Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 16, 2025
Complaints 10839

File a complaint to Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC]

Having problems with Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] reviews & complaints page 452

Nitesh Khetan
Aug 15, 2014

Dear Sir, Please note that I have booked a ticket from IRCTC. The amount was debited from my credit card but I have not received any PNR number and I have drop 3 mails but I have got no response. Further I was trying to reach out to the customer care from last 6 hrs but every time I have to hear that all our customer care executive are busy. I have drop a mail in the morning but get your response in the evening that the ticket was not booked, when the price shoot up to almost double. I request you not to refund my money and provide me any alternative flight on the same day at the same cost.Ref ( ticket no 66120, 66043) IRCTC is know for its brand and commitment. Hope you will consider my plea and will do the needful. Regards, Nitesh khetan [protected]
Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Sanjay Nageshwar
    Aug 15, 2014

The below are the details of My TDR Transactions Details, I had not travel on this date in this train . My tDR has got rejected. Inspite i had travel to Rajkot, next day thru flight, flight ticker also attached below. TDR filed Train ticket. Transaction ID: [protected]Train No./ Name: 12901/GUJARAT MAILPNR Number: [protected] Date of Journey: 04-Aug-2014 Date Of Boarding: 04-Aug-2014 Date of Booking: 28-Jul-2014 From: BORIVALI (BVI)To: AHMEDABAD JN (ADI)Boarding At: BORIVALI (BVI)Resv Upto: AHMEDABAD JN (ADI)Quota: GENERAL (GN)Class: SECOND AC (2A)Ticket Amount: 1085.0Ticket Type: E-Ticket Passengers Details NameAgeGenderStatusCoach IDBerth No/ WL No SANJAY NAGESHWAR 31 Male RAC 1 TDR Details Reason For TDR: Passenger Not Travelled.TDR Filing Date: 05-Aug-2014 13:38:27 HRS TDR Status: EDR RepudiateCancellation ID: [protected]TDR Zone: WESTERN RAILWAY (WR) FLIGHT TICKET USED FOR TRAVEL Traveler(s) Information: NAGESHWAR/SANJAY MR Date Dep Time From To Flight No. Terminal Airline 05AUG14 0510 BOM RAJKOT, IN S24397 TERMINAL 1B - DOMESTIC JET LITE E-Ticket Number(s) Booking Reference: ETKT[protected] ABACUS: YRTKTD/1B, AIRLINE: S2/OQMAPC, Ticket Issue Date 04AUG14 IATA Number 14349274 Issuing Airline JET LITE Customer Number Issuing Agent: ANUSHREE HOLIDAYS PVT/2IC8APP Tour Code:
    Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

rajun_raju
      Aug 15, 2014

Hi, i am using irctc from last 10 years, due to some reason my old account has been removed (not deactivated) in irctc Migration. on 13 Aug 2014 i have created account on Irctc and 14 Aug morning i book the ticket and same Evening i cancelled the ticket using Irctc. On 15 Aug Morning while trying to log in to Irctc i am getting "invalid credential", the ni am trying to reset the password it is giving "Your password could not be reset". I have to go my home town to some urgency. Then i called to Customer care[protected], they said send a email to [protected]@irctc.co.in then they will resolve my issue.i Send email and with necessary info to [protected]@irctc.co.in and again i called to customer care then they informed fantastic thing " irctc will take 24 hours to process the any request", i may receive on 16 Aug which is not useful. Due to Irctc website password issue ( same password worked 11 hours before) i am not bale to book the ticket. Ticket are not available to book now.no use getting password now (10:45 AM) on 15 Aug. Irctc excuses not work here, instead of says excuses, better to improve the quality of service.
      Till now issue not resolved, Daily they are sending password and it is not working.
      i do not have any hope i can book dusssara tickets
      same problem here with me also my user id is pulakeshg and i forget my password, and whenever i try to create a new login its showing my mobile no [protected] is already registered and when i try to reset password with my security answer its showing "Your password could not be reset" what to do???
      Same problem here also .. very disgusting
      Same here... IRCTC is pathetic

sneha2011
        Aug 14, 2014

D/Sir When I book my ticket from irctc.co.in with my user ID-mamibam every time transaction failed and ticked not booked but amount deducted from bank.I request you kindly do not charge for failed transaction and avoid frequently failed transaction so that i process for next time but due to amount deduction it is very difficult to process further. My suggestion is to IRCTC pl. stop this nonsense type failure or not charge for fail transaction from bank. Subash Chandra Goud Mob-[protected] email id- [protected]@gmail.com

