Idea Cellular Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Oct 7, 2025
Complaints 16717

File a complaint to Idea Cellular

Having problems with Idea Cellular?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Idea Cellular customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Idea Cellular reviews & complaints page 620

arunaggarwal
Nov 10, 2014

Address: Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh

I am using IDEA postpaid no. [protected] in MP. This month, the bill has Rs. 819 for extra data usage showing almost 200 MB extra usage. But I used only up to 30 MB extra data after getting notification from Idea. I have 270 MB free data usage in my monthly plan. So, total data usage should be 300 MB approximately. But bill was made of 470 MB. I do not why they do this. They should be punished for this act. If actually I used 200 MB extra date then why they notified me about 30 MB. This is a clear cheating. Moreover I told them that if you are forcing me to accept this extra 200 MB usages then do one thing. Activate a pack of Rs.175 comprising 500 MB free 3G data. So that problem could be considered and resolved from Rs. 819 to Rs.175. But they did not care. They can offer 1 GB data only for Rs. 250 but are stood stiff on Rs. 819 for 200 MB according to them. They can lure new customers by any means but customer who is sincere and under their banner cannot get any justice. Their appellate authority Mr. Goel was going to consider this but finally, their Customer care said that they did not even get the complaint. I told that I would leave the service. They said that after bill payment you can. Finally, I do not know whether you will consider the problem or not but I am at injustice. Please try to avail justice for me. Arun Kumar [protected] [protected]@gmail.com Bhopal
Idea Cellular customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

arun9841
    Nov 10, 2014

Hi friends Do not but sim card from road side sellers, (selling sime in two seeler under the unbrella) I bought a Sim card from a person named Kannan mobile# [protected], Sim#[protected]. he collected my phone and id proof said it will activted by next day morning, now its past 1 week still not activated, i tried to reach the seller at his mobile number but he never picked the call. some times he is busy with other line but not picking any incuming calls, i called idea 198, on 10-nov-2014 they are tilling its not idea number, suggested to check near by showroom. i said have packed idea sim card so where should i complain for this kind for cheeters. idea customer wants to excape and saying check with showroom. now my advice its just 50rs or less but dont get cheated from these kind of road side sellers. be AWARE, especailly idea sim card.

We regret the inconvenience caused to you. Please reply with your Idea mobile number and the alternate contact number for further assistance. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

Customer Care, Idea Cellular

RRadvocate
      Nov 10, 2014

Sir/Madam I received a call on my idea no. [protected] on 8.11.2014 from a no. [protected] at 10.32 am when I was working in court and the name was appearing in True Caller as Priya, who informed me she is calling from Idea. She was enquiring about Advocate Mr. Mohit Lahoty and regarding some bill payment issue. There might be some payment issue between You and MR. Lahoty. I told her yes I know him being lawyer and I cannot ask anyone to pay or not to pay as I am not his or their family. You people should solve this issue with them only. She refuted and used very wrong and unparliamentary language as that very moment saying;;;;; " JAB PHONE PAR BAAT KARTI HAI TAB TO PROBLEM NAHI HOTI. TUJHE WARNING DE RAHI HOON USE BOL BILL DE DEGA NAHI TO TU PHUGTEGI" Its such a shocking and unexpected thing which shocked me for a second. I warned her not to use or say such words its not the way of talking on this she again said... BADI AAI HUME SAMJHANE WALI ... AGAR USNE BILL NAHI DIYA NA TO TU DEKH LENA KYA HOGA ... and she cut the phone. Its something untoleratable thing and i want strict action against your these type of agents or i will forced to take legal action for this act against your company. Hope i will hear soon from you about this with a positive reply.

We regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have noted your concern. Please give us some time so that we can get in touch with you and discuss your concern.

