Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 17, 2025
Complaints 6284

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 233

Agasthika Rahul
Aug 18, 2017

Address: 600056

I live in katupakkam. There is power cuts most oftenly in here. For no reason they shut down atleast for two to three hours daily. The eb office people don't even pick up theirtheie phone during day time and night time even before rain starts there is power cut. They don't give back power even if the rain stops. It's really disturbing for people who live here. Even in the village side the power cuts are not happening but in katupakkam it's very worst. And i really request to take action on unwanted power cuts. Thank you
Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

yusuf siamwala
    Aug 17, 2017

Dear sir/madam, this is to inform you that i, shabbir siamwala, #14 moore street, parrys, chennai-01 consumer number[protected] have some trouble on my metre. Because from last few months my metre reading is not working and unable to take reading, but metre is good therefore, you are requested kindly look into this matter and help me to sort out this problem. Thank you.
    Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Angeline A
      from Madurai, Tamil Nadu
      Aug 17, 2017

Address: 600037

Dear sir / madam,

Consumer name: v. Subramanian
      Address : plot. No.36a, sakthi nagar, nolambur, chennai-600037.
      Our service no :[protected]Residential – 1st floor)

Other service no :[protected]For common areas of our premises)

This has reference to our service no :[protected] at residential premises – 1st floor. We find unusual high reading for our home for many billing cycles. We have also given a complaint by mail as well as in person with the tneb, mugappair west division many times. But no action was taken so far. Once such written complaint was given on[protected]. This is continuing for more than 2 years but we didn’t get a permanent solution.

At the same time, our common bill as well as our 2nd floor resident electricity meter shows a very low reading as the meter was not running properly for several months and hence they are taking average reading only. The common areas electricity is used by 2 of the residences at our premises of 1st and 2nd floor and also by a bakery called danish delights at the ground floor.

Even though we have given the complaint to rectify the meters, it is not yet addressed so far even after repeated requests. But still we are bearing the cost of higher eb expenses for many months, infact for years. If we deny the payment, then our connection will be disconnected, hence finding no other go, we are bearing this inconvenience. Hope our issues will be sorted to at the earliest at least now.

Angeline
      Plot. No.36a, 1st floor sakthi nagar,
      Nolambur, chennai-600037
      Mobile no.[protected],[protected]

Papitha Joseph
        Aug 17, 2017

Address: 600006

From yesterday i. E. 16th aug'17 im trying to pay eb charges online but the website was down not working since im ready to pay the eb charges through online but it was not working then how can they charge penalty for a single day i need the solution on it. If their server is down they has to provide one additional day to pay the eb charges by the customer not to force the penalty
        It shows the bill amount. But on clicking pay bill, I have been getting following error "Services temporarily not available. Will be resumed soon". Looks they don't know the meaning of 'soon'. It has been down for the past three days. :-(

TN is doing great in every aspect.

Sakthivel Ravi
          Aug 15, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600010

R.Chitra, W/o R.Ravi,
          Door no.9, Flat no.37, 1st Street, Kasthuribai Nagar, Sundaracholapuram,
          Thiruverkadu, Chennai -77 .
          Phone no. [protected]
          We are residing in the above locality, We approached the Thiruverkadu TNEB for the 3phase supply for our home on 12th May, 2017. We payed rupees 12, 000 to the Thiruverkadu TNEB Foreman named Charles (Ph. no- [protected]). He did not even gave us the receipt for it and the 3phase supply is not given yet. We called him in phone many times and reminded him by even going to the Thiruverkadu TNEB office directly for the past 3 months, but still there is no proper action taken by the Thiruverkadu TNEB and they always come up with a silly reason for the past 3 months. There is 3phase supply in many of the house at our street end, but still we did not get the supply yet. And we also contacted the commercial Inspector named Prem Anand (Ph. no [protected]) of Thiruverkadu TNEB. He said us he will take proper action. But still he too did not took any proper actions yet. We need the 3 phase supply as soon as possible, since we are having our sons marriage on 4th September, 2017. Since it is a marriage issue, Kindly take action on the Thiruverkadu TNEB and give us three phase supply as soon as possible. Thank you.
          வணக்கம் ஐயா; நான் கடலூர் மாவட்டத்தில் பெரிய கோயில் குப்பம் கிரமத்தில் வசித்து வருகிறேன். எங்கள் ஊரல் தினமும் 8pm to 9pm என்ற மணி நேரத்தில் மின்சாரம் துன்டிக்கபடுகிறது. அடுத்த சில மணி நேரத்தில் 10pm to 11pm என்ற நேரத்தில் மின்சாரம் துன்டிக்கபடுகிறது இதனால் எங்கள் ஊர் கவலைகிடமாக இருக்கிறது. இப்படிக்கு பெரிய கோயில் குப்பம் மக்கள்

ibraaz khan
            Aug 15, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600043

