HDFC Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 16, 2025
Complaints 32890

File a complaint to HDFC Bank

Having problems with HDFC Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by HDFC Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

HDFC Bank reviews & complaints page 719

creation team
May 8, 2019

I gaurav goel holding a account in hdfc bank (Branch hapur)
I made a wrong transaction from hdfc account to a account in south indian bank of 2.5 lac,
One transition was made on 5th may 2019 (Imps[protected] for rs 1, 50, 000/ and
Second on 6th may 2019 (Imps[protected] for rs 1, 00000/

The mistake was of one number, i was suppose to make payment in account no - [protected] ifsc code is sibl0000153 renu kanojia

.. But i did the payment in account - [protected] ifsc code is sibl0000153,

I went to my bank they dropped a mail to a team and asked what can be done, but after long effort with both banks, i got succeeded in holding the fund in south indian bank c. P but still clue less how to get the fund back, as hdfc and south indian bank are no giving me rie solution so, i thought to approach directly,

I want to ask bank why they do not check the name also in such online
Transactions.. Its a fault by mistake and we know where is the money and both bank have complaint, but are helpless to help a costumer... I am stuck what to do it will be a great help if south indian bank and hdfc to help me out.
Jun 17, 2019
HDFC Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
May 13, 2019
Updated by creation team
still there is no update from the banks .
May 14, 2019
HDFC Bank Customer Care's response

We regret to inform you that since the beneficiary account number entered by you while executing the transaction was incorrect, the funds have not been credited to the desired beneficiary. Please be informed that HDFC Bank is not in position to validate a Non-HDFC Bank Account number while an IMPS transaction is done. This is also mentioned under the "Note" section on the Third Party Funds Transfer - IMPS page within NetBanking and MobileBanking. However, as a special case we have raised a query with the beneficiary bank. They are awaiting consent and closure of formalities from their concerned beneficiary. Nevertheless please be rest assured we would be giving utmost attention to your case on a best effort basis.

-Zubin
HDFC Bank Customer Assistance
May 22, 2019
Updated by creation team
but will it be solved .. and why bank cant help me out.. when we know that where is the money, and its a mistake that can be solved
May 22, 2019
Updated by creation team
south indian bank is not ready to help as they are not liable ... Hdfc says he cant help.. where should i go then..
please try to help out as its your responsibility to help out your costumers ..
I just received a message showing debit of RS 199 spent on Amazon1258399 without sharing any pin/otp. How its happening?
Please cancel my hdfc credit card mfee rs.1399

custmor id : 1912034
amount :1399
date : 31/04/2019

K. Veera Narayanamma
    May 8, 2019

Hdfc credit card — cancellation of one assistant membership.
    I am a hdfc bank credit card holder. The bank has auto debited rs. 1399/- from my credit card number ending with 3063 without my concern on date:7/05/2019. I am not interested about this service and don't want this membership any more. So cancel the membership and refund this debited amount of rs.1399/-. Please, kindly solve my problem quickly.
    In my account I have 11K and plus amount. Suddenly I got message that 14069 amount debited through VCTF ans balance is in "-2111". I didnt understand how my amount is debited from the account without any information. I want to know how this transaction has done.
    Customer harassment, rude behaviour of staff. Always gives threatening to the customers.
    My hdfc fastag application number is HFR098423.
    I have received the fastag through post but still have not received any wallet id number or welcome email from hdfc.
    How can i recharge and activate my fastag account without the wallet id or login details. The toll free number is always not reachable. Please help
    Dear Mr Naraynamma,

Greetings from OneAssist!!!

We are sorry to see you go.

We have forwarded your details to our team and you should expect a call within 24 hours. Please note that OneAssist will never ask for your Card CVV details or OTP for membership cancellation or for processing refund.

We would also like to advise you to delete all the personal details posted in your complaint, as the information provided on this site can be viewed publicly and can also be misused.

Future communications will be done on your registered email id. We request you to write to us at our registered email id which is [protected]@oneassist.in in case of any query.

We appreciate your patience in the interim.