We wish to inform you that the matter is currently being followed up and our concerned team will revert to you at the earliest.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 18th November 2014, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

satish kadu
        Nov 10, 2014

I was charged extra rs 678 on data packs, described im my bill it is Charges on Data Pack Pro-ration # - 678.080 why are u charging for data pack change and it is very high amount even more than my data pack. thats why i have deactivated my 3g pack.
        Aug 8, 2021

We regret the inconvenience caused to you. Please reply with your Idea mobile number and the alternate contact number for further assistance. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

d0123
          from Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir
          Nov 10, 2014

Address: Chandigarh, Punjab

I am using Idea Cellular service. I did recharge my phone of 100 rs on 9 November 2014. On next day my balance was reduced to just 20 rs
          without my knowledge. I contacted to customer support but they failed
          to trace the reason of this deduction. I want to be protected from this
          loot. Please help me.

We regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have noted your concern. Please give us some time so that we can get in touch with you and discuss your concern.

We have thoroughly checked your Idea account details and it is found that the charges applied to you are correct as per the GPRS plan assigned. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

vijayakumar.mandya
            from Maham, Haryana
            Nov 10, 2014

Address: Mandya, Karnataka

I am using Idea network, from 08.11.2014 my Incoming calls and messages are stopped, If anybody dial to my number it says: your not dialing a valid number. I raised a compliant on 08.11.2014 compliant no.C[protected], but still this problem is not rectified, due to this i am facing big communication problem and loosing my business..

We wish to affirm that your concern has been acknowledged and your complaint for call connectivity has been already initiated by us; under reference number C1-[protected] and you shall hear on the same at the earliest. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 12th November 2014, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Vishwajeet Deshmukh
              Nov 9, 2014

I have purchased new IDEA pre-paid SIM card by submitting all relevant self-attested documents from Idea store, Colaba on 1st Nov 2014 with promise that the same will be activated in next 24 hrs. Now Its more than a week and still my number is not activated yet. I went to same Idea store for inquiry but they refused to cooperate by saying --your papers are with ministry(really???????) so we cant do anything. --tumhara number chalu nahi hota toh kya me deewar pe sir phod du(See the efforts). --when i requested to surrender my new SIM card he simply refused to accept it by saying that now the same number is already registered with your details and something happen you will land in Jail...(directly?) My new Idea number is [protected]. I hope to resolve it at earliest or i need to escalate the same to higher appropriate forum.. Thank you.

sayant vijay
                from Ferokh, Kerala
                Nov 8, 2014

now a days all networks are increasing their gprs because they know very well what ever the rate may be people are ready to use this is because of the influence of android mobiles . so now i wish to mention about the problems which i face in idea network . i was up to port to so other careers at that time they called me back and told they will provide me with their best offers correct after 30days they have withdraw all the offers and when i made a call to compliant booking number 198 they were telling now we cant provide you any such offers so wait for some time . just for a short while they are pleasing costumers with some tricky offers and withdrawing . then if you want to cut call rate or want any free offer just try to port your number then they will call back n provide you offers for free now this is what is happening and no one is ready to talk against this .

gauravbajpai22
                  from Bhusawal, Maharashtra
                  Nov 8, 2014

Address: Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh

Dear, In my account balance was 38 Rs. and net balance was 95 Mb. I am using internet (no download).Suddenly balance get lost. (Both main balance and net balance).when I talk to custmor care then no proper responce achieved. Mo.no [protected]

We regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have your contact details and we have noted your concern. We will get back to you soon.

We have thoroughly checked your Idea account details and it is found that the charges applied to you are correct as per the GPRS plan assigned. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

mahi143
                    Nov 8, 2014

Hi, My balance had deducted with out any intimation on 5th nov 2014. Iam in regular fallow up with idea team on facebook and twitter regarding the same .However there is no response from them hence am registering the complaint here . Hope at lest now some one will look in to this and do the needful to me . Regards, Mahesh Kumar G. [protected]

We regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have your contact details and we have noted your concern. We will get back to you soon.

