Skoda India Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Oct 25, 2025
Complaints 1247

File a complaint to Skoda India

Having problems with Skoda India?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Skoda India customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Skoda India reviews & complaints page 58

vinmaz
from Panaji, Goa
May 4, 2010

I own the fully loaded & Automatic Skoda Laura L&K (Black Magic Colour) car no. MH41-C-3030. I bought this misery in the August of 2007 for a whopping Rs. 18.28 Lacs (outside Octroi).
Presently I am driving an Oven. My car ambient temperature indication shows 54-55 degrees Celcius during the Day (photographs available) and 44 degree Celsius during the nights. Did you know that Skoda gave you a Sauna system free in its Car! I did not know!
The world and its mother know how lousy an air conditioner the Laura has. As it is, a normally functional Skoda AC does not cool unless you set the temperature to 16-17 degree Celsius. Moreover amongst hundreds of warranty failures of the Skoda ACs reported, my car AC decided to give up the day warranty ended. The replacement cost is approximately Rs. 95000
This was after 3 various earlier warranty claims that I had availed in the first 2 years of buying this misery. Once for an electronic gadget (approx Rs. 45000) that always kept the emission alarm on and put the car in safe mode, next for the steering gear which locked the steering (approx Rs. 65000 + life risk) and 3rd for the Turbo replacement (approx Rs. 120000).
If you think the snail is slow then you have surely not met Skoda warranty Service. In my 3rd warranty claim of the Turbo I was without a car for 1.5 months. If I put together the time my car remained at Skoda service centres for warranty problems, it totals up to 2.5 months in 2 years. As my bank loan is only 8 lacs with an instalment of Rs. 26000 per month, I have paid Rs. 65000 to the bank when I had no vehicle in my hand. At the same time I had to pay approximately Rs. 50000 to rent out another car in those 2.5 months. Be warned, these losses are not covered by warranty.
On one occasion my car smoked in the middle of the Kasara Ghats (between Nasik and Mumbai). I thought I would soon be barbequed so I jumped out of the car. Fortunately the car was only smoking and not on fire. I had to catch a flight from Mumbai but I was instead peddling my way down the Ghats of Kasara. The Skoda Toeing service (from JMD) picked up the car and fixed some problem which they said was with the AC.
In short SKODA has given me a totally defective piece with repetitive manufacturing defects burning my time, money and heart. I am not the only one here! If you still want some more proof, just google “skoda complains” or “skoda problems” and there are over 300 complaints on government website, apart from team bhp etc.
If you still want to buy a SKODA you are one of the following:
1) Suicidal
2) Fatally Masochist
3) Have a hefty life insurance
4) Like drilling holes in your own pocket
5) Have more money that one can spend
6) Time has no value
7) Love banging head on the wall
8) Share holder of SKODA AUTO
9) Clueless with no information gathering capability
10) Got a “friend (??)” or a “well-wisher (??)” (you know what I mean!)
If you have recently bought a Skoda you have an option to quickly get rid of it or test your patience like me but please don’t misguide your friend to buy one.
A friend told me, “the meaning of word SKODA in Czechoslovakian means “BAD.” Now what more hints do you need?
Vineet Majgaonkar
Managing Director
Armstrong mbp Ltd.
www.armstrongltd.com
e-mail: [protected]@armstrongltd.com
mobile: [protected]
I had purchased my Skoda Laura in 2006, right from the first few days the car started giving me trouble with not starting and lack of cooling from the air conditioning.. I kept complaining to the then dealer Santosh Garage (who claimed to be an authorized dealer at the time). I kept getting the answer that the car is ok and nothing wrong with it at all.

Recently the a/c started troubling me a lot and I took it to the new dealer (M/s Saga Auto, current dealer). They claim that the compressor and condenser needs to be changed, which is approx Rs. 80, 000. Now I wrote to the company complaining about this entire thing. I got a reply saying that we will send out a new part and you will be informed about this. After about 3 weeks and a few email, I got to know that the part has arrived. I spoke to the workshop again and they said they have sent out a report which was pending approval from Skoda India. Another 5 days go by without a reply and today finally I get a reply saying that this cannot be covered under the warranty (which is something everyone knew to begin with since the car is over 3 years old).

I am willing to take the legal route and take the company to court. If anyone else has had similar problems please do contact me... [protected]@goyalcrafts.com

nikunjm
    Apr 28, 2010

It was a dream car. I was so excited to finally get my hand on the Superb, after waiting for so long. And initially it lived up to its expectations. It rode smoothly, was full of features, and everything I was expecting it to be.

Then reality struck. One day while I was driving the car on the highway, enroute to Lucknow, the car suddenly stopped !! Can you imagine a Rs. 22 lac car, which is just 6 month old, stopping.

And the way it stopped was also extremely dangerous. I was speeding on the highway, and all of a sudden the gears are jammed and the car is out of control. I was lucky that it was early in the morning and there was no traffic, or else I would not have lived to tell the tale.

And then the ordeal started. I was initially not so angry. There might have been some issues. But the response of the Skoda officials made me realize that the company is not geared towards listening to its customers.

I researched the net, and It seems that it was a common problem !!! there were atleast 3 more cars that had suffered the same fate before me. I mean exactly the same fate.

It also means that the company knew the car has a defect and a potentially fatal defect at that. And the company chose to do nothing about it is so galling. My life means nothing to them.

And now all they are saying that we will extend your warranty by six months and we are sorry. I am not risking my life by getting into that car again. I hope this forum enlightens some more perspective customers. And if you are already a Skoda customer, may luck be on your side and god help you.
    I have had the same problem, just got my car last week after 22 days, I was driving uphill and suddenly gears were jammed, its a very risky situation if you are going uphill . Thank god there was no vehicle following me otherwise things would have been different .

I asked Krishna autos chandigarh Technician about this and there was same problem in 5 superb at chandigarh only, so i can Imagine the numbers Pan India .

We should do something to get this bad skoda recalled .