Team OneAssist

Anto Gladwin J
      from Udagamandalam, Tamil Nadu
      May 8, 2019

Address: Kodaikanal, 624101

I'm anto gladwin j from kodaikanal.
      My hdfc two wheeler loan account number is:47251721
      I've finished my emi without any delays even various struggles faced financially, i did this honestly.
      May 05, 2019 is my loan closure date and everything settled from my side.
      They've sent no objection certificate by courier.
      I've paid rs.17000 interest for my loan amount rs.65000.
      But they doesn't have a proper printer\printing cartridge in their office to print my noc.
      Half side only printed. And someone who verified and checked this doesn't notify this mistake ans signed blindly.
      We paid more, but the insulted in all ways.
      This is the example.
      I went to kodaikanal branch hdfc bank and asked about this.
      They've simply replied with, "this is not a problem, you can go with this to rto office and they'll do further steps".
      How can they agree this one for vehicle process?
      Jun 10, 2019
      May 09, 2019

We are working on your concern vide Ref ID: HBL=[protected] and will revert to you within 3 working days.

-Nadia
      Sep 24, 2019
      Updated by Anto Gladwin J
      Thanks to Consumer Complaints Portal.
      New NOC Papers - Well Printed has been delivered.
      I have brought new hdfc card after 2 month a lady from hdfc called me and told me that you have charged rs16000 for the insurance and you have to pay for the insurance.
      But i haven't authorize hdfc for any insurance policy and i don't want any insurance policy.
      don't harass people for selling your insurance policy.
      12 other people found this review helpful
      12 found this helpful

Harshil L
        May 8, 2019

Address: 500084

I applied for the hdfc diners black credit card. I even opened a new savings account as it was a requirement for the card. The savings account opened successfully.

Its been two days and my status is now being shown as decline on the website without any call/reasoning or anything else.

App no. Cc41490175

It would be great to have some kind of transparency into the process. There is no human on customer care to whom i can talk to.
        Jun 13, 2019
        May 09, 2019

We wish to inform you that your application has been considered in line with the bank's internal credit policy (which is based on a combination of financial and related criteria and/or statistically determined scores to assess credit eligibility)and operating/credit processes (which include a combination of verifications, credit bureau reports, and document verifications). We regret to inform you that we are unable to approve your application as it does not meet the above mentioned internal criteria of the bank. Please be assured that our inability to approve the credit card application does not reflect in anyway on your credit standing or your financial stability.

-Nadia

Venktesh Chinthakindi
          May 8, 2019

Hi, i have salary account in hdfc 3 years back when i was working at that time. After that i changed company & they provided other bank account but recently new company took a decision to change banking partner to hdfc salary accounts. But my hdfc exsisted old salary account showing -8911.37 balance.
          The bank converts my salary account converted into savings account & charged monthly.. Now its 8911.37 negative balance. Without my permission how can the bank convert my salary account into savings account? Even they are not intimated verbally... According to rbi guidlines on savings account banks not charge even its negative balance.
          I approach branch, but they behaved rudly & refuse to close account.
          Please juistice to me. 8911.37 is huge amount to me. What is the solution?
          What is the action will take against this bank.
          Jun 20, 2019
          May 09, 2019

We regret any inconvenience you may have faced. Request you to write to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with your account number, RMN and the reference id TTU[protected]. A bank representative shall contact you as soon as we receive this information We would also like to caution you against posting sensitive information such as your Account number / Mobile number on a public forum.

-Zubin

AlpeshShravan
            May 8, 2019

Transaction reference no: 003385

Debit card no : [protected]
            Name: alpesh r shravan

Transaction date : 06/05/2019 time 08:57 hrs.
            For pipleshwar diesel
            For petrol filling at petrol pump.

Transaction failure reason: long time to approve transaction so cancelled by petrol-pump operator.

Transaction reference no: 003385
            Value of transaction: 1000 rs.

After cancelling this transaction operator get cancellation slip on is atm card scratch machine and then ask for second transaction through other atm scratch machine. I spent another 1000 rs and get fuel of 1000 rs. While i get deducted 2000 rs. From my account.

I need 1000 rs. Refund to my account.
            Jun 14, 2019
            May 09, 2019

We have raised chargeback vide reference number 1899520. You will receive a response about transaction status within 9 working days.

