Idea Cellular Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Oct 7, 2025
Complaints 16717

File a complaint to Idea Cellular

Having problems with Idea Cellular?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Idea Cellular customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Idea Cellular reviews & complaints page 460

Muhammad Aasif
from Raipur, Chhattisgarh
Apr 5, 2016

Address: Indore, Madhya Pradesh, 452010

My Account no is[protected] comes under the Gold customer.
I have a iplan999 with bill cycle from 5th to 4th of every month.
I have around 2GB 3G data for month when I was reached near to data limit on 20th march have made the changes on iplan and increase the data pack with more 1.5 GB, on next day I got the mesg my unbilled amount goes to 4800, I have made a call to customer care to knowing these charges but unfortunately idea staff doesn't know the charges.
I am Sincerely telling you these is very unprofessional or we can say this is the HIDDEN CHARGES.
total amount is 4800 + 850 service tax, he charging me 376/- per day for 15 days.
Idea have to shame on these we are earning single Payne with highest effort and they are charging like these...
Idea Cellular customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

We regret the inconvenience caused. We have noted your concern. We will get back to you shortly.

Customer Care, Idea Cellular

We wish to affirm that your concern has been acknowledged and your complaint for billing dispute has been initiated by us, under reference number C1-[protected] and you shall hear on the same at the earliest. For further assistance, kindly contact Idea customer care helpline.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 14th April 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Naaga
    from Trivandrum, Kerala
    Apr 5, 2016

My number is [protected]( kerala circle) and it is an add-on connection of [protected](Both are postpaid connection). Recently upgraded to 4g connection, but after up gradation, we found that the net setter is malfunctioning such that the message is coming as "10 mb data usage consumed during the period even myself not using idea net".( ref invcoice no:[protected])

Please note that during my office hours mysel[censored]sing the wi-fi connection of my company's connection only.

When we approach the customer care, they told me that to reset the settings of my mobile, after resetting also the same problem existing.

Kindly do the needful for the rectification as early as possible, otherwise we are forced to disconnect the connection which mysel[censored]sing for the past 7 years and my spouse using the same for the past 10 years

We regret the inconvenience caused. We have noted your concern. We will get back to you shortly.

Discussion with the customer service associate was totally unacceptable, I will go to the next level for making the complaint

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 6th April 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

rajansinh
      Apr 5, 2016

Address: Gandhinagar, Gujarat, 382042

Pls my mobail number is. [protected] my all call detail is my e mail i'd [protected]@gmail.com, all call detail sendsfgjkktdcnmkjgfcc nmjgvvbnnxx gfsx. Bz vbvvdxbnnvxcbmkjgvvnmmjvcc. Nbvvbnnjvvv.

sreedevi s
        Apr 4, 2016

Address: Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, 695011

Idea customer care executive Mr. Ramesh( from Kallampally idea show room) persuaded me to change my 3G connections Easy Share postpaid connection to 4G. After this upgrade my net setter is malfunctioning. Then he changed one connection to 3G. Again same error message was displayed. As per his advice, we went Kesavadaspuram Idea branch and sought help from them. As indicated by them we went Service center in Tamapanoor. Their opinion was "Since he used 3G net setter with 4G sim, the net setter got corrupted. Nothing can be done from our end."

After all these wastage of time and money and I am left with a malfunctioning netsetter.

We regret the inconvenience caused. Please share your contact number and we will be glad to assist you. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

Sukhvir Sidhu
          Apr 4, 2016

Address: Patiala, Punjab, 147102

Hlo sir mene tower lagane ke liye aman bajaj ji se contact kiya tha unho ne muje 150000 rupees liye lekin sir tower nahi lagya pls refund my amount sir and contact me on my number [protected].[protected]
          Pls sir contact me i am from samana patiala punjab india pls sir contact me

