Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Feb 17, 2026
Complaints 6294

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 239

Anuja Wadekar
Jun 18, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600042

Their is no power since 17/june /2017 7.00 pm house address (S1-66b ram nagar 7th main, velachery, chennai). We have complaint multiple times but tneb office doing completely unprofessional work specially the area manager his contact no:[protected]. He is doing complete mental harrasment by not receiving call and continuously extending issue fix time... We do not have power and water since last 16 hours. Considering this as mental harrasment we demand for strict action against particulars.

From -
Sourabh mehta
Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
There is frequent power cut in Rajakilpakkam, Selaiyur during night hours for around 2 hours for last 3 weeks.. No proper response from the EB office.. Could someone take care of this issue. My number [protected]

Krisgopa
    Jun 18, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600100

In my street, eb person came on 15th this month to take reading. But he uploaded the eb bill taken date as 7th in the online portal. Because of this delay my bill went to 3000+... Not sure why this is happening frequently... Bill slab is getting changed whenever reading taken 10 days delay.. Not only for me, my entire street people facing the same bill amount issue.. Please look into this issue asap..

Address

5th street, pudhunagar, medavakkam, chennai - 600100

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
    We are suffering daily in night due to very bad voltage due to which appliances become inefficient and it's a big loss for all who actually bought new appliances and staying in this kinda area ... Please someone help...

nnagarajan
      Jun 17, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600097

I couldn't open and operate web page of 'online payment portal of tneb' as the same is blocked due to erroneous operation. Repeated efforts to open the web page have failed and as has been directed, this requisition is being made to arrange to unblock the web page account.
      My details are as below: name - n. Nagarajan
      Service no. [protected]
      Consumer no.[protected]
      As i need to make an advance payment, kindly arrange to unlock my account

rcjs
        from Tindivanam, Tamil Nadu
        Jun 17, 2017

I am trying to pay my bill by on line by through login i went inside while submitting o payment ypurserver wont help me to pay it is not easy to pay bills by debit card but bsnl, airtel they are ery helpful to pay bills by debitcard oi tried on 15th june and today also so you simpyfy your online payment at any time of 24 hours thank you very much my e mail [protected]@gmail.com

Vinoth S Sarojini
          Jun 16, 2017

Address: 629702

என் பெயர் ஜெயகுமார்.நான் கன்னியாகுமரி மாவட்டதில் சின்னமுட்டம் என்ற கிராமத்தில் 15-91/c என்ற எண்ணில் ஒரு சிறு வெல்டிங் பட்டறை வைத்துள்ளேன்.என்னுடைய மின் இணைப்பு எண் 1277 ஆகும்.நான் அரசு அனுமதியுடன் எனது பட்டறையை கடந்த 8 வருடங்களாக நடத்தி வருகிறேன்.16/06/2017 அன்று மாலை 3 மணியளவில் உயர் மின்னழுத்த கம்பியானது என்னுடைய மின் இணைப்பின் மீது விழுந்து நியூட்டர் இணைப்பு துண்டானது..அதை சரி செய்வதற்காக எங்கள் பகுதி lineman அனுகினோம்.அவருடைய பெயர் ஜோதி.அவரை அழைத்து வெகுநேரமாகியும் வரவில்லை.எங்களுடைய வேலை முழுவதும் பாதிப்புள்ளானது..பின்னர் அவர் இரவு எட்டு மணியளவில் இரண்டு நபர்களுடன் வந்தார்.அவர்கள் யார் என்று தெரியவில்லை.வந்த பிறகு நான் நடந்தவற்றை அவரிடம் விவரித்தேன்.ஆனால் எங்களுடைய வாதத்தை ஏற்க மறுத்தார்.மேலும் அதை சரி செய்வதற்கு ஆயிரம் ரூபாய் லஞ்சம் வேண்டும் என்றார்.நான் என்னால் அவ்வளவு தொகை தர இயலாது என்றேன்.அதற்கு அவர் தகாத வார்த்தைகளால் என் மனம் புண்படும்படி பேசினார்.."உனக்கு வேலை பார்க்க முடியாது.நீ யாரிடம் வேண்டுமென்றாலும் புகார் கொடு ஒருத்தனும் என்னை புடுங்க மாட்டான்" என்று கூறி சென்று விட்டார்..நான் இப்போது வேலை ஒன்றும் செய்ய இயலாமல் உள்ளேன்..என்னை நம்பி என்னுடன் மூன்று நபர்கள் வேலை பார்கிறார்கள்.அவர்களுக்கும் இந்த காரணங்காளால் வேலை கொடுக்க இயலவில்லை..ஆதலால் தயவு கூர்ந்து என்னுடைய புகார் மனுவை ஏற்று மின் இணைப்பை சரி செய்து தரும்படி மிக தாழ்மையுடன் கேட்டுகொள்கிறேன்..மேலும் அந்த நபர் மீது பல புகார்கள் கூறபடுகின்றன.அவை அனைத்தையும் விசாரித்து அவர் மீது துறை ரீதியாக தண்டனை வழங்கும்படி கேட்டு கொள்கிறேன்..

