HDFC Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 16, 2025
Complaints 32896

File a complaint to HDFC Bank

Having problems with HDFC Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by HDFC Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

HDFC Bank reviews & complaints page 311

Shankara Chary
Nov 13, 2020

This is shankarachary R. My account No: [protected]. for one Account Bajaj Finserv(4000CDGE554157), EMI amount which should debit from hdfc bank on 2nd November 2020. I delayed for one day and maintained sufficient balance on 3rd November 2020. But due to insufficient balance for 3892 rupees which should deduct from HDFC bank. They charged ACH Debit return charges multiple times for one account(590, 590) total 1180 rupees. It's totally 30 percent of my EMI Account. Please be kind for one day delay and please refund my 1180 rupees.

Please do needful.

Shankarachary R
They credited amount by leaving Tax charges. Thank you Thanks Shankarachary R
HDFC Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

sukhadm
    Nov 13, 2020

Address: 114 palam vihar majitha road

My issue is still pending
    Please refund my mony
    1.extra bouncing charges rs531/
    2.extra interest charges rs 1262/
    3.qmitted cash back.
    Hdfc no resolve my issue till now

Kushal Oswal
      Nov 13, 2020

Address: Hdfc bank

I am priority customer with HDFC Bank Pune.
      My CA firm, personal accounts are with hdfc bank.
      I hold a hdfc credit card of which limit is ₹300000.
      It was overdue and alongwith moratorium interest the outstanding was ₹362081. I have been paying the minimum due of the credit card before and after the moratorium period.
      On 9th November, 2020 I recieved NEFT from HDFC Life Insurance Policy which I redeemed before its maturity because I need funds urgently. Without my knowledge and any prior notice or as little as a warning sms/call the HDFC Credit Card department placed a lien on my savings account and an entire amount of ₹362081 has been blocked by placing a lien. I visited the hdfc credit card collection dept and requested them that I am a regular paying customer and I have multiple relations with hdfc organisation through banking, insurance, mediclaim, credit card, etc.
      I requested them to kindly accept ₹100000 towards my credit card dues of ₹362081 and release the balance funds back into my savings account as I require the funds urgently. But nobody is being able to help me citing that the lien has been placed without their knowledge from the Chennai unit of HDFC credit card dept.
      I ask here how is it fair and just to recover dues like that from someone who has been paying regularly and never denied the outstanding to hdfc bank.
      Under which bank policy of the RBI guidelines does the bank have the absolute right to place a lien without prior notice and warnings and that too on a regular account. In these times of pandemic each o[censored]s have been hit financially. This is extremely criminal and unfair on the bank's part to completely block all my funds.
      To top it up they have neither realised the amount towards my credit card dues, nor unblocked the credit card, and they have charged me ₹3300 for late payment where in fact they have taken away the entire sum owed.
      I don't understand this type of banking or shall I call extortion and harassment.
      I sincerely request the moderators here to look into this matter with utmost urgency and revert to me otherwise I will be in big trouble financially as my car loan EMI is due, plus I will also go onto file a suit with the consumer redressal forum and file a complain with the ombudsman committee of the RBI. PLEASE HELP ME OUT HERE.

Padmanabhan Anantha M
        Nov 12, 2020

Today i.e on 12 11 2020 at about 8 pm my credit card no
        [protected] was unauthoriesedly used for payment of Rs 1121.
        this was not done by me

my name is M A PADMANABHAN
        MY CELL NO IS [protected]
        MY HDFC BANK SAVINGS ACCOUNT NO IS [protected]

YOU MAY VERIFY AND THE TRANSACTION MAY BE REVERSED

Srikanth Kadurla
          Nov 12, 2020

Address: HDFC Bank LTD, Plot No. 131 & 132, First Floor, KPHB Colony 6th Phase, Kukatpally, Hyderabad, Hyderabad- 500085. Telangana.

