HDFC Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 9, 2025
Complaints 32881

File a complaint to HDFC Bank

Having problems with HDFC Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by HDFC Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

HDFC Bank reviews & complaints page 899

Royal Vivek
Aug 17, 2018

Address: Gautam Buddh Nagar, Uttar Pradesh

Please look into this my credit card application is [protected]O2 which is inprocess since last many days please look into this i am a prime customer of hdfc bank i have also a debit card emi loan with hdfc bank then u are not providing me a credit card please look into this ur exective did not come for verification while executive note the status door closed why u r doing wrong with me
Sep 25, 2018
HDFC Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Aug 18, 2018
HDFC Bank Customer Care's response

Thank you for your interest in HDFC Bank credit card. We wish to inform you that your application has been considered in line with the bank's internal credit policy (which is based on a combination of financial and related criteria and/or statistically determined scores to assess credit eligibility)and operating/credit processes (which include a combination of verifications, credit bureau reports, and document verifications). We regret to inform you that we are unable to approve your application as it did not meet the internal criteria of the bank.

-Anay
HDFC Bank Customer Assistance

rajeshvijay85
    from Krishnagiri, Tamil Nadu
    Aug 16, 2018

Address: 600016

I am a hdfc bank credit card holder. The bank has auto debited rs:1899 for membership fee and rs:500 for renewal membership fee from my credit card number with 8051 without my concern on date:17/07/18 and 26/07/18. I am not interested about this service and don't want this membership any more. So cancel the membership and refund this debited amount of rs: 1899 and 500/_

One assist relatoinship number :2399834
    Name : rajesh. V
    Credit card ending : 8051
    Dear Rajesh,

Greetings from OneAssist!

We understand your concern. Please be informed, your membership cancellation is in process vide service request number 3459581. As per the policy you need to cancel membership before 30 days for full refund. You will get the amount 949/- credited in your bank account within 5 to 7 working day.

Devendra,
    Team OneAssist.
    How i can closed my insta jumbo loan... i tried to call hdfc credit card dept but didn't respond.. please resolved my problem
    Mera hdfc bank me account h . Mane usme aadhar no bi update kiya hua h . But mera NPCI mapper me inactive so kar raha h. So meri LPG subsidy mere account me nahi aa rahi . Please help me sir. My account no.- [protected].and my adhar no.[protected].

from Raipur, Chhattisgarh
      Aug 16, 2018

Address: Dehradun, Uttarakhand, 492001

As per advertisement it is shown that 5 % cash back will be provided in case of purchase from tanishq showroom and payment made through hdfc debit card & credit card.

I have purchased jewelry from tanishq showroom raipur on 11th aug 2018 with hdfc debit card for rs 86958. And eligible to get 5 % refund.

But proper information is not provided by the vendor and also in hdfc advertisement when such refund will be credited in account.

Please provide complete details regarding such offers.

Please look into the issue and do the needful.
      Sep 16, 2018
      Aug 16, 2018

We are working on your concern vide Ref ID:[protected] and will revert to you within 4 working days.

-Anay
      Below is the message I got which I did not authorization . I need refund for the same.
      Your trx is debited to HDFC Bank CREDIT Card for Rs. 6500.00 in GURGAON at BHARATMA1416350 on[protected]:10:05:25.This is not an authenticated trx as per RBI Mandate effective 1 May 12.

cashback offers - Comment #3185537 - Image #0

Tc tn
        Aug 16, 2018

This is in reference to the transaction made into my account without intimating me by hdfc bank.

An amount of rs 885 has been debited on 13th aug 2018 from my salary account, mentioning about 'depository charges depository charges jul[protected] on demat account. I hve never used this account.

I am aghast to see this has happened second time inspite of me not using the demat servies and when the account was given to me it was told that it would be absolutely free and out of my knowledge too

Can any one suggest me how to get my money back and stop is issue happening in future
        Sep 22, 2018
        Aug 16, 2018

I request you to share your account/customer Id and registered contact details to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID- TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will assist you better.

-Manoj

PoojaMali21
          Aug 16, 2018

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 40076

I have lost my food card. I had called and blocked the card.

I have mailed foodcardsupport. [protected]@hdfcbank.com to provide me with a new food card with required details and now it has been more than 20 days passed.
          Even after mailing several times regarding the status of issuing new food card. I have not received any reply from them.

