Hongkong & Shanghai Banking Corporation [HSBC] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Jan 17, 2025
Complaints 1097

File a complaint to Hongkong & Shanghai Banking Corporation [HSBC]

Having problems with Hongkong & Shanghai Banking Corporation [HSBC]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Hongkong & Shanghai Banking Corporation [HSBC] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Hongkong & Shanghai Banking Corporation [HSBC] reviews & complaints page 28

Shivappa. H.T.
Mar 3, 2010

Sir, My name is Shivappa. H.T. My wife had 2 HSBC credit cards. In 2003, I made some payments. At that time the outstandings may by 15000/- for both cards. Afterwords my wife went for delivery. i stoppped to make the payments. I shifted my house and afterwards nobody had called me nor come to my house. I had lot some critical problems and I did not made any payment. Now changed the house for some financial problems. In November 2009 some recovery agent had come to house and asking for payments. Then I told I have not recd any statements or nobody had given any notice to me. I do not know the total outstandings. Then he agree and went. AFter three years it is write off. Now i am receiving some calls from HSBC peoples and they are searching my address even though my address is updated in the Bank. Now the question is shall I have to pay money or not? But I am not receiving directo calls from HSBC. But some time they are calling and asking about my address. I am in a critical condition. Please give suggestions.

HSBC Credit Card — Card Payment

I am Using HSBC Card for past 5 months, i never paid a late payment, on march 2008 i made a payment thru ICICI bank Cheque with Minimum Amount, My A/c is Debited with the Cheque Amt Specifying "HSBC Bank" but in HSBC they cald me and asking me to pay the minimum Due after showing the my Payment details i dint get the cal but i got the monthly statement with late payment fee along with Mar 2008 min due amt, they r saying i need to pay 2 months min amt

Credit Card — not received any payment

last three month ihave not recivedany statementand our repretative not collet anycheck from collection box, so you debit me a fine so iam worry about f ineso send me statement without late fee and fine without intrest, after that i paid full amount .
all ready i send mail to your service dept also

HSBC Credit Card — not received any card but asking for payment

My Name is Gulab Singh Arora iam not carriying the HSBS card or not received any HSBS card till now
but one of the executive from delhi calls and harasing me and told we have issued card to you in 2003
not your bill is pending pay the bill daily he is calling and demand for monye some time told pay this
much amount minimum we close your account some time call with different name and told you have to pay 18000/- like that if iam asking for statement he told we don't have any statement and false commiment is always give and langugae is also very bad any time he calls and disturb us he cannot have
any details of me and just asking for money.

you can help me and give details to me if any things is pending or any card is issued to me.
as of my knowledge i didn't received any card till not.
This is not only your problem, but also many people harressed by this type of private bank, my problem is many time I told with collection center staff, but till today i didn't any information of my account, and call on my office phone, and harrassed me.My opinion of this type of froad banking taking in consumer forum.
(P N SADHU)

p_peddi2003
    Mar 1, 2010

I have taken personal loan 2 years back and I am paying the amount regullarly by ECS and I need to close the loan as I am fed up of it but I am not able to get any source of contact for the same.I went to the branch somany times situated at somajuguda, hyderabad but they dident give proper information about my loan status. please send the pre closing statement of my personal loan account as early as possible.

Sunny Banerjee
      Feb 27, 2010

My self Sunny Banerjee is holding an hsbc credit card,no.ending with 0313.I have recieved a statement where 3089/" is the amt due.There are 2 emis I pay every month of 719 & 699 respectively.But in the month of Feb my cheque bounced due to insufficient balance, as I was out of station.I have paid the full amt by cash after that incident.In my statement hsbc has charged bounce charge(which I am ready to pay) also a membership fee has been added, and late fee is also added.this is my heartiest request to waive my late fee and membership fee.My due date is 11th of march.
      bee

badrinath
        from Thrissur, Kerala
        Feb 27, 2010

Dear Advertiser,

I had a HSBC salary account opened in 2008 which i used only for a month,after which my company changed to HDFC .I have been receiving statements for 15 paise for year or so.I sent them a letter to close my account.

Shocking to get a letter the next week which had some charges for non maintainance of quarterly balance for the last two years coming up to 5,000.with no prior intimation either.

This is gross cheating ,and such a reputed Bank should desist from doing such things.

Is this how they are making money.Even a money lender will tell how much interest he is going to amass.

Middle class salaried people are harassed by such Banks on such hidden charges,finance charges etc.These International Banks have several billions of Rupees in various currencies, but they act like money lenders sometimes even for 15 paise

MADAN ARORA
          Feb 27, 2010

I Madan Arora have been your customer from since many years. i m holding a credit card of your bank. The Credit Card number is [protected].
          1. I had received a call from your call centre about scheme,that your bank is issuing card without any annual charges and without membership and renewal fee and no additional fee for addition card.Relying on the statement of your agent. I had applied for the credit card. No annual fee or premium card fee or any other charges were charged from me.
          2. On 12 May 2009 I had used the credit card for purchase of the mobile phone. But I was really shocked to see statement dated 9th June 2009 it contained a bill of what i had purchase as well as some charges like opening balance Rs 47.73, premium card fee Rs 700,card annual charges Rs 350,installment Rs 291and late payment charges Rs 400.Thus the total of extra charges was Rs 1335/- then I made a call to the bank call centre about this extra charges and was advised to pay the bill of the amount of purchase i.e Rs 25,000/- which I paid. I also made a request to discontinue my credit card on 26th June 2009 vide request no. [protected] and I paid the amount of Rs 25,000/- as advised being the price of goods purchased by me.
          3. Even though I had made request about discontinuanceof my card.On 11th Jan 2010 your bank has sent me another bill of Rs 6058/- in which the discontinuation of the card has been shown on 10th Jan 2010 and I had been asked to pay the amount which was disputed by me as not payable toward annual charges,premium card charges,late payment and further intetrest has been charged on interest.It is apparent that even interest has been capitalised for the purposes of calculating interest.
          As all ready request since June 2009,that I am not liable to any annual fee or premium fee as none had been agreed upon by me and the bank.You are requested to revoke all these charges and clear my account as the said chrges are not payable by me.You are kindly requested to do the needful an intimate me regarding the same.
          Please allow me to introduce myself my name is Michael Mason-Mahon and I am a shareholder of HSBC Plc. I am based in London yet I am a very regular visitor to India.