If you want details i can be reached at [protected]@netzens.com
    skoda superb has been a nightmare for mame also.

p shreenivas reddy
      Apr 27, 2010

I purchased skoda octovia from my friend in good condition on 1/4/2008 TN09AE3667.when my driver started the car all of a sudden both the air bags bursted out this was on 15/11/2008.we informed the insurance company & skoda company about this incident immediately.
      20/11/2008 company asked me to give the car to service center gurudev motors.after three months they said the air bags were tampered.it was a lie cos the insurance surveyer went and inspected & said that it is a manufacturing defected through a letter.we gave 2 notices but no reply,so we filed damages suit in HIGH COURT of TAMIL NADU.no proper reply at all.skoda company has useless customer service.till date my car is with them only nearly 18months.i have got a great loss,was under depression due to this,could not concentrate in my work and lost my job.i am in such a mental agony.hope atleast you will help me out from this car problem.

veeral jatin jani
        Apr 17, 2010

Respected Sir / Madam,
        I am a proud owner of a Skoda Octavia since 2005.
        its been a long journey and a tough one too but i appreciate the car's endurance power.
        the two main reasons why i bought a Skoda was its sturdiness and the economy factor and i must say i was not let down.
        I live in Ahmedabad and when i bought the car your dealership was with Cama motors and after some years it was given to torque motors
        i thought that this must be for the benefit of customers but no i was totally wrong.
        your new service station does not only charge us the sky but after doing that also their work is way below satisfaction
        i am DISAPPOINTED.and thats the least to say
        my tale of problems began when every time my car went for a service the bill was never below 30,000/-
        and after that also the car never functioned totally smoothly
        Since last 5 years i must have paid 4,00,000/- just for the services and repairs of my car and as you know sir this is no small amount- i can even buy a mid-size car with that money and a brand new one for that matter.-in case you have any doubts you can have your past records checked and see for yourself that this is no exaggeration.my car number is GJ-2-AC-7569.and i repeat i am from Ahmedabad,Gujarat, India.-and i am not the only one who is dissatisfied with this service station. I can provide you with a list of all the harrowed customers of torque.
        the second car that i own is a maruti swift and as you know that maruti stands no comparision against skoda but still the way they handle their customers problem makes me feel like a royalty.as far as customer satisfaction goes skoda needs a lesson or two from Maruti.
        and still i was happy with the car- but this time i just paid 31,000 Rs as service charge a week back and my car did not start 3 days back
        i got the battery checked which is working fine but still the car didnt start and admist all this your executive calls me to ask if i am happy with the service and i tell them the story as it is and ask them to send a mechanic but i just demanded that as its just been a week i should not be charged the breakdown charges on moral grounds.
        but i forgot that moral grounds apply only to people who have MORAL and Torque motors is definately not one of them.
        they said i will be charged and so i asked them for the email address to complain and they didnot even hesitate once and asked me to complain whatever i wish as if they were confident that my complains will land on deaf ears---and i fear that this is true.
        pls prove me right and prove my fears wrong.PLEASE.
        i could have gone to the press/court/consumer court with all this but i did not want to taint the cars name and fame as i still love that car a lot
        its not the car i have problems with-its with torque motors here in ahmedabad, Gujarat-India.
        looking forward to some action from your side...
        hoping
        VEERAL.
        [protected]-my phone number

Skoda/Octavia — Service About Dealer

I have one skoda octavia 07.Mainly about this car, I can't drive this car while night time, when its raining.A special type of fungus is appearing on th windshield glass.This complaint starts delivery time
        up to this period.(One and half year, 30000km)

The dealer in Kochi M/S Marikar Engineering is helpless in this matter.Anybody can help this matter please contact
        [protected]/[protected]

M.Y.NARENDRABALAJI
          Apr 15, 2010

eight months ago the compressor was replaced under warranty and again the compressor failed not even one year . according to then vehicle warranty is expired ,even the vehicle warranty is expired the compressor was fixed recently atleast worst come worst it should work for one year but failed .what iam supossed to do so that they replace it under warranty note this is the third compressor for the vehicle within three years my contact number is [protected]
          I had purchased my Skoda Laura in 2006, right from the first few days the car started giving me trouble with not starting and lack of cooling from the air conditioning.. I kept complaining to the then dealer Santosh Garage (who claimed to be an authorized dealer at the time). I kept getting the answer that the car is ok and nothing wrong with it at all.

Recently the a/c started troubling me a lot and I took it to the new dealer (M/s Saga Auto, current dealer). They claim that the compressor and condenser needs to be changed, which is approx Rs. 80, 000. Now I wrote to the company complaining about this entire thing. I got a reply saying that we will send out a new part and you will be informed about this. After about 3 weeks and a few email, I got to know that the part has arrived. I spoke to the workshop again and they said they have sent out a report which was pending approval from Skoda India. Another 5 days go by without a reply and today finally I get a reply saying that this cannot be covered under the warranty (which is something everyone knew to begin with since the car is over 3 years old).

I am willing to take the legal route and take the company to court. If anyone else has had similar problems please do contact me... [protected]@goyalcrafts.com

Skoda Laura Car — not according to promise or publicity

I have purchased a new skoda laura car from M/S TORQUE AUTOMOTIVE PVT. LTD. MEHSANA. ON 16/03/2011 CHASIS NO.TMBCEM1Z0AA156649 Engine no. CLC 006410 HAVING SILVER COLOR.
          Since the first day it stared giving me all sorts of problem. I time and again brought this to the notice of company without any actions what so ever. (1) The mileage of the car is not even to the mark of common parameters leave the claims company is making.(2) In night hour visibility of the driver wind shield becomes almost zero despite the Air conditioning system is on. (3) Air conditioning system of the car is not upto the satisfactory from the first day it self.
          I have left my car at the company's service station at Ahmedabad since 26 th may .company executive on that day was in total agreement with me. I was asked to left the car as no parts or anything is available with the station now. My car is lying there since that day company personels from that day onwards has neither contacted me nor has given any hearing what so ever.
          Car is at Ahmedabad work shop vide no. 1499. service adviser is Ashish Chintan.Expected delivery date is 28/05/2011.

GPRastogi
            Apr 14, 2010

Address: West Delhi, Delhi

Sent: Tuesday, March 09, 2010 8:59 AM
            To: 'roman.[protected]@skoda-auto.cz'; 'reinhard.[protected]@skoda-auto.cz'
            Cc: 'Sudhir, Srinivas'; 'Syed, Yaser'; 'Agrawal, Shrivatsa'
            Subject: RE: Valuable Feedback from on Pathetic After Sales Customer Service of Group Company SKODA INDIA

Dear Roman Havlasek / Reinhard Jung,

1) I am awaiting your reply on my concerns.