I would like an immediate action to be taken and this problem to be resolved.
          Sep 16, 2018
          Aug 16, 2018

We can help with that. Please write your issue to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with your Card No. or Customer ID & registered contact details. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Anay
          Aug 17, 2018
          Updated by PoojaMali21
          Even after sending mail on above email id. I haven't receive any update or mail from hdfc.
          Irritating service plz call Me or activate my food card asap
          Suhaacini

eyevision
            from Kaithal, Haryana
            Aug 16, 2018

neft transaction not reflect merchant account

Address: Hisar, Haryana, 125001

Dear sir/ma:am

I had submitted my bus pass fee through net banking on 18/07/2018 from my

Hdfc account no [protected]

Transition id is[protected]

Pay to - kiqhi4mfbj72nnos/payuegrashry

Amount 3315/-

Has been debited from my account but still not update in e-gras haryana software

Grn no[protected]Failure)

After...
            khanimran212
            Aug 16, 2018

Address: 411027

I had a food plus card from my previous company and this is getting damaged as i was using it for almost 4 years.
            I had applied for new hdfc food plus card through my new organization.
            Now i have to activate this new card but my previous card has some amount.
            My doubt is if i activate my new card then whether it will automatically transfer the amount from my old card or i need to transfer it before activating.

Both card are linked with my same salary account number.
            Sep 30, 2018
            Aug 16, 2018

I request you to share your Card no. and registered contact details to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID- TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will assist you better.

-Manoj

Avinash 90
              Aug 16, 2018

Address: Hyderabad, Telangana, 502334

This hdfc bank is causing really a lot of trouble.
              They cut lot of money in the name of this and that charges.. Every month.
              Recently.. They did cut 236.00 rupees saying it's emi rtn charges.
              I maintained sufficient amount on emi date.. Still it happened.
              They don't even notify customer while they cut the amount. It's too bad.
              A/c : [protected]
              Sep 21, 2018
              Aug 17, 2018

Kindly note that the charges levied in your account are as per the Bank's Schedule of fees and charges. In case of any query, please feel free to speak to our Phonebanking Team or visit our nearest branch. Please visit the URL below to know the fees and charges applicable to your account: https://goo.gl/xrTvKB

-Manoj
              They cut lot of money in the name of this and that charges.. Every month.
              Recently.. They did cut 236.00 rupees saying it's emi rtn charges.
              I maintained sufficient amount on emi date.. Still it happened.
              They don't even notify customer while they cut the amount. It's too bad.

emi rtn charges - Comment #3830221 - Image #0
              14 other people found this review helpful
              14 found this helpful

Elegant's Rule
                from Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir
                Aug 16, 2018

Address: 190020

Dear hdfc team

I got to know from customer support no. That my card has been pre closed because i have used card on some banned website which i don't know of and neither i got any text, call or email for the same, and all my emi's are preclosed and i have to pay in one go which is not possible for me because i have a limited source income, and i cannot pay in one go and by chance if i have used card on banned website i must have been warned i have been with hdfc from past 2 years and none of my payments are missed any time in this period, i have no intention to keep your money and i want to repay but this will not be possible for me and let me know one more thing before closing my card permanently why have, nt you let me know about that banned transaction. I hope you will look into the matter

Amir khan
                Card no :- [protected]
                Sep 26, 2018
                Aug 17, 2018

We have taken note of your comments expressed with regard to your credit card, you may look forward to receiving a response to your e-mail id in 3 working days. The reference number for this interaction is[protected].

-Anay

ananthulavijaykumar
                  Aug 16, 2018

Address: Nalgonda, Andhra Pradesh, 508213

Respected sir!
                  I vijay kumar ananthula r/o suryapet (508213), sir i have been worked with hdfc life[protected], please process my pf settlement and any required documents are to be subbmitted please initimate me to finish the followed process, here am enclosing the following details for further process.
                  Thank you sir!

A. Vijay kumar
                  Emp code:145861
                  Pf no: mh/ban/211273/131258
                  P[censored]an:[protected]
                  Mail: a. Vijaykumar. [protected]@gmail.com
                  HDFC Life customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

praveenkumar cherukuri
                    Aug 16, 2018

My salary account (In hdfc bank) was created in my first company, so once i left the company and joined somewhere else i had to open another salary account. Now my salary account in hdfc bank has been converted to savings account (Without informing me or warning me) in the month of oct 2016i had called customer care and raised a request to close my account as i did not want to use the account and they asked me visit home branch. But it is different place and will take 1 day for me to travel the home branch i didn't do it. After that i never logged in to my account through net banking and i do not have a debit card (Lost in 2 years back and i never requested for a new one). After some days my old company settled some amount in that bank account. They deducted that amount as i am not maintaining balance 1 year back and now the balance is showing - 5000. I request you to please take action against this bank.. Thay have no right what so ever to do whatever they want without informing the customer
                    Sep 25, 2018
                    Aug 18, 2018

Our branch official ms. Susmita has responded to you through email. Please check your email inbox and revert to her in case of any pending issue.

