Star Health And Allied Insurance Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Oct 5, 2025
Complaints 584

File a complaint to Star Health And Allied Insurance

Having problems with Star Health And Allied Insurance?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Star Health And Allied Insurance customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Star Health And Allied Insurance reviews & complaints page 12

UmeshRaj Ojha
Aug 18, 2019

Address: Indralok Phase 3, Thane, Maharashtra, 401105

With reference to below enclosed email addressed to Consumer Grievance
Department of Star Health Insurance, I would like to inform you that Me and
my family underwent for treatment of Loose Motion and hyper dehydration
and submitted my claim along with all relevant documents to Star Health
Insurance.

In this regards, I got an email from M/s Star Health Insurance stating that
"the company is not liable to make any payment under this policy in respect
of any expenses incurred by the insured person for treatment of diseases /
illness / accidental injuries by the system of allopathic medicine given by a
non allopathic medical practitioner. In view of the foregoing, we are expressing our inability to consider your request favorably.

I informed officials of Star Health Insurance that BAMS Doctors are allowed to Practice and Treat with allopathic medicines and sent them a copy of amendment Issued by the concerned government office, in reply again Star Health Insurance sent me same reason for rejecting my claim application.

I then requested to consumer grievance department of Star Health Insurance
to return my premium amount which I paid for the current year as I don’t wish to
continue my policy with them to which they didn’t responded till this date.

I then lodged my complaint with IRDA, In response, I got a call from Insurance company stating that they will pay Rs. 10000 Per policy under Ayushman Scheme to which I denied and told them to either pay me full medical expenses or return back my premium amount which I paid to them, in reply they said that they will send me an email, but even after a week I didn't got any response from their end.

I now wish to lodge complain under consumer court against Insurance company for unnecessary harassment caused to me and for a refund of my Insurance premium.
Star Health And Allied Insurance customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

kanchan.nandi123
    Aug 10, 2019

Address: Tinsukia, Assam, 786171

This has the reference to my “family health optima insurance plan” with policy no. P/70000/01/2020/005004, customer code: aa[protected] and customer name: kanchan nandi wherein my son kunal nandi with customer id no.[protected] was hospitalized in pratiksha hospital, hengrabari, guwahati on 7th august 2019 and discharged on 9th august 2019 and in spite of fulfilling all formalities by me and the hospital my claim was not entertained. I am very much disappointed and angry as i was forced to leave only after clearing all the hospital bills.
    Another dilemma is that before admitting my son in the above mentioned hospital i had consultation with mr. Sanjay sharma, manager, star health insurance and mr. Ravi raj (Cell-+91 [protected])- agent, star health insurance based in delhi and they informed me that i am eligible for the claim and will be duly entertained.
    So my opinion of having health card specially of star company has changed as when i wanted to use it, it has betrayed me. And now i am planning to approach to “consumer forum”.
    Best regards,
    Kanchan nandi
    Customer code: aa[protected]
    Star Health And Allied Insurance customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Daljeey
      Aug 4, 2019

Address: 501 JAYDEV TOWER SECTOR 8, PLOT 32,, CHARKOP , KANDIVALI WEST, MUMBAI, 400067

Star health is number one cheater. I am having thier policy from last 2 year and last time 2018 also i have claimed my father billed but they refund just peanuts by giving us ten different reason. This time they have made height.
      On 6th jun 2019 my father met with an accident
      Pls refer mail below which i sent to starhealth today.

Thanks for the claim settlement which has been processed after 2 months in spite of chasing so much via mail, phone, grivaince and all other team involvement.
      This shows that while taking premium policy bazaar convince so much to get the policy but while claim dispute no one is there to support the individual.

