Air India Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Jul 27, 2025
Complaints 3175

File a complaint to Air India

Having problems with Air India?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Air India customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Air India reviews & complaints page 32

aatishksahu
from Pasighat, Arunachal Pradesh
Feb 6, 2022

I have booked Air India flight from Guwahati-Kolkata-Bhubaneswar (Booking Reference:YH8DP, date 17 Oct 2021). However, there was re-schedule of the said flight from Guwahati to Kolkata which led to cancellation of the ticket as it was not possible for me to catch that rescheduled one. Based on Air India support service the cancellation was done (The feedback reference number: WB-DGAU[protected] for Case ID[protected].
However the refund amount is still not done after repeated assurance from Air India Customer Service.
Air India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

ManveenK
    Feb 5, 2022

Have booked on your website as a guest and money has been debited but I did not receive a ticket or a confirmation number or a transaction number. You now have about Rs 4680 of my money but nothing in return. Customer Service lines are busy. PLEASE HELP!. I have my UPI reference number.
    I would appreciate if my refund is initiated asap

bisu21das
      from ISLAMPUR, Bihar
      Feb 4, 2022

I have booked a ticket from DUBAI to BAGDOGRA ON 04TH FEB 2022, for the travel date 26th MARCH 2022. at the end of the transaction money was deducted and a popup message "P_0006 - Payment has been collected. Sorry, we were not able to ticket your booking due to some technical reasons. We shall mail the tickets to you shortly." I have not got any email confirmation regarding the ticket. I tried to reach customer care but its not reachable. please send an email confirmation ASAP.

BISWAJIT DAS
      +[protected]

argmaz
        Feb 3, 2022

Booked a ticket on AI for 9th January 2022 from Kolkata - London. This was cancelled by AI citing operational reasons.
        I immediately called up customer service and lodged refund request and also submitted feedback on AIR INDIA website.
        The feedback request number is WB-ICCU[protected]
        The ticket number is[protected]

Till date the refund has not been credited.

Justin Raju
          Feb 1, 2022

Address: vishrantwadi

Hello Team,

i have booked a ticket from Jammu to Leh and vice & versa, due to name correction i had to cancel the ticket of one member his name is
          Mr. Mukesh Shah, Adult Z8DG4 098-[protected] 14A
          Mr. Mukesh Shah, Adult JFH9S 098-[protected] 18A

but to my dismay i didnt got any refund from the AIRINDIA, i had booked this ticket using make my trip, make my trip is saying it is penalty from AIRINDIA and AIRINDIA it is charges from MAKEMYTRIP
          when i was cancelling the ticket for Mukesh i can see that the charges was mentioned as AIR INDIA PENLATY CHARGES
          AND THE CHARGES WHERE RS 6200 (approx)

Justin Raju
          when i called the customer care of India they are saying that it is charged by Make my trip but make my trip is saying that charges are from AIR India

even i can see the charges are mentioned as AIR India charges
          please find the attachment ..please tell me who is lying

Cancellation of only one member - Comment #3952116 - Image #0
          Cancellation of only one member - Comment #3952116 - Image #1

Vikas2306
            Feb 1, 2022

This is Vikas Kumar Jain. I have canceled my ticket (for 2 passengers I paid around 1.9 L) which I booked from airindia customer support ticketing department. I have already submitted the feedback form to get the refund. As my ticket was booked through the ticketing department hence I have shared my bank account details as well for the refund. I have called the customer service team more than 30 times. It’s been more than a month I am waiting for my refund and still, I haven’t got my money back. I am always told to wait for a few more days on each and every call and the customer care team is giving false assurances. On twitter I was always told we have forwarded your request to concerned team. Whenever I call to customer support they put my call on never ending hold or drop the call. I am extremely furious about this rude and insulting behavior of the customer team. I am not getting any help from air india. I don’t know how my refund will be process.