Harish Munigela
            Apr 4, 2016

Address: Ranga Reddy, Andhra Pradesh, 500019

I have raised a complaint on call drops issue on 15th March 2016, Communication id is c1-[protected]. Each time they are closing the request with out providing resolution. They are saying as per the company process, they will close any ticket even if it's not resolved with in 7days.
            I am using idea since 2 years and facing this issue after converting into 4G.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 5th April 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

mangesh wagh
              Apr 4, 2016

Address: 411002

My mobile no [protected].
              On 1st April 2016 I made a TOPUP of Rs 110 and to my surprise on the same day that is on 01st April 2016 the my balance was reduced to Rs 1 only. That is there was a deduction of Rs 110 from my main balance .
              So pl let me know how and why my main balance was deducted with Rs 110 on 01st April 2016.

With thanks & regards,
              Wagh
              Apr 07, 2016
              Updated by mangesh wagh

You may contact on this alternate no is [protected] at any time.
              We are waiting for your call !

We regret the inconvenience caused. Please provide us your alternate number & inform us the convenient date & time to contact you and have your issue resolved.

Reply from idea is still not received.

You may contact on this alternate no is [protected] at any time.
              We are waiting for your call !

Refund is not yet received.

Ashish231
                Apr 3, 2016

Address: Panchkula, Haryana, 134409

I have been an Idea customer right since the inception of your company & have stayed loyal to the company despite easy portability options available now. I have three IDEA nos. as listed below :
                All three nos. are presently being used on Iphone 6 / 6s with nano SIM.
                We have been facing a huge problem of poor connectivity for the past one year & now call drops over the last few months. It is impossible to speak with any one while sitting inside our house resulting in huge embarrassment & difficulty, besides increasing our calling costs due to the call drops.
                I have complained several times on your customer complaint no. but it seems to be all water on ducks back.
                you are requested to please look into this problem & get rectified at the earliest, failing which i will be constrained to approach the TRAI.

Ashish Verma
                231 Sector 6 Panchkula -134109
                Haryana
                mobile : [protected]

We wish to affirm that your concern has been acknowledged and a complaint for coverage has been initiated by us, under reference number C1-[protected] and you shall hear on the same at the earliest. For further assistance, kindly contact Idea customer care helpline.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Uma Parvathy
                  Apr 3, 2016

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 411045

I ported my number from airtel to idea about two weeks back (Around 10-18th of march). Since then till now, i have to call them about 15 times regarding various complaints:

1) i had called the customer care to inform even before i left pune that i will be traveling and i would need connectivity. The data did not work as soon as i left pune and remained such even after repeated calls to the customer care. I called from hyderabad and then chennai and only after repeated calls did i realize they were going to be of no help and i fixed the issues myself. One phone call that i made from chennai was helpful and one from hyderabad. The rest were all unhelpful. To this date the problem exists whenever i travel.

2) on 29th mar, my data dropped to 10kbps when the allowed limit of 1 gb expired. I called them to have it boosted and they informed me that i have raised a request for isd activation through the online account. I did register to the online account and raise a activation request for call-conferencing. Isd i did not raise. However, they informed me that my data boost request cannot be processed till the first request is complete and asked me to wait. I waited and called back on 1st apr. They then inform me that the process of the request should only have taken 2 hours and since it has been two days, it is a technical issue and that they will raise a complaint. I lose my patience and yell at them and they request me for 24 hours to fix the issue. It is 2nd april today and when i called to check regarding the request, the agent informs me the call history for friday reads query regarding request status and there is no history of the complaint i made on friday or the fact that i am waiting for a resolution.

In these two weeks since i ported it to idea, i have had to call them close to 15 times and not once have i received a return call from idea to check status or help with resolution, except for one call during my time in chennai (By which time i had already fixed the problem myself).

I am sick and horrified with their service, but i am unable to port it out to vodafone as well now - because of the 90 day period i need for port out.

While i have no choice but to wait it out till i can port to vodafone, i really needed to complain about their service because i do not want other consumers to go through this. Please do something!