Original claim which we have mentioned was 73000/- on 26th jun.
      My father (Balbir singh) met with an accident on 6th of jun morning, his brain and skull fracture having serious elements after ct scan on the same day.
      We then take him back to home as we thought that it could recover and meanwhile we were searching for the cashless hospital which was not there in win hospital. Wins hospital doctor mentioned in his discharge summary that admit to the hospital same day but we took risk and take him to the home.
      After 2 days his face having serious issues and we then got scared and showed to neurology specialist dr amit shah. He then recommended 2 to 3 days hospitalized and mri at the same time. Mri took same day when we admitted to the hospital.
      In between star heath raised one issue of dr kartik rao medicines and wasted our so much time. I have replied all mails on the same day clearing all their queries.
      On 02.08.19 we got claim reimbursement of 12759/- which we received only the time we hospitalized and the other bills has been rejected.
      They stated that pre - hospitilzation bills we never give. When i asked where it is mentioned no answer.
      I have checked the old brochure of senior citizen red carpet which they have not mentioned anything related to pre hospitalization.
      The new brochure they have mentioned clearly that pre hospitalization 30 days can be taken into consideration.
      First of all star health please don't make the fool of the individual we are there then only the company is running.
      Pre hospitalization the name what you have given is totally wrong. On 6th jun to 11th jun the case is same if you see the history and ct scan reports and mri reports same details you will find during this week.
      So once again my request is to kindly re consider the case and if there is not mentioned then you can't have the right to reject the pre hospitalization.
      If still the issue is not resolved at your end then i have all related documents and proof. I wil have to go to the top management ceo of the star health and other institutional authorities and conusmer court, irda if the claim is not settled with prehospitilization.
      Sep 6, 2019
      Aug 05, 2019
      Star Health And Allied Insurance Customer Care's response

Kindly provide the claim # or policy # so that we could go through and get back to you

Team Star Health
      ClaimNo:0162588, BALBIR SINGH, Documents received - Claim under process.For status = http://www.starhealth.in/claims-status

This is just a formality purpose you are doing i know. Until and unless i write a mail to CEO or CMO nothing may be happen.. within couple of days i need a results otherwise i will be taking further steps on how to work with you guys.

Sudarshan Hg
        Jul 29, 2019

cashless approval not provided

Address: Hebbagodi, 560100

Sir my p/141119/01/2019/001095. Cli/2020/141119/0291742.in report dengue positive came and plate count 155000 came doctor told to admit the patient. So we admited in hospital when policy taken they told cash less now thy delaying for cash less approval. Very sad. I am rafer dont take star health insurance. Stupid, cheating star health. I will to court u should refund my 2 years money 26000....
        baskaran2805
        Jul 29, 2019

spam marketing calls from star health insurance

Of late, i have been receiving lot of annoying spam calls from m/s. Star health and allied insurance. These irritating calls not only consume my time, but also cause rs.70 per each incoming call as i am on international roaming with vodafone. I attended 3 of 11 such calls today (Alas! True caller app shows the caller id only when the call is over or missed and not during the active call). I am desperate now to find a way to stop this menace....
        ganga1234
        Jul 21, 2019

Address: Chennai, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 601204

Claim intimation no. :cli/2019/111117/0380605
        Policy no. :p/111117/01/2018/011683
        Main member name :v. Rajesh kumar
        Insured patient name :v sasikala
        My mother undergone a fibroid uterus surgery last year september 2018 and applied for reimbursement and followed all the claim process and submitted relevant documents
        The reimbursement is for 38000 and iam really dissatisfied with the support and would not recommend any one for the insurance anymore
        From the date of admission iam following with the claim process but they keep on dragging without much reason
        Really dissatisfied and unhappy with the support and wasting all my time
        Aug 23, 2019
        Jul 23, 2019

Our officers contacted and briefed you on what details are required to process your claim. Kindly submit the same at the earliest. Thank you

Team Star Health
        I haven’t received any calls from Star health, please get back to me Rajeshkumar
        +[protected] through call/watsapp please

Pgp1980
          Jul 18, 2019

Address: B/803, Pawan building, mohan srishti 1 chs,near patripul, kalyan (E), Thane, Maharashtra, 421306

