Air India Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Jul 27, 2025
Complaints 3175

File a complaint to Air India

Having problems with Air India?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Air India customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Air India reviews & complaints page 123

dinesh kumar
Jul 3, 2017

Bad response for group booking

Address: Hisar, Haryana, 125052

Ear Sir /Mam

Since 15Th June i am trying to make a group booking with AI but there have no email address where i have to put my query .

And calling center of Delhi and Mumbai are not receiving the calls .

This is the biggest reason for This Govt. Airline in Loss .

We Indian prefer Guest, and here i thing you dont need any guest and Booking .

We are approx 40 pax those...
kgjk272
Jul 3, 2017

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700019

Had a horrible experience from flying with AI international. While in transit in New Delhi airport following arrival by AI 102 on July 1st and waiting to embark AI 764 to Kolkata, numerous items were stolen by the AI baggage handlers from 3 suitcases. Though complaint was raised by calling various AI numbers, the staff is extremely rude, unresponsive and came up with vague websites and phone numbers to lodge further complaint and escalation. They said we should have checked each baggage right after getting those off the conveyor belt. This does not make sense as no passenger checks the baggage in the airport for ensuring all contents are there. Essentially the monetary value may be handled for this stolen episode, but want to raise this to AI higher authorities to ensure they are cognizant of these type of fraudulent unethical activities. We do fly AI consistently for past several years and have travelled in both economy and business classes. Time to rethink about flying with AI in future.
Air India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

ayushkatiyar
    Jun 27, 2017

As per the website of air india under checked in baggage allowance link, it is clearly written that in case a traveller is travelling in alliance air flight connecting to air india flight or vice versa the baggage authorisation is 25 kg. I have online booked a ticket vide pnr no yhnwo for 08 and 09 jul 17 flying from chennai to gorakhpur in a connecting flight of ai 043 from chennai to delhi on 08 jul and by so 9809 from delhi to gorakhpur on 09 jul 17.in my this online my baggage allowance has been reduce to 15 kgs in botb the sectors which is against the baggage authorisation rules of air india published on air india website. When i contacted the air india customer care they are saying a standard answer that baggage authorisation in alliance air is 15 kg hence my authorisation has been reduced to 15 kg in ai flight also. They are unable to explain the rule position of air india which has been published by air india on its website..

shri95
      Jun 27, 2017

I had multiple accounts created during pre-kyc era. Since ai mandated kya compulsory, i am unable to proceed through kyc submission screen since there is duplication of information.
      I have written to air india japan, air india india. I have spoken with their customer care on numerous time. I have even run across multiple counters that ai has at delhi igi. Since this problem has not been resolved for over 2 years now, i m unable to utilize my flyer miles and ai just does not seem to care.
      I have written to
      Flying-returns. [protected]@iclployalty.com,
      Ffp-general

suren@1961
        Jun 26, 2017

Address: 411037

Sir, on 25.06.2017, i had booked online one ticket in flight no ai-854 on 27.06.2017 for delhi and return journey ai-851 on 29.05.2017 for pune. Though, i gave details of my mobile no [protected] and e-mail id [protected]@gmail.com, no pnr or booking details have been sent to me. Today i. E. 26.06.2017, i spoke with the air india staff at pune on no.[protected] and informed her of my grievance, she informed that she would mail the details to me. However, till now, i have not received any details and i am not able to print my ticket. Please help me urgently. - surendra thakur singh

zoshake
          Jun 25, 2017

Address: 500028

I traveled with air india from chicago to hyderabad by flight # ai 126 departing june 22nd 2017 from chicago and arriving in hyderabad the night of june 23rd. The experience i have while travelling could only be termed as horrendous. I have been travelling for the past 20 years to and from chicago to hyderabad and must have made at least 10 trips by myself and with my family that consists of 3 kids. I have traveled right from the time they were infants to teenagers now. I have traveled with royal jordanian, klm, ethihad, emirates and air india in the past. Nothing comes close to the kind of experience i had while traveling with air india this time around.