Hi Sir/Madam,

My name is Ibrahim Khan. I'm from Pallavaram, chennai. From last few months we face a lot of power cuts in our area (Nagalekeni, Chrompet). As soon as it starts drizzling, they disconnect power and it never resumes until minimum 2 - 3 hours. While our neighbor areas have power even during heavy rain.

From last 2 - 3 days we are facing atleast 3 - 4 hours of power cut everyday. We are not able to reach the EB office, it always says busy. We can manage during day times, but it is very difficult when they do it during the nights.

We have school going kids, elderly patients, and people who need to go early for work. If this continuous, then i'll take few people from our area to our EB office and make protest.

Look in to this with high priority and do the needful.

Ibrahim I.

Natarajan Ramalingam
              Aug 14, 2017

Address: 600088

Paid rs 632 online through canara bank debit card on 04/08/17. Bill generated (Pgdcan1063323) amount debited from my account. Tneb sent email on 09/08/17 that payment not approved service will be disconnected.
              Bank confirmed that they have debited the money from my account and sent to tneb.

Service no: [protected]

Complaint id: [protected]

Name: r natarajan

Heera Anbazhagan
                Aug 13, 2017

Address: Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu

Here we are in the area of Mangadu and the current goes here only at night time. It comes after such a long time. So we need the high authorities to action a action on this issue. In our area we have so many old age people and school children who needs a very good sleep to start their next morning. Here children are suffering from sleep. Even it is difficult for officers to start their morning in time.
                Our Ref:[protected] & 009 – 018 – 721. Our house has 1 and 3 phase . since past 1 month there is only one phase coming which is highly irregular and also daily power cut. Very few people from local Tiruvolavoil EB come and go but remedy is NIL. Many houses in our Ganapathy Nagar Phase II face the same problem. Pl. do the needful. M V Sharma
                I am running the rice and flour mill in gingee, villupuram. Due three phase current is not given 3 hours also. how can i run the mill.how can i answer the customer questions. please take certain remedies for that. gingee tneb

Jeyaram Prasath
                  from Korampallam, Tamil Nadu
                  Aug 12, 2017

Address: Sivaganga, Tamil Nadu, 630561

Unnecessary power cut in annamalai nagar and koothandan in natarasankottai electricity, sivagangai. More dengue cases are reported in particular area because of electricity disruption. Minimum six hours of power cut. Every half an hour once 15mns power cut. If asked in electricity board they told only one transformer for whole thousand something home is responsible for the power cut. They don't take even a necessary step for increase in transformer number. Please take the necessary step sir. Thank you
                  Kindly help us by not cutting the current by nights bcoz its the time only we can take rest and our aged and child are suffering a lot
                  Kindly make necessary arrangements to repair our meter which was burnt, A/C no[protected]Three phase meter) S.no TN 78416.

NPadmavathi Iyer
                    from Visnagar, Gujarat
                    Aug 12, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600092

Sir/ madam
                    I reside at 9/64 b, 6 the street, krishnanagar, virugambakkam.
                    Few years back our line 3 phase was snapped away by a lorry plying from our street, as my son was in 10 the standard my husband had to pay rs.10000 /- for changing the wire and during the process tneb staff at that time converted our 3 phase connection to single phase which we realised recently when there are frequent power cuts. We are suffering with single phase connection for several years for no fault of ours after spending thousands of rupees.
                    Since yesterday evening we have no power imagine if it happens with any of the tneb staff's residence.
                    I am a patient of arthritis and chronic gastritis. My son is a law student who is unable to study as per his schedule for the ensuing exams. Please ensure that our 3 phase connection is restored and power supply is not cut for the whole night. It is more than twelve hours we are suffering without electricity. Your immediate action will b highly appreciated. Thanking you.
                    Dr. N. Padmavathi.[protected].
                    Aug 12, 2017
                    Updated by NPadmavathi Iyer
                    Awaiting positive action from TNEB Valasaravakkam, immediately.
                    In our area, so much low voltage in all time and supply of current will not get correctly. Flectution are major part of my area. Low voltage is main problem.

