The Hindu Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Sep 30, 2025
Complaints 801

File a complaint to The Hindu

Having problems with The Hindu?

File a complaint and get it resolved by The Hindu customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

The Hindu reviews & complaints page 37

Rana Vivek
Feb 25, 2015

I subscribed for Frontline issue for half year I.e.[protected] to[protected] on[protected] vide Subscriber ID [protected]. But I have not received even a single issue until now. I also complaint several times in The Hindu vide Complaint Reference No. 002923 but received nothing except assurance. Then I demanded Refund of my money but no money has been refunded to me. I am now tired of speaking to The Hindu.
The Hindu customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

The Hindu — About website

Respected Madam/Sir website of The Hindu is not opening at window 10 after again and again refressing still site is not opening.All other site of newspapers are opening .So plz solve this problem

shunmugamks
    from Irinjalakuda, Kerala
    Jan 20, 2015

My self Shunmugam K S residing @ I/3 S S V K Shades Vaitheeswaran Nagar Queen Victoria Road Poonamallee subscribed for The Hindu Tamil Daily for the period from 1st Dec.2015 to May 2016. My Subscription Id:[protected].But the delivery of the Daily is not in a regular basis. On the following dates the Newspaper not delivered . 1st & from the 13th to 15th of Dec.2015, 27th Dec. & 20th Jan.2016. Kindly do the needful for the regular delivery at least for the remaining period.
    Good & immediate response.Thank you. K S Shunmugam
    The
    Response to my complaint reg. Irregular delivery of The Hindu Tamil Daily is Good. I am very much of satisfied to the action taken by the Forum.Thank you. K S Shunmugam.

Young World not delivered.

I accidentally wrote wrong city name.After that i wrote 4 correction messages .But i did not get reply and even the news paper.

Srividya S
      Jan 19, 2015

My subn code is [protected]. I have paid for one year subscripion on 10th of Jan 2014. I have been promised delivery of paper from 16th Jan but no paper so far. When contacted the agent replies that i need to contact the toll free number for further details. It pains me to see the reputation of a good paper such as The Hindu be sullied by arrogant statements of irresponsible employees. Please restore our good faith in you.Solve this problem.

roshansriv
        Jan 17, 2015

, I am writing this with utter disappointment that i am not receiving the papers at all after subscribing the offer and making cheque payment of 499 Rs .My registered mobile number is RRE Code: CD033170Vendor Code: CT031155CENTRE CODE: 10010184 Address: Kastur&Sons Ltd circulation Department 19 21 Bhagwan Mahaveer Road Infantry Road Bangalore 560001

Kondala Rao Dindi
          Jan 12, 2015

Address: Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh

Sir, This is Kondala Rao, customer of THE HINDU from past 3 years facing many problems with our area distributor on delivery of paper. Recently from past 2days we are not receiving the paper and we are not even getting valued answer from our area distributor. This has been repeated many times and hence please take necessary action. As my son is preparing for the exams, we need the paper daily. So I request you to solve my problem immediately. My Details are as follows: Kondala Rao D Ph:[protected] 21-3, Sriram Residency-A, Lane-10, Viman Nagar, Nad Post, Visakhapatnam-530009. 1 Year Plan - Order No. VZ813747.Agent Mr.Babu Rao - [protected]
          My problem has been solved in 2 days. Thank You for your response.

rb_udupa
            Jan 7, 2015

I believe this is one of the main reason why peoples are switching from Hindu newspaper to others. The Agents do not deliver this paper for some reason. I have availed a subscription for an year but the agent deliver. When I call him he delivers it for a day & again he stops delivering it. I have paid it by means of a cheque to the Hindu. If there is an option I would like to cancel the subscription.
            Jan 07, 2015
            Updated by rb_udupa
            I believe this is one of the main reason why peoples are switching from Hindu newspaper to others. The Agents do not deliver this paper for some reason. I have availed a subscription for an year but the agent wont deliver. When I call him he delivers it for a day & again he stops delivering it. I have paid it by means of a cheque to the Hindu. If there is an option I would like to cancel the subscription.