At HSBC Annual General Meeting of Shareholders 2010 I did address my concerns with the Board of Directors concerning what HSBC has been doing and is doing in India to our customers.

I may be able to help you. I can assure you that I will do all that I can to help you. I have been very successful in the people that I have taken up their cases with HSBC.

So if you would like to contact me, please send me your complaint in full.

Kind regards
          Michael

Mobile: 0044 [protected]

E-mail: [protected]@aol.com

Santosh Laxman Dhawal
            Feb 25, 2010

I Santosh Laxman Dhawal received HSBC Credit Card No.[protected] in 2007 and continuously made transaction without default.
            I purchased articles worth Rs.12,342/- between 12,feb 08 to 11 march 08. and made payment of Rs.12,342/- by citi bank cheque No.996383 dtd.03 april 08 before due date. However this cheque payment mistakenly given to Card No.****9546 instead of my card A/c.No.[protected] and shortly credited by Card No.****9546 to my Card No.****5469 as per informed by HSBC authorities through e mail dated 10 jun 08. Instead of credited the above amount HSBC sent revised statement indicating the due amt.of Rs.28,032/- without any verification.

In spite of that the representatives of HSBC frequently phoned me and visited home for the recovery of above amount and send payment details to pay the amount. Recently HSBC authority send a telegram cum notice for asking a legal action in a court of law.

As I am a law abiding person, I had never did such false transaction before, HSBC has threatened to provide credit history to Credit Information Bureau Of India (CIBIL) Ltd. an initiative of the Gov.t of India and Reserve Bank of India and this may impact on the ability to avail credit facilities from any financial institution in future. This way they are pressuring me to pay the amount of Rs.28,032/-.

So please do the needful and give me the justice and get rid of this matter.

Santosh L.Dhawal
            Please allow me to introduce myself my name is Michael Mason-Mahon and I am a shareholder of HSBC Plc. I am based in London yet I am a very regular visitor to India.

At HSBC Annual General Meeting of Shareholders 2010 I did address my concerns with the Board of Directors concerning what HSBC has been doing and is doing in India to our customers.

I may be able to help you. I can assure you that I will do all that I can to help you. I have been very successful in the people that I have taken up their cases with HSBC.

So if you would like to contact me, please send me your complaint in full.

Kind regards
            Michael

E-mail: [protected]@aol.com

Shrikrishna Vasant Chavan
              Feb 24, 2010

Respected Sir / Madam,

I had taken credit card from HSBC in May or June 2008 ( Cr.Card No - [protected] ). But in the same or subsequent months they had debited insurance charges without my concent & issued me the statement. On equiry, their executive told me that this is insurance charges. I told him to revert back the charges as I do not want any insuance. Still they debited 2 extra premiums.
              On enquiry they said that at the time of application you have ticked "yes" for insurance. But as per my knowledge I specifically told the executive that I do not want anything.
              Now HSBC have put my name in black list because of which I am not getting any loan.

Please help me to get out of this problem.

Shrikrishna Chavan
              dear sir, my self rajendra jain my d.o.b 20/02/1980.i have credit card from hsbc on year 2003-04when i was seleried but due to transferred in banglor i was not able to pay my due amount on time after this i paid 2500 rs on behalf from 5000, but today i need a credit card i dont know the total due amount and also my credit card no also, i will pay on installment basis and on condition that i will get new credit card. i want to cleared my name as a defaulter. i have four wheeler of maruti wagonr duo lxi.

Pankaj Jain
                Feb 24, 2010

I Pankaj jain Card no [protected] had terminated the card in nov.2009 for which i got a confirmation on 9th nov.2009 from hsbc. then i recieved a letter dated 19th nov2009 from hsbc stating that my account was in no longer arrears. Now i have started recieving harrassment calls from hsbc to make a payment of Rs.5700 approx. which consists of all late payment & annual charges. This all despite the fact that reason for closure of card was untimely delivery of statement due to which late payment charges were being levied on my account, on repeated requests to customer care i was assured of reversal of all charges in the next bill but nothing of the sort happened & now after accumulation of all late payment & annual charges also ( which was never confirmed by me) the figure of there collection keeps on increasing. I am ready to pay for any amount if i have used on the card but not any unreasonable charges. kindly help me in this situation as the harrasment calls are very abusive & regular daily.

HSBC Bank — Late Statement Received and Late Payment charges applied

I am holding over draft account in HSBC Bank Mumbai[protected]. Last month I received statement on 24th Oct 2008, I was surprised when I saw due date as 16th Oct 2008. I checked up with envelope for date of dispatch. There was date of dispatch as 15th Oct 2008 at GPO MUmbai and 23th Oct 2008 at service post office stamp of Tagore Nagar, Vikhroli. I already lodge complaint by mail and in writing to HSBC. But unfortunately they are not ready to reverse all cahrges. It was not my mistake. The mistake was happened from HSBC. It is very difficult to me to keep reminder for all due dates. Normally in practice after receiving statement I am making payment on time. For every send mail they are sending me relpy as a sorry and they cant reverse late payment charges.

Please do the needful

Sandip Borkar
                [protected],[protected]

My name is jyothi P. i took a loan from Hsbc bank.then somebody (Bank Exwcutive) his name is Hemanth, came to my home, and telling me, after giving 7, 000/- it should be cleared, but after giving that much money also still every month EMI is cutting from my account.what i will do for this .?
                Still i am not getting any feedback from HSBC bank and i am not getting Clearance certificate.
                Please ensure to give my clearance sertificate.
                l want to find about the motorala promotion competion emails sent to me

HSBC Credit Card — removal of extra charges from card .

i am vijayender tiwari holding your hsbc gold card no.[protected].i made payment through cheque which was dropped on 17-03-10 ,due to your bank negligence it could not clear and ihad to pay my minimum dues in cash on10-04-10 so please remove extra charges from my card

HSBC Credit Card — Charges levied on the card despite late billing

Dear Sir / Madam

I had the following credit cards of HSBC Bank
                [protected] in my name MADHU RAINA
                And
                [protected] spouse card in my husbands name AJAY RAINA.

