Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Sep 3, 2025
Complaints 2255

File a complaint to Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]

Having problems with Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] reviews & complaints page 89

Saswati Dutta
Nov 2, 2014

Myself, Saswati Dutta having consumer number [protected] and permanent residence at P-137, Oxytown, Shibrampur, Kolkata-700061, presently residing at Bl-C1, Flat-8, Central Excise & Customs Qtrs, 16/7, Dover Lane, Kolkata-700029 is approaching you with a complaint apparently done by over energetic CESC representative at my permanent residence where my tenants are presently living.Without any intimation and reason for alteration, the CESC people went to my residence at Oxytown in mid October 2014 and forcefully opened the gate of the room where the meter box is located by threatening one elderly lady who was present at the residence that time and replaced my existing meter (Meter Number-0711031, meter of 10 Amp capacity) which was in running condition with a new one ( Meter number -5037228, Meter of 5-60 Amp Capacity) .As I was told, your representative/s neither provided her your authorisation letter nor took any signature from the elderly lady as a mark of consent..It is to mention that neither did I apply for a replacement nor any communication was made from your end. This attitude is totally unbecoming of an esteemed organisation like you .I am in a quandary and is very much interested to know your next course of action. Let me know that whether you will charge the differential/actual security deposit and if so within what time period? Your categorical submission is eagerly awaited at the earliest. with regards Saswati Dutta (Mob Number- [protected]/ [protected]) email id- [protected]@india.com Present Address for Communication- Block-C1, Flat-8, Central Excise & Customs Qtrs. 16/7, Dover Lane. Kolkata-700029
Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

soumitra sengupta
    Nov 2, 2014

Dear Sir, With reference to my earlier complaint dated 4th August 2014, which was regarding the bill for the moth of May' 2014. My Consumer No [protected] & Customer ID [protected], the Electric Bill for the month of August' 2014 & September' 2014 were very much excessive compared to earlier months. The August’ 14 Electric Bill shows a consumption of 34 units & the September' 14 Electric Bill shows a consumption of 25 units, which are absolutely absurd. Because the units consumed in the same period last year was 5 units & 9 units only. Moreover I want to inform you that no new equipment is included with the earlier equipments & recently we have taken permission for the Air Conditioner but not installed yet. In view of the above, I would request your good office to please arrange to check our meter and do the needful in this regard as soon as possible so that such absurd bills are not produce in future. Please revert back at [protected]@rediffmail.com or call us at [protected] / [protected]. Best Regards Mrs. Santosh Sengupta
    Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

banerjeesanat
      Nov 1, 2014

abnormal billing by cesc

CESC consumer no: [protected] CESC staff are very irregular to visit our address to take the meter reading. For last three months ( From August’14 To October’14 ) none came to take the meter reading, but CESC kept sending electricity bills based on falls figure submitted by its staff. The reason is not clear but we are very cooperative to CESC staff and remain in future also. The electricity bills sent by CESC do show abnormal...
      maitidk
      Nov 1, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam, It is really unfortunate to inform you that no one visited to my premises (13A Shib Krishna Daw Lane, Kolkata-70054) on 16/17th October to get reading of electric meters of Consumer No. [protected] and other two as informed by your good office. We therefore request you to do the needful immediately. With kind regards. Dr. Dilip Kumar Maiti Professor Department of Chemistry University of Calcutta 92, A.P.C. Road, Kolkata-700009 Tel: +[protected]Ext.439) Cell: +91-[protected] Cell: +91-[protected] Fax: +[protected]
      It is really unfortunate to inform you that no one visited to my premises
      (13A Shib Krishna Daw Lane, Kolkata-70054) on 16/17th October which was scheduled by your good office to get
      reading of the electric meters of Consumer No. [protected] and other two. We therefore request you to do the needful immediately. With kind regards. Dr. Dilip Kumar Maiti
      Professor
      Department of Chemistry
      University of Calcutta
      92, A.P.C. Road, Kolkata-700009
      Tel: +[protected]Ext.439)
      Cell: +91-[protected]
      Fax: +[protected]

BASTARD
        Oct 31, 2014

On reciept of aug'14 bill no- [protected] with reading dt 6.9.14. The unit consumption is 0, again bill no- [protected] of sept'14 with reading dt 11.10.14 the unit consumed is 0. I cannot understand why the meter reading in both months is 440 units, whreas we are staying at my residence. Also to state that as and when the entire consumption will be billed then i have to bear the staggered tarrif on entire consumption on a futur month due to no fault of mine.

