the SKODA service point (M/S Gurudev motors) and they found no problem in the alternator. but the problem was lesser after the service. Subsequently during March I found that the cold start was getting difficult and on April 21st I took the car again to M/S battery house. Tehy checked the battery and felt there could be an alternator problem and asked me to drive for some more time. They felt I am not driving the car sufficiently and hence there may a small problem.

I was not convinced, and on Saturday, 23rd April I reported again and asked them to look in to. They requested me to come on Monday as they claimed there was shortage of lablor/technician to attend to the problem.

As I was out of station for couple of days, I reported again on 26th , Tuesday and asked them to attend to the problem. This time they chekced up thoroughly and said the battery seems to have some problem. But they refused to take action and asked me to get in touch with the Ambattur office of EXIDE company directly. The reason they quoted is as below:

"The battery has a 30 month warranty and apparantly it expired on 24th April. They felt that I can be given the service provided I agree that the problem was discovered only on 26th April and prepared to face the fact that I may not get full warranty replacement. "

What a joke. first of all they delay the process. And then they declare the justice.

Please let me know what I should do in this regard. I have just made a call to EXIDE customer complaint on 3124111. Their response was that they can not help it.They will attend to problem only if it is with in warranty period and wondered why the dealer did not help in the first place.

Please

A KRISHNAN
Chennai 28

akash bajoria
    Apr 5, 2011

Address: Ranchi, Jharkhand

i have purchased battery from jharsugda of orissa state and today the battery blast which serial no is- 4L9/113641
    its 100% inverter or battery problem plz check
    ST UP 0000 7523 DT 28.04.2012

We have Purchased the Exide battery 30 nos 26 AH Through Your dealer of m/s. Shine Power Solution, Now the 16 Batteriys not working, immediately we have inform to the delaer of Shine Power as per they advised to launch the coplaint to exide to directly, they will replace battery within 24 hours, but till now they not relaced the batterys, and aslo i have personnaly speak to your exide person Mr. Ramesh Phone [protected]
    he was not reospnding my request, we are the MNC Compnay one of Major bulk Drug Manufaturer Our Company name address

Saravanan.S
    Ms. Shasun Pharmaceuticals Limited
    # 27, Vandalore kelambakkam Road
    Keeklakottiyur
    Chennai-600 048
    PH no [protected]

Kindy look in this and sort it out immediately, because This Batetery connetced to the very expensive insutruemnst, now the past 5 days, this instruments was under manitenance

SMahadevan
      Mar 23, 2011

Address: Tamil Nadu

During the end 2009 i have procured 10KVA UPS with EXIDE SMF VRLA batteries (20 Nos) for the Computer Lab. in our Educational Institutions. But 2 of the batteries are weaken and failed to provide the output. Even i replaced the defective batteries with new batteries, the supplier advised us to replace the entire unit with Tubular Batteries which is problem free and advised us EXIDE SMF batteries is failure in most of their installed sites.
      Exide SMF Battery is not at all come under UPS batteries, because the batteries will hardly work for a month or two afterwards one by one the batteries are going to week and some times few batteries will open. It is a dead investment as far as EXIDE SMF batteries are concerned. I had a similar experience with Exide smf batteries. Despite all these failures, Exide people will still market their failure Batteries.

shivanshusaini
        Mar 21, 2011

Address: Saharanpur, Uttar Pradesh

dear sir/mam ,
        i was purchased exide battery IT 500 invatubler as on date [protected] from GANSONS ENGINEERS & TRADERS , after eight to ten months the battery have a problem in it & it was not giving backup , i had complained to dealer and he had provided me the service battery , but from that time he is not giving my battery , & also want the transporting charge rs 400 from me.
        please tell me is it valid ? that under warranty the transport charges will given by customer ?
        dealers address is :-
        gansons engineers & traders
        ambala road , saharanpur .
        bill serial no. 1207
        book no. 25
        purchase date[protected]
        warranty 4 years
        billing name :- Om prakash saini
        thank you .

om prakash saini
        new pratap nagar , maharana pratap colony
        saharanpur
        ph:- [protected]
        its valid because company do not give service, dealers do it.its company responsibility not the dealer

chowdhury.frozenhell.sayantan
          Mar 20, 2011

Address: North 24 Parganas, West Bengal

in spite of being fully charged, the battery back up remains for a few minutes whenever a power cut takes place. became entirely depressed by complaining several times; but all went in vain. no any remedy till found from the company end although it is still under warranty cover. the battery details is given below :

TYPE : IN1500+
          MFG. CODE : 3F9
          SL. NO. : 47621
          Purchase Date : 26.06.2009
          Owner : Mr. Sandip Dhar
          Mobile No. [protected]
          once you purchase exide battery you will not get it replacement in time because exide do not give replacement to dealers in time.they may reject your batterywhen you go to dealer you say we want exide so he sold you. so its your responsibility to take replacement from company .what the dealer will do if exide reject him

sarojshail
            Mar 17, 2011

Address: Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh

we have purchased Exide battery from 1 year before, it was not work properly.

request you to please replace the battery.

