Southern Railway Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Aug 12, 2025
Complaints 745

File a complaint to Southern Railway

Having problems with Southern Railway?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Southern Railway customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Southern Railway reviews & complaints page 34

Jessika
Jun 13, 2011

Address: Madurai, Tamil Nadu

There are more train to chennai via Madurai. Always all the trains are full and so crowd in ladies compartment. So, for madurai people there is only one train (Pandiya Express) from madurai to chennai. Always more than 50 ladies come from madurai to chennai. But in pandiyan express they provide a very small compartment for ladies. It's not enough for all the people. In that compartment maximum 35 members can go. But daily more than 50 members are coming in that train by sitting near to the toilet and near to the steps. That is not healthy and that is not safty for the ladies.

saravanankavi
    Jun 11, 2011

2000 thousand employees are working for more than 15 years in Southern Railway Employees Co operative Credit Society Ltd. chennai ..3 Till now we had not received any payment recpit for our PF deductions .No pf number was given till now.Simply they are putting an entry in a pass book yearly once. we request to furnish the details how many o[censored]s are in the rolls of pf office and kindly whether our amount are credited in PFoffice. Pramasivam
    You can give complain to PF office directly or thru on line http://www.epfindia.com/
    FRIENDLY RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN RAILWAY EMPOLYEES GROUPING FORMING AS ONE SOCITEY
    HYDERABAD MISSION CHARMINAR
    For transparency and convenience of the members on their accounts, why digitization not to be done for the accounting mechanism of SRECCS/Chennai & Trichy till such time? Moreover, these societies till following the stone age system of keeping books & registers with manual entry by employing double the staff. It is suspicious that why these societies are not implementing digitization in accounting system so the members can view their accounts at any time as implemented by SCRECCS and CRECCS. Railway administration and concerned governed body may look in to this aspect.

sundar.r
      Jun 10, 2011

I used to travel by Brindavan express (Tr No 12640) from Bangalore to Chennai. Whenever I travel in that train, a lot o[censored]nreserved passengers boarded into the reserved compartments from Bangalore City, contonment, and K R Puram and causing inconvenience and starting argument with the reserved passengers. Once in KR puram, I am not able to board the train because the D1 compartment was full o[censored]nreserved passengers and occupied out seats. It was very difficult to board the train and go to the reserved seat and again it was difficult to ask the people who were already sitting in out seats.

TTE was not able to come to our compartment and vendors tried to come after 2 hours of travel.

Once there was about to start a fight within the unreserved passengers and we were afraid one may fall out of train.

Railways should take this as an emergency and take action accordingly either not issuing unreserved tickets or anouncing in the station itself and collect heavy fine or ask the unreserved passengers to get down with the help of Railway police.
      This must be considered seriously. I see such a situation in most of the states other than tamil nadu. It will be good if the railway officials take necessary action soon. Even TTE are afraid to ask their tickets. Please take some steps soon.

syed imthias
        May 24, 2011

To ,

The Suggestions /Helpline & Grievances Cell.

Southern Railway.

Dear Sirs,

This is to introduce ourselves as daily officegoing commuters from Chennai Park to Guduvancherry in the unit trains wherein we would like to bring to your kind atention the following difficulties encountered by us while commuting :

1.Frequency of trains to Chingleput in the morning peakhours is about 50-55 minutes which we request for being looked into.

2.The 8.32 train bearing no.66043 from Park going upto Villupuram via Melmaruvathur is the train which is being used by us wherein we would like to inform you that although we subscribe to the Monthly First class Pass, this compartment is jampacked allowing only standing space as we find that majority of commuters seem to be passengers of 2nd class .This is because the compartment is a vestibule wherein passengers from other compartments also come into this compartment & this is also clubbed with the Ladies compartment making it still more difficult for commuting.There is no checking being done inside the compartment.We request for an individual first class compartment being introduced instead of vestibule to overcome such problems.

3.This train 66043 is so dusty inside the compartment & also not cleaned as we find shells of plantains & groundnuts being spilled all over.

4.Introduction of Fast limited stop trains during peakhours will also help in clearing the traffic as this is available only in the return direction.

5.We came to know from the papers that the trains are being extended upto Chingleput from tambaram.we would like to know as to from when this will be implemented.

6.we also suggest in having a A/C first class compartment apart from the first compartment which we think should have adequate patronage it being priced a little higher than the first class compartment as we do not have anything special in the existing first class compartment.

