Southern Railway Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Aug 12, 2025
Complaints 745

File a complaint to Southern Railway

Having problems with Southern Railway?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Southern Railway customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Southern Railway reviews & complaints page 24

kannaniyer
from Karaikal, Puducherry
Apr 15, 2017

Address: 613007

MMy long in Id is deactivated Panjuiyer
my wife Log in Id meenamami is also deactivated
my mother log in If is also deactivated rajamammal
Please activate my ID
while i was trying to bok a ticket through my Id duye to some error in captcha my id is deactivated.my wife id is deactivated from dauy one of the registration
so also mny mother id is also deactivated/I am unable to register fresh since all mobile phone are already linked
Southern Railway customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
My ticket booking mas to bkn DT 22/12/16 PNR no [protected] TDR no 275054 acknowledgement no1112/masd-5
Today 14/04/17 time 8.0 clock
The person sitting in the reservation counter blaming without any reason.. He dont want to talk to anyone... Without interaction how can we deal with our reservation and how can we clear about our doubts... And he is not ready to cancell the tickets also... Take some action..

thabala
    Apr 14, 2017

Address: 613182

The train runs between tiruttani-velachery memu should stop at arrakkonam jn in the morning at about 0910 hours for only two minutes. But daily the train was detained/halted/stopped for about 15-20 minutes and departs by 0930 hours instead of 0915 hours putting the passengers to great sufferings. The train was stopped at arakkonam jn daily for more than 15-20 minutes for variety of reasons like signal problem, leaving other express trains to pass on. This delay result great difficulties to officer goers, students, women, children and senior citizens/elderly people to reach their places in time. Kindly look into the matter and upkeep the timing of tiruttani-velachery emu train and not to stop/detain the train at arakkonam jn beyond 2 minutes. An early action is solicited.
    Apr 14, 2017
    Updated by thabala
    he Train runs between Tiruttani-Velachery MEMU should stop at Arrakkonam JN in the morning at about 0910 hours for only two minutes. But daily the train was detained/halted/stopped for about 15-20 minutes and departs by 0930 hours instead of 0915 hours putting the passengers to great sufferings. The train was stopped at Arakkonam JN daily for more than 15-20 minutes for variety of reasons like signal problem, leaving other express trains to pass on. This delay result great difficulties to officer goers, students, women, children and senior citizens/elderly people to reach their places in time. Kindly look into the matter and upkeep the timing of Tiruttani-Velachery EMU train and not to stop/detain the train at Arakkonam JN beyond 2 minutes. An early action is solicited.

yasarap
      Apr 14, 2017

I have not received the refund for cancellation (Tdr filed). Its already crossed more than 100 days since i raised this request.
      Please find the details below.

Transaction details
      Pnr number: [protected]
      Ticket type: eticket
      Transaction id: [protected]
      Booked on: 5-9-2016
      Class: 2a
      Internet service charge: rs 46.0
      Date of journey: 2/1/2017
      Railway zone: sr bank: hdfc
      Total: rs 4486
      Train no: 12602
      Ticket charge: rs 4440
      From station: quilandi (Qld) quota: general to station: chennai central (Mas)
      Irctc zone: regional director /southern zone (Irctc), chennai.

Tdr details
      Reason for tdr:
      Party partially confirmed/waitlisted and all passengers did not travel.
      Tdr status:
      Tdr entered
      Reference no: ekt[protected]
      Tdr zone: sr
      Tdr filing date: 02-jan-2017
      Refund status: refund under process
      Refund date: not available
      Refund amount: rs.0.00

Kindly do the needful to get the amount credited to my account.

Yasar

vineet1961
        Apr 12, 2017

Address: 380005

My wife veena saxena was travelling by train - 14715 / TPJ HUMSAFAR in coach no-b2 berth no-12 PNR No - [protected] for bangaluru on 04.04.17. she boarded train from ahmedabad, during journey, train was at ARSIKERE JN, time was 01:30 mid-night, one attendant misbehaved with her while she was sleeping, she wakes up & hit him and shouted, than attendant ran away to another coach, she also went for few distance to catch him but she could not catch him,
        after she dialed 100 for police help, they gave one mobile no-[protected] of GRP person, perhaps mr yadav was the name of that GRP person, they came, she told total story to them, GRP told her that they will catch him but they did not came back, she wants to lodge FIR against that attendant.
        in such a unsecured conditions in AC coaches and irresponsible GRP personals, it is very difficult & dangerous for a lady travelling alone. our respected railway minister promised to the public that travelling in train will be safe. is it like this????
        i want action against that attendant (my wife can recognise him) as well that GRP team, whose responsibilities are to save passenger's life and safe journey.
        please take appropriate action against both of them (attendant & GRP).
        v k saxena
        [protected], ahmedabad

Bagirathi
          Apr 6, 2017

Address: Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, 641018

N. Sankaran,
          1437, Trichy Road,
          Red Rose Chambers II Floor,
          Coimbatore. 641018.

To:

Office of The Financial Advisor & Chief AC Officer,
          Southern Railway Head Quarters,
          2nd Floor,
          Park Town. Chennai.

