Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 17, 2025
Complaints 6285

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 141

Ramkumar Dany
Sep 30, 2020

I am ramkumar from kelaiyaapillaiyoor, kadayam, keelakadayam,...

I have 1 month baby and 2 year child's
Now date is 30/09/20202 at 3:00am
Today our area current supplying stop before 4 hrs. At night time. So i call to kadayam eb office. I says same words to eb officer but they duty officer irresponsible talk to me.. Now its ok to my family otherwise lot of people same situation in my area. So please register my complaint and take immediately action for problems always future problems...

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Ramarathnam Ganesan
    Sep 28, 2020

Full description of the event:

With reference to the above captioned subject, i have a query for the huge billing in my consumer number. My bill now is rs.29842/-, which can not be paid by any person during this situation.

From february, i am receiving a huge sum of billing to my number. I have raised a complaint by february to the ae, pallikaranai regarding the huge billing issue. But, i did not receive any reply from your side. Then this pandemic came, all the assessment was made by previous month billing only. And one surprising day i received a huge sum of 29302 as my outstanding. For your information its a single bed room flat.

For the february month itself i did not receive a reply, again i complained to the ae, pallikaranai about this. No proper response was there from your side. She just washed off saying we cannot do anything from our side, and said that you have to pay the bill and then only we can reverse it. Everything to be dealt with at the next level of authority.

As a next step i took the complaint to the next level, that is the office present in west tambaram. The next day i got a call from a person called mr. Sudarsanam, who heard my query and told me that he will speak to the respective officer and update. With this i wrote a complaint to the sc office present in kk nagar also. I spoke with mr. Kannan who coordinated with me regarding this. I contacted the ae, pallikaranai as per advice. One time she texted she was in meeting, and i texted to call me when she is free. She did not respond me. After that i called a couple of times but she listened to me as though it was the first time i am explaining the issue to her.

I am a middle class person and i won't be able to pay such a huge sum of money as my bill which was not consumed by me. And so many times i would have put permission to my office and went up and down for this issue from february. I also met her personally many times for this issue since february. I am really fed up with this. Neither the seniors or your juniors are not responding properly for a customer who has faced the issue and the bill has risen from 2000 to 29000. I will not be able to pay the amount at any point of time.

Till date i have not got a proper reply from your side, and i am waiting for the correction to happen from your side.

Date of incident: from february 2020
    Client consumer number: [protected] ([protected])
    Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

A Arunkumar
      Sep 25, 2020

Address: Dharmapuri Electricity Board

My self p ammasi and my consumer number is [protected]
      In our village we are facing too much voltage fluctuation and low voltage problem because we are sharing one old transformer with our nearby villagers. Yesterday my borewell motor get faulty because of this voltage fluctuation i registered complaint today in tangedco electric board but i am sure they will not take necessary action so forward this matter with regarding department and please do the needful i also shared my complaint id below
      Complaint id:[protected]
      Service no:[protected]
      Name of the complainant:p. Ammachi
      Nature of request: voltage low
      Complaint details: dear sir in our village we are facing low voltage and voltage fluctuation for
      The last five year because of old transformer
      Registered on: fri sep 25 19:16:37 ist 2020
      P ammasi
      Oct 05, 2020
      Updated by A Arunkumar
      TANGEDCO Already closed the issue as Completed but nothing happens In Our area No one came and query about this issue

Stephen Jayaseelan
        Sep 24, 2020

Address: Address mention in body of the letter thank you

I'm stephen, from no4, 5th cross street, ponniamman nagar, karayanchavadi. Without proper information electricity gone very often in this street, all time they stop electricity 3 to 4 hours. I request you to kindly please review issue and please do a need ful. As a resident from this street not able to contact through phone always line is busy. Not responding as well. Please check with google map review of karayanchavadi eb. All people who were living in this street did in the comments. Kindly check it.

Mohammed Imran17
          Sep 23, 2020

I had a bill from tneb of about 4684/- which i paid today. Around 3pm i tried to pay the pending bill but the transaction failed and the cash got debited. I haven't been credited the refund yet. Kindly advise on this because i have only 2 days left for bill payment.

Tneb google pay upi has not been working recently and the transactions have been failing according to my friends.
          Jul 20, 2021
          No info whatsoever from TNEB side. The Bank Support refunded the transaction.

Sep 22, 2020

Address: Plot No.50, Aishwarayam Nagar, Sothupakkam Road, palavoyal, Redhills , chennai-600052

My name is e. Ravi from redhills, palavoyal. My contact number is [protected].
            Please find the attached, letter regarding the objection request not to keep electric pole in future. Please take neccessary steps not to keep electric pole in future.
            Kindly please do the needful.
            For more details kindly please find the attachment

R.Gopalakrishnan.
              Sep 22, 2020

This complaint refers to the cashier (Lady) receiving the amount of electricity charges, who refuses to replace the existing card that has been fully used and finds no space for further entries, with a new one. I went to the bill payment centre at raghavan colony, jafferkhanpet, adjacent to 11th avenue, ashok nagar to pay elec. Charges. She received the amount readily but gave me a negative reply to my request for issuance of a new card. Not only that, she misguided me to go here and there to other sections housed in the premises. All officials again directed me to go to the said cashier who bluntly said"no". Some directed me to go to mgr
              Nagar office to get a new card. (From 11 th avenue, ashok nagar to mgr nagar). I am a senior citizen aged 72 and it is now obvious how the tneb officials take parade of the public/ customers, which is ridiculous.in the past, the person who is authorised to record the meter reading and charges, used to replace s new card, when the current one is exhausted. But, nowadays, those officials fail, deliberately. If the lady mentioned was wrong, she should be warned suitably and penalised. Such
              Persons are unfit to render good service to the public. Even it will be better to remove her from service. Tneb better get privatized even though there are possible adverse effects! This report should be brought to the knowledge of tangedco.

