Indian Railways Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 4, 2025
Complaints 6289

File a complaint to Indian Railways

Having problems with Indian Railways?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Indian Railways customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Indian Railways reviews & complaints page 250

rkojha123
Dec 28, 2011

Dear Sir/Mam,
Would like to draw your attention towards the trail mail, which is self explanatory. Even after marking copies to all concerned top official there is no response since last one and Half year. Even online greivance redressal portal is not effective. Pls suggest what to do & how?
Other previous mail copies are also available with me.

RK Ojha

On Tue, 27 Dec 2011 10:20:35 +0530 wrote
>GOOD MORNING
>
REMINDER-34

On Mon, 26 Dec 2011 10:07:06 +0530 wrote

MERRY CHRISTMAS

REMINDER-33

On Fri, 23 Dec 2011 11:39:15 +0530 wrote

REMINDER – 32

ONLINE GRIEVANCE REGN NO. MORLY/E/2011/06460

WITH DUE REGARDS LIKE TO DRAW YOUR ATTENTION TOWARDS ONLINE TDR NO. [protected] FILED ON 29-MAY-2010.

REGARDING E.TICKET PNR NO - [protected] DATED 08-APRIL-2010 , MUMBAI TO TATANAGAR

ONLY ONE OUT OF 5 PASSENGER GOT RAC AT THE TIME OF CHART PREPARATION. ALL OTHERS WERE WAIT LISTED. NO TRAVEL WAS DONE ON THIS PNR. ONLINE TDR FOR REFUND FILED ON 29-MAY-10. MESSAGE DISPLAYED IS "REFUND UNDER PROCESS". NO ACTION SINCE LAST ONE & HALF YEAR.

SINCE MY SERVICES ARE TRANSFERRED TO DELHI LOCATION, I AM CLOSING THE SYNDICATE BANK, UDUPI (KARNATAKA), A/C NO. [protected] THRU WHICH THIS E.TICKET WAS BOOKED. THE REFUND IF ANY MAY BE CREDITED TO MY FOLLOWING ACCOUNT:

BANK NAME : ICICI BANK, LALPUR BRANCH, RANCHI (JHARKHAND)
ACCOUNT NO.:[protected]

RTGS/NEFT IFSC CODE : ICIC0000292
MICR :[protected]
SEEK YOUR INTERVENTION FOR FASTER RESOLUTION.

REGARDS
RAKESH KUMAR OJHA

online Rail Ticket — Refund of e ticket

i had booked an e ticket for the train shatabdi express from Bhopal To Delhi on 10 may 2011 for 13 may 2011, my reservation was on the waiting list, but it got confirmed till the date of journey, but we reached the station and found out that the coach (CE-1) in which we had the reservation on seats 33,34,35 was not addded to the train. all the passengers of that coach were troubled, then the station master of bhopal station Mr. pradeep kumar wrote on our e ticket that CE-1 coach not available, and he also told us that you can file refund by filling TDR on your irctc account, but since that day whenever i try to open my irctc account an error saying that username invalid occurs, even when i try to retriev my password the same error occurs, i have talked to many people regarding this and have found out that they are also facing the same problem while logging in even when the username and passwords are correct. i think there is a problem on the website i request you to kindly help me and fix the problem so that i can use my accout to get my refund, otherwise please help me in getting the money refund,
in case my id password have got changed please help me to get my ID and Password

noorshariff
    Dec 27, 2011

I had booked 3 tickets for my friends from Bangalore to Mangalore on 30/07/2011. Class A3 which is an Air condition class, the booking waiting list, later 2 tickets got confirmed and the 3rd one was wait listed, hence 2 passengers travelled, the train TT did not issue us any acknowledgement as we were not even aware of it as recently I came to know that such acknowledgement was required when enquired why was my refund not approved, can any one thing that the TT might had let us travel without confirmation of ticket that to in an Ac class, request you help us get our money back.