2) As is evident from the reply of Skoda India, instead of admitting their fault and utterly unprofessional work done and attitude of the dealer repeatedly , they have not taken any action against the dealer, have
            joined hands together in pinpointing the blame on the customer on a flimsy issue that also for the third time, ignoring the repeated mistakes committed earlier two times. Rather than helping the customer, the entire
            attitude is to how to 'blame' the customer and get away from their own responsibility and accountability.

If this is untrue, I would like to know what action has been taken against the concerned officials and the Giriraj Motors Service Manager Mr. Imran. What is the assurance that in future I will get a good
            service from them and will not have to go to them repeatedly for the same job. That they will not disconnect my phone calls and will not keep the car every time in Workshop for more than one week. That
            the car's Electrical Systems not fail again. CAN ANYBODY GIVE ME THIS ASSURANCE.

3) Here are some other blogs against the specific dealer 'Giriraj Motors' for you to think about. Can so many consumers be wrong or one or two of your 'officials' in Skoda India and Giriraj Motors can be right :

http://www.consumercomplaints.in/complaints/giriraj-motors-pvt-ltd-gurgaon-c2294...
            http://www.carwale.com/forums/viewthread-4256.html
            http://www.mywoes.com/complaintdetail.asp?complaintid=7800
            http://www.consumercourt.in/car/4876-dangerously-inefficient-car-skoda-fabia-roa...
            http://ndtvauto.carwale.com/Forums/ViewThread-15156.html
            http://www.financialexpress.com/news/skoda-told-to-replace-faulty-car-or-pay-rs-...

4) Do you also want me to publish this entire correspondence with your Board of Directors on these Blogs, create a 'Do not Buy Skoda' page on Facebook / Orkut and putting all these blogs on it and approach Court
            of Law for Legal Remedies.

5) I am a proud owner of 'Skoda Brand Car' and want to get good service henceforth, therefore I am pursuing the matter with you, seeking your cooperation in getting the issue resolved.

GP Rastogi

Sent: Monday, March 08, 2010 7:35 PM
            To: Agrawal, Shrivatsa; roman.[protected]@skoda-auto.cz
            Cc: Sudhir, Srinivas; Syed, Yaser; martin.[protected]@volkswagen.de; reinhard.[protected]@skoda-auto.cz
            Subject: Re: Valuable Feedback from on Pathetic After Sales Customer Service of Group Company SKODA INDIA

Dear Roman Havlasek,

The below mentioned below totally unsatisfactory reply further confirms my complaint on unprofessional conduct of Skoda India and its dealers.

Please consider the following facts I had mentioned in my original email which have been unanswered, instead I am being blamed :

1) The Car's Electrical Systems have failed for the THIRD TIME. In the third time they are blaming me for tampering with wiring.
            Why did it FAIL FIRST TWO TIMES. Why my car had to go to the same Giriraj Motors TWICE for the same job.

What is the reliability that the electrical systems which have failed THREE TIMES WILL NOT FAIL AGAIN ?

2) Why do they keep the car in Workshop for 5-7 days for every time I claim insurance. Is it not a very long IDLE TIME ?

3) Why did Griraj Motors Service Manager and their Service Representatives, Jasvinder repeatedly do not take my phone calls,
            they disconnect the calls when I call them on different times.

4) Even on Complaining to Skoda India Headquarters everything, they also gave me a ticket no, and on contacting them again and
            again I did not hear from any Skoda India official. Why do I had to escalate the matter to Skoda Europe.

5) Like me there are several other frustrated Indian customers. To verify yourself, please refer to these blogs :

(a) http://www.consumercourtforum.in/f61/service-skoda-octavia-3581/

(b) http://ndtvauto.carwale.com/Forums/ViewThread-10880.html

(c) http://www.consumercomplaints.in/complaints/p-d-prasad-amp-sons-pvt-ltd-c285916....

PLEASE ANSWER THESE QUESTIONS, if you are serious about building Skoda and Volkswagan as a Quality Brand in India.

GP
            2010/3/8 Agrawal, Shrivatsa <Shrivatsa.[protected]@skoda-auto.co.in>
            Dear Mr.GP,

At the very outset we would like to thank you for patronizing our product and apologise for the inconvenience caused to your good selves due to concern with your vehicle bearing registration no. HR26AW4508.

We would like to draw your kind attention towards the fact that the vehicle electrical system is malfunctioning due to tampering with the wiring system. The same is evident from the attached photographs showing the tampering with the vehicle wiring system and fuse box.

Please be informed that we do not recommend for the fitment o[censored]nauthorized accessories by tampering of the wiring system as it may lead to frequent malfunction of the entire vehicle electrical system and in extreme case may lead to short circuit. Moreover, as per our warranty policy the warranty of the vehicle gets void if any of the vehicle system is tampered or repaired at unauthorized workshop.

We apologise for your bitter experience with our 24hrs help line and would like to thank you for your feedback on the same, which will enable us to further improve upon our system.

We once again would like to thank your good selves for your valuable feedback and regret to inform that we will not be able to support in carrying out repairs arising due to vehicle tampered electrical system malfunction.

Look forward to your trust and understanding on the same and assure you of our best services at all times.

S.K. Agrawal | After Sales
            ŠKODA AUTO India Pvt. Ltd.
            5th Floor, Tower ‘A’, Signature Towers, South City-1, NH-8, Gurgaon-122001. India
            shrivatsa.[protected]@skoda-auto.co.in | www.skoda-auto.co.in | www.skoda-auto.com
            Error! Filename not specified.

Von: G.P.Rastogi [mailto:[protected]@airtelmail.in]
            Gesendet: Freitag, 5. März 2010 19:01
            An: Jung, Reinhard (G); Dierkes, Klaus (Z); Fleger, Reinhard (P); karlheinz.[protected]@skoda-auto.cz; Kintscher, Holger (E); Scholz, Eckhard Dr. (T)
            Betreff: Valuable Feedback from on Pathetic After Sales Customer Service of Group Company SKODA INDIA
            Wichtigkeit: Hoch

I AM SENDING THIS EMAILTO YOU WITH HIGH HOPES OF RESOLUTION OF MY PROBLEM & Kindly let me know if you have received this EMAIL, Though I have sent an email to 'roman.[protected]@skoda-auto.cz' , but I am so harassed as a customer that I FEEL YOU MUST KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON INSIDE ONE OF YOUR GROUP COMPANIES SKODA INDIA.

