Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 17, 2025
Complaints 6284

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 234

venkatpraveen
from Mamallapuram, Tamil Nadu
Aug 7, 2017

I am residing in mambakkam for the past four years. Due to frequent power fluctuations, most the electrical consumable and appliances are damaged. Meters are not running and faulty. The eb office at mambakkam (Vandalur - kelam bakkam road) not changing the meters for months together. Raising average billing. Further facing the power issue and no response from eb authorities so far. If requesting to change the good transformer, they asking us to provide funds to install transformer. If rain starts immediately they are disconnecting the eb lines. But ht lines no problem they are all safe guarded by the eb authorities. I request higher officials of tangdeco to take neceeary and quick action at the earliest to resolve the issues.
Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Dear Sir/Madam, Apart from my current consumption charges, Meter Caution Deposit has been added in my current month bill. Please provide me some clarity on the above topic. Any reply is deeply appreciated.

Rajeswari

Raji182
    Aug 7, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600032

I live in the area 119 sundar nagar, guindy area but very frequently almost everyday we have electricity drop out problem. We are complaining but no proper action from the official.

As a consumer what we can do further action against the same. Hope you will take necessary action in this regards.

We almost live in sleepless night in the city limit though we pay bill and taxes as a citizen this is not fare from the government

Rajeswari
    Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
    My pincole 625009 pannaiyur madurai...we ppl had experiencedone 4 shutdown /1 month...please take action...mostly we won't any basic need without power supply...

Sasikala arjun
      Aug 6, 2017

Address: 600003

Always or almost frequently power cut in our building.
      Please help us with a suggestion.
      Many times complaints have been raised but no proper response.

Every time we give the complaint they are least bothered to rectify it.

Our building facing this issue atleast for the past 4 years.
      Ours is 3 phase current but only 2 phase is available throught the days.

When we go and give the complaint they postpone the issue nor never turn up

Please do the needful
      Aug 02, 2017
      Ravishankar Suresh's response
      Not able to complete payment online in spite of correct inputs.

ab
      We paid the electricity bill on july 7. On july 30 we are not in our home the EB staff came and removed the fuse carrier by saying that we dont paid our bill to our neighbours.When we came back and know the situation we called the local official several times they dont pick up the call service number[protected]
      BillI am regularly paying elec.bill online. But this I have been trying from yesterday. Iam unable to complete payment.

Kowsiveerarao
        Aug 5, 2017

Address: Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu, 603002

I made a eb bill payment via icici internet banking money debited from my account but in tneb portal shows eb bill is not yet paid kindly check on this asap. Consumer #[protected]. Kindly check &i credit back my money to my account based on the payment. Or else please show the transaction details as payment successful in tneb portal. Kindly check on tis asap & revert back the steps to be followed after this

Ram Maximus
          Aug 4, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600094

Name: a. Vasantha
          Consumer no: [protected]

Address:
          No. 99/98 vanniyar street, choolaimedu, chennai-94

Eb reading taker performs fraud actions to our shop, we kept tailor shop and we also take reading and notified, they put wrong reading, when we asked them they said to pay the bill, when we ask to ae, he also tell me to pay the bill, and then change the meter, we are help less.in our shop we have only 2 tubelight and 1 fan but our current bill is 11548 ruppes.

Please kindly take measures to correct
          Also, make a note of it and do the needful as soon as possible.

seenusri selvi
            Aug 4, 2017

Address: Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, 641016

Respected sir/madam,

This is selvi from pattanam, cbe. For the last 1 week ondipudur fly over lights are not working. There are lots of vehicle passing in this fly over and the surrounding area peoples are suffering from this. Around 1 km radius there is a single light is not working.

So kindly take action to work street lights properly.

S. Selvi - [protected]

Ponninachiyar Ramachandran
              Aug 4, 2017

Name: k. Sethu
              Consumer no: [protected]
              Region code: 05 (Madurai)

Address:
              No. 52/12,
              Anandapuram bye-pass,
              Manamadurai - 630606.

Eb reading for the number mentioned above seems to be incorrect. Excess units have been charged which is above the consumption which leads to overpayment.

Kindly take measures to correct the same.
              Also, make a note of it and do the needful as soon as possible.

Rahul Hirani
                Aug 3, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600003

I am a commercial resident of no:27, edapalayam street. I am here from past 28 years and recently from past 5-6 months i am facing this problem for daily electricity power cut for either half day and even whole day.

As a business man, i am regularly facing the problem for the power cut which disturbs my company's work and we are not unable to do business and also lost customers order due to frequent power cuts.

When we found the problem we came to know that the electricity box near my shop has some fault which occurs in every month.

This is totally unbearable the people from the tneb board come and dig right exactly from our shop.

Note: if the complaint isn't solve within 15 days, i shall take the matter to the consumer court.

Kindly clear the problem for once and all.

