Air India Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Feb 10, 2026
Complaints 3187

File a complaint to Air India

Having problems with Air India?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Air India customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Air India reviews & complaints page 115

riya2816
Jan 10, 2018

Our Flight AI101 landed in Newyork JFK airport on Saturday morning .
We were stuck in plane after landing for 5 hours on tarmac.
Flight crew were so insensible, they did not serve and food and water for 5 hours while we were stuck .
After we were deplaned, we were told we will not get baggage's that day . and we were asked to come back again next day to airport . I drove 2 hrs back to airport next day, to find out that JFK was flooded and all our bags were stuck in that area of flooding . Air India Crew was so irresponsible, they would not confirm anything when we can get baggage, and again asked to go back and come back again . they were not ready to ship baggage's for local residents. We drove back again third day for 2 hrs to find out that all our bags were wet and damanged . Air india bluntly told us that we cannot file any claims on them as its not their fault . What kind of irresponsible behavior is this ? No one should ever travel with Air India, they have the worst employees and crew . 3 days of non stop torture !!!
Air India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Nakul Sehgal
    Jan 9, 2018

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400049

Hello this is with reference to my flight ai 0656 from rajkot to. Mumbai at 17:40 on 9th jan 2018. I had issued a web check-in boarding pass but was denied boarding the flight as i had reached 30 mins before scheduled departure time. As per boarding pass instructions i had to reach 20 mins before as i already had a valid boarding pass in hand but had reached 30 mins prior still i was denied boarding sighting various reasons of not reaching on time and that the boarding is complete and also that they tried contacting me whereas i didn't receive any call from the airport which can be proved from. My phone records. It seemed like they had cancelled my boarding pass and issued it to someone else or that they were overbooked and had to issue it to first come basis. The flight had also pre departed from the scheduled time of departure. I want to issue a complaint and want the refund process to be initiated immediately along with the damage charges i had to bear as when the flights are delayed from. The airlines end there is zero compensation provided but in such situations the airlines just don't want to even look or talk to the customer which is horrible and not acceptable under any circumstances. The ticket has been paid for with all taxes and duties and such instances are unfair and need to be justified in a proper from the airline. Please revert back urgently on my twitter handle or at [protected]@gmail.com. Thanks. Nakul sehgal.

viru6686
      from Vasai-Virar, Maharashtra
      Jan 9, 2018

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400037

My name is viral raval. I was traveling from bhavnagar to mumbai on 8th january 2018.
      I was rather first person to check in. I asked her give me emergency exit seat as my height is 6ft 3 inch, but then she replied that all their 4 emergency exit seats are faced in wrong direction, but there was only two seats, after from there she sent me to another colleague next to her for my check in where i clearly mentioned i wanted a window seat near wings so i can get view from outside and reduce my discomfort o[censored]neasiness.
      But i was given b 10 seat which was not a window seat and my entire trip was uneasy as i was shuffling myself in the same seat. A

Please i would like to revert me and also would like to have some sort of compensation regarding this case as it was for the first time i have faced an issue with air india, being regular traveler with air india and indigo.

tejitha
        Jan 3, 2018

Address: 500032

I have booked my travel from hyderabad to stockholm via delhi (Hyd - delhi ai543) and delhi to stockholm (Ai 167), the first flight has been delayed for 4 and half hours because of which we missed the second flight to stockholm, and in delhi we were just left without any proper information and stood in que for 4 long hours. The service is pathetic.

anurav yadav
          Jan 2, 2018

Respected sir/madam
          New year greetings
          I am major anurav yadav. I had traveled from guwahati to delhi on 26 dec 2017 on air india flight ai 890 vide ticket number[protected]/74/75 c1. One of my baggage was lost in the transit. I had lodged a complaint at delhi airport vide reference number - delai95734/26dec2017/1408gmt.
          My luggage was delivered to me 31 dec 2017 at jodhpur airport.
          I had to buy essentials (Toiletries, clothes and warm clothing etc. For self, wife and child) in emergency to tide over the crisis.
          I now request you to kindly help me get compensation for the inconvenience caused.
          Kindly acknowledge.

Anurav yadav

User1514897925
            Jan 2, 2018

I paid £4400 for 2 business class seats.

On arrival i found my seats to be torn apart and my seating area was held together by several strips of brown duct tape with holes and stuffing coming out of the arm rests amongst more disaster.

For the amount paid i do not accept these conditions and demand compensation or i will escalate to governing bodies.