Sivaraman P
                      Aug 12, 2017

We have recently shifted to sennivakkam, ponneri two months ago and are having sleepless nights due to low voltage in the nights.

Spoke to all the residents nearby and they are having these issues for years and despite complaints from them, no action is being taken by eb.

We are really finding it difficult to sleep in the night and have started facing health issues.

I hope they take necessary steps immediately to solve low voltage issues.

Sivaraman. P
                      Aug 12, 2017
                      Updated by Sivaraman P
                      Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] — low voltage in nights

1 Review
                      Si Sivaraman P on Aug 12, 2017
                      Mark as Resolved

We have recently shifted to Sennivakkam, Ponneri two months ago and are having sleepless nights due to low voltage in the nights.

Spoke to all the residents nearby and they are having these issues for years and despite complaints from them, no action is being taken by EB.

We are really finding it difficult to sleep in the night and have started facing health issues .

I hope they take necessary steps immediately to solve low voltage issues.

Sivaraman.P

Maria Esther
                        Aug 11, 2017

I reside at old no, 19/3, new no 47/3, arunachalam street, purasawalkkam, chennai-600007. Today 11th of august there is no current supply from 11 a. M, this happened only to our house. All the neighbourhood people have power supply. We called the eb and complained many times but no action is taken and no proper response. Many times they have done like this. 4 elderly people reside here and they are suffering. Please take due action on this.

Ramesh2611
                          Aug 10, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600 117

I have paid Rs.4230 on June 16, 2017 on the visit of tneb responsible to my house and inspected the meter. He and the tenb officer at Kilkattalai promised that there shall be bill in the next biiling cycle and the advance amount shall be adjusted.

As of now no bill is raised. To my utter surprise, when I loged in to the tneb bill payment site, it is showing " Previous assessment is not done, contact your TANGEDCO Section office for details"

Is it not sheer harassment for the consumer?
                          EB post has been damaged in madhavaram Mandhaveli main road. Raise this complaint to change the post I have attached the photo of the post and it will cause a serious damage to the public. Post stands near Mano priya store grocery shop and I request to take immediate action to solve this

non receipt of bill and site showing previous assessment pending.. tneb connection no. 09259021611 - Comment #2818123 - Image #0

Monica Kumar
                            from Korampallam, Tamil Nadu
                            Aug 10, 2017

Address: 600012

Dear sir now a days staff alloted for noting down the eb meter reading are now coming properly they just come to the street and note down reading of two three houses and they run away... We need to stand out of our house leaving all our works and request them to come and write for us... Is it not their responsibility to come and write the reading. Please intimate them to do there work...

prasanthnk
                              from Hosur, Tamil Nadu
                              Aug 9, 2017

Address: Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu, 629152

Iam n k prasanth and iam the secretary of the school
                              My connection no. Is mlv [protected] (Secretary). This is a school. Three times i complaint to the authorities through telephone. No action taken till now. Students and teachers are suffering without water and others. This is a serious irresponsibility and so please immediately direct them to clear the power interruption.

N k prasanth
                              (Secretary)

guna.T
                                Aug 8, 2017

Sir i am t. Guna (Gunalan) farmer residing at 369/1, annanagar, therkukaadu, attur, salem district. I am having 1.5 acre land in gangavalli t. K, koneeripatti village.
                                Eb alloted commercial sevice (Sc no. [protected]) intead of iii a1 service (Poonthottam service) becase of i registered free service in the rs.50, 000 sheme for borewel.

I cann't able to pay the eb bill amount with out any income from the agriculture due to drought so please cosider my request kindly please change my service commercial to iiia1 (Poon thottam service)

Thangaraj Nataraj
                                  Aug 8, 2017

Address: 638402

We are belongs to nanjappa gounden pudur & akkarai negamam village in konamoolai panchayat, sathyamangalam circle, bhavanisagar constitution, erode district.