John finald
                  Aug 2, 2017

Address: 629158

Reg tneb billing

Tneb person asked 400/-rs for changing meter from analogto digital, my aged parents not gave the full amount, (Customer no needs to pay anything for that)
                  So the tneb persons are taking revenge and adding amount in the bills with the name of arrears, we payed arears for all the three payments in 2017.
                  Tneb editing the bills there own way
                  Cheating the aged peoples in villages

Registered complaint in tneb website, still problom continuing

Please see the attachments

Kindly take initiative to save india
                  So many time power cut in Avadi V.O.C Nagar .

Particularly night time workers, students and parents are always suffer

Kindly do the action
                  In my area every day at night time current flow is very low, suddenly AC, TV, Fridge is off after few min it will on .
                  kindly send one EB employee and will check. other wise we faced heavy loss. kindly do the needful ASAP,

Sampoorna Arul Street, Sri Balaji Nagar, Pattabiram,
                  Chennai, 600072

Prabu.k

Mohan K Swamy
                    Aug 2, 2017

Address: 600054

There is frequent power cut occurring in chennai avadi saraswathi nagar. We people are suffering lot in night in this summer we have to struggle. Mosquito bites and other harmful pathogenic organism entering our houses and causing deadly disease.

Please take necessary action and help us to get rid off this harmful and threatful situations.
                    Thank u
                    Jul 28, 2017
                    sathish akm's response
                    am sathish from Arakkonam here power supply is not proper, here weekly four days 5 to 6 hour's power cut here, if I was trying to call E B office they are not take my call, here EB administration is very worst, people are suffering very bad, so please take immediate action
                    I am sathish from Arakkonam here power supply is not proper, here weekly four days 5 to 6 hour's power cut here, if I was trying to call E B office they are not take my call, here EB administration is very worst, people are suffering very bad, so please take immediate action

Aurora99
                      Aug 2, 2017

Address: 600018

For the past 1 month, the newly installed electronic meter box for my flat does not show the reading at all. No light is switching on and hence it is not possible for us to get the reading of the meter.
                      As it is time for us to pay the electricity bill, we would like to get this resolved otherwise, the cost would double or triple up in the next reading.

Please help to resolve this asap.

Consumer no:[protected],
                      Address is 25/6, balaji flats, ark colony, eldams road, alwarpet, chennai - 18

Karthick Sampath
                        Aug 2, 2017

Address: 600012

There is no power in 1 phase for more than 3 weeks. I have complained directly, but there is no proper response from the staffs. They always make the fake promises by telling we will send the person to resolve this issue. Please let me know what i need to do further regarding this issue. I have already made an online complaint through tneb site. Consumer no: [protected].
                        Aug 11, 2017
                        first they came to inspect the fault, later they found the faulty cable so after 2 days they came and patched the cable.
                        No electric power supply in SC NO:[protected] from 27/07/2017 complaint registered on the same date at about 8.30pm. Sofar no body attended the complaind. Immediate action required.
                        R.VIMALA
                        CONSUMER.

Regan Anto
                          from Durg, Chhattisgarh
                          Aug 2, 2017

Address: 613008

Respected sir, my name is john i am in thanjavur district vadakuvasal area yakupiah street.in my area there are three people using house electric power for their business. One day they using 35 kg rice for each grinder. I am several times gave complaint to my area electric board office. He is not take any action for then persons. He is asking money and leave it them and said my name (He is only giving complaints about you). So, please take any action for them persons soon. Call my no i will say all details for you [protected]
                          Aug 02, 2017
                          Updated by Regan Anto
                          Please take any action for them persons

William Sudhagaran
                            Aug 1, 2017

Address: Erode, Tamil Nadu, 638452

Sir, erode district, gobichettipalayam town vaikkal road, near aruvi koil area.in this road every month a day suddeniy the power getsoff. We tried to contact the area lineman he didnot attend the phone. If rarely attend says this is not my area, contact the office. Sir in latenight how could we contact the office. Such a irrespocible lineman we have. Pse do the needful to change the lineman or the transformer. Every month once it will went on fuse in latenight hours.
                            No proper supply of electricity in maduravoyal chennai... worst service realy daily we r getting power cut @daily in mid night pls take action has soon as possible
                            Worst people, worst service
                            Near Sai latha mahal kondaiyampalayam(po) Gobi (tk) .. last 6 hours no power in this area ...so kindly provide power to this area.
                            Dharanitharank's reply, Apr 15, 2021
                            638505 pincode
                            In madheswaran kovil 4thstreet, gobichettipalayam. Only 3houses has not power supply continuously... It is happened repeatedly in this month.. Please take action as soon as possible..

Krishna9529
                              Jul 30, 2017

Address: Namakkal, Tamil Nadu

I, s krishna murthy, wants to file a complaint regarding street light problem in the namakkal district, tamil nadu.