Shubhashreeshrestha
              Jan 1, 2018

I travelled from kathmandu to bangalore on 30th dec 2017. I had a connecting flight from kathmandu to delhi and from delhi to bangalore. The flight no. From kathmandu to delhi was ai 214 and from delhi to bangalore it was ai 174. I was told that they will transfer the baggage themselves and i didn't need to do anything about my baggage in delhi airport. The flight from kathmandu to delhi was scheduled at 10:25 a. M. And the flight from delhi to bangalore was scheduled at 17:45 p. M which was delayed by half an hour. After landing in delhi i was told to go to the trasfer section. The security check was going on in the transfer section and after that we were suppose to go to the assigned gate. After landing in bangalore at 21:25 p. M i went to collect my baggage in the assigned belt no but my baggage hadn't arrived so i wrote a complaint and they told me it'll take maximum 24 hours and it has edxceeded 24 hours and i still didn't get my baggage. Its been 2 days since i lost my baggae and the airlines people in bangalore told me that they still didn't get any information from delhi airport.
              Kindly look into the problem a. S. A. P... As i need my baggage a. S. A. P

Sanjivroy29
                Dec 29, 2017

I am to travel by flight no. Ai 410 from patna to delhi which is delayed and allegedly diverted but we are waiting here on in the departure lounge without any feedback by airlines. All other airlines staff present here and are briefing their respective passengers about latest status and also refreshments and water are provided to all of them except passengers of air india. Flight delayed by more than five to six hours but all through this no one from air india came to departure lounge to update the passengers who are apparently in panic and worried. Tried to contact air india over telephone and i am informed that flight landing which is untrue. Now about refreshment and water they outrightly refused over phone. Then all of a sudden few staff came and started boarding for ai 408. On being asked about ai 410 they rudely refused to say anything leave aside that they could have said they did not have any idea. Their conduct is totally unbecoming and cruelly unprofessional i say. Right before them all staff of other airlines are so caring and attentive to their passengers but air india staff are so rude and shameful in their response. I strongly lodge my protest with air india and i will go further with my complain fir the reason that despite my repeated request they outrightly refused to brief about the information they should have shared with passengers. Then how do they think that passengers will be waiting so long without being offered anything to eat. Even no water is provided to us. Are rules for air india different from other airlines. My complain is for taking action against rude staff and their totally bad conduct.
                Dec 29, 2017
                Updated by Sanjivroy29
                Flight time shown as 1245 but it's around 1800 hrs..but nobody from Air India cared to attend to overdelated and troubled passengers at Patna Airport. I strongly lodge the manner of airlines staff who are behaving so bad. On being asked they just ignore rudely to reply and which is just shameful.
                Dec 29, 2017
                Updated by Sanjivroy29
                I requested CISF staff and they conveyed the message to airlines staff but nobody came to attend to the passengers getting delayed.
                Dec 29, 2017
                Updated by Sanjivroy29
                This is just ridiculous how air India behaving so opposite to other airlines who are throughout so supportive and caring to their passengers. Is air India immune to professional ethics.
                My impoort detail is
                my shipmant dispach FROM SHANGHAI to BOM
                flight number AI349/29.DEC
                AIRWAY BILL NO[protected]
                IT IS A VELUABEL CARGO. IT'S NOT A genrel CARGO
                WHY CAN'T SEND TO BKC.
                plz shift erely to BKC

Girishnaudiyal
                  Dec 29, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110091

Cabin crew were two young boys out of which one was very unprofessional. He was looking arrogant, not listening to the requests of the passengers. Water was not being served. One strange thing was that they served dinner first and drinks afterwards. They were in such a hurry that they did not asked all passengers for drinks. Wine was not being served. (As if they were savings drinks for themselves). Pillows and blankets were not provided even after request. Absolutely unprofessional attitude. Tea stuff was served with dinner but the water was cold one. When asked for hot water, they refused and said, it is not available. How can one have tea in a cold water? In all, absolutely un professional attitude and not expected from a flight crew when others give a smiling service.
                  Main crew ms. Chandrakanta had changed her dress before de boarding of passengers and in stead of wishing, they were chatting at the exit gate. Very casual approach. Smile was not visible at any face as if they were obliging us. A govt. Servant like attitude. Totally un-desirable.

MPankaj
                    Dec 29, 2017

Dear sir/mam

It is regarding the pnr # jglc7
                    We were 2 passengers and boarded the flight no. Mk748 of air mauritius on[protected] from mauritius to mumbai and then there was a connecting flight no. Ai806 from mumbai to new delhi, it was scheduled for 8:00 hours on[protected].