Please go through the attached email and help me.

GP
            Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2010 8:53 PM
            To: 'roman.[protected]@skoda-auto.cz'
            Cc: '[protected]@misupport.net'
            Subject: URGENT & CRUCIAL : Complaint against extremely poor Skoda After Sales Service by SKODA INDIA HEADQUARTERS AND GIRIRAJ MOTORS, Gurgaon (near DELHI)
            Importance: High

My Name is G.P.Rastogi (call me "GP") and I had purchased Skoda Laura L&K one year back.

In the past 30 days, cars Electrical Systems / Computers have failed 3 times on 3 different occasions, the ABS, Electromechanical Steering and other Sensors continue to glow on ignition and the car fails to start, leaving me stranded on the road.

1) I have taken the car to the Dealer Giriraj Motors, Gurgaon (Service Manager, Mr.Imran - Mobile No : +91-[protected]) several times, he temporarily fixes the problem and the problem occurs again. When I call him on his Mobile
            he disconnects my call or switches off the mobile. Never gives me an update on the status of the car. I have call him several times to get a simple task done.
            They do not seem to know how to permanently fix the problem. This time Mr. Imran is giving me the excuse since I got a Reverse Parking Camera fitted, the problem occurred. Even if I take his this ridiculous excuse why did the
            problem occurred first two times. Moreover when I was visiting the workshop almost every 3 months and getting the car checked.

2) Whenever car goes to the above mentioned dealer and I have to claim insurance, they do not repair the car before 5 to 7 days which is very long idle time. When I call their Service Representatives to enquire about the status
            they disconnect the phone. Mr. Jasvinder (Mobile No : +91-[protected]).

3) Both Giriraj Motors and Skoda India Headquarters have 24 hours helpline (+[protected]. When I called them for first time no one helped. Skoda Headquarters put phone off the hook at night after my call so that no one
            disturbs them in the sleep .
            When the car's computer's failed 3rd time and I was stranded in a basement parking and after several calls to Giriraj Motors Helpline, Mr.Imran their Service manager as usual did not attend the calls, I contacted Skoda
            Headquarters Helpline and after 5 hours a crane was provided after 10 telephone calls.
            4) Skoda India Headquarters registered a complaint on 2nd March'2010 and gave me Ticket No : 02C103410 and said Skoda India official would revert to me a solution, next day morning . Till date no one has reverted back, when I
            called up Skoda India Headquarters and asked for an email-id of official to escalate the matter, they said they cannot help. I called up Giriraj Motors Service manager, Mr. Imran, he switched off his mobile, and since I am
            claiming insurance for a small dent they are saying the car will get delivered only on Monday (8th March) which reached their workshop on 2nd march night (after 7 days).

There have been several other problems like Car Tyres having developed bubbles under warranty for which I had pay 60% cost.

In a nutshell there has been a total breakdown of Skoda After Sales Service, as a customer I am being harassed to the maximum due to the laziness and utter unprofessionalism and disregard for the customer by Skoda India Headquarters and Giriraj Motors Workshop.

I want Skoda India to buy back my Skoda so that I can buy a car of another company having good customer service.

Hope you will address my concerns.

G.P.Rastogi

Fabia — Pathetic after sales experience, pathetic Product

Skoda India and their dealers DO NOT CARE a damn about their customers.

I bought a Fabia in June 09, and regret every moment. My complaint was badly handled right from the lady who is their "After Sales" contact person on their mail.

After that I got a "survey" call wherein I explained everything again, I got a Complaint number, and thought that luck has smiled at last. But after 3 weeks, the complaint number has effected nothing.

Complete insensitivity to the customer. I think Skoda is pulling a fast one on Indian consumers.

The car is not made for Indians at all - they just force it down our throats. The levers are all designed for LHD cars, The bonnet can be opened only by the co-driver. Insensitivity at its best.

Fabia problems :

The window mechanism button console can be picked out by a 10 year old. Skoda dealer confirmend that this is the problem with EVERY FABIA, and Skoda is aware.

Bonnet opening lever can be pulled out by a 7 year old. Skoda dealer says that the snap fit does not snap fit sometimes! Sorry ! nothing can be done about it.

Snap fit fastners of the break light mounted on the rear windscreen are broken when the car is delivered

Best part is that the dealer person came to my house 4 weeks back and clicked pictures with his phone - no action yet.

My Skoda India experience I can understand why Skoda is an unpreferred brand in Europe.

Gurudas
            I agree with you fully as unfortunately we have also got Skoda Octavia and the servise center in Bangalore are useless. They take out original parts form the vehicle and then say it was not there at all when you gave the car. They replace the parts with old parts and charge for new. The service is not at all satisfactory.
            On top of that the General manger Mr. Praveen in M/S vinayaka is so rude nad uses such bad language and threatens you as well, if you lodge a complaint.
            The answer to your compalints is do not bring the car for servicing if you dont like our service.
            No one till the top listens to anything and i fail to understand whom to approach
            i agree with your post too Mr.Rastogi as i have skoda laura and the service centre in gurgaon ...is not providing their services satisfactorily.Even skoda's management is also the worst one ...no one give a ear to customer's complain...i appericiate your effort to focus limelight on the skoda's irresponsible and unsatisfactory customrization...
            keeping the car for 20 days at workshop still not able to trace the problem for the rear hood noise. instead of solving the problem they have increased the problem and made it more difficult. now rain water has started leaking. carpet has started smelling. very poor quality of work done by autobahnn mumbai. i guess skoda india belives only in sales and not after sales.
            hi i am venkata subba jois
            i have puchased a yeti .my problem is that my purchase invoice was raised on 30 nov 2011 but my pruchase was on 2nd dec 2011.i ask them to correct it and they send me the corrected invoice on 23rd dec after calling them several times in which a new mistake is done in numbers there is a different amount mentioned and in words there is a different amount mentioned. Now looking at all the above complaints i am worried what kind of service i may get god must help me.

Sanjeet Singh Chadha
              Apr 14, 2010

Address: South Delhi, Delhi

15/04/2010

Skoda Auto India Private Limited
              A – 1 / 1, M.I.D.C, Five Star Ind. Area,
              Shendra, Aurangabad – 431 201

Sub: AC of Skoda Laura not working.