Sukumar Kalyanasundaram
            from Palghat, Kerala
            Jun 19, 2017

Address: 600023

No 10 appa durai main street front d b box damaged. Ration shop lorry hit and run. The box bottom totally damaged any time fall down. Before that do someting. (Ward no. 96, part no - 21, zone no 8. Ayanavram. Chennai 600023.
            The d b box base ment was totally damaged. It is any time falldown. The door was alway opened. The street dogs pising the box inside the wiring. It is too dangers. I call chennai corporation also. No response. And also ask to spilt the d b box before the flat doono. 10 appadurai main street. Ayanavaram, chennai.
            Consumer no.[protected] name abdul hafeez from pernambut vellore district I'll not able to pay online the bill payment upto 4 months please solve this issue as soon as possible

sps krishnan
              Jun 16, 2017

Dr. K. P. Ganes - 283/114/253 -[ ae/cpkm] flat s2, best park, 186 velachery main road, east tambaram, chennai 59
              I make the payment on line always regularly, as bill is sighted.

On 18/6/2017, - meter reading was done as follows"
              Reading - 7100
              Consumption - 1300
              Amount - 7060
              Some unreadable description - rs. 1890/
              I dont understand the description {some illegible writing]
              What is this amount for?
              Total billing amount - rs.8960/-
              I am not able to get a response to my calling tneb. Hence this complaint.

Raaj7
                Jun 16, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600056

Hello sir.
                We are suffering from heavy low voltage at our residence. Reason behind this is the transformer. We requesting the eb board to install a new transformer near by our area from past 6 years but no action has been taken up furthur. We all members from our area have also submitted written letter though no resolution. Please help me out from this sir. Unable to sleep in night due to low voltage.
                மதிப்பிற்குரிய ஐயா

வணக்கம், சேலம் மாவட்டம் கெங்கவல்லியில் உள்ள 1வது வார்டு இந்திரா காலணி பகுதியில் கடந்த 6 வருடங்களுக்கு முன்பு புதிய காலணி பகுதிக்கு மின்சார வசதி (single phase line) தெரு விளக்கு மற்றும் வீட்டு இணைப்புக்கும் சேர்த்து ஒரே இணைப்பாக (single line) வழங்கப்பட்டது. அப்போது இந்த பகுதியில் 30 வீடுகள் மட்டுமே இருந்தது ஆனால் தற்போது இந்த பகுதியில் சுமார் 500 வீடுகளுக்கு மேல் வசிக்கிறார்கள்.