I am a HDFC bank(Kukatpally branch, Hyderabad, Telangana) credit card holder. The bank has auto debited Rs. 1899/- from my credit card without my concern on date:10/11/2020.The amount was debited towards One Assist. I neither subscribed to any of the new plans nor renewed any plan by any means(Call, message or mail). But still with out my knowledge, the amount of Rs1899/- was charged unauthorizedly on my credit card (I did not get any OTP & I did not give any kind of confirmation from my side for the amount to be debited). Firstly, I am not at all interested in this service(One Assist) and don't want this membership any more. So please cancel the membership. Secondly, I request a full refund of debited amount, Rs.1899/-. Please help me with this. (For your info: The mail ID I used for raising this complain is one and the same that is linked with my Card.) . Please let me know if any further info is required, Thanks in advance.
          Dear Kukatpally, We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. Please be assured that our team will process a full refund to you. Kindly share your Membership Details and other details requested on this link: http://survey.webengage.com/ws/~1qq44ps and our executive shall process your request on a priority - Swarali, Team OneAssist
          Dear Srikanth, We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. Please be assured that our team will process a full refund to you. Kindly share your Membership Details and other details requested on this link: http://survey.webengage.com/ws/~1qq44ps and our executive shall process your request on a priority - Swarali, Team OneAssist

Sunitasn
            Nov 12, 2020

I am writing this as a complaint to notice received on[protected], sent by Adv. Amit Kumar, representing legal for HDFC Bank, dated 4th Nov 2020. In his notice it was mentioned that I have made a default in my payment on the above mentioned Car loan of HDFC Bank Ltd which was noted and replied, with a denial of mentioning as not a defaulter by purpose but reason as current Kovid -19 pandemic situation.

I received support from the bank during the moratorium period were in my request, I clearly mentioned my situation of not getting my full month salary. Just 20% is received till this month which doesn't serve me for my living. I requested bank for a grace time till December 2020 in my online submission of moratorium approval to the bank. The bank sanctioned relaxation during the moratorium period. As the moratorium extension is still pending before the court, I have requested for not taking any steps of legal proceedings through the executive who had come here for collection. He has physically verified and understood my current face of situation I undergo from the organisation I work for.

I have never been a defaulter with the bank nor would I like to be a defaulter. This can be checked and verified from my previous track of my monthly payments.

Under the circumstances my liability averred by legal person adv. Amit Kumar should have been considered before sending me a legal notice.

Expect to have a direction to the bank for considering my start of next repayment installment from January 2021 onward.

Sincerely with regards,

Sunita Sankaranarayanan

Rima Meripo
              Nov 12, 2020

I have done an IMPS fund transfer transaction of Rs.15000 on 11 Nov 2020., through the HDFC mobile app.
              The transaction got failed, however, the money has been debited from my account & not been credited to the Beneficiary as well. The transaction got failed because of the timeout error. Please look into this issue and resolve it asap.

Details below:
              Date of txn: 11th Nov 2020
              IMPS Ref no:[protected]
              Amount: 15000 Rs
              Beneficiary Bank - SBI
              Error received in SMS: Timed out due to technical reason

kishore8438
                Nov 12, 2020

I am getting too many calls from HDFC about personal loans. I have requested for DNC 3 weeks back and still I am getting calls. I am getting atleast two calls a day from different number.

I have blocked minimum 100 numbers till now and still getting calls from different numbers.

I even asked the HDFC caller to remove my number from their list. But still no use

This is soo annoying.

HDFC lost their reputation. and responsible for one's mental health

Amit Shankar Panda
                  Nov 12, 2020

I have applied for Fastag on 26/12/2019.
                  Application Reference number: HFR01253498
                  I have also paid 500 Rupees.
                  But I haven't received the Fastag yet.
                  The customer care number is unreachable.
                  Could you please have a look ASAP.

Ash1712
                    Nov 12, 2020

Address: Manek Smruti, TPS 2, Nehru Rd, Vile Parle East, Mumbai, Maharashtra 400057

Reference: Account No - [protected],

Old Case registered No– 12744824

Other provisional Complaint no – MUMP[protected]

New Case registered no[protected]