In May I did not receive my credit card statement for which I called the bank and was told that it will reach me soon, which it didn’t.

In June 2006 I again called them up and they told me that there was some problem with their courier agent who could not deliver the statement so I should deposit minimum payable balance and bank will not charge anything extra. The person told me that the minimum payable was Rs.705/- and as I had credit of Rs85/- in my statement I could deposit Rs.620/- which I did.

Again in July 2006 I did not receive my credit card statement despite requesting for it several times to the banks local branch in Jaipur and call centres in Mumbai and Chennai, the records of which can be verified from the banks respective call centres.

Finally in August 2006 I got all the 3 bills together with Finance Charges, Late Payment Charges, Overlimit fees and service tax applied on all these. I mentioned this on the courier receipt through which these bills were delivered that I have received bills of 3 months together, and can be verified from the respective courier agency of the bank.

I immediately called the bank for removal of the extra charges levied by them but they insisted that I had to pay. I paid the actual amount I had spent (minus the extra charges and taxes levied by the bank) and informed the bank accordingly. I also cancelled the credit cards and sent them to the bank. Attached is a scan copy of the letter I had written to the bank regarding this.

I also told the bank that either they or I could go for a legal recourse and let the law decide who is at fault.

Now I have come to know that the bank is showing a huge amount against my name as written off which is not true and is tarnishing my credit report.

Inspite of all this my husband was issued another card by HSBC with a spouse card to me which we have duly destroyed and returned to the bank. Still the bank is sending zero balance statements of the card through post, emails and sms. They have also written to my husband that he can revalidate his credit card. Why is the bank offering further credit cards if they have termed us as defaulters?

I request you to kindly follow this up with the bank and instruct them to show the payment as settled because I have paid for whatever amount I spend and this in turn reflects on my intentions of being clear and honest. The amount which I have not paid is the charges they levied on me for their internal faults and I refuse to be penalised for them

Leaving of late payment & annual charges - Comment #1805327 - Image #0

HSBC — annual charges and late payment

I am being mentally tortured by reminders for non payment, for which i am not liable. The mail details sent to HSBC is mentioned below. Kindly do the need ful.

This is with reference to your letter dated 02/02/2011 Account No.[protected] regarding overdue payment. I with great regret repling to your letter, first of all while issuing the card it was mentioned that the card is free of any annual charges, to my surprise i see in the month of october 2011 Rs.700/- plus taxes Rs.72.10 totalling to Rs.772.10 being debited to my account. I immediately called your customer care informed about the inconvienance. I clearly mentioned the executive about the charges, and that i will not be making the payment towards annual charges, and also mentioned that i am not interested in your card if the request is not taken care or rectified. In the subsequent month, the annual charges was reversed, but again i see a late payment charges Rs.400/- plus taxes Rs.41.20 debited to my account.

I wish you put an end to this for no fault of mine, i will not be paying any amount which i am not liable. Also i am forwarding the copy of this
                mail to CIBIL.

With great regret.

N. Sreenivas Rao

Ganmull Jain
                  Feb 19, 2010

I Had Been Told By HSBC Sales Manager about The Annual Fees , That Its Not Charged On My Card . I had Taken The Card In These Terms & Conditions . But Now They Are Like , Youl Have To PAy The Annual Fees & and Late fees Charges etc. Please Help Me On This Matter????
                  23/06/08
                  R. Shankar Narayan – Asst Vice President,
                  Card Services,
                  HSBC

Subject: Currency conversion & hidden charges on international transactions

I purchased an item using my HSBC credit card in US dollars on the Internet. The seller turned out to be a fraud. I stopped my payment but HSBC has not refunded my 3.5% for currency conversion.
                  Take an E.g. lets say I paid $100 ($1= 40 rupees) so total in rupees. is 40*100=Rs.4000.
                  Now add currency conversion rate 3.5 % i.e. 4000 X 3.5 % = Rs140.
                  Total paid to seller Rs4140. I should be refunded Rs4140.

I paid $45.43 by mistake two times (24th May 08 & 25th May 08) and was charged Rs1996.89 for each transaction inclusive of 3.5% currency conversion fees according to HSBC. I canceled both the transactions on 25th May 2008 as the sellers account did not exist. I received two refunds of Rs1876.98. They said they will not refund the currency conversion charges of 3.5%.

If you calculate 3.5% of Rs1876.98 (amount refunded) you get Rs.65.70. That means I should have been charged Rs1876.98 + Rs65.70= Rs1942.68 (Total Rs1942.68 X 2 = Rs3885.36) since I paid for the amount twice.

Why are you charging me Rs1996.89 instead of Rs1942.68

what are the hidden charges you are levying on me? No one is giving a logical answer. Customer care say dollar fluctuates. I have spoken to them for more than hours on my phone (Ashish Mukerjee [protected]@hsbc.co.in ), sent emails to [protected]@hsbc.co.in & [protected]@hsbc.co.inon 20th June 2008 on receiving the statement but no reply.

When I paid on 24th May 2008 I was charged Rs1996.89 and when I paid & received a refund on the 25th May 2008 I was also charged Rs1996.89 then you cannot say the difference is due the fluctuation in the dollar. Why the refunds are less?
                  The issue is not the amount but I have been using your credit card regularly to make international transactions & this is the first time I have found out the hidden charges which you are charging me. I have always trusted the reply I have received from your customer care executives & today I feel cheated & betrayed. I must have spent at least at least 200-300 dollars in the past but since I never had a break up so I was unable to calculate the charges. I was about to make your payment when I found these hidden charges
                  Please investigate into matter immediately. I will not be responsible for the late payment till the matter is resolved. I have contacted you well in advance before the due date through phone & email. I have also written a letter & given it to your HSBC bank in Indore to forward to you.

Please take the matter seriously. I will not be responsible if I have to take unpleasant action.