-Nadia

May 8, 2019

I am using this credit card from one year i have paid all my principle amount still now, they keep on putting interest rates and financial charges continue sly
              I lost faith in hdfc please try to resolve my issue to continue with this.
              I have lot of friends with hdfc where in i can share my issue with them.

Insted of paying most of the times on time you people keep on putting interests and finance charges. Please make some deductions to pay the remaining amount or else i wont pay it and go for the court.
              Jun 13, 2019
              May 09, 2019

We wish to clarify that, payment of atleast the minimum amount due towards the card outstanding needs to be received by the bank to ensure that the card account is active and available for usage. Further, to avoid levy of finance charges and late payment charges, payment of the total outstanding needs to reach the bank by the payment due date. Hence we request you to effect payment towards the total amount due within the payment due date to avoid levy of bank charges. You may refer to the below link for details of the same. https://bit.ly/2k7MGwQ Owing to non receipt of payment the card has been invalidated. For further clarification, kindly share your elaborated query from your registered e-mail id to us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com and we shall assist you.

-Nadia

May 8, 2019

There is no response for phone call to[protected], just music is played for hours together, i want to get my sticker which i have lost when my windshield of my car broke, i tried calling from that 02 may 2019 there is no response till date. Found an email id:fastag. [protected]@insolutionsglobal.com and mail them regarding and till now ro response on phone or email. This is a nonsence fastag by hdfc bank

I request you to share your complaint reference number to us for better assistance.

Anay

jyotishukla1
                  May 8, 2019

Address: jaya nagar 4th block opposite cooljoint, Bangalore, Karnataka, 560041

I don't know what the hdfc bank is doing with my account this is third time when bank deducted 531 rupees again this "amb chrg incl gst for may2019-mir (708 rupee)" i dont know why they are having problem with my account. I am totally fed up with this.

I want my money back. This is third time when bank deducted amount from my account without providing any information to me. And my account number is [protected]
                  Jun 12, 2019
                  May 09, 2019

Average Monthly Balance charges have been levied since the required minimum balance of Rs. 10000/- was not maintained. Request you to maintain the required monthly balance, to avoid the charges. Kindly refer below URL for a schedule of fees and charges applicable. https://bit.ly/2AVksOb

-Nadia
                  May 09, 2019
                  Updated by jyotishukla1
                  Dear bank my account is salary account and if i 'm not maintain monthly balance then you deduct on current month but only this month deduct all previous month charges it not proper way if in march i m not maintain my account then you charge on that month but i m not got any message or notification or deduction on march
                  Directly you deduct last 3 month charge after going 3 month(in may u deduct last 3 month march, April, may ) its not policies
                  So please give me return my all deducted money

Yazish
                    May 8, 2019

Address: 53 Mewatipura, Jhansi, Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh, 284002

Cancellation of one assist membership
                    I am a hdfc bank credit card holder. The bank has auto debited rs. 1399/- from my credit card number ending with 4028 without my concern on date:08/05/2019 and previous year also. I am not interested about this service and don't want this membership any more. So cancel the membership and refund this debited amount of rs.1399/-

Oneassist relationship number :2033078
                    Name :- mohd yazish khan
                    Mobile no. :- [protected]
                    Credit card number ending :- 4028
                    May 08, 2019
                    Updated by Yazish
                    Hdfc customers id 68601972
                    Dear Yazish,

Greetings from OneAssist!!!

We are sorry to see you go.

We have forwarded your details to our team and you should expect a call within 24 hours. Please note that OneAssist will never ask for your Card CVV details or OTP for membership cancellation or for processing refund.

We would also like to advise you to delete all the personal details posted in your complaint, as the information provided on this site can be viewed publicly and can also be misused.

Future communications will be done on your registered email id. We request you to write to us at our registered email id which is [protected]@oneassist.in in case of any query.

We appreciate your patience in the interim.