Transaction Details
    PNR Number: [protected] Ticket Type: eticket Transaction ID: [protected]
    Booked On:[protected] Class: 3A Internet Service Charge: Rs 20.00
    Date Of Journey: 30/7/2011 Railway Zone: SR Bank: canarabank
    Total: Rs 2423.00 Train No: 16517 Ticket Charge: Rs 2403.00
    From Station: BANGALORE CY JN(SBC) Quota: Tatkal To Station: MANGALORE CNTL(MAQ)
    IRCTC Zone: Regional Director /Southern Zone (IRCTC), Chennai

Ticket Details
    S# Name Age Sex Coach Seat Res-Status

3 Wajid 40 Male 0000/ Booked

TDR Details
    Reason For TDR: The Third passenger did not get confirmation of ticket.
    TDR Status: GGM Regreted Reference No: ekt[protected]
    TDR Zone: SR TDR Filing Date: 30-Jul-2011

Refund Details
    Refund Status: Refund Not Approved Refund Date: 16-Nov-2011 Refund Amount: Rs.0.00

Noor
    I had filed a TDR with irctc for punjab mail from agra cantt to new delhi on 7.1.2013 for a journey date on 6.1.2013 on account of train late more than 3 hours and passenger not travelled. there were 2 tickets of 3ac. inspite of the tdr filed so long ago, there have been no refunds in this regard. an email to irctc comes with a reply that they do not deal into refunds. its the responsibility of indian railways division to do that and there is no concerned person to whom i can reach in this regard.

Please do something.
    Transaction ID: [protected] Train No./ Name: 12392/SHRAMJEVI N EXP PNR Number: [protected]
    Date of Journey: 14-Mar-2015 Date Of Boarding: 14-Mar-2015 Date of Booking: 24-Feb-2015
    From: LUCKNOW NR (LKO) To: PATNA JN (PNBE) Boarding At: LUCKNOW NR (LKO)
    Resv Upto: PATNA JN (PNBE) Quota: GENERAL (GN) Class: SLEEPER CLASS (SL)
    Ticket Amount: 335.0 Ticket Type: E-Ticket
    Passengers Details
    Name Age Gender Status Coach ID Berth No/ WL No
    KULDEEP SINGH 35 Male RLWL 32
    TDR Details
    Reason For TDR: Passenger Not Travelled Due To Ticket In RAC After Chart Preparation.
    TDR Filing Date: 14-Mar-2015 18:25:55 HRS TDR Status: CR Registered Cancellation ID: [protected]
    TDR Zone: EAST CENTRAL RAILWAY (EC) Registration No: DEC200315W39291
    I had booked my second A/C ticket from kanpur central(CNB) to Lokmanya Tilak Terminus(LTT) for the date 19th april, 2015 on a special train. train no.02112 and PNR : [protected].
    Since the train was really late and there was no information whatsoever about the train at the station or even online train enquiry system, which apparently stated invalid train number while I was trying to check train running status. So I cancelled my trip and applied for TDR once I was back. here is the TDR details

Reason For TDR: Train Late More Than Three Hours and Passenger Not Travelled.
    TDR Filing Date: 20-Apr-2015 00:39:54 HRS
    TDR Status: TDR Repudiate
    Cancellation ID: [protected]
    TDR Zone: CENTRAL RAILWAY (CR)
    Registration No: DCR250415W04712
    Repudiate Date: 01-May-2015

Reason for Repudiate TDR: As per chart, passenger has travelled.

Since I did not travel in that useless superfast special train how can they deny my TDR stating that I have travelled. Either the TC of the train is allowing people on these trains without checking there ID or illegally alloting these seats.
    Please look in to this matter.

K Chaturvedi

M.L.Patidar
      from Ajmer, Rajasthan
      Dec 26, 2011

Address: Jaipur, Rajasthan

On 25/12/2011 at 13.35Hrs I walked to Jaipur railways station to travel by Jaipur_udaipur intercity express and I was in ques from 13.35 to window no.7 to collect the ticket, in parrallel all other windows were in operation. Particularly window No7 booking clerk was very slow mean time at 14.00 Hrs shift has been changed and reliever has not started booking for next 10 minutes.till my no. came it was 14.15 and at last I got the ticket No B90706595 . as deparutre time of train was 14.15, I immediately rush to platform but found that train has left for udaipur. Finally I have to travel by other means of transport.
      This type of problem always seen at various station, where either due to poor response or negligence of staff or mis panning of booking section passengers get in trouble.