Debayan Ghosh
          Oct 31, 2014

Excess bill for last month

I received an outrageously huge amount in my electricity bill for last month, however when I told the officer in the CESC ballygunj office to initiate an investigation, he told me to pay the bill to avoid line disconnection then, submit a letter to the senior executive officer. How am I supposed to pay such a huge amount. Gautam Ghosh Contact number: [protected] Consumer No. [protected] Consumer type Domestic Reading date 09/09/14 Due...
          a2@
          Oct 31, 2014

pls refer new connection MA Bill no 02/03/03352/13 /8/1 of 20/03/2013, payment made on 02/05/2013, meter installed on 30 Sept 2014 but first bill for consumption from 30Sept 2014 to 30 Oct 2014 not received yet. Dipak Mazumdar flat no 7D block no F, Ideal Regency, 46 Diamond Harbour Road, Kolkata 700 063 phone no [protected], emil id [protected]@yahoo.co.in

abhijit kumar banerjee
            Oct 30, 2014

Dear sir, My Con ID is [protected] and my customer ID is [protected] My present Postal address is, as shown below, AK BANERJEE 1-FR;FL-2 348/183 N.S.C.BOSE RD LP.130/4/2/3/0 KOLKATA 700 047 It should be changed as given below, AK BANERJEE 1-FR;FL-2 348/183 N.S.C.BOSE RD 1/213 NAKTALA LP.130/4/2/3/0 KOLKATA 700 047

paulsujit0
              Oct 28, 2014

My Consumer No. is[protected], I pay the bill through SBI net banking on dated 28/10/2014 and amount is debited successfully(Ref No. ASBI[protected]IG00DAYIA7 TRANSFER TO[protected]/( Narration - TO TRANSFER - INB Calcutta Electricity Supp BILL_CESC Payments), but I did not received any receipt copy from CESC, and my bill due date is 31/10/2014, How could I know the payment is succeed or not??If not then how could I return my debited amount????

Raza Aquib
                Oct 28, 2014

Sir, I would like to bring to your kind notice that my money for the bill of month August'14 was rejected and I even not got the electric bill for the next month which was September'14. So I'm worried about my payement and my electric bill. So I would be humbled if you solve my problem and respectively see that I don't face such problems in future... My bill details have been given below. Name:MD ISRAFIL Address:1 Raja Raj Narayan Street Kolkata-700009. Customer Id:[protected] Bill No:[protected](August)
                Have got September electric bill..and even paid all dues...

bandyoarun
                  Oct 26, 2014

- Respectfully Sir, I Arun Banerjee humbly request you to look into the problem of non issue of Monthly Electricity Bill every month since 2008 or so. My residence no. is E-12 in LIC +Jeewan Niwas in New Alipore. At the advise of your counter at Taratolla, I applied fresh one year back and there was assurance for an inspection. I was not informed any outcome of the inspection result nor any communication from CESC. I am not presently living in the premises but pay visit infrequently.Although the meter is operational and electricity is available, I am not getting any electricity bill several years. Please look into the problem and arrange to issue the bills so that I can pay whatever is due. Here is the detail: Name Arun Banerjee Premises: E-12, LIC Jeewan Niwas, New Alipore Block R. Kolkata 53. Consumer No. [protected] Meter No.3318181. This was subsequently changed and deposite was refunded. But no new deposite was asked for by CESC. My contact Address : Arun Banerjee 5/1B Mono Mohan Mukherjee Road Bally Howrah. I am compelled to write as number of visits to tartolla yielded nil result. Regards Arun Banerjee

nitinkbasu
                    Oct 26, 2014

I am staying alone and do not use any heating appliances or air-conditioner consuming higher wattage.Moreover I was out of Kolkata from 30th September and 6th October, 2014, and stayed in U.S.A. from 26th May to 7th July, 2014.My Consumer No. is [protected] in the name of my son, Saswata Basu.It appears meters have become inoperative or defective.

P S Mukherjee
                      from Aizawl, Mizoram
                      Oct 26, 2014

My Consumer Number is [protected]. It seems you have changed the portal of On-line bill payment about a month back. The new page is much complicated and is confusing in comparison to the previous portal. Further, The current page does not open as is being noticed over the last few days. Kindly arrange to restore the portal for the ease of consumers. My mobile number is [protected]. P S Mukherjee
                      Wonderful progress! It's static in one week beyond acknowledging; nobody from CESC has contacted me ever since.

