Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Sep 3, 2025
Complaints 2255

File a complaint to Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]

Having problems with Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] reviews & complaints page 105

rajendra nag
May 21, 2014

ajendra nag <[protected]@gmail.com> May 20 (1 day ago) to CESC Respected Sir, With due respect I would like to inform you that today at the time of meter reading the representative from your end charges Rs.100/- as tips & for not giving the same he told me that he will not check the meter reading do whatever you can do. So I urge you to look into this matter seriously else I will have to complain to Consumer forum. Thanks & Regards Rajendra Kumar Nag On Sat, May 17, 2014 at 8:13 PM, CESC Communication <[protected]@cesc.co.in> wrote: Dear Consumer, Your meter is scheduled to be read between 20/05/2014 & 22/05/2014 excepting intervening holidays. "We stand committed to our spirit of cooperation & service to you." Regards, CESC LIMITED This is an auto generated e-mail. Please do not send reply to this e-mail.
May 14, 2024
Feb 25, 2022
Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] Customer Care's response
We believe that the issue has been resolved, if not kindly send us a mail to [protected]@rpsg.in.
CESC Limited

Sabyasachi Bhattacharyya
    from Bihar Sharif, Bihar
    May 19, 2014

Sir, With due honour I, Sri Sabyasachi Bhattacharyya (consumer no. [protected]) of 17/1, Sarat Bose Road, Trikon Park, Kolkata-65 near light post no. 93/1 would like to inform you that a work is running for installation of a new transformer at Trikon Park at where my ferrule for municipal drinking water lines exist and if once it is installed then I shall have to be faced lot of problems during ferrule washing and so I am requesting you kindly to inform the matter to the convenient person of South Dum Dum Municipality for taking some suitable steps to shift my ferrule near my boundary wall. Thanking you. Awaiting your favour With Warm regards Sabyasachi Bhattacharyya Mobile No. [protected]
    Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

joyg_77
      May 19, 2014

Dear Sir, This is bring to your notice that I am suffering from voltage fluctuation for a long time.i have complaint several time against the same but no action has been taken till date from your end.After making all the payments in time this is really ridiculous, painful and horrible. I hope now you will take some action against my above mentioned complaint otherwise pls suggest me what will be my next action. Thanks in advance Joy Ghatak [protected] Consumer No : [protected] [protected]
      Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
      xxxxxxx
      For the last two months or so, intermittent voltage fluctuations (specially in the night) are being observed in our household connections (total three meters) which needs to be rectified at the earliest (.)
      Matter URGENT (.)
      Sajal Kumar Majumder
      5, Kholisakota // Birati // Kolkata : 700 051
      LP no. 18/18/4
      Consumer no. [protected]
      (M[protected]
      We bring to your notice that our building situated at behala has voltage fluctution since last 7days damaging our electrcal gadgets
      ADDRESS OF PREMISES
      155, RAMKRISHNA SARANI,
      KOLKATA - 700060
      customer id [protected]
      consumer no. [protected]

electricity bill

We are getting much more amount of bill than our consumption, for 6 months

soumya_majumder
        May 19, 2014

Dear sir, I am facing this situation in my life for the first time after residing in a CESC area for more than 35 years. Since last month I am experiencing excessive low voltage in my house and around. This has happened specifically after the next house to mine has drawn a 3 phase line from single phase line.My consumer no is [protected].
        Apr 24, 2022
        Feb 25, 2022
        We believe that the issue has been resolved, if not kindly send us a mail to [protected]@rpsg.in.
        CESC Limited

niladri sikdar
          May 18, 2014

DEAR SIR, I AM THE CONSEUMER OF CESC, ( [protected]), AT DUM DUM, KOLKATA REGION FACING VOLTAGE FLACTUATION PROBLEM FOR LAST THREE MONTHS WHICH CAUSING DAMAGE OF MY VARIOUS ELECTRICAL HOUSEHOLDS . PLEASE LOOK IN TO THE MATTER ON URGENT BASIS. WITH REGARDS MR. NIKHIL SIKDAR. 590/1, P.K. GUHA ROAD, KOLKATA:700028 CONTACT NO : [protected]
          PLEASE SEND ME ONLINE NEW METER APPLICATION FORM.