govin44
              Dec 17, 2014

Hello Sir, I am Govindarajan from Bangalore I have paid for the "THE HINDU" paper subscription for the one year by last December 2013. I have paid this amount by cheque "THE HINDU" . But I have not received the paper for the same. First three months I got the paper then they stopped for 1 month then I asked concern paper person then I got receiving the paper once again. But for the past 3 months I am not receiving the paper I have asked the concern person he informed that your subscription is closed. Past 2 days I got 2 calls from the "The HINDU" office asking to renew the subscription for one more year. I what basis they are asking without delivering the paper for the past 3 to 4 months. They even not taking my complaint once I informed that I am not receiving the paper they disconnecting my phone call. Yesterday morning received call from phone number:[protected] Today evening I got the call from phone number:[protected] Asking for one more year subscription Please don't cheat the customer in this means of one year subscription without deli varying the paper. Last year I paid the amount in the ICICI bank cheque. B.GOVINDARAJAN 20, SIDDESWARA LAYOUT, SIDDEHALLI BANGALORE PINCODE 560073 My mobile number :[protected] Land line number:[protected]

Natarajan Nityanandam
                Dec 15, 2014

Respected Sir, I have renewed the subscription for The Hindu Tamil news Paper. So far I was getting the news paper regularly from the agency" Madan Kumar Agency" 1/1, Chinniah New Colony, 4th Cross Street, Perambur, Chennai-600 011. Telephone number: [protected]. Today I have not received the news paper, when I contact the agency, I was told that hereafterwards some body else will deliver the news paper, when I asked who will deliver, he says that he did not know, so far I did not get the paper. You are requested to address this problem so that I recieve the news paper regularly. My subscription payment details are The Hindu Reference ID=W20140904CIRC9357 Subscription No.= [protected], Amount Paid = Rs 1862, ICICI Ref ID = [protected] Yours Truly Ms N Swathanthra Lakshmi Address : 5/3 Vadivelu 3rd Cross Street., Perambur, Chennai-600011 Mobile : [protected]

arputhamani
                  from Belgaum, Karnataka
                  Dec 8, 2014

Address: Tirunelveli, Tamil Nadu

Sir, In front of my flat and behind the BSNL telephone exchange much wastes from the surrounding areas are being dumped as per the photos attached.Daily so many vehicles are being crossed everyday. Nobody care about it and wastes is being dumped everyday. To the crown of this, every day morning the corporation vehicle allotted particularly for collecting the wastes is crossing every day through that collection of wastes. Few corporation staf[censored]sed to get down and collect something out of this wastes, which is useful for their personal life when the vehicle takes "S" turn on that road. Can you do the needful through the corporation people. Thank you. Arputhamani. Asst Executive Engineer.TNEB(Retd). [protected]. G7 Pioneers Ark Apts. Perumalpuram.. Near New Busstand. Tirunelveli. 627007.

Chandrasekhar Bandreddi
                    Dec 4, 2014

Order no 513089. Amount paid Rs 699/_ Date of implementatioN 01.06.2014. Centre Name- ASRaoASRao Nagar VendorVendor- Chinna Rao (T.Sriininuu) Drop Point Code[protected] Rre CodeCode- 40412 Centrere Code--40214 Vendor Code_ C4044006

rc43819
                      Nov 21, 2014

I have subscribed for The Hindu Young World for 12 months duration. From Aug 15, 2014 I am not receiving even a Single Edition so far. Please look into this and solve the issue. Thanks, Ramesh Mobile No: [protected] Here is the details: The Hindu Reference Id: W20140804SUBS059 Subscription No: YWPR1813 The Hindu Young World Period :Anual Date Of Payment : 04-Aug-2014
                      Again iam not receiving the Young world subscription on weekly basis. The last subscription i received is of 05/12/2014.
                      I check with local postman, he also confirmed non receipt of your subscription.

