Standard Chartered Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: May 9, 2025
Complaints 1724

File a complaint to Standard Chartered Bank

Having problems with Standard Chartered Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Standard Chartered Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Standard Chartered Bank reviews & complaints page 12

KasiViswanathan meiyappan
Feb 8, 2020

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600127

I am kasiviswanthan m and holding a credit card ending with 4128 i made a transcation of 97000. After 2 days i am receiving a msg that i have been charged with 500 for over limit fee.

I had a emi running in my card and that they have transferred to my loan account and every month i am paying the emi to that loan acount.

I am not aware of the over limit fee and also i want to know how i can spend beyond my limit. How much can i spend beyond my credit limit nothing has been informed.

To my knowledge i thought i cannot spend beyond my limit.

Kindly request to look in it to it and get my over limit fee reversed
Standard Chartered Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Hi, I would like lodge my complaint on the illegal interest which charged on my credit card unnecessarily. i have attached the photo of my card and the amount charged please do the favour.

b2 over limit fee - Comment #3656140 - Image #0

Pranav Kondalkar
    Feb 4, 2020

Address: Koregaon park, Pune, Maharashtra, 411036

I get calls from shaha finlease saying that i had taken a credit card in 2001 from standard chartered bank whose pending amount is somewhere around 23 lakhs whereas i had hardly used any card but still these people from shah
    Finlease call everyday and and give harassing commitments of cibil reports dues. Today i get a call wher the shah finlease executive says that i can settle your amount illegally by paying some amount to shah finlease and when i denied for that she is try to threat me by saying she will send a notice and your cicil will be ruined and all that.
    It is very shaha finlease settle up everything with scb.
    Shaha finlease threatning calls are increasing day by day.
    Standard Chartered Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

g_sachdeva
      Jan 21, 2020

I availed a personal loan from standard chartered in the year 2016 with 3 years of emi. As per my terms and conditions, i was given a benefit of last emi waiver. The same is stated in loan terms and conditions.

However, now i constantly receive calls from standard chartered for the last emi. On asking, why should i make the last emi, they said you defaulted on first emi and that's why benefit of last emi waiver is not available to you.

During the initial processing of the loan, standard chartered representatives provided me with wrong ecs form (Old format) which was denied by my bank and thus, first emi could not get processed on time. If a wrong ecs was provided to me and submitted to my bank by standard chartered, why the price of their own mistake has to be borne by a customer.

I was provided a wrong form by standard chartered and i was proactive enough to complain about it but no one heard or responded back to my complaints at that time.

I realize may be this is one of their tricks to exploit customers. First convert a prospective person in to client by offering last emi waiver and then provide wrong form to make it a default on first payment and eventually deny their obligations. I have shared multiple emails in 2016 with customer care but no one resolved my complaint back then. However, i have received an email from customer care stating ecs form was in old format, which to me clearly identifies the fault of standard chartered.

I urge the necessary body to intervene and stop this financial and mental harassment of mine by standard chartered bank. Not only, i would want to pursue this matter further with necessary authorities for my rightful last emi waiver but also file claim for the mental harassment caused by standard chartered. I have enclosed relevant emails snapshots for the reference.

I am ready to discuss or submit any further in this regard.

Victim of standard chartered fraud and harassment,

Gurpreet singh
      Mobile - [protected]
      Email: [protected]@yahoo.com
      After 15 days of application submission also, there is no infomraion of application. Also the representative who took the application are not responding and blocked my number.

Represetative name : Fernadiz

Pranav Kondalkar
        Jan 16, 2020

I had issued a credit card from standard chartered in 2001. ( Card no : *************** ) I had cleared all the payments and dues on the card at that time itself through cheque and also closed the account at that time itself. Now i am getting calls from Shah Finlease stating that i have a due balance of 23 Lakhs on the same credit account. It is also showing in Cibil report which is affecting my loan processes.And at that time after clearing all dues and closing the account I was told by the bank that i will get a closure letter/receipt through courier but did not get any till date.Now Shaha Finlease people are asking me for a closure letter from standard chartered bank. And they have also sent me an intimation letter of 23 Lakhs outstanding payment. Now 23 Lakhs is reflecting in my cibil report as outstanding.This seems to be a fraud. I have been calling your customer cares 8-10 times but not getting any response on the matter. And every time I call your customer care they ignore this issue just by saying we are not able to verify your account.I request you to look into this matter and investigate about this as soon as possible. Need a clearance on this issue soon for the cibil report. Hoping to get a response from you soon.