Dayananda Behera
          Aug 13, 2014

Address: Gautam Buddh Nagar, Uttar Pradesh

Dear, Sir/Madam, My name is Dayananda Behera. I have a confirmed ticket from NZM to SBP on 14/08/2014 at 08:30 AM, boarding from NZM in Hirakund Express and train number is 18508. But I want to cancel this ticket on 13/08/14 at 08:45 PM. As chart has not been prepared by this time, the ticket should be cancel. But it is not cancelling. Also I talked to customer care, and they replied it will not be cancel and I have to file TDR. For which 50% cancellation charge will be applicable. AS per rule before charting, the ticket should be cancel. But it is not cancelling due to IRCTC problem, for which I will be penalize. Thanks and Regards, Dayananda Behera

vivekuniyal
            Aug 13, 2014

Today on 13 Aug 2014 at 10:04 AM, i booked three Ticket under Tatkal quota in Train no.19106-HW ADI MAIL from haridwar to jaipur. The amount of Rs 1226.24 was deducted from my credit card of HDFC bank but no ticket was generated. Pls refunf my amoun. Rgds Vivek [protected] vivek.[protected]@gmail.com

Kumar Avanish
              Aug 13, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam, This is to bring to your kind notice of the misbehavior of the raliway booking male clerk and the incharge with me today on August 13, 2014 (12 pm) when i had visited IRCTC ticket booking counter at BDA complex, Kormangala, Banagalore. Couple of statements and words that were uttered by the raliway booking counter male clerk. 1. I am from Patna, Bihar. 2. Chup raho na yaar I would like to ask how does it matter to me where the clerk belongs to? And who gave the rights to a government servant to address passengers as 'Yaar'. I am not the booking clerks friend. I am just a passenger standing at the reservation counter to book tickets. On bringing the above points to the notice of the booking incharge and asking him to allow me to lodge a complain in the IRCTC complain register, the incharge refused to hand over the complaim register and started using abusive words which is not acceptable by a bonafide citizen. Since, the booking clerks/incharges name was not displayed on the counter, I asked them to let me know their name so that I can lodge an e-complaint but they simply refused to disclose their name either and left me helpless. I was terrified and shocked on the way these booking clerks and the so called incharge behaved. If this is the way these booking clerks represent railways to the outer world, I would prefer flying rather than travelling by Indian railways. Request you to please investigate into the the issue and take appropriate action against the guilty to build trust among the passengers. Appreciate your quick action. Many Thanks, Avanish

Haritha Sandeep
                Aug 13, 2014

Premium special trains category, while booking, the message has been displayed that the fare would vary from the actual fare, but there is no exact confirmed fare of the ticket before ticket booking confirmation or at least the variation of the ticket from that how much it would vary up to...its an inconvenience to the user, it would be better if there is a prior notice of the fare that is going to be debited from the bank account...The price variance is tough to handle for the low to medium range people...

dipps
                  Aug 13, 2014

We had booked to and fro ticket from Mumbai Howrah mail on 5th August boarding Dadar.To my surprise train was late by 6hrs 30min.How can a train be late from the starting point.Nevertheless, We boarded and reached our destination at 11:30p.m.in the night. 3Tier AC compartment has become like a II class general compartment.The pillows were in a real bad shape so were the bed sheets. We had booked our return journey from the same train i.e.howrah mumbai mail on 10th of August thinking it is supposed to be a super fast train.While enquiring about the status we came to know the train has got cancelled. How can they cancel the train without informing the passengers.This is such an irresponsible behaviour. What if someone has an emergency. Atleast IRCTC can inform the registered customers whose id's and contact nos are registered with them.