In our village none of the street lights are working past more than 15 days, requesting you to take necessary action immediately. Since it is typical village people are scare to come out from the home in the night because if snake and other insect which.
                                  I have paid my eb bill in the online using my credit card. The payment succeess fully by two times.
                                  how collect refund money.
                                  my eb connetion number Wed, 2 August 2017 01:31
                                  Wed, 2 August 2017 01:20
                                  we r living in govindraj nager2, peryiar nader, erode 1. The street lights are working past more than 30 days, requesting you to take necessary action immediately.
                                  POST NO;W-44, S-1073, P-139
                                  We are belongs to 72, Mullai Nager & perumalpattu village in thiruvallur district
                                  In our village none of the street lights are working past more than 10 days, requesting you to take necessary action immediately. Since it is typical village people are scare to come out from the home in the night because if snake and other insect which.
                                  வணக்கம்.
                                  கீழே குறிப்பிட்டுள்ள மதுரை, ஏற்குடி அச்சம்பத்து ஊராட்சிக்கு உட்பட்ட குடியிருப்பு பகுதியில் பல தெருவிளக்குகள் பல மாதங்களாக எரியாமல் உள்ளதால் மக்கள் இரவு நேரங்களில் நடிப்பதற்கு அச்சப்படுகின்றனர். தயவு செய்து சரி செய்து கொடுக்கும்படி கேட்டு கொள்கிறேன்.

ஜெயபாரத் கிளாசிக் சிட்டி, கோச்சடை, மேலக்கால் மெயின் ரோடு, துவரிமான் அஞ்சல், மதுரை -19.

மேலும், அரசால் அனுமதிக்கப்பட்ட புதிய மின்விளக்குகளையும் அமைத்து கொடுக்கவும்.

இப்படிக்கு
                                  R. வேல்முருகன்
                                  ஆசிரியர், வெண்மதி நியூஸ்

muralidaran rajaram
                                    Aug 7, 2017

Address: 625706

Hai sir this is muralidaran from thirumangalam, madurai. Mr. Kumaravel auditor in madurai. He living in madurai thiruppalai, last nov 2016 he approach me to get a job in tneb as a o. H job is more vacacies so i will make a arrangement for your jobs for this job u have to pay me a 4 lakh rupees u will get a job in one month. I am belive in his word and pay the money on feb 2017. But after few months he was cheet me he did not arrange the job, i ask but he never pay to me, against this person i made complain in oomachikulam police station but when police make a call he was not responding the phone call, he never come to home also. He was escape. He says sometimes he was in audit with se in rajapalayam side. He never come to police station and never pay to me also. I know i was made a big mistake. Please help me to get the money and save other person from these kind of cheeting persons. Thank you sir/ madam.

VJ Vignesh
                                      Aug 7, 2017

We are near by madambakkam electricity board and within the particular surrounding only our street has facing maximum time of power cut. The street next to us won't face such situation offen even if there is a small drizzle of rain this particular street facing this problem
                                      We are finally making a complaint to you
                                      Hope you will make a necessary action against this problem
                                      Hoping for better results from you
                                      Sir last 3days we are suffer to the low and high voltage problem. the eb employes are dosnt care that we complain lot of time. . so please rectify that ... thanks

Gsankar
                                        Aug 7, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600087

I, on behalf of my locality, with to draw your kid attention towards frequent breakdown of electricity in saraswathi nagar 5 the street. During 4 fours a day frequent breakdown is happening, and the unannounced frequent breakdown of electricity is simply nightmarish.
                                        It is a pity that even when there is supply of electricity in other localities, our locality remains dark.
                                        Please request you to take necessary action at your end.
                                        BillI am regularly paying elec.bill online. But this I have been trying from yesterday. Iam unable to complete payment.
                                        i am a builders. I apply temporary connection to my client.
                                        In office foreman, JE, AE all people with commision Rs 7000/-. Bill Rs 50 and Rs app 1600 only.
                                        What can I do.
                                        I am trying to pay my due bills of[protected]&[protected] for the past 2 days. Unfortunately your online net receiving bill not connected to pay. Please kindly rectify the defect soon possible.It is very difficult for me to continue online payment already registered for online payment.
                                        Sir, I am from putheri village Kanchipuram for the past two days we experience the severe low voltage, we are not able to use motors and air conditioners so please consider this complaint and take measures.