M.L.Patidar
      Bhilwara (Rajasthan) 311001

LOPAMUDRA DUTTA
        Dec 25, 2011

No water in the compartment B1. The train 12510 started today (25.12.11) from Guwahati(Assam) and going towards Bangalore(Karnataka).This train is always running without water and troubling passengers. This Train will travel for 53 hrs approx. and the basic requirement is unavailable in the train.We have been complaining to every hawker, coolies at every station - unfortunately on duty TTE is not reachable may be he knows the problem and fled away. Our PNR NO is[protected] seat numbr - 49,50,51,52. We are four, comprising of two elderly ladies, one little girl and me again a lady . Can anyone understands our problem. Is there any system in Indian Railways or we have to oblige all babus in Railways by traveling shabbily. .

Kundan Srivastava
          Dec 25, 2011

I am not sure...eitheir my complain shall only be a just reading paragraph or will resolve.

May I ask to Indian railway concerned "Babus"/railway Minister ?

1. Indian Railway has been doing so many changes to upgrade ticket reservation system. Why the system become more worst than earlier?
          2. Even we book the ticket 2 month back or one day back(For Tatkal). We can not sure to get the confirm ticket. What are they doing and why it is not resolving...Have they come in front the public?
          3. Indian Railway has announced that every person can book the internet banking from8AM sharp in the morning? But always the concerned site is gone to Server Down. Why not our Railways babus are in front to the public about this problem.In front means .. Indian Public can do aware that actually they are in race to resolve the problem or not?

Hope I will get the reply....

Kundan Kumar.
          Train No - 12392(shramjeevi Exp.)
          date - 27/10/2011
          New Delhi to Mughlsrai Jn.

i want to inform you that co-waiting list is 119 this is impossible, bcoz booking started today from at 8 am.
          I hope u will take action as soon as possible. Thank u...

ashvendra
            from Jind, Haryana
            Dec 24, 2011

Address: Ajmer, Rajasthan

I booked a retiring room at Ajmer Junction railway station on payment of INR 480.00 wade their receipt no. 01396219 dated 22.12.2011 at 10:10 hrs IST. As we reached to the room there was not a sing drop of water available. It was brought to the notice of attendant at duty and asked him to provide the water for freshening up as we had to reach Mayo college for my son's interview at 11:30 hrs. Attendant refused to arrange water and suggested to approach to Mr. Deepak Mathur then duty In-charge of retiring rooms. Mr. Mathur was contacted and he replied that it will take at least 1 hr. to arrange the water. I requested him and explain our matter o[censored]rgency. He suggested me to contact Mr. Om Prakash Sharma, Station Superintendent. As I reached to Mr. Sharma and explain all the happenings and requested them to refund my money because I had no time to wait till water was arranged. Mr. Sharma reply me very rudely and refuse to refund. When I asked the complaint book to lodge my complaint, he abusively told, you do what you can do. After that I lodged my complaint wide memo no 6399 dated 22.12.2011 at 11:15 hrs. Both the documents i.e. complaint memo and receipt are attached. I request the higher authorities of Railways through this mail to refund my money and take appropriate action against concerned officials for their behavior.
            Lots of bedbugs in room number 16 of AC Retiring room of bangalore city.

Non availability of water in Railways Retiring Room - Comment #2059708 - Image #0

girijaa
              Dec 23, 2011

Address: Maharashtra

Hi ,

During my day to day compute , I have come across onduty railway employees who perform their duties under the consumtion of alcohol. And some of those employees are onduty guards and drivers of trains . Everyday , millions of people use this public mode of transportation for their daily compute and such irresponsible employees jeoparadise the life of those people .

Their is rarely any action taken against such employees . Infact , their should be strict checking carried out on daily basis to identify such employees and necessary actions should be taken against them .

Girija

p.s : I have no idea if those consumer complaints are ever read by any authority bodies who come forward and take any actions over those submitted complaints. Still , hoping something woould be done , i am just submitting my complaint as a concerned citizen.