Shailendra Saroj
            i have purchased a exide battery and its not working properly it gets decharge in 5 minutes i got it replaced with a new one but the problem still exits. i showed it to the dealer they siad there is problem in the battery again. i am really fed up with exide service and found that it is the worst battery of all other companies. If you can do something please contact me. i want my problem to be solved immediately.

Shakil.K

srinpush
              from Muluppilagadu, Kerala
              Mar 10, 2011

Address: Tamil Nadu

I bought Exide Max battery with the Whirlpool inverter machine.The battery had a warranty of one year.

The battery exactly worked for one year only and after that period, it started giving trouble. In fact I took proper care with timely checking the water level and filling it incase the level was low.

I was really shocked to note the performance of the branded company and I advise all consumers not to go for any Exide product.

UKS SRINATH

rajesh.
                Mar 3, 2011

Address: Uttar Pradesh

I purchased one battery (EXIDE) CS7-12 sr. no. 4WB 809928 from M/s AMBIKA ENTERPRISES, 54 CIVIL LINES, OPP. S.V. INTER COLLEGE, BAREILLY (U.P.) 243001 IN Jan 15, 2011.From the first day it was not working properly.not fully charged. and with in one week battery not charging by UPS. i told to dealer, he recharged Battery by Inverter Charging On Heavy Current and told the battery is OK but he is lie. The Dealer feedback is verry BAD. after 2days i complent to dealer them he talk me bad-language. and not replacing. i request to u plz. replace my battery. and take action on Dealer.

rajesh rawat
                jagriti nagar, budaun road, Bareilly. (U.P.)
                No replacement Under Guarantee Period

I purchased one battery (EXIDE) Inva tubler ITB - 36444 from M/s AUTO AGENCY BYE PASS ROAD, CHAS, BOKARO STEEL CITY, BOKARO, , JHARKHAND - 827013 . In August 17 2010, From the very first day it was not working properly.not fully charged. and within 7 months battery became dead . I handed over the battery to the dealer for necessary action for replacement the battery as it was in guarantee period . But he recharged Battery and told the battery is NOT WORKING PROPERLY The Dealer's feedback is very BAD. since 10 days I am complaining the dealer to change my battery but he is not listnig to my request and neither replacing it . so please take action against the dealer and again I request to u plz. replace my battery as soon as possible .

thanks,

S.P.Bachchan
                352 Cooperative Colony
                Bokaro Steel City
                Distt - Bokaro
                Jharkhand - 827001
                Phone no - [protected]
                from
                Auto Agencies, chas
                The Dealer already replace the battery within 1/2 hours of complain by the customer, i have already proof of her signature, why this guy was telling lie we do't no, if from the very 1st day it was not working then how they use the battery from last 07 months, i do'nt no why people are telling lie & talking this type of words

Auto Agencies
                I have purchase battery from auto agencies chas on 3rd dec 2009 & my inva tubular battery doesnt give back up for more than half hour then i complain to M/S AUTO AGENCIES BYE PASS ROAD CHAS they took immediate action mr aditya presonally vist to our house & replace my battery with in 2 days i thanks to them for replacement
                subash prasad

DO NOT CHANGE BIKE BATTERY WITHIN WARENTY

Within warranty period do not change my bike exide battery

Nagendra kr Bhushan

tgpsarathy
                  Feb 18, 2011

I have purchased MA35R maintenance free Matrix battery from dealer - Mars DSP waves, KKnagar.Chennai-78 on 23/07/2009. Dealer does not honour frre replacement warranty within 30 months as given in warranty card.Batery serial no 203749 mfg code: 4E9
                  Battery went low volatge suddenly on 9/2/2011,within 19 months against free replacement warranty of 30 months. Dealer says charging is not successful due to some problem in battery.
                  Dealer blame it on bad luck on my part and takes a very casual attitude in customer service-does gives a spare battery which is also defective after much wrangling. Spare battey does not work even for two days.
                  Promises replacement after testing of failed battery with 3 working days. Even after 9days , I have not received free replacement battery. Dealer
                  Dealer will not give me service station number to cross check battery status. Exide battery toll free number is a big joke , unable to contact anyone after welcome voice.
                  I am told to wait indefenitely for service station report on failed batery. EXide is doing development experiment o[censored]nwary customers who go by high flyer advertisement?
                  I will think twice before recomending EXIDE battery to any one.