Sub. Cancellation Refund Amount Reg.,
          Sir / Madam,

I have cancelled Two tickets vide PNR NO.[protected] Train No. 12672
          Date : 30.03.2017 &[protected] Train No. 12673 Date : 02.04.2017
          Date of cancellation 21.02.2017 - Cancelled card Refund amount through Indian Bank RuPay Card. So far the amount is not credited in my account. Necessary cancelled ticket and Refund slip is being enclosed.

Kindly do the needful immediately to Refund the amount.

N. Sankaran

My HDFC Bank A/c. No., is [protected]
          IFS Code. HDFC0000031 HDFC Bank Ltd., Trichy Road Branch, Coimbatore. 641018
          Rats damage stuff, bit our bodies, running over, no water in the toilets, ..miserable

Please write to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with the date and mode of refund, along with any written communication received from IRCTC regarding the refund.

-Anay
          HDFC Bank Customer Assistance

Dhora
            Apr 4, 2017

Would like to bring to your notice about the item bought from Ratna Cafe at the Chennai central station on 03-Apr-2017 evening while boarding to 12759 (From Chennai to Hyd).
            We asked and paid for 3 masala dosas and they gave chutny with potato curry as well.

Complaint-1: The chutny (red color) is completely rotten.
            Complaint-2: All dosas became dry, by the time we had in the train around 8:30 pm on that day, the dosas all became dry and not nice to eatable.

My contact #:[protected]

josey john
              Mar 31, 2017

Why does tti asking money from rac and waiting list passengers to confirm a seat or berth? Once when i was travelling from calicut to kollam, tti asked me that..' give me 1 big gandhi for berth '. I think that he was from shoranur division. Railway authorities are giving a silent approval for ttis to collect money from passenger. Is no vigilance department to control this criminals? Why no authorities to check ttis? Check their pockets?? Do proper vigilance operations.

Note to all passengers : don't give money to them. Record proper audio or video with ttis photo in facebook and other social media.
              Apr 2, 2017
              what will be the resolution ? make video footage and post in social media..we can make it viral .

machado_f
                from Tenkasi, Tamil Nadu
                Mar 27, 2017

Address: Thoothukudi, Tamil Nadu, 628001

I, Rosario Machado, 422 D South Cotton Road, Tuticorin-628001 booked ticket from Tuticorin to Chennai by 3rd AC in Pearl City Express on 5th Jan, 2017 and again from Chennai to Tuticorin by 3rd AC on 8th Jan, 2017. But unfortunately i have to cancel the ticket due to unforeseen circumstances. I have booked the ticket by card. Since on the day of Cancellation in Tuticorin, the machine is not working they gave me a receipt to send it to Madurai Accounts section to get it refunded, But unfortunately until today i did not receive the refund ( Nearing three months). I have given my Bank details. When i went to Tuticorin Railway station and asked they are replying in a vague manner like the clerk is leave and so on. This is not at all acceptable. Please make arrangements to refund my money immediately without delay.
                Mar 27, 2017
                Updated by machado_f
                Not refunded so far
                Respected Sir
                Am SreenivasaReddy. P from UTCL APCW at anki reddy palli village, kolimi gundla mandal, kurnool district. I expressed to you please rectify and help you our problems in sleepercoach.

SREENIVASAREDDY

Venkatesh GR
                  from Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
                  Mar 25, 2017

Its a shame to have over a thousand people stand in such a hit temperature outside platform 10 on 24th March 2017 night without the train coming on time. Though u had sent an sms, we appreciate for that, but no one in enqueries knew about the same. There should be alternate arrangements when you reschedule the train timings, central railway station pf.no. 10 is full of stink & Mosquito's. How do one wait for over 3 hrs. We need an expellation. Who is responsible for this?

