[Resolved] Zoom Car — damage charges without any clarification

 
7 Reviews
 Sreenath A on Jun 9, 2018
We had a ride more than a week back[may 27th] with mahindra kuv [booking id jps62fe6i]. The trip was from bangalore to yercaud. During the trip, we faced issues with engine and mileage which we already complained in the mid-way. Also, during the trip one of the rear tyre got punctured and we replaced it with the spare available in the dicky of the car. When we checked the tyre pressures in a petrol bunk, we could find that each tyre was having high variations in air pressures. This itself shows the poor maintenance by zoomcar before handing over to the customer.
Once the trip ended, we received damage charges of 4500 in relation to the rear tyre. We complained via customer care and requested for more details on the charges levied on us. But we didn't get any response. We enquired numerous times with customer care, but noone was sure of any kind of info related to the case. We received automated mails only on the bill payment reminders and not a single mail for the complaint raised. When enquired, the customer care official says they have taken it up on high priority, but no update to the customer. Finally, we received a mail after a week or so saying the levied charges are valid and accurate... Thatsit! No other info...
[ point to be noted: in one mail they have mentioned damage charges as 1000 and as 4500 in account ]
We responded back to the mail asking for more details, but still we didn't receive any response. Even after multiple mails from our end, we received no prompt response.
After more than a week, we received a call today[june 9th] saying the charges are valid[as usual] and i have to pay the amount asap; and threatened me stating legal issues. And its really irritating that noone is ready to give a proper clarity on the damage charges levied on us. Do we need to pay 4500 for puncture which we have replaced with the available spare...?
We are ready to pay the amount, but we need more clarity on what sort of damage we have done. If they are not ready to give explanation means there must be a problem from their end and they are not ready to disclose it with us.

We customers have the right to get clarity on the charges levied on us. The way zoom car is charging customers is a clear and serious case of cheating!!!

Complaint marked as Resolved Jul 17, 2018

Complaint Status


[Jun 09, 2018] Zoom Car customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Updated by Sreenath A, Jun 09, 2018
Related case :
https://www.consumercomplaints.in/zoom-car-damage-charges-without-clarification-c1982454

Please find few relevant screen-shots there
Updated by Sreenath A, Jun 13, 2018
We are still waiting for word from you @ZoomCar!!! As usual, we are waiting for your delayed response. When can we expect a reversal and descent resolution to the issue?
Verified Support
Zoom Car Customer Care's response, Jun 13, 2018
Hello Sreenath,

Greetings!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your reservation. This is definitely not the experience we aim to provide to our customers.

We did investigate on the issue and we are sorry to inform you that we would not be able to waive off the damage charges applied on the booking as the damage occurred during your reservation. Also, we believe that our team reached out to you and have informed you the same.

Appreciate your kind cooperation and understanding in this regard.

Regard
Wasim
Zoomcar
Updated by Sreenath A, Jun 13, 2018
@zoomcar Team: We are receiving the same copy paste updates from your team ever since we started enquiring, that too delayed response. What you believe is not fully correct. One of your team has reached out to us just once inorder to compel and threaten us in paying the amount. We have already updated multiple times reg. the the issue. And we are really sorry to say, its difficult to trust the pic of the punctured tyre you guys have sent us 2 weeks after the trip. We are damn sure that the puncture was not that bad as your pic. A full brand new tyre costs less that 4.5K and you guys are compelling your customers to pay 4500 just for a puncture? It would have been used by many customers before our trip and thus enough ear and tear would have occurred for the tyre. So please get back to us with reasonable charges. Else we might be forced to go to even higher levels.
Updated by Sreenath A, Jun 14, 2018
There is an interesting development in the case. We have received a mail stating legal issues and civil proceedings. This is really cheap way of looting money from customers. And there is no justification for the charges levied on the customer @ZoomCar : we haven't seen such a worst Customer support anywhere.