sunil_parimoo
                    from Rajouri, Jammu and Kashmir
                    Feb 16, 2011

Address: Jammu, Jammu and Kashmir

I purchased a battery for my car from Jammu batteries below gumat jammu the authorised dealer for exide batteries on 10/01/2011 under voucher no9152 . the battery didnot take the charging current and within 10 days it got fully discharged . i went to dealer to replace the battery instead he confiscated my guarantee card as well as the voucher on the pretext that matter will be resolved. The dealer is misbehaving and not replacing the battery nor returning me the guarantee card and voucher . I told him I will take the matter with HO calcutta . He is so arrogant and conveyed me that he is not worried about the complaints.and is compelling me to take the faulty battery only . in lieu of this mattery he gave me an old battery ( as a makeshift )without any guarantee . I feel highly embarrassed at the hands dealer of exide battery due to his misconduct and arrogance .
                    Pl take up the matter with the concerned at higher level
                    Sunil Parimoo

shrikantkohad
                      from Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh
                      Feb 16, 2011

Address: Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh

DATE:16/02/2011
                      i purchased one battery (EXIDE IN 1800 PLUS S. NO.70835) from M/S CHOUDHARY SALES CORPORATION (Deals in: all kinds of batteries, invertors,UPS, steplizer, and general order suppliers) Bhindia Market near Sudarshan Showroom, Baradari Chouraha,Morar, Gwalior (M.P) Mobile no.[protected], PROP.RITESH BHADORIYA
                      AT 27/12/2009.AFTER the SIX MONTH it was not working properly.not fully Charged. SO TIMES I COMPLAINT, AFTER THAT HE IS REPLACING THE BATTERY IN GUARANTEE PERIOD TO DEALER BALAJI POWER HOUSE (TINKU GOYAL) GWALIOR (MP) dealer/retailer both not replacing the same last 7 month
                      every time saying the battery is not coming from company. my warranty card no.738493 mfg code 3hg s.no 70835,bar code;2H9W4388023H9

REGARDS
                      SHRIKANT KOHAD,301, JIWAJI NAGAR, THATIPUR, GWALIOR (MP) [protected],[protected]

ANIL KUMAR CHOURASIYA
                        from Pandua, West Bengal
                        Feb 12, 2011

Address: Howrah, West Bengal

I bought a HONDA CB TWISTER bike from T.N.AUTO UNIT-1 BALITIKURI,KALITALA in HOWRAH . they are a big time liar and never promises to give the service he is supposed to give. He gave me a faulty EXIDE DRY CELL(BATTERY) which is troubling me since the very first day. Finally the BATTERY got dead and so I went to the Service Center of ARADHANA HONDA SHOWROOM in HOWRAH MAIDAN..They took my BATTERY 2 months ago.But after that day I never got my BATTERY back.The service center person GOUTAM is another cheater. When I ask him about my BATTERY he says that EXIDE Dry cells are not available at this course of time and so I have to wait . I dont know what the hell is this. I am finally writing to you and wanted to get some help in resolving this issue. I have been going through a harassing and traumatic situation for more than 2 months and its just because of HONDA,EXIDE and T.N. AUTO. I have all the relevent proofs also .

AUTOMOBILE BATTERY
                          Feb 7, 2011

Address: West Bengal

TO WHOM SO EVER IT MAY CONCERN

Your kind attention is invited to the cases booked by the Directorate General of Central Excise Intelligence (DGCEI) , CHENNAI ZONAL UNITagainst Exide Industries Limited, on the basis of information , Search was conducted simultaneously at the following locations on 26/03/2009 viz. (a) Head office of EXIDE at Kolkatta (b) Factory at Hosur, TamilNadu (c) Depot at Mumbai (d) Depot at Chennai (e) Dealer at Chennai and the Officers also visited (i) factory at Shamnagar, (ii) Marketing Office at Kolkatta, (iii) Marketing Office at Mumbai and recovered various incriminating documents and after conducting thorough investigation by the DGCEI ,necessary Show cause notice (SIX) were issued to M/s Exide Industries Limited On date 17.11.2009 of Rs 32,60,11,071=00

From 1/6/2009 onwards EXIDE started paying duty on value based on MRP of the Automobiles Batteries and they have written to the Jurisdictional Divisions in this regard.