Awaiting your reply
                  Aditya Agrawal

HSBC — i have been charged for the transation on the credit card which has not been received

hello sir,

i beg to state that, i applied for the credit card from HSBC bank, there is two card one is main card and another is add on card. i received only add on card. Main card has not been received.
                  But there is a transaction on main card of around 25000 Rs. i launch a complaint in HSBC bank and i blocked the card. But i still get the statement with add on intrest on every month.

please help me

HSBC — Credit Cards Fees

I have an HSBC Gold Gard which i am using for the past two years and it is a lifetime free card. But in this months statement i am charge Rs 2000 + service taxes for my primary card and Rs 1000 + service taxes for my add on card.
                  This is very unprofessional on behalf of HSBC. I called up their customer care but apparently their service advisors are available from 7 am to 9 pm. They are making a joke out of everything it seems now. I demand that the charges be reversed immediately. Otherwise they can cancel my card.

HSBC Credit Card — Card was canceled for unknown reason and credit amount was not refunded

Dear Sir/Mam

I am Piyush Sharma using HSBC Gold Creditcard ([protected]). I
                  lost my card in one theft case at that time I call in customer care to
                  block my card to prvent any
                  mis uses of card. Later On when I call again in customer care to issue
                  a new card I came to know that my card has been cancled by bank.I ask
                  them about the reason and they
                  told me that only only collection department can tell me about the
                  reason.In collection department executive told me that my card has
                  been blocked because I didnt make any payment. But since last 2 to
                  month total oustanding is in credit and that is 583.89 rupees. In my
                  current statement also its hsowing as 583.89 rupess in credit.
                  Previosuly I received one call from collection department and they
                  told me that some 400rupees is due for payment and that time also I
                  explained them that in my statement is
                  showing as credit then executive told me that in their system it
                  showing as due payment. Then I call in customer care and I explained
                  my problem to executive, she told me that
                  I have no need to worry since the due amount is in credit and She
                  asked my that in future if i receive such calls then I should asked
                  the caller to contact customer care department..

Now when card has been blocked customer care department saying that
                  I should call in collection department and they are not ready to
                  accept that my card has been blocked due to nonpayment. I speak to
                  customer care executive Mr Satyam Bhatt then I asked his to transfer
                  my call to his team leader and according to him his team leader
                  refuseed to take call since the card is in cancel status.Then he told
                  me that for further inquiry I have to speak to collection department.

Bank has denied to tell me any reason for cancelation of card also they are not ready to refund my credit balance.
                  Please Help me
                  card no/ [protected]

unused cheque deposited by u of rs. 2500/- purposly after closure of above mentioned card since long time. pl refund.
                  also pl clerify whethere u listed my name in CIBIL if so pl gv me details so that i can make the due payment if any otherwise pl ask CIBIL to remove it frm list. pl reply me by mail as it troubles me in financial matters.

vilas mob: [protected]
                  HSBC bank has got a track record for not replying to the query & will do anything for collection of charges i am one of the victim, Let us all complaint against them in RBI than only they will understand

HSBC Credit Card — Charging late fee for mistake of thier

Date October 6, 2009
                  Place Mumbai

RBI Consumer Redressal Cell,
                  Reserve Bank of India

I would like to bring to your notice the harassment meted out to by the credit card department of HSBC. I have been one of their genuine customer to HSBC credit card. I write this letter with deep regrets and pain for improper action by HSBC.
                  I have been operating a HSBC two in one account with Chembur branch and also holding a credit card for the past 15 (fifteen) years. Of late the service has been deteriorating to the extent that I have been forced to call their help desk to reverse the finance charges for their mistakes.
                  In past 6- 8 months, I have had 2 bills with HSBC adding finance charges for their faults.
                  I would like RBI to look into the latest plight of a genuine customer being threatened for mistake from HSBC.
                  I had a net outstanding on HSBC credit card of INR 3827.14 payment due around September 14 2009. The payment was made for this amount was made through ICICI bank Cheque no 455905 dated September 08 2009. The payment was dropped on to their drop box at chembur station (MINC Drop Box – Collecting payment for all the Companies). I was surprise to note that this payment was shown as an outstanding in the October bill and interest and late payment charges levied for the same. I am forced to follow with the HSBC call centre to register complain for the same. The complain number [protected] was registered with HSBC by Jereme on September 29 2009. I am yet to hear from them on this pending issue.

In the mean while, I was shocked to see some collection agent who with out carrying any ID Card was there to collect the amount. My aged parents both of whom are above 60 plus who were there at home and are shocked and scared by this incident. Also I was shocked to know that my card has been blocked.

Today, I have received a letter stating that in case I don’t make the payment my credit rating will be affected.

I would like to ask the authorites that for mistake of the bank, why the customer / credit card subscriber suffer.
                  I have always had a very good credit history and will ensure for no reason I spoil the same, but for mistake from the bank. Who will be responsible for the same?
                  I have made the payment at the mentioned drop box, under the given circumstances who should be responsible.
                  Could any one update me on the cheque which has been dropped at the drop box? Will HSBC return the cheque.

I request RBI to take necessary action so that genuine subscriber like me doesn’t suffer for mistake and faults of the bank.

Also I must be compensation for the embarrassment faced due the card decline

Thanks and Regards.
                  Shankar Ramaswamy
                  had also a very bad exp with HSBC, they use thired party for selling off their credit cards who will not speak truth at the selling time and says it is a life time free card but actually when u take this HSBC starts sending the annual fees which is 2000 for Gold credit card, I got this card in my office at HSBC free champign and never used. When i saw statment they calulated (don't know about their calcualtion) for otstanding of 9k whic was only their annual fees n all.. I never used this card. When i approached them they reversed it now but they put my name in CIBIL as a defaulter. Now i am stuck for loan and feeling like cheated by HSBC. We should gather and raise this to RBI.

I won't suggest anybody to go for HSBC, i[censored] wanna go please read document carefully and take sign also of marketing executie on commitments.

HSBC Credit Card — Adding Hidden Charges

Hi All,

I am holding HSBC Credit Card [protected] and I am not using it form past 1 year 6 months. When time of taking a Credit Card your team had mentioned that it is free card .

Suddenly when I log-in to the HSBC online account I had observed that 2000 rs has been added to my account as member-ship fee and it is going on adding and increased to 3700 rs but I am not using your card.