This letter is with regards to the Online fraud that took place on 17th October, 2020. I made an online purchase on 15th October 2020 through a sports merchandising website called "Sportokart". I purchased a jersey for ₹679.15 (Rupees Six Hundred Seventy Nine and Fifteen Paise). On 17th October when I contacted the company via phone, to find out about the status of my order, they responded by saying that the order was cancelled, and if I required the refund, I had to stay on the line. While staying on the line, I received a notification stating that an amount of ₹15000/- ( Rupees Fifteen Thousand only) was straight away debited from my account. On asking them about the situation, they told me that there was an error from their end and if I would further wait, the same shall be returned. Spotting something suspicious, I straight away drove to the HDFC VILE Parle East branch (the nearest branch) to inform about this fraud. On my way to the bank there were two subsequent transactions of ₹514 (Rupees Five Hundred Fourteen Only) and ₹ 299 ( Rupees Two Hundred Ninety Nine Only) also debited. It is pertinent to note that I have neither shared my OTP verbally nor through any other medium. Thereafter, I visited your bank i.e HDFC Bank Vile Parle East branch after being targeted by fraudsters who stole a total amount of ₹ 16492.15 ( Rupees Sixteen Thousand Four Hundred Ninety Two and Fifteen Paise Only) from my account.

The details of the fraudulent transactions are mentioned below :

1st Transaction - ₹679.15/- ( Rupees Six Hundred Seventy Nine and Fifteen Paise Only) on 15th October, 2020 at 5.45 pm.

2nd Transaction - ₹15, 000/- ( Rupees Fifteen Thousand Only) on 17th October, 2020 at 12.38 pm.

3rd Transaction - ₹514/- ( Rupees Five Hundred Fourteen Only) on 17th October, 2020 at 12.52 pm.

4th Transaction - ₹299/- ( Rupees Two Hundred Ninety Nine Only) on 17th October, 2020 at 12.56 pm.

On informing the bank both in person and telephonically, about the facts surrounding the fraudulent transactions, I was told to lodge a police complaint and subsequently submit the complaint along with other relevant documents to you. I thereafter made a complaint to the Cyber Police Station and as per the bank's instructions, submitted all the necessary documentations required by you in order to conduct a thorough investigation. The above referred complaint no MUMP[protected] was provided to me. I was also told by one of employees of the bank that this matter should be resolved in 7 days. Later that day I received a text message from the bank stating that my case has been registered under reference no. 12744824.

On 19th October, I received a call from Ms. Gaurangi Sawant who introduced herself as one of the employees of HDFC Bank, Kanjurmarg Head Office, investigating my case. She asked me about the details of the fraud, which I gave her and later on I received a text from HDFC stating that my request had been registered vide case no. MUMP[protected] and my case shall be reverted within 7 working days.

On 22nd October, 2020, I visited HDFC branch at Vile Parle East to get an update on the investigation. The reason for me personally visiting the branch was because none of the above referred reference numbers were accessible online. When I asked about the update and whether there was any progress made with regards to my case, the bank employees responded by saying that the investigation was in process and I had to wait for the completion of 7 days inorder to expect a resolution to this matter.

On completion of 7 days, I visited the concerned HDFC branch on 27th October, 2020 to get an update on the investigation. However I was told by one of the employees, Mr. Ankit Sharma, that he has emailed the investigation team to know the status of my case. He further added, that such cases may extend upto 32 days for a resolution. The next day i.e. on 28th October, 2020, I requested Mr. Ankit Sharma to email me the bank statement of the above referred account for the month of October. On receipt of the statement, I noticed that 2 out of the 4 disputed transactions were already reversed and credited back to my account on 20th October, 2020. The two transactions that were credited were:

₹514/- ( Rupees Five Hundred Fourteen Only)

₹299/- ( Rupees Two Hundred Ninety Nine Only)

It was shocking because the bank did not inform me about such credited amount for almost 8 days. Despite two personal visits and constant reminders in order to seek a status update for my case, I was not informed about the two disputed amounts already being credited. When this issue was confronted to Mr. Ankit Sharma, he replied that he was not aware of the same and further added that I did not specifically ask him to check if any amount was credited. I believe this reply was baseless and inexcusable as asking for a general update on the case had the same implication as specifically asking him to check any transactions taking place with respect to my account. The strangest part of this issue was that right after this conversation with the Mr. Ankit Sharma, at 17.06 hrs I received a text message from HDFC bank stating that my case bearing reference no 12744824 had been responded and closed.

