Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Feb 26, 2026
Complaints 10878

File a complaint to Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC]

Having problems with Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] reviews & complaints page 322

rajeevggc
from Vadakku Valliyur, Tamil Nadu
Jun 19, 2016

Address: Jaipur, Rajasthan, 302006

I booked a ticket from jaipur to visakhapatnam pnr no. [protected].My ticket status before charting was wl/16.When chart prepared my status was confirmed.But when i tried to file tdr.I could not do it because system was showing that i can not file tdr of confirmed ticket before 4 hrs of scheduled departure.My question is that what happened to my confired seat.Tte can take undue advantage and sell it to somebody for some quick bucks.There should be some option to cancel the ticket otherwise it will increase corruption in railways
Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Maddyskb
    from Vasai-Virar, Maharashtra
    Jun 18, 2016

I am very fed-up with irctc and railway service.
    Today it's more than 10 months (Almost 300 days) i am waiting for refund of tdr booked on 11/08/2015.
    I have mailed and called many times to irctc customer services but till date no response from irctc. Every time i call to customer care but i get same reply "we are not able to see your status due to server issue please call again."
    I hope you will help me.
    Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

karthikraj
      Jun 18, 2016

I was travelling from Thirsur to chennai and i had confirmed ticket from palakad ... From thirsur i took separate ticket asking the ticket collector to provide me ticket to sit in sleeper coach since its only one station we sat in sleeper coach .. This ttr came in and was speaking in malayalam which we dont know we asked him to translate vut he refused to do so and asked us to stand eventhough passengers didnt complain.. I had 56 year old mom and 58 years old dad wit me .. We stood up and came till palakkad which is nearly 2 hours .. Worst ever experience this Ttr allowed there people malaylis to sit and sleep and come who just had general ticket .. Y is he working for indian railways or kerala? Is tamilnadu and its people not part of india questions which need to be answered

Karan Asnani
        from Haridwar, Uttarakhand
        Jun 17, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110001

The food served in Dinner was same given during lunch time. The food given in train is not fresh. When confronted the IRCTC staff they refused to accept it and were arguing that they served a different dish. They are supposed to give water bottles with thali which was not served and was only given when we insisted.

Train no. 12137
        Journey date: 16/06/2016
        Food served by : Ankush Singh.

Shikayat1
          Jun 17, 2016

Address: Vadodara, Gujarat, 390010

Traveling in train no 12925 in Coach H-1 B cabin. Date 17 June.PNR no. [protected].Ordered lunch when I was told that they only serve Biryani. I am Surprised that I was served with stale uncooked rice as it was too hard to chew with 2 eggs on it..BIRYANI.as said. Immediately after an hour or so I started getting stomach cramps which continued for few hours. I asked for complaint book but didn't get it. I also spoke to the TC in charge for the complaint book..he instead wanted me to compromise n assured that my next meal will be good quality. I refused to eat n insisted for the complaint book which wasn't provided.

Shobin Rs
            Jun 17, 2016

Address: Alappuzha, Kerala, 688523

My irctc account got locked with out any prior notification or reason.
            I have used this account to book tickets for me or my family not for any outside person. Below are my account details

[removed]

Now I have to book tickets to my home town for attending my sisters marriage. Kindly reactivate my account
            Oct 24, 2016
            resolved

esserji
              Jun 16, 2016

Address: Sambalpur, Odisha, 768020

I am a regular user of ITCTC since last four to five years. Today at 10am, I tried to book a very urgent tatkal ticket when I was not allowed to log into my account and I was said that my account was de-activated.

This is so much disappointing because I operate only one account and due to this hazard I could not book the ticket. Moreover, there is no reason stated on the website for deactivating the account.

I want to know the reasons and my account re-activated at the earliest.
              Jun 17, 2016
              I don't know anything about how it was solved. I just tried to login and it was successful. I guess it was a temporary failure. Thank you.
              Now the account is working again but I could not understand the reason for deactivating it right when I needed. Anyway, I hope it won't happen in future.

vipinsunny
                Jun 16, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110059

On[protected] we had a punjab mail train no.12138 having departure @5:15am from new delhi towards nasik road.