Ashish kumar0270
            May 18, 2014

Dear sir. My consumer number is [protected]. Please note that the correct reading of the metre is not being taken for the last 6 months. Each month the bill is coming only for the Metre rent and fixed charge. Please see that the correct reading is taken and bill comes accordingly. Ashish kumar
            Ref: My consumer number is [protected]. Tushar Kanti Dhar, LP-124/2/6/3,
            39-Bedia danga 2nd Lane, Flat-1c- Kol-39.
            Sr. No. 29/04/14/20430 /,
            Docket no. 290414/[protected] /290414,
            Sub: To know the status of the letter submitted on 29-04-14

This is to inform you that I had submitted one request note to look on my bill, which was generated on own wish by the meter reader,
            While the meter is showing "0" reading. Whatever necessary checking is required and get the bill correct, but not on assumption. However, please note that I have already paid the wrong amount, which should be adjusted in future.
            As I have already inform you that I am presently residing in Mumbai and visit twice or thrice in a year for holiday/personal work.
            Kindly let know the status of my application. Hope that the bill should appear right from the next onward.
            Thanks &amp; Regards, Tushar Kanti Dhar.

sreya ghosh
              May 17, 2014

I have made repeated complaints to restore the problem we are facing for many days.i paid rs 10000 as to meet the conditions for installation of air conditioner but after making repeated complaints no action has been taken.my docket no is [protected].consumer no-[protected] named after mrs. Tinku Ghosh.when we are paying money its your duty to provide us the basic nescecities.

Sujoy1961
                from Aizawl, Mizoram
                May 17, 2014

I have paid an amount of Rs. 3565.00 (Rupees three thousand five hundred sixty five only) on 12/07/2011, for increasing the load (domestic) to 1.0 KW, against MA bill no. 05/04992/11/4/2 dtd. 20/06/2011 and the due date was 19/09/2011. My consumer no. is [protected] (old no. [protected]) and LP no. is 50/9/1/1/2. It is very unfortunate and unexpected that till today no action has been taken from CESC side, neither the load is increased, though it is almost three (3) years old case. Once again I would request you to take immediate action to increase the load without any further delay. Regards. Tapasi Banerjee 44, Motijheel Avenue FL-4/C Kolkata - 700074
                i have applied additional load in the year 2010.from the last few months i have been observing that there is some kind of burning smell in the meter box.previously i have complained several times they were about to come but no one has given any response.therefore am facing voltage fluctuation from the last one month.because of very low voltage my ac machine has stopped to work.kindly respond to this complaint immediately.i request u to take handful action as soon as possible without any further casual delay ..My name is Behata Vizia Kumar ...Residential address is L.M.C.Sarani, Buxarah, Howrah-711110 LP.1/10 Consumer NO -[protected] Consumer Id no -[protected]contact no-[protected]

P C Tibrewal
                  May 17, 2014

From: P C Tibrewala Customer ID: [protected] Dear Sir/Madam, May kindly go through following facts: 1. I am paying my electricity bills through ECS option. 2. My March, 14 bill no. [protected] was a 'zero' amount bill & thus no amount was payable no amount was paid by my Banker M/s HSBC. 3. In spite of this, for the month of April, 14 a bill no. [protected] cum- disconnection notice was issued to me. 4. When my representative visited your office, he was made to pay Rs. 250 (the billed amount without rebate) and un-necessarily was asked for to submit a no. of documents. In the meantime, the payment was made through ECS also. I am not sure whether this lapse has taken place due to some problem in your billing software or intentionally with mala fide intention but it has caused high mental agony to me and my family. I would request you to please get the issue examined so that it does not recur with me or/and other customers and also take appropriate action for adjustment of extra amount paid by me in my subsequent bills. Waiting eagerly for your reply. P C Tibrewala Mobile [protected] email- [protected]@gmail.com