I was traveling with my 2 sons aged 11 and 9. They were extremely happy to be flying and i was hoping that i could keep them engaged on the 14.5 hours trip from chicago to delhi with games, books, cards, sketching and tv of course. But air india seemed to have quite other plans for us. As soon as we boarded and were on our way, i noticed that the airplane we were flying in seemed very old. There was transparent tape everywhere. I did not pay much attention to it.

We were seated in rows 20h, 20j and 20k. Once we were in the air however, i realized that the tvs were not working for all 3 o[censored]s. I tried everything but nothing on the remote was working. We did not have any service except the monitor being on. We could not even switch the monitor off. No control on the remote was working. This meant we could not call the attendant and we could not even switch on the light. The people in front o[censored]s seemed to have the same issue. I did not say anything then.

When the air hostess came to serve us food, i told her about the situation. She said that she would check with the staff and said that the monitors had been working when they had made a technical inspection of the plane before leaving chicago and feigned surprise. I waited for a couple of hours but there was no feedback. Somehow i tried to catch her attention and asked her what was going on. She said they had tried but there was nothing that could be done. I told her that i had 2 kids traveling with me and it would be extremely difficult to continue the journey with no tv. She said she understood and told me she would try again.

That was the last time i heard anything about it. After that the air hostess started behaving very rude and tried to avoid talking to me. Suffice it to say that she did not provide any kind of service except handing us our food trays. Even the tea, coffee she poured reluctantly. I did not complain and decided to let karma take its course.

The next few hours were pretty agonizing. Not even did the tv and other controls did not work but we were unable to switch off the monitors. This meant that when the lights went off we have a 12 inch monitor staring directly at us with full brightness. My children could not sleep and nor could i. I had to cover the monitor with the blanket that was provided to decrease the intensity of the light coming from the monitor. If we had to look for anything or read we would have to open the window to let the light from outside come in. Yes, it was literally the dark ages all over again and we were paying a hefty amount of money for this torture.

Not once did anyone come and apologize to us. Not even offer an alternate solution. There were 8-10 rows with the same problem and none were offered any sort of solution. I could not wait for the trip to end and somehow managed to keep my kids engaged with games on my phone. Even had to hear some complaints from other customers that my son was leaning against their backseat. I was very proud of my kids that they did not create any disturbance and quietly played around and kept themselves engaged and behaved very well.

I heaved a sigh of relief when we reached delhi and hoped that it would be the end of my troubles. I did not realize that air india was just getting warmed up in tormenting us. The air hostess handed me 1 immigration form and i thought that the policy was similar to one for us wherein one form is given to the whole family traveling together.

At delhi, we got delayed for an hour because of maintenance issues they announced. I didn't mind that because i have traveled for long and know that these things happen. But one thing i hoped for was that the issue with the remote control system would be fixed and our tv and other services would be functioning as they should. Boy! Was i in for a rude disappointment.

When we went into the same aircraft again, i realized that the cleaning crew had not even replenished the supplies. The airsickness bags we had used to store trash (Since no one came to collect trash) were gone and nothing was put in its place. Once again i did not pay much attention to it. But once we sat down in our seats again we realized that nothing had changed. The monitors still glared at us with the image of the taj mahal with a model posing in front. I am getting shivers just thinking about that image because i had stared at it for so long. I resigned myself to the fact that nothing had changed and just hoped to get the 2 hour leg of journey over with.

The passenger seated in front of me was trying the controls and complained to the attendant who told him the same thing i had been told. They should be working, i don't know why they are not. Let me go and check. The attendant left and of course did not return. The complaining passenger got hold of the air hostess who said that she would check in the back and switch it on. I smiled to myself at the blatant lies that were being passed out but decided that i would not make any trouble and kept quiet.

A few minutes later one of the passengers decided to open the baggage cabin bin over our seats. After getting her work done, she tried closing the bin but she was unable to do so. She tried to summon someone but seeing no one she walked away, leaving her bulging backpack hanging out. I hoped she had gone to get someone to close the bin for her. Minutes passed and all my attention was towards the bin. The air hostess walked by and i told her of the problem. She said she would get someone to close it and walked off. Another 15-20 minutes passed. The airplane hit turbulence and the backpack started to move out dangerously.

