Show menu
Close
Ask a Question FAQ Sign in

[Resolved]  Vodafone — CLIP charges

I was a Pre-paid customer since many years and I used to buy a lot of talk time. Just last year one of Vodafone representative convinced me to go for a post-paid plan with a monthly rental of Rs. 299/-. My number is[protected]. Please note that I was assured by the representative that except for usage charges & Tax, no other additional charges would be required for me to pay at any point of time.

Recently to my surprise I noticed that in some of my monthly bills, an additional Rs.50/- is being charged as CLIP charges without any notification, which is highly unexpected from a reputed organisation like Vodafone. I’m highly disappointed with this kind o[censored]nprofessional act, which is simply cheating. Being an NRI I don’t stay in India for more than 4/5 months in a year and I leave my phone with my family. They are not aware of all this tricky billing and they religiously keep paying the bills. Now after I came back to India this month I’ve noticed that in bills of Nov’07, Jun’08, Jul’08 & Aug’08 the additional CLIP charges each of Rs.50/- have been included. This may be a mistake by Vodafone people - now they are liable to correct the same - why should I lose the money because of their organizational mistake ?

I would request you to please arrange for reversal of all the charges which has been deducted till date. Also please ensure not to repeat the same mistake again, which would force me, all my friends & family members to withdraw clientele from Vodafone to look for an honest alternative.
Complaint marked as Resolved Dec 2, 2016
Verified Support
Vodafone India Customer Care's response Dec 11, 2012
Hello Sukuji,

Please share your contact number with us at http://bit.ly/SNg1W9 so that we can address your concern better.

Regards,
Vodafone Customer Care.
Complaint comments  7 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

Dear Sir/Madam,
I had taken a hutch (now vodafone) connection [protected] in April 2005. I had taken a life time Post paid plan on this number from 20.02.09 onwards. At the time of activation of lifetime post paid plan I was told by customer care that there will be no clip charges applicable to me only monthly call charges & taxes will be charged in the bill.
When I got my first bill of this plan on 20.03.09 I was surprise to see that two months clip charges (Last month + next month) were charged in the bill. When I discuss the matter with customer care than I was told, not to worry these charges will be reversed in the next bill you pay the entire amount of bill for now.
But to my surprises when I got the next bill on 20.04.09 previous charges were not reversed & extra clip charges were charged again in the bill.
When I discussed the same with vodafone their reply was this

Dear Mr. Mittal,
Thank you for your e-mail dated 24/04/09 regarding the clarification on CLIP charges for for your Vodafone number [protected].
We regret the inconvenience caused to you from our end. We certainly understand your concern and realise that this experience has left a lot to be desired.
We would like to inform you, that as per the lifetime 999 advance rental plan irrespective of the Corporate account the CLIP charges will certainly be applicable on your Vodafone number. We have most certainly processed the reversal of last 3 months of Rs. 149 for the CLIP service. The reversal processed will reflect in your next bill for the month of 19/05/09.
Henceforth, we regret to inform you, that we will not be able to process any reversal for the same. The CLIP service will certainly be charged to you from our end as per the plan.
We hope, we have been able to resolve your concern to your satisfaction. However, in case you need further assistance, do call or email us. We’ll do our best to help you.
Happy to help,
Gauri Loomba
Vodafone Care
Contact numbers*
Vodafone Care : 111 or +91-[protected]

Now as a customer I am at no fault. I had inquired everything before activation.
I am very disappointed the way vodafone handing its old customers. I feel I am cheated by vodafone on this entire issue.
I have requested vodafone to close this number ([protected]) forever for me, I do not want vodafone services from now onwards.
Now I want to save other poor customers like me form vodafone. You are requested to kindly take my matter to the concern on priority basis.

Thanks & Regards
Aditya Mittal
Dy Manager (Quality)
Hindustan Times
I am permanent customer of vodafone. I am using postpaid connection. My mobile Number is [protected]. When I took this number at Gurgaon Vodafone office near Kamla Nehru Park Gurgaon, I was told that no KLIP Charges will be levied as I am a Govt. employee and Rs. 500/- will be refuned in the next few months in your bill but in the next month I was shoked to see the bill that Rs. 49/- was charged in the bill I reached in the vodafone office customer care, they told that in the next bill it will be waived off. but no payment was deducted in the next bill. after 2-3 months the same charges were waived for 3-4 months but after this again this KLIP charges of Rs. 49/- is added in my bill. Now every month I have to go to Vodafone office, but they harras me and told me that it will be refunded in the next bill, I have to waste my time and they give me mentaly tension. Kindly help me. My husband is also having this post paid connection ([protected]) in the same plan but vodafone is not charged any KLIP charges.

Postpaid plan of idea and other... — Clip Charge...............

Idea, Reliance and other telecom companies are providing free SIM with life long validity...where no clip charge is taken from the prepaid customer...while postpaid customer are paying clip charge of RS-49/- Is it fair?
totally agree with Vodafone and all other companies - you agree a contract then halfway through they have the right to change it. IE charge if you want a bill, charge if you pay by Credit card (which at the time of purchase was the only choice!!!)
its good service
This clip charges are fraud charges. Just that no one has time to look into the bills this is happening.
Vodafone has charged me CLIP charges without my consent and claim that CLIP charge is a mandatory charge. However I note from TRAI website that CLIP charge cannot be made mandatory under any plan and it is an optional service. Several mails sent to Vodafone Customer Care citing the TRAI circular. But for some strange reason, Vodafone never refer to TRAI and keeps saying that CLIP is a mandatory charge. I am just one customer who is registering a complaint here. But there could be lakhs of other customers who may not be aware of TRAI order and believe Vodafone. Just imagine how much Vodafone must be earning illegally.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    37%
    Complaints
    21849
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    7919
    Vodafone India Phone
    +91 22 7171 5000 (HQ)
    Vodafone India Address
    Peninsula Corporate Park, Ganpatrao Kadam Marg, Lower Parel, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400013