Pnr number:[protected]

Due to misunderstanding between railway staff people, we missed our train and faced a loss of rs 6190.
                We were 4 peoples (2 males and 2 females) and there was a final waiting of 8, 9, 10 and 11.
                After reaching station @4:30am, we had contacted a lady staff who sits window 68 (Or 58 not sure) that was a window where reservation/ cancellation can be done.
                She had mentioned the waiting numbers on out ticket and told us to board the train.

After that when tte arrived near 4:55 (20 mins before train departure time), we contacted him and he said that we cannot board the train without confirmation.

Nobody at that time helped and informed that we can ask for refund before half an hour of train departure. If tte would have come before 4:45 and informed us regarding this then we would have cancel our ticket.

At the last moment tte said that you could be able to cancel the ticket within half an hour after train departure.

Then we contacted staff peoples for cancel and refund and they said that nothing can be refund now.
                You should be aware of the rules. I have already gone through the general instructions mentioned at the back of the ticket. There was nothing mentioned about it.

If a staff member is saying that you can board the train then why we will go for cancellation of tickets. If she would have already informed us that we couldn’t board the train then we could have cancel at that time only.

After train departure, we went to platform 1 to check with station master and station superintendent to get space in any other train on today's date but he didn't helped us. He not even tried to check any other option for us. This leads to waste of 1 day and our future plans.

We requested station superintendent to arrange seats in other train to save out 1 day and money, he didn’t helped us.

How a passenger would be able to get the correct information if your staff members are lacking with rules and regulations and misguiding passengers.

Below is the different information, which i received from your different staff members:

1. Somebody (Lady staff) said that you could board the train with this waiting.
                2. Somebody (Tt) said that you couldn’t board the train.
                3. After departure somebody (Ticket checker) said that you should board the train as you have already paid towards railway.
                4. Somebody (A staff member sitting in inquiry) said that you couldn’t board without confirmation.
                5. After departure, somebody (Tt) said that you would get the amount after half an hour of departure of train.
                6. After reaching cancel/reservation department for refund they said go to platform number 1, there we got the information from station superintendent that you will not get the amount after of departure of train.
                7. Lady staff (Who mentioned waiting numbers on the ticket) after train departure was saying that “sorry nothing can be refundable now”. If she had this information already then why she didn’t informed us in the starting. My mother tried to clear with her that why it was not informed to us she argued and starting blaming us. They are not aware of rules first not the passengers.

I think first above people should learn a common rule so that they may not confuse passengers. Due to their confusion we had wasted our time and money that should be refund to us as soon as possible.

Due to this we had a loss of rs 6190 and then hotel booking charges then some consultation fees. We can bear so much of loss so please refund our ticket amount or provide seats in another train so that it will overcome our loss.

Attaching ticket for your reference where lady staff member mentioned the waiting number. Please find attached file.

Could you please go through our critical issue and take some necessary action as this situation disappointed us a lot.

Vipin kumar

sumys
                  Jun 15, 2016

I have booked an e-ticket from thalassery to thrissur in train no.16348. My date of booking was 07/06/2016 and my date of journey was 11/06/2016. But i have cancelled the ticket on 09/06/2016 at 10:50:03hrs. I got a refund of rs.20 on13/06/2016. Why i get only rs.20? Am i not eligible for more than that?
                  Pnr no:[protected] and cancellation i. D is[protected]. Please do the needful. My ticket amount wasrs.235.

maheshkrchavda
                    Jun 14, 2016

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 411001

I booked an online railway ticket vide pnr no [protected] in train no 11087 / veraval pune exp but due to non availability of sits, irctc was automatically cancelled my above ticket. I pay rs 802.90 for the said journey but while irctc cancelled my ticket they self as non availability of sits and i am willing to journey in the said train but as per rules they cancelled my ticket. This is not my problem, irctc cancelled the said ticked and full amount should be remittance but they refund only rs 660/- which is wrong. Full amount rs 802.90 should be refunded. In view of the above, you are requested to refund the balance amount at the earliest please.

