[Resolved]  Indian Railways — HARRASSMENT BY RAILWAY BOOKING STAFF

I was issued Rly. warrant from mumbai to Delhi and back, to attend some urgent official meetings, at mumbai it was exchanged but when I went to the ticketing counter at Sarai Rohilla it was not honoured saying that since name of station written in railway warrant was Delhi to Mumbai and it was told by booking clerk that there is no rly station by the name of Mumbai hence it can not be honoured. but it is obvious that all the station (Bandra, Dadar, Mumbai central, borivali etc) comes in mumbai only. Even I met Supervisor Mr. Surender singh who also refuse to honour it saying that if we will honour it there will be audit objection . Eventhough everything was okey but they refused to honoured even the destination was clearely written. if there are multiple stations in a particular city then any of the station will serve the purpose. Due to the refusal by the railways it cause a lot of invonvienence to me. This was due to foolishness of that particular railway staff. I have faced this kind of problem in delhi only, hence i hope necessary instructions will be issued through ur good office in this regard . Thaks with regards MC LAKHERA
customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Indian Railways — safety

Indian Railways cause a great safety threat to the entire Passengers because there is no guarantee to close the doors in the coaches in the running trains. There is a common phenomenon, not closing the entire doors of the coaches in all running trains in the nation. Indian Railways never use automatic facility to close the doors in the coaches before starting the train and open the doors after stopping even this century, so that Indian Railways follow the primitive way in this regards. Primitive way of closing and opening the doors in the coaches manually is inadequate, inefficiency and very danger because of the increase in the speed of the trains, increase in the number of the trains, reducing the numbers of the staff in trains and increase of the passengers in the trains and platforms. Almost all countries in the world have installed the automatic opening and closing the doors after stopping and before starting the trains which are controlled by drivers for safety of the passengers.
There is only one Traveling Ticket Examiner (TTE) in charge of two coaches in the reservation coaches but there is nobody to man the unreserved coaches for making more profit to the Indian Railways. Unfortunately most of the times, one TTE is compelled to manage more than four coaches. There are four doors in a coach and how can a TTE controls four doors simultaneously within a few seconds in a manual way. The driver and guard of the train have no control for the opening and closing doors in the coaches before starting and after stopping the trains.
In the absence of automatic opening and closing the doors in the coaches after stopping and before starting the trains, there is 100 per cent chances to fall down the passengers into platforms and tracks when they come nearby door for using the wash basin and toilets because the wash basin and toilets are very adjacent to the doors. Besides, dacoits and robbers can enter into the coaches when the trains run slowly. By doing so, Indian Railways never care the valuable lives of the passengers
The records show that the rate of falling down the passengers in the platforms and railway tracks is increasing day by day and the 100 per cent of victims die or permanently suffering from disabilities. The living accident victims have suffered injuries like brain damage, severed limbs, paralysis etc.
The government of India has introduced a special safety levy on all passengers’ ticket with effect from 1.10.2001 to facilitate the faster modernization of its over-aged assets.
Radical changes in the safety measures on Indian Railways are highly inevitable for saving the valuable life of the passengers by installing the automatic opening and closing doors after stopping and before starting the trains in the entire coaches of trains that are controlling by the driver.

Indian Railways — coupon missing from sealed booklet

i had purchased a coupon booklet worth Rs. 30 from mulund west station on 07/12/08. when i opened the sealed booklet a coupon of Rs. 3 was missing from the booklet, it was torn .when i met the station master he replied coolly saying, it happens sometimes.now how can it happen in a sealed booklet?the amount of Rs. 3 does not matter, its this mistake which is not permissible.Lacs of people travel on the central railway eveyday, who knows if this is a scam at a much wider level.please take the necessary action is all i say.

E. RAILWAY, HOWRAH — NON RECEIPT OF PAN CARD

I had applied for PAN card with appln No.[protected] and coupon No.[protected] on[protected] at UTI service centre KOLKATA. The PAN NO. is AXYPS6442F but havnt recieved it yet. Kindly look into the matter and do the needful.
This is a complaint.

I booked an e-ticket with PNR [protected] from Kalyan to Lucknow (Date of Journey 24/10/08) on 28/08/08 and I cancelled the ticket on 23/10/08 but the amount for the ticket has not been yet refunded to my account.

It has been more than two months and I am continuously following IRCTC helpline but no action has been yet taken on it.

Everytime I had to call IRCTC and customer care people will ask to wait for a week or two. But no concrete action has been taken yet. I had already called up IRCTC helpline about 25-30 times and have spended around Rs 200 for ticket of cost rs 441.

Could you please help me on this.

Indian Railways — cockroach & rats

I travelled on the train 6339 & 2634. The were lot of cockroach 7 rats in the Second class sleeper and the toilets were not cleaned properly. When we enter in the coach we were invited by the bad smell.
actually today itself my parents were travelling from jammu to new delhi and they have been robbed. their whole luggage is missing.there were hardly any passengers in the coach.is this the kind of security and safety promised to the citizens for travelling and using indian railways.what is the government doing about all this. it is time to wake up laluji and provide good staff rather than introducing new trains.my parents are left with nothing at all now even their onward tickets were in the bag now they have to run here and there. pls do something about
this pathetic condition of the railways please give us better security this is not what we pay for.