For flight no. Ai806 we did the web check well in advance and reached the boarding pass printing counter on 7:00 hours and the same was not working then an airline rep. Came and helped me to take the print out from other machine and asked me to move to the counter (Second last counter on the e-zone of chhatarpati shivaji intl airport, mumbai) only to drop the check in luggage. This process wasted our 8-10 minutes.

However the air india representative was not available at the counter and she came after 3-4 mins till that it was already 7:15 hours and we were supposed to drop the luggage only. While the bags were weighed they were found excess by 7-8 kgs and the lady told us to get some stuff in to the hand luggage and we did the same in a span of 5 mins and then immediately she refused to accept our check in luggage saying that the “time has exhausted now” whereas she never told us in advance that we have lesser time and we shall pay for the excess luggage and move ahead towards the boarding. Instead she accepted by saying “i only checked the weight of your luggage, i did not check which flight you are travelling”

After argument we finally paid the full ticket amount for next flight no. Ai866 (E-tkt no.[protected]c1 and[protected]c1) where as this flight was absolutely light and we could have been accommodated on the fair which we had already paid once for the earlier flight.

I would like the refund for the tickets booked later on by me which i was asked by the air india rep. When i was in a hap hazard/ panicked situation.

Amt - 7354/-
                    Will wait for your reply.
                    Your effort will be highly appreciated.
                    Pankaj malik
                    Dec 29, 2017
                    Updated by MPankaj
                    All documents have been attached

Kirtikumar Pandya
                      Dec 25, 2017

very high cancellation charge by air india - rs. 5250 from ticket of rs. 6904 - 76 %

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 364002

I have booked tickets from air india as follows:

E-ticket itinerary receipt

Passenger details
                      Passenger type name frequent flyer no. Meal request spl. Request ticket no. (S)
                      Adult 1 kirtikumar shankarlal pandya ai[protected] na na 098-[protected]
                      Travel information
                      Flight depart arrive class fare
                      Basis nvb* nva* baggage
                      Allowance
                      Ai 9652
                      Booked
                      ajay
                      Dec 24, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110059

Last week i, along with my wife, was returning to delhi from shillon, my scheduled flights were shillong (14:50) to kolkata (16:25), 16/12/2017 from air india and kolkata (20:20) to delhi (22:55), 16/12/2017 from indigo.
                      My flight no. Ai 9712 from shillong to kolkata was scheduled to be depart at 14:50 on 16/12/2017 and arrival of said flight at kolkata was 16:25 same day. Due to the arbitrariness of air india and misguidance with false information, i didn’t catch my next flight from kolkata to delhi.
                      On 16/12/2017 at around 11:30, i received message from air india that my flight will depart late due to operational changes by one hour i. E. At 16:00 and at around 14:30 air india informed me that same flight shall now operate as guwahati-kolkata and will depart at 17:45 hrs from guwahati airport instead of shillong.
                      Air india has shifted us from shillong to guwahati by road and when we reached guwahati airport at around 17:30 pm, cisf security has refused to allow our entry as our flight was scheduled to be from shillong and air india has not provided any information to cisf/airport security regarding our arrival. We were forced to move from one gate to another and after requesting several air india staff we were allowed to enter. Due to all that mismanagement our flight depart from guwahati at around 18:20 and we finally reached kolkata at 20:05. Not only this when i requested air india official at kolkata airport to deliver my baggage directly to me instead of providing baggage through conveyor, they refused my request. Because of all these mentioned carelessness of air india i didn’t catch my flight from indigo.
                      Thereafter we had to book a flight from jet airways from kolkata to delhi that cost me 18228/- in between we had booked a hotel (Chinar hotel) for our stay and that cost me 1577/- and we also spent rs. 275/ as conveyance for to and fro from airport to hotel. For all the above air india is responsible and they have to compensate for the mental harassment and monitory loss incurred by me.
                      My grievances from air india are as given below:
                      1 sudden change of flight timing due to operational changes.
                      2 delay in departure of flight by 3:30 hrs.
                      3 mismanagement at airport after rescheduling of flights.
                      4 during surface transportation from one airport to another, air india didn’t provide any escort.
                      5 providing false information regarding departure of flight.
                      6 forcing passengers to travel distance of 100kms in bus for boarding the flight.
                      7 changing boarding airport without taking concern of passengers.
                      8 not providing information to the security officials of rescheduled airport.
                      9 air india provided me false assurances and i am feeling like cheated and mentally harrassed.
                      10 negligence of air india has put me into inconvenience and monitory loss.
                      11 for all the above air india is responsible and they have to compensate for the mental harassment and monitory loss incurred by me.