We hope to hear from you in providing us solutions to our grievances.

Our Email id's are

[protected]@pklindia.com

[protected]@pklindia.com.

With best regards

Daily Commuters

Most of the Automatic ticket vending machines(smart card machine) is not working.. It is very tuff in peak hours. Today i could not take ticket in nungambakkam station. Kindly make arrangement to keep the machines always working

thanku

dinesh

oshylu
          May 20, 2011

Address: Tamil Nadu

O. Sivasailanathan, B.A., B.L.,M.L.,M.L.M.,
          Advocate,
          22, Perumal Sannidhi Street,
          Alwarkurichi.
          Tirunelveli District-627 412.

The Regional Commercial Manager (Refunds),
          Southern Railway, Madurai.

Sub: Refund and request for taking action against erring Official
          Shri. Ramanathan, TTE – Reg

As a true and law abiding citizen of a democratic country and a humble passenger of fellow folk, I wish to put forth the following miserable treatment done to me by TTE Shri Ramanathan on 19.05.2011.

Name of Passenger : O. Sivasailanathan
          PNR No. :[protected]
          Ticket No. :[protected]rdA/C)
          Train No : 12662, Podhigai Express
          Date of Journey : 19.05.2011

Before start of journey at the Sengottai Railway station, I checked up the ticket position that I got with me with Shri Ramanathan, TTE of the coach, who was on duty that day. I entered and showed my ticket he wrote W/L-1 then I asked any chance for confirmation then he replied that was possible “go and sit...”
          With that gained confidence, I pursued my journey. I boarded into the train at Sengottai railway station with a waitlisted ticket taken to perform the journey from Sengottai to Chenglepet (details mentioned above).
          At the time of start of journey, I once again checked up the status of my seat and berth within short of few kilometers and was told that it would cost Rs.200/- for arranging it. I just shocked and rolled around my eyes and seen that he was canvassing the same to the rest of the wait listed passengers about 2 to 5.. Like me.. (Meanwhile, I observed that many people are waiting with RAC tickets nearly about 5 in number and yet to be allotted with the confirmed seat number). I asked the TTE in doubt whether I could get a seat as I am with a waitlisted ticket.
          I have told him patiently if seats are available; allot them in the order of priority else direct me as ‘go with no seat’. Then I once again asked about the facts and want to get out off the train .. He immodestly asked my ticket and wrote a question mark over that... Changed his face unlike manner and murmured “miser fellow how such people get 3rd A/c tickett and passengers of my attitude never enjoy such facility and said “get down get down” .. No other go I stepped down....
          I was astonished at his action. Immediately, I got down at Kadayanallur railway station and boarded into three buses of partly destination and reached my home at about 10.30am after tiresome journey. Try to make an enquiry it may washing out the truth regarding 3rd AC waitlist passengers 2 to 5‘s status and ramanathan might have done wrong things.
          India has a pride of maintaining its Railways Department engaged in the public service with large number of employees and hast try to become popular for its customer satisfaction. At the same time, it is very pathetic to know that employees in the rank of officers like TTE are begging at the passengers of reservation coaches. I didn’t find any difference between the people who are simply giving some printed cards and asking for money during our travel in bus / train. But some people they clean the passage under the seats and they ask for some help in back. But doing such actions by officers, I am really in want of words either to say pathetic or ridiculous. I don’t know whether Railways have not given enough remuneration for its employees or this has been the approved way of getting additional incentive. The poor administration of the officers lead such unhappy scenario.

How many Anna Hazare has to be made on cloning? The poor citizens have the power to change its ruler’s at least once in five years if they are dissatisfied with their actions, but what is the way to set right such officers? If a person like me, who is of course in the first line of the societal affairs, had such an experience, could not imagine the position of a layman.
          But sir, your good self can kindly decide the suitable action as deemed fit against such officers who have become the approved night pirates of Railways Department. If you have the confidence of correcting such officers, kindly take the refunded amount of my ticket fare for remedial expenses (For which journey is not performed on the scheduled train on the particular day).

dineshkumar.p
            May 5, 2011

Public (I class season ticket holders) unable to entrain in I class AM 8 Train. Because I class compartment is having extraordinary crowd almost occupied by II class pass holders & their family members who are using their privilege pass for daily travelling nowadays a TTE is coming and Checking at VILLIVAKKAM. It’s appreciable but most of the workers are setting down at VILLIVAKKAM. So I request the Officials of arrange Prompt & Frequent checking in between TRL- SEVVAPET. So the most of the eligible Passengers can travel comfortably.