Sir, my grandmother, mrs. Palaniamal resident of mettur street, vaiyappamalai via karungalpatti post, namakkal district, tamil nadu - 637410, is residing there from the very long time. There is no street light, that's why she is facing so much problem.

This is the humble request to take the needful steps very soon.

I'm paying tneb bill in tangetco app amount was debited in my account..but transcation failed..wt ll to consumer number:[protected]

Abinaya Velan
                                Jul 29, 2017

Address: 600071

I'm residing in avadi - vasantham nagar.
                                Since 7.00 p. M there is not power supply to this entire area till now (12:30 a. M).

The e. B contact number says it's switched off, this activity is totally irresponsible.

How to sleep in this mosquito bite and how to survive if this is the case. Are we living in stone age without current.

This is unacceptable, we have kids, patients and this bloody mosquitos.

I know complaining here won't help but still praying for a little hope and want to bring out the irresponsible activity of tneb.
                                I normally pay my bill through the online portal and now I am not able to access the login web page for doing the online payment.
                                In thirumazhisai, there is frequent power cut on single phase during night time and no maintenance have been proceesed to solve this problem, and no one is picking up the call in eb office
                                I was paid electricity payment through SBI debit card, i got sms from sbi bank "you are purchased and thank you for using sbi"like this .but in the tamil nadu electricity board shows transaction failed.now i what to do?i really disapointed .
                                I am resident of Redhills, pudu nagar and almost for past one week experiencing power very often and taking too long to supply power again. Especially on night they are cutting power for 2 to 3 hours and no proper information given even though if go in person to TNEB office. Very very very worst service.

from Korampallam, Tamil Nadu
                                  Jul 28, 2017

Address: Tirunelveli, Tamil Nadu

As for as our service no 672 akarayapalayaam village kachirayapalayam kallakurichi taluk villupuram district there is dispute between brothers satheesh and ganesh in using service against motor. The eb bill had not been paid for this month and fuse had been takenby the tneb memebers but the motor has been run illegally by mr. Ganesh during night time. So please go for a inspection during nite time and check the the motor has been run without your permission so please take necessary action against him or otherwise we will take the actions against tneb legally and him.
                                  Jul 28, 2017
                                  Updated by 9952763069
                                  please update the actions to my my mobile no [protected]
                                  Jul 28, 2017
                                  Updated by 9952763069
                                  please update the actions to my my mobile no [protected]
                                  Service was disconnected last week due to non payment. after paying with penalty, it is already one week. service is not resumed yet. request immediate support.

umaprabhu
                                    Jul 28, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600095

I am living at plat 52, third street, bharati nagar, maduravoyal chennai 60095. The electric lines are in contact with a tree and high sparks and fire emanates often when it rains and wind blows. It is certain that a major catestrophe is in store. I complained, made several calls to ae, my wife gave written complaint to se. We are senior citizens living helplessly and any problem may affect all the people who walk in the road. Speedy redressal is required or i will be constrained to go on indefinite fast in front of your office as i am unable to find any other better way of impressing on the officers.
                                    Please have mercy on people and act
                                    Tprabhakara reddy
                                    [protected] - mob

residents of 33rd street, GKM colony
                                      Jul 28, 2017

Address: 600082

We are residing in 33rd street, g. K. M. Colony, chennai 600082. We are having frequent cable problems, and these problems arise mostly in night. We face great problem due to this, our sleepless nights, suffering without water as we cant use motor pumps, our health is spoiling day by day.
                                      Just on 26.07.2017 there was a cable problem and we didnt have powersupply the fault was rectified on 27.07.2017 and on this same day night once again the cable problem occured and the fault is yet to be rectified.
                                      Please do the needful at the earliest.

sajuktr2003
                                        Jul 28, 2017

Address: 641010

From

Saju thomas
                                        1/200 i, kandavel nagar
                                        Kalampalayam
                                        Coimbatore -10
                                        The executive engineer
                                        Kalampalayam-10

Reg. Excess billing in consumer no[protected] dated 25/05/17 for rs. 1846
                                        I am quite surprised to receive such a heavy electricity bill. Needless to say there has been some anomaly or breach of duty. Either the meter readings have not been taken properly on 26/05/17 meter reading was not crossed 7310. The eb person has took the reading on 25/05/17 as 7310, the last reading was on 22/03/17, but this time reading was taken after 4 days from last reading so i request u to reduce the meter value and do the needful. Please make it as 7300 meter reading.
                                        I am quite disturbed how such an exaggerated amount in bill could have been reached. I would be highly obliged if you could settle this matter in accordance with the provisions to the satisfaction of your customer.
                                        Please rectify this mistake so that i can pay the actual amount. Thank you in anticipation.
                                        I attached the proof (Video file)

Saju thomas
                                        Ph: [protected]
                                        Encl:
                                        1. Bill history
                                        2. Compliant status (Mail & tangedco)