We wish to inform you that the matter is currently being followed up and our concerned team will revert to you at the earliest.

purohits
                      Nov 8, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam, I m writing this mail due to access bill of my of Idea Mobile no- [protected]. Bill no-[protected] Bill date-06/11/20144 Bill amount-10003.65 This access bill due to access uses of data.As you know I am using 1599 pack form last 2 years.Previously I receive sms of data uses every day so, I aware about my data uses. But now this time no intimation from ur end about data uses.I talked to ur customer care several times about my data uses.But they are unable to give detail.They give me *121*44# no for data uses.But this no not giving any proper reply. Now I want please waveoff my bill.Charge only 2000 rs as per my plan. I am not able to pay this huge bill amount because this is not my fault.Its ur system fault. waiting for your quick & positive response. Regards, Sandeep purohit [protected]

We wish to affirm that your concern has been acknowledged and your complaint for billing dispute has been initiated by us; under reference number C1-[protected] and you shall hear on the same at the earliest. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

We have thoroughly checked your Idea account details and it is found that the charges are levied correct in your bill towards GPRS as per plan assigned. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

gaganmadhu
                        Nov 8, 2014

My name is Madhukar having post paid mobile number [protected] and I am using Idea for last few months. When i tried to make International call on November 6th, i realized my services are not activated. I immediately login into myidea web, checked my services and tried to activate by myself as there is an option on site. It asked me to pay 1000 rupees as security deposit and paid. After payment, nothing as happened, no service request nothing. I called customer care several times and every time representative said I need to go to idea show room. Guess, customer care representatives are trained to tell customer only thing - "Go to idea showroom''. If i am not available in the state, how can i go to idea showroom? When i asked customer care representative to transfer call to their superiors, it always disconnects immediately after transferring call.

I went to idea showroom on 8th November near KPHB Colony, Hyderabad. That girl in the showroom said, i need to pay 1000. I clearly said i made payment online already and asked to verify my details. She confirmed that there is no way, i have to pay 1000 in showroom and money which i paid will be used in my next bills etc.

At the time of activation, why Idea did not inform me about this facility is not activated?
                        If there is no mechanism for escalation, what is the use of customer care ?
                        If i have to pay 1000 rupees in showroom mandatory, why idea allowed to me to pay 1000 online?

This is WORST service I have ever seen in my life

We wish to inform you that your request for ISD activation has been resolved. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

My name is Saeed Shaikh and I have the same issue as idea people are asking me to give 1000 rupees deposit and they are looking at the bill that I pay every month with the tenure I have been with them. They are also not considering that I ported in from Vodafone to idea thinking idea was. I don't know if idea can resolve my issue on this.

I want someone to get back to me and activate ISD calling without deposit.

Saeed Shaikh
                        [protected]@yahoo.co.in
                        HI. I recently port from Airtel to Idea and I am also facing same problem, , this is worth serving i have seen from any cellular company, ... now i am feeling it was really wrong decision to switch from airtel to idea.
                        Yes Kshitij, I feel the same thing. I mean they don't even consider some profile and tenure and porting to there network. Its not that other providers like Airtel or Vodafone are bad. But now I feel that every company thinks that if we are porting in to there network then the customer must have been dissatisfied with his previous service provider which is not the case. Maybe I need to switch back to Vodafone immediately so I don't have to deal with these rules of Idea where they ask for 1000 as deposit and keep rubbing it all the time even if the customer is good/genuine.
                        I found my idea no not allowing me to make a call in another state std outgoing calls are not working what should I do
                        iam a prepaid idea customer, using idea from past few years network is big issue still i was using . but from last one month iam not reacherged my idea so you are disconnected my outgoing call service . even i reachrged 3 times 10rs now i have 11 rs balance, still outgoing call facility is not available . my registered mobile number is [protected], kindly solve my problem soon.

nayan v pawar
                          Nov 7, 2014

I convert My idea postpaid sim to prepaid but till now no sim got activated . It has been 12 days (including 7 working days)since i took the sim . My num is [protected] . I took it in Dahisar East idea store. I already spoke with executive Mr.Guru but he is useless & very pathetic.