That's when i decided i needed to do something about it. I got up and talked to the gentleman in front of me and pointed him to the danger above. I asked the lady who had walked away after opening the bin door as to how she could sit quietly without doing anything about it. She answered that she had summoned the staff for help and they had assured her that they would close it. The gentleman summoned one of the cabin attendants by shouting out and he walked towards us. When we tried to explain to him the situation the attendant got angry. He was more concerned about the gentleman calling out for him rather than helping us out. When i told him that there was no other way for us to call an attendant since the controls were not working, he refused to accept any responsibility. He advised me to file an online complaint and there was nothing he could do about it.

I calmly told him i was not complaining about the electronic controls not working but complaining only about the bin that had become a safety issue for my kid and that i could not keep quiet anymore. The attendant started shouting at the top of his voice that they could not possibly come and close the bins and that we should be doing that ourselves. I said that the lady tried and could not do it. He said that was not their issue. He started shouting at the passenger in front saying he should not have called out for him. He banged the bin door close angrily as another person from the staff walked over to the passenger trying to calm the situation down.

I am completely flabbergasted with this approach. Leave alone an apology, we were dealt with like we were doing a mistake by talking out. Once again, not one person came to apologize or offer an explanation. I was just waiting for the flight to reach its destination. It did, but the nightmare did not stop.

In the immigration line, the office told me that i needed 3 forms, not 1. I had to get out of the line to take the forms and by the time i came back there was a huge line. Please imagine the state of my mind and body at that time. I had 2 very tired kids and here i was handed 1 form by the air hostess who knew completely well that i had 2 children traveling with me and chose to just hand me 1 form. Plain evil, i would say.

After requesting a passenger to let me join at the front of the queue, i managed to get the immigration done.

An unpleasant, unpleasant experience. I hope and pray that i never get to travel by air india again. The worst air crafts, horrendous service and extremely rude behavior.

I am including pictures from the trip of the monitors and everything being off. Please help me out here. The service we received was not what was promised to us when we booked the tickets. This is basic service and our rights were completely denied. I request air india to set this thing right.

— zohra shaik

Lionrock
            Jun 24, 2017

Reimbursement

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110037

On June 19 a weather delay caused my daughter to miss Air India flight 439 from New Delhi to Chennai, India.

Upon going to the Air Ibdia counter, she was told that she must pay $300.05 US for a new ticket on flight 429, ito make her next flight.

Since weather caused her to miss her first flight, we are requesting reimbursement of the $300.05 US....
            Pratyush Negi
            Jun 22, 2017

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400056

Kindly note that i booked my air india flight 667 (Mumbai - trivandram) and air india 668 (Trivandram-mumbai) on 21st june, 2017.

https://book.airindia.in/itd/itd/lang/en/reservations/nsibe32568511/segment/bom2...

Above is the link you have provided for booking or blocking seats in prior. The link directed us to the toll free number of air india. To start with i want to draw your attention to the disappointment we had to face while calling the customer care. None of your employees cared to help us book us the seat, adding to that that, out of 13 times i have called (You may check the records|ph. No. [protected]|) each of your employee made me hold the call and then eventually dropped it. This happened consecutively despite me warning them not to drop the call. Paying hefty amounts to an airlines and getting this type of a treatment is not fair. None of your employees had the decency to call me back or even apologise for such a big delay and ignorance. It is my utmost request that i get a call back from your customer care otherwise i would be forced to post about the failed system and the about my sufferings due to your incompetent department on indian new desk. (https://www.facebook.com/indiannewsdesk/), whom am partners with. Kindly pay attention. Thank you.

Best,
            Pratyush negi
            I left my jacket in the plain due to the tension in catching the connecting flight. And then i raised a complaint and they now.habe the jacket in their possession. I am now asking them to hand it back to me but they are not reacting at all.

