Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 25, 2025
Complaints 10847

File a complaint to Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC]

Having problems with Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] reviews & complaints page 278

Madhu
from Sathupalli, Telangana
Feb 28, 2017

I booked a tatkal tiket for the train 12615, but the train was late more than 12 hours, so I did not travelled and raised a TDR for the same.
It is around 40 days now and the amount is not returned by IRCTC.
and the status is continuously showing as CR registered.

Transaction ID : [protected]
PNR number : [protected]
Train number: 12615/GRAND TRUNK EXPRESS
From station:MAS
To station: WL
Date of Journey: 22-Jan-2017
Date of booking: 21-Jan-2017
PLEASE reply asap.
Do not trouble middle class people refund our amount asap
my email id is: [protected]@gmail.com
Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Feb 28, 2017
Updated by Madhu
I request IRCTC to look after this issue and solve it

My TRANSACTION ID - [protected]
PNR - [protected],

I had done cancellation on 17 th feb 2017 but still didn't got the refund amount.

Feb 27, 2017

Address: Thane, Maharashtra, 421202

Respected Sir/Madam,
    On most of the station and also in train catering people takes 20rs of the water bottle. But standard price of bottle is 15rs. But still they are taking more money. If we asks they just do the argument. Kindly request you to take this thing seriously and please take the strict action against people involved in this thing.
    Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Saurabhmgs
      Feb 27, 2017

Address: 232101

I booked ticket in 13240 with one number [protected] for travelling on 21st feb from varanasi..
      As the train was late for 12+ hours at my station so I cancelled ticket by Filling TDR but now TDR status is showing as CR repudiate and Reason for failed TDR registration as Invalid TDR timestamp:Delay. But I cancelled the ticket at 7 AM in the morning more than 5 hours before actual departure at my station but as the train was late by 12+ hours so I filled TDR more than 17 hours in this case..
      Then for what reason this case is being shown as my TDR status..
      I request to look into my problm and try to resolve it and let me know through my mail id registered on irctc.
      Waiting for reply from IRCTC..
      Saurabh singh
      saurabh.[protected]@gmail.com
      Ticket reservation Online - Tatkal Quota:

I tried booking tickets today and it failed twice for tatkal quota with error.
      Sorry !!, please Try Again !!
      To Login click here

I tried 3 attempts and it failed. It is really [censored] after taking payment gateway and passed netbanking site.

Filed TDR but didn't receive money back with an invalid reason - Comment #2669760 - Image #0
      I've made cancellation on below PNR nod on 15th Feb but still not received refund... in my account it's showing that amount has been refunded to HDFC account but I don't have any HDFC account and I've made Payment through Corporation bank.
      PNR nos are as below:-
      1- [protected]
      2- [protected]

So pls help

Minty Nischal

Shivanigupta
        Feb 27, 2017

Address: Panipat, Haryana, 132103

My parents are travelling with other senior citizen from Panipat by IRCTC Tour package Dakshin Bharat Yatra(NZBD190) S8 seats 41 to 48. Train is not clean from inside. Its very dirty and smelly. Conditions of washrooms are pathetic. Its a riligious journey. They are travelling for 12 days. Its very difficult for anyone to travel in this environment. Pls do the needful.
        Feb 21, 2017
        mayupal's response
        I am travelling with my 9 month old son and found some insects in train while sleeping. Fear it don't bite me or my son.

Mayank Solanki

Hiteshkumar Solanki
          Feb 27, 2017

Refunded not credited

I have booked a ticket and paid using my debit card, the payment gateway was paytmag. Then it was cancelled because of not confirmation of ticket and its showing refunded but i have not got the money till now. Please have a look below for further info.

Transaction id : [protected]
          Refund id : [protected]
          Refunded date : 19-feb-2017

Whenever i check my refund status, it shows refunded to bank, but it shows bank name as paytmag.