Amanat Tahseen
                    May 17, 2014

My consumer no is [protected]. There is power supply cut from 6 am. We have called up ur customer care for many times. However no result yet. We have been suffering like anything in this hot summer. Know I got ((DM-CESCLM: Dear Consumer, We have attended your complaint (Docket No. [protected]). Trust that your supply has been restored, else contact our Call Center)) this but supply is off. EACH AND EVERY DAY I FACING THIS KINDS OF PROBLEM.As a valuable customer of CESC i am requesting u to take immediate action to fix it up. This kind of poor performance and service from brand like CESC is not expected. Thus do something to help us to regain our belief on CESC. Thanks & Rgds, T, HAQ Mob:- [protected]. 2 DHOBIA BAGAN, KAMARHATI, KOL 7000 58
                    Mar 30, 2022
                    Feb 25, 2022
                    CESC Limited

Tarun Kumar Kusari
                      from Bharuch, Gujarat
                      May 16, 2014

Sir, Please refer my complaint details No. [protected], [protected] and [protected]. The problem as reported remain same. No improvement of your services have been noticed. However your representative(s) visited the site and assured that a major rectification/alteration is required in distribution system which they may take up within short time. The condition is beyond expectation from the esteemed service provider like you. There was some improvement notice for two to three days after my last complaint. Your personal intervention is requested. Thanking you. Yours faithfully, Tarun Kumar Kusari Cons No. [protected] and [protected]

kenneth francis
                        May 14, 2014

Dear Sir, My Consumer No.is [protected] and I have paid an amount of Rs.1916.49 twice for March 2014 bill as the Online malfunctioning was there.The United Bank Head Office has informed that the money has gone to CESC on 04/05/2014 twice for the same bill ie:1916.49 X 2 = Rs.3833.00.Kindly arrange to refund the excess credited in the account. Mobile No . [protected] Thanks and regards. K.Francis, CM UBI R.O Barasat. Soliciting an early action on the subject.

supriya kumar dhar
                          from Jalpaiguri, West Bengal
                          May 14, 2014

On 13.05.2014 on line payment was done for april 2014 bill, but payment receipt for consumer no: [protected] was not generated, payment released from sbi & i received sms from bank.Transaction ref no:igu2471766 for rs.556.49 on 13/05/2014 09:49:46

Consumer no:[protected]
                          Transaction reference no :igu2471766
                          Payment done rs.556.49 date & time 13.05.2014 at 09.49:46
                          Kindly send the receipt through e-mail i.E. [protected]@hotmail.com

Supriya kumar dhar
                          M.No: [protected]

arun chatterjee
                            from Jodhpur, Rajasthan
                            May 13, 2014

My meter was read on 9th may 2014, while I was away to office.. The concerned CESC official who came to take the reading mentioned, most impolitely, to my wife that the meter reading area was too dirty for him to take a proper reading., I wonder whether the company trains these officials on manners and soft skills..especially how senior women citizens should be spoken to. He also stated that he would not be responsible for errors in the reading that may creep in(WHY????) this is very close to a threat.He said in Bengali" ulto palta reading hoye gele boojhben" ( meaning WHAT????) If a wrong reading is taken it should be the sole responsibility of CESC, not the customer. Can we not request CESC to send sensible people to take meter readings, not impolite and rude personnel.. thank you, Arun K Chatterjee, 82 Philips Housing Estate, Kolkata 700008. consumer no: [protected] cell..[protected]
                            Myself Surajit Kanrar, my consumer number is [protected], I would like to complain you that last month the meter reading schedule was changed in twice. First schedule was 21st - 23rd May 2014, then changed to 26th - 28th May 2014 and finally it declared as 27th - 29th May 2014. But till end nobody came to take reading.

