Lg Electronics — Nexus 5x - not turning on

 
9 Reviews
 santhoshd on Jun 12, 2017
My lg nexus 5x turned off suddenly and its not turning on. I checked the lg service center they mentioned motherboard issue.
I could see many nexus 5x phones are affected with the same issue. During my visit 10 + members came for same issue and the only response is out of warranty and we have to pay 12k.

I am not sure whether its a software glitch which corrupted the hardware or vis versa.. Google started giving refund / replacement for such issues which ever sold from google store. Lg has not given any response yet.

They simply redirect to check with google or pay 12k for replacement. Whose problem is this? When you have manufaturing defect phones why do you sell it in first place.. How many users are affected what is the remedy?

Nexus 5x - not turning on

Complaint Status


[Jun 13, 2017] LG Electronics customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Updated by santhoshd, Jun 13, 2017
no updates yet
Updated by santhoshd, Jun 16, 2017
I spoke to LG customer support. like me so many other users also struggling with their phones.. All the motherboard gone bad at the same time. It is the problem created by the company with software patch by google/ LG..
End result customer are affected. i am not sure how many such users are affected by now.
Updated by santhoshd, Jun 16, 2017
https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Nexus+5X+Motherboard+Replacement/60278
Updated by santhoshd, Jun 20, 2017
LG responded to get back soon as possible. Awaiting the response :(
Updated by santhoshd, Jun 21, 2017
I could see so many ppl have encountered the problem. i do agree the stand of out of warranty. but whose problem is this? any manufacturing unit should acknowledge the problem irrespective of automobiles or mobiles and retain the customer reputation.
We had seen this with Samsung, Apple and couple of car companies.
Here LG service center rep asking who has given such replacement. I am sure they know the problem well in advance and supporting phone till 18th months and call it as a extended support for their customer. I got the phone sooner they released and it was 20 months now.. So is that mean am i a fool? or they dont want anyone to buy phones soon as launch it..
On top of it 2 leading companies like LG & Google blaming each other like school kids. Very irritating to see such unprofessional behaviors from such reputed companies.
we have paid our hard earned money believing LG. And this has to be fixed for all those who encountered problem with your Motherboard/ software bug..
Complaint comments  8 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0Share0

Comments

Hi,

Same issue faced by me on 13th June 2017 at 20:00.

I think they have done something wrong with the software which has crashed out the motherboard.

When I go to the service centre they are telling motherboard issue which will be changed for 12k.
Complainant's reply, Jun 16, 2017
Aman - could you please check whether you can share this link to as many as people who are affected by this issue. i dont think LG/ Google are really worried about it.. They should agree its their problem in the first place..

https://www.consumercomplaints.in/lg-electronics-nexus-5x-not-turning-on-c1597639
Hi,

I am facing the same issue. My Nexus 5x is not starting. When visited to LG customer service center at sanpada, Navi Mumbai, that guy told me to pay 12k for motherboard.

Let me know if you found any solution on this.
Complainant's reply, Jun 20, 2017
Hi Ninad, Please explain the issue in details. Have you update the June Security patch ? when did you started facing the issue? this will help in understanding the similarities.. Also share this link to your known forums so that we can have the ppl realize and relate to their problem. ( https://www.consumercomplaints.in/lg-electronics-nexus-5x-not-turning-on-c1597639)
Same issue here now happening to me after it happened to my gf 5x 2 months ago and my other 2 friends with 5x in the last month.. almost seems like it's intentional.. anyone managed to solve it somehow?
Complainant's reply, Jun 21, 2017
It looks more of a mess and they dont know how to react and sort it out.
Please share this link to your known forums.
https://www.consumercomplaints.in/lg-electronics-nexus-5x-not-turning-on-c1597639
I am facing same bootloop issue. I went to LG service center and they are demanding Rs.10000 for motherboard replacement. I then raised a complaint through LG grievance Redressal link :
http://www.lg.com/in/escalation-online-support
LG customer support executive called me and asked me about my warranty period. I told him that it is expired. After that he told me very rudely that no free service will be provided and that I have to pay.
Not sure what to do now.
Complainant's reply, Jun 23, 2017
sorry to hear about your issue. i too have similar issue with my side.
I am not sure why they are doing such unprofessional behavior.
we will have to file a case and see if that is of some help..
Same bootloop issue for my 5x about two weeks ago :/ owned it for a year and one month, so one month out of warranty and was told they can't do anything about it. I believe I had all current updates on the phone but it died out about one week later, I don't know if that helps or not.
Complainant's reply, Jul 7, 2017
i think you will get 18 mths coverage for hardware warrantry.. Sice its a problem with LG end..
Hawiaii 6P was working perfectly fine.
I am also facing same problem. It's been around 1.5 years since I bought it.
Service center in Bangalore told me to get motherboard replaced for 10.5k, with that he was giving warranty of only 3 months.
Complainant's reply, Jul 7, 2017
pls reach to Marthalli LG service center.
They should cover your warranty till 18th Months.
We should all gather and ask LG/Google to get the devices fixed free of cost. We all have spent our hard earned money and keeping in mind the similarity in the reported issue and the huge no., there is definitely some flaw either in the hardware or software. We should not be made scapegoats. It is totally unacceptable that we get such sub-standard quality products even after spending such huge amount(30k).
Let's all voice our concerns to both LG and Google and ask them to get the phones repaired free of cost at the earliest.

Has anyone written to LG/Google yet?

Regards,
Sumit
bd.sumit@gmail.com
I got the same problem after spending 32k 18 months ago. My Nexus 5x suddenly went dead on 7 july 2017 and Rajkot service centre told me to replace mother board which is around 13k in GST.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    17%
    Complaints
    5114
    Pending
    1957
    Resolved
    394
    phone
    +91 12 0256 XXXX
    location
    P NO - 51,Surajpur Kasna RD, Udyog Vihar, Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India - 110001
    Lg Electronics - Nexus 5x - not turning on
    www.bdomains.com