Solve this issue as soon as possible.

Thanks and regards.
        Jan 16, 2020
        Updated by Pranav Kondalkar
        In this case one of SC Bank's customer care executive is not helping at all. Worst communication and not resolving customers issue and is talking rudely to customers. A very bad experience talking to this customer care executive.
        Customer care executive name : Ashok kumar Yadav
        Standard chartered bank credit card customer care Bangalore.

Pujain
          Jan 16, 2020

Address: 411048

On 20th sep 2019 (Bank stmt shows date of transaction as[protected] in the morning around 9 am when i came home after playing cricket i just checked my phone and saw many messages from standard chartered bank (Scb) related to otp for transactions at amazon pay on my credit card. On seeing so many messages i was surprised and understood something wrong has happened. I immediately checked the amazon app on my phone and saw various e-gift cards purchased and redeemed. I was surprised how this could have happened as my mobile was with me in the night. I checked my email account and to my surprise all otp messages were also sent on my email-id and were already read. At that time i came to know that scb also sends otp on email. I could sense that my email was hacked and
          The fraud was done using the otps sent on mail and also ordering e-gift card on the same email-id.in all, eleven transactions were carried out amounting to rs.176150
          (20000, 20000, 20000, 20000, 20000, 20000, 20000, 20000, 4750, 1900, 9500). I immediately called scb to block my card and also informed the bank of the fraud and unauthorized transactions. However i was told by the bank that as the merchant has not yet claimed the amount they cannot raise dispute. I waited for 2/3 days and again informed the bank and finally the dispute was raised giving following complaint numbers
          [protected] [protected] [protected] [protected] i also enquired with scb as to whether i was required to raise a complaint with the cyber crime cell, i was told that it is upto me however, as i have raised a dispute, scb would be doing a detailed investigation and they would do all the required procedures. I was given a temporary credit for the said amount however i received letter dtd 8/10/2019 on around 18/10/2019 from scb mentioning that as the disputed transaction is a secured transaction the onus is on the customer and i will be debited for this amount. I got the
          Invoice asking me to pay the said amount to which i replied on[protected]. Again i received a call from scb on[protected] mentioning that i should file a complaint with the cyber crime & i filed complaint with cyber cell on[protected].
          Further to the above the below points should be considered :
          1. I have reported the fraudulent activity carried out by hacking my email account on the same date i. E. 20th september 2019.
          2. As requested by the bank i have raised a dispute on the same day as suggested by the bank.
          3. As per rbi circular no: rbi/2017-18/15 dbr. No. Leg. Bc.78/09.07.005/2017-18. There is a zero liability of a customer i[censored]nauthorised transaction has happened due to 3rd party breach & the same is reported to bank within 3 working days.
          4. The bank failed in raising any alarm when so many transaction took place & that to which exceeded my credit limit by around 35%. The bank
          Should have notified me when the credit limit was breached & should not have allowed the fraud doers any transaction above the credit limit. My credit limit is 1, 40, 000/- already 12, 425/- were used by me so the balance limit was 127575/- still bank allowed transactions worth 1, 76, 150/- which is a negligence on banks part.
          6. What is the point in bank sending sms after each payment as to report or call if you have not done this transaction if even after reporting the customer is only going to suffer.
          7. Bank need to take or would be having insurance for such transactions while issuing credit card to all customers.
          Bank is calling me daily for making the payment with interest... Please do the needful & try to resolve the issue.

Neelkant Singh
            from Noorpur, Uttar Pradesh
            Jan 15, 2020

Late charges and interest calculated on my credit card.