இப்பகுதியில் அரசின் 2 ஆழ்துளை கிணற்று மின் மோட்டார்கள் குடிநீர் வசதிக்காக நாள் முழுவதும் இயங்குகிறது. மேலும் சுமார் 30 தெரு விளக்கு மின் கம்பங்கள் உள்ளது. இந்த சூழலில் இப்பகுதியில் மின் இணைப்புள்ள வீடுகளில் சீரான மின்னழுத்தம் (230 volt)கிடைப்பதில்லை. இதனால் இப்பகுதி வீடுகளிலுள்ள மின் விளக்குகளும் தெரு விளக்குகளை இயக்கும் முன்பும், குடிநீருக்கான அரசின் ஆழ்துளை மின் மோட்டார்களை இயக்கும் முன்பும் இயக்கினால் மட்டுமே இயங்ககிறது. வீட்டு மின் விசிறிகளும் முழு திறனுடன் இயங்குவதில்லை. மற்ற வீட்டு உபயோக பொருட்களான பிரிட்ஜ், வாசிங் மெஷின், ஏ.சி, குடிநீருக்கான மின் மோட்டார் என எதையும் இயக்க முடிவதில்லை.

எனவே தற்போதைய சூழலில் குழந்தைகள், மாணவர்கள் வயதானோர், பெண்கள் என அனைத்து தரப்பினரும் தினமும் அவதிப்படுகின்றனர்.

வீட்டு உபயோகத்திற்காக நுகர்வோர் கட்டணம் செலுத்தி பெறும் மின்சாரத்தை சரியான முறையில் சீரான மின்னழுத்தமாக (230 volt) வழங்குவதே சரியானது நியாயமானது.

இது சம்பந்தமாக எங்கள் ஊரின் உதவி மின் பொறியாளர் அலுவலகத்தில் பலமுறை புகார் தெரிவித்தும் எவ்வித நடவடிக்கையும் எடுக்கவில்லை.

எனவே தாங்கள் தயவுகூர்ந்து எங்கள் பகுதி மக்களின் வேண்டுகோளை ஆய்வு செய்து உரிய நடவடிக்கை மேற்கொண்டு சீரான மின்னழுத்தம் வழங்க வேண்டமாய் தங்களை வேண்டி கேட்டுக்கொள்கிறோம்..

நன்றி

எங்கள் இந்திரா காலணி பொது மக்களின் சார்பாக

சூ.பாலகிருஷ்ணன்
                இந்திரா காலணி
                கெங்கவல்லி
                சேலம் மாவட்டம்
                மின்னஞ்சல்: [protected]@gmail.com

BASKARAN KRISHNAN
                  Jun 15, 2017

Address: 635109

Sub: tneb - improper meter reading and over charging
                  Division : hosur, krishnagiri district

With reference to the above subject, i have a tneb connection to my house, consumer number is[protected].

Meter reading suppose to take every 2 months and charge me based on the consumptions.
                  I got a consumption unit as zero for the billing cycle 16 sep 2016 to 15 dec 2016.
                  Then i got 810 units from 16 dec 2016 to 15 feb 2017 - my question is how it is possible???
                  Then billing cycle from 16 feb 2017 to 15 april 2017 as 100 units which is a free units and bill value was zero.
                  Now, from 16 april 2017 to 15 june 2017 shows as rs. 3, 628. How come one billing cycle zero and another billing cycle is huge amount.

This shows very clearly that, you are doing your duty properly and making me suffer with big financial burden.

Your meter reading person is not at all coming and taking the reading, he is putting some number and closing.

If he says, the door is locked, then that is a lie statement. Because we are in a apartment and having 17 connection in the same place and always the gate is open only.

I need proper justice for this and reverse the excess amount paid till date.

Also, please let me know, why i should not go to a consumer court and file a complaint against tneb for cheating in the monthly billing.

Baskaran k

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] — Huge payment - reminder

Good Morning

Our EB Service No:[protected]. Our Eb bill for previous months Rs.596 only. But this month we received an bill amount Rs.1891. 3 Months office in Door Locked. How can it possible. please rectify this problem soon.