M farha
              Jun 20, 2017

Address: Ernakulam, Kerala, 682036

I don't want to get started with the eight hours of delay from doha to mumbai. But the thing which bothered us the most was the delay in baggages. It is five in total and we are yet to receive all of them. We have tried calling every landlines possible and to our "surprise", no one answered. We tried tracing the baggage pieces on the website provided, still no use. What am i supposed to do now??? Cause it's more than 24 hrs now! We came for a two months vacation to kochi as the entire family stays in qatar. We have no clothes to wear as the clothes are all packed up inside the luggage. Kindly respond immediately.
              Thank you!
              A.Cinior Citizen discount not received for the trip ID NF[protected]
              (1) Reena Pal, Date of Birth : 21-Sep-1954,
              (2) Minakshmi Kundu: 20-May-1951

B.Cinior Citizen discount not received for the trip id : IN1705B4S4026194
              (1) Minakshmi Kundu: 20-May-1951

Venkata lova
                Jun 19, 2017

When i did check-in for ai951 on 19th june 2017, seat selected was 5c and also received check-in confirmation. Upon dropping baggage at airport, boarding pass was issued with 7d. When requested the crew why the change, crew mentioned it was system auto change and they cannot help. I had to board since i have no time. I preferred to have 5c and airline staff denied to assist and was consistently mentioning it was system auto generation and couldn't help. Upon further enquiry it was discovered that the seat was changed to 7d since another passenger opted to pay for 5c which was already reserved for me. Why would paid seats appear for check-in in the first place??

balwant negi
                  Jun 14, 2017

Respected sir/madam
                  I having frequent flyer no[protected] booked two ltc ticket via air india (Pnr no zdxqv) from delhi to trivandrum for 04-06-17, meanwhile i made a querry to customer care no regarding procedure and extra charge if i want to prepone my journey on 30-05-17, no request was made by me to get it prepone but when on 04-06-17 i alongwith my son and mother reached at new delhi airport i was told that there is no seat for me and my son and told that that pnr has been preponed on 30-05-17 and counter clerk charged extra rs 5000/- from me for booking seats on 04-06-17. Here i would like to mention that no any mail or request was received by us regarding change of date of journey. I was surprissed that how on telepohne querry only date of journey was rescheduled that to without any intimation.in this regard a complain was also lodged by me vide srl no 13328 at delhi airport itself. You are requested to kindly do needful and refund rs 5000/- charged extra from me and person responsible be given warning for causing me harrassement and inconvenience.

My Daughter Traveling from Honkonk to Jodhpur why to Bombay with to Small Children he Collected Luggage at International Airport she Reich at Domestic Transfer Counter. But Luggage not book for jodhpur why domestic counter person Saying that you can book at your own risk which leads to unsanitary Harassment and Luggage book at 6am after 4 hours.

sachip
                    from Anand, Gujarat
                    Jun 14, 2017

Address: Kheda, Gujarat, 387001

My air india booking ref number is z7xl6.
                    Which is for my relative mrs vilasben patel. Who is not able to walk so we make wheelchair at booking time.. At the ahmadabad airport ai provide wheelchair but at london airport newark airport ai staff doesn't provide staff so she face many inconvenience. When we ask at the airport that why you dont provide wheelchair they said that mumbai airport is not allowing you.. But when you give us wheelchair at ahmedabad airport then why not given at london airport and newark airport.. They not accepting anything.

Moksha Srivastava
                      Jun 11, 2017

Address: 560034

Hi all,

I think almost everyone must be aware that airindia is the most non-recommended airline.
                      But i have travelled in domestic flights and thought that it may not be that bad experience as people share.
                      I booked airindia ai-173 for san fransisco for 4th june and it was a direct flight. Straight 22 hours journey.
                      I am a business woman and wanted a direct flight as i can't afford to waste even a single second.

But the horrific experience with their staff made me now write it down here and also i am going to the consumer forum.
                      This post is for everyone who are traveling for long distances.