Ganeshskp
              May 2, 2011

HI i am Ganesh Pandiyan from Mumbai, as i am one of regular reader of mumbai mirror i quick happy about your ture news.As i travel in Nagarkovil Express on 28 th of April which is one of famous express for Tamil Nadu.Train route is Nagarkovil-Erode-pune-cstm.And i travel through this train.We as to book before 3 month even though we cant ticket the train is so rush.Railways get more collection through tatkal ticket etc.As i happy about the matter but please condition of sheet through which passenger cant travel for 1 day but train time 2 days.And i attach all photo which i have right.And I hope mumbai mirror can take action against southern railways we need these help please do some thing.
              Thank You.
              With Regards,
              Ganesh Pandiyan Thevar.

fredjeev
                Mar 31, 2011

Dear Sir/ Madam,
                On the 30th of March 2 ladies travelling by coach S1, seat 1 and 2, train number: 12633 Kanyakumari Express, boarding at Chennai and reaching Nagercoil were harassed by a Police Officer by threatening them to be thrown out of the compartment, being lodged in jail etc.,.. and even called the TTR of the railways who asked the police officer to keep quiet as there was nothing wrong on the side of the ladies. Still he kept verbally abusing them and teasing them in the protection of his uniform and hiding his badge from being identified.
                On receiving this information I (the brother of the travellers and also a Social Worker) have tried to lodge a complaint with both the railways as well as the police department in chennai as well as trichy and i get only irresponsible, improper and skewed information and as usual, being passed from one desk to the other adding more shame to the state of affairs in the existence of public transport and the police in the state.
                Kindly help me:
                1. In locating the name of the police personnel travelling in coach S1, in train number 12633, Kanyakumari express on 30th March 2011 from Chennai to trichy (where he got off)
                2. Where should I register the complaints?
                3. Under what sections can he be charged?

Waiting for your reply,
                Fredjeev
                dear sir/mam
                as refference to the protection of passanger travelling in local train from chennai beach to velacherry, i want to clarify that either these police man in uniform are for protection or for black mailing, as i was travelling from the said above destination i was stopped by these people in uniform on half way without any mistake and wrong deeds, i was taken to their office and was told to pay fine. And when i try to enquiry for what purpose they are charging fine, they started threatening me with more severve action, and they dint let me know my mistake to pay the fine

so in this regard i want to ask the concerned authority weather these man in uniform are keeping for protection or to blackmail the innocent passengers...if their duty is for former mention then i want the concern to take action as early as possible...

wating for your anticaption...
                Instead of the police stopping rowdies, goondas and rascals, they have become worse than those who they are supposed to protect us from. One day we will all be better off to live without them. Even more annoyed to understand that they are paid with the tax that you and I pay.

Police and military harassment, abuse and torture must stop before it happens to our children! Wish the sleeping government wakes up to realize this.

Fredjeev

claude
                  from Bankura, West Bengal
                  Mar 24, 2011

I am a frequent traveller with indian railways. I noticed a very pathetic condition of restrooms(Toilets) maintained at chennai central station. As this station is a hub for south india serving lakhs of commuters everyday. I is unbelievable to find there are only two small restrooms at chennai central station. also these
                  two restrooms are horribly maintained. It is totally stinking and not usable. I dont understand how it missed from the supervision of so many officers stationed at the station.

Rest rooms(Toilet) facilities are one of the basic needs for any traveller. I cant even step into these toilets, because of pathetic condition, water spilled all over not at all cleaned what so ever. I wonder where these officers are gone and where are they using the toilets. I think we deserve a better toilet and basic facilities.

One way we promote india as a top tourist desinations and this is what the facilities we provide. Think abouts kids and infants, how horrible is to use these kind of facilities.

