Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  Indian Railway — Legal Notice for refund of fare charged twice for single journey

Legal Notice for refund of fare charged twice for single journey
This has reference to the tatkal E-ticket with PNR No.: [protected] booked in the name of Mr. Surender, (Age 53), Mrs. Arvinder (Age 48) and Aman (Age 13) trough transaction ID no. [protected] (Rupees 4179) on IRCTC on 25-12-09 for journey on 27-12-09 from Bhusaval to Chennai in 3rd AC of Train no. 2655, NAVJEEVAN EXP Pursuant to above booking a confirm berth no. 1,2 in Coach No. B-1 and berth no. 41 in Coach No. B-2 of the said Train was allotted to Mr. Surender, Mrs Arvinder and Mr. Aman. However, due to inadvertent mistake, Mr. Surender carried a Xerox of his Driving License and Voter ID with him and the same was realized by Mr. Surender while the ID proof was asked by TC (Billa No. 149) at Bhusaval Station. Accordingly, TC has collected Rs.4590/- vide receipt no. H422017 dated 27 December 2009 (the Receipt) from Mr. Surender.

However, TC has tried to do mental harassment to Mr. Surender by saying
1) If the penalty amount is not paid now, then the amount will become non-refundable amount latter, as TC will do an e-complaint.
2) The Next staff which will come on TC e complaint will bring the railway police and may ask to leave the train or may take them to jail.
With the above statement from TC has left with no other decision to pay the fine, as TC was always mentioning that this will be refundable at ur Home town.

From the above incidence I have following contentions.

1. TC has denied the fact that the passenger was traveling without ticket, as he has accepted the above mentioned E-ticket shown to him by the passenger Mr. Surender. Further, he has also not denied the fact that the passenger who was traveling with the said ticket is Mr. Surender as having the Xerox of all the ID proofs. The same can be evident from the Receipt issued by TC wherein the name of the passenger “Mr. Surender” carrying E-ticket is mentioned. Accordingly, it is baseless to say that Mr. Surender was traveling without ticket.

2. In fact, admittedly, TC has accepted the fact that the person traveling by the said E-ticket is the same for whom the E-ticket was purchased, as TC has mentioned the name of passenger Mr. Surender in the Receipt. Hence, it is beyond any doubts that the passenger who is traveling with the said E-ticket is Mr. Surender, then why Mr. Surender shall be liable for payment of any fine, penalties, etc. for not carrying ID proof even when TC has also identified him as Mr. Surender. Hence, the Indian Railway / TC is not entitled for collecting any sum from Mr. Surender either by way of penalty for not carrying the ID Card or by way of any other charges or otherwise, since Mr. Surender traveled perfectly in compliance of all the applicable rules governing his journey.

3. Further, it is also evident from the Receipt that TC has erroneously and prejudicially collected from Mr. Surender a sum of Rs.4590/-. Here, I would like to contend that in any eventuality, any passenger not carrying valid ID proof with E- ticket is a technical default and should be liable for penalty and not liable Fare or Excess Fare. It is evident that TC has erroneously, illegally recovered the money from Mr. Surender for unknown reasons.

4. I would also like to contend that asking for ID proof from the passenger who books the tickets though E-ticket mechanism provided by the Indian Railway is discriminatory, though additional service charges are paid for E-ticket, vis-à-vis the passengers traveling in the same class and in the same train but having tickets other than E-tickets. It is violation of the constitutional rights of citizen of India, of being treated equally with the other passengers traveling in the same class and in the same Train. Further carrying ID proof has also put an additional burden on the passengers (even though having paid extra amount to Indian railway by way of service charges) and causing unnecessary and avoidable difficulties to the genuine passenger.

5. It is beyond my understanding and I finds it difficult to digest the intentions to be achieved by the Indian Railway by asking for proof of ID of a passenger carrying E-ticket, specially in the given instance, while on the one hand the authority denies the fact that the passenger not carrying valid ID card is not the same passenger in whose name the ticket is issued and on the other hand while issuing the Receipt for not carrying the ID proof, the authority / TC recognizes and accepts the fact that the passenger is Mr. Surender. It is beyond anybodies capacity to understand this anomaly on the part of the Indian Railway.