I have a Skoda Laura, Registration No. DL 3C AY 4356. The AC of this vehicle is not working. Skoda Laura is a premium segment car; an efficient AC is a standard deliverable even for small segment cars. The AC of Skoda Laura is expected to work efficiently.

I had visited the following authorized service stations to get the non working AC corrected.

1. Silver Tone Motors Pvt. Ltd., New Delhi
              2. Continental Auto Services., New Delhi

It was a surprise for me that every second Skoda Laura has a defect in the AC Compressor. It seems to be a manufacturing defect. It is not expected from a global brand like Skoda to continue selling products with a manufacturing defect in the market. On visiting the website www.consumercomplaints.in, it was further proved that there are many more aggrieved customers like me suffering the same defect. It was a testimony to the fact that this is a manufacturing defect.

It seems after spending a huge amount of money on Skoda Laura, one is buying tension rather than comfort.

In line with maintaining the global tradition & the tagline that says “Obsessed with Quality”, I request you to kindly replace the AC of the above vehicle immediately.

Thanking you & an early action will be highly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Sanjeet Singh Chadha
              Office
              6 / 32 – B, Jangpura – B,
              New Delhi – 110014
              M:[protected]
              Ph:[protected]
              Email: [protected]@yahoo.com

KAMESHWAR GUMBER
                Apr 12, 2010

I am an advocate at Delhi and one of my clients has got problems with SKODA FABIA and i am going to initiate legal proceedings against SKODA. anyone who wishes to join hands can contact my office

AE-64(BASEMENT), SHALIMAR BAGH, DELHI-110088, [[protected]:30 to 8:30] and personal cell no. is [protected].
                i would like to join hands in filling case against Skoda since i am facing lots of problems
                Hi, For what reasons you have filed the suit and what is the present status.

ankit Bhatia
                  Apr 11, 2010

Dear all,
                  Never in your life make the mistake of buying a skoda fabia petrol in india. I bought my car on my bday on 4th september 2009. from day 1 i had a wheel allignment problem. So 1st week of purchase and my car was in the garage. They filled extra air in one of the tyres and gave the car back sayin the allignment was done.

2 weeks later a clutch problem arises, so once again the car is at the workshop for some 2 days. After the car comes back the allignment is off again...

Used it with for 3-4 months with sending it again and again for these 2 problems.
                  6 months later send it for servicing and again after that these two problems along with a NEW PROBLEM arise. Suddenly the average drops to 5km/l . So i send the car back and they get back to me after 2 days saying there is a problem in the engine. The service executive Mr.nawaz there is the biggest ***** and knws nothing. He never calls back. One has to keep calling.
                  Anyways they say the car will have to be kept for 10-12 days to do the engine up. In the mean while i email all the skoda people, I called the showroom and fired them, i keep asking Mr.nawaz but absolutely no repsponse from anyone. The customer head calls me and asks some 2 random questions and hangs up. He does not respond to his mails. after 12 days Mr.nawaz says it will take another 2 days. So again after firing alot they suddenly gimme the car on the 12th day itself.
                  1 month later once again the same allgnment problem cropped up. I gave the car 2 days ago to get it done. They send the car back without it being done. Now as of today once again the average has dropped to 5km/l . . . . . . I am fed up of this F#@!#!@# company. Please do not buy any autobahn skoda vehicle especially the fabia.
                  I am an advocate at Delhi and one of my clients has got problems with SKODA FABIA and i am going to initiate legal proceedings against SKODA. anyone who wishes to join hands can contact my office

AE-64(BASEMENT), SHALIMAR BAGH, DELHI-110088, [[protected]:30 to 8:30] and personal cell no. is [protected].

shaktigram udhyod sansthan
                    Apr 3, 2010

Address: Agra, Uttar Pradesh

FEW DAYS BACK I HAVE GIVEN MY CAR FOR SERVICE AND ASKED TO REPAIR THE A.C. THEY DELIVERED IT BACK TO ME SAYING THAT IT HAS BEEN REPAIRED.BUT FROM THE DAY OF DELIVERY ITSELF THE A.C. IS NOT WORKING.I TRIED TO COMPLAINT TO SHEEL AUTO WORKSHOP AT AGRA , UTTR PRADESH . I WOULD LET YOU TO KNOW THAT OUR CAR IS UNDER WARENTY ,IN CASE OF ANY PROBLEM KINDLY CONTACT TO MRS. RAKESH GUPTA [protected].
                    Sub:Replacement of Airconditioner Compressor of Skoda-Laura Reg No;KL7 BH 7344

I have purchased a Skoda-Laura car from M/S Marikar Motors, Kochi on 21/4/2008. Few days later it was noticed that the cooling of the Air conditioner was irregular and the matter was reported during the Service check up at M/S Marikar Engineers.Every time the filter cleaning was done up and was told that every thing O.K. But, the irregularity of cooling was still there and recently I have noticed that its frequency has increased.
                    On 24th March 2011 I was asked to bring my car for a general checkup and after the inspection I was told that the AC complaint is due to the malfunctioning of the AC compressor and need to be replaced at my cost.
                    It certainly means that the AC compressor was malfunctioning from the very beginning itself and the frequency of defect increased recently. Therefore, it is requested to replace the compressor free of cost because, it had inherent fault from the purchase date itself. Kindly, investigate the matter and instruct your service team to replace the compressor immediately.

