Indian Railways — Indian Railways cheating passengers with fraudulent waitlisting system

 
6 Reviews
Srikakulam, Srikakulam District, Andhra Pradesh, India
 Praveen Sarma
Waiting list system itself is a fraud. I will explain the modus operandi here:

IR permits 300 tickets to be booked under waiting list for sleeper class for non-tatkal quota if the train has 10 sleeper coaches of non-tatkal quota. IR does not permit waitlisted passengers to enter sleeper coaches but permits RAC passengers to enter sleeper coaches. IR does not display the 'rule information board about waitlisted tickets' at reservation counters. If such board is displayed, no one will purchase waitlisted tickets. IR displays that information on chart. Most of the people do not read charts inserted on coaches. The train halts two minutes in station and passengers hurry in boarding the train and do not think about reading the chart. When TTE asks the waitlisted passenger to pay penality, then argument happens between TTE and the passenger but the passenger cannot understand why waitlisted passengers are not allowed to board sleeper coaches. While the maximum waitlist permit is 300, it is not possible to allow 300 waitlisted passengers in 10 coaches. If IR is not able to provide accomodation to waitlisted passengers, then waiting list system should be abolished. IR should not cheat passengers by issuing waitlisted tickets.

I became aware about this fraudulent system while traveling from Visakhapatnam to Rayagada. I traveled from Visakhapatnam to Rayagada with confirmed ticket. IR didn't display any board in station or reservation counter containing information that "Non-confirmed waitlisted tickets are not valid". They displayed the information at bottom of the charts that are not read by many. Long distance trains halt for 20 minutes at Visakhapatnam station. So, I was able to read the chart. If a private business firm cheats it's customers, we can file case in consumers' court. If the government cheats people, then to whom should we complain?
Complaint comments  5 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

Indian Railways — Cheating

Dear Sir,

I am a Government Servant and working in a security organisation under Ministry of HOme Affairs. I was travelling to Cuttack, Orissa lin the month of October 2010. From Cuttack I purchased a reservation ticket from the counter on 11.10.2010 for Rourkela in 8477 Utkal Express to be travelled on 14.10.2010 bearing PNR No.[protected], Ticket No.06066043 and allotted Berth No.17 in S6. The train reached very late at Cuttack station around 01.00 am of 15.10.2010 and no Ticket conductor was checked my reservation ticket on departure of the train from Cuttack. On 15.10.2010 moringing Mr. Maurya, the TTE of 8477 Utkal Express advised me to get down at Jharsuguda Jn Station as the 8477 will not go to Rourkela. When I asked to intimate the reason he straight away denied to comment and told that the train is not running Rourkela route since last six months but the railway authority is still issuing ticket upto Rourkela and Tata also. When I requested to refund my money he denied and told me to report at Station Manager, Jharsuguda stn. The train reached at Jharsuguda station at 11.45 hrs on 15.10.2010 after taking almost 11 hours from Cuttack where as it should have been taken only 6-7 hours to reach at Jharsuguda by following the new route. I called on with the Station Manager and intimate the matter but the Station Manager straight away denied to refund my money and also denied to make any alternate reservation for me in any train running to Rourkela. And also he told that the matter has already been communicated to railway authority since long but I do not understand why the railway authority is still issuing reservation ticket to Rourkela. Subsequently, I register a complain bearing No.052610 dated 15.10.2010 at the register of Station Manager, Jharsuguda and requested him to give his comment in writing so as to make me convenient for filing a case in the consumer forum. Sir, if the railway authority will not issue the ticket to Rourkela how can a passenger will travel in the above train.

Sir, I cannot express here the difficulties faced due to harrassment made by Railway authority on 15.10.2010. I was compelled to take private bus at 2.30 p.m as there are no regular bus services are available. When I got the bus it was quite difficult to enter in the bus due to severe rush by which I was to keep my luggage behind the bus and due to which the screen of my laptop got damaged which caused Rs.8000/- and reached at Rourkela in the evening wihtout having any food. More important, I could not complete my important work at Rourkela.

Sir, I earnestly request you to kindly help me out and take necessary steps to give a suitable compensation. I have all original documents i.e. ticket, complain no. etc.etc. and will produce in the hon'ble court when required.

thanking you Sir.

Yours faithfully

S. N. Adhikari
[protected]
I completely agree with you Praveen.

Here are my comments:

1. This JULY I was looking to book a ticket from Delhi to Pathankot in NOVEMBER and I was getting a waitlisted ticket. It is IMPOSSIBLE to believe that all tickets were sold out almost 5 months in advance!!!

2. There is no visibility on how many total seats / sleepers there are in all and how many tickets have been issued. Even if the names of passengers may be kept partially hidden - I need to see that the tickets have actually been sold to individuals.

3. If there are government quotas - they can travel on subsidized fares but need to be subject to the same conditions as others - no reservation. The general public cannot simply be wait-listed and "wait" to see if they can travel on the date even if the travel date is several months away.
Sometimes WL 150 gets confirmed and sometimes even WL does not get confirmed. Indian Railways is playing with waitlisted passengers.
Sometimes WL 150 gets confirmed and sometimes even WL 1 does not get confirmed. Indian Railways is playing with waitlisted passengers.
Sometimes waitlisted passengers are not allowed to sit even if berths are vacant. Those berths are either of ladies quota or of duty pass quota.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    1%
    Complaints
    4939
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    71
    phone
    +91 11 2338 1213
    location
    Rail Bhawan, Raisina Road, DL, India, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110001
    Indian Railways - Indian Railways cheating passengers with fraudulent waitlisting system