Journalist Rajesh Kumar
            Feb 27, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110085

PNR NO- [protected], Transaction id-[protected], cancellation Id- [protected], Dated- 17/02/2017, Amount 1360 abhi tak refund nahi hua aur customer care par bhi koi response nahi mil raha, pichle 2 din se customer care par call kar raha hu lekin call recived nahi ho raha hai, ye kaisi suwidha de rahe hai aaplog, kitna time lagta hai refund karne me, mujhe with intrest amount refund chahiye

Birkata
              Feb 26, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600003

I had book a ticket from Mumbai - CSTM to Goa – Madgaon for 3rd January 2017 for six passengers which all was under status PQWL on 24th October 2016 in 2nd Class AC. During the passing months, two passenger got confirms. We decide to waited until chart prepare hoping that the rest of the passengers will get confirms as the status was waiting list 1, 2, 3, 4. However, on the final hours the status remains the same with two confirm & the rest still in waiting list. As it was family travelling together with two senior citizens, two female adults and two children, we had to cancel our plan to travel the journey by trains. I filed for TDR 2hrs 6 min (around 19:53) before the schedule travel time – 22:00hrs on that very date. I had also received a confirm mail for TDR process from [protected]@irctc.co.in with reference no. On 18th January 2017, I received a mail from [protected]@irctc.co.in that by TDR filing reason – REPUDIATION OF CASE without any details. I call up customer care to enquire & they told me to reopen my TDR case and send an email to [protected]@irctc.co.in. I again open my TDR case & wrote to them. After that I have not received any answer to my mail. It’s been more than 1 month since I’m following it up. Strange is that I have file TDR according to the IRCTC rules under 6 (1) clearly written in old & new rules I can file for TDR third minutes before the schedule departure time. I not only got re-fund on the 2 confirm passenger nor even on the 4 waiting list passenger which should had been automatically credit back to my account. Either the concern authority who is in charge does not knon it’s own rules or is beginning deaf to it.

I even wrote twice to [protected]@irctc.co.in & [protected]@irctc.co.in. Still no reply and then I wrote to [protected]@claims.indianrail.gov.in. Even from them no reply.

I'm forwarding my case for you to study and to get justice.

PNR No. [protected],
              Transaction ID: [protected]

Lill Thapa
              Ridiculous... Worst service providing by IRCTC in giving berth. Senior citizens not given the lower berth. They don't know this small thing.
              That very true of IRCTC services. They don't care at all, for me this could be their way of cheating innocent traveler and make money for their pocket.

Askari Rizvi
                from Bansi, Uttar Pradesh
                Feb 26, 2017

I was booking tickets for 2 adults who were willing to travel from jabalpur to nizamuddin station and payed the booking amount of 1459 rs to irctc connect through paytm ... Paytm transferred the amount to irctc which was recently added to paytm wallet by me but irctc neither booked the ticket for me nor showed that the booking cancelled and amount was deducted... I did received a dialogue box at the end that the seats would be in different coaches, i hit ok and nothing happenend.So what to know where is my money?

I should get a prompt or email right that the booking is cancelled and your amount will be refunded.

I contacted paytm as well they emailed me that the transaction was complete from there end and asked me to contact irctc.

What should i do next. I want my money back asap.. Its w big amount of 1459 rs

Do check all screen shots.. N give me the resolution please.

Askari Rizvi
                Mar 1, 2017
                Its automated as i contacted the customer care of irctc
                Feb 26, 2017
                Updated by Askari Rizvi
                Will someone help me with this?
                Feb 27, 2017
                Updated by Askari Rizvi
                My contact number is [protected].. Please contact me on the same asap

I just want my money back asap.. I spended the same amount of money again from a different way in order to book the same ticket.

One should notify me right??
                Mar 01, 2017
                Updated by Askari Rizvi
                Whom should i contact for the same issue now?
                Mar 01, 2017
                Updated by Askari Rizvi
                Please check this email and do the needful.

Askari Rizvi

[protected] Forwarded message[protected]
                Date: Feb 25, 2017 5:32 PM
                Subject: Ref : 22642461 Your Query with Paytm Care (SF)
                To: "[protected]@gmail.com" <[protected]@gmail.com>
                Cc:

Dear Askari,

Greetings from Paytm.Com <http://paytm.com/> !

Thank you for contacting us and apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We would like to inform you that, as confirmed by the merchant IRCTC your transaction under order [protected] was successful from our end. We would request you to kindly contact the merchant IRCTC customer care team for the order confirmation.

In case, transaction is failed at IRCTC end then refund will automatically added to your wallet with in 7 working days .

For any further assistance, kindly get in touch with us we would be glad to assist you.