Somehow after requesting at the counter, they gave me an extra legroom seat after paying extra (This makes sense to me), but again we got late because of him creating a problem.
                      Now i am in the flight and the flight has taken off. So, there is a button which is above your seat for your convenience so you can call the crew member and tell them your requirements. They never came after pressing the button and i thought its okay. These people are busy so when they will come i can ask for what i want. I was okay if they were not coming that time as it was day time.

Now its night almost 12:30pm, i called them, nobody came, this was 5 times i pressed the button but no one came. I got really furious by that time.
                      I went to the back and a guy and a lady were sitting there, i could see that they got the signal that someone is calling but they didn't give a damn about it.

I asked them that why are they not attending?
                      Clear reply 'madam we are trying to work here', i said okay but what if someone is in urgent need?
                      The guy rudely replied that "hum yahan faltu thodi na baithe hain".
                      I thought let's leave it there is not point in arguing with him as i found attitude issues with him, he was very rude.

I said i am very hungry (Just for all your information, 4-5 hours aftre the meal snacks are either distributed or the passengers are informed if it is kept somewhere).
                      He said' "we have kept is there and you can take it", i said then how am i supposed to know if i can take it?? Those are all covered?
                      He said "ki woh hamara kaam nai hai, you should know that".

I got really angry and said and asked him that he should have announced or displayed somewhere that are eatables for you and you can eat it anytime.

By this time he started shouting and said "you have not landed yet"
                      So better be careful. I can create problem at immigration and you will have to go back"

I really got scared. As i didn't know if he can do anything. I came back to my seat and felt really bad, he shouted at me and i was crying sitting on my seat.
                      His crew manager also saw me crying but didn't do anything about it. Then my friend grabbed some buscuits from there and i eat.

After this what i saw was heart breaking, all the oldies and uncles in my airbus came there and started eating. Probably these people were also hungry and were not knowing if they can eat that.
                      They saw me taking it from there and they also started eating. I felt so bad but couldn't do anything about it.

How stupid can airindia crew be?? Are you even human, you have oldies and kids and ladies on-board in your flight and you don't give a damn about it??

You better send me a written apology and my refund. Anyway i am going to consumer forum but this is just height o[censored]nethical behaviour of your staff who think its agovt job and they can do whatever they want in the air.

ankur341
                        Jun 10, 2017

Address: Bathinda, Punjab, 151001

I had booked air india flight ai-9622, pnr - hqcvr from bathinda to new delhi, travel date 10 june 2017 and departure time 12.35 p. M. The flight got cancelled and i was informed regarding the same at 10.15 a. M on the same date i. E 10 june 2017. Also, no other flight was available from bathinda to new delhi on the same date.

I had also booked an onwards air india flight from new delhi to varanasi ai-427, pnr - y40nl, travel date 10 june 2017 and departure time 17.05 p. M. However, since my previous flight got cancelled, i could not catch this flight also.

I talked to air india customer service regarding the same to get my booking of new delhi to varanasi rescheduled or cancelled, but he said that the same can neither be rescheduled nor cancelled and i will not get any refund and my entire booking amount of rs.5370/- will be forefeited.

In view of the above, i had to re-plan my entire travel schedule. I had to book two train tickets from bathinda to delhi of myself along with my husband costing rs.1230/-. I had to book another flight from new delhi to varanasi flight no indigo 6e-176 on another date 11 june 2017 costing rs.6000/-. My husband also had to take one day leave from his office.

I and my husband had to face a lot of mental and physical harassment on account of the above.

So, i request for claim of rs.12500/- on account of above.