Hello, my name is pravin pandey. Today, An agent from star health insurance company whose number is Star Health Insurance [protected] called me up and without intimating any details from his side just started up about the policy. When i said i have one for my family, he spoke about the senior citizen policy, which coincidently i havent taken for my parents, so i heard for him. But i didnt like somehow the premium rates ao denied to take it, on which he started being lil bit rude initially and said, "tomorrow if your father dies... ", i immediately stopped him and said everyone is going to die. Please, i dont want to take any..after this he just got pissed off and started in abusing way and said, "agar lena nahi tha to itne der tak suna kyu, aur time kyu waste kiya.."..

I seriously want to complaint about such agents who do not have any knowledge about selling and sharing things and play with peoples emotions..
          I hope that even star health will help to find out this person and take the needful action againat him, if not, i really worry about the syar health insurance company.
          Well i am also writing the same content in all the platforms of media as i am really hurt qith this and want to teach such agents a real lesson that a common man is not at all helpless now..
          I will write this content in facebook, twitter and also instagram an will also float it in different groups of Whatsapp..

Pravin Pandey
          Dear Sir/Ma'am,

We have been in trouble by the increase in the number of street dogs. They are wild and chasing the people. Please send a dog van to catch them. I hope you understand the situation.

Address:
          nm, guda
          atttapu
          rajendranagar
          Hyderabad

Pawan

Stella francis
            Jul 11, 2019

P/161130/01/2020/003087
            Edwin

Why there is no revert in my previous complain and it's marked as resolved. How my issue will get resolved without any resolution. I want to know the below details prioritized.

We have received the message from star health insurance to do reimbursement of my claim. I want to know what is the step. How have to do the reimbursement. There is any claim form. Please share that. And address. And how many days it will take to receive the money. Confirm asap.
            Jul 12, 2019
            Dear Ms. Stella, you could download the claim form from the given link (https://www.starhealth.in/sites/default/files/CLAIMFORM.pdf). You could submit the claim to Star Health & Allied Insurance Company, No 15 Balaji Towers 1st Floor, Whites Lanes OF Whites Road, Royapettah, Chennai - 600014 (Behind Sathyam Car Parking).
            Team Star Health
            Jul 12, 2019
            Updated by Stella francis
            Please confirm how many days it will take to process after submission of all requested claim details

Stella francis
              Jul 9, 2019

P/161130/01/2020/003087
              Edwin

Dear sir, we have gone through your claim. Denial stands on your claim, request you to submit the claim for reimbursement with all the previous medical records and investigation reports
              Team star health

We have received above message from star health insurance to do reimbursement of my claim. I want to know what is step. How have to do the reimbursement. There is any claim form. Please share that. And address. And how many days it will take to receive the money. Confirm asap.
              I have done my family health insurance policy before 2 years now I am hospitalize in companys registered hospital but insurance company didn't giving me policy benefits wich they promised me before buying policy I would like to complain against star health and allied insurance company limited
              Hi this is murugan our claim no cli/2020/181114/0159080,

medical amount rs.245687/- but claimed amount:rs:156802/-

balance amount rs.88885/- ?

please don't apply star health insurance
              mgjngo's reply, Jul 9, 2019
              yes this is true. Fake commitment for star health insurance only.

Jul 8, 2019

Address: 560091

Hello team,

I am sandeep kumar m, aged about 30 years from bangalore. (Incident started from may 2018 and still continuing)

I was looking for a health insurance policy online. I got a call from a company and they said they are from exide life insurance and they have a combo offer of star health insurance with exide life insurance term insurance.
                They sent an executive and i signed all the application for both exide life insurance and star health insurance term policy.
                I got the bond for exide life insurance but i never got health cards for my parents.
                I started calling the executive who collected the application forms from me and he said that it would come by post within couple of weeks.
                The calls continued and even after 6 months i never got anything.
                After the executives phone number was not answering and there was no communication.
                After almost 10 months i reached directly to exide life insurance and they said i was cheated as they never had any combo offer as such and i informed them about the things happened to me and requested them to cancel the policy as i was looking for health insurance policy and not term insurance. They said it is not possible and if cancelled i would get only 10% of money.