The next day i.e on 29th October, 2020, I again personally visited the bank to raise an objection for with regards to my case bearing reference no. 12744824, being responded and closed. Mr. Ankit raised another complaint on my request and subsequently I received another case number bearing reference number[protected]. Apart from this, I even received an email with regards to the earlier case number i.e 12744824, that the bank is never liable for any transactions that have taken place through the generation of an OTP. Such transactions are recognised as authenticated transactions and the bank holds no liability for any fraud arising out of such transactions whatsoever. My argument with regards to this defensive statement is that I never disclosed my OTP verbally, in writing or in any form whatsoever. If the bank is not liable to return such amounts, then why were two out of 4 disputed amounts returned to me. If the liability related to every such transactions then none of the amounts should have been refunded. To clear this doubt, I decided to visit Mr. Jogesh Bohra, HDFC Vile Parle East Branch Manager on 3rd November, 2020. I mentioned the facts of my case that took place from 15th October and even raised my concerns about the defensive email I received from HDFC with regards to them waiving off their liability with regards to my case. However, the manager was also very defensive in his approach and instead of helping out a customer, he was only trying to exempt himself from any liability he (the bank) may face. I was not provided with a proper justification for the reason why only 2 out of 4 "authenticated transactions" were reversed. I was not provided with an explanation for the two disputed amounts of ₹15, 000/- ( Rupees Fifteen Thousand Only) and ₹ 671.15/- (Rupees Six Hundred Seventy One and Fifteen Paise Only). And ultimately I was subtly implied to give up on the case. It is pertinent to note that the new case number of 12847153 is still under process and I have not been informed about any development with regards to the same whether it is through email or telephone. When I visited the bank on 12th November, 2020, even this complaint number was cancelled. The bank stated that they had sent an email on 7th November, with regards to this information, but I have not received any email with regards to this.

My concerns are summarised under the following :

1. Why only 2 transactions have been credited and not the remaining disputed amounts of ₹15000 and ₹679.15?

2. On 27.10.2020, when I visited the bank, the employee informed me that the my case bearing the above mentioned reference number would take 32 more days for it to be resolved. How come I have received a text message within 24 hours that my case has been responded and closed?

3. Why did the bank not inform me about the two disputed amounts being credited to my account within 3 days of the dispute?

4. The bank needs to take responsibility to find a solution to this case. I do not hold them liable for anything, but I certainly hold them responsible for the well being and financial protection of their customers.

I belong to a middle class family and an amount of ₹ 16492.15 ( Rupees Sixteen Thousand Four Hundred Ninety Two and Fifteen Paise Only) plays a huge role in running a family especially during the times of a pandemic. The way this matter has been handled it does nothing but demotivate a customer of this bank and especially for a family doing through financial crisis, it evokes irrevocable depressive thoughts. These concerns are related to the functioning of HDFC bank Vile Parle East branch, as it is evident that there is an absolute lack of transparency from their end which they are liable to maintain under every relevant laws of India. I request you to look into this matter and deliver results rather than running away from this case. There is a clear indication that 2 out of 4 disputed amounts are credited whereas the large amounts of ₹15000 and ₹679.15 are still not credited. I hope that there is no collusion with regards to the remaining two amounts of ₹15000 and ₹679.15 respectively. I strictly state that I did not authorise these transactions as I did not know I was talking to a fraudster. The money was taken by unfair means and without my wilful consent. I hope to receive these amounts from the bank fairly and with transparency.

I therefore expect you to deal with my complaint according to the relevant laws laid down by RBI and other relevant financial authorities. I expect a full reimbursement of this unauthorised transfer.

In the last quarter of 2018, the majority of its rulings have been in favour of scam victims, including in cases similar to mine. In light of this, I urge you to reimburse me for my losses of ₹ 16492.15 ( Rupees Sixteen Thousand Four Hundred Ninety Two and Fifteen Paise Only) and provide your written confirmation that this has been done.

Summary - Reimbursement of 2 amounts i.e ₹671.15/- and ₹ 15, 000/-.

A total of ₹15671.15/- is still pending and we request for a reimbursement of this amount

Abhismart99
                      Nov 12, 2020

HI,

I purchased Iphone 11 on 16.08.2020 through HDFC bank Regalia Credit Card. The item was bought under cashback scheme, which was supposed to be completed in 90 days time.Till date I have not received the same. When I contacted the merchant (Electronic Ways Rajouri Garden), he says to contact the bank.
                      Txn Id: [protected], INV No: 004944
                      I request the bank to look into this matter on priority basis.

