Air India Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Feb 10, 2026
Complaints 3187

File a complaint to Air India

Having problems with Air India?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Air India customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Air India reviews & complaints page 39

Balisaku
from Tiruvallur, Tamil Nadu
Dec 8, 2021

Address: 92porur gardens phase 1p, vanagaram

Two tickets booked through agency to travel on 20th March 2020 from CHENNAI to SANFRANCISCO could not be performed due to COVID and cancelled through the agency in June 2021.Agency intimated full refund in last week of SePTEMBER 2021 but yet to credit the refund to my account..Please do the needful . BALAKRISHNAN, [protected]@yahoo.co.in, [protected], 8th DEC 2021
Passenger Details 1. JEVANTHI RATNAM BALAKRISHNAN (72)
2. THYAGARAJAN SAKUNTHALA (71 ) - PNR and REFERENCE numbers are not given as original tickets left at CHENNAI .
Agency Details : ALL INDIA TRAVEL AGENCY, 14301501
B6, Basement, PARSN COMMERCIAL COMPLEX, CHENNAI -600006
phone :[protected]
Air India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
The absence of the valid tickets, of its valid copies or of valid PNR, among other mandatory evidences, does not allow to consider a complaint of anonymous against the Air India or against the other carrier.

Indra Gurung
    from Sangli, Maharashtra
    Dec 7, 2021

Hi Sir,

My compliant is for AIR INDIA. They cancelled the flight from Pune tobDwlhi on 24th October 2021 and sent us an SMS on 9th October regarding the same. So I called to AIR INDIA customer care, the customer care Executive told me that I will get full refund in 30 days time. But even after 2 months i am still waiting for my refund. I filled a Feedback form to check the refund Status also as advised after contacting the airlines customer care for 3rd time. Here is the Air India Feedback Acknowledgement (Ref No. WB-DPNQ[protected] Name: Mr. Indra Bahadur Gurung )

I send emails to their vigilance officer too at [protected]@airindia.in, but NO RESPONSE.

Kindly help me Getting my refund from Air India. Thanks..!!
    Once a passenger entered in the commercial relations on his own will, without the external pressure, such passenger took his own risk, entrusted the Air India carrier his and his friend air transportation.

To cry "help me", after the passenger has lost the chance of the air transportation on his own, shall be addressed to the qualified lawyer, who can assist in the claim against the air carrier on refund and reimbursement.

The India's rules gives 2 years term for the injured passenger for the decision on the passenger's action in the magistrate (district) court of Pune or of Delhi.

But the financial situation of the Air India operating carrier shows defects of a practical realization of the judgement, if such can be taken in favor of injured passenger by a judge, in 2 years.

So, the passenger, if he is willing to reimburse his pecuniary and non pecuniary losses from the disruption of the Air India services, can collect about[protected] rupees for the payment of the services of a qualified lawyer in his residential area, to find such qualified lawyer, to collect and to save evidences in his lap top, to wait for the decision of the judge for the period from 6 months till 2 years, depending upon the chosen lawyer, his own efforts, the qualification of the judge and of the lawyer of Air India carrier.

panchal.varun
      Dec 7, 2021

Hi there, i am trying to get refund of the tickets that were cancelled in July 2021. But still no resolution or solution has been provided.

Every time i connect they ask me to wait. I keep getting automated emails and no action.

Original booking details are given below.
      PNR: YXWHQ
      Ticket#1:[protected]Ashok Panchal)

Ticket#2:[protected]Parul Panchal)

Below is the refence number that gets generated when one submits an online inquiry which i have done three times without any response or resolution.

WB-IAMD[protected] created on Sept 24th
      WB-IAMD[protected] created on Oct 22nd
      WB-IAMD[protected] - created on Oct 26th
      Mr. Panchal Varun, Mumbai, Maharashtra:

The evidences show that undisclosed tickets were issued to Parul Panchal and Ashok Panchal.

PNR: YXWHQ is the a code, which could give the reference to the entire file (booking) for the employee of air carrier, may be of the passenger, not anyone else.

The public, which visit the web site, do not see the reasons of the rising of issue on refund from some one, based on the text of such complaint.