6. Form whatever stated above, it is clear that Indian Railway has unjustifiably and illegally collected Rs.4590/- from the passenger Mr. Surender. This has gained the Indian Railway an unjust enrichment of Rs.4590/- by collecting Rs.4590/- (Rs.3840+Rs.750/- of E-ticket) from Mr. Surender for the same journey, in same time, in the same train and in the same class, whereas other travelers have been charged fare as actual for alike journey. The most important thing here is that the person who was traveling was carrying the ticket issued in his name and not traveling without ticket and should have been treated at par with the other passengers who have bought the ticket from the railway counter. Whatever has been done by or on behalf of the Indian Railway in this matter is purely against the law of equality, natural justice, public policy and public interest.

7. In all equalities, I request you to refund the amount either of an E-ticket of Rs.4179/- or the amount of Rs.4590/- recovered by TC and send the same to Mr. Surender having his address at B-4, Anand Nagar,Near NCC Office, Khandwa 450001.([protected]) as the railway authority cannot charge twice the same person for the same journey having same time, same length of travel in the same class of the same train. Is it not against the principal o[censored]njust enrichment, public policy, public interest?

8. In case, you think otherwise then I will be left with no other options but to take recourse to the appropriate judicial authority for recovering the above said amount plus compensation to which Mr. Surender is legally entitled to.

Thanking you

For and on behalf Mr. Gurdeep Singh Pahwa
[protected]
ADVERTISEMENT
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 14, 2020
Complaint comments  6 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

This has reference to the E-ticket bearing PNR No.: [protected] booked in the name of Mr. Chunilal Shah (Age 56) trough transaction ID no. [protected] on IRCTC on 31.03.2009 for journey on 8th April 2009 from Bhuj to Bandra Terminus in Sleeper Class of Train no. 9116 Bhuj BDTS Exp.

Pursuant to above booking a confirm berth no. 44 in Coach No. S-1 of the said Train was allotted to Mr. Chunilal Shah. However, due to inadvertent mistake, Mr. Chunilal Shah forgot to carry his PAN card with him and the same was realized by Mr. Chunilal Shah while the ID proof was asked by TC at Gandhidham Station. Accordingly, TC has collected Rs.630/- vide receipt no. H086044 dated 8th April 2009 (the Receipt) from Mr. Chunilal Shah.

However, from the above incidence I have following contentions.

1. TC has denied the fact that the passenger was traveling without ticket, as he has accepted the above mentioned E-ticket shown to him by the passenger Mr. Chunilal Shah. Further, he has also not denied the fact that the passenger who was traveling with the said ticket is Mr. Chunilal Shah. The same can be evident from the Receipt issued by TC wherein the name of the passenger “Mr. Chunilal Shah” carrying E-ticket is mentioned. Accordingly, it is baseless to say that Mr. Chunilal Shah was traveling without ticket.

2. In fact, admittedly, TC has accepted the fact that the person traveling by the said E-ticket is the same for whom the E-ticket was purchased, as TC has mentioned the name of passenger Mr. Chunilal Shah in the Receipt. Hence, it is beyond any doubts that the passenger who is traveling with the said E-ticket is Mr. Chunilal Shah, then why Mr. Chunilal Shah shall be liable for payment of any fine, penalties, etc. for not carrying ID proof even when TC has also identified him as Mr. Chunilal Shah. Hence, the Indian Railway / TC is not entitled for collecting any sum from Mr. Chunilal Shah either by way of penalty for not carrying the ID Card or by way of any other charges or otherwise, since Mr. Chunilal Shah traveled perfectly in compliance of all the applicable rules governing his journey.

3. Further, it is also evident from the Receipt that TC has erroneously and prejudicially collected from Mr. Chunilal Shah a sum of Rs.630/-, being a sum of Rs.380/- towards Fare and Rs.250/- towards Excess Fare. I would like to inform you that the fare from start to end journey of the said train is Rs.308/- and not Rs.380/-. Further Rs.250/- was collected as Excess Fare. Here, I would like to contend that in any eventuality, any passenger not carrying valid ID proof with E- ticket is a technical default and should be liable for penalty and not liable Fare or Excess Fare. It is evident that TC has erroneously, illegally recovered the money from Mr. Chunilal Shah for unknown reasons.