I am totally pissed off.
                  I strongly agree, as I have personally experienced HSBC card dept charging false amounts even when they are at fault
                  10 Comments

deep gupta
                    Feb 16, 2010

i m hsbc customer since last few years holding a gold credit card. in last months bill i have been charged 2k rs for anuual fees which i never been charged earlier after this 4 times service tax been charged i dont know why but its there in the statement when i call hsbc ph.lines than i didnt got any satisfieng reply from hsbc representative bcos he also did not have sufficient knowledge abt the same its shame on such a big bank which have millions of customer but have a very poor staff when i ask for clarification than hsbc representative said that he will make a reversal of the said amount which is 2000 rs as well as service tax also.
                    i want hsbc to take an action on above query make all the reversal of amount latest by tomorrow or i will be happy to discontinue services with hsbc bank.inst the hsbc bank.

dr Rajesh kumar Singh
                      Feb 16, 2010

The Manager cradit card devision
                      hsbc bank.

sir/madam
                      with kind request this is to inform you that i have make advanced payment of inr 40000.00 vide the cheque no 451552 and inr 50000.00 vide checque no 621034 towards your cradit card account but i was not used kindly refund my money by checque i have requested maney times but could not recieved.
                      kindly seriously look into the matter and make my pay order as soon as possible.

HSBC — cradit card

mere nam mere bhai ne addon card bna kar upna primary card difalt kar dia or bank ne mera nam cibiel me dal dia plese help me thanking you.

avadhoot rajaram roge
                        Feb 16, 2010

Subject: Your HSBC credit card***2416 and***0493 (KMM6593214I123L0KM)
                        To: "avadhoot roge" <[protected]@yahoo.co.in>
                        Date: Tuesday, 16 February, 2010, 1:32 PM

Dear Mr. Roge,

Your HSBC credit card 4476 XXXX XXXX 2416 and 4476 XXXX XXXX 0493

Reference Number [protected]

We refer to your email dated 15 February 2010 received through
                        [protected]@hsbc, regarding your HSBC credit card.

Our records reflect that your card ****8516 and ****8512 has been closed
                        with effect from 10 November 2009 and the replacement card ****2416 and
                        ****0493 has been generated and the same are in an active state. Both
                        the above mentioned card accounts have zero outstanding balance in the
                        same. I have not asked for replacement of card i have cleared all the purchased due outstanding payments & had surrendered the card under protest for charging me illegally. When ever i speak to customer care they promise and reverse the same and again the same is credited and again debited in next monthstatement. I have already communicated to your chennai office in writting for the same.

For your card ****0493 we are not in receipt of any payment towards the
                        same December 2009 onwards. Hence incremental charges have been levied
                        on the same and we regret that we cannot arrange to reverse the same as
                        per bank norms. The current outstanding balance in your card account is
                        INR 2997.55. We request you to effect payment towards the same at the
                        earliest to avoid levy of incremental charges. I have cleared all the purchased due outstanding payments & had surrendered all the HSBC card under protest for charging me illegally.

In regard to the annual fee of INR 700 and INR 350 levied on your card
                        account on we regret reversal of the same as per bank norms. However we
                        are offering equivalent bonus points in lieu of payment towards the
                        annual fee levied in your HSBC Classic card statement. I am verymuch frustrated with the service offered by HSBC and for a customer associated with them from last 7years.and are in a no mood to be associated with HSBC for any other product.

For your card ****2416 also we are not in receipt of any payment towards
                        the same December 2009 onwards. Hence incremental charges have been
                        levied on the same and we regret that we cannot arrange to reverse the
                        same as per bank norms. The current outstanding balance in your card
                        account is INR 2165.83. We request you to effect payment towards the
                        same at the earliest to avoid levy of incremental charges.I have cleared all the purchased due outstanding payments & had surrendered all the HSBC card under protest for charging me illegally.

Please feel free to write to us for any further clarification.
                        Pls. take up the issue with your recovery agent and ask them to conclude the issue at HSBC end. also be informed any verbal abusement from your recovery agent will not be tolerated and the matter will be refferred to competent authorities at your cost and consequences.

A complete list of our Phone Banking numbers is available at
                        http://www.hsbc.co.in/in/personal/phone.htm

Ananyo Sen
                        Customer Service Executive
                        The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited
                        [protected][protected]-
                        *******************************************************************
                        This e-mail is confidential. It may also be legally privileged.
                        If you are not the addressee you may not copy, forward, disclose
                        or use any part of it. If you have received this message in error,
                        please delete it and all copies from your system and notify the
                        sender immediately by return e-mail.

Internet communications cannot be guaranteed to be timely,
                        secure, error or virus-free. The sender does not accept liability
                        for any errors or omissions.
                        *******************************************************************
                        "SAVE PAPER - THINK BEFORE YOU PRINT!"

SHAILESH DOSHI
                          Feb 16, 2010

I HAD GIVEN PMS TO HSBC BANK THEY HAVE PUT ME TO HUGE LOSSES AND I HAVE TAKEN UP COMPLAIN WITH HIGHER AUTHORITIES THEY ARE NOT LISTENING THEY SAY WE HAVE CHECKED EVERYTHING IT IS OK WITHOUT LISTENING MY SIDE THEY HAVE TAKEN ONE SIDE DECESION. FURTHER I HAVE REQUESTED FOR PAPERS WHICH ARE REQUIRED FOR COMPLAINING TO RBI AND SEBI WHICH THEY ARE NOT PROVIDING NOR MY MAIL FORWARDED TO ALL HIGHER DEPARTMENT NONE CARED TO ACKNOWLEDGE.
                          Horrible horrible experience with HSBC PMS. Not only was the performance terrible with the manager going in for high turnover but also choosing the most horrible stocks. Very illiquid and 3rd class stocks. But what was worse was the customer service. No feedback. No answer to questions and concerns. Wrong reporting of portfolio performance numbers. Terrible mistakes in Balance Shhets provided at the end of the year. The Relationship Mgr would not even pick up the phone. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE.