Gourab Gablu Chakraborty
                        Oct 26, 2014

My consumer number is [protected] and I have received an SMS that my last month(Sept'14) is Rs.1870 (Net) which is due for 5th Nov'14 . This amount of Rs. 1870 is absolutely not acceptable as we do not use any AC/Washing Machine/Microwave Oven and at the same time I need to inform you that out of 24 hours in a day we are out of home for at least 10 to 12 hrs. This is not the only time that the bill amount is very high, it has been going on for the past one and half years time. I request the concerned authorities to look into the matter as fast as possible.

rana babu
                          Oct 24, 2014

My consumer number is "[protected]", and I have received an SMS that my last month(Sept'14) is Rs.1120 (Net) which is due for 1st Nov'14 . This amount of Rs. 1120 is absolutely not acceptable as we do not use any AC/Washing Machine/Microwave Oven and at the same time I need to inform you that out of 24 hours in a day we are out of home for at least 8 to 10 hrs. This is not the only time that the bill amount is very high, it has been going on for the past one and half years time. Regarding to this I had already submitted a written complaint along with the photo copies of the bills after which there was an inspection done but still the issue of high billing amount did not stop. There may be a case of power theft in our locality as there are at least three new buildings are coming up. I request the concerned authorities to look into the matter as fast as possible.

Somraj84
                            Oct 23, 2014

Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation Consumer No: [protected] Customer ID: [protected] Being a kind of monopoly in the market you people are cheats stealing people's hard earned money anyway possible.Your person doesn't come to take meter readings on time and living in a small 600 sq feet flat with no AC, Pumps or high consuming electrical devices we get bills above Rs 2000 each and every time. Our September 2014 bill came today and its Rs 2600. Our landlord who has AC, Pumps running all the time gets lower bills than us !! I am simply out of words and this is happening month after month. I have complained in the consumer's forum but without any result. So how long will this continue tell me, I need to find a solution. Should I go to the police or you will take this into your consideration!!

Ashish Kanti Dhar
                              Oct 22, 2014

Dear Sir, My meter (meter No - 1973489 consumer no - [protected]) is continues running after switch off all electrical equipment even switch off the main power. I have already complained through written application on 26 Aug 2014 but till now nobody has been physically checked what is the exact problem. We have received a letter from you where it has been mentioned that "bills accurately reflect you energy consumption". Unable to understand without visiting the site how they come to this conclusion. Waiting for you reply. Regards Ashish Kanti Dhar Ph [protected]

dbardhan
                                from Shillong, Meghalaya
                                Oct 22, 2014

Dear sir, My consumer no is [protected]. From the last few months the electricity bill amount is very high without any valid reason. I would request you to check the meter. Please find the details below: Customer Id:[protected] Consumer no: [protected] Address:5D, Rammohan Mullick Garden Lane, Kolkata-700010 Phone no:[protected] Email Id: [protected]@gmail.com Your attention in this regard is much appreciated. Thanks and Regards, D.Bardhan
                                Dear sir, My consumer no is [protected]. From the last few months the
                                electricity bill amount is very high without any valid reason. I would request
                                you to check the meter. Please find the details below: Customer
                                Id:[protected] Bill No: [protected] Address: SRI PRADIP
                                CHAKRABORTY, PALTA ADARSHA PALLY, PO- BENGAL ENAMEL, DIST- 24 PGS NORTH, PIN
                                NO-743144, LP 41/6/3. Phone no:[protected] / [protected]. Email Id:
                                pranoy.[protected]@hotmail.com .Your attention in this regard is much appreciated.
                                Thanks and Regards, Pranoy Chakraborty

TAPAN KUMAR GAYEN
                                  Oct 22, 2014

Dear Sir, I would like to invite your kind attention to the fact that my electricity bill for the month of September, 2014 is Rs.1530/- (Rupees one thousand five hundred thirty only) which is very much on higher side. I would therefore request you to kindly check up the electric line thoroughly so that I do not suffer any loss due to any suspicious leakage in supply line or any other reasons. Your early action will be highly appreciated. Yours faithfully, (T. K. Gayen) Flat No.302 97/1, Chandi Ghosh Road, Allahabad Bank Sundaram Complex, Kolkata-700040.

uddipan
                                    Oct 21, 2014

Address: Hooghly, West Bengal

sir I Uddipan Joardar is a customer of CESE and consumer No. is [protected]. I have done a complain about my electricity bill.but cese department has not taken any step. I am getting a huge electricity bill in every month but as per my consumption i am not getting my proper electricity bill so i gave a complain to cese board to check my meter and connection whether there is any problem or not. but they have not give any response in my complaint. . i am requesting you plesae help the stranded person from getting a huge amount of electricity bills. thanking you your sincerily uddipan joardar [protected]