Vaibhavkilroy
                          Jun 8, 2017

Address: Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh, 462031

My mother 56 yeras old mrs jyoti dubey a case of carcinoma thyroid and my father mr rk dubey 64 years old, senior cetizen and patient of ihd post cabg travelled by ai 437 from delhi to bhopal. I have chosen seat 4a and 4b for them, but they were allotted seats 7a and 7e. No reason given. Tkt no[protected], and[protected]. I want to know who were "more deserving" passengers who were alloted seats 4a and 4b and on what basis? Air india should not give a optiob to choose seat or if given they should respect it. I seek clarification for this reckless and uncommpassionate behaivour.

vanrah05
                            Jun 8, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 122001

The air india website requires one to upload kyc documents for frequent flier. The website does not work. On calling the callcentre, they say tha their website does not work with chrome - only with internet explorer. Try the same with explorer. Still does not work. On calling the call centre again, they pretend not to hear midway through the conversation. Maybe they dont have a solution so that pretend not to hear - or maybe equipment they have is faulty. This happened two times with two different agents. Why can't they get anything working???
                            I had booked a ticket however the date was wrongly selected mistakenly. I had raised a request for modification but the airline is charging the complete cancellation charges which is 50% of the cost of the ticket. The flight is 4 months hence and there should not be an issue. Request support for early resolution. The PNR No. is AI*HT4RQ.

ashu009
                              Jun 7, 2017

Address: 110030

Sir my name is ashutosh sati i was to travel to bombay from delhi on air india ai-102 ticket number[protected] to depart at 17:00
                              Sir due to heavy traffic and unforseen circumstances i reached the airport by 16:17 but i was denied entry into the flight as the officials had already closed the entry doors sir i had an interview at bombay and it was absolutely necessary for me to take that flight inspite of that they did not consider my request of opening the gates even for a minute when i asked to cancel my ticket and reimbursement they denied it and told me i'll only be returned taxes this happened before the scheduled departure of the flight sir i want you to please look at this matter and reimbursement me for my my fare if possible

Dhilon
                                Jun 4, 2017

Today i was scheduled to depart from new delhi to kolkata. I was travelling with my wife. The new delhi airport is full of lazy lumps who are least bothered in doing their jobs to the fullest. They are all in sleep mode it seems.
                                Firstly on reaching the airport there were no luggage trolleys. On asking they were all clue less n chose not to move from their comfort chairs.
                                Finally i ran inside the airport n managed to find a vacant trolley.
                                I somehow carried all my luggage on it and reached the check in counter which they closed before the stipulated time.
                                Inspite of repeated requests they chose not to do anything.
                                There was no personnel available at the air india counter. There was no proper personnel from the airports authority to take care of the situation or to help me.
                                I was badly harassed and finally i missed my flight.
                                The date of the incident 4th june 2017.
                                The flight that i was scheduled to board was [protected]@2.
                                Consequently my entire booking of 8100/- went a waste.
                                I demand an inquiry into the issue so that passengers are not hassled again like this n such staff should be reprimanded.
                                Also i would like to claim a sum of 8100/- on the accused.

flyboysingle
                                  Jun 3, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110045

Air india flight ai 42 being delayed without any reason. Air india is holding the aircraft for some vip politician who is in a party. Flight from delhi to chennai on 04 jun. Dep time was to be 17.15 hrs. But no info till 18.10 hrs. This is why air india is loosing crores of taxpayers money. Kindly look into this episode of delaying a flight of hundreds of passengers for a politician.
                                  I had booked domestic air ticket through the air India website.During booking I wrongly filled the return date 22 August instead of 22 July. When I modified the date they charged 5000rs I think it's very high amount had paid for such negligence. Kind look into it.

Delay in flight AI 42 - Comment #2751852 - Image #0

Abdulkhaderteacher
                                    Jun 2, 2017

Address: Kasaragod, Kerala, 670314

I have booked an air ticket to moscow, ref no. At[protected]. Now i came to know that the air india flight has been cancelled. It is a pity that i have to pay rs10000 for reissuing the ticket. Kindly let me know whether you compensate the amount or can i approach consumer court for the redress al of grievance.
                                    I didn't cancel tha ticket. Air india cancelled the flight. So i think it is your duty to provide compensation.

Abdulkhader
                                    Jun 02, 2017
                                    Updated by Abdulkhaderteacher
                                    My e ticket no is.[protected].
                                    Air line ref.JJOL3
                                    CRS ref.C3PRVO