Team OneAssist

narayan jaju
                      May 8, 2019

Address: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, 500012

I am a HDFC bank credit card holder . The bank has auto debited Rs. 1299/- from my credit card number ending with 6489 without my concern on date:08/05/2019. I am not interested about this service and don't want this membership any more. So cancel the membership and refund this debited amount of Rs.1299/-

Pooja Ramesh Pai
                        May 8, 2019

Address: Bellandur Bangalore, Bangalore, Karnataka

I have not opened the credit card issued by hdfc bank but the bank without my permission by taking internal information has been making payments and giving me continuous calls for payment of the bill. It is leading to harassment. Kindly look into the matter.
                        Attached the photos.
                        After complaining to the customer care also no response is been received

smpmstng
                          May 8, 2019

I am nri customer. I am not getting otp on my registered mobile for logging on since 1 month. I am unable to transfer fund to other bank due to unavailable of otp in hdfc bank mobile apps also. I am not suffering only for one month, several times since opening account on hdfc bank in 2014. I contacted with customer support department from abroad several times to get otp when i stuck. Sometimes i got opt after a long trial.
                          Jun 14, 2019
                          May 08, 2019

We can help with that. Please write to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with your Account No. or Customer ID., email id & registered contact details. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Anay
                          Customer Assistance.

Sathiyabalan S
                            May 8, 2019

Address: 94086

I have been trying to reset my ipin for past 1 week by using the option of "otp to registered mobile & email id". Issue is, i'm receiving otp to my registered mobile number every time but not to my registered email id.

Due to this, i'm unable to complete the transaction of changing ipin at every instances.

My customer id 37983164

Sathiyabalan
                            Jun 11, 2019
                            May 09, 2019

We request you to make a fresh attempt to reset your IPIN and email us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com along with date/time of attempt and step by step screenshot of the process followed by you in order to check the OTP status.

-Nadia

naikpavan56
                              May 7, 2019

Address: No.446, 17th cross, 4th sector HSR layout bangalore, 560035

I don't know what the hdfc bank is doing with my account this is third time when bank deducted 708 rupees three times (Total=2124) again this "amb chrg incl gst for mar2019-mir[protected]" i dont know why they are having problem with my account. I am totally fed up with this. I mantained minium balance also.

I want my money back. This is third time when bank deducted amount from my account without providing any information to me. This deduction is maid on 6 march 2019 and 7 may-2019 (Three times) and my account number is [protected].

Pavan naik
                              Email: [protected]@gmail.com
                              Acc no:-
                              Bank name: hdfc bank

naikpavan56
                                May 7, 2019

Address: No.446, 17th cross, 4th sector, HSR layout, Bangalore, 560035

I don't know what the hdfc bank is doing with my account this is third time when bank deducted 708 rupees three times (Total=2124) again this "amb chrg incl gst for mar2019-mir[protected]" i dont know why they are having problem with my account. I am totally fed up with this. I mantained minium balance also.

I want my money back. This is third time when bank deducted amount from my account without providing any information to me. This deduction is maid on 6 march 2019 and 7 may-2019 (Three times) and my account number is [protected].

Pavan naik
                                Email: [protected]@gmail.com
                                Acc no:- [protected]
                                Bank name: hdfc bank
                                Jun 10, 2019
                                May 07, 2019
                                Updated by naikpavan56
                                May 07, 2019

We're sorry to hear that. Please share your Account No.with registered contact info & the issue on [protected]@hdfcbank.com. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Anay
                                May 09, 2019

In the event of no salary credits in the Salary Account for any continuous three months, the Bank reserves the right to change the status of Salary Account to Savings Regular Account without any intimation to the account holder/me and the Terms & Conditions as applicable to the HDFC Bank Savings Regular Account shall apply to this account from the date of change of status. The Terms & Conditions and features applicable to Savings Regular Account are published on the website of the Bank. Please visit: https://bit.ly/2JgzzR7 (For Terms & Conditions) https://bit.ly/2D62CbT (On charges applicable for the Regular Savings Account) Please feel free to write to us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com for any further assistance/clarification and we shall be glad to assist you.