4. I would also like to contend that asking for ID proof from the passenger who books the tickets though E-ticket mechanism provided by the Indian Railway is discriminatory, though additional service charges are paid for E-ticket, vis-à-vis the passengers traveling in the same class and in the same train but having tickets other than E-tickets. It is violation of the constitutional rights of citizen of India, of being treated equally with the other passengers traveling in the same class and in the same Train. Further carrying ID proof has also put an additional burden on the passengers (even though having paid extra amount to Indian railway by way of service charges) and causing unnecessary and avoidable difficulties to the genuine passenger.

5. It is beyond my understanding and I finds it difficult to digest the intentions to be achieved by the Indian Railway by asking for proof of ID of a passenger carrying E-ticket, specially in the given instance, while on the one hand the authority denies the fact that the passenger not carrying valid ID card is not the same passenger in whose name the ticket is issued and on the other hand while issuing the Receipt for not carrying the ID proof, the authority / TC recognizes and accepts the fact that the passenger is Mr. Chunilal Shah. It is beyond anybodies capacity to understand this anomaly on the part of the Indian Railway.

6. Form whatever stated above, it is clear that Indian Railway has unjustifiably and illegally collected Rs.630/- from the passenger Mr. Chunilal Shah. This has gained the Indian Railway an unjust enrichment of Rs.630/- by collecting Rs.948/- (Rs.630+Rs.318/- of E-ticket) from Mr. Chunilal Shah for the same journey, in same time, in the same train and in the same class, whereas other travelers have been charged fare of Rs.308/- for alike journey. The most important thing here is that the person who was traveling was carrying the ticket issued in his name and not traveling without ticket and should have been treated at par with the other passengers who have bought the ticket from the railway counter. Whatever has been done by or on behalf of the Indian Railway in this matter is purely against the law of equality, natural justice, public policy and public interest.

7. In all equalities, I request you to refund the amount either of an E-ticket of Rs.390/- (Rs.308+10+72) extra charged in the receipt) or the amount of Rs.630/- recovered by TC and send the same to Mr. Chunilal Shah having his address at Flat No.2, Mukund Smruti CHSL, B/H Ashok Garage, Off Old Mumbai Pune Road, Kalwa, Thane 400 605, as the railway authority cannot charge twice the same person for the same journey having same time, same length of travel in the same class of the same train. Is it not against the principal o[censored]njust enrichment, public policy, public interest?

8. In case, you think otherwise then I will be left with no other options but to take recourse to the appropriate judicial authority for recovering the above said amount plus compensation to which Mr. Chunilal Shah is legally entitled to.

Thanking you

For and on behalf of Mr. Chunilal Shah
Ajai Shah
[protected]
sir,
On dated 06/06/2008, i was conform a ticket from HOWJN to TITILAGARH the P.N.R.NO [protected], TICKEET NO 26365060 CLASS-3A.C., in the name of
p.marodia(m) 30
p.marodia (f) 29
Amount Rs 1598.00.but duu to bangal band the train is cancaled and our icket is also deposits in HOW JN, but till bate i have not received refund,
kindly look after the matter and sent refund anount Rs1598.00
PANKAJ MARODIA
SHREE GANESH RICE MILL
MAIN ROAD KHARIAR ROAD -766104
DIST- NUAPADA
[protected]
MOB-[protected]

charged twice for passenger — Charge Twice the same person for the journey(ticket booked through online E-ticket)