-Anay

Surya Kant Upadhyay
                      Aug 16, 2018

I applied for a New Credit Card through HDFC Bank website, and it asked to filled up the details and next day I had received a call from HDFC Bank executive. And Submitted the form via ref 18H[protected]N, I handed over the documents ie Salary Slip, Aadhar Card Copy, Duly filled up form on 2nd Aug to the executive who came for the pickup. Being existing HDFC Bank Customer, they should process it faster.

This is 13 days to go now, don't know a single status as of now.

I have Card of the banks in which I don't have any relationship, and they given me the card with over 5Lacs of Limit, but don't know what wrong with HDFC Bank. Even I'm customer of them.
                      Sep 21, 2018
                      Aug 17, 2018

We observe that an incorrect application reference number has been provided in the post. Hence we request you to provide correct 16 digit application reference number to assist you further in this regard.

-Manoj
                      Aug 20, 2018
                      Updated by Surya Kant Upadhyay
                      Manoj It is shocking, See the snapshot of Ref No I got from HDFC, The person name was Sukhdev who collected the document.. I have his number as well.

Aug 20, 2018
                      Updated by Surya Kant Upadhyay
                      Oops you are correct, it is 18H[protected]N1

But now it is about to 20 days to go.. I am your customer.. And this is the something for existing customers..? Even I submitted the income proof, adhaar card etc..
                      Manoj It is shocking, See the snapshot of Ref No I got from HDFC, The person name was Sukhdev who collected the document.. I have his number as well.

credit card application - Comment #3187496 - Image #0

Chandan B V
                        Aug 15, 2018

I am chandan, hdfc bank customer since 2013. I currently don't live in india and not making much transactions. However, i noticed that amb charges are debited from my account without my authorization in the month of august two times on the same day - 09 august 2018. (Rs.354 + rs.354). I kindly request you to refund all this amount to my account. If you are not going to refund my amount i might have to close this account for sure & compliant against this.
                        Name : chandan b v
                        Branch : hdfc koramanagala branch
                        Sep 18, 2018
                        Aug 18, 2018

We note that our Branch Official Ms. Sindhu Jayachandran has emailed you on August 16, 2018, to address your queries and concerns. Please feel free to reply on email in case any further clarification or assistance.

-Manoj

Ram singh bhambhu
                          from Siwana, Rajasthan
                          Aug 15, 2018

Address: Jaipur, Rajasthan, 303702

I am ram singh bhambhu i have credit card used this card limit was 15000 i used complete limit and i do not make payment from last 3-4 month but now i want to deposit payment in one shot and active my card after, recieved pmt from my side.
                          Now i want to help you that i used credit of 15000/- but now my econonic condition is very poor so please make my settlement minimum to minimum amount.
                          And provide me letter on quickly.
                          So i can deposit my pending amount.
                          Sep 17, 2018
                          Aug 17, 2018

With regard to your Credit Card, we request you to contact our Debt manager at [protected]-702.

-Manoj

Hariompan
                            Aug 15, 2018

I had got the message in last week of June 2018 that my 41499 rs is reversed from flipkart.

But in 15th July bill and 15th August bill it is not reflecting. Customer care has no clue on it.

Recent Complaint no . :- [protected]

Earlier on July end I have also got the mail that issue has been resolved and the credit limit is restored.

But I was painfully surprised to see the bill on today that the credited amount is nowhere in the statement.
                            Sep 30, 2018
                            Aug 16, 2018
                            Updated by Hariompan
                            Still no response!!
                            Aug 17, 2018
                            Updated by Hariompan
                            Awaiting the response!!
                            Aug 17, 2018

We have reviewed your queries and you may look forward to receiving a response to your e-mail id in 7 working days. We request you to bear with us in the interim. The reference number for this interaction is[protected].

-Manoj
                            Aug 17, 2018
                            Updated by Hariompan
                            Thanks, but what about the amount reversal. It is already 2 months past the reversal from Amazon.