Devendra Sisodia
                from Panchgani, Maharashtra
                Dec 23, 2011

In the context of today's scenario Indian Railways have no facilities such as "Dustbins" other than the AC coaches,so the passengers are forced to throw-off the various wastes directly out of the window.This goes directly on the land which is some times the forests, and other natural ameties. And thus this is increasing the Land & Water pollution .
                So , it is an appeal to the authorities to provide facilities such as dustbines and also make the passengers aware about this issue, by the help of hoarding and campaigns.

subhash valse
                  Dec 22, 2011

Address: Maharashtra

This is to inform you that Pune railway station condition is horrible in respect of Operation, hygiene and commercial complexes, stall etc.
                  1. No trains are coming in time, waiting outside station for longer time.
                  2. Trains announcements are made without proper coordination. Suddenly platform is changed.
                  3. Local train timing is completely disturbed since July 2011.
                  4. Local trains are kept on waiting at in between stations for long distance trains to pass.
                  5. Local train passengers are fed up of service, this is only 1hour 20 minutes run, so must give first priority. Passengers are coming after entire day office work and then need to reach home In time. You are really testing their passions.
                  6. No platform track is cleaned; one cannot stand near to platform as it is stinking like municipal toilets. Cleanliness issues are not at all looked after, even after starting contract system.
                  7. All stalls are looting passengers with any rate of items being sold. There are no proper rate lists displayed, even if displayed font size is very small or displayed in corner not at prominent place.
                  8. Monginis stall items name and rate is not displayed, which helps these stall owners to fool passengers with any rate.
                  There are lot of things to tell but it is not possible to put it on mail. Can someone improve hygienic conditions of Pune station and stop cheating/looting of passengers with smooth/timely operation of Pune station.
                  Please note that it is not only me as one there are lot of passengers annoyed with all above issue but unable to find way and time to put up to concern authority. But let me tell you, in case all of them come up together in violent manner then it will be very difficult for Railway management to make them calm. Before these issues become more worse please please take necessary action.
                  In case you are not the concern authority please direct it to concern office/officer.

vineet seth
                    Dec 21, 2011

Address: Guna, Madhya Pradesh

I travelled on 15 th december from BHOPAL to DELHI by bhopal Express no 12155 in II AC class , coach A2 class while de boarding the train i found my Soft Suitcase is bitten by some Rat or mouse i immediatly registered the cmplaint to the coach attandent Ramsingh Raaikwar , he also informed that the supervisor contractor of this train Mr Manohar is aware of the rats in train but doing nothing , due to this my suiotcase worth Rs 4500/- is become totally useless MY Ticket Number for this journey is 2455835 and Pnr NO is [protected]

mumbaikar2012
                      Dec 20, 2011

Address: Mumbai Suburban, Maharashtra

There are no TTe ticket checkers available in the Virar trains during pick hours . And the TC on goregaon platforms told us that they will be available only in day time . If the passengers travelling during pick hours are not getting proper service then why should we waste our money in buying proper season ticket. If the railway is getting thr revenue from the passengers they should give us the full sevice.

Sumandip Nanda
                        Dec 19, 2011

1 Please refer to Indian Railway Parcel Way Bill Receipt number J353268 . The parcel contains a wooden box booked from Amritsar to Jhansi.

2. The parcel contains household goods in favour of a serving Indian Army Officer.

3. The parcel was booked on 12 December 2011 and the same has not been received in Jhansi till date. The same was however sent the same day by Chhatisgarh Express.

4.You are requested to look into the matter and inform any suitable action taken

Major Sumandip Singh Nanda

shekhar.kumar
                          Dec 18, 2011

Address: Bihar

harrasment and forcing to pay extra money by TTE Mr. VP Singh Muzzaffarpur

I Shekhar Kumar undertook journey from Begusarai to Batihnda vide ticket PNR No [protected], ticket no 64041212 class 3 AC by 15609 Awdh Assam Express on 16/12/2011. I had waiting list 01 status ticket. on asking for a seat TTE Mr. V P Singh using unparliamentry words denied me a seat. Later he asked for Rs 300 bribe to give me a seat. Right in front of me he sold seat to a passenger from BGS to BTI who could offer him Rs. 350 as bribe for which the TTE didnot issue any receipt to him. On pleading he abused my profession i.e INDIAN AIR FORCE saying HARAM KA JOURNEY KARTE HO AUR SEAT BHI CHAHIYE. Lastly he did not give me any seat and sold many available seat in front of me. Despite paying full charge to railway i had to pay. Rs. 100 to get a berth in night to him at Muzzaffarpur for which he didnot give me any receipt. That to up to Delhi only. As train was running late I couldnot afford further journey in night without reservation and got down at delhi railway stn. I hold TTE V P Singh of Muzzaffarpur responsible for my condition. I would request concern authority to look into the matter and start stern action against the defaulter.