We regret to inform you that your number has not been activated due to customer application form pending from your side.
                          We request you to visit nearest My Idea store. You can locate nearest store through http://bit.ly/1nbfoqO. For further assistance with all necessary documents.

Madhavi Diwale
                            Nov 7, 2014

My Idea number [protected] has been barred from service without notice for no fault of mine. I am told that my photo ID and address proof has not reached Idea. I have personally submitted my documents at the Idea outlet on Baner Road, Pune TWO times. The staff have confirmed receipt and sent the required instructions in front of me. However the service remains barred. Moreover, the customer care staff at 198 is unable to help in any way. All they can do is indicate that the issue I have raised is closed. This is ridiculous lack of customer service. Why are my documents not reaching the concerned department even after submitting them TWO TIMES? Regards Contact [protected]
                            Aug 9, 2021

We wish to affirm that your concern has been acknowledged and complaint for barring dispute has been initiated with us; under reference number C1-[protected] and you shall hear on the same at the earliest. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Sir, i want to bring to your notice that i opted for unlimited 2g data plan for Rs.249 on 6.11.2014 and enjoying net until 8.11.2014 when i recharged yippee nodules promo offer of 20 MB gprs data. With exhausion of 20 MB promo data, my call balance is being consumed .At night of 8.11.2014 my data session is denied due to insufficient balance. Where is my monthly unlimited plan gone? My cell number is [protected]. Plz restore my unlimited plan. Today i got sms from idea "aap ke account me data balance hai". Despite it i am unable to get data session started.

We wish to inform you that the service for your Idea number has already been activated. For further assistance, kindly contact to our Idea customer care helpline.

venkilifestyle
                              from Kumta, Karnataka
                              Nov 7, 2014

Dear Idea customer care, I tried to Recharge my idea net setter over two times through Idea cellular website using net banking as payment method. Rs 249 has been deducted two times from my bank account ( Total Rs 498) but my net setter is not recharged yet. So please refund my money Urgent. Date of recharge :[protected] My net setter no : [protected] My Contact no: [protected] My Bank a/c no : [protected]
                              solved . . . . . . . . Thanks

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We have noted your concern. We will get in touch with you soon.

Today Idea customer care agent called me and confirmed that they initiated my Refund Rs 498 & it will be credited within 7 days :)
                              Need to wait and see.. what happens !!

venkilifestyle
                                from Kumta, Karnataka
                                Nov 7, 2014

Dear Idea customer care, I tried to Recharge my idea net setter over two times through Idea cellular website using net banking as payment method. Rs 249 has been deducted two times from my bank account ( Total Rs 498) but my net setter is not recharged yet. So please refund my money Urgent. Date of recharge :[protected] My net setter no : [protected] My Contact no: [protected] My Bank a/c no : [protected]
                                solved . . . . . . . . Thanks

Today Idea customer care agent called me and confirmed that they initiated my Refund Rs 498 & it will be credited within 7 days :)
                                Need to wait and see.. what happens !!

We wish to affirm that your concern has been acknowledged and your complaint for recharge has been already initiated with us; under reference number 1-[protected] and you shall hear on the same at the earliest. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 10 November 2014, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

syedmohdmasoodali
                                  Nov 7, 2014

Address: Aligarh, Uttar Pradesh

BALANCE DEDUCTION BY IDEA (MOBILE NUMBER [protected]) Respected Sir, I want to inform you that I am new customer of IDEA of mobile number [protected], I get 82 rupees and 50 MB internet when I buy the SIM. But when I use internet then 60 RUPEES deducted from my main balance on 21 September 2014. This deduction is wrong because I checked my internet balance after deduction then it is still some MB left. Then I call to customer care they told me that THIS CHARGE IS DEDUCTED BECAUSE you use INTERNET, then I explain the full case but still that he was not refund that. And saying that “YOUR BALANCE WOULD NOT BE REFUND” which irritates me but still that I didn’t lose my temperament. Now, I kindly requested you to please solve this complain, take action against him and told him to refund my balance. otherwise i will no longer use this SIM I am highly THANKFUL to you. THANKS. Yours sincerely, SYED MOHD MASOOD ALI B.Tech. (Mech.), M.U., Aligarh Dip. (Mech.), A.M.U., Aligarh [protected]