Please officers, think about it atleat visit these facilities once in your life time and see for your self how this is maintained. If you do not understand the importance of clean sanitary facilities please read about it. I again ask who ever is responsible for these facilities make it better I strongly feel we deserve a better facilities.

pnagaraju
                    Jan 20, 2011

Address: Kurnool, Andhra Pradesh

[protected] at 8:00pm

I would like to bring your notice that I have booked a Motor Cycle from Madurai, Tamilnadu state to Kurnool, Andhra Pradesh from madurai railway station on 13.1.2011

Details are :
                    Motor cycle Registration Number PB 021151
                    Vehicle type : LML Vespa
                    Vehicle Booking Date 13.1.2011
                    Booking Place - MADURAI
                    Delivery place - KURNOOL
                    Ticket No.[protected]
                    PNR No. : [protected]
                    Date of journey: 15-1-11
                    Train no. : 16733

Till this date my vehicle has not reached kurnool. Please look into the matter and deliver my vehicle.
                    Awaiting for your favorable response.

Yours Sincerely

Mr. P. NagaMohan
                    Sub Inspector/ PH
                    S/o P. Naga Seshanna
                    H.No. 70/122 - G5,
                    Maharajaveedhi,
                    Kallur
                    Kurnool -518003
                    Andhra Pradesh

AnanthaPadmanabhan
                      from Madanapalle, Andhra Pradesh
                      Dec 23, 2010

Address: Tiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu

From,
                      H. AnanthaPadmanabhan,
                      4-1872/1, Durganagar Colony,
                      Greamspet, Chittoor – 517 002( A.P)

Chief commercial manager,
                      Head Quarters Office,
                      Southern Railway,
                      Parktown, Chennai - 600 003,
                      Tamilnadu, India.

9th November, 2010
                      SUB: Missed train due to incorrect train numbers – Ticket No. 29939180
                      Passengers: H.AnanthaPadmanabhan and A.Girija
                      We had booked our train ticket for 1st Nov, 2010 from Trichy to Chittoor (AP) by “Jamu Tawi” express (Train no. 6687) two months back. On the day of travel (1st Nov, 2010), we reached the Trichy junction well in advance and we were waiting at the platform No. 4, after enquiring with the railway officer.
                      Unfortunately, the digital display showed the train number for Jamu Tawi express as 6787 which was different from the number on our ticket. We enquired the railway officer about this confusion three times. But even the officer was not aware of the change in the train number. So, we did nit board the train when it arrived and we missed it.
                      We had to cancel our ticket on same day and we bought a ticket to Chennai by Pandyan express. We reached Chittoor from Chennai by a cab. Because of the confusion in train no. we lost a lot of time, money, and energy and had to undergo lot of stress and agony.
                      Since the mistake was not from our side, I request the Railway management to compensate our losses suitably. I have enclosed the cancellation ticket and the Pandyan express ticket to Chennai for your perusal.
                      Your immediate action is very much appreciated.

H.AnanthaPadmanabhan

From,
                      H. AnanthaPadmanabhan,
                      4-1872/1, Durga Nagar Colony,
                      Greamspet,
                      Chittoor – 517002
                      Andhra Pradesh

The Chef commercial manager,
                      Head Quarters office,
                      Sothern Railways,
                      Park town,
                      Chennai – 600003

9h December, 2010
                      SUB: Reminder for my letter dated 9th November, 2010
                      Passengers: H. AnanthaPadmanabhan and A. Girija
                      I am writing to you with reference to my previous letter (SUB: Missed train due to incorrect train numbers – Ticket No.[protected] sent on 9th November, 2010. I would like to let you know that, I am yet to receive a response from your office, even though I received an acknowledgment to my first letter on 15th November, 2010.
                      I request you to expedite your favorable reply.
                      For your reference, I have enclosed a copy of my first letter, acknowledgment from your office and our train tickets.
                      Yours Faithfully,

H.AnanthaPadmanabhan

I received a reply from chef commercial manager saying they acknowledged my letter and same is forwarded to Trichy.
                      Ref: C.508/11/MAS/10/11/50/NOV.

EPT no 199.503.

Unfortunately there is no address ,e mail Contact person name etc. May I request you to take up with concern authorities to do the needful

Padmanabhan

sarasivan
                        from Tiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu
                        Dec 13, 2010

In express trains running from chennai to tiruchy found shemale trouble(travelling without ticket) , even we report to TTR he told us to adjust it.
                        troubles are their indecent dressing , indecent headwide speech, sexy behaviour by touching our faces ,put their hands on our shoulders begging for money . i feel more vex of such habbits . i request concern southern railway officer to avoid such shemale inside the compartment without having tickets and stop shemale begger disturbing the passenger.