Indian Railways — birth number changed

I have travelled from madurai to tambram on[protected] with the PNR #:[protected]. I had a confirmed ticked in S9 coach from 0051, 0054, 0056, 0050, 0053 finally it has been changed to 57, 60, 63, 56, 59 which was a confirm ticket of some other passenger. The Number which was given to us also was occupied by some other passenger. we were with our family with a small child but still we did not know what was our seat. Their were no TTE and i sought help from the RPF in tiruchirapalli but no body came to my rescue. Please look into the matter seriously. I should be benefitted for the problem my family faced while travelling
The General Manager
Eastern Railways

i have an ernest request to make, my mother Mrs. Bandana Nandy was travelling via sealdah to delhi Rajdhani mail train no:2313 via PNR no:[protected] on 16th Jan 2009.
she had unfortunately left one of her baggage in coach no:B9 seat no:1 while getting down at New Delhi station. The Baggage contained some bronze utensils.
So in this regard if someone finds that baggage and deposits it, is it possible to inform me or send the baggage to the following address.
My Details: Kaushik Nandy
Tel no : [protected]
Address : C8/8C, Lawrence road
Keshav Puram
New Delhi 110035

Sir, i would be pleased to incur any cost regarding the same.

Appreciating your help in advance.

Railway Crossing — Highly Inefficient Railway crossing

MaheshColony, Jaipur is a densely populated area and has a railway crossing as its bottleneck to go out in the city, There are 55 trains running on that track per day ( so more than 2 trains per hour) and the crossing closes for 20-25 minutes per train). Its a common sight to see millions of vehicles burning their oil/petrol/gas and wasting their precious time just because of the inefficiency of the opening n closing of the crossing.
Kindly provide a solution - reducing the no. of trains is not the one nor an underway pass is feasible (due to high water table). We could not think of any solution kindly feel the problem and provide a solution.
-Jayant
M67 Mahesh Colony, Jaipur

Indian Railways — Remove the middle side berth please!

Railways have recently introduced a middle side berth in the sleeper class compartments. Do the authorities know how inconvenient these side berths have become after introduction of the middle berth? I suggest that the GMs of the Railways, or perhaps the Minister himself, should try to get into the middle or top side berth and experience the 'pleasure' of riding! It is impossible to get into these berths for anyone of average height - you cannot sit straight, the entry into these berths should be in a lying position! Railways are making crores in profit and they want to penalise the consumers who pay them their crores! Please remove the middle side berth and bring back the old two side berth system back immediately - railway is able to accommodate 9 extra berths because of the modification, but the earning from that is not going to be great . Even if so, that extra earning should be foregone as it is responsibility of Railways to provide comfortable travel. Hope some organisation file a PIL in the Supreme Court against this blatant negligence of Railways.

Indian Railways — Frequency of EMU from Faridabad to Delhi

The number of travellers fleeing from Faridabad to Delhi is atleast 20 times more than the EMU capacity.

People are risking their lives to avoid road traffic and prefer EMU.

There is serious need to increase the frequency of EMU on urgent basis.

Indian Railway is one of the largest railway in the world & a very good earner i.e. more then Rs. 20000 crore plus.

But just to earn some more money IR has introduced one extra berth in III AC, which quite inhuman & illogical.

Sir, I can bet in whole night one can not climb to their berth. One may prefer to travel in sitting condition rather than sleeping condition.

The passenger comfort is over looked for sake of a small money.

It is very humble request to dismantle the third extra seat from III AC immediately
It is very difficult for the passengers travelling for long hours.
I agree.
side middle berth which are introduced in sleeper class are not comfortable.It is very difficult to climb up and climb down.
What is so special about it- this is normal practice and there is no one to hear your pleas. You should have taken this matter in consumer court.
I fully agree with the complaint. The railways are penalising the commuter for no fault of his. Ask the railway minister to travel in the sleeper compartment & see how difficult it is. The railways are treating us like animals. For nine passengers it is literally difficult to put your luggage also. Also look at the toilets horrible the same amount of toilets for nine more passengers in each compartment. The minister is taking us for a ride.Charge us more but give us better facilities. I am barely 5.5 inches in height I cant strech my legs on the side seat & now the middle berth, God help the poor passenger who is always taken for a ride because of the political gimmicks PLEASE SCRAP THE SIDE MIDDLE BERTH AT ONCS.
My Kids want to go at my native place in summer vacation but school dont have railway student concession
form i contact to near railway station at vridachalam Tamil nadu, simply they pass to meet Divisional commercial manager trichy.
school management is not showing interest in this matter. How i can avail this facility ?

Arvind Garg
What more do you expect in this filthy country? Soon you will see snakes also. This is a slum dog country where more than 100 people are cramped into a coach like filthy pathetic animals. Accept, compromise and please try to live without any complaints. If you cannot, then migrate to a better country please. slumdogs dot wordpress dot com

Indian Railways
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    25%
    Indian Railways Phone
    +91 11 2338 1213
    Indian Railways Address
    Rail Bhawan, Raisina Road, DL, India, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110001
    View all Indian Railways contact information