Venkatesh G R

PNR-[protected]
                  Trn:12691
                  Dt:[protected]
                  Frm MAS to SBC
                  Cls:2A
                  P1-A3, 20
                  Chart Prepared

sashidharan Muthachikandy
                    Mar 23, 2017

Address: Kozhikode, Kerala, 673100

There had been number of visits by railway authorities and mp of this area to attract public attention and media coverage in the news.
                    Where as the basic requirements and other utilities what is available at the station is not concerned any one.
                    1. There is no railway potter or trolley available at the station to carry the luggage from one platform to opposite platform and passengers have to put on the shoulder / head and cross the overhead bridge to catch the train and also to leave the station.
                    2. Every passenger will not have upper class reservation at all times and some one wants to go for urine etc is not available at the station except by payment. Even reserved passengers have to collect the key to avail the locked facilities.
                    3. The drinking water provided at the station is not hygienic and only god knows when the water cooler was cleaned at the last time.
                    4. The conditions of platforms no 2 and 3 are so worst that a person carrying a small baggage with their own trolley can not be pulled or dragged conveniently due to uneven floor and ditches.
                    5. The person landing at platform no. 2 and 3 may not be in a position to carry the luggage on their shoulder / head etc due to many factors / reasons and their luggage can not be brought to plat no 1 due to steep tiling on the north side and causing danger to persons while stepping down.
                    6. At platform no 2 and 3, there are no proper shades, benches, fans, pure drinking water facilities etc for those waiting for the train at those platforms.
                    7. There are no parking places for the passengers who wants to park / keep their vehicles and to catch the train for a distant locations.
                    8. There is no food canteen or a hygienic catering service at the station

Vijay Kumar Palasala
                      Mar 21, 2017

Address: 515134

I am very unhappy to inform you the following.
                      Some of the devotees of sri satya sai baba are bringing cabbage pickle to be distributed at the south indian canteen which was donoted by sri satya sai baba temple of bhel samiti at hyderabad. The crpf officials has collected rs 500 on the way to puttaparthy and also collected another rs 500 after getting down at railway station. The bhel samithi is going to regularly send the pickle for distribution of food at south indian canteen. Kindly help us in telling the crpf personal not to collect the money from the devotees.
                      Yours sincerely.
                      P. Vijaykumar

in this UTS ticket issuing to passengers in Tamilnadu now getting the tickets which having Hindi and English only . not having Tamil .

Please take necessary actions to print in Tamil also .
                      There is no ac in 2nd class, our train is from chengalpattu to kacheguda having train num 17651... I have a reservation in 2nd ac, I have boarded the train at tambaram... It's been more than 30min, there is no sign of AC in this compartment... There is alot of suffocation, this is so ridiculous and having the worst journey ever...

I booked an e-ticket from Trivandrum Central to Mangaluru Central on 17/03/2017. My transaction id is Transaction ID: [protected] and [protected] it has been shown that payment is failed. But my bank details shows deduction from my account. Please take necessary actions.

deepdins
                        from Raipur, Chhattisgarh
                        Mar 20, 2017

Address: Sivaganga, Tamil Nadu, 630003

Today i have a ticket B2/7 in train no16178 from trichy to chennai. It is vrey noisy and unbearable inconvenience travel to me. I ever and never have this type of journey. This coach have condemed condition. The captain jebaraj have co ordially chnge my birth because i m a heart patient. Please try to give better service by way of good coaches in future

ajayguns
                          from Aluva, Kerala
                          Mar 17, 2017

Address: Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, 682001

I ak singh, have filled a tdr against my ticket pnr no [protected] on 17 jan 17 and not received the refund amount till to date. the details are as follows-
                          Tdr no. 319328 dated 17 jan 17 at ernakulam rly stn
                          Ent to - chief commercial manager (refunds) thycaud, trivendrum.
                          Train no. 12224 (ers - ltt duronto express) date of jurney 02 april 17. would like to know the status of tdr as it is very late.

Crdash
                            Mar 17, 2017

Address: Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu, 603001

Sir, yesterday 16.3.17, train no 40701 reachef Chengalpattu at 8.50 am. It is unnecessay delayed snd departed 9.30 am to Tirumalpur. The Station Master is dealing this train very late. Daily i observe that this train is delayed to give entry to platform and delay start from CGL stn. Your attention is requiref to give suitable instruction to CGL SM to ensure correct depat. Daily official commuters are suffering as this local train is reaching Kanvcheepuram late daily, not ensured to reach in time. All dealy at CGL stn. Please lookinto sir.

akash rajpoot
                              from Bansi, Uttar Pradesh
                              Mar 16, 2017

Address: Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh, 284204

SIR MY AMOUNT IS NOT REFUND
                              JOURNEY date 13/012/206 and i am registed TDR file
                              TDR File registed Date 13/012/2016 TRAIN NO 12270 (MAS DOURENT EXP)
                              REFUND AMOUNT- 3040
                              REFUND Apporved date 30/12/2016
                              Pay order id 0821216
                              Dealer id MASDEAL6
                              so plz Refund my amount
                              my Mail id ([protected]@gmail.com)
                              cont no [protected], [protected]