B. Adbul Hakeem
                  Mob: [protected].
                  Hi Sir/Madam,

EB Staff did the meter reading on 30-May-2017, did wrong entry in electric card as on 17-May-2017. Due to this we have to pay our consuming amount with penalty. about more than 2000 Customers paid with penalty. due to their mistake, While we asked they said due to shortage of Staff's they did meter read very late.

sriramapuram association
                    Jun 14, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600094

We sriramapuram first street association were held and came to know that the whole street is affected by"voltage drop" for the past one week. Few house hold equipment got spoiled due to voltage fluctuation in few houses. We had made a complaint in the kodambakkam power house a week back and till now no response for this issue. Suddenly the voltage hike and fridge and fans on the houses spoiled, we can afford money to service it everytime by changing the coil and compressors, as a true citizens we pay the tax and tneb charges on time and we expect your prompt service and action asap.
                    Jun 16, 2017
                    Updated by sriramapuram association
                    W e sriramapuram association members of Sriramapuram, first street, choolaimedu, chennai-600094 even after verbal complaints through phone, through person and through online consumer complaint, there is no response and every day after 6 pm till early morning 7 am we have the Voltage drop and fluctuation issue and no one from Kodambakkam power House office is taking initiative to rectify the issue. our House hold equipment are getting spoiled day to day . please take action before any house will get fire Accident due to the High voltage or loss of Human life.

Naman Mehta
                      Jun 14, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600079

Veerappan street welfare association were held and came to know that the whole "veerappan street is affecte by" voltage drop". Govt fetching good revenue from all business dealers and if customers will find hardship to step in the shop then we will have a big loss of revenue. Do needful else we all dealers will have to take hardstep ae/swept/central

jesri
                        from Munnar, Kerala
                        Jun 14, 2017

Address: Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu, 629252

Sir/madam,
                        From yesterday evening 6.30 there is no electricity in the phase related to pillayarcoil [pkl] area manavalakurichi. K. Kdist. Houses and business establishments are totally out of electricity and suffering from untold miseries.
                        We have complained the matter to the local authorities concerned but in vain.
                        So we request you to look into the matter and do the needful and take necessary action upon the employees concerned failing which the matter will be taken to the consumer court.

Pkl. Consumers
                        Consumer no :pkl: 540

Cell no :[protected]

ramkrish2020
                          from Salem, Tamil Nadu
                          Jun 13, 2017

Address: Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu, 600073

Frequent power cuta have become a menance at kumaran avenue, santhoshapuram. Its has been a real headache for the past 2 weeks. Today, the 13th of june power went out by 9pm, its 11:40 pm and it is still not resumed.
                          Can the officials please explain the reason behind this power cut at odd hours? As a working professional, it is really tiring to come home and see that power is not available. There are more than 5 babies in ananda nagar 2nd street who get affected with musquitoe bite at night due to this un noticed power cut. We request officials to take necessary steps to clear this issue as early as possible.

srini 1977
                            Jun 13, 2017

Address: Tiruvallur, Tamil Nadu, 600116

Am requesting you from porur vanagaram, in our circumstance venkateshwara nagar, we have 4 block is frequently getting power failure and the electrician came and rectify temporary since the tneb incoming cable has been defective. We could n`t get the 3 phase power, will have single phase power is coming past one year. Today that is also defective.

In our all the block having less than 5 years kids all are getting affected by summer, early morning and mid night frequently getting power fluxuation and low voltage problem also.

Kindly look in to solve the problem and do the necessary process to replaced the spare and cables.

R. Srinivassan.

No current in West CIT Nagar area, for past 2 hours. We have an elderly person and a small baby, can you please make sure you fix at the earliest possible?

We are desperately in need of current, as we are sweating out.. Please fix the issue as soon as possible

Ravikumar Kakanuru
                              Jun 13, 2017

My connection # :[protected]
                              Address: pl. No.10, fl-no-g-1, saroj nagar, madipakkam

My eb bill for the month of may 2017 is rs. 6396/- where as consumption charges are rs. 3463/- for 755 units. Also meter is not working (No display) for 2 months and they replaced on 8 jun 2017. I alsomade a written complaint to ae on billing, still no proper response. I am really looking help here to solve my problem. Thanks.