We assure you, the best of our service.

Paytm Care Team
                I have filled tdr on 23/11/16. it is almost 90 days, but money is not yet credited to ma account. please do the needful.
                tdr:274585
                pnr no:[protected]
                class:3 ac
                date of journey:24 /11/16

Yashavanta .B.T
                  Feb 25, 2017

I have booked one ticket today on line train number 56909 from ksr Bangalore to cta chitra durga pnr no.[protected] and transaction no [protected] . I have paid through debit card, amount twice debited Rs 140.00 and Rs 140 with Bank charges of rs. 2.90
                  Please refund me Rs140.00 which is debited twice to my account .

Yashavanta

gauravkhandelwal23
                    Feb 25, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 629001

My Parents are travelling to IRCTC tour package bharat darshan from Ujjain. Tour is for south destinations Tirupati, Rameswaram, Madurai, Kanyakumari and Trivendrum. Today i.e. 25th Feb 2016, they have almost stopped train for 6 hrs to some station. Still train has not moved. They were supposed to reach Kanyakumari by this time.Also, as train has delayed, they are now saying that they won't take them to Kanyakumari which is completely wrong. First of all, they should cover all the places which were promised as there is no issues from pilgrim's end. Also, evenif they have to stop traing for 6 hrs, instead of keeping at station, they shoud be provided with proper accomadation.

Atul m
                      Feb 25, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110041

This is regards to purse theft from sleeper coach during journey at just before agra cant railway station on 25.02.2017 2.15AM.
                      Name Akanksha Mathur PNR NO. -[protected] DAKSHIN EXPRESS

Goods details
                      1. Samsung galaxy j2, 6 Dual Simm (SM-J210FZKDINS) smart phone
                      2. Gold mangalsutras - 2nos.
                      3. Gold Rings - 2nos.
                      4. Payal - 1set
                      5. Cash - 3000/-
                      6. Aadhar card
                      7. Pan card
                      8. Debit card Canara bank
                      9. Delhi Metro cards

Please take action accordingly

Atul Mathur

Somyajitt Sarkr
                        Feb 25, 2017

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400004

Respected sir/madam,
                        I tried to book 3 tickets from CSTM to Howrah on the 15th of February via the online booking process of the IRCTC. The tickets went unbooked, however the money was debited. After that started my tiresome correspondence with the IRCTC authorities. I tweeted to them, mailed them a multiple number of times after which they acknowledged the goo[censored]p. On the 21st they mailed me that the money had been refunded to my bank account. But it is not showing in my bank account even after 72 hours . I have mailed and tweeted the IRCTC authorities again, but unfortunately not received a reply yet. I don't know the reason behind this delay or swho to hold responsible-the banking authorities or the IRCTC. Please help.

vikranth72
                          Feb 24, 2017

Address: 560049
                          Website: www.irctc.com/GeneralFeedbackSystem?workflow=GFMS_Rpt_03_Inpt_FeedbackStatus&authentication=No

Please find the feedback number "GAX[protected]" I have raised in IRCTC website for the Food quality and Food over pricing. However there is no matter mentioned in the Feedback resolving but the mail has been sent stating that it is resolved.

How is it resolved ? and what is the precaution they have taken. And when I see the status of my feedback status it is showing as No Data Found

Arti Shrivastava
                            Feb 24, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110044

Subject : PNR No [protected], Date of Journey-17/02/2017, Delhi to Amritsar via Train NO 18101

sir i booked a e ticket form the day 11/01/2017 which PNR no mention in above the subject. that time ticket booked in waiting ticket. and the date of journey still ticket are on waiting status, which automatically cancelled from your IRCTC side. i am not cancelled that ticket. My question is this if their in nothing mu fault then why are you deducting a huge amount on my ticket. This is not my fault you all are unable to confirm my ticket . then give me the right reason to deducted my money or otherwise my money back in my account as earliest possible.
                            give your feedback on my email id: [protected]@gmail.com
                            Feb 24, 2017
                            Updated by Arti Shrivastava
                            my total cost toward this ticket is 2600.00+ transaction charges, but i have received only 2275.00

shahboy88
                              Feb 24, 2017

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400007

The complaint is about the terms and conditions of IRCTC, the railway service providers.