While i hade money in my sc bank account to pay the bill of credit card but i found thatsc bank account is blocked due to physical verification, and visited to noida branch to unblock my account by submitting the documents, the executive denied to accept rent agreement, electricity bill and aadhar card as poa. While i opened this account 2 year back by presenting these documents only, this was the reason on payment delay.

You guys comes to your knees while you need to achive your target for credit card or bank account, that time your executives said no more documents are required, any anything you can provide whatever rent agreement, bank statement, electricity bill of the house where living now. But at the time of verification you never accept those same documents why?

And one more thing i want to know what kind of blocking was on my sc bank account i was able to deposite (Cr) any amount in my account but i can not withdraw a single rupee with any mode of payment. If you are blocking any account due to any reason then block all type of transactions on the account so that user can understand.

So i request you to review again to reverse the charges on my credit card and close the card permanently.

Very disappointed and frustated, inconvinient. I suffured too much due to this only, in last two months.

Neelkant singh
            Oct 22, 2020

Myself sai kumar was salary account holder in your esteemed bank
            My account was opened in Office itself and address mentioned there is wrong

Kindly change my residential address to below

No1, Officers colony, Varadarajapuram, Taramani 100ft road, near athipathi hospital, beside canarabank lane, Velacherry, Chennai - 600042.
            I tried more then 100 times for cancellation of credit card but my card not cancelled till now. very bad credit card service bank mobile no : [protected]

Jan 6, 2020

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600019

This is thangavelu i am applied dec-04-2019 but still i have not credited amount to my account daily 5to6 times calling that executive girl said everything done please wait approval also done but didn't received any single sms on this loan but she is saying it will credit soon but completely 1month done. Still not credited. Finally one sms 03-jan-2020 came your loan approved after i sent sms yes i am applied loan then called her she said today eod it will credit but also not credited next day i called that executive she said today eod but not credited next two after i am calling that executive asking status she said i will not credit your amount you compliment any i will take care like this very very bad experience of your bank more than 1mnth followed finally your executive my image spoiled cheated me completly actually i am applied my family emergency everything i told her. Please take action that executive. [protected].
              (After read this mail please call me if not received calls i will go to the next level escalation)
              3 times customer care compliance raised but not taking care of customer voice
              Topup loan route behavior executive ([protected], [protected])
              Thangavelu. M

Address: B-303,ASTER,, ,VALLEY OF FLOWERS,THAKUR VILLAGE,, 400101

This is to inform you that a fraudulent transaction for an amount of INR 2, 42, 112.21 on my Credit Card No - xxxxxxx6793 on 04/11/2019 at PSP*dmarket.com Gibraltar GI. I would like to inform you that this is an unauthorized transaction and was not done by me by any means.

I have called your Customer Care No. and raised dispute Complaint No.[protected] with yourselves.

Below is the sequence of events as to...
                pauldom
                Dec 31, 2019

Address: Bangalore, 560047

This is to inform you that i am an distressed customer of standard chartered bank manhattan platinum credit card.
                I had a year back requested the bank to cancel my credit card as i had misplace the same, at that time they said that they would wave of the renewal charges as a preferred customer, but i was not aware of this and they have continued to charge me the card renewal charges for the current year 880/-. Which i have received by a message about a week back, i have told them on 26th december 2019, that i am objecting to this and requested to wave of the charges and to cancel and block my card, & said one of their managers will call me to discuss this issue in three working days. But i have not received the call. Today they have sent a message again today 31 december 2019 of rs.1815.30, saying they cannot wave of the charges
                Request you to kindly help on resolving this issue
                Paul dominick g a

Sowjanya Yadav
                  Dec 28, 2019

Address: 560037

From several months i have been charging a4 interest even the minimum amount is paid before the due date.. So many extra charges are applying for me.. And the refund amount due to bus cancellation is also not reflected in my account even after 2 months they told me it will be in your next month statement but nothing happened in my statement and my refund amount is reflected in the statement

surojitoffice
                    from Bargarh, Odisha
                    Dec 26, 2019

Address: Navi Mumbai, Raigad, Maharashtra, 410218

My name is surojit roy, i had a personal loan in standard bank. Now in my cibil loan remaining balance showing 0 (Zero), but showing written off.
                    Due to above my cibil getting down day by day & i got so many rejections for loan from other banks.
                    I have tried to contact them but they not responding.
                    So, kindly arrange to provide noc on urgent basis.