Ajay kumar
                      Mobile no. [protected] & [protected]
                      E mail id - [protected]@yahoo.co.in

rahulvedu
                        from Firozpur, Punjab
                        Dec 22, 2017

Ms aparna pune front desk boarding staff behaviour is rude and ridiculous with passenger. She is continously lying that my number is not updated with pnr no. So msg not received for delayed flight while customer care confirm number is there.

I would like to register my complain against this staff and dissatisfied with air india service.

I will file complaint against bad service of air india in consumer forum

mamata sarangi
                          Dec 18, 2017

I travelled from bhopal to mumbai by ai632 on 15 dec at 22.30 and reached 1.00am. While getting bag (Make: american tourister) from the belt i found that the handle was not coming out to stroll away the bag. As it was late, and no official around to take my complaint, i brought a cart and took away the bag. However, it was utmost misery afterwards. I had to carry heavy load by hand as the handle knob had been broken and was not working.

I had to travel further on ai669 on 17 dec and i had to face lot of inconvenience with the damaged bag at every point.

Video footage may please be checked. I may please be compensated suitably.

Mamata sarangi

drcranjan
                            Dec 18, 2017

During journey on 16th dec 2017 from gaya to delhi when flight landed varanasi, ticket checker and baggage checker came into the aircraft to do their responsibe duty, in between 2 sweeper also came into. I loss my attention from my phone in these time period. When flight take off from varanasi i felt my mobile lost within this 15-20 min period. I reported the matter to aircraft hostess (Ladies and gents) but their poor response, when craft landed at delhi again i report about it to aircraft staffs, they tried to search near my seat no 19abc and 18 de but could not find. I report it to exit point at delhi airport but they didn't give any complain no only written it in a register. Nothing help anymore. They also told that there was no facility to lodge fir at this airport.
                            Mobile make is xiaomi redmi 4, colour is black.
                            Kindly do the needfull.
                            Etk[protected]c2

Anand Khurana
                              Dec 18, 2017

Hi team

I travelled from gothenburg to new delhi on saturday (16th dec, 2017)

When i came from delhi to gothenburg on 25th the luggage was of same weight and same size. But i when i was travelling back they did not allowed my weight and asked me to weight my cabin bag and laptop bag separately.

And i they forced or harrassed me to pay the amount for extra bag, if i want to travel. They denied for giving me boarding pass, asked me to pay or you will leave the flight.

I paid 1490 sek for the extra baggage, which was too much for my cabin bag to pay.

I am very much dissatisfied with the service you have provided me.

The behaviour that you treated with me.
                              May be your policies are specific about your bag size and weight, but that should be same for everytime.

My ticket number is: s9k3d8

Anand khurana.

B B Goyal
                                Dec 16, 2017

Address: Chandigarh, Punjab, 160014

Yesterday i had made a phone call to air india [protected]. My concern was as the chandigarh air port will be closed for flights from 11-2-18 t0 25-2-18, i needed to either reschedule my tickets or get cancelled for full refund. Mr taslim (As the name quoted by the caller) floor manager spoke very bluntly as he told that it was yet two full months left and i should not worry about it and when i asked as to why then air india booking site is showing no fares for pune to chandigarh flights from 11-2-18 t0 25-2-18, he told that the flights are full. On this i asked him that is why i am worried that flights sometimes get full and one needs to plan early and that there is contradiction in his suggestion itself. He brutally told me that come what may they will not refund any amount for my booking as under.
                                It is requested to listen the conversation recording and take appropriate action against mr taslim for his misbehavior.

Also please look into the issue that as chandigarh airport will be closed as mentioned above and i have the following tickets booked for 12 feb pune to chandigarh ai 814. Please decide the matter at the earliest and if this flight is not operative on 12-2-18. Please cancel my tickets and make full refund or confirm that this flight will be operative on this date.
                                Sincerely
                                Bharat bhushan goyal