Customer support mostly told me that they are transferring the call to their concerned team and I waited almost 1 hour and the call was simply disconnected by them without saying a single word. I called them again and when I explained my case she just suddenly went silent and not replied me back. The worst customer care I ever experienced in my entire life giving false assurances and rude behavior to the customers. I think they are stealing the money. This is what I can conclude by this behavior. No more words to say. I just want my money back (refund) of Rs. 1.9 lac.

Karthick Sivarajan
              Jan 31, 2022

I hereby bring to your kind notice that I have booked a Air ticket[protected] with Pnr: H5BRR for travelling from Thiruvananthapuram to Nairobi on 30 Jun 21. However the flight was cancelled by Air India and I have requested for refund. They had request to wait for 21 days to process the refund.

After which I have called several times to their helpdesk for refund and shared all the requested details. However the refund has not been processed. Also i have raised complaints in their portal for refund ( Airindia request no 10602781, feedback complaint no WB-ITRV[protected] which are still in process for several months.

After all these days I contacted many times at Air India customer care I didn't get my refund till date. Even, I contacted refund section many times I didn't get the call connected itself. I hereby request from this forum to help for getting the refund at the earliest.

Sivaraj Sivathanupillai
              Mob [protected]

sanjeev171
                Jan 31, 2022

It all started when I booked a flight with Air India via their website yesterday afternoon around midday. The payment went through however I received a message saying "error, payment has gone through and we will send you the ticket shortly". After waiting 15 minutes I called Air India customer service requesting more information regarding my ticket. They advised that the ticket's PNR was YPS3D and that they could see the flight in my name. They then advised me that I will be transferred to the ticketing department so that they can issue the ticket to me. I was constantly transferred from one person to another with waiting time of 40 minutes at times on hold. This continued until 1615 when I spoke to one of the ticketing agent. (In the meantime the PNR also started showing invalid and wasn't able to retrieve the ticket). She advised me that the YPS3D was not visible now as that was on time hold and that my ticket was not cancelled. She further advised my that I do not have any ticket on the system therefore even if I go to the airport I will not be able to fly. I re-inquired this asking her " are you sure and that I wouldn't be charged as a no show", she confirmed yes that she is sure and that there is no valid ticket in my name on the system. She asked me to fill out the feedback form requesting a full refund and choosing the option" PNR issued and ticket not issued" on the feedback form. I submitted this form whilst she was on phone. I have a full six minute recording of this call and full conversation as an evidence. I also submitted a form from commbank requesting cancellation of pre-authorisation.
                At 8:05 pm I received an email (below) with my ticket. I called them and inquired about this asking them clearly why they have sent me a ticket approximately 70 minutes of my flight. I also advised that the fact is that I live 50 minutes from the airport and that it is impossible for me to catch an international flight in this duration. The agent on the phone said that he will resolve this and cancel my ticket. He had me on hold for 46 minutes and then disconnected. I called again and spoke to another agent who said that I was a no show and that she would cancel my ticket but I will be charged $500 of the total ticket price which was approximately $5970 as this was a business class ticket. I pleaded to them asking how is it my fault when they had advised that I had no ticket and then they were the ones who had issued a ticket 70 minutes before an international flight. She again advised that she has cancelled the ticket and I will be charged $500. The case number for this was 13886811. In the meantime I had started driving towards the airport with my wife and 5 year old daughter. I reached the airport at 2114 hours and spoke to Aayan at the Air India counter who gave me your details. He kindly listened to my ordeal and the harassment I had suffered all day and confirmed that it was not my fault and that I shouldn't have been put through this. I suffered through all this when I was trying to reach India to see my father who is suffering from cancer and I haven't been able to travel for past 3 years due to Covid.
                I know you must be super busy but I sincerely request to help with this situation and ease the pain pf the harassment I suffered for nearly seven hours at the hands of the air india staff.

rajesh14970
                  Jan 30, 2022

Hi I am trying to reschedule Air India ticket from 26th Jan 2022. Customer Service collects all the details, transfers the call to Ticketing Department and then no body picks up the call and after 30 minutes it says the number is temporarily out of service. No call back despite call back promise.