Southern Railway — non functioning of the ATVM

I hold a smart card for over two years and find the ATVM at many stations not working for more days than working.
                        Today morning at 9.15 a.m I came to Velachery MRTS station to board a train to Light House. I cam with the earnest hope that would be able to buy a ticket and board a train and reach Office promptly. Both the ATVMs were not working and the queue in all the counters had more than 50 people each. I knew that I would not be able to go in the queue and reach Office and hence had to go back. Will the railways take the responsibility of me not able to reach Office .

This is not the first time I am experiencing the non functioning of the ATVMs in the city. I have registered my compliant against the same very may times in the suggestion books, only to receive a reply from the DRM after three months that it is because people misuse the machine etc. I am a very frequent traveler and I have never seen any public meddling with the machine any time.

If the Railway authorities are not able to maintain the machine why should they continue with the system. I suggest that there is still ample unemployment in India and the railways can consider appointing more counter clerks and speed up the process of issue of ticket.

After all they are taking money in advance from the card holders for nearly six months and still not providing the assured service.

Is it not ridiculous to stand in queue for 20 mts for a travel time of less than 20 mts. With this kind of service how does the railway expect people other than season ticket holders to use the rail service and then keep lamenting that the MRTS service is not used well by passengers.

With such technological advances taking place around the world, cannot the Railways provide better service. With the existing services in such poor state why start another project in the name of Metro Rail.

Cannot the maintenance of the ATVMs be given to service providers or is it a sabotage by the railway union?

I hope that this complaint of mine also not end with a mail from the Railways that it is because of meddling by the people and go to the recycle bin.

sathyakalam
                          Nov 1, 2010

Respected Sir/Mam,

I am sathyakala am a M.com graduate 25 years old working with a private company in guindy for the past five year travailing tambaram to guindy using a season ticket. I'am very scared about the station master behavior on 1.11.2010 i was go for getting season ticket in tambaram fist platform left hand side ,my season ticket was expired on 31.10.2010 ( that is sunday) while i am going to get season the station master called me and asked show me your ticket i said for that only i am going sir,but he said first you come to office how u getdown from the train without ticket,i said no sir now only i am coming from my home to getting season your taken as a wrong thing sir,but he didn't care about me he just scolded and treated like beggar and he didn't give any respect,and he doesn't know how to speak with girls,basically girls are highly sensitive and threatening me, see i have season from Tambaram to guindy then how i will getdown from that train ( Beach to Tambaram) and i am middle class family Rs. 300 fine is very huge amount and also am not did any mistake,and one more thing he given a receipt Rs. 260.00 i gave Rs. 300.00 i asked give me a balance amount they said that and all we will not give. iam really very unhappy with tambaram station master behavior, kindly take a neccessary action with Mr. A.Jagwath Jothi from Tambaram ticket collector ( date: 01.11.2010 time: Morning 9.15am)
                          Ms. Stahyakala, pity on u that M.Com garduate like u don't know the difference between the Station Master nad ticket collector. in ur complaint u mentioned both the designation. Station master is not empowered to check the ticktless travel.

well, there is nothing wrong on the ticket collector side, as he can collect fine from anybody who is standing on the platform without proper ticket. For renewing ur seaon tocket u should have entred the ticket counter through the entrance and not through the platform. I[censored] enter thorugh the platform it was very difficult for the ticket collector to differentiate u from the ticktless travellors. First try to understand the rules and follow them, then compliant about the officials.
                          Respected Sir/Madam,
                          I am an central government employee, I face this problem when i return from night shift. The problem is that there are no lights at around 5:30 am in the platform including the staircase. (tambaram)This being winter season it is dark till 6:00 am, so women passengers like me find it very difficult. I hope that authorities will step in and take necessary action.

mdashfaq
                            Oct 31, 2010

On the eve of 30 oct 10, afternoon 4p.m. I went to take a unreserved ticket for Karnataka express (KK). In the ticket counter which has a que of 30-45 mins I address the lady in the counter, Mrs. Lambani to give ticket of KK and even she have taken Rs. 131 ticket fare from SBC to GR(Gulbarga), she has given me Ticket of Rs. 122/- which is o[censored]dyan express. In a very large lane and in querry to catch the general seats i ran very fast to catch the seats and not seen the fare mentioned in it. While i have sitted in the train(kk) then i have verified that the ticket fare is Rs.122/- Then i have no options to come out and restand in that que to show her mistake and also to go with karnataka express it is my emergeny. I have fear throughout the travel that the TT may come and fine me.. But I have reach my destination safely.