After that i sent a message to the executive stating that i would launch a police complaint and suddendly i got a call from an executive stating that she is from exide life insurance and she said there was some technical problem so they could not send the health cards.

As i understood from exide when i visited that they never had such policies, i said the executive to cance l my policy and refund my money.
                She asked me to write and send it to a person via whatsapp so that she can cancel the bond and refund the complete money.

But after a long follow up they never refunded my money.

In between i got a message that my next premium is due for payment and it would be auto detected, i called the executive and asked her to stop this as i have already requested to cancel the policy.

She said she would take the request and cancel the auto debit, but my money got deducted.

Then i started to do some research then i understood that it was an executive from star health insurance and she lied to me as an executive from exide.

So this was a complete cheating form both the insurance companies.

Kindly request you to do something to stop this type of cheating to innocents from these insurance companies.

Contact details of the fraudulents.

Deepak kumar (Stated he is from exide life insurance): [protected]

Divya (Stated she is from exide but she is from star health insurance) : [protected]
                Jul 09, 2019
                Dear Sir / Madam, Request you to kindly provide the policy # if you have and your contact details so that we could verify and get back to you

Team Star Health
                Jul 09, 2019
                Updated by [email protected]
                Policy number :03785182

Contact Number: [protected]

Email:[protected]@gmail.com
                Exide Life Insurance Policy No.03785182

No:[protected]

Stella francis
                  Jun 30, 2019

P/161130/01/2020/003087
                  Edwin zachariah
                  I got admitted my father in rabindrathan hospital ambattur on 26 june 2019 due to breathing issue. We have not received any messages or mail from insurance company even the insurance company was not ready to pay our claim amount. Has a genuine customer this is first time my father got admitted in the hospital however they are making delay to give the claim amount to us. We are not happy with the service. Please help us.
                  Jul 01, 2019
                  Dear Sir, We have gone through your claim. Denial stands on your claim, request you to submit the claim for reimbursement with all the previous medical records and investigation reports
                  Team Star Health
                  Jul 01, 2019

P/161130/01/2020/003087
                  Edwin zachariah
                  Today we have received reply from insurance company mr. Daniel to do reimbursement of my claim. Please confirm us why we have to go for reimbursement whether we have cash less claim and moreover my father still in hospital. We have clearly mentioned that this is first time we admitting our father in hospital and this is not pre-planned then why the claim was not processed till the time. Has a genuine customer we are facing issues with such a way and do not have any source for hospital bill settlement. Clarify us one thing why policy got issued before getting confirming those things about the health of insured. We are very stressed on your approach and we want this to be process today.
                  Jul 01, 2019

P/161130/01/2020/003087
                  Edwin zachariah
                  When the cash less insurance amount will get process. Tomorrow my father getting discharge from hospital and who was the hell responsible for the claim amount. Whether insurance company or hospital. From hospital end they are saying my father having issues now only and same has been informed to you but we have received replay from your end that as per hospital record customer claim denied.
                  Please let we know why policy got issued if claim not getting processing. There is no use to have policy with you. We highly irritated and disappointed.

pankaj
                    from Mathura, Uttar Pradesh
                    Jun 28, 2019

Address: Agra, Uttar Pradesh

My self pankaj nagpal and i have star health policy buy on p/161130/01/2019/015681 and i am addmitted in hospital on 27 june for breathing issue and inform as well starhealth for addmitted now star health reject my claim for preexiting desases first of that mnd is dangerous deases and no can hide my deases dignosed after emg and emg conduct on december in gangaram hospital dr. Anshu rohtangi also crossed check no piror histroy mnd after that my claim reject for said already exist dont treat be a like this ita s seviour issue i am buying this policy for my further help but i feel this my life bigger mistake i will byu this policy from star health because already some person told me byu applo munich dont byu star health but i am trust on star health but today relaize my life blundder mistak