Surojit roy
                    Pl no: 49446827
                    Mob: [protected]
                    I am a poor man student
                    My father's is farmers very poor man farmers family
                    Please help me sir

need noc for pl no: 49446827 - Comment #3620671 - Image #0
                    need noc for pl no: 49446827 - Comment #3620671 - Image #1

dinesh.sanghavi
                      Dec 26, 2019

Address: Shri Shankeshwari Villa, D/17,Plot no 714,Kshitji Co Hsg Soc, Charkop Sec no 7 ,Kandivali west,9820983732, 400067

Requesting to solve our dispute with standard chartered bank at the earliest

The sanction letter dated 05th august, 2004 the said loan was repayable in 192 equated monthly installments to the bank against the home loan (A/c no[protected] amount of rs. 11, 00, 000/- (Rupees eleven lakhs only) sanctioned by the bank where i have already paid all 192 installments i. E around twenty three lakhs (23, 00, 000/-) and as on date still the bank is showing outstanding balance of inr 7, 63, 820.91 and nor the bank is replying when i have written them nos of e - mails to answer me back but haven't got non of the reply by their end. And only keeps on demanding the money by recovery department every time they tell me that they can charge interest rate as per their choice i. E any amount charges as per rbi's rules, rbi has given in writing to the bank, that bank can charge any rate of interest as per their choice even after sending repeated mails to the bank there is no reply by their end. Please help me with the same. Thanking you in anticipation
                      Your sincerely,
                      Dinesh shashikant sanghavi

Shashi Dandona
                        Dec 25, 2019

Address: L142, Gulshan Vivante, Sector 137, Gautam Buddh Nagar, Uttar Pradesh, 201304

I had opened a demat account with standard chartered depository services with their branch at vasantlok, newdelhimore than 15 years ago. At the time of opening the demat account, the annual charges were inr 500. Subsequently, the account was transferred by the depository to standard chartered securities with their branch office at deen dayal upadhya marg, new delhi which was quite far from my residence. I visited scc office at deen dayal upadhya marg on 30th nov. 2017 to update my kyc details, change of address and change of bank document when i was shocked to be told that i had to pay outstanding account maintenance charges amounting to more than rs 9000 for a period of 2 years before submission of kyc documents etc. I found the amount exhorbitant for the only security with them was idbi bonds for an amount of inr 20000 only. However, i paid the amount by a cheque and submitted the documents for kyc, change of address and change of bank mandate. The documents submitted which were duly vetted by the dealing official were returned to me by post with flimsy rejection remarks that osv and ipv details of 2nd & 3rd holder were missing and occupation details of 2nd holder were not mentioned. Early this year, i was informed that the account is being transferred to standard chartered bank. Being dissatisfied by their service, i now wish to close the account/ transfer it to another depository. However, i am told that before closure/transfer, i have to pay another rs 9000 for the years 2018& 2019. I find their maintenance charges of rs 4500per annum for securities amounting to rs 20000 only highly arbitrary & exorbitant especially when there have been no transactions in the account.