All prospective investors...BEWARE!
                          same problem with hsbc pms.incompetent fund managers who charge s money to underperform. rbi/sebi should suggest guidelines to ensure that the investors intersted is protected.can these and similar complaints be passed on to the relevant regulatory bodies pl ? can anyone suggest some remedial measures? amitabha datta kolkata

Arvind Gautam
                            Feb 15, 2010

Hi ,
                            i had HSBC Credit card [protected] in past year it was expired on march-2009, after that on March -2009 statement they charge Rs 700 for PRIMARY CARD MEMBERSHIP FEE , so had i denied to pay this fee and till that time i had not received new credit card and my past all the dues was clear so i have not paid March-2009 bill , then they send another Bill in April with late fee charges , at that time i wrote to HSBC customer care and also called them , but they replied to me that any how you have to pay these Bills then we will stop late payment charges, i asked them if i have not received new card and i am not using your bank services any more then why i have to pay these Bills , but they denied my all the arguments and refuse my complaints . After that every month they are sending my old card statement with these late fee charges.i haven;t checked any statement , but last week i applied for personal Loan with Citi , then citi inform me that some of the banks have logged complaints again you in CIBIL , so they denied my Loan , then i checked my HSBC account and i found Rs 3900 Credit card statements and all of them are late fee charges, So please suggest what i have to do , i want to go court against HSBC , because i have not used there services then why i have to pay false amount ?

Arvind Gautam

Vijaykumar Chaudhari
                              Feb 13, 2010

I was offered HomeLoan as SMARTHOME Loan scheme by HSBC in Feb-2005, with the Daily reducing Flaoting Rate Interest Rate.
                              The major benefits of the SMARTHOME Scheme was highlighted as Saving Interest and Tenure to Repay the Loan - by saving some additional amount in the Homeloan account. This reduces your total repayment amount - I had parked considerable amounts in the Homeloan account - but the Tenure Reduction as Highlighted feature of the Scheme was not offered - only the interest part some benefit was given to me.

At mulitple times - when approached the Bank - different answeres are given.
                              The most contradictory and surprising fact is now.....that
                              Bank rectified the error since 2009 April onwards and started passing the benefits - but Refuses to accept the error made and continued by them since Feb-2005 to April 2009.

This is nothing but commercial fraud and purley a case of cheating.

I need help to resolve this with HSBC Bank.

ASHOK KUMAR MITTAL
                                Feb 12, 2010

I have a credit card of HSBC for the last so many years and also maintaining saving account with the bank at New Delhi branch. Card No.[protected]

During the 2nd week of December 2009 I got a call from HSBC premium Circle branch and they offered me certain benefits under their Premium Circle programe. During the conversation the man on the line told me certain benefit given to me against payment of Rs. 6055/-. I told them that they should send me the details of offer in writing. They assured me that I will all the details of offer i.e list of destination under vacation offer , flight offer etc along with terms & condition of the scheme within a week time there after I can refuse the policy if I don’t find the terms suitable to me.

During the 2nd week of Jan-10 when I did not received my statement of account for the period 4th Dec-09 to 4th Jan-10 I contacted customer care and they told me that my statement has returned undelivered . I enquired where you have sent the statement. He told me the new address, which I never requested for change. Thereafter I requested this statement be sent again but I never got it, however I received this statement thru Email.

On checking the statement I found that A sum of Rs 6055/- has been debited to my account which I requested to reverse the same as I have not received any details etc along with other terms & conditions which were promised during telephonic conversation. I was told to write to Premium Circle thru email which I immediately did but I did not receive any reply. Thereafter I sent an email to HSBC at [protected]@hsbc.co.in and copy to Premium Circle requested for reversal of charges debited to my account. In reply to my email they advised me to write to Plat 5 consultancy Pvt. Ltd with full address for reversal, which I did immediately thru Email as well as letter thru Speed Post. Plat 5 consultancy Pvt. Ltd never replied my letter , however within 2-3 days I got one parcel thru courier which I have not opened. iF i HAVE KNOWN THAT THIS IS A THIRD PARTY ARRANGEMENT I HAVE NEVER ATTENDED THE CALL ITSELF.

I am writing again and again to HSBC and Premium Circle that since they have not provide me the details of the Scheme and the terms & conditions in writing as such accepting the scheme does not arise and they should reverse the amount debited to my Card but they have refused.

You are requested to help me in this matter as I have not accepted the Scheme without accepting the terms & conditions which were never provided to me.

Ashok mittal

1971 Sector –9
                                Faridabad

HSBC Credit Card — Wrong Debits in my card account

MY credit card NO is :[protected] in this month statement annual fee for Rs.2000/- and for Add on card annual fee for 1000/- . This is 100% fraud because of before taking the card, your marketing people say, This is absolutely no annual fee, so thats why iam comitted to this credit card. IF dosent want to deduct this 3000/- you will simply cancel my credit card. Because of ihave no interest to use this card.
                                HSBC is a Mother bank because of the people and the service they provide is really a bull .. They dont know how to work..

HSBC IS A SON OF A BANK

HSBC Bank — Wrong credit card against my name

REMINDER-4

The President,
                                Credit Card Services,
                                H.S.B.C Bank,
                                Ambal House, Anna Salai
                                Chennai-600006.

Subject: To remove Card No. [protected] & [protected] from my account

The matter is that I have been still receiving calls from your collection department regularly to pay an amount of app. Rs. 60000/ pertaining to credit card which is not mine.
                                I regret to inform you that I have informed to your call centre several times in this regard since Apr-08. I have given a written request to you 3 times dated 18-5-08, 22-5-08 & 5-9-08 but no action has been done from your side for correction. Please note that this card does not belong to me as I have not received it.

You are once again requested to look into the matter seriously and to solve this issue otherwise I will go the consumer courts for further action.

A Line of reply in written from your side in this regard is appreciable.

Yours Truly

Tirlok Singh
                                T-235/E2/2A
                                Road No. 20, Baljeet Nagar
                                New Delhi-110008.
                                Mob.[protected]
                                I totally agree with the issue you are facing. what is the current status of your issue.

I too had got a call from HSBC for the same scheme, however I did not go for it since the executive did not have correct details of my account. He did not even have my new residence address which is very much updated in HSBC CC statement from past 1 yr. I then checked online regarding this scheme and found your complaint.