Narayanan N
                                Mar 15, 2017

Address: 600026

Pnr nbrs[protected] [protected] [protected]
                                Train nbr 16128/130
                                We travelled from dindigul (S rly) to chennai on 12th dec 2016 and the train was abruptly terminated at villupuram junction forcing us to run helter shelter under duress and heavy rain... The tickets booked thro internet was not cancelled at the station and we preferred a claim from comml dept chennai... They know pretty well that there was no communication in chennai for days together and we sent our letter for refund and they have come out with a wise idea that the claim was submitted one day later that is on 16th instead of 15th and hence could not make payment... Such inhuman beings are working there in the dept who know for certain the problems faced by people... Perhaps he was happy since he was not travelling!!! Ref no c 508/ii/mas/[protected] mas. D.4 dated 8th march recd by us today 15th... We dont want money but your officials should be sympathetic and atleast can regret and covey a sorry in a pleasant manner... I can definitely take it up and make an issue but wanted to bring to your notice... With regrets
                                Narayanan n and pl mail me ur response [protected]@faochennai.com

srdevan1983
                                  Mar 15, 2017

We have travelling to tanjore, kumbakonam and mayiladuthurai for official and personal purpose. Daily using cholan express and passengers trains. Madurai and karaikudi, karur passengers (Link trains) to use in this train.
                                  Only 2 ur coaches attached. Senior citizens and patients are travelling uncomfortable. 8 nos ac coaches attached. But few passengers travel day time. Kindly attached additional coaches in this train.
                                  Sir i was lost my wallet. It contains mobile phone, atm card, pan card and around 2000 money, and also some important documents. While iam travelling by train from arakkonam to chennai central some one was treatened my handbag. So please take action sir

sabarish sridhar
                                    Mar 13, 2017

Address: Erode, Tamil Nadu

No drinking water bottles in erode station
                                    I am travelling in Mysore turicorin train towards bangalore
                                    My Pnr is [protected]
                                    My name is Sabarish S
                                    There is no drinking water in any of the stalls in platform 3
                                    They are saying no water provided to us
                                    But they sell all food and cooldrinks
                                    So we have to eat and drink cooldrinks instead of water
                                    Water is the basic need for any passenger
                                    If there is no water they should not sell other eatables
                                    Because we need water after drinking any food
                                    I got food and to digest that I had cooldrinks to digest that
                                    The shop number is SA smu 04
                                    Another shop licences to ma surya Agro food
                                    And and other shops as well
                                    This is not fair
                                    If you are making any arrangements for the upcoming passengers
                                    It would be great
                                    If govt is not able to supply water bottles to stalls in railway station
                                    Please don't run the stalls
                                    Close it
                                    It's highly dangerous to eat without water

Privenra
                                      Mar 9, 2017

Velachery train arrival morning timings are improper & no proper cleaning of plat forms

velachery ladies spl timing in Ambattur is 8.15, and General velachery train is 8.25, but train comes irregular time like 8.20, 8.25, 8.30, 8.45.
                                      Due to this improper timing of train, train is fully rush and we are missing the train & pregnant ladies are struggling to board in train, ladies are traveling in foot boards. And also please make train frequency because 45 min once only train is there towards velachery.

please take an action and another complaint is there was an accident in ambattur railway station a month ago but still now the blood in the walking path towards platform number 2 not cleaned .

Please take an action.

Anitha Sriram
                                        Mar 6, 2017
                                        Mar 22, 2023
                                        This thread was updated on Mar 22, 2023

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600087

We missed one of our baggages on 2/03.2017 on platform no, 5 while boarding the Tamilnadu Express to Bhopal (10 pm ). Apparently, one of our relatives went in person to collect the bag and was handed the lost bag with the tag[protected] money receipt number and lost property number 216 dated 2/3/2017) But the cash in the bag was missing and the bag was very badly damaged. Kindly advice us on whom needs to be contacted in this regard.
                                        I lost my bag on 25th January 2017 in train no:16219 in Tirupati railway station.Its a brown leather bag with small flowers on it.
                                        Anju_Puduri's reply, Jan 25, 2018
                                        Sorry its on 25th January 2018
                                        I missed my bag in Tirupathi express (22618) running from SMVT Bangalore to Tirupathi
                                        It's black colour bag and it have my original Voter ID card, Pan Card, My work ID card of Manipal hospital..please help me find it, it's in general compartment backside