EXIDE have started showing / printing MRP on the cartoons in which the goods are packed and being sold as it is. This clearly shows that they have accepted and rectified their mistake by adopting the plea of the department that the MRP is required to be printed on the cartoons and the assessment of the product has to be done under Section 4A of the Act instead of on transaction value.
                          The details of SIX Show cause notice (Date: 17/11/2009) are as under:-

Show cause notice-1
                          F.No.INV/DGCEI/CHZU/13/2009
                          OR No. 75/2009 SCN No.60/2009 - Date: 17/11/2009
                          Revenue involved Rs 3,85,77,647=00
                          Exide Industries Limited
                          Survey No. 246,Chinchurakanapalli Village,Sevaganapally Panchayat
                          Hosur Taluk,Krishnagiri District , Tamil Nadu 635 103

Show cause notice-2
                          OR No. 75/2009 SCN No.61/2009 - Date: 17/11/2009
                          Revenue involved Rs 8,20,89,773=00
                          Exide Industries Limited
                          D2, MIDC Industrial Area,Chinchwad East,Pune - 411 019

Show cause notice-3
                          OR No. 75/2009 SCN No.62/2009 - Date: 17/11/2009
                          Revenue involved Rs-4,89,09,336=00
                          Exide Industries Limited
                          Plot No. T-17,MIDC Taloja Industrial Area,Taloja,Raigad District - 410 208

Show cause notice-4
                          OR No. 75/2009 SCN No.63/2009 - Date: 17/11/2009
                          Revenue involved Rs 3,46,64,465=00
                          Exide Industries Limited
                          Durgachak,Haldia - 721 602,Dist. Midnapur, West Bengal

Show cause notice-5
                          OR No. 75/2009 SCN No.64/2009 - Date: 17/11/2009
                          Revenue involved Rs 4,47,68,459=00
                          Exide Industries Limited
                          91, New Chord Road, P.O. Athpur, Shamnagar - 743 128

Show cause notice-6
                          OR No. 75/2009 SCN No.65/2009 - Date: 17/11/2009
                          Revenue involved Rs 7,70,01,391=00
                          Exide Industries Limited
                          Plot no. 179, Sector 3, HSIDC Growth Centre, Bawal , District Rewari- 123501,Haryana
                          DEAR SAN,

I AM PURCHASE IN HONDA(SHINE) TWO WHEELER THE BATTERY WAS COPLAINT THE ANANTAPUR DEALER IS NOT GIVING THE WARRANTY
                          ADDRESS
                          SURAJ BATTERY
                          80 FEET ROAD,
                          ANANTAOUR
                          dear concern i have a complaint for exide battery .i was bought a battery EXIDE MAX ON[protected] from a dealer of exide guru nanak auto center gt road .with gurantee of 24 months .still gurantee is pending but dealer and distibuter both r refuse to replace the b attery .distibuter is saying that battery is out of warrenty .actuley dealer make a fraud of me .he was giving me a battery of mfg 2010 and else serial number .kindly do need a action of this .. thx prem verma [protected]
                          I AM PURCHASE A INVA TUBULAR 500 BATTERY BUT WORKING NOT PROPERLY .I LORGE COMPLAINT ON MARCH 2014 REF.NO.NUH[protected] AFTER BATTERY WORK SOME TIME AND RECOMPLAINT LORGE ON AUG 2014 REF.NO.NUHO102110 BUT AGAIN AFTER SOME TIME BATTERY IS NO WORKING PIEASE REPLACE BATTERY. BATTERY PURCHASE DETAIL[protected]DEALEAR NAME-S.S.TRADERS'GORAKHPUR INVOICE NO.S00329 DT.31.03.12 WITH GURANTEE 36 MONTHS --REGARDS-ALOK AGARWAL'MOB.NO.[protected]

boisar motors
                            Feb 3, 2011

our authorized dealer KUMAR AUTO electrical works , ADDRESS:RAMWADI,NEAR 2ND PETROL PUMP DAHANU RD (E)
                            DISRICT THANE. Refuses to give the service required.
                            I Vinod G.Gawad purchased a bike from akashay automobile P.LTD (Suzuki access 125) on 27th august 2010 from Mumbai. I myself residing at dahanu RD . Experienced battery fault and on my request to replace the battery, he refuses to do so and ask us to meet the bike dealers
                            Please reply us.
                            Contact us: mobile no-[protected]

arvindsharmak
                              Jan 22, 2011

Address: Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh

I purchased EXIDE SF SONIC battery from dealer S.S. ELECTRICALS, shop no 100, block 2, ganga shopping complex, sector - 29, noida.