Iam really disappointed with your service standards. If you are unable to continue with the service, pls discontinue and refund the money.
                      Please donot trouble the customers and spoil your reputation(if at all you have :))
                      yw [protected]Deepak Prabhu T BANGALORE 560066

mkumareshan
                        Nov 19, 2014

We have subscribed for hindu tamil daily newspaper for 6months duration. From Nov 01, 2014 we are not receiving the daily news paper. after complaining a week back to the head office and sending two mails I got the paper only yesterday. but today again the problem remains the same. Please look into this and solve the issue. my [phone number is [protected]. regards kumaresan

Venkatesh Poosarla
                          Nov 5, 2014

Sir, We have placed an order for Hindu daily news paper for one year subscription on 16.06.2014, reader subscription no.[protected] and from 29th August, 2014 continuously stopped the delivery of news paper to my residence. The same was complined over telephone Number[protected] and also to the agents. There is no proper response to my call. Since, I have paid full amount for 1 year under the scheme, I am supposed to get 1 year news paper.This is laps of your services, If you are not in a position to attend my grievance, I am forced to approach consumer forum Visakhapatnam for redressal of my grievance. I hope, you will not give such a scope and address my grievance immediately under intimation to my email. Thanking You, Yours sincerely, (P.Venkata Ramana)mobile:[protected] .

Abhieraja Shahi
                            Oct 29, 2014

Dear Sir/Ma'am, I have a half yearly subscription of the Hindu Newspaper, the payment for which was made online. Improper and fraudulent billing by the gentleman delivering the newspaper to my flat forced me to take me an online subscription. Before paying the final amount to the delivery man, i clarified that i have an online subscription henceforth and he acknowledged the same. However, I have not been receiving the newspaper since, whereas my neighbours are. The Hindu provides virtually no customer support so i don't know what i can do to get my newspaper. I'd be grateful if you look into the matter. Abhieraja Shahi Subscriber ID : [protected] Hindu Reference ID : W20140923ESUB001 Date of Transaction : Tue Sep 23 19:02:46 IST 2014 Bank Reference ID : CTX[protected]

Ramakrishnan Sethuraman
                              Oct 28, 2014

Sir, I have applied for annual subscription of The Hindu last year 15th August 13. Due to some misunderstanding, during the period of from 1st August 14 to 15th August the agent not supplied paper. In the mean time I have got SMS for renewal of 3 years and the same paid by me in the month of July 14. Subscription number : [protected] ; Billdesk reference ID: MHCC[protected] I am not receiving paper regularly for the past two months and for the past 15 days ( from 18th October 2014) not receiving paper at all. Contacted below persons more than 10 times and totally made more than 150 calls. Bangalore a. Kiran b. Sripath Kulkarni c. Mohan Bangalore Call center [protected] Chennai a. Prabu b. Shankaranarayanan I have not received any confirmation for the receipt of payment and period of eligibility and agent name will deliver the news paper. Whenever contact agent, he will refuse to supply paper and won't attend call also. Similar situation happened with all the above persons also. Now, I am fully disturbed with the above activity. I have decided to go with some other news paper. I request you to help me, to get back my amount paid for the subscription with interest, for the phone call made to all the above people and for the mental agony I have undergone. I am sure I will get justice in the present situation. Pl. do the needful. Regards, S Ramakrishnan
                              Oct 28, 2015
                              Updated by Ramakrishnan Sethuraman
                              Service is very bad. The delivery of the paper is after 8.00 a.m on all the days. Some days instead of The Hindu, we are getting other news papers.

The company not taking any steps to resolve the same in spite of our repeated remainder.