NEGI2017
                    Aug 13, 2014

I logged on irctc reservation site for getting tatkal ticket during morning session. I failed to get the ticket as it was showing various errors. It appears that claim of railway to provide smooth service for booking of e-ticket through internet is not fully true and is baseless.

feroz531
                      Aug 13, 2014

I am getting invalid user during tatkal hours even if the credentials are correct.Now if I try to sign up for the IRCTC account, a message Sign up not allowed during tatkal hours is displayed and login credentials are asked.After entering the login credentials in this manner, I am able to go to the intermediate page through login but now when i proceed to Bookings and Transactions I am getting a message..."SORRY, TRY AGAIN"

Srinivasarao Akella
                        from Tuni, Andhra Pradesh
                        Aug 12, 2014

Address: East Godavari, Andhra Pradesh

It is our regular experience that what ever be the booking in advance, only upper births are allotted irrespective of the Senior Citizens, though availability of births is quite high.. What is the Logic? How many days in advance is required to get lower births for Senior Citizens ?. It is ridiculous to allot upper births to Senior Citizens. It is surprising people booking afterwards are being allotted lower births Please see at least Senior Citizens get lower births. Could you kindly give us the mail ID of the Minister for Railways to ventilate our agony. Akella Srinivasarao (Senior Citizen) [protected]@rediffmail.com [protected]

arvisingh
                          Aug 12, 2014

Address: Howrah, West Bengal

Dear Sir, i had booked a ticket for two passenger from Howrah to Morena on dated 5th july in train 12177 Chambal Express for journey on 25 th july 2014 and scheduled departure time was 17.45. when we reached at howrah station we found that train departure time was changed from 17.45 to 22.50. So we did not travelled by that train & filed an TDR on 21.30 hours for Full Fare Refund of RS 3000.00 as per rule of railway that if train is late by three hours passenger will get full fare refund. but on dated 31st july i got refunded by IRCTC only rs 750.00 instead of RS 3000.00 MY PNR no. is [protected]. please do the needfull as train was late by five hours at Howrah Station.

ratedr83
                            Aug 12, 2014

Greetings Me and my wife were travelling in AC compartment to Goa from Dadar on 8th August 2014 in C1 compartment. I am sorry to say but i always had held Jan shatabdi in very high regards. But this journey was really very disappointing. As soon as i took my seat there were cockroches coming from all four sides. Cleaner in trains do not even border to clear thsi while train is at station. I had the same experience while coming back from Goa in the same train on 11th august. From now on i shall have two minds whether or not i should travel by Shatabdi again. I want some one from your side to please talk to me over this issue. My name is FArhad Modak and my number is [protected] Regards

Durga Prasad Khuntia
                              Aug 12, 2014

Transaction ID: [protected] Train No./ Name: 12846/BHUBANESHWAR EXP PNR Number: [protected] Date of Journey: 29-Jul-2014 From: KRISHNARAJAPURM (KJM) To: BHUBANESWAR (BBS) Quota: GENERAL (GN) Class: SLEEPER CLASS (SL) Ticket Amount: 625.0 Ticket Type: E-Ticket I have filed a TDR on the same day 29-Jul-2014, but still it has not been approved and no refund received. Reason For TDR: Passenger Not Travelled. TDR Filing Date: 29-Jul-2014 21:51:57 HRS TDR Status: EDR Repudiate Cancellation ID: [protected] TDR Zone: EAST COAST RAILWAY (EO) I have not travelled on that day. Due to some emergency I travelled in RAC 3 days before on 26-Jul-2014 via Chennai. Here is my last tour details. Transaction ID: [protected] PNR No: [protected] Train No./Name: 02808 / MAS SRC EXP Date of Journey: 26-Jul-2014 Date Of Boarding: 26-Jul-2014 Class: SLEEPER CLASS (SL) Boarding: CHENNAI CENTRAL (MAS) Quota: GENERAL (GN) Ticket Type: E-Ticket Due to unavailability of Internet, I couldn't cancel it before chart preparation, for which I filed the TDR on the same day at night 9:51 PM. Please investigate once again, there must be mistake by TTE or status report updation and kindly approve my TDR so that some portion of my paid amount can be refunded. I hereby declare that the details furnished above are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. Regards, Durga Prasad Khuntia mob: [protected] email: [protected]@gmail.com