Battery serial no 417510, Mfg code - 5D9, Type - PBX 1350
                              Dealer code - NOID 028654 E 09

WARRANTY CARD NO - S 105012

I complaint this dealer that my battery is not giving power back up even for 20 min. He took my battery and returned after 3 weeks and battery could not reactified, now he isaying pls go ahead and contact EXIDE from your end.

This Dealer name is Gaurav is pathetic and always give misleading info's. i am really disappointed and unsatisfied with the response i get from exide dealer and company too.

pls urgently take some action on this and make sure my battery must get replaced within 3 working days.

Thanks n B.Rgds
                              Arvind Sharma

exide/inverter 1350 — my battery is not charging

i have purchase one invertor battery model IN1350+.my battery is not proper charging but your service engg. says battery is ok. but battery is not responding.please chek the piece again if thier is some fault then rep. it.
                              i have purchased a Exide battery MHD-1500 on[protected].it is not charging without the charger of exide battery dealer.i have charged it 4times in a year.now it becomes very hot during charging and a sound is also generated.i am very disappointed .the dealer is not cooperating and misguide me.the dealer always said me that there is a fault of inverter but i myet replaced my inverter by new one. i want to replace the battery because it is also in warranty period .please take a suitable action.
                              dealer is...Kohinoor enterprises, delhi road, sonipat

joginder kumar

939/7, jain bagh colony gohana road, sonepat, haryana-131001
                              I purchased a EXIDE battery in 2010..but it is not charging now, the retailer was reparied it and he charged 600 rs. And he is saying that it will work only for 8 months.is it correc?again it will create a Problem?how to come out of this?plesae clarify my doubt.

please do the needfull ASAP

Jayasree
                              mail id: jayasree.[protected]@gmail.com

amitgarg2004
                                Jan 8, 2011

Address: South Delhi, Delhi

HI
                                PROBLEM IS The exide battery gets discharged automatically.
                                The serial no of battery is 100544 and battery type 12EB5LB.
                                The exide battery dealer is Hira Battery House.
                                Shop No5,Temple Road, Bhogal,New Delhi-110014

I have purchased a exide battery on 10April 2010.
                                After that after some days battery gets weak and i was not able to start motorcycle.
                                Then i went to exide dealer and they charge the battery.
                                But after again some days battery gets weak and again went to dealer and he gave address of service station.
                                I went to service station and they told that there is problem in bike wiring.
                                Then i went to Bajaj Dealer Showroom for complete checkup of wiring and they confirmed that wiring is OK and the battery is not working properly.

So kindly request you to do take necessary action and replace the battery immediately as soon as possible.
                                I will be very thankful to you.
                                Amit Kumar Garg
                                I completely agree.

rohitrohit_16
                                  from Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
                                  Jan 6, 2011

Address: Jodhpur, Rajasthan

I have bought Exide Max Battery from Exide Dealer name "KACHHWAHA BROTHERS" for my car on[protected] with one year warranty but after 6 months the Exide battery not working properly. When I went to the dealer for replacing ,he told me that he will not replace the battery after requesting him so many times ,After that I told him that we will file a complain in consumer court, he told me do it, I don't fear from anyone.

This is not the first time this happen, we also bought Exide battery from same dealer for our vehicle Kinetic Honda , and same problem arises but again we have to fight from the dealer for replacing of the battery.