Jan 28, 2022

Booked a ticket from chicago to vtz- Air india rescheduled my flight and the transit in delhi increased to 25 hours. Air india did not take any responsibility to help arrange stay. Least i expected was courtesy.

Air India staff at chicago are the worst every. Rude- no information, and kept saying, not my problem, go to talk to delhi, I dont know. who asked you to book etc. worst staff ever.

Never ever will I book Air India

viper29
                      Jan 28, 2022

I had booked return flight to Goa on 10 Nov 21 as per booking reference HBLKX and an amount of ₹ 33, 402 was charged through my ICICI Bank debit card. Due to unavoidable reasons, I had to cancel the booking within 24 hours. As per Air India policy, I am supposed to be refunded the full amount in case of a cancellation within 24 hours of booking, but I didn't receive the refund. I registered a complaint with Air India customer care with reference number WB-DDEL[protected] on 05 Dec 21 and got a reply that refund would be processed in 3-4 weeks, but nothing happened. I again registered a complaint on 11 Jan 22 with reference number WB-DDEL[protected], but there has been no progress on the case. Please assist in refund of money
                      Dec 22, 2022
                      Resolved very quickly. Thank you

rohitshenoy1992
                        Jan 27, 2022

Customer Service verifies details, transfers call to TICKETING department - 6/7 times infinite wait of 2 hours, callback promised, no callbacks ever.
                        No option to reschedule flights online.

HOW MAY I RESCHEDULE MY RESERVATION?

Pradeep Alby
                          Jan 27, 2022

Address: Trivandrum, Kerala

From 3 to 4 days I am calling air india customer care for rescheduling my flight ticket.but they transfer my call to ticketing dept but no one picks the call from ticketing dept.
                          Jan 27, 2022
                          Updated by Pradeep Alby
                          PNR#YPWCL

jenish kafle
                            Jan 27, 2022

I had a flight to Kathmandu from goa and was in transit via Delhi. In goa, I submitted my PCR, vaccination card and identification. Upon landing on Delhi, and trying to get the boarding pass, I was notified that my PCR report is not acceptable in Delhi. Despite me reaching at 3 am no one from the customer service responded. I got to know that my PCR is not accepted by air india. The same thing could have been communicated to me at 3 am cause it would have given me ample time to book and complete my PCR. Well it was 6 o[censored]s not just me. That’s when things start getting interesting.
                            I don’t want to say anything about the supervisor in counter E and F in Delhi airport. Never had encountered such a human being.
                            Then went to the ticketing center to reissue the ticket and eventually paid 250 less than the actual fare for the flight to KTM from Delhi which was 7.4K, the reason why I am saying it because i paid that amount individually for all six flyers. Realized, customer service is for corporate service, not for customer. Customer service knows the issue. Well if the PCR was not to be accepted, why weren’t we notified in GOA? Also, no one cared while they were giving us the ticket in the counter. Have been flying frequently since past 8 years. Had the most Horrendous experience.
                            I am scared to travel using air india.

Rahul Mishra
                              Jan 27, 2022

Date if Incident - 5th January 2022.
                              Full Description - I had booked a ticket through Air India website, for travelling to Hong Kong from Mumbai via Delhi in a single Itenary. Due to covid Restrictions by Hong Kong, the ticket was cancelled by Air India. I had a call with the call center on 5th Jan 2022, where i was assured that I would get the entire amount refunded within 21 days. Since then I have made several calls including today, where either the agents will drop the call or give me an assurance that it will be refunded, but they dont give a period or time by when. I have asked them to put me through to the escalation team, but they will not connect me. I have also raised a "Feedback form" but even that got closed without any response.
                              The payment had been made through credit card, and if the due date is over and the refund not made. I would have to bear more losses.