PFA: relevant screen-shots of the mail.
Please find other mails from us to Zoom car in the related case: https://www.consumercomplaints.in/zoom-car-damage-charges-without-clarification-c1982454

damage charges without any clarification
damage charges without any clarification
Complaint comments  6 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0Share0

Comments

Whole new branded tyre costs less than Rs.4500. Asking customers to pay 4500 just for a puncture is ridiculous, that too they are giving reasons after 2 weeks of time. Sad to say that I'll not use zoomcar services anymore.

This is the same case with most of the customers.
Sreenath A's [Complaint's author] reply, Jun 9, 2018
You are right Sangamesha, the puncture wasn't that bad as I remember. First of all, the car we received wasn't properly maintained which we already complained in the mid of the trip. Again the air pressure in the tyres - one side 25, the other side 37; again another tyre not even near to it. Many people might have used the car as well before our trip. Hence it might have gone through enough wear and tear. If we received an improperly maintained car and if the tyre got punctured, do we need to pay an amount of 4500+???

Also as I already mentioned, we don't think the puncture was that bad as per the pic shared by Zoom Car. Also, most importantly Zoom car Team has shared the pic after 2 weeks!!! Where were they all till date? How many times we tried to grab the info from them??? How can we trust it's genuine? We have seen numerous such complaints against the company from other customers online.

@Zoom Car Team: Treat your Customers as your guests and have/build a trustworthy relationship!!!

Hopefully you guys will come up with a proper workaround!
I have seen multiple complaints against zoomcar now. Let's see how long they take to respond and how the issue is handled.

Better not to use their services if the customer service isn't good enough. People use these services for convenience. If it's not hassle free, there is no point at all, availing such services.
Worst service ever!!!.

They have to know it's them who needs the customer and threatening to just pay the bill without proper justification.So poor service...

They have to realise that they depend on the customers and not vice versa.

Providing the customers with cars with damaged tyres is a threat to life for the customer itself ..this is not the way to make profit for a genuine business.

Too bad, seems like we have to switch to other rental services.
I would not even like to rate one star after seeing this detailed complaint which has written here. Zoom Car has got it's fame now and that doesn't mean that this the way to take money from the customers. If a fine has been taken from advance amount it should be on the bill, why zoomcar has charged this amount of money. And in this world taking a picture and showing to the customer will be the ideal case, so that people will have trust in zoomcar. Here in this case without even showing the damage taking money is the worst thing which zoomcar can do. I guess the officials of zoomcar should step down and clarify the issue.

Rather than breaking the trust of customers who actually depend on zoomcar.

Thanks,
Not a proud user of zoomcar.
4500 is a ridiculous amount of money asking for a puncture. Since they haven't provided any information which the client asked, there is something fishy in zoom car's service charges. Clearly this is overcharging. I would not use zoom car since I have found many complaints against them.
I hope this issue gets acknowledged and rectified at the earliest.
The worst service by Zoomcar. The least score is 1, hence giving it. If there was an option "-1" I would have definitely rated that. I will never use Zoom car and make sure that none of my friends uses it. Zoom car team charged us an extra of ₹4500 as "damage charges" where in, only the rare tyre was punctured. I don't know who is the great mechanic who charges ₹4500 for a puncture fix.

Team, please let us know if you want tips we are generous to give you. Please don't charge like this, you will definitely loose customers. If you want run your business under profit try to increase the base price instead of looting the money from customers.

Please try to fix the above issue. Thanks
Zoom Car Customer Care's response, Jun 13, 2018
Verified Support

Dear User,

We are sorry to know about the charges levied on the booking.

Kindly share your booking ID for our reference, we shall have a recheck on the charges levied and we will do the needful to resolve the same.

Regards,
Sowmya

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    70%
    Complaints
    1302
    Pending
    155
    Resolved
    871
    phone
    +91 80 6748 1200
    location
    #308, 1st to 3rd Floor, 100 Feet Main Road, Indiranagar, 1st Stage, Bangalore North, Karnataka, India - 560038
    Zoom Car - damage charges without any clarification