kum.deep83
                            Dec 18, 2011

I HAVE BOOKED MY BIKE FROM nEW DELHI RAILWAY STATION TO NAGPUR ON 13/12/2011 VIA BILL NO- [protected]. BUT AS ON DATE ITS NOT REACHED NAGPUR AND AS PER BOOKING COUNTER AT THE TIME OF BOKKING IT WAS SUPPOSED TO GO BY HIMSAGAR EXP AND WOULD HAVE REACHED NAGPUR BY 14/12/2011. I TRIED TO CHECK STATUS ON INDIAN RAILWAY PARCEL STATUS SITE WITHOUT ANY RESULT.
                            I CAME TO KNOW FROM MY FRIEND THAT BIKE IS STILL AT NEW DELHI PLATE FORM.IT JUST FEEL HELPLESS THAT U CANT DO ANYTHING AND NO ONE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DELAY.

DEEPAK KUMAR

JUNED6949
                              Dec 14, 2011

Address: Uttar Pradesh

I BOOKED MY MOTOR CYCLE ON 30 /11/2011 BY TRAIN NO 18102, TATA MURI EXP FROM JALANDHAR CITY TO KANPUR CENTRAL VIDE SLR NO 0187188 UNDER MY PWB NO . 854681. THE SAME HAS NOT BEEN UNLOADED TO KANPUR STN AND IT WAS REACHED AT ROURKELA. AND THE SAME AGAIN WAS RETURNED BACK TO KANPUR STN AND NOW IT WAS NOT UNLOADED AGAIN. I ALSO COMPLAINT TO BOOKING OFFICE THEY DON'T CONFIRM ME EXACT LOCATION TILL DT ;
                              DETAILS ARE AS UNDER:
                              TRAIN NO : 18102
                              TATA MURI EXP
                              PWB NO : 854681 DT 30/11/11
                              SLR NO 0187188
                              FROM JUC TO CNB

KINDLY I REQUEST TO DO NEEDFUL ACTION FOR ME PLEASE.

YOUR SINCERELY
                              JUNED KHAN
                              MOB [protected]

nithi28
                                from Ranchi, Jharkhand
                                Dec 7, 2011

Address: Kollam, Kerala

Sir, 07/12/11

I had on 5th of dec 2011 reserved 5 tickets online
                                1) Trichy to Ernakulam (one ticket) on 20/01/12
                                2) Kollam to Ernakulam on 22/12/11 (4 tickets)

My account debited, but I am not able to view or take print out of the e-tickets

what is the fate of the tickets ?

K harikumar

Daxesh Shukla
                                  Dec 6, 2011

Address: Valsad, Gujarat

This is to inform you that, I undersigned got confirmed train travel ticket # 64933374 dated 2rd Dec 2011, through TATKAL SEVA JOURNY CUM RESERVATION TICKET COUNTER PRS-NDLS (212-08:09 RUPC 1037 VIA TKD-MTJ.-BRC-BH) by providing my necessary attached identity PAN CARD # BVNPS5246P. Other details of said ticket as per attached scanned image / below..
                                  • PNR # [protected], Train # 12954 August Kranti Rajdhani Express, Coach # B6, Berth # 71,Sex- Male, Age-35.Class -3A SL -RESERVATION FROM H.NIZAMUDDIN TO MUMBAI CENTRAL.
                                  I had initiate my journey to Mumbai Central from H.Nizamuddin in said train dated 3rd Dec 2011, then coach attender normally came to me & ask for ticket / identification. I gave him above attached confirmed ticket & PAN card (In color Xerox).He had clearly rejects identification in Xerox & demanding INR.3000 /- as penalty charges. I request him that, I will arrange my original identification from my home town VALSAD, as I had only INR 1000 in my pocket. He did not listen to me & forced me to leave the train at SAVAI MADHOPUR STATION & ultimately I had left that, train at same station. Then I did my remaining journey in ordinary class ticket B7122608.
                                  I OBSERVED THAT, THE PEOPLE WHO DOES’NT HAVE CONFIRMED RESERVATION, THEY EASYLY ENTERED IN TO THE TRAIN & GOT BERTH ON MONEY POWER.
                                  IF COLOUR XEROX IDENTIFICTION ARE NOT VALID DURING TRAVELLING THEN, HOW CAN I GOT CONFIRMED TICKET ON SAME IDENTIFICATION?? SEE GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS MENTIONED BACK SIDE TO TICKET, IS THERE ANY MENDATORY REQUIREMENT RELATED TO IDENTITY, SPECIFIED ON IT???
                                  THIS IS NOT THE WAY TO CATER SERVICES TO YOUR MIDDLE CLASS CUSTOMER.
                                  Request you to investigate the matter with responsible coach attender & arrange reimbursement of my confirmed ticket charges. I am expecting feedback within a week-time.
                                  Daxesh Shukla - Kochar Falia, Madanwad , Valsad -396 001 Gujarat- Cell -[protected].
                                  E-Mail:-dax.[protected]@yahoo.com,daxesh.[protected]@mutual-industries.com