Please provide the timeline for reversal in my account.

Changani
                              from Erode, Tamil Nadu
                              Aug 15, 2018

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600062

I have closed my personal loan on hdfc bank on august 1st week itself though i have closed my personal loan as per bank process but unfortunately bank is still detecting charges from my account on 13th august rs.236 and 14th august rs.590 this made us feel bad about hdfc bank and it's process i need back my money as soon as possible it's in need o[censored]rgent please take action against this complaint and return my money back.
                              Sep 18, 2018
                              Aug 16, 2018

We note that the debit of Rs. 236.00 on August 13, 2018, pertain to EMI returned unpaid due to insufficient balance in the month of July 2018. Your personal loan was foreclosed by you on August 03, 2018. In case of any further clarification or assistance, please feel free to email at [protected]@hdfcbank.com.

-Anay

Akshay Agarawal
                                Aug 15, 2018

Address: Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, 226001

Bank deducted money from my bank account without informing me. I dont know what the hell is this amb charges if you are deduct charge then u should inform first. Rs 531. For the month of june. I[censored] say that i have to maintain my balance then u tell me when i opened my account in the end of june then how to maintain it for the full month. Details are below please get it solved this amount is not bearable
                                07 aug 2018 amb chrg incl gst for jun2018-mir[protected] mir[protected] 07 aug 2018 531.00.
                                Sep 21, 2018
                                Aug 21, 2018

Our branch official has Ms. Priyanka Srivastava has contacted you and addressed your query. For further assistance, you may contact her on [protected].

-Anay
                                Sir, my id deactivated. how can I activate my ID

On 21th jul 2018 I have requested for account closure in one for the HDFC branches even processed all the forms. Even cleared my negative balance, Today again i got a message from HDFC bank saying that you are charged with 600/- for non-maintenance of account. Like what is this???

pukhrajbabal
                                  Aug 14, 2018

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110045

I am a hdfc account holder and using my debit card for withdrawing an amount of 10000 from a sbi bank atm. After providing my pin i m just waiting for cash but cash not dispensed and a message of transection time out shown on screen and money debited from my account.
                                  Atm id hfnc[protected]
                                  Atm address. Palam colony rajnagar part 2
                                  Main jewellery market delhi.
                                  Date of transection.21 jul 2018
                                  Last four digit of my debit card 2103
                                  Ac no. [protected]
                                  Mobile no [protected]
                                  Thanks sir
                                  Sep 19, 2018
                                  Aug 16, 2018

We note that the disputed transaction is already credited to your account on August 01, 2018. Please login to your account online to verify the same.

-Anay
                                  Hdfc bank deducted 531 rupies and 457 rupies from my account without informing. . As AMB charges.

atm - Comment #3184649 - Image #0
                                  Dear sir/ madam i have a account in hdfc in sringar branch alamgari bazar.i want to close my account but there staff not vlose my account .ladt 4 months i go many times but still not close my account.my cellnber is [protected].

nisha1709
                                    from Muzaffarpur, Bihar
                                    Aug 14, 2018

Address: Ranchi, Jharkhand, 834001

This is nisha hansda. I am hdfc credit card holder. I don't have any saving account in hdfc bank, once i had received a call hdfc life (Dated:12.07.2018) offered me life policy, i am agreed to take a proposal, but after few minutes i have decided to withdraw the life policy application, (Proposal no. 20591240, application no.[protected], so i had talked with hdfc life executive rajesh kumar (#[protected]) to cancel my proposal, he told me to give a mail to cancel this proposal (Mail sent to: rajesh. [protected]@hdfclife.in & [protected]@hdfclife.com), as per instruction i had sent them a mail on 12.08.2018, where i had clearly mentioned not to debit my credit card & cancel my proposal but they have debited rs.20900/- my credit card on 13.08.2018 even after receiving my mail, after vigorous followup on 07.08.2018 i got a mail from hdfc life customer care that they have returned/credited (Rs.20900/-) my cancelled policy on that account from which mode i have paid, policy payment mode was auto debit from my credit card * * * 9463. Hence i checked my credit card statement, where i found that the amount did not credit till date 14.08.2018. When i sent a mail to hdfc credit card (Hbl=[protected] they have confirmed me through the mail they didn't find such amount. And when i contact with hdfc life (Hdfcsl=[protected]' proposal no.[protected] they have given me such payment refund details: payment no. 9206910 on 07.08.2018 arn no.[protected].