For Guardian electronics-cochin

(P.M Rasheed)
                    Proprietor
                    MOB;[protected]

deepakgarg22784
                      from Jind, Haryana
                      Mar 31, 2010

Address: Haryana

respected sir/madam,
                      i purchased a new skoda octavia from sidak automobiles karnal in janurary 2010. Registration no. is HR99EN(TEMP)0022. The showroom of the company from my place is 60-70 kms. away. The brand new spare tyre of my car was airless. i complained to company about that matter,they told me to come company. i visited three times to company, 1st time they told me that they forgot to fill air in to the tyre,they filled the tyre with air. after 4-5 days i seen my spare tyre was again in airless mode. i again complainted to company,then the service manager AJAY kapoor told me that they will write to the tyre company (GOODYEAR) 4 this matter. maine unse kha ki aap mujhe tyre chnge kar dijiye,naa hi ye tyre maine use kiya. par company ne jwab de gya. 3-4 din pehle phir mein company gya tyre ke luye. tab wahan unhone kha ki tyre mein jo weight dala jata hai wo tyre ke bich mein the isliye hawa nikal jati thi, ab humne thik kar diya hai. par kal phir dekha to wahi position thi, jo ki pehle thi.all the staff of service department is worst. i m the customer of 12 lakh amount car,par service looks like 0 paisa amount. i m also worried about the services of my car,because i m not satisfy with sidak automobiles.Please change my spare tyre as soon as possible, i m riding that car from 3 months without spare tyre. kabhi bhi koi mishappening ho skti hai.
                      thanking you.
                      DEEPAK GARG
                      m/s m.c.collection,
                      pt. jai parkash market,
                      gurudwara road,
                      pehowa.

Dr Nitin Gupta
                        Mar 29, 2010

Address: Patiala, Punjab

ubject: my experience with skoda and skoda laura

I bought my skoda laura L&K, MT with great joy and pride on 14th March 2007 and had high expectations from the car and its company. I would like to share my experience over the years with you:

1. Only a few days after the purchase- Car failed to start at my workplace. I contacted the workshop and the engineer came with a service battery and the car was taken to the workshop. Report: Battery connectors were loose (portrays the kind of quality check before delivery of a new car- not to mention the top model of the variant)

2. AIr Bag fault- 4-5 times over 3 years- repaired/Cables/connectors changed multiple times

3. Suspension-uncomfortable ride- addressed during 1st 10,000 KM's- Some cleaning done. After the warranty got over in march 2008- Advised replacement in April 2008- Shockers replaced at full cost ( No responsibility taken by Skoda)

3. AC cooling- a constant complaint at every service

Report: working ok- every time. I noticed that after about 1 year of purchase the cooling was gradually going down, to the extent that the rear seat ac duct was always throwing warm air- The same was communicated to the workshop, but i was told that things are fine.

Not until Nov last year when the AC completely broke down and i was told to get it replaced. I requested the workshop to communicate the matter with skoda india as this was a problem ever since the car was purchased. The team at krishna auto told me that the matter was put to skoda india and the request has been denied as my car had already done more than 70,000KM's.

I was told that the AC compressor and the condensor needs to be changed and i have to shell out about 70,000( No responsibility taken by Skoda)

I tried to enquire as to what was the need to change the condensor: No relevant or convincing answer( Company policy it seems)

Harassed and distressed i contacted few of my friends who have skoda laura and looked up on the net for a solution.

Answer was very clear

Skoda laura has been having the problem with its air conditioning right from the very beginning and with almost all the cars sold- (Countless number of dissatisfied customers on indian roads- but skoda just wants to delay the issues till the warranty and its responsibility is over)

I then came to know from one of my friend that all that is required is to change the AC compressor- Which i got done from a local workshop- Sanden compressor installed at Rs 20,000 and working great for last 3 months, Cooling even better than the original compressor- Just proves that it was never required to change the condensor which you were very adament

The reason that i am writing to you at this stage is to express my dissatisfaction with the company for the reasons:

1. Failing to take responsibility with a faulty product( When Honda and Toyota can admit and recall their vehicles all around the world to replace faulty products- Why can't Skoda india)

2. Misguidance and over charging for replacement of parts and replacing parts that donot need replacement

3. Other frequent problems with skoda laura- Horn, AC condensor cooling fan, Turbo, clutch plates ..etc. the list is endless; as are the unsatisfied costumers

I have deep regards for the engineers at krishna auto chandigarh who have tried to help me at every step and repeatedly provide service for the everlasting problems.

Kindly take note of above and try rescue the fading charm, integrity and reliability of skoda india. Just as i heard in a car show that don't ever buy a skoda laura the reason" if you have one and take it to the workshop, you might enter in a suit or pants, but would come out in shorts"

Yes truely The Air conditioner has low cooling problem.
                        I also faced the same problem in hot summer. So I installed a condenser cooling fan in front of the AC condenser and Found that the extra fan has made the car usable.
                        The radiator cooling fans have life of about 80, 000Km, and after that the smaller fan will fail first.
                        To use a Laura Car
                        You need to be technical person.
                        Occasional check the car.
                        Be vigilant not to get your pocket drained to the dealer un necessarly.
                        The car company Skoda is not at all concerned for the failures and suffering customers.
                        I am facing the same problem baught my skoda laura in oct 2010..the air conditioning just doesnot work since than, when i tried to go to court they changed the compressor in sep 2012 but again it didnt go very well, had my car garaged at krishna auto for days iin 2013. N now in may this year 2014 the AC completley break down so i contacted krishna auto my dealer again they kept the car in the workshop again n said the compressor needed to b replaced.. I am fighting them to replace it u der warrenty bcoz car is merely 40 months old the part they changed is not evn 18 months...
                        If somone else is facing the same problem pls cAll me at [protected] or email me at [protected]@gmail.com

aslamd
                          from Raia, Goa
                          Mar 22, 2010

I purchased a skoda in 2 nd week of Aug 2009, and immediately brought to the dealers attention about light scratches on the windscreen which are not easily visible unless one looks really hard. The dealer nor the Company oficials have responded to my several e-mails and one Mr Sudir Srinivas had the audacity to tell me blatantly that I was free to go to the Consumer Forum as his Company had a team of lawyers at their behest to handle customers complaints like mine.I requested hiim for e-mail addresses of all Skoda Top Officials in Sales,Marketing & Service sections in India & Europe too. The Company definitely has an attitude problem and it has travelled down to the Service section which is not at all interested in solving customer problems. Will the India Boss of Skoda plz look into this matter or is persecution and disrespect for Customers a way of life at Skoda India? I intend to pursue this matter till it reaches a logical and legal conclusion.
                          Aslam Damania - Goa
                          0091-[protected].
                          looks like officials at skoda are least boathered still not replied to my mails nor responded in rectifying the problems in my car, the dealer priority motors tried their best, but no body from skoda is comming forward, all the orther car companys/manufacturers are sending their service representitives to the respective dealer, to cheak on various problems faced by their respective dealership & customers, why is skoda behaving in this manner ?
                          i think this company has employed funny people ?, they are ...i do not have words, i have communicated sevral times, but no proper reply, i think they should be now be penalised