For the rest, kindly look at the comments to the complaint "Air India — Flight Cancelled by Air India - Refund Pending for 2 Months" of DEC 7, 2021 in the section "Air India" of this web site.

koolpank
        Dec 6, 2021

I'm just chasing the refund of my booking that was cancel due to COVID-19 in March 2020 I'm waiting since then and got no positive reply from my agent saw this on web and thought to log my complaint wit them hoping to get solved soon

Airline Booking Reference(s)

AI (Air India): H81XS
        AI (Air India): H65Y4

Kind regards

suryakant21
          from Bhubaneswar, Odisha
          Dec 6, 2021

I have booked the flight on september 1 and 2 and the flight got cancelled from airline.Sent a mail to the airline and followed up multiple times.

After 3 months i have not recieved the refund amount.

shanila m u
            Dec 6, 2021

Being stopped from travel due to two passports

I would like to bring your notice about our regretting situation at Delhi airport on Dec 1 2021 that we are stopped from travel in air india flight AI185 to Vancouver, Canada because i have two passports.

We were waiting in the airport for the boarding pass issuance and we were on time .Since i have two passports and visa printed on old passport, airport officials told that they couldn't update the new...
            Nehal Nirbhawne
            Dec 5, 2021

This is regarding, the rescheduling of our flight from Mumbai to port Blair connecting via chennai, details of the same are captioned above. Although the flight from mumbai to Chennai has not been rescheduled, the flight from chennai to port Blair has been rescheduled and is now delayed by 22 hours. Initially, the flight was scheduled on 9:35 hours on 12th December and currently, it has been rescheduled by the airlines having its departure date and time on 13th Dec 5:55 hours.

I say that the rescheduling is not acceptable, I want to reach port Blair on 12th of December as per my initial itinerary, because I have already booked hotel and other activities on 12th December.

I have made unsuccessful attempts to reach your company via customer care number.

I want the airlines to accommodate us in any other air india flight or any other flight different airlines reaching port Blair on 12th of December.

I hereby request you to redress my grievance at the earliest.
            Ticket No. 098-[protected] - PNR no. -J210T
            The combination of surname Nirbhawne and of PNR J210T does not look a valid reservation of Air India flight.
            The passenger does not have a right to demand anything from Air India carrier, based on these data.

Sathiya Sekar
              Dec 3, 2021

I booked the flight from Chennai to Vancouver on 14th July, 2021 and the flight gets cancelled due to flight ban. So I requested for refund and I haven't received back my refund till now.
              Flight No. AI 539 & AI 185
              Departure date: 31.07.2021
              eticket #[protected] &[protected]

Please look into it and process the refund soon.

Sat Haokip
                Dec 2, 2021

Dear Sir/Ma’am
                I booked my ticket on 29th November 2020 for the my flight with destination from Delhi to IMF, Imphal.
                The payment was done through the mode of PhonePe and I have all the details regarding the transactions.
                And I have called all the customer care number as given in officials AirIndia website, but no phones were picked up.

It is my request that the amount be refunded to me.

Below are all the necessary details :
                Name : Ngamminsat Haokip
                Flight name : AI889
                Destination : Delhi to IMF, Imphal
                Cost of the flight ticket : ₹6640

Details received from PhonePe :
                Merchant Order ID : (WPHW[protected])
                Transaction ID: T2111290352473104930274

Will be waiting for your reply
                Mr. Ngamminsat Haokip:

There are no evidences of

(a) Air India flight 889, the Air India ticket, the passenger Sat Haokip,

(b) PhonePe is a valid financial service provider in India.

For simplification, If the amount of ₹6640 was debited from the account of the State bank of India and the ticket was not issued by the operator of the web site as per agreement prior to the payment,
                you can calm refund for the unauthorized transaction of ₹6640 from the State bank of India by submitting of the application in their technical solution known as "internet bank" without giving the useless long explanations.

The duty of the State bank of India is to provide the refund or to prove of the contractual service (issued Air India ticket for the undated flight 889) in your favor within 7 or 10 days (I do not remember the exact number).