This has reference to the E-ticket bearing PNR No :[protected] booked in the name of Mr.N.V.Chalapathy (Age 50) trough Internet banking (online) transaction ID no. [protected] on IRCTC Website on 31.05.2009 for journey on 6th June 2009 from Madurai Junction to Chennai Egmore in second Class of Train no. 2636 VAIGAI EXP.
Pursuant to above booking was in waiting list. Till June 6th 2009. However TTR (ROY VARGHES) said that if I purchased the ticket at counter on June 6th 2009 it will be conformed. How it will be conformed? But my ticket was not yet conformed why???? Due to inadvertent mistake, of IRCTC Why Should I Punished?? Accordingly, TC (ROY VARGHES) has collected Rs.400/- vide receipt no. AA 538383 dated 6th June 2009 (the Receipt) from Mr. N.V.Chalapathy.
So it shows that you are trying to cheat public like this. Why should you bring this option to buy in online? (He Consider Me as without ticket) It burden on the passengers (even though having paid extra amount to Indian railway by way of service charges) and causing unnecessary and avoidable difficulties to the genuine passenger.
You came here for public service .its your wish to put your own Rules ah??

However, from the above incidence I have following contentions.
1. TC has denied the fact that the passenger was traveling without ticket, as he has accepted the above mentioned E-ticket shown to him by the passenger Mr. N.V.Chalapathy. Carrying E-ticket is mentioned. Accordingly, it is baseless to say that Mr. N.V.Chalpathy was traveling without ticket. E-ticket mechanism provided by the Indian Railway is discriminatory. Though additional service charges are paid for E-ticket, vis-à-vis the passengers traveling in the same class and in the same train but having ticket other than E-tickets. It is violation of the constitutional rights of citizen of India, of being treated equally with the other passengers traveling in the same class and in the same Train.

2. It burden on the passengers (even though having paid extra amount to Indian railway by way of service charges) and causing unnecessary and avoidable difficulties to the genuine passenger

3. In all equalities, Hence I request you to refund my Penalty amount of Rs.400/- (Rs.150+250) extra charged in the receipt)

4. As the railway authority cannot charge twice the same person for the same journey having same time, same length of travel in the same class of the same train. Is it not against the principal o[censored]njust enrichment, public policy, public interest?

5. In case, you think otherwise then I will be left with no other options but to take recourse to the appropriate judicial authority for recovering the above said amount plus compensation to which Mr. N.V.Chalapathy is legally entitled to.


Thanking you

Mr. N.V.Chalapathy
[protected]@gmail.com.
Yes. ID Proof should be removed for eticket.

Etickets should be treated as same as passengers collecting printed ticket from railway stations (itickets) as long as the passenger name is in the chart.
ADVERTISEMENT

Indian Railway — Payment of ticket fare twice

I am Mr>Sunil Shetty, I had been to Tamilnadu (erode) for some work (from the 5th till th 7th) as it was a unplanned trip i did not have the return ticket with me, and so asked my wife to book a ticket from vashi itself, and she got the ticket booked in Tatkal for the 8th March 11, Train No. 11014. As i wanted the ticket urgently i asked her to scan the ticket and send it to me by mail....I got the ticket and took a printout of the same and boarded the train the next that ie, 8th I also had my Id proof with me, The TC checked my ticket and told me that it is not valid, i explained him my situation and he suggested that i tell some one to cancel that ticket and he will issue me a new one on the same seat...only i have to pay the whole fare again ..but he said once you cancel the ticket taken you will be refunded..so there is no double payment made for the same seat...I was convinced so i paid him Rs-1416, and asked my wife to cancel the ticket, that is when i came to know that the ticket taken in Tatkal cannot be cancelled and refunded...and also that if the PNR No. was given to me i could have collected a duplicate ticket and saved my money.
For verification this is my ticket details : PNR No.[protected], Train No. 11014 and Date 8-3-11 and details for the receipt given by the TC , receipt no -743537
My question is Are the Railway employees not aware about the rules that ticket taken in Tatkal cannot be refunded and cancelled, Is it not the duty of the TC as a government servant to solve the problems that a passenger will have during his journey.

Railway — legal notice

sir,
I have having shop as syed nazir (Garage) station road parbhani but railway division nanded send me a legal notice. that in this notice they are stated that i have illegally occupied railway property.Sir me and another five person having this legal notice
In this notice they not explain specific property. sir i have legally authorized and possessor of that property at list 15 year

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    29%
    Complaints
    5274
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    1543
    Indian Railways Phone
    +91 11 2338 1213
    Indian Railways Address
    Rail Bhawan, Raisina Road, DL, India, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110001
    ADVERTISEMENT