Mukesh Jain
                            Mar 13, 2010

We have purchased a skoda fibia car from the agra dealer shiel ventures in 2008 from the first service it came in our notice that the dealer is working with unskilled labour without experiance of skoda cars maintainance. In last service we experianced that they have charged app 3000 rs of labour for for changing of bush and they have charged a huge amount for internal cleaning and done the extreme today when we asked for our car which was sent on 5th march 2010 and on the job card delevary date was 11th of march 2010 on 11th they told us for 13th and when we called today they gave us the time of 13th and when we told them that we will complaint on company sight they called my today itserlf to pickup the car when my driver reached the service workshop at the time of taking delivary the antina of the car was broken and at the time we left the car it was not broken if it has been broken it should have been mentioned in the job card but it was not so. the workshop manager told my driver that you have to take the delivary with the broken antina and when he refused to do so he was sent back by the workshop manager. Kindly look in the matter at earliest it will be very kind of you.

RNRCC
                              Mar 5, 2010

Dear SKODA Global & India Team,

Problem Statement: Poor service/Lack of responsibility by Mahavir dealer, Poor performance of SKODA Fabia vehicle.

Technical Issues in Brief:
                              1.FM Auto Channel Changing – Issue exists from 1.5 yrs, promised several times to replace – Never Fixed
                              2.A/C not working – Problem occurred twice in 1.5 years – Fixed Twice
                              3.Breaks not working properly – Problem occurred twice in 1.5 years – Fixed Twice

Problems with Dealer: Dealing with service center Mahavir Auto, Hyderabad.

Lack of responsibility – Never done the work completely and efficiently

False promises and lack of co-ordination – Every time they promise to replace stereo, later says SKODA don’t have single piece where FM working properly.

Creates additional problems every time I take vehicle to service center – First time they put scratches on left door black strip near glass. Today they ‘Horn’ is not working.

Lack of technical expertise – Everyone gives their own reason for every problem, ex: Breaks issue, FM issue

Recent Issue:

I have taken my car to service center on Wednesday, 3rd March 2010, for rectifying problems related to A/C (second time in an year), breaks (second time in a year) and FM (problem from the day one…).

They have rectified A/C issues (not cooling the car at 9am at max fan and min temp) after replacing the A/C filter, not sure why it is damaged/choked so quickly!!!!

They told they have rectified breaks issue (severe hammering sound when we apply breaks on un-even surfaces)

They promised me to replace stereo last week when I met Farooq (The Mahavir Service head) personally, but today their technician says that entire SKODA doesn’t have stereo where there is no FM issue, so they can’t replace with new one.

Instead of resolving the existing issues, they have added new problem that HORN is not working. It was working properly when I handed over the car for them for the above issues. I have reported this problem immediately after receiving the vehicle (in front of driver who brought vehicle), the response I got from them is “HORN” is not under warranty, so they can’t do anything.

It doesn’t matter to me whether HORN in under warranty or not, because when I handed over the vehicle to them it was working properly, but when they returned it was not working.

I have had an argument with their service manager to convince him to do the needful. They ask me to bring the vehicle again to their shop for their mistakes, else I had to pay for them (for pick up n drop). I was not ready to pay the bill till they clear the issue related to HORN, but the service manager says we don’t need your money and we don’t fix your issue. We don’t want to send any technician. It looks like they are doing some charity work for me.

In the past I had exchanged more than 15 mails (attached many of them) so far on FM stereo issues, every time their Service Head makes some false promises; once I take vehicle to them they never do what they have promised.

In the end, I seriously regret for buying SKODA Fabia, not only money which I lost, but also the trust on global brand and had to face sever harassment from dealer in Andhra Pradesh, India.

Hope either things will improve in future.

B Jagadish
                                Feb 24, 2010

Hi Sudhir,

Neither i have received firm delivery date nor a convincing reply mail from either of the recipients,

Could you answer couple of questions?

1. What is the root cause for the break down?
                                2. What is the guarantee that my vehicle will not break down once again?
                                3. What steps are you going to take to rebuild the customer confidence?
                                4. How can such break down occur when the odo meter shows 22000 kms?
                                5. How to ensure that the replaced spares are of genuine skoda parts? What is the guarantee or warranty for the parts replaced?
                                6. Could you provide us the Parent company's escalation matrix (e-mail addresses and contact nos.)?

I have already undergone the mental agony for past 8 days without my vehilce,
                                1. I was unable to reach office on time
                                2. I was unable to attend the client requests on time
                                3. I was unable to attend Business meetings
                                4. I was unable to take important business decisions on time
                                5. I was unable to take my family for weekly outings
                                6. I was unable to attend family functions / party
                                7. I was unable to meet my very close and Business friends

How are you going to compensate?
                                1. Either by providing a pick up, drop service
                                2. Or by providing a courtesy car
                                3. Or by reimbursing the amount spent for hiring taxi i.e (1400 X no. of days till delivery date)
                                4. Or by refunding in full (recommended)

Note:
                                I did not visit any of the below blogs before making a decision to go for SKODA because it was my passion to own a SKODA product. Now i am frustrated to the core.

to name a few:

Consumer compalints website
                                BHP
                                Car wale
                                mouth shut

B Jagadish
                                  Feb 24, 2010

Sudhir,

Incontinuation to followup with the dealer regarding the receipt of spares, i was taken aback to know that out of 5 spares 2 have not been approved.
                                  WHAT IS HAPPENING AT YOUR END, HOW LONG SHOULD I WAIT FOR THE DELIVERY?

Jagadish. B

RMG SAP Basis / Security
                                  Steria India Ltd.
                                  CUG: 838-4767
                                  Land Line: +[protected]
                                  Extn.: 4767
                                  e-mail: Jagadish.[protected]@steria.co.in

Think before you print - Steria is committed to supporting a sustainable world

"Sudhir, Srinivas" <Srinivas.[protected]@skoda-auto.co.in>
                                  23 February 2010 10:08 ZE5B
                                  <Jagadish.[protected]@steria.co.in>
                                  cc
                                  "CRE- GURUDEV MOTORS" <[protected]@gurudevmotors.com>
                                  Subject
                                  RE: Skoda Fabia TDI <TN 02 AH 7113>

Dear Mr. Jagadish,

At the outset would like to thank you for patronizing our product and apologize for the inconvenience caused due to concern in the vehicle.

we would like to inform your good selves that the requires spare parts as ordered by our dealership will be dispatched today.