-Zubin

rahulk079
                                  May 7, 2019

Address: 777/83 GOkhale nagar, Pune, Maharashtra, 411016

Myself rahul kamble from pune.
                                  My hdfc bank account number is [protected] customer number 26341523 and my credit card number is [protected] and my hdfc bank credit card jumbo loan number is [protected]
                                  I have a credit card with hdfc bank and i also availed the jumbo & insta loan against it. And i was paying my bills on time with the bank till jan, 19. There was a medical emergency in my family and since i am the only earning member i had to look after it hence failed to pay the credit card dues on time. But i paid the credit card bills with huge late payment charges. I paid rs. 15000 in march and rs. 15000 april 2019 though they hold my salary for may 2019. How come they hold my salary. This is ridicules.
                                  I am going to consumer court and will do every possible thing to get my salary back.
                                  The collection executive and collection tele callers talks in very cheap language. This collection recovery guy vikram from pune nana peth and have good contacts with gunda gang who comes to my home for recovery and use very bad language he also says i will stay at your home if you don’t pay me right now. This is so pathetic. Hdfc was the number 1 bank but now it is losing the standard. This lady from hdfc credit card collection and the recovery guy are the threats to my life sometimes i think that i should hang myself.
                                  I must say that the hdfc bank is the worst bank in india. I will never suggest or recommend to buy any product of hdfc to my relatives, colleagues and friends. And i will also do the same.
                                  Please find attached the credit card payment receipts.
                                  I want my salary back asap.
                                  Rahul
                                  Jun 14, 2019
                                  May 07, 2019

We're sorry to hear that. Please share your Account No.with registered contact info & the issue on [protected]@hdfcbank.com. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Anay

Cb123
                                    May 7, 2019

Address: AIROLI, SEC-19, MUMBAI, Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400708

On 8th april, i did international transaction of 92568.57 rupees with the cheque/ref no.[protected] for which bank was supposed to charge me 3.5% on total amount. On 24th april, the closing balance of my account was 251.00 rupees. On 25th april, the closing balance of my account was -3691.04. I called hdfc and asked the reason for having negative amount in my account. They sad, it is because of the international transaction which i did on 8th april. And they said, once salary is credited to this account, i am no longer supposed to pay to hdfc. On 1st may, i received the salary of 48001 rupees from my organisation, however my account was displaying 44560 rupees. On 6th may, 3272.63 rupees were again deducted from my account with the cheque/ref no. - mir[protected]. I would like to complaint against hdfc for charging me twice for one transaction without giving me any intimation or pre-notice.in spite of calling them again and again no action is taken by them and i am getting charged again and again.
                                    Jun 8, 2019
                                    May 07, 2019

We're sorry to hear that. Please share your Account No.with registered contact info & the issue on [protected]@hdfcbank.com. Mention this Ref No.TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Anay

nairsaj
                                      from Erattupetta, Kerala
                                      May 7, 2019

My fastag has been blacklisted for no reason. I had recharged it with ₹1500 2 weeks back expecting to have a smooth interstate journey following week however was surprised to see it blacklisted without any prior intimation. On calling the customer care on 4th may i was told it’s been blacklisted for inactivity (I had last used it on 31st mar, blacklisting for one month inactivity is really absurd!) however i was told it would be reactivated in 48 hrs, and there are no further issues. However, on crossing the toll today it still says blacklisted. On calling them again i was told another 48 hrs!? Is the customer service cell really that useless that they can’t resolve such issues and have no idea why my tag has been deactivated?
                                      User id[protected]
                                      Jun 17, 2019
                                      May 10, 2019

We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. We wish to state that your Fastag is activated. You may contact Fastag call center at[protected].

-Nadia

Dishant Vora
                                        from Vadnagar, Gujarat
                                        May 7, 2019

Address: Ahmedabad, Gujarat, 380005

I got message from hdfc bank that amazon has credited/reversed the rs 1291.0 to your account. But in the statement or balance the money is not reflecting.
                                        Why it is not reflecting in my account hdfc bank since i got message from bank itself it should reflect immediately. Hope my money is safe. I have other bank accounts the return amount gets credited asap. Hdfc whats the issue??
                                        Jun 10, 2019
                                        May 07, 2019

We're sorry to hear that. Please share your Account No. with registered contact info & the issue on [protected]@hdfcbank.com. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Anay
                                        HDFC Bank Customer Assitance.