Tiwarkar Archana
                          Dec 22, 2019

I'm archana tiwarkar want to apply my pf of standard chartered fianace ltd priously i know they where to be apply but now that office shifted to some where else i'm working in the year 2007-08 so it's long time go head so please help mi with this
                          I'm working in credit card department as tell calling executive after that i'm get better opportunity than switch from standard chartered finance ltd

Please help me to apply my pf

Biplov sarkar
                            Dec 16, 2019

Address: Rajkot, Gujarat, 360007

Date:18 september 2019
                            Complain id=kmm31429176v66439l0km
                            Call date=14oct2019
                            Description:from bank customer care they told me that whenever you buy things from credit card the annual fee would be refunded. But they now telling that its not possible. I have call recorded on that with me.
                            Before that also they have told me same things you can check with there database with such recording. Now they telling 90, 000 if you spend than it will be refunded. But they have not inform me or they have not sent me any mail regarding such thing. Even when i have raised complain the issue will be sorted out with in 90 days, such a long days.
                            I have attached recording for the same.
                            Other recording is with me also then where they told (If you buy anything refund will be done) which is not with me right now.
                            If you ask them they also have recording with them previous two recording.
                            Please do needful things.
                            I want justice.
                            Jan 15, 2020
                            done.. they have refunded..that means I was right. Thank you

rishita gera
                              from Jamshedpur, Jharkhand
                              Dec 9, 2019

Address: Jaipur, Rajasthan, 302001

I raised a late fee waiver request on 2nd december 2019, ref no: in[protected]s67044. I was promised a call back within 2-3 days which never happened.
                              I called them again after a week, on 9th december 2019. They kept on hold saying they would arrange a callback. On further insisting, they asked me to wait. I was kept on hold for 22 mins and then they disconnected my calls.

Highly untrained & unprofessional staff!

I went to their branch also mi road, jaipur.
                              No-help.

Please don't get their credit cards.

krgarg
                                Dec 3, 2019

I had closed the card within couple of months from the date i received it. However, on the portal there is a history of 14 months while the card was closed. All the entries are either "xxx" or "000" but my question is why was the card active till then even when i closed it. What if someone was using the card number somewhere and why wasnt it raised to me or informed to me that the card is still active even after the closure.

Biplov sarkar
                                  Nov 30, 2019

Address: Rajkot, Gujarat, 360007

Date:18 september 2019
                                  Complain id=kmm31429176v66439l0km
                                  Call date=14oct2019
                                  Description:from bank customer care they told me that whenever you buy things from credit card the annual fee would be refunded. But they now telling that its not possible. I have call recorded on that with me.
                                  Before that also they have told me same things you can check with there database with such recording. Now they telling 90, 000 if you spend than it will be refunded. But they have not inform me or they have not sent me any mail regarding such thing. Even when i have raised complain the issue will be sorted out with in 90 days, such a long days.
                                  I have attached recording for the same.
                                  Other recording is with then where they told (If you buy anything refund will be done) which is not with me right now.
                                  Please do needful things.
                                  I want justice.
                                  Jan 15, 2020
                                  done.. they have refunded..that means I was right. Thank you
                                  Dec 10, 2019
                                  Updated by Biplov sarkar
                                  ID: 2523386, still i dont find any progress in this matter.
                                  Still there is no progress on this matter.
                                  I have made wrong payment 2000 in standard chartered bank account by mistake through phonepe application.so could you please get back to my account.
                                  However i attached proof of payment.

annual fee waiver on credit card - Comment #3601760 - Image #0
                                  annual fee waiver on credit card - Comment #3601760 - Image #1
                                  Swetudi's reply, Dec 6, 2019
                                  Standard chartered bank
                                  Ac Number 52310646304
                                  SCBL0036021
                                  ACCOUNT HOLDER:VASU SHARMA

ravindrapatgar
                                    Nov 29, 2019

standard chartered credit card works with wrong cvv

I have standard charted credit card.

I was trying to make a payment on airtel app for recharge and i entered wrong cvv by mistake. The transaction was successful.

I tried the same again for my uber payment and i entered wrong cvv on purpose, the transaction succeeded.

This is a serious issue and i have lost all the trust with the sc bank.

Attaching a video in...
                                    Sachdevabhanu
                                    Nov 26, 2019

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110085

As i have not received any response from standard chartered bank as money was deducted from my account in month of july and they are least bothered to return that money as i have send numerous emails and still not received any response

Diksha
                                    [protected] (Contact between10 am -1pm) or email at diksha. [protected]@yahoo.co.in
                                    Account no-[protected]