We regret the inconvenience caused. Please share your Idea mobile number and alternate contact number and we will be glad to assist you. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

Nanduph
                    Apr 3, 2016

I'm using my mobile to browse internet daily.. But now a days while browsing some Idea Cellular's advertisement type page will come when clicking on a valid link.. That means, navigated to a false page.. It's very annoying for a user.. Please take necessary actions against such illegal activities which is frustrating their customers..

The following is that false page:

ideaappshop.opera.com/on-boarding?onboarding_id=GLOBAL%23onboarding%23idea&targe...
                    Thanks..

We regret the inconvenience caused. Please provide your contact details to assist you further. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

ankitkhurja01
                      from Sonipat, Haryana
                      Apr 2, 2016

Address: 201301
                      Website: Idea Cellular Limited, A-68, Sector-64, Noida-201301,U.P.

It is very shocking that my wrong and high bill generated when asked to correct my bill, start calling to my family members and relatives using abusing words.
                      I have not received my bills since last 4 months. Suddenly i received calls from someone from idea. That my bill is due for 3800. This was threatening calls from idea numbers [protected] from idea saying that she was calling from idea sec- 64 noida. Then i simply asked her to correct my bill as because this is a wrong bill & i was not receiving any bills from idea for last 4 months and this is not the correct bill as per my usage & you have closed my number 2 month ago. Then she shouted on me to pay bill immediately. She said the she has my idea call history and will call to all my family members & relatives. I asked why you will you call to my relatives? If i have already provided my alternate number. Who has given this rights to call to family members or relatives? Then she start shouting and abusing me literally.
                      Sir last 4 days they have taken numbers of my family and relatives from my idea call history & are calling to my brother, sister, mother, uncle father in-law everybody in my family, threatening using abusing language.
                      They mentally harassed me & my family. I am in depression now. Don't know what to do?
                      Sir, i am ready to pay my correct bill. But this absolutely unbearable. They idea is taking help from criminals. My mother is a heart patient. If something happened to her. I will not forgive anyone those are responsible for mentally harassment.
                      Ankit sharma

We regret the inconvenience caused. Please share your Idea mobile number and alternate contact number and we will be glad to assist you. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

nkmeena123
                        Apr 2, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110032

My name is sangita and i have lost my idea prepaid sim card at 4.30 pm today,
                        So i want to block my sim card immediately, so that anyone cannot make use it illegally.
                        Please acknowledge me asap .
                        I shall be highly obliged to you for this kind work.
                        My no. Is [protected].
                        Currently, i am in a-1 east arjun nagar, shahdara, delhi 32.

tarun.gutc
                          Apr 2, 2016

Address: 160102

My idea mobile number is [protected] and recently I changed my net plans to 3G and in the starting it gave very high speed let me mention the pack was 1gb unlimited but when I utilised 450 mb the speed went down I reseted my mobile and also contacted the customer care he told me to reset the setting and restart my phone and I did so but my speed is still being capped by the company they are conning me.

We understand your concern and regret the inconvenience. We have noted your concern. We will get back to you soon.

We wish to affirm that your concern has been acknowledged and complaint for 3G speed has been initiated by us; under reference number C1-[protected] and you shall hear on the same at the earliest. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Abhijit Bansode
                            Apr 2, 2016

Address: Thane, Maharashtra, 421306

Hello team,

I have been a loyal customer of idea and had been using the idea connections since quite a ling time.

The customer service you offer is lots better than other service providers. However this time when i called 198 and had a very unpleasant experience.

It is appalling to witness an employee of a reputed customer service departmentbehave in such a manner. I was both shocked and disappointed to have been treated this way and believe you should be made aware of your employee's actions.

I trust this is not the way that idea cellular does business and that you will mention my concern.

I am open to discuss the matter further and should hope that you will respond with a solution to prevent this incident happening again.

I look forward to hear from your team.