The fare which i should give to railways is the same and the train and destination is also the same. But the difference of fare Rs[protected]=9 is in her pocket of Mrs. Lambani. I thank we should do our duty sincerely and obviously. And also i request Government officials in this matter to take this seriously, as we know that corruption is the serious factor affecting our development of India.. Thanking you, Your sincerely MD ASHFAQ-[protected]

k.prakash
                              Oct 28, 2010

Address: Tiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu

sir i have participated in tender notice1/2010-11 dtd 8.04.2010,issued by southern railway for leasing of vph and i have deposited a emd of rs 10,00,000/- till now i have not received the emd

tv subramanian
                                Oct 4, 2010

I have received a message in my official CUG [protected] (working in Southern Railways)on 2/10/10 at12:15:17 Airtel AD-54321 that "You have been renewed for Games Club subscription service from Airtel. You have been charged Rs.99 Enjoy Best Games! Join Games Club". Immediately I would like to inform my unwillingness and tried to send return reply that "I am not interested". Surprisingly when I press for reply button no address was appeared in the recipient’s box. It asked to type manually. When I tried for AD-54321 it directed my message to AirtelLive(AL) and me to enter into 'MAIN MENU (TOLL FREE) Reply with option e.g. 1' along with some other offer also given. When I tried to contact other numbers provide for contacting Airtel Customers Care a recorded message said that "Number u have dialed is not in use". On the end of the day my bill was jumped from Rs 165.40 to Rs 304.60. I am very much sure that I have not at all used to the extent of Rs 139.20 on 2/10/10. I confirm that I have not tried to down load any game or any other thing through Airtel net. Railways has provided CUG some ceiling limit cosuming the limit with unsolicited offer arbitrarely will cause in covenience to many. Hence kindly intervine and render justice

d.kamalrajmca
                                  Sep 30, 2010

Address: Pondicherry, Puducherry

As stated earlier in the Hindu news paper and in the southern railway:

"Train number 2255 Yeshwantpur-Puducherry tri-weekly Garib Rath Express will leave Yeshwantpur at 11.15 p.m. on Mondays, Fridays and Saturdays and reach Puducheryy at 8 p.m. the next day. In the return direction, the train (2256) will leave Puducherry at 10 p.m. on Saturdays, Sundays and Tuesdays and reach Yeshwantpur at 8.25 a.m. the next day."

But the above mentioned train is getting operated only once in a week and that to not in the Continent day. kindly operate the above mentioned train thrice in a week which will be grate full for the passengers who travel in the above mentioned route.

thank you.
                                  passenger
                                  Requestion for change of day for the train 2256 puducherry yeshwantpur express-Reg.
                                  As stated earlier in the Hindu news paper and in the southern railway:

"Train number 2255 Yeshwantpur-Puducherry tri-weekly Garib Rath Express will leave Yeshwantpur at 11.15 p.m. on Mondays, Fridays and Saturdays and reach Puducheryy at 8 p.m. the next day. In the return direction, the train (2256) will leave Puducherry at 10 p.m. on Saturdays, Sundays and Tuesdays and reach Yeshwantpur at 8.25 a.m. the next day."

But the above mentioned train is getting operated only once in a week and that to not in the Continent day. kindly operate the above mentioned train thrice in a week which will be grate full for the passengers who travel in the above mentioned route.

thank you.
                                  passenger

sajialex1
                                    from Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir
                                    Sep 19, 2010

Address: Kerala

Some of the catering staffs are not using badges displaying their names or any identity. these people charge more money than what is printed on the food packet. For eg. Rs. 20 are charging for Uppuma, where Rs. 18.50 is printed. They wont give the food, and sometimes grab back the given food item, if we dont have the accurate tender amount, but have only rupees in dinominations of 50, 100 etc., even without checking themselves for the balance amount.

I am a victim of the above mentioned incident, on 17th September 2010, in the train, Jan Shatabdi, No. 2076, from Trivandrum to Calicut, My ticket PNR is[protected], D14 seat No.60. Name Saji Alex.
                                    I can identify the person who conducted in this way by visual verification.