Apart from all that, the amount was still pending to adjusted in my account. Where is my fault hdfc kindly resolved this query.

Undernoted details for your reference :
                                    Policy no. 20591240
                                    Dob: 17/09/1985
                                    Mobile no. [protected]

Hope that i will get a justified response in this regard to get back my refund rs.20900/- on time,
                                    Sep 23, 2018
                                    HDFC Life customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
                                    Aug 16, 2018
                                    HDFC Life Customer Care's response
                                    Hi, kindly inform policyholder to check with HDFC credit card and share the provided payment and ARN No. for refund status.
                                    Aug 16, 2018
                                    Updated by nisha1709
                                    Policy no. 20591240, Payment No. 9206910 on 07.08.2018 ARN No.[protected]. Given by hdfc life on 08.08.2018 but on 14.08.2018 hdfc credit card customer care (query no. HBL=[protected] confirmed through a mail that they have not received this amount. &they suggest to contact with service hdfclife Kindly check where is this amount & pending level.
                                    Aug 16, 2018
                                    HDFC Life Customer Care's response
                                    Hi, kindly inform policyholder to share credit card statement from date of debit to till date on [protected]@hdfclife.com from registered email Id to have the same checked.
                                    Aug 16, 2018
                                    Updated by nisha1709
                                    I had visited your hdfc branch to get statement of 07.08.2018-till date transaction, but they are not able to provide me specific date statement. I don't have any saving account in hdfc bank, so i am also not able to send you any pdf copy of aug18 statement before Billing date. And for your knowledge my Billing date is 18 aug 2018, so i had alredy submitted netbankin details of entry to hdfc life services through query no. HDFCSL=[protected] & HDFCSL=[protected], I am not able to submit aug2018 statement, coz my bill date is 18.08.2018, before that statement generation is not possible, i alredy talked to customer care services helpline too, they also told me before 18.08.2018 its not poosible, and i am truly worried about that before billing date if this amount of Rs.20900/- is not adjusted in my statement, (which is alredy refunded), it could be a chargeable for me, without any mistake done by my side. My request to hdfc life to contact to hdfc credit for further detals. Where is the problem
                                    Aug 16, 2018
                                    Updated by nisha1709
                                    I am in a regular touch with credit card service care & hdfc life in mail, but no one resolved my query. Hdfc credit card confirmed by mail on 14.08.2018 they are not getting amount & hdfc life confirming in mail they have sent the aforesaid amount.
                                    Aug 17, 2018
                                    Updated by nisha1709
                                    My query is still not resolved, hdfc credit card sent me hdfc life & hdfc life sent me hdfc credit card deptt. What i do.. i am frustrated with hdfc this attitude, my last experience with hdfc was good but at present hdfc disappointed me.
                                    Aug 22, 2018
                                    Updated by nisha1709
                                    My query & payment still pending in hdfc life. All the customer care service providers are not given me satisfactory reply.

prash2011
                                      Aug 14, 2018

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560091

I have received the following sms from bank:

Dear customer mandate reference no: hdfc[protected] issued to mswipe technologies pvt limited with value rs. 7080.00 and frequency adho is received today for processing.in case of any issue please get in touch with your branch.

I have not given any mandate. Please resolve the issue. Screen shot of the sms is attached herewith.
                                      Sep 20, 2018
                                      Aug 16, 2018

Please visit the nearest branch and submit an application for cancellation of said ACH mandate instruction. Branch locator link: https://bit.ly/2Hqff0y

-Manoj
                                      Aug 17, 2018

We have reviewed your queries and you may look forward to receive a response to your e-mail id in 3 working days. We request you to bear with us in the interim. The reference number for this interaction is[protected].

-Manoj
                                      I have done payment of fees at IGNOU on dated 15/08/2018 with transaction ID [protected]P_8 and payment ID [protected] with my credit card to MERCHANT - IGNOU1358369 . kindly refund my extra amount.

message received - Comment #3184648 - Image #0
                                      Case id [protected]. Dt. 9.8.18.

Dear officer
                                      from last three days calling customer care regarding statement
                                      already register complaint on 5th and 6th of august
                                      of not receiving statement on email
                                      last statement received on 6 th june
                                      your officers says statement already email
                                      but not showing in my email
                                      pls do needful
                                      Arif61's reply, Aug 9, 2018
                                      no reply from 3 days
                                      My id deactivated at the time of credit card activation due to server problem .
                                      please inform me, how can activate id .