Pravara Soft
                                Aug 12, 2014

Its looking as big miracle of railways.. When ever we tried to book tatkal...for Train No./ Name: 12864/YPR HOWRAH EXP at 9.59 it will show 260 tickets for SL and other clasess...at 10.01..it will show WL113..how can this is possbile.. Is raiways maintaing any other booking slot or SW to capture all these seats... Please clarify

rathinme
                                  Aug 11, 2014

Address: Valsad, Gujarat

Today (I0.08.2014) tried for AC 3-tier e-ticket of 12703f Falaknuma Express from Howrah to Secunderabad (Date of Journey - 11.10.2014) just at 8-00 AM and found Waiting list 20. Whereas sufficient sleeper tickets were available. It is not the issue for today and for this train only. This is the trend all over India and for all trains for each and everyday. I am sure some group of people is creating this problem for their vested interest. Requesting Railway ministry to find out this criminal group. Also requesting Railway ministry to increase no. of 3-tier AC coaches to all the trains.If you study you will find that AC 3-tier coaches are most popular and most demanded. Please reply me. My e-mail address is RN.[protected]@microinks.com.

sattu_13
                                    from Raipur, Chhattisgarh
                                    Aug 11, 2014

Address: Bilaspur, Chhattisgarh

I am travelling from last 4 years in shivnath express (train no.- 18239), every day having unnecessary delay and we are facing more problem, my home is in bhilai chhattisgarh every time I reached at bhilai late night 12 o'clock, I already give so many complain but no result.

Always this train is late, korba to akatara distance is only 66 KM, from korba he dispatched on 17.45 & akaltara arrival time is 19.23 but every time train arrived after 8 O'clock, 40 min necessarily late,

In case of no immediate action taken from Indian railway, than i forward this case to consumer court for unnecessary creating problem for passengers.

Tuio
                                      Aug 10, 2014

Hi sir/madam, On 5th August 2014, I was travelling in Thiruvananthapuram-Chennai Superfast(12696) train and inside it I had a bitter(shocking) experience. My baggage was damaged by a rat which was running inside the compartment. I was shocked when I pulled my backage which I kept below my seat. Rat jumped through my body and I was in shock for couple of minutes. This is not the first time I am having this sort of an experience inside compartments. I am interested to know what sort of actions you guys are going to take to avoid these sort o[censored]gly and dangerous situations for passengers. Thanks and regards, Vineeth Mohan.

harsimran jeet singh 13
                                        Aug 10, 2014

I Travelled on 9th august from Mumbai to Delhi via Garibrath Express. The Details are provided as Ticket Details Transaction ID : [protected] PNR No. : [protected] Train No. & Name : 12909 / NZM GARIB RATH Date of Booking : 16-Jun-2014 Class : THIRD AC Quota : GENERAL Date of Journey : 09-Aug-2014 From : BDTS To : NZM Boarding At : BDTS Date Of Boarding : 09-Aug-2014 Reservation Upto : NZM Passenger Details Sl. No. Name Age Gender Status Coach Seat / Berth / WL No 1 H SINGH 26 Male RAC 22 Fare Details Distance : 1366 KM Ticket Fare : Rs. 880 Service Charge : Rs. 22.47 Total Fare : Rs. 902.47 * Finally i was allotted seat in G7 Seat no. 9. The collection for difference of fare of 115 was done by TT but receipt for the same was not given. Despite of repetitive reminders to the TT the receipt was not given. Later, in the morning TT was nowhere to be seen. Therefore, strict actions to be taken against such TT and the collected moey directly goes into their pocket stating the reason that person didnt travel. Kindly Take an action it to avoid corruption.