It was found on 31st May that the energy consumption was approximately 89 Wh whereas today I received the electricity bill through mail and it shows only 27 Wh consumption. So definitely it will give a financial loss for me in the next month when your people take the original reading of the meter. The slab will change (Approximately 60+89 = 149 ) accordingly tariff will change and I have to pay Rs 100.00 extra (minimum approximation).

It very much unjustified. Can you answer me that why I will pay extra for your mismanagement or your fault.
                            Dear Sir, We are getting this message for the last few months.Many thanks for informing us the schedule of meter reading.But very sorry to inform you that for the last two months nobody turned up for meter reading.Please do the needful.

Bhaskar Mitra
                            Today (30.07.2014) we have received sms regarding meter reading person will come to take reading at around 9.00 am but later after 12.30 pm we came to know that except our house the reading person has completed all in our locality. Please look into the matter seriously or else they will impose the same as the previous month bill.

Arun Moulik
                            Con. No. - [protected]
                            31, Iswar Gupta Road,
                            Dum Dum Cantonment,
                            Kolkata - 700028
                            Ph - [protected]
                            This is to inform you that for the last few months, no one is coming to our vicinity to take the meter readings.There are no specific dates for the person to come. We are receiving average bills for the last few months. Requesting you to please look into it. Atleast we should be notified as to when the person will come to take the reading. We are facing a lot of problems regarding this.
                            Our consumer number is [protected].

Thanks &amp;amp; Regards,
                            Amitava Maitra
                            the scheduled meter reading for [protected] on 12/09/2014 or 15/09/2014.It is difficult to stay home on two different working days to provide access to the meter reading panel. Moreover these two dates are not consecutive.It is requested to make the reading date streamlined &amp;amp; strictly on a single day.
                            My consumer no is [protected].

No prior information about meter reading date for Nov&#039;14 was mailed.

Resulting my house was under lock and key.

Please charge me for 17 units only.[protected].

Please also mail me next meter reading day.

N Chatterjee.

Non receipt of shares duly transfer

sir, In spite of my all efforts CESC LTD is not giving my share certificates duly transfer. Details are attached. Ajay Kumar Lashkari date.14/03/2015 Certificate no.[protected] Dist.no.[protected],[protected] No. of shares. 100

Frequent Power Cut

Only a few homes including mine, face frequent power cut supplying power from LP 18/4 at Kamar Para Lane, Baranagar. Pl arrange to change the phase of the cable connecting Con No.[protected]
                            This is MOST URGENT.
                            at the earliest.
                            This is MOST URGENT.
                            My electricity meter last meter reading was on 31/05/2017. After that no meter reading was done .I received a average monthly bill for the month of June 2017. You are requested to look into the matter and see that the meter reading is done every month. My consumer no is [protected]

( Narain Jethanand Bahrunani)
                            9 Comments

hanum18
                              May 8, 2014

Our Consumer No.[protected], Meter No-2889062, Customer Id-[protected], Bill NO.-[protected],
                              we gland to complain you that our monthly bill amount was very excessive in march 2014 as last six months billing.encl:(09/13-87 units, 10/13-282 units, 11/13-45 units, 12/13-44 units, 01/14-40 units, 02/14-150 units, )
                              and as there 03/14-1134 units(march), so please check our meter and solve the billing problem as soon as possible.
                              Our present meter reading -44440 as 08/05/2014 on 3.00 pm.