Sr number of the call: sr# c1-[protected]
                            Rep's name: prashant kamble

We regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have noted your concern. We will get back to you shortly.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 4th April 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Singh rajdeep
                              from Patiala, Punjab
                              Apr 2, 2016

Address: 147001

I received a msg from your company on 31/3/2016 regarding the submission of my residential documents which were submitted by me on the same date in your idea showroom bindra communication, tripuri town, patiala. But your company barred my calls on 1/4/2016.I again went back to bindra communication but got the infomation that they had submitted my documents to your company's ro office and told me that my mobile will start working in few hours.But today i had to again visit the bindra communication to fix my problem but didn't got a very good response from them and had been told that my mobile number has been permanently barred with no further information being given to me.
                              I request you to please communicate with your bindra communication office and get my problem fixed as soon as possible.
                              Kindly consider as a priority!
                              Thanx

We have noted your concern. We will get back to you at the earliest.

We wish to inform you that the matter is currently being followed up and we will revert to you at the earliest.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 12th April 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Vikram Patle
                                Apr 2, 2016

Company has provided me 1 gb 4g data for converting my sim to 4g, *125*9# is the data check no. for 4g only, it is showing 1 gb data, but when i tried using it gave me 2g speed, i called the customer care 2 times, first time they said its a setting problem, i checked all settings, it was all ok, second time they said i have used all data, i have moto g 3, its a 4g handset, i had 4g network in bilaspur (chhattisgarh), and if i am unable to get 4g speed how i can i used 4g data, and if have used all data why is it still showing 1gb data left, i also made contact with idea office, they said to fix the network in auto mode, and wait for 1 day it will start 4g, my 4g data last date is 03/04/2016 and and i have converted my sim to 4g on 30/03/2016, and todays date is 02/04/2016, how much days i have to wait to start 4g, i have data but i am not able to use it, the second time customer care representative Mr. Ajay didn't check anything and said i had used all data, he also freely told me that if i want to go to any consumer court forum i can go, this type of self confidence they have in themself,

bennet2016
                                  from Pathanamthitta, Kerala
                                  Apr 2, 2016

Address: 380051

My name is Bennet Varghese and i have lost my Idea Prepaid Sim Card.
                                  so, i want to block my sim card immediately, so that anyone cannot make use of it illegally.
                                  Please acknowledge me ASAP.
                                  i shall be highly obliged to you for this kind work.

Kindly let me know where the last signal coming from which area

My number is [protected].
                                  Sir i am sreevarma kakumanu, mo merrimma kakumanu. sir my sim is missing yesterday .and and in sim storege same high pless number in my contact soo plesss deactivate immedeatly..

sreevarma kakumanu
                                  mo merrimma kakumanu
                                  sc-colany
                                  door numberr 1-148
                                  maddipadu
                                  prakasham dist
                                  ap

We are sorry to hear the loss of your SIM card. SIM deactivation requires validation of your details. We request you to contact nearest My Idea to block the SIM or contact customer care at 12345 from your other Idea Mobile or use link: http://www.ideacellular.com/customer-care/need-help/idea-office-locations to call customer care from non Idea mobile. You can also visit our website www.ideacellular.com or http://bit.ly/1nbfoqO to locate nearest My Idea.

bharat1312
                                    Apr 2, 2016

Address: 201301

I have using two idea number [protected] and [protected] in corporate plan.
                                    i got a call to change my plan and i asked that whether i will be charged any extra amount and got a reply that no other charges will be incurred. i have got 212 RS for 1 day for[protected] and 624 Rs for 3 days for [protected] as proration charges.

First Question: why ur executive call between the bill cycle and why they dont tell about proration.
                                    Second Question: this happens with each customer who change plan in between bill cycle then you should mention it before making the change in plan.
                                    do needful.

We regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have noted your concern. We will get back to you shortly.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 2nd April 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Customer Care, Idea Cellular.