anuplal
                      Jun 14, 2016

I tried booking a tatkal ticket which was worth inr 5307 including all taxes and charges. Got wait-list ticket which doesn't make sense in tatkal quota. So only option you have is to cancel it. After cancellation i got inr 5120. They deducted around 200 rupees (130 cancellation charges and rest other charges).
                      This amount is less but it doubles the pain that i didn't get the ticket still have to pay.
                      Two setbacks for me i will have to buy a flight ticket for my urgent travel and only to attempt booking a tatkal ticket i have to pay 200 to irctc.
                      Irctc should have decency to refund full amount for all wait-list ticket or at least wait-listed tatkal tickets. If you are not able to provide a confirm seat that is understandable given our population and demand but why does irctc deserve to keep service charge and cancellation charge. I didn't receive any meaning full service.

pankajnayer
                        Jun 13, 2016

I was trying to book two tickets of sleeper class online from mathura to hyderabad - through BOB bank RUPAY debit card.
                        few minutes later i got a massage that Rs. 1305.9 is debited to a/c ...on 10-06-16, 20:22:48 at pos. i waited for 10 minutes to get detail my booking but didn't get it. now three days have been passed and still not get back my money
                        So please take strong action against it.

djver83
                          Jun 13, 2016

Address: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, 500001

Sir, madam,
                          I dheeraj varma was traveling in train no 12722 from ghoradongri to hyderabad on 11/6/2016 in b1 couch set 28&29 my pnr is[protected]. While i was traveling i ordered two break fast and in night two veg-meal and asked for my bill they charged me 70 rs for two break fast and 180 rs for two meal so i asked him that he was charging more as the veg meal only cost 50 rs as mentioned on your website as there was no rate card in our couch. He replied that he also served paneer curry with it which i dinot order nor he told me earlier they are harasing the costumer and charging more and also charged 70 rs for veg-biryani to my fellow passenger so rightfully i asked for the complain book which he refused to give after a long and repeated argument he gave me complain book which i registered my complain no is 290227 t.579 small book please take the nessary action against the doon caterer and also make it compulsory to have the rate chart in the couch for our convenient. Also i am sending the complain copy whith it. Hope you will do the right thing

Dheeraj varma
                          11-2-780 nampally
                          Hyderabad 500001.

ವಿನಯ್ ಕನ್ನಡಿಗ
                            Jun 13, 2016

Address: Bangalore Urban, Karnataka, 560066

I have changed the mobile and lost my sms, meanwhile I had to travel and my irctc account has been disabled without prior intimation or notice. I am a regular traveler and mine is a joint family, hence I will be booking tickets often. I had a real hard time to take back my tickets and need strict action to be taken for such actions taken on my account.

PS
                            My user id vinz8
                            ph no. [protected]

Meera Krishnamani
                              Jun 12, 2016

Address: 560103

I was booking for 6 o[censored]s with 2 senior citizens. We requested Lower berths for the senior citizens and since we also had a child, we requested all o[censored]s to be booked in the same coach specifically. IRCTC showed availability of 11 3AC tickets. I was sure we will get 6 in the same coach. Wonder of wonders !!! IRCTC booked 5 o[censored]s in B2 and another person in B1. Also, no lower berths allotted. We were devastated. I was wondering why it did not give us all in same coach. Then I tried to book again for 5 o[censored]s without cancelling the first reservation. Surprisingly, all o[censored]s got in B1 and next to each other and lower berths too. I had to partially cancel my first ticket with a big loss of my money just because IRCTC does not care when a customer requests 'Book only if allocated in the same coach'. Also, their reservation software is totally faulty and does not look for co-located seats when requested. Random allocation causing too much trouble for passengers.

jacky9304
                                from Faizabad, Uttar Pradesh
                                Jun 12, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110001