aretharekar
                                    Nov 7, 2014

Dear Sir, I had applied for an IDEA Broadband connection for 599 Plan vide CAF Serial No. 24339 on 26 Sep 2014 through IDEA representative Mr. Subhash Kawhad. He filled up the form and insisted I pay cash as cheque clearance would take a lot of time and hence delay the connection. Accordingly, I paid Rs. 2020/- cash to him and submitted a self attested copy of my AAdhar card and PAN card. On the 29th I rang up Mr Subhash Kawhad ([protected]) and enquired about the progress of the BB connection. First, he expressed surprise that I had not received any response till now, then he said the connection was not possible due to technical reasons. I was disappointed by his callous attitude, however, maintaining my cool I asked him to return him my documents and the cash he had taken to provide this connection. He promised to do so through one of his associated (Rohan) who lived close by. Since nothing happened till the next day I enquired from him once again on the 30th and he repeated the same promise with no result. I again rang him up on the 1st of Oct 2014, and he shamelessely repeated the same promise with no result. I have recorded all the 3 calls and I would provide the recorded files later if desired. I am also attaching a scanned copy of the CAF for your perusal and necessary action. Since, till today no action has been initiated by IDEA representative Mr Subhash Kawhad I am forced to raise this complaint as the company did not respond to my 3 email reminders. I had written to the campany on the following email IDs which I got from their website. ccare.[protected]@idea.adityabirla.com; appellate.[protected]@idea.adityabirla.com I also earnestly request you pursue this case with the company and have my documents as well as the cash of Rs. 2020/- be returned to me at the earliest. Thanks and regards. Major Arvind Retharekar [protected] [protected]

aretharekar
                                      Nov 7, 2014

Dear Sir, I had applied for an IDEA Broadband connection for 599 Plan vide CAF Serial No. 24339 on 26 Sep 2014 through IDEA representative Mr. Subhash Kawhad. He filled up the form and insisted I pay cash as cheque clearance would take a lot of time and hence delay the connection. Accordingly, I paid Rs. 2020/- cash to him and submitted a self attested copy of my AAdhar card and PAN card. On the 29th I rang up Mr Subhash Kawhad ([protected]) and enquired about the progress of the BB connection. First, he expressed surprise that I had not received any response till now, then he said the connection was not possible due to technical reasons. I was disappointed by his callous attitude, however, maintaining my cool I asked him to return him my documents and the cash he had taken to provide this connection. He promised to do so through one of his associated (Rohan) who lived close by. Since nothing happened till the next day I enquired from him once again on the 30th and he repeated the same promise with no result. I again rang him up on the 1st of Oct 2014, and he shamelessely repeated the same promise with no result. I have recorded all the 3 calls and I am attaching the recorded files with this complaint. I am also attaching a scanned copy of the CAF for your perusal and necessary action. Since, till today no action has been initiated by IDEA representative Mr Subhash Kawhad I am forced to raise this complaint as the company did not respond to my 3 email reminders. I had written to the campany on the following email IDs which I got from their website. ccare.[protected]@idea.adityabirla.com; appellate.[protected]@idea.adityabirla.com I also earnestly request you pursue this case with the company and have my documents as well as the cash of Rs. 2020/- be returned to me at the earliest. Thanks and regards. Major Arvind Retharekar [protected] [protected]

amitclp
                                        Nov 7, 2014

Dear all / Idea cellular as well as u seem idea sim card is better but as i noticed this is so loose connection and so cheap services also before idea was using airtel i never feel bad in airtel for network or internet when i did port so since starting feel so bad nd idea making me cry a lot ...bastrd idea never give good service ... i hate it someone can suggest me plz which one is better ...