Parimaladevi Raja
                                Jun 13, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600061

I am in durbar flats, mmtc colony,. Nanganallur. For past few days, current is off at 10.30 p. M on daily basis to all. After power return, except 2 flats, all flats are having current. After making call, later an hour current is available in 2 flats. Today, power got cut at 10.30 and it's going to be 2, no power came. Called to eb, number is busy always. Daily called to ae and he helped in situation to be power return. It's really bad that all other surrounding flats has power but not here.

Kumar1807
                                  Jun 12, 2017

Address: 600042

Address : 2b, block 1c, vasanth apartments, 100n feet bye pass road
                                  Velachery, chennai - 42

Usually my monthly bill come around 500 rupees. But the period of march to may came around 25 thousand rupees which is too high and abnormal. I have raised the concern with ae of velachery and he asked me to submit the issue in written and which i did the same on same day (I. E 2 weeks from now). He asked me to hold the payment till investigation. Still no action taken even after multiple reminders. But today my connection was disconnected due to non payment of bill payment.

I am really looking for concern department to take necessary action and solve my issue. I don't even use majority of electronic items and my monthly bill usually around only 500 ruppess. I don't know how this become 25000 in single bill cycle.

I am really looking help here to solve my problem
                                  Jun 12, 2017
                                  Updated by Kumar1807
                                  Address : 2B, block 1C, Vasanth Apartments, 100n feet bye pass road
                                  Velachery, chennai - 42

Usually my monthly bill come around 500 rupees. but the period of March to May came around 25 thousand rupees which is too high and abnormal. I have raised the concern with AE of velachery and he asked me to submit the issue in written and which I did the same on same day (i.e 2 weeks from now). He asked me to hold the payment till investigation. Still no action taken even after multiple reminders. But today my connection was disconnected due to non payment of bill payment.

I am really looking for concern department to take necessary action and solve my issue. I don't even use majority of electronic items and my monthly bill usually around only 500 ruppess. I don't know how this become 25000 in single bill cycle.

I am really looking help here to solve my problem

rkannan rajendran
                                    Jun 12, 2017

Address: Salem, Tamil Nadu, 636003

Salem district udayapatti branch. Mr. Angamuthu line man is always make trouble for public, he always collect rs 50 for each problem attempt, at the same time he try to make problem for near the home to next day collection through eb post wire. The person behave too bad and also very rude speech. Please take action on him because big block dot of eb.
                                    Jun 12, 2017
                                    Updated by rkannan rajendran
                                    Please change the wire man mr.angamuthu. bad man
                                    Unable to view bills online. Always shows "Service Not Available".

Chiranjeevi Rao
                                      Jun 10, 2017

Urapakkam west chudamani street

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 603211

I am chiranjeevi rao msv, aged 70 years. I am living in plot 7 door 5, chudamani street, muthumariamman nagar, urapakkam west, chennai 603211. I have been in this address for more than 20 years now and entire location is covered with individual houses and apartments. We are facing huge electricity fluctuation problem due to which our daily life is very badly impacted. Its my humble request to take this case seriously and help us in installing...
                                      6 other people found this review helpful
                                      6 found this helpful
                                      Devamalu
                                      from Tumkur, Karnataka
                                      Jun 10, 2017

Address: Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu

Devaraju
                                      Sf no. 470
                                      166. C.16
                                      Shankar nagar
                                      Mettupalayam

10/6/17

Ref no.-hand receipt pcb no 408422 and bill no112294.. The sum of amount was paid through cash rs8926 in your office for converting domestic supply to commercial supply for constructing house - ae north tneb/north mettupalayam
                                      After given permanent supply to completed house stil it has not been cleared so far. After reminding n number time needful action has not been taken so far so kindly arrange amount as soon as possible.