Dear sir, irctc has deactivated my account without any prior notification, it is not any fraud account, iam a regular traveller so that i use my account regularly, i am facing so many problem after deactivation of my account. sir, please reactivate my account as soon as possible.
                                login id-jacky9304
                                phone number-[protected]
                                email [protected]@gmail.com

jbala8
                                  Jun 11, 2016

Ticket booking account is suspended without assigning the reason fro suspension. when contacted through mail, no reply given. when contacted through mobile [protected]@irctc.co.in and they informed the reason to be fraud net. i have not done any fraud, before suspension of account, irctc should atleast inform me the details of fraud and give me notice for my explanation.by simply suspending the account i lost my right to travel be train through net booking which is highly objectionable. irctc is to enhance the customer support and customer care but not to curtail the rights of citizens. request to kindly help the above matter.
                                  my irctc login id: balakrjx
                                  DOB: 08.08.1952
                                  Mobile: [protected]

rhlmi78
                                    Jun 11, 2016

Address: 560076

I was trying to book a ticket online (Irctc) and in the middle, the payment was successfully carried out (Debiting 749 rs. With netbanking - hdfc) but when it returned to the irctc site, it showed message like "rejected from bank [transaction id: [protected]] you can choose another payment option and try again" (Refer attached image) i checked my online account and found like amount has been debited as i received an sms too. What should i do?

PurvaAgarwal31
                                      Jun 10, 2016

Address: Jaipur, Rajasthan, 302020
                                      Website: www.irctc.co.in/eticketing/loginHome.jsf

I have filed tdr for given details and status shows cr registered but no amount is credited back. It was filed on 18 apr. Please reply on asap nicks. [protected]@gmail.com.

Transaction id: [protected] train no./name: 12985/dee double dcker pnr no [protected]
                                      Date of journey: 18-apr-2016 date of boarding: 18-apr-2016 date of booking: 04-apr-2016
                                      From: jaipur (Jp) to: delhi cantt (Dec) boarding: jaipur (Jp)
                                      Resv upto: delhi cantt (Dec) quota: general (Gn) class: chair car (Cc)
                                      Ticket amount:940.0 ticket type:e-ticket
                                      Reason for tdr: train late more than three hours and passenger not travelled.
                                      Tdr filing date: 18-apr-2016 06:16:21 hrs tdr status cr registered cancellation id: [protected]
                                      Tdr zone: northern railway (Nr) registration no:[protected]

tjm4060
                                        from Mandsaur, Madhya Pradesh
                                        Jun 10, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 751025

I had booked one ticket and was cancelled one day before the scheduled departure of the train. but railway department returned the matter due to the following reasons as attached below.

Pl look into the matter. the details are attached herewith.

T J Mishra
                                        ([protected])

TDR Request Repudiated Through EDR/ECRS
                                        Inbox
                                        x

[protected]@irctc.co.in
                                        May 27

to me

The TDR filed against PNR Number [protected] with reason Passenger Not Travelled Due To Ticket In RAC After Chart Preparation. has been repudiated by the Chief Commercial Manager/Refunds NR due to reason, TICKET NOT SURRENDERED UPTO 4 HRS. BEFORE THE SCHEDULED DEPARTURE OF THE TRAIN as per the Indian Railways Refund Rules https://www.services.irctc.co.in/betaDoc/Amendments_RefundRules_2406.pdf

Please note that the decision about the repudiation/ rejection or amount of refund has been taken by the concerned Zonal Railways as per extant Refund rules of Indian Railways and not by IRCTC.

TDR filing time :[protected] Date of Boarding :

I had booked one ticket and was cancelled one day before the scheduled departure of the train. but railway department returned the matter due to the following reasons as attached below.

Pl look into the matter. the details are attached herewith.

T J Mishra
                                        ([protected])

TDR Request Repudiated Through EDR/ECRS
                                        Inbox
                                        x

[protected]@irctc.co.in
                                        May 27

to me

The TDR filed against PNR Number [protected] with reason Passenger Not Travelled Due To Ticket In RAC After Chart Preparation. has been repudiated by the Chief Commercial Manager/Refunds NR due to reason, TICKET NOT SURRENDERED UPTO 4 HRS. BEFORE THE SCHEDULED DEPARTURE OF THE TRAIN as per the Indian Railways Refund Rules https://www.services.irctc.co.in/betaDoc/Amendments_RefundRules_2406.pdf

Please note that the decision about the repudiation/ rejection or amount of refund has been taken by the concerned Zonal Railways as per extant Refund rules of Indian Railways and not by IRCTC.

TDR filing time :[protected] Date of Boarding :
                                        Sir my user I'd jyoti_poo but this I'd not working in www.services.irctc.co.in so sir how i book my tickets in irctc next generation site pls help and send me new site pls