Desirable Resolution - The full refund should be made on or before 5th of Feb, which is the due date. If it is further delayed, Air India has to bear the losses that I have to bear due to delayed refund.

Q
                                qfatima
                                Jan 26, 2022

Hi, I am trying to reschedule/cancel my flight. My call is being forwarded always to the ticketing department & those executive are not responding well & they are lack of knowledge/company protocols. After providing all the required documents also they are not rescheduling my flight and most annoying part is they are keeping on hold for more than an hour and till now I spent more than 12 hours combined from past 2-3 weeks. They did not even respond to my emails.

I now want to cancel my flight for the horrible experience I've had and moved to schedule with a different airline. I am not even able to cancel because ticketing department never takes calls!!

pavaniakella
                                  Jan 26, 2022

I tried to book a ticket from london to chennai for 31st may for 3 adults, on 15th Jan. The money was deducted and no ticket was issued.

I called customer services and they told I may get a ticket in 24 hours.
                                  Nothing was received. So I raised a feedback/complaint with air india.

I got a response automated message saying your money will be refunded based on fare rules, when the ticket is not issued what are fare rules?

I tried calling customer care an on phone for so many hours and finally a lady by the name Anchas told me they don't have any escalation mechanism and the feedback team who works online is the only way of resolving no escalation . now the tickets on their site or sold out and other airlines prices have gone up. my money is struck, who will give my money and pay for my loss or extra amount i need to pay to get my tickets
                                  My money was deducted and no ticket was issued(15th). I raised with customer services, they asked me to wait 24 hrs, nothing happened I raised feedback on 17th no money or ticket till now, absolute disgrace

Varsha Bhagwani
                                    Jan 26, 2022

Address: 202 F-20 Green Crest building near Ryan global school yamuna nagar lokhandwala Andheri West Mumbai, 400053, 400053, 400053

This cabin crew is abusing me as I declined his request to meet him this is such a harassment to girl

Harsh.vaidya
                                      Jan 26, 2022

I had my trip scheduled from Sydney to Mumbai with Qantas and Air India on January 21, 2022 for myself, my wife and my 10 months old baby. The first leg of the trip from Sydney-Adelaide-Delhi was serviced by Qantas and the second leg from Delhi to Mumbai by Air India. Mid way on my flight from Adelaide to Delhi we were informed that my connecting flight from Delhi to Mumbai AI605 was cancelled. Accordingly we were issued with the new ticket for flight AI 887 scheduled at 7am on January 22nd, 2022. We reached Delhi airport at 4.30 am for checking in for the flight at counters E at terminal 3 of Delhi Airport. We were asked to keep jumping at different counters for check in. At the counter we were being serviced by Mr. Utsav Sarkar and Miss Simran. They kept us waiting for more than 90 mins. Even after pleading that we are travelling with an infant who is unwell, they didn't heed to our request and kept on entertaining other passengers mid way in the queue. They mentioned they were trying to resolve the issue with the flight booking number but never mentioned if we had to do something from our side even after being asked of any issues. Right at 6 am when the check in counter closed and after 1 and half hour of pleading, they told that we cannot check in as counters are now closed and we had to book new flight for domestic leg of our journey. The kind o[censored]ncourteouse and traumatic service we received at the airport was very unacceptable for a national carrier. We need to lodge a complaint against Mr. Utsav Sarkar and Miss Sinran for making us go through such a bad experience with Air India.

Navin Jagesha
                                        Jan 26, 2022

Not getting my refund for the cancelled ticket since July 2020

I had booked a flight with Air India for travel in July 2020, Toronto to Mumbai Return ticket. Because of the pandemic, ticket got cancelled, but I have not received the refund. Its been almost one and half year. I have been patiently waiting for the refund and had a faith that Air India will refund that. But after calling the call centers twice a week and following up several times, I have not received any response on the refund. Its $1498.36...