If it is not done, you can appeal to the Reserve bank of India further or can demand the reimbursement of the loss from the defined entity by submitting suit case to the magistrate (district) court in your residential area.
                The additional expenses and fees total will not exceed 10000 rupees in the civil procedure before magistrate (district) court for you, if you find the right lawyer.
                omission above: incorrect "calm", correct "CLAIM"

Haris Harry
                  Dec 2, 2021

Address: 9 leahann drive, Toronto, Canada

My flight was cancelled due to flight ban but i haven't received my refund since 7 months

vrskatwal
                    from Sandhole, Himachal Pradesh
                    Dec 2, 2021

Goodmorning
                    I traveled from Delhi to Dharamshala by flight AI 9713 and my booking reference was YNLFF. I booked this ticket from the official website of Air India. In my ticket the baggage allowed was mentioned as 25 kg per adult. i was travelling with my family and since luggage allowed was 25 Kg for each four o[censored]s so i planned my move accordingly and reached Airport 3 hrs prior to takeoff. during check in i was delayed by your staff for more than one hr as they were seeking clarifications regarding allowing luggage more than 15 kg. at last moment they told to pay for extra luggage otherwise they will not allow us to travel. in a way I was forced to pay for extra luggage and was asked to apply for refund through customer care. as luggage allowed is clearly mentioned 25 Kg therefore may i request for refund to extra money charged else i will be forced to approach consumer court along with complaint of non cooperation by staff and problem faced by family to board the flight literally running on the airport. i am enclosing myticket and extra payment slip for reference waiting for positive response
                    Col VRS Katwal

prakash_10_93
                      Dec 1, 2021

E-ticket AI 098-[protected]
                      Name - Mala Mishra
                      email : [protected]@gmail.com

Departure:
                      Time: 15 May 12 PM
                      origin: Chicago
                      destination: Mumbai

Return
                      Time: 2nd July 7:25 PM
                      Origin: Mumbai
                      Destination: Delhi

I had booked my tickets with Air India back in May, Later the flight was cancelled due to covid and my ticket was put in open status. Now I wanted to rebook my flights for December, tried calling Air India a lot with no response. Every time after an hour a customer service executive picks up the call, gathers all the information and then transfers you to some other department which is never picked up and hung up at the end. After frequent attempts to reach air India customer care with no response, I had to book my ticket separately with another airline. Air India is now not even ready to refund my ticket and pay back the 900 dollars that they have kept illegally. This has been a terrible experience for me with such a big airline. Many people are stuck in the same situation, some action should be taken against air India for preying on people's hard-earned money. Neither I can use my ticket to book my return nor they will refund me, how can they do that to a customer?, Now I dont want to book my tickets with Air India and need complete refund.

Call from company 9883323658
                        from Guwahati, Assam
                        Dec 1, 2021

PNR number of devices

I booked the attach ticket for my father-in-law on 19 Apr 2021 but later cancelled it the same day with the help of the contact center/ customer support. WE ARE WAITING FOR THE REFUND of INR 62, 174 FOR MORE THAN 6 MONTHS NOW. PLEASE HELP US RECEIVE OUR REFUND AT THE EARLIEST. Ticket details - 25 May 2021 20:45 hrs Bengaluru (BLR) Delhi (DEL) AI 1173 Air India 26 May 2021 13:45 hrs Delhi (DEL) Chicago (ORD) AI 109 3 Air India Web Booking eTicket (HB6Q2)
                          Ticket No. : [protected]

I have called Customer Service multiple times and no one has been able to help me thus far. They told me to submit a query on their revamped website - I did that on Nov 7th, 2021 but no response from AirIndia yet.

Rupesh Mohan
                            Dec 1, 2021

Flight number: AI 807

Date of travel : 28th nov

I traveled from EWR(USA) to BANGALORE on 29th. I collected my check in bags in Delhi airport and checked it again after customs for my next flight to Bangalore. While I was boarding flight to Bangalore, air India representative scanned my boarding pass and told me that my bag is stuck at level 4 in Delhi and asked me to fill out an address in Bangalore and also to submit a form in Bangalore airport for baggage claim and told me that bag will be sent in next day and will be delivered to me in the next 24 hours. I reached Bangalore and submitted the form and waited for more than 60 hours now.

I called customer service multiple times and spoke to few different representatives and they did not provide me any update other than it’s still in tracing. They even blocked my number now I had to call using a different number to get it answered. This is very frustrating as I am here for my marriage and have my new clothes and gifts are in the bag and getting reckless replies every time

this is pathetic customer service and very irresponsible behavior to block numbers. Also, If they already found issue with my bag before boarding, i really don’t understand what is there to trace.