I will file compalint on prime minister portal and as well court because this is life related concern and i am very much disappointed for that because god forbid someone's motor neuron disease is it is the world's worst disease. And stra health reject my claim for reason already known. Not accepteble i will take seviour action against on stra health
                    Star health insurance has been calling repeatedly calling, even after refusing and asking them not call me. I also registered on their DND list, but I am still getting calls.

Vdchitre14
                      Jun 20, 2019

Address: 411038

Consumer complaints logo
                      menuSubmit ComplaintSearch
                      Home iconHome
                      Question iconQuestions
                      FAQFAQ
                      Search
                      search
                      Sign InSign in
                      © 2019 Consumer Complaints Forum
                      If you have any constructive thoughts, creative ideas, or reasonable offers, please, contact us immediately via E-mail

InsuranceStar Health And Allied Insurance spam phone calls
                      Star Health And Allied Insurance — spam phone calls

2 Reviews
                      Chennai, Chennai District, Tamil Nadu, India
                      Dony Paul on Jan 22, 2018
                      I receive phone calls from star health insurance on regular basis on my phone.
                      I has become a headache now, even during driving, during meetings and many such occasions. I do not have any idea how they have accessed my number.
                      I have tried a solution for this in their website and other portals, none of those helped to sort this issue out.
                      Kindly help to block this call from star health insurance
                      The following are the numbers which they
                      I PUSHPA MARAM ID NO[protected] DOB 11/3/1958 I have not recevied renewal receipt . please send me recepit for the year 2019.you cheak the details of payment through bank.though I am waiting for my receipt all the way .please send me recepit as soon as possible.

Suja Sarath
                        from Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu
                        Jun 17, 2019

Address: SUJA SARATH, SARADANANTHAM, PRAYAR (NORTH), OACHIRA 690547, PHONE: 9447431246, Alappuzha, Kerala, 690547

I was submitted claim for bill no.0672232 in the name of Suja Sarath, near about RS.10000/=(O.P. Patient) in the name of April 2019. Out of this I have received an amount of Rs. 1528/= only. Till date, I have not received the balance claim amount. . Please take immediate action in this regard and let me know the status either through mail Id suja.[protected]@gmail.com or contact [protected]

Malay Chakravorty
                          Jun 13, 2019

Address: Vivekananda Marg, Vandana Apartment, Khordha, Odisha, 751002

I have submitted my blood test report with bill on 24th of November 2018 for RS. 3000/- but till date I have not received any response nor payment. This is not at all accepted from star health like company. I am maintaning your policy since long time ago and this is my first claim. Very much unfortunate.
                          Malay Chakravorty
                          Policy no.- P/191211/01/2019/009693
                          Jul 20, 2019
                          Jun 14, 2019
                          Dear Malay Chakravorty, Your claim has been processed. You should be receiving the payment shortly

Team Star Health
                          Jun 14, 2019
                          Dear Malay Chakravorty, Regret for the inconvinience, Your claim has not been approved, it has been rejected since the tests were done in Non network centre. Our officers contacted and briefed you on the same.