The complaint is specific to the refund rules in case the train is delayed for more than 3 hours due to any reason and to compensate the passenger for the inconvenience faced due to such delay.

The refund rules states that if the train is late for more than 3 hours than the passenger can claim for a full refund if he has not traveled because of the delay. But the problem is, as per IRCTC rules, the claim for refund should be filed before the actual departure of the train. Otherwise the passenger will get no refund at all.

Now my complaint is, that the rule of raising the claim before the actual departure of the train makes no sense. For example, My mother was traveling and the train was expected to arrive at 9 a.m. and my mother was waiting at the station and there was an announcement that the train was going to be late. My mother was waiting at the station and could not raise a claim for refund because she did not have a smart phone to claim a refund. After waiting for two and a half hours at the station my mother left for home. After reaching home she informed me to claim the refund as she had not traveled and the train was late for more than 3 hours. I immediately raised a claim for refund which was roughly at 12.30 p.m. The train had departed at 12.05 p.m. That means the train was late by 3 hours and 5 minutes. My claim was rejected and it was mentioned that I should have raised the claim before 12.05 p.m. before the train departed.

This is a very stupid rule infact. Firstly, because a person who does not have a smart phone will not be able to raise the claim immediately. Some extra time has to be given to claim the refund if he/she has not traveled. Secondly, they cannot expect a person to raise a claim at such a time when he/she is already facing such inconvenience of the train being late.

The example written is an actual scenario happened with my mom when she was traveling. And regrettably I did not get the refund. I am disappointed with how the rules and regulations have been drafted.

Request a revert on my complaint as early as possible. Thanks.

abbasabuzar
                                Feb 24, 2017

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 411036

I had booked an I-Ticket on IRCTC website on 20th Feb for journey date 24th Feb. Today is 24th Feb and I have still not received my railway ticket for my journey scheduled for tomorrow morning.
                                I called IRCTC 24x7 customer service twice. The first time they provided me the Overnite Express courier contact number to track my ticket. The number provided is switched off since. The second time I spoke with IRCTC 24x7 helpline, they said their system is down so they cannot help. Today I am trying to call them, no one is answering their 24x7 help line or any other customer service number provided in their website. I have to travel tomorrow and i dont have my ticket yet.
                                PNR : [protected]
                                Courier consignment : [protected]

praveenkumar K.S.
                                  Feb 24, 2017

I am frequent traveler in trains. On[protected] i travelled from Hubli to Bangalore in Janasathabdi train. I purchased veg biriyani whish is tasteless and the raitha supplied is with watery curd with two onions and one daniya leaf in small quanitity. the Water selling vendor once came before starting train and didnot turn up to three hours of journey, the passengers them self went to the vedor who is in d5 compartment to collect water. all food items are sold at their whims and fancies. I request you to exhibit price list of all items in all compartments just like advertisements are pasted. when demanded for complaint book no response

wmesh
                                    from Warangal, Telangana
                                    Feb 23, 2017

I have submitted my TDR for not travelling due to train late for more then 3 hours( PNR number [protected]), but my TDR closed as "Passenger has Travelled" and i travelled on next day with PNR#[protected]. (screenshot attached for Reference)

more than 20 days have already been over and Refund has not been given by Railway IRCTC Team. IRCTC Team team is not responding my mail.

Kindly look into the matter and give me the refund without any further delay.

Maha Lekshmi
                                      Feb 23, 2017

Address: Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, 695009

Few minutes back i tried to book tatkal ticket from sbc to tvc ..i tried three times ..everytime i got the same error "No seats available. Transaction dropped".

Money debited from my account 3 times. When will it be credited back to my account? Ticket charge service charge everything gone. No ticket booked as well.

Why this is happening? My plan to go to my place also dropped due to this as i cannot get ticket in any other train or bus last minute.

Kindly look into this asap. And acknowledge.
                                      No response to complaint.. need to improve the service

Nripesh Toppo
                                        Feb 23, 2017

Address: 600020

I logged into my IRCTC account for booking a ticket, I filled the details and then clicked "Next". Instead of landing to the payment page, it landed to some others user's account. It was showing confirmation tickets that the other user booked.
                                        I logged out of that account immediately. This seems to be a major issue, Please check.I also have a screenshot of that.