HSBC is cheating customers by offering such bogus schemes. There is a possibility of a fraud too.
                                I am led to believe that “HSBC Premium Circle” is a scam created by HSBC Bank Credit Card Unit in collusion with Plat5 Consultancy. I have informed all my friends holding credit cards to be aware of such scam mongers. It is the case of Plat5 that they will promise you thick and thin and at the end, keep you high and dry!
                                I understand this is a ploy of the HSBC Bank to fraud us by colluding with a private company. Their service is so pathetic. First of all, they function like a company which was set up before computer, internet and telephone was invented. When we can do so many online transactions these days, we can buy online tickets and make online payments by credit cards by telephone or through internet, they insist on their voucher back and then only, they think of processing. Amazingly stupid, is not it? When they can debit your credit card account after a phone call when they want, but they cannot process your request through telephone or online. When we call up their customer care or whatever they call, the number given by them over the vouchers/papers, many times, they do not even pick up the phone though the phone seems like dying because of continuously ringing. In case they pick up, some lady answers you with a rude north Indian monotonous accent and rather than listening to you, she starts offering her standard answers, “No Sir. We are sorry. We cannot do that.” They do not have any sense of India being a diverse country as more often they start talking in Hindi and doing “haa ji, haa ji” when they verify your mobile Number. Most of the time, when they answer in negative, then, you may insist on filing a complaint internally, but they will not even tell what is the process as it seems once the telephone picking agent says no, that is final, binding and authoritative pronouncements. It has been happened many times that one lady picks up the phone and puts on hold for some time, another lady picks up suddenly and asks you, ‘Yes Sir! Please tell your problem’.
                                To summarize their whole services in short, it is nothing but the most pathetic.

The paltinum5 Premium offer of HSBC Bank Credit card offer is a fraudulent offer. They make so many tall promises when they call you up but when you get to know details, it will be too late as the options are very limited. In fact, regarding hotels and resorts, they say that it is 4 star and 5 star but they are not. For example, recently, I stayed in a Resort called Logoa Azul in Goa on self expense which is one of the resorts selected under this programme of Premium offer. This resort is NOT a 4 star one. Rather, this is not a resort which deserves any star. Similarly, there are many conditions and terms and very stupid policies they have which makes the offer useless most of the time. Like, there are restrictions on utilization offer like some months depending on places are excluded during which you can not utilize your voucher. Another funniest thing for example is you can fly Kolkatta to Hyderabad and from Hyderabad to Kolkatta, but You can not fly Hyderabad to Kolkatta and Kolkatta to Hyderabad on which point I am still fighting with them.
                                Thanx for the comments. I was being offered the same from HSBC Premium circle, which provoked me to check the websites and one link took me to this site. Luckily I didnt accepted their offer. Thnx to all.
                                Today, I received an email from Heritage Group/Plat5 Consultancy in relation to my Ticket Bookings. I had already paid Rs. 6055 on 30th January, 2010 by debit of my credit card amount. At that time, I was promised to give a watch worth INR 4000/-, a two nights three days stay in some resorts which I choose from the list and to and fro air ticket to certain destination. At that time, I was not told any extra payments required to be done. However, when I got a reply for ticket booking Hyderabad-Delhi and Delhi-Hyderabad, I was told to email an authorization to Heritage Holidays to bill Rs 5, 640/- ( Rs 5, 640/- towards Airport Tax/Surcharges ) on my HSBC credit card.
                                I not only got a shock but almost fainted by looking at such a massive fraud.
                                I have replied them saying that I will not authorize them to debit my credit card account and not to proceed with the ticket booking. I am also contemplating to initiate legal actions against HSBC Bank, and Heritage Group.
                                I agree with the Complainant. The service is pathetic. The paltinum5 Premium offer of HSBC Bank Credit card offer is a fraudulent offer. They make so many tall promises when they call you up but when you get to know details, it will be too late as the options are very limited. In fact, regarding hotels and resorts, they say that it is 4 stars and 5 star but they are not. For example, recently, I stayed in a Resort called Logoa Azul in Goa on self expense which is one of the resorts selected under this programme of Premium offer. This resort is NOT a 4 star one. Rather, this is not a resort which deserves any star. Similarly, there are many conditions and terms and very stupid policies they have which makes the offer useless most of the time. Like, there are restrictions on utilization offer like some months depending on places are excluded during which you cannot utilize your voucher. Another funniest thing for example is you can fly Kolkata to Hyderabad and from Hyderabad to Kolkata, but you cannot fly Hyderabad to Kolkata and Kolkata to Hyderabad on which point I am still fighting with them.
                                The whole scheme looks like a scam orchestrated by HSBC Bank in connivance with some private company. I am soon lodging a complaint on this with HSBC Bank or its banking ombudsman and if no satisfactory reply is received, I am thinking to complain it to RBI. I am not sure and do not know if there will be anything positive, but I think we must try not to let this scam happen.
                                Another irritating aspect is their call center heritage. Most of the time, they do not receive the calls despite phone ringing, and ask in typical Hindi accent and in a very monotonous sound and frequently say 'Haan ji' in Hindi without anything caring about whether the person calling knows Hindi. While customer will be talking in English, they start immediately talking in Hindi, sometimes leaving the customers wondering what she is saying.
                                Another absolutely disgusting thing about them is that it looks they are shortage of men power or have been crowded with cheap labour in the markets who do not have enough energy to respond calls. Even when phones are ringing, no one picks up the phone and bothers to respond. It happens 9 out of 10 times and this will make a really frustrating experience to you.
                                We must protest against this corporate scam.
                                Rajib, Hyderabad

At HSBC Annual General Meeting of Shareholders 2010 I did address my concerns with the Board of Directors concerning what HSBC India has been doing and is doing in India to our customers.

I may be able to help you. I can assure you that I will do all that I can to help you. I have been very successful in the people that I have taken up their cases with HSBC. Now they will not let me help anymore Indian's. You may wonder why, ask the Chairman of HSBC Plc Mr Flint why.

Please go to this site. This is an interview that I did concerning HSBC.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...

