Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 17, 2025
Complaints 6284

File a complaint to Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]

Having problems with Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] reviews & complaints page 45

kcmukund
from Rewari, Haryana
Dec 24, 2021

Address: PLOT NO 37, 5TH MAIN ROAD, NEW KUMARAN NAGAR EXTENSION, SHOLINGANALLUR-, CHENNAI-600119.

I am a regular customer of tneb. My house is located at
plot no 37, 5th main road, new kumaran nagar extension, sholinganallur, chennai-600119.
My mobile no is: [protected].

Recently a few months back my connection was cut because of laying o[censored]nder ground cable. I came to know through my neighbours that my electric connection is cut. As i am residing in haryana ( gurgaon), i could not contact tneb immediately because of covid out break.
As i will be visiting chennai on[protected], i will be with out electricity. I myself and my wife are senior citizens and having health issues. .Kindly restore our electricity connection on[protected], as i would be available in my house.In the evening around 5 pm.
My address is as given above.
Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Lakshmi Chidambaram
    Dec 23, 2021

My consumer number:[protected].
    For November 2020 my bill amount was 1100rs. Since I was traveling I thought of paying advance 1100. So paid 2200rs on 26th November 2020. Since it showed message transaction failed, I paid 2200rs two times on 28th November 2020. All three times got message transaction failed. But later when I checked with my bank, three times the same amount was taken. So I have paid 5500rs excess for a bill amount of 1100rs. Since I traveled and came back October 2021, I wasn't able to follow this immediately. Can you please check and do the needful.
    Truly
    Sankaran.
    Tamil Nadu Electricity Board [TNEB] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

vasiraj rajendran
      Dec 22, 2021

Address: MAMBAKKAM CHENNAI

Sir, my house EB meter is not working for more than 3 months, and i was provided same amount in my last 2 bills. Please do immediate action to change the EB meter at my home. Location : DABC EUPHORBIA PHASE-2 PONMAR, POLACHERY MAMBAKKAM CHENNAI

connectseena
        Dec 22, 2021

Address: 71/2, 60, Padavattamman Koil street, Kosapet, Chennai 600012

We have 3 phase at home and one of the phase is frequntly going down and the EB technician is taking more time to resolve it. Also recently power fluctuation is happening on all 3 phases frequently. Can we fix this permanently?

Gajeswari
          Dec 21, 2021

Address: Chennai

I have made a TNEB Payment on[protected] of Rs.77018.89 including credit card charges of Rs.986.89. Payment has been debited from my credit card account. But EB Website not updated and shown the payable. So avoid to disconnection again i have made payment on[protected] through netbanking. So payment has been done double time. I raised a complaint for refund issue request in tneb website. no proper response in EB department.

Suvarna R
            Dec 21, 2021

Address: 187, TNHB, Phase-II, Tirupattur

Our Service number is[protected]. We do not have the power from yesterday (20-Dec-21) and we guess it is due to fuse. Please attend our issue and do the needful at the earliest.
            Dec 27, 2021
            It is marked as 'Resolved', but nobody came here to check the issue and the issue still persists.

ikon757
              Dec 20, 2021

Application number [protected].
              The request for cancellation was done and bank accounts details submitted to AE Kovalam. There is no refund yet and its has been more than 3 months.
              Jan 24, 2022
              Updated by ikon757
              There has been no reply to the above mentioned complaint.

ikon757
                Dec 20, 2021

Refund of service connection cancellation

Application number [protected].The request for cancellation was done and bank accounts details submitted to AE Kovalam. There is no refund yet and its has been more than 3 months....
                Majella Richard
                Dec 20, 2021

Address: TNEB , 15, Collectorate Rd, Collectorate Colony, Balavinayagar Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600029

Dear Madam/Sir

I am Arockia Majella Therese residing in 15/7, Indrani street, Ayyavoonaidu colony, Amanjikarrai - 600029. This complain is regarding the wrong meter reading taken for the month of July 2021. My service number is [protected].Our meter reading as was on 27/07/21 was 27358/0 but it was updated in portal as 29380/0 for July and charged us Rs 16, 234. Until till today[protected] my meter is not yet reached this. After July two times reading is taken from EB ( for the months Sep, Nov ) but they have not updated on the portal yet because the present meter reading on the portal for the month of July is still higher than the readings taken.

We have been following it up with TNEB, MMDA colony, Arumbakkam, multiples times after writing online complaint, meeting the AE and given written complaint as well as following it up with the AE over the phone. He keeps saying it will get updated from 10/08/21. Nothing is updated on the website yet, They just added fine of Rs 1141.