Team Star Health

Gopal4120201
                            Jun 9, 2019

Address: No1 new tank street,Nungambakkam,chennai 600034, Chennai, Tamil Nadu

I purchased a policy (star health optima) vide policy no 191119/01/2019/002714 in the month of july 2017 of worth 10340. On 06 june Madhury halder feel severe appendix pain and doctor of SNR carnival Hospital decided to operate appendectomy on immediate measure and released on 09-06-18. Incurred expenses was 15000 aprox, all the bills and documents submitted but no payment done by star health cheat fund.Whereas an organ appendix is removed from her body there star health send a advisory note to us that, the problem was a minor problem and could be solved as a opd patient case and payment is not possible from their side.
                            Jul 18, 2019
                            Jun 12, 2019
                            Dear Mr. Gopal, Your claim has been processed for payment. You should be receving the payment details shortly

Team Star Health

parthajeet
                              May 21, 2019

Ladies and gentlemen at star health and irda,

I have held this family policy p/171131/01/2019/00145 with starhealth for more than a decade, even before my daughters were born. I got the shock of my life now, there is a 31% hike (From rs. 18520 to rs. 24300) for the same cover??? At this rate, very soon, the premium will be more than the cover!!!

When i called up your contact number today, the ‘senior officer’ (To whom the call was transferred) said the few things. Please listen to the recording that you claim to have:
                              A) hiked because i am now 46 and last year i was 45, and this is done every 5 years
                              B) he said they do not look at the medical history while doing this, but only the age
                              C) so i asked him, whether the health of a baby is riskier or a 20 year old; he said that of a baby. So i have 2 young daughters in the same policy, whose risk is reducing by that logic. Why should you determine the premium on the basis of my age only, when you are charging for 4 including two children. What about the fact that their risk profile is improving?
                              D) he said this is the rule. What? A 31% rule? Can i see the rule? Wha is the logic behind such a rule? If there is such a rule for a 31% hike, it needs to be relooked at

Kindly be rational and logical and not be arbitrary in your judgement. I request you to relook at this 31% so called rule, as with this rule, customers like me who have been with you for one and a half decade get penalized for being with you for so long.

With warm regards,

Parthajeet sarma
                              Jun 28, 2019
                              May 28, 2019
                              Dear Mr. Parthajeet, We have responded to your query through email. Please check your mailbox

Team Star Health

Suren Mishra
                                May 17, 2019

Address: 421301

We have obtained this policy two year back also we have not claim any amount till date with the policy. We have submitted the application for incorporating my child name who was born with rare complications and we were told by our agent today the name of master kanisk mishra could not be incorporated

Reason stated as “hidden information ”

Just like to bring to your notice details of discharge paper were submitted where the complications are mentioned. Also same was communicated to one of the calls that was received by your agent team.

Since i am an nri i have already got my son treated in japan and i want to continue the insurance because i frequently travel to india.

When i raised a complaint we were said that amount has been refunded and we have not received the same till date

Surendra mishra
                                Jun 25, 2019
                                May 22, 2019
                                Dear Mr. Suren Mishra, Request you to kindly provide your policy # so that we could go through and get back to you on this

Team Star Health
                                My name is goverdhan malviya i take your policy but in case your company my policy is cencalled ago 4 months i requst him pls refund my money another i will go to cunsumer forme and case in your company

Regard
                                Goverdhan malviya

chennakeshavulu palusa
                                  May 15, 2019

resignation of agent

Dear sir/madam, i had taken a licence from star health and allied insurance co. Ltd on 23.06.2017. I am applied for professional jobs, my pan is tagged with this company. Do please terminate pan number from star health insurance company.
                                  Name: chennakeshavulu palsua,
                                  Pan no.: blmpp6266r
                                  Phone number:[protected]
                                  Agent code:shaba[protected]
                                  Branch: tarnaka, hyderabad
                                  Emailid:[protected]@gmail.com...
                                  Shah Kaushal
                                  May 13, 2019

Address: 380061

My claim number 074436

I take policy form star health and in policy terms is eligible for 1 knee replacement and maximum amount is rs. 1 lakh after i operate to my mother & all document submit for reimbursement and they reject without any proper reason after i complain in grievance department ans they also not revert proper.

Request to all pls do not take policy from star health,
                                  Jun 22, 2019
                                  May 22, 2019
                                  Dear Mr. Kaushal,

Your claim has been processed and approved for payment

Team Star health