Web reference: aibe36311447
                                My sim number [protected] deactiveted since 4:00 pm today[protected]

nsureshkumar
                                  Dec 14, 2017

We happened to travel by ai 866 on 5.12.2017 on mum-del sector tckt no y4lwb airline pnr no[protected]/1/1. The said flght no ai866 was to depart at 9.00 am but took off late by 1hrs.40 minutes. We just about managed to catch our connecting train by running all the way fm igi airport to hazrat nizamudding rly station as the flight landed at 12.50 p. M and our train was to depart fm nizamuddin station at a distance of 29 kms fm igi airport. This delay was a great strain and put us under tremendous tension.
                                  On our inward journey on 7.12.2017 del mum sector we were confirmed to travel by ai 191 departing at 21.00 hrs fm igi airport. We had web checked for the flight. Due to unusual late running of connecting trains fm agc to nzm (2 hrs 50 minutes) we could reach igi airport only at 8.25 p. M. Despite our best efforts and we were denied boarding not only that the counter staff had just closed and despite our pleas they denied us boarding passes and refused to even listen to us.
                                  Subsequently i had to fly in the next flght no ai 315 departing at 23 hrs fm igi airport.
                                  My confirmed tickets were cancelled and i had to purchase fresh tckts for rs.15000/- approx. Tckt no[protected].
                                  Now how can the so called national airlines have two different attitudes when for a filmsy reason of non arrival of flight it was delayed by 1 hrs 40 minutes on 5, 12, 17 and denial of boarding pass for late arrival of web checked in customer by 10 minutes on 7.12.17.
                                  We now claim compensation of rs.25000/- for the delalyed take off on 5.12.17 of ai 866 by 1hr. 40 minutes due to which we were put into undue pressure, stress and mental tension due to the late arrival of flght no. Ai 866 at igi airport at 12.50 p. M. As we had to catch a connecting train fm nizamuddin station at 2.00 p. M (New delhi - jabalpur super fast express)
                                  Lost Baggage Complain no. HYDAI58916 dated 03.09.2017. Nobody is updating the status of claim and even nobody bothering to answer the querries.

Sushmitak
                                    Dec 14, 2017

Ref:pg mocav/e/2017/02299 jl0j0 tkt[protected]

I am writing to you yet again regarding this ticket referenced above

Dear sir/ma'am i had booked a ticket for my son from mumbai to chandigarh as per the following details. He could not travel in october as scheduled. When i called up the call center to cancel the ticket i was told that i could use the ticket on any other date within one year without any charge.

When i called up to do that, i was conveniently told that it would not be possible. I would have to cancel the ticket and would not even get my frequent flyer points returned. On being asked why i was coolly told because of a rule change. Traveller rohan kaushik tkt no. 098-[protected] web reference aibe33711487 booking reference jl0j0 i would think that it is logical that any change in policy has to be valid on tickets bought only after the new announcement how can you hoodwink us like that? Is anybody bothered?

I received this mail from air india
                                    Greetings from air india.

As per our records the pnr was cancelled on
                                    21 oct 17 with the remark appended below:

Ms. Sushmita kaushik cld to mk this open tkt

We are processing refund of this ticket rs.1364
                                    This amount will be credited to the card account in 5-6
                                    Working days, as required by the banking authorities.

For reversal of miles we are writing to the concerned unit
                                    To check and write to you directly.

Then i got this mail
                                    With reference to your request for refund of miles against the cancelled ticket[protected].
                                    Effective 1st of nov (Irrespective of the date of issue of the ticket) the miles against award tickets, once revalidated,
                                    Cannot be re-credited. Hence, we regret the miles cannot be re-credited to your account.

I am appealing against the unfairness. I was advised not to cancel the ticket and revert the miles and make it an open ticket for one year. And when i needed to travel it sayscannot be done

Please help

Prof sushmita kaushik
                                    Pgimer, chandigarh

Harjinder Guddi
                                      Dec 12, 2017

Dear air india team,

I am writing to express my frustrations with a recent experience i had on one of your flights. I got an air india flight from vienna to amritsar (Ai154/114) with a stop at new delhi and return.

At the time of flight booking i made pretty sure to pre-book a wheelchair. Then i was surprised at what happened when i got at amritsar on 11 november. Despite of being picked up with a wheelchair, a staff member asked me to go by foot. Besides me, there were a couple of other impaired travelling guests who have been asked the same.

It was an awful service. They took about two hours to make to the immigration controls.

Well, the same incident happened on my return flight at new delhi (Ai 113/153) airport. Now this time it was even worse as i had to catch my next flight. This issue could have affected my connection flight.

I am also concerned with the lack of professionality i experienced with the assistant staff members who were in charge for the wheelchairs. They seriously had the nerve to ask me for a tip. I would not mind giving a tip for a good service, but it made me feel more annoying.

I hope to hear back from you about this unfortunate experience. Please contact me if possible via email at [protected]@gmail.com.

Sincerely,
                                      Mrs. Harjinder kaur