Please make necessary actions to avoid such incidents in a public transport system by giving the staffs proper training, warning or by avoiding their services.

Saji Alex
                                    I can really understand the problem of this gentleman, as i am also a regular commuter from railways and also a victim to this kind of similar situations,

This kind of and most probably some even more extraordinary than this problems i have ever faced, only problem in this places is that everybody is in hurry and nobody has time to go for complaints and other formalities

moreover, most of the commuters are less frequent one, and they don't bother about it, its a onetime ordeal for them

I want to create a Webspace for complaints for railways, mostly from the community who are frequent travellers and some support from organisations,

if anybody wanna join me, can mail me at [protected]@rediffmail.com

rshanthi
                                      Sep 14, 2010

I would like to narrate a painful incident experienced by me in train journey.
                                      I, R.Shanthi, aged 55 yrs. was travelling from Pune to Chennai with a reserved ticket in Sleeper Class compartment (1041-CSTM Chennai Exps, Coach S4, Seat No.68 on 22.08.10 at 6.10 p.m departure from Pune. When I entered the train in Pune, I found a group of people occupying my compartment. Even after pleading with TT, I couldnt vacate them. they were sitting here and there within the coach and I couldnt even stretch my legs as 2 persons were just sitting near my feet My request to vacate them was in vain. In the midnight I felt some disturbance and I woke up and found that those unreserved passengers had moved out and my gold necklace of 3 soverigns and cash worth 5000/- was missing in my handbag. I could make a complaint only after reaching chennai as the TTR who came at 7 a.m next day least bothered to take down my complaint. To earn the gold worth 40000/- it took 2 years to save which I lost within a few hours of my journey in the train. Because of the dereliction of the duty of TTR, I lost my property worth 40000/-.I would request that Railways should identify such culprits and take stringent action against them.

Shanthi.R
                                      Ph.[protected]
                                      I have recently had a similar experience and at this point am thoroughly disgusted with Southern rail.
                                      Travelling from Stretham, 18th September, on the 0945 to connect to Gatwick airport, I left ( yes, my own fault I agree ) a very nice and rather expensive barbour coat complete with cell phone/camera and various sundries in its pockets. Less than one hour later at Victoria I was able to connect with Southern rail to report this loss.
                                      Itm took me approx 20 mins holding time on a friend's cell phone. I was told that every train was checked end of line and that I would be contacted should anything be found. I requested a claim number but was simply told I would be contacted. It seemed likely I would retirive my coat as the train was due to line end fairly soon. I flew to France. Upon returning to UK I called immediately on the Monday 27th Sept. They had no record of my ever reporting the loss and gave me another number at Victorai, which is apparently lost property, telling me that there was only one person doing everthing so I may have a wait to get assistance---they also gave me a LP number this time. After no less than 42 attemps, leaving messages on answer machine, I called the origainal number and requested a receipt, or indeed any form of documentation in order to possibly claim from my travel insurance. I am back home in US and still waiting. The cell phone by the way is still active. No one has removed the sim card. I had sent text and left message re reward. My thoughts are that this coat is sitting somewhere at lost property and wil, after a suitable period of time, be seen adorning some lucky person who just may happen to have connections with the railways.
                                      I am disgusted. People generally complained about BR but at least staff were somewhat attentive, there were more of them, thay had some pride in the job.
                                      I won't go on but Britain is sinking fast.

Pratapan
                                        Sep 10, 2010

Address: Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala

6321 Bangalore Thiruvananthapuram express runs a distance of around 830km with only limited stops but takes a long 17hrs journey time arriving destination only at 12 noon. This train is slowed down in this 2010 Railway time table. The train is made to stop unnecessarily at stations for longer duration in between and some other trains overtake this express train for lack of priority and punctuality.

I kindly request Railways to speed up this express train to superfast service for the benefit of regular passengers and add a pantry car service. Also request increase in frequency of this service.

Southern Railways — misusing RPF power

Yesterday i went to Chennai central suburban station with my class met, to buy books in Moore market.. after buying books we were in return to our place. I have return ticket, by the time waiting for train, the R.P.F arrived near and misunderstand everything and started thinking that we were for many hours. The R.P.F named Prabhakaran on duty on 8th march 2011 afternoon 3.30. although we have tickets but that R.P.F have created bad impression.. please take action... and teach him how to treat a passengers.... really bad thing... worst management.. misusing powers...