We have asked our dealership to keep your good selves updated with the status.

Request your understanding on the same and assuring our best services at all times.

Best Regards

Srinivas Sudhir
                                  Customer Care

SkodaAuto India Private Ltd
                                  A1/1,Five Star Industrial Estate,
                                  Shendra,MIDC,Aurangabad-431201
                                  Tel: +[protected]
                                  Fax:+[protected]
                                  E-mail:srinivas.[protected]@skoda-auto.co.in

-----Original Message-----
                                  From: Jagadish.[protected]@steria.co.in [mailto:Jagadish.[protected]@steria.co.in]
                                  Sent: Friday, February 19, 2010 3:39 PM
                                  To: [protected]@misupport.net
                                  Subject: Skoda Fabia TDI <TN 02 AH 7113>

I had sent my vehicle for 2nd free service with gear box complaint on
                                  Monday 15/02/2010, could you let me know when can i expect the delivery of
                                  my vehicle?

I am commuting to office using call taxi which is costing me around Rs.
                                  1400 / per day (95 kms roundtrip). I am finding it very difficult to meet
                                  my day today travel needs without my vehicle. Please put yoursolves into my
                                  shoes and rectify the same without any delay.

I need a standby vehicle till i receive my one after service.

If you are uanble to resolve this problem before monday[protected],
                                  kindly refund my money in full, so that i can plan and select for GOOD,
                                  SERVICE ORIENTED, CUSTOMER FOCUSSED vendor like (MARUTI / HYUNDAI / HONDA).

Thanks in advance for your understanding and cooperation.

Note:
                                  I have copied in BCC about 37 friends of mine who are planning to consider
                                  skoda as their 2nd car.

Jagadish. B

Think before you print - Steria is committed to supporting a sustainable
                                  world

This email originates from Steria*. It, and any attachments, may contain confidential information and may be subject to copyright or other intellectual property rights. It is only for the use of the addressee(s). You may not copy, forward, disclose, save or otherwise use it in any way if you are not the addressee(s) or responsible for delivery.
                                  If you receive this email by mistake, please advise the sender and cancel it immediately.
                                  Steria may monitor the content of emails within its network to ensure compliance with its policies and procedures.
                                  Any email is susceptible to alteration and its integrity cannot be assured. Steria shall not be liable if the message is altered, modified, falsified, or edited.
                                  _____________________________________________________
                                  * Steria Limited, number 4077975;
                                  Steria Recruitment Limited, number 1437998.
                                  Registered in England and Wales; registered office Three Cherry Trees Lane, Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire HP2 7AH

Malini Sanghvi
                                    Feb 8, 2010

CAR DETAILS : MODEL : SUPERB ELEGANCE 1.8 TSI

WE PAID FULL ADVANCE IN DECEMBER AND GOT THE DELIVERY AFTER ONE MONTH ON 29TH JAN 10, TODAY FIRST DAY WE TOOK THE CAR AND AC WAS NOT WORKING.WE CALLED UP DEALER SINCE MORNING MANY TIMES , HIS TECHNICIAN CAME AND CHECKED AND SAID THE CAR NEEDS TO BE CHECKED ON COMPUTER AND HENCE SENT TO THEIR GARAGE AT ANDHERI.

DO YOU SUPPLY SUCH DIFFECTIVE CAR AND WITHOUT PROPER QUALITY CHECKS ??

No feed back , no information.you have both our money and car.Kindly Refund our total money paid with interest or replace the car at the earliest.

PLEASE REPLACE THE CAR OR REFUND THE TOTAL AMOUNT PAID..

Dealing with these people I clearly see that there is no after sales service provided by SKODA INDIA and they are just making a fool/mockery of the customer

Please see the corrupt practices going on at Škoda Auto India Pvt. Ltd. They are not willing to come on record and say anything.
                                    yes aircon is defective and these guys have a solution I was offered.

close the 3 centre vents and cooling will increase 300%..

any takers, what anbout the passengers sitting in front???

John Smallwood
                                      Feb 4, 2010

I bought the skoda fabia from a honda garage in barnsley it was a 53 plate tdi, after the six month waranty had expired thats when the problems started.
                                      1) crankshaft sensor needs replacing
                                      2) camshaft sensor needs replacing
                                      3) base of engine needs replacing
                                      this was due to someone putting the belt on incorrectly ive been in touch with both skoda and honda to help me pay for the work done on the car but both said they wouldnt pay anything the total so far £5,000 which is disgusting

p.jayakumar
                                        from Madurai, Tamil Nadu
                                        Jan 30, 2010

Here with we enclosed the mail copy to skoda auto india about our problem in the vechile TN39 AR 2224
                                        jayakumar to skoda
                                        We wolul like to you inform you we purchased our vehicle dtd[protected] we agree our warranty period is completed now but in your mail you are saying the warranty is crossed more than 11 months but you rcvd wrong information from your deler ship so pls check. at the time of service dtd[protected]kms)we informed there is A/C problem but we found the same problem after the service. again we sent the vechile to dealer for particular A/C problem dtd[protected] at that time they corrected the A/c cooling but they informed there are some problem in A/C recirculation switch at that time they don't have stock that will be repalce in next service.after that we give the vehicle for service dtd[protected] kms.at that time the delaer informed to your warranty department and the process gone up to[protected] by the time we rcvd call from your dealer and they told wartanty period is completed and we have to repalce the spare chargable basis. Pls check and give us your confirmation your dealer to change spare in warranty basis and you know very well all Laura Vechicle having lot of problem in A/C so you must replace the A/C switch.wothout chargable.

Reply recd from skoda
                                        Dear Mr. Jayakumar,

This is in continuation to your below said mail. We would like to apprise you that concern of AC in your vehicle is due to AC switch. Damage to the switch can be attributed due to mishandling and cannot be covered under warranty. Kindly be informed that your vehicle is out of warranty period by more than 8 months. Moreover, we understand that dealership had raised warranty claim and same has been rejected.

In line with our warranty policy, we will not be able to assist you any further in this regards. Kindly coordinate with our dealership for getting the part replaced on chargeable basis.

We thank you for taking time and writing to us