The Details of the Invoice is Bill no. CM/276/10-11, dated[protected]
                                  Customer Name: Dr M. M Jain
                                  Description of Goods: Exide EM32R (MF), 12V, 32 Ah , Sr no. 02008/2C0
                                  Qty 1No. and Total Invoice value: 3100
                                  Dealer Address: "KACHHWAHA BROTHERS"
                                  Haider Building , Sajoti Gate
                                  Jodhpur (Rajasthan)
                                  Tel No.[protected]

Exide/ Exide Max battery — battery not working properly

I have been facing problems with an exide max battery since past one month. I bought the exide max battery from S.S. electricals Shop no.100, block 2, ganga shopping complex, noida and filed a complaint to the dealer but he is ignoring the problem and telling me to go to the company by myself the warranty of my battery is ending on 6/4/2009 but I had filed the complaint 20 days before the warranty ends.

jayant deo
                                    from Patan, Maharashtra
                                    Jan 4, 2011

Address: Satara, Maharashtra

I have purchased exide invared tubular battery for my microtek inverter on 6/12/2008. It,s batch no. is 1K8 and serial no. is 002206. now the battery is not getting charged evenafter 24 hours charging. As usual from whom I purchased this battery is not responding properly to my complaint. As warrenty period is 30 months, my battery is within warrenty period. What can I do now?

KC DUBEY
                                      from Sikar, Rajasthan
                                      Jan 2, 2011

Address: Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh

ONE NO EXIDE BATTERY TYPE ; ZSCO-IN1500PLUS WAS PURCHASED FROM PAPPU BATTERY SRVICE, CHAK, JHUNSI, ALLAHABAD ON DATED 28.06.2009, BATTERY FAILED TO GIVE ANY BACKUP. FAULTY BATTERY SURRENDERED TO ITS SECVICE CENTER "EXIDE INDUSTRIES LTD, 109-C JAWAHR LAL NEHRU ROAD, GEORGE TOWN ALLAHABAD. ON DATED 27.12.2010. PERSON POSTED AT SERVICE CENTER ACCEPTED THE BATTERY AFTER LONG DEBATE & INTERROGATION AND TRIED TO MISLEAD, FURTHER AT THE TIME OF DELIVERY WHICH WAS FIXED ON 30.12.2010 AGAIN SAID THAT YOUR BATTERY HAS BEEN REJECTED FROM THE COMPANY AND COULD DO NOTHING. PLEASE TAKE IT A SRIOUS NOTE THAT THE SO CALLED SERVICE CENTER IS NO MORE CERVICE CENTER RETHER A BUNGLING CENTER. WHICH IN TURN A SET BACK TO YOUR REPUTED BRAND OF THE COMPANY.
                                      YOU ARE THEREFORE REQUESTED TO PLEASE LOOK INTO THE MATTER AND GIVE SUITABLE DIRECTIVE TO THE SERVICE CENTER FOR CORRECTIVE /REPLACEMENT STEP.
                                      PRITI DUBEY, 2/20 HIG AVAS VIKAS COLONY YOZNA-3 JHUNSI, ALLAHABAD-211019.

udayapte
                                        Dec 29, 2010

Address: Raigad, Maharashtra

This is to inform you that I, Uday c. Apte residing at b-101,Sai-Sandesh co.op housing society,plot-26, sector-1, New Panvel dist-Raigad, Maharashtra, pin-410206 had purchased a Numeric home ups sr. no.-YT[protected] 75ah+ exide smf battery sr. no.201718 on 19th April 2009 for Rs.10400.
                                        The inverter worked o.k. till 10-11 months but thereafter it used to trip after approx. 20 mins even on low load of 1 fan & 1 tubelight & since one week, it gives out sound of overload even with all lights & fans etc. kept off. (zero load)
                                        The battery of the inverter seems swollen from all sides & was feeling warm so i called one electrician & got it disconnected.
                                        The service representative from Numeric ups- Mr. Dorai visited my home yesterday & checked the ups-battery unit & concluded that the battery has gone bad & there is nothing wrong with the ups unit.His service call report says that the battery needs replacement.The cost taken from me for the battery was Rs. 4889/- on 19th April2009.There is no doubt that the battery had a manufacturing defect otherwise it won't go bad in such a short time & that too a maintenance free dry battery where no water filling is reqd. unlike automobile batteries where we have to top up battery water after a certain period.
                                        Even if the warranty card with the battery states that warranty is for 12 months,what was the manufacturing year & month of the battery is unknown to me & it may be that the shelf life of the battery was over when it was sold to me therefore it may have gone bad in such a short time. Generally, the batteries are known to last at least for 3-4 years.
                                        I have all the original papers for your perusal.

pl. look into the matter at the earliest & arrange to replace the battery urgently.

uday c. apte.mobile--[protected]
                                        b-101,Sai-Sandesh co.op housing society,plot-26, sector-1, New Panvel dist-Raigad, Maharashtra, pin-410206