NaveedSyed
                        Nov 12, 2020

I have to reset my net-banking pin. There are 2 options :

1) registered number + debit card — i can't use this because I cannot remember my debt card PIN as I was not using it.

2) registered number + e-mail : the 3 digit otp comes to the registered number but the email never arrives, i don't know why, already raised a complaint with the bank.
                        Complaint number: MUMC[protected]

harsanvishwa
                          Nov 12, 2020

Address: T nagar Usman road

I purchased Two set of earphones from Mi store on 1/11/2020 the app says payment refunded but i didn't receive the amount yet.

Reply from Xiaomi
                          "your refund amount is been credited to your account from our end and with the help of the Bank ARN number[protected] kindly contact your respective bank regarding the same."

Lalit Virani
                            Nov 12, 2020

In 2016, HDFC gave me a home loan of Rs 15 lakh in Common Gallery Building.
                            Now I'm ready to have a party to sell that room,
                            The party works only in HDFC Bank. My deal has been confirmed,
                            He applied for HDFC Bank home loan but HDFC refused to give him home loan
                            The bank has now stopped giving loans to the Common Gallery
                            I have all the documents for the loan, so why did they change the policy and trap us
                            I got caught up in changing Bank policy,
                            Plz give me solution,
                            How can I sold out my flat, , ??

ankitg5
                              Nov 12, 2020

I have to reset my net-banking pin. There are 2 options :

1) registered number + debit card — i can't use this because i have the debit card, but i have not created it's otp

2) registered number + e-mail : now the problem is otp comes to the registered number but the email never arrives, i dunno why is it happening.

priyankaag
                                Nov 12, 2020

Address: HDFC Bank Bangalore

I have not opened any investment account with HDFC Bank. But they have started charging me Rs.295 every quarter from Jun 2019. Since I was on maternity I did not check my account much.

This is so unethical.

I see many complaints for the same in this sites.

I need help in getting this resolved. Please help.

navin.jhausa
                                  Nov 11, 2020

Address: Mumbai

I made payment against my HDFC credit card dues on Oct 29 2020 through the bill desk for Rs 38090. I got confirmation of payment with a reference number which you can see in the attached screenshot. I waited for almost a week but payment still not reflected so I sent a complaint to HDFC bank customer care through Tweeter for which reference number is "HBL=[protected] SOCIAL MEDIA: TW[protected]".

It's more than 12 days and I am still waiting for this issue to get resolved but no hope yet. I also called customer care a number of time but it seems customer care just throwing the ball here and there and no attempt to solve this issue.
                                  I am an HDFC Credit card customer for many years but I must say this is the worst service I ever saw. I am sorry to say but your bank just torturing me mentally.

I hope my issue will be taken seriously and an appropriate resolution will be given as soon as possible.

Sabithasuchithra
                                    Nov 11, 2020

Hi Sir,

I am having Salary account in HDFC Bank, In the Month of October 2020 three times some amount like rs.580, rs590 and rd580 got deducted from my account, again in the November month two time money got deducted, i am not understanding for what reason they are putting this return charges, if its one time its fine but from within the span of a month 5 times money got deducted.
                                    I have taken loan from HDFC and only once i delayed for paying EMI in this pandemic situation even that EMI i paid with the charges also

Please help to refund this amount ASAP since i am facing so much financial issues.

My Cust ID:[protected]

Mohdshabbir
                                      Nov 11, 2020

Manual hold charge and overdue charges

I have a personal loan in Hdfc bank and emi is 23917 per month and my date of debit is 7th of every month. On November 07 morning I have 16000 rs in my account the amount is debited -7000 rs. I have 30000rs liquid cash in my hand but i credited 30000 on the same day in my account . The loan emi is debited and put on hold. Now the bank has charged 1350 as manual hold charges and 649 as over due charge. My issue is the amount is available in...
                                      12 other people found this review helpful
                                      12 found this helpful
                                      Sushsam
                                      Nov 11, 2020

I've been charged INR295, for using net banking for Mutual Fund. I've never used Net Banking for Mutual Fund transfer.