If customers UNITE in India and decide to leave HSBC India in support of their fellow Indian's, who are making complaints about HSBC India then this may make HSBC Plc take action.
                                They talk about their Global Footprint and their Integrity. Please look at the following sites and see what the Indian people are saying about HSBC behaviour towards them.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes...

http://www.indiaconsumerforum...

http://www.consumercomplaints...

http://www.consumercomplaints.in/?search=HSBC+Bank

Now ask yourself is this the Bank for you in India.

So if you would like to contact me and send me your phone number I will call you personally.

Kind regards
                                Michael

E-mail: [protected]@aol.
                                9 Comments

SUNIL RAMESH KOTURWAR
                                  Feb 12, 2010

My self SUNIL R. KOTURWAR have utilised the Credit Card of HSBC Card no.[protected] for period March2007 to Feb08 - In Feb08 Due to My road accident in Jan 2008 & insufficient financial arrangements. I have requested for Full & Final Settlement of Credit Card Dues. HSBC Credit Cards have accepted settlement vide letter no. FFS/W1/NG/NWO/CPD/18032008/SR dtd. 18.03.2008 - for Rs. 12000/- Due date of payment was 30.03.2008, I have paid full Rs. 12000/- on 24.03.2008 vide receipt no,AA0004738. against settlement letter.

After that there is no communication from Bank.

I am also operating the Savings Bank in HSBC, a/c no.[protected] This was Idle in between 2008 to 2009, Now in Nov 2009 I have started transacting and deposited Rs. 15000/-. Suddenly found that on 29.12.2009 HSBC tr. Rs. 9315/- from savings a/c to Credit Card payments for Card no. [protected], On my communication on phone & mails i come to know about the recovery of the amount 9315/- against credit card.

I have asked about why the recovery is made for settlement made credit card, on mail the reply come if the recoveries made erroneously, the same will be reversed, but, within frequency of 7 to 10 days HSBC tried to linger the matter & now, regretted to refund the recovered amount.

I have already provided the Scanned copy of Settlement Letter alongwith the payment receipt as per requirement of the customer services of HSBC credit cards, But still the amount is not refunded. Also the Balance for Credit Card is not withdrawn from the linked balance of my savings accounts.

Now may savings account shows negative balance Rs. 42663.42/- (as against recovery of Credit Card dues).

Kindly help me to clear the discrepancy created by Bank by & clear my credit records with CIBIL under this credit card no. [protected].

Also to recover the Excess amount recovered by Bank for Rs. 9315/-

As precaution i am not depositing any amount with HSBC savings account and not operating any transaction of cheques also.

Kindly help me to settle this account.

Sunil Koturwar
                                  C/o Sarvodaya Tailors
                                  Dhanwate Chambers,
                                  Sitabuldi, Nagpur
                                  Pin - 440 012.
                                  Mobile No. [protected]

akshpreet sareen
                                    Feb 11, 2010

it is in reference of a complaint number in hsbc cc division.
                                    Complaint number I[protected]:

My hsbc card was wrongly charged by rs. 3035/- at Yuva motors, Faridabad which I haven't used. The card was in my possession at time of wrong transaction made. Transaction date 11 july,09.
                                    I logged a complaint in hsbc customer care for which they sent me letter with above mentioned ref. Number. I have blocked the card.
                                    Kindly help me get my money back.
                                    Expecting a quick and positive response.

Akshpreet Sareen.
                                    DM, HDFC bank ltd.

KI+

Vonna Vamshi krishna
                                      Feb 10, 2010

I hold a credit card with HSBC bank and was a good customer . They have billed me with repayment protection fee for continues 3 months( around 500 per month) . No en quires with call center they said that they will reverse it .But even after continuous followups they have not done and stater demanding to pay total bill what ever delay payment charges added later. Last month i have settled the amount with 1500/-( Actual charged amount, and bill reached to around 7000/-) . But when i applied to standard charted bank credit card they informed me that my credit history is not good. This is really unfair.Please suggest me for proper justice so that same should not happen with any credit card customer.

Thanking you in advance,
                                      Vamshi Krishna Vonna

Kapil Mittal
                                        Feb 10, 2010

I have taken the Credit card from HSBC and the Card is Closed since 2005 and i have settled the principal amount of Rs. 3505.98 approximately after paying Rs. 12000/- in or around August 2008 and the Bank have issued a NO DUES CERTIFICATE on the Letter Head of the HSBC on 12/8/2008.

But still the statement is coming to me showing the outstanding Balance of Rs. 121786.95 as on 4th Feb 2010 in which the Card limit has been shown as Rs. 18000/-.

I am enclosing the copy of the amount of Rs. 3505.98 showing as a outstanding amount.
                                        Settlement Letter of the Bank on the Letter Head.
                                        Credit Card Statement as on 4th Feb.'2010.

Further The Bank has been showing the write off amount of Rs. 1 Lakh around in CIBIL.
                                        I request you to kindly look into the matter as soon as possible.
                                        Kapil Mittal
                                        [protected]@hotmail.com
                                        Ph. [protected].

HSBC Credit Card — No statements

i requested to send statement to my email still not done
                                        Raghu
                                        Please send my credit card statement as I am not receiving them regularly
                                        Please send me the credit card statement detailson my mail id, still i dont know my credit card bill payment date. i wnat to see the credit card statement details through online.
                                        Bijay
                                        Please send me the credit card statement details on my mail id, still i dont know my credit card bill payment date. i wnat to see the credit card statement details through online.

I am not even received the bills through the post for past three months. I am a sales person will be in roaming 24X7 not able to track my bills...

Jaya kumar
                                        Please confirm my credit card No.[protected] status.

BALAJI P
                                        i have not yet receive my credit card statement of april 2009 and may 2009

Credit Card — Statement and No dues letter reg.

My HSBC VISA Credit Card No. [protected] has been closed since April, 2009 and to inform you that I have not yet received my no dues certificate from your end. A no dues certificate and a last statement of the above said Credit Card may please be furnished at my residence.

Kusum Arya
                                        Flat No. 379, Sector-14,
                                        Pocket-I, Dwarka.
                                        email : [protected]@gmail.com
                                        Date : 6.8.09