We need to vacate this house to move in into another house in two days. The AE is not giving any proper response for the past few months. He is still saying I sent a mail to concern department it will get updated. His number is : [protected]

Please help us to solve this. I will not be able to pay Rs 17375. Requesting your help here.

Rajeshsgr
                  Dec 19, 2021

Address: No ,4/25,udhayam nagar, navampattu

My location power cut please help

public profile
                    Dec 18, 2021

We have applied for agri connection by paying 2.75 lakhs on oct 1st week 2021 .. when we can expect the new connection .. could you kindly say the estimated time period to wait.. the officers has approached our field and verified all procedure with regard to new connections...

Haethaarini
                      Dec 18, 2021

Removing mobile number from a service number

I am receiving messages to pay bill from TANGEDCO for Sc.No.[protected] which is not my Sc.No.
                      I kindly request you to delete my mobile number [protected] from the above Sc.No

Thanks in advance...
                      NCD_rsk
                      Dec 17, 2021

My house is at No.4C, Dawalth beeve colony, Kadappa road, Lakshmipuram, Kolathur, Chennai-600099 would like to raise complaint.to TNEB regarding the shifting of EB box in appropriate place since it was touching my house compound wall also there is a drainage pipe line behind it. So i kindly and humbly request you to look forward in this issue.

Consumer no : [protected]
                      Consumer name : N. CHELLADURAI
                      Contact number : [protected]

sachithanandan shanmugaraj
                        Dec 17, 2021

Address: 22, Vellalar Street, near Sathya theatre, sathyamangalam 638401

Neutral point is not working and facing power issues since morning. Need immediate action as none of the lineman is picking the call.

cbecpowners
                          Dec 15, 2021

Address: Cordon Bleu Central Park Owners Association, Saravanampatti, Coimbatore

This is to inform you that one of our resident Mr. Harish Swaminathan residing in C-0708 Service No.[protected], without the Association permission, has taken unauthorized extension of supply for his EV (Electrical Vehicle) by break opening the lock of our common EB Room and also misusing the energy with permanent wiring arrangements. This was done through trespassing with the help of TATA Motors. Kindly take necessary action in this regard and avoid any financial loss to TNEB.

+8 photos

sks227
                            Dec 13, 2021

Address: Old 8 Maharaja Surya Road, Alwarpet, Chennai 600018

EB people come and rectify the problem temporarily, and again there is power cut. Landline is continuously engaged or if it is ringing, they never pik up calls. AE also is not responding properly. 1 phase power goes daily 2 times. Lift does not work if 1 phase is not available.

Vishwa81
                              from CHENNAI, Tamil Nadu
                              Dec 13, 2021

Address: Old no 48/3, New no 14, Alamelumangapuram Street, Mylapore, Chennai- 600004

Hi Sir/Madam,

I stay in mylapore and I am having problem with the load as the lift in my house is not working for almost a month now. I have a 73 yr old mother who is not able to go up and down. Also in the first floor I have a grand mother who's not able to go to the hospital. It is becoming very difficult with out the lift and I have complained about this several times already. There is action being taken and it works for few hours and again it doesn't work. This is very tough times for us and we are not able to use our eb service. We have a 3 phase in my house and still the problem. I had applied for a 120 cable while I applied and that's also not laid from the main box to my eb box in my colony. It's been close to 3 years and still that's not laid for one reason or the other each time I enquire. Request you to take these into considerations and assist me at the earliest.

vino gnanam
                                Dec 12, 2021

Address: 7/48,Karpagam avenue,Second street,Raja Annamalaipuram,Chennai 600028

Continous low voltage,
                                unable to use PC, kitchen appiiances

AMMAYAPPAN T
                                  Dec 10, 2021

Address: No 18,sixth street, A.K.Samy Nagar, Kilpauk,Chennai 600010

Consumer no : [protected]. Meter mentioned with the consumer number seem to be erratic. Get high bills. can be checked and to be rectified.

meera2524
                                    from chennai, Tamil Nadu
                                    Dec 10, 2021

I am Kandavelu residing in Alwarpet. The EB department has unfairly levied an excess bill of 14242. My house was was unoccupied from 01/2020 till 05/2021, due to the corona chaos we were stuck else where . We had intimidated the local EB office in tynampet and have raised a complaint in the tangedco website but so far no step have been taken to resolve this and the complaint remains unprocessed. On 07/2021 a new meter was placed even though the old meter was working fine and we were charged an amount of ~4500 for this.

We had to first pay an unnecessary amount as a part of the meter replacement and second now we are charged 14242 for no reason.This is atrocious and extremely shocking. Please help and guide on the next course of action
                                    Service number - [protected]