AnkitJain1993
                                      Apr 1, 2016

Address: Jaipur, Rajasthan, 302018

My complaint with complaint number[protected] is being closed without resolving it.
                                      First of all its their fault of charging rs 50 from my account without any valid reason for the reason they call --"incorrect charging".The complain got registered on 29th march.
                                      Secondly they give false promises to resolve it by 30th march 10:17:00am.
                                      Snapshots attached at the end
                                      31st march i talked to customer care regarding my refund he mentioned because of internet connectivity there is a little problem in sending refund from past 1-2days and that refund would be done soon.
                                      Then i get a sms saying your complaint no 1-[protected] has been resolved.You interacted with pratyush_kumar if satisfied please type y else n.I send n since my complain has not been resolved.I get a call from [protected] asking me justification of why i had sent n in sms.I conveyed the entire thing to her.But she continued to give unnecessary and point less information.
                                      Then today i checked for my complaint status it started saying that the service request id is invalid.Overall they have harassed me to an extend that i cant be explained in words.

Ashok62
                                        Apr 1, 2016

Address: 208012

Myself ashok kumar arora resident of kanpur, uttar pradesh phone no. [protected] is a customer in your company since 2009.I was happy with your company services since then and no complaints were ever made.I decided to take up your idea easy share plan and port all my families comunication/internet services to idea.
                                        Thus i ported my numbers
                                        [protected] (Ported from air tel to idea on 19/03/2016)
                                        [protected](Ported from reliance to idea on 19/03/2016)
                                        And bought two new sim.
                                        [protected] (On 12/03/2016)

Crs
                                        111a/21 ashok nagar near kanha continental, kanpur
                                        I contacted the store on 10/03/2016

The store told me about idea easy share pack where i decided to port
                                        They said :-
                                        "rs 900 pack with 5gb net and 1000 calls"
                                        I took my id and went to them for connections then they told the details that 250 rs security per number and other conditions.
                                        I was ok because i know that these are marketing attractions (Told half details and tell other things when the customer is ready to take up the product)
                                        I submitted rs 900 (Rent) 5*99 = 495 (99 per connection) (2 new+2(On porting))

Still they told me
                                        You can monitor your data usage and call counter though my idea app.
                                        I gave driving license as my id (The store accepted it happily, they had no problems)
                                        Then they called to give another id as problems were there in my driving license id
                                        Still i said its ok i went and gave another id.
                                        New connections activated on 12/03/2016
                                        After 2 days of activation they were deactivated saying (Identification error)
                                        It remained off for day after which i complaint the store the resolved the problem.
                                        Still i ignored the inconvenience caused in all this.It was ok.
                                        My bill cycle is 23rd of every month (When plan changes in between the other plan takes per day charges)

Easy share pack was activated on 10/03/2016 i.E mid in my bill cycle.
                                        Easy share pack offers bundled usage i.E 5 gb data and 1000 calls irrespective of bill cycle
                                        This thing was not told to me by the store before i took the connection now mt scene was :-
                                        Connection 1
                                        [protected] (10/03/2016 to 22/03/2016)(12 days)(Paid rs 99)
                                        Connection 2
                                        [protected] (12/03/2016 to 22/03/2016)(10 days)(Paid rs 99)( activated - deactivation verification problems took one day total 9 days left )
                                        Connection 3
                                        [protected] (12/03/2016 to 22/03/2016)(10 days)(Paid rs 99)( activated - deactivation verification problems took one day total 9 days left )
                                        Connection 4
                                        [protected] (Ported) (Activated on 19/03/2016) (So 19/03/2016 to 22/03/2016) (4 days) (Paid 99 rs rent)
                                        Connection 5
                                        [protected](Ported) (Activated on 19/03/2016) (So 19/03/2016 to 22/03/2016) (4 days) (Paid 99 rs rent)
                                        If all the rules were properly told to me on time then definitely i would have taken connections on 23/03/2016 to have full benefits thus i had to pay
                                        900+99+99+99+99+99 = rs 1395 (+ tax) for 12 days
                                        Still i said ok and ignored the inconvenience caused to me.
                                        I had to finish 5gb data in 12days there because you already were charging bill for that.
                                        When i took the connection they told me that in my idea app you will be able to monitor your data and call usage properly.
                                        Later i came to know that my idea app does not apply for calculating data usages and call counters for easy share pack.
                                        Now i started dialing *121*44# ussd from each connection, added all connections usage to get my data usage (Which was a total inconvenience) for calls i had to note down calls counter from each connections to get total calls usage i made (Total inconvenience)
                                        Still i said ok ignored the inconvenience caused to me.
                                        I tried to contact but these all complaints dont come under any of your "complain categories" i.E every customer care executive call only listen to this complaints.
                                        I was completely inside the marketing bluff.