S Ramakrishnan

sampath2011
                                Oct 22, 2014

Hi, I have enrolled and renewed the paper through paying annual Subscription fee of Rs 399.00 vide # [protected] & REF ID: [protected]. I have received the paper only two months (Jul, Aug, Partial in Sep) and not Received paper form mid of Sep till today. I made several enquires with agents they refused to deliver paper saying that they don’t have my name in their list and made 30 to 40 calls on to help line number[protected] either it is busy / switched off/not able reach. It is really disgusting and I feel cheated by you people. I am enclosing the copy of the subscription for details, please immediately take corrective action and share me the details of agent name & contact number. You must extend the renewal for 5 weeks accordingly.

Ramaramani
                                  from Guruvayur, Kerala
                                  Oct 18, 2014

my news paper agent M/S SriAiyyappa News Mart, No#112A, Thiruvalluvar street, Mettukulam Koyambedu Ch-600107 Vide Mob#[protected] is Regularly delivering The Hindu(Eng) at my door step thro monthly cash collection Rs.154/-In spite of repeated request he is neither collecting annual Subs. Thro Cheque nor he is delivering Tamil Hindu.my mob#[protected]. Pl.take action& solve this human error.thanks.mrs.Ramaramani.

smzn
                                    Oct 12, 2014

I am S.MOZHIKKARASAN. My subscription no [protected]. I have subscribed for the Hindu-Tamil daily right from the first day during your canvassing . I have renewed the subscription for the period from 16.3.2014 to 30.11.2014 as intimated by you over SMS to my cell. But to my disappointment to have the paper without any break, the daily was supplied from 16.3.2014 to 30.4.2014. Accidentally I sought the help of person distributing the Hindu -Tamil and he happened to be a member of your promotional team and he resumed the daily only from 01.05.2014 stating that the paper will be supplied up to 07 months( for which the subscription made) from the date of delayed commencement of supply of daily. This time also without compensating for the one month, SMS has been received that the subscription is to be renewed from 16.10.2014 as in the case of others who have been supplied without any break (I think so...). On query from the above said person, it is intimated that the subscription for that one month will be refunded by the Hindu office, quoting the promotional resources. Hoping to get back the money ( as it is said that the subscription cannot be adjusted for additional period ), I have renewed the subscription for 12+3 months from 16.10.2014. Will my hope will be dealt with positively? I want to know the details. Nandri.

sudhakar thompson
                                      from Vepagunta, Andhra Pradesh
                                      Oct 10, 2014

Subscription No.[protected] Old Address Sudhakar Thompson D/no 58-22-29/3, Sai Villa flat no G 3 APSEB Colony, Butchirajupalem Visakhapatnam 530027 New Address Door no- 9 - 58, Plot no 100 Beside Bhasyam School Road Ravi Nagar, Naidu Thota

ajithbala192
                                        Oct 9, 2014

Dear Sir, I am a subscriber of The Hindu English Daily Newspaper with order no.822878 on 08-06-14. I have opted for six months subscription by paying Rs.399/-. The subscription order is in favour of M/s Kasturi & Sons Pvt Ltd, D.No.50-19-9, TPT Colony, Seethammandra, Visakhapatnam. The details of agents are as follows:- 1. Srinu, mob [protected] 2. SK Srinivas, mob [protected] Since then these people (Agents) are acting irresponsibly. After frequent complaints, they started to deliver the newspaper in a proper manner. For last one month, they didn’t deliver any paper at my address. Telephonically I have made complaints or intimated these anomalies to The Hindu customer care and agents. After that, I approach customer care through e-mail. But I didn’t get any response in both the case. Since The Hindu is an elite media enterprise and has a historic background as India’s national newspaper since 1878, it is shameful for me to ask for a refund or issue the paper regularly. But at the same time it’s quite annoying that the responses are poor. So, I kindly request you to please initiate needy actions to resolve the issues and get the things done smoothly. In case of any irregularity from my side, please let me know to rectify it. Awaiting for consideration and reply. My contact details are:- Ajith S Balakrishnan, mob-[protected]/ [protected] DNo. 32-10-77/5 Flat No 202, Abhishek Residency Sheelanagar, Visakhapatnam AP, Pin-530012 Regards Ajith S Balakrishnan