kailash103
                                    Dec 6, 2011

Address: Vadodara, Gujarat

Plat farm no 6 is the beauty of Vadodara Railway station ,I wish the beauty persists.
                                    Area of Concern for me is unavailability of platform to move wheel chair. I faced this problem while taking my father on wheel chair. There is no connectivity of this platform with other platforms. On 22 Nov 2011 My Father(Age 82) & mother (Age 80 ) were having Reservation in Jaipur Super fast, I was having wheel chair.tried to move to PF 4 ....but in vain as no mobility except over bridge .Finally I along with my 3 friends have to climb 42 steps lifting the Wheel chair ...very unsafe act.If at all, I would have been alone my Father have missed the Train . On other Railway stations there are proper provisions for mobility of Wheel Chair .

It will be kind of you if attention is being drawn on this aspect...
                                    K N SHARMA( Safety Consultant)
                                    Mob [protected]
                                    Tel [protected]

panchal_dhrumil
                                      Dec 5, 2011

Address: Vadodara, Gujarat

It is very annoying since last week all the express trains are getting late due to goods train getting more priority than these trains. I am a first class pass holder, I commute daily from vadodara to bharuch, due to late trains I get late every day at my work which is very annoying. I want railway authorities to sort it out whether passengers are important to them or goods.
                                      Date: 14.1.2012

The General Manager
                                      Western Railway
                                      Baroda Division
                                      Baroda

Sub.: Insufficient checking

I the under signed Ismail Bharuchi Regular First Class Pass Holder commuting daily from Kosad – Surat – Kosad in Umergaon - Baroda bound Memu Train which departing at 5.45 p.m. daily from Surat
                                      In this first class coach uncivilized communes of second class such like bootleggers pick picketers and like wise making too much trouble.
                                      Many times we First Class pass holders get no place to seat and when request to those culprits they angers and show their muscle power.
                                      Some time we have to call guard to get seats, hence I on behalf of first class communes request you to look in to the matter arranging safety and starting checking from Surat station or Utran station with the hope than only all these notorious nuisances will stop.
                                      Awaiting of your prompt action
                                      I remain,
                                      Sincerely yours,

Ismail Bharuchi
                                      Kosad, Dist. Surat
                                      Mo:[protected]

neha0129
                                        Dec 3, 2011

Old Faridabad par jo ladies TTE hai unhe baat karne ki tamij nhi hai wo hamesha train me ladies se batmiji se bat karti hai.
                                        Kya monthly pass me ek din time nhi hota ticket banwane ka?
                                        mgar wo kisi ke bat nhi sunti or sabse ladai to tayar ho jati hai. un logo ko passenger ki suvidh ke liye rakha gaya hai ki unse batmiji ke liye.
                                        Kya un logo ne jo Rs. joining ke time par reswat di thi to kya wo reswat ke rs humse collect karege.
                                        Hajaro log bina ticket ke safar karte hai mgar unhe koi check nhi karta.
                                        Ladies compartment me gent ka safar karna mana hai jab complain karte hai to 1-2 din checking hoti hai uske bad koi namo-nishan nhi hota. Un logo ek khilaf koi action nhi liya jata.