Sandhiyasundar
                Sep 21, 2020

Address: No .8/29,south street, west tambaram, Chennai 600045

Respected sir / madam,

This is to bring about the notice of that a person residing at no.8/ 29, south street, west tambaram, chennai 600045. Is using single phase for their press company and they don't have authorized licenses for their press company. This often bring damage in the ebpost and the wire man often changing the wire and making trouble to all residing. So kindly take action against that company and solve our problems. This company is illegally using the government property without our acknowledgement
                Thanking you!

Edwinprabhu
                  Sep 21, 2020

Dear sir my eb number is [protected], at the time of lockdown i have paid the bills regularly but last reading was taken on[protected] that was taken from feb 2020, what iam asking is at the time of lockdown, police, doctor, bank employees, sanitary work ers are working but you people didn't work and getting salary and taking reading from feb2020 my question is did you get your salary at the time of lockdown how

Vennila chemistry
                    Sep 19, 2020

Address: 64/1T.Kottampati Mahalakshmi Nagar Pollachi 642002

No power in our house from 18.09.2020 afternoon kindly rectify the problem as soon as possible

Sep 19, 2020

Address: Vandalur EB office

S/no : [protected]
                      Service bought in 2018 after clearing the development charges and from then on regularly paying eb bills.

Eb raised a incorrect development charges of rs 10500
                      On 10th aug with due date as 14th sep.

I kindly request you to review and reverse the incorrect bill amount.
                      Any Updates from EB department ?

tgsankari
                        Sep 18, 2020

The eb meter reading over the past one year for this connection has been around 200-350 units only per 2months. But it is recorded as 1460 units for the last 2 months. The eb people agree that they have not taken readings in the past because of covid. But this seems to be a very huge amount as it enters the top rate slab. Is it possible to split the readings for the upcoming 2-3 months, so that it will at least come down to a lower rate slab? Please consider this request as we are struggling financially with this covid situation and this is extremely an extra burden for us.

dgopal60
                          Sep 17, 2020

This has reference to above subject; please note that for the service no.[protected] not yet been entered the amount to be paid for the electricity consumed for the month of aug - sept 2020.

Service details as follows:
                          Name d gopal
                          Region 01-chennai-north
                          Circle 402-central
                          Section 182-cit nagar ii
                          Distribution 017-sadullah street
                          Number 79
                          Address 24sadullah st
                          Service status live
                          Consumer no [protected]
                          Phase 3
                          Load 5 kw
                          Tariff la1a
                          Meter number 1782845

I would request for the amount to paid through online services.

D. Gopal

Sreenivasa Prasanna
                            Sep 17, 2020

Our flats at door no.53 naidu street, kottur, chennai - 600085.
                            We have a lt service connection for passanger lift.
                            The consumption has not exceeded 220 unit in the past 15 years.
                            Meter reading of 2998 taken on 21/05/20 is wrong and my consumption is shown as 728.

ericpaul23
                              Sep 16, 2020

I have been paying 3496 for the last 3 bills (6 months). I have suddenly got a bill for 14089. On checking the website, it says the reading is 'defective'

What does defective mean and can i contest this sudden spike in the bill?

Suriyaak
                                Sep 16, 2020

I made a bill payment via gpay amound is debited by status shows waiting for conformation
                                Google transaction i'd: cicagkcv-qvjbw
                                Upi transaction i'd :[protected]

Nperiasamy Nelliyan
                                  Sep 16, 2020

Address: Palavangudi

My customer eb no [protected]
                                  Palavangudi. Eb office kanadukattan
                                  Eb metre reading took mistake aboue 100 unit. I complianted. He don't take any action. I will pay money therefore you take immediate action.

sandhiyarajkumar
                                    Sep 14, 2020

I have checked in online payment of tneb bill. There in my electricity bill they mentioned pending application charges amounting to rs.16190...
                                    May i know the details for which concern this amount has been generated in my housing bill. I have attached my eb bill fyr.

Subbu Meenakshi
                                      Sep 14, 2020

Address: T3 Saivadan Apts Thiruvengadam Nagar 1st main Ambattur OT Chennai

To dismiss the ambattur ot chennai electricity board assistant engineer for doing fraudulent activities in customer meter reading. My monthly eb bill is only one hundred rupees. My eb card[protected] ambattur ot chennai thiruvengadam nagar first main. Please direct ambattur ot chennai electricity board to waive off the eb bill for month of august 2020 as it is fraudulent bill as my every month eb bill is only one hundred rupees and never exceeds one hundred rupees. Hence the ambattur ot chennai electricity board assistant engineer has done fraudulent activities in my eb meter reading. When i lodged complaint today morning to the ambattur ot chennai electricity board assistant engineer, he didn't respond to my complaint and went outside the office and didn't return back to the eb office till evening. I gave my complaint letter to the ambattur ot chennai electricity board assistant engineer and waiting in ambattur ot chennai eb office for technician to come to my apartment in thiruvengadam nagar first main ambattur ot chennai but the assistant engineer electricity board ambattur ot chennai didn't send any technician to check my eb meter reading. Hence immediately dismiss the ambattur ot chennai electricity board assistant engineer and his supervisor for their fraudulent activities in customer meter reading and not responding to the complaint letter and not sending any technician to check the meter and investigate issue.

sarathbabusekar
                                        Sep 14, 2020

Paying bill two time for the same period

We are the consumer for the below unit

The normal bill payment on every two months is on average 2500 to 3500 and the person who are staying in home are older people and they will be in home for whole day 24/7 from 2017

We have already paid the bill for the following period from 28/12/2019 and due to corona, we have paid the average unit 730[rupees 3298] from the period 27/02/2020,...