I request to please take this concern seriously and help me get my baggage as soon as possible.

Rgiss
                              Dec 1, 2021

I booked tickets for my parents (Reghuraman GopalaIyer & Santhagowri Swaminathan) to travel to India (JFK-New Delhi, India - Coimbatore, India) on
                              23 Mar-2020, through CheapOAir from Air India. There
                              are two passengers with the trip consisting of two
                              legs, first leg from JFK to New Delhi and the second leg
                              from New Delhi to Coimbatore.

Starting that week of March 2020, flights to India were
                              cancelled due to the pandemic. Booking agency & Air
                              India mentioned through a support phone call that
                              those credits will be issued for us to use till the end of
                              2021. Eventhough, they were not going to reimburse
                              the money, the credit was supposed to be given to the
                              passengers to use it. When I called them earlier this year (2021) in Februrary, CheapOAir mentioned that Air India has marked the second leg for one passenger flown and therefore they can’t reissue the credit for our travel. They asked me to call Air India to resolve it by myself. I called Air India in February, 2021 after spending about 5 hrs being on hold or the call getting dropped off midway and the representative mentioned that he will remove the ‘flown’ status (since it was a computer glitch). So, I called CheapOAir again in October to book the tickets for my parents. They again said the same issue. I again reached out to AirIndia, they admitted that it was a glitch but every time they begin to look for a flight to travel, the call gets disconnected. I spent an average of 6 hrs with them on October 22nd night. It was hard to reach anyone if I were to reach before they can do something the call got dropped. I called Cheapoair again and explained them the situation since I bought the tickets through them. The representative put me on hold to be on on hold with Air India. After an hour he mentioned that he will call me after talking to Air India. I never received the call back from them so I again called CheapOAir and they said Air India dropped the call on them as well and if I need a refund I just to have to call Air India and resolve it myself. At this point I have spent over 15 hours on phone between CheapOAIr and Air India.

Air India customer support line are extremely long wait and finally when you get someone on line, they are not helpful or the call gets dropped. They have no provision to call us back and do not resolve the issue.

I already have booked the tickets to my parents since they have to travel and Air India hasn’t been helpful.
                              I am here with attaching the ticket information for your reference. Air India can run the booking number to get the history on this itinerary.
                              I request you to refund the money to my credit card account on which they charged me.
                              Here is the ticket information for the passengers
                              E-Ticket Number. First Name Middle Name Last Name. Requests. Gender

[protected] Reghuraman Gopalaiyer Male
                              [protected] Santhagowri Swaminathan Female

himapious
                                Nov 30, 2021

My name is Hima Pious. I have cancelled a ticket to Toronto from Kochi. The ticket was for August 24th and I cancelled it on August 16. I was informed that I was eligible for a refund. It's been 3 months since I cancelled the ticket and I have not received the money.

My booking reference : HSL77
                                My e-ticket number :[protected]
                                My email-id: [protected]@gmail.com

seatrade
                                  Nov 30, 2021

Pnr: hdcmj
                                  date of travel: 03.11.2021
                                  to: kandla
                                  reason for cancellation: flight cancelled by airline
                                  ticket cancelled on 14.10.2021

refund mail requested by mail [protected]@airindia.In

refund still not received.

navaneethbv
                                    Nov 29, 2021

I took an Air India flight from Delhi to Chicago on 20th November 2021. Out of 4 bags, one of my bags was missing and I was told it would arrive in 2 days but I haven't received it yet.

I have not received any emails or phone calls regarding this, Can you please let me know when I can expect to receive my bag. I am currently without any clothes because of the missing and it is causing me great inconvenience.

I am attaching my ticket and a copy of your Property Irregularity report.

Passenger First Name - Navaneeth
                                    Last Name - Bangalore Venugopala Rao
                                    Passport Number - Z6351066
                                    Missing bag tags - AI804525

Let me know if you need any additional information.

Navaneeth

Geeta Diwadkar
                                      Nov 29, 2021

I had cancelled my Airindia flight (dated 1st may and return 15th may) on 25th april 2021 as it was getting reschedule due to covid . And through customer care executive it was cancelled. I was told that in 15 days refund will be processed and its been more than 6 months, we haven't received refund. Called customer care 5 times and sent emails to e-commerce and they say its under process. Kindly look through this issue asap refund amount is 28000.