I paid the bill of rs 1680 properly just after the bill was generated i.E timely.
                                        I was going out of station on 23/03/2016 to jaipur, rajasthan.
                                        On my way two new connections.
                                        [protected] & [protected] lost its network on the way, completely nil throughout the journey whereas [protected] & [protected] was properly working i.E it cant be said that the area did not had idea connectivity.
                                        I went to jaipur for my vaccations and i dint had internet and call connectivity from idea network on those two connections.
                                        I changed sets on/off my set tried every possible thing but no connectivity i called customer care from another number after a day [protected] got its connectivity by the other number did not.
                                        [protected] lost its connectivity on my way back to kanpur but gained back connectivity on station (Total network fluctuations)
                                        And the other number [protected] is under lost connectivity since last 5 days (Since i left kanpur).
                                        All my vaccations went in complaing for network coverage, explaining things to customer care services and set on/off and all that fuss.Lost data connectivity and call in my vaccations. (These type of problems were never faced in my earlier company connects with air-tel and reliance, even t24 & docomo connections of my friends were working better that my "idea" )
                                        When i came back i took a close analysis of my bill.
                                        I was charged rs 48 (On [protected]) and rs 16 ( on [protected] ) as data usage of date 22/06/2016 at 22:32(On [protected]) and 23:15(On [protected]) i.E before time.
                                        I though it was over usage i.E after 5gb but it was not i analysed.
                                        [protected] (0.7 gb usage)
                                        [protected] (1.5 gb usage)
                                        [protected] (2.61 gb usage)
                                        [protected] (0.010 gb usage)
                                        [protected] (0.00 gb usage)
                                        In total 0.7+1.5+2.61+0.010+0 = 4.82 gb i.E 180 mb still left but still 16+48 rs deducted saying that data usage and that to before time.
                                        I called customer care to enquire this again the same line being repeated "sir it is over usage charges" finally it took time and energy to convince them that i am right and they registered my complaint finally.(This thing is under process kindly ensure this to be resolved properly communication id - [protected] )(Complaint id c1-[protected])
                                        Which is still not listened to.
                                        Means i am struggling hard and my time is being invested to prove myself right.
                                        Total inconvenience
                                        In last one month my mailbox and sms box is filled with idea reference ids complaints and just all these things.
                                        Still i said ok and ignored the inconvenience caused to me.Still i am not giving "bad comments" to idea nor posting bad reviews for idea on social media since i know that your network and data connectivity is right.
                                        I am investing my time on idea, data on idea mail, calls on idea customer care.
                                        But now i want some good response from the company since now i am fed up with the things.I am paying rs 1680 bill and facing all these things from idea.
                                        And if things are not resolved properly and the complaints i made will not be looked into my next step will definitely be port and pay other company 1600 a month and enjoy there services and as others do post bad comments on social sites and say bad things for idea in my whole group.

I decided to port and got a portal id too but a request call too that they will listen but still no reply at all.
                                        Now they have compelled me to post all this openly.I request comsumercomplaints.In to help me to get my issues resolved with idea.
                                        And kindly check the details of my account and look how many complaints and customer care calls are made.
                                        Ashok kumar arora

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 2nd April 2016, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.