FOR HANUMANDASS HARISHANKAR
                              12, NOORMAL LOHIA LANE, KOLKATA-700007
                              pH:[protected] / 22731498, Email id:- [protected]@gmail.com

Anirudha Dey
                                May 3, 2014

Hi I need to file a complain against CESC(Calcutta Electricity Supply Corporation). After 2 or three months the electricity bill's are getting too high regularly .Its 288 units in march 2014 where as in previous months that was 117, 115, 110 respectively .In October 2014(which is festival month in Bengal ) the consumption reaches 379 units.Now please take a note of our daily appliances :1 ceiling fan, 2 florescent tube, one 15 " t.v., one computer and one 145 litter's Refrigerator . This is happening regularly .We have already filled several complaint for it . They just checked the meter and replaced it and new one and found that was faulty on that time and they made the bill reduced on that time. But again this falter happened .And this going to happened after some month again if we pay for this .This may be some electrical theft in our meter or some fault in connection which we are not understanding .As per my concern this amount of consumption is extremely unusual. Please pay kind attention to this and check the issue as we are unable to pay this large amount regularly. consumer no :[protected]

shaktibahadur
                                  May 2, 2014

Address: Howrah, West Bengal

Consumer No. : [protected] Customer Id : [protected] MUKTI BAHADUR, DAKSHIN BUXARAH SIBTOLA, HOWRAH 711 110 Bill No.[protected] for MAR-2014 Dear Sir, This is to inform you that I am also one of your fully satisfied consumer with your services till date but I would like to convey my disappointment towards the bill raised on me for Mar-14 which shows that the uses of 337 units and payable Amount is Rs.2, 400/- (net of rebate) with due date 02/05/2014, Although I have paid my dues today itself but at the same time I would like to request you that the amount of the Bill charged to me is not acceptable and it need to verified with proper way of reading my meter. Also I would like to bring your kind attention towards my average uses of last 6 months which shows between Rs.800/- to Rs.1500/- ( max). Please enquire into the matter; if necessary, please check the meter for faulty reading. An urgent action is requested. The enquiry report may please be sent to my E-mail ID ( bunty.[protected]@gmail.com) Thanks & regards, Mukti Bahadur [protected]
                                  Apr 4, 2022
                                  Feb 25, 2022
                                  CESC Limited

sudsam84
                                    May 2, 2014

Address: Howrah, West Bengal

My consumer no is [protected]. There is power supply cut from 4 am. We have called up ur customer care for 100 times. However no result yet. We have been suffering like anything in this hot summer. There is no drinking water even. There is a patient in my home with critical condition. My docket no is:[protected]. As a valuable customer of CESC i am requesting u to take immediate action to fix it up. This kind of poor performance and service from brand like CESC is not expected. Thus do something to help us to regain our belief on CESC. Thanks & Rgds, Amita Samanta Mob:[protected] 28/1 Bhattacharya Para Lane Howrah-711104

UMASANKAR SAHA
                                      Apr 29, 2014

Meters have been up-graded on 24-04-14 and on 26-04-14 as we have deposited required amount, but cesc men did not up-graded the cables with the mains attached with the meters. Man attended on 26-04-14 asked for additional money for cable changing and man attended on 24-04-14 neither changed the cable nor asked for money for that.
                                      We are bit confused about this matter. Are the old cables fit for ac use? One man asked for money for cable changing and the other did not do that. We are not understanding the matters relating up-gradation of meters for 1.5 ton ac installation although we have already deposited hefty amount of money as cesc asked to do that.
                                      Please let us know what has to be done?

tkb700065
                                        Apr 29, 2014

This is to inform you that you sent the bill for the month of March 2014 of amount Rs. 2080/- which I have already paid through online. You also send the bill for the month of Nov, 13, Dec, 13, Jan, 14, Feb, 14 mentioned that "you do not pay the bill". Due to this I have not got the benefit of normal rebate as per your rate table. So, please take necessary action for the above matter at your earliest. My details are as follows.

Name: Sudhir Kumar Bhattacharjee
                                        91, Lakshmi Narayan Road
                                        PO: Rabindranagar, Kolkata - 65
                                        LP 157/5

Con. No. [protected], Domestic, Customer Id: [protected], Bill no. [protected]

thanking you,

Sudhir K. Bhattacharya

[protected] (M)
                                        Email: [protected]@gmail.com