Indian Railways Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 4, 2025
Complaints 6289

File a complaint to Indian Railways

Having problems with Indian Railways?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Indian Railways customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Indian Railways reviews & complaints page 258

S.Gharat
May 23, 2011

Address: Nagpur, Maharashtra

On 22/05/11 I was boarded on train Sevagram Exps. My ticket while at the time of booking was RAC 45 and after chart preperation it get RAC 1.But during my jurney TC does not confirmed it, beside before me he has confirmed Waiting list tickets of some passengers by taking money from tham. Railway authority should have declared rates of making RAC tickets confirmation. Should someone look that no tickets has been confirmed during whole train jurney of Sevagram Exps. on 22/05/201? Because if any tickets get confirmed I should have get chance because my ticket was RAC 1. Railway dept has I think legalised bribe taking from passengers and commuters.

tiwaribcet
    May 22, 2011

Address: Buxar, Bihar

I was travelling from Dumraon to ANVT ticket by train name BGP Garib Rath, no: 12353on 21/05/2010. The schedule arrival of this train at kharagpur is at 9 pm (approx). I had to go through severe metal trauma. No body from railway was ready to listen and help us. On top of that station master of Dumraon was unavaliable.

Let me know if you need any details from my side.

From Dumraon to ANVT ticket PNR-Number:[protected]
    Phone No [protected]
    Email Id: [protected]@gmail.com

Pankaj Kr. Tiwari

Indian Railway — Refusing to renew amnesty and Threatened to kill when objected

I am a daily commuter/passenger of local train, Hapur shuttle. I live in Shahdara and pick up train to go my office which is located at Barakhambha Road, New Delhi.
    Yesterday, 30 October 2008, I went to Shahdara Railway station from my office to renew my amnesty/monthly pass at 7.45 pm. I stood in queue at counter number-5. A lady who was distributing tickets at this counter and I waited for my number. When my number came, she asked me and other passengers to go at counter number-6 to renew or purchase tickets. Again queuing up in the counter number-6 where Mr. Rajeev Gupta is distributing Tickets, refused to renew my amnesty and rebuke me severely. He also threatened to kill me when I objected his behavior and told him that I would complain against him. Then he started to abuse me and embarrassed me at front of all passengers.
    It was the behavior of railway staff, Ticket counter staff, with passengers. The passengers wanted to travel with valid tickets but they embarrassed them.
    1- Is it the manner to speak with passengers?
    2- Is this type of threat given to passengers when they tried to purchase valid tickets to go their destination from ticket counter staff?
    It is not a shame only for Northern Railway but also for entire Indian Railway department. It is the main reason that many people who travel by local trains do not want to buy tickets. They usually avoid buying tickets due to long queues and the unprecedented embarrassment which is given by Counter Staff.
    This embarrassment can not be tolerated by law abiding people who do not want to make a journey without a valid ticket/ pass.
    I want to lodge my complaint against this Railway ticket counter staff, Mr. Rajeev Gupta and because she has also equally guilt for this.

With truly
    Manmohan Gaur
    491, Bara Thakur Dwara
    Shahdara, Delhi-110032
    M-[protected]

subject: Receipt No: B278404 dated :22/03/2009

With Reference to you above mentio. We here by inform you there was no rubber stamp on the receipt & signature of the passenger. There is no metion station name from where this palenty was collected.
    please advise us whether this receipt orginal or duplicate. We received this receipt on Rewari Station.

Surender Yadav S/O Sh. Rajkumar
    village mumtazpur,
    P.O.BOX NAHAR,
    TAHSIL : KOSHLI
    DISTT. REWARI
    HARYANA
    PH.NO.[protected]

M.K.Rao
      May 22, 2011

i was travelling to thane from pune on the 22nd may2011 by the train no12526/indrayani express. and my coach no.C1, seat no was 6 to 10. i have a complain against the pantry attendent, the food quality he served was very poor it was also stale, when we asked him of having served stale bread he immediately took away and through away the food out he did not give any explanation on that kindly look into the matter.
      -M.K.RAO
      PNR no.-[protected]
      transaction ID-[protected]

PS Rajeev
        May 20, 2011

Address: Sonbhadra, Uttar Pradesh

Dear Sirs,

I had booked our 3rd A/C Train Ticket for myself, my wife & son for Sector Singrauli-Bhopal vide PNR No.[protected] and from Bhopal-Tiruvalla (Kerala) vide PNR No.[protected] for our journey on 17/05/2011 and 18/05/2011 respectively. The onward ticket was booked way back on 19/02/2011. But till the journey date only one ticket was confirmed i.e. PNR No.[protected] and the other ticket i.e. PNR No.[protected] for Bhopal to Tiruvalla was on the waiting list. Therefore, we had stopped our journey at Bhopal due to the above unconfirmed ticket. On 19/05/2011 morning, I submitted the ticket at Bhopal Railway Station Reservation Courter for refund of the amount of my unused ticket. But the gentleman sitting at the counter informed me that the amount can’t be refunded on the ground that I had partially used the ticket. I informed him that we had stopped our journey at Bhopal due to the unconfirmed ticket and requested him to refund me the amount of our unused ticket for sector Bhopal-Tiruvalla (Kerala). But he refused to accept the cancellation form along with ticket for refund.

Since we have stopped our journey at Bhopal and not used the unconfirmed ticket for sector Bhopal-Tiruvalla (Kerala), may I request you to please take necessary action to refund me the amount of the said unused ticket. Scanned copy of the ticket is attached herewith for your kind reference and do the needful please as requested.

P.S. Rajeev
        Qtrs. No. N-19/12
        H.R. Department - Renupower
        Renupower Colony
        P.O. Renusagar 231 218
        Distt. Sonebhadra (U.P.)
        Mobile [protected]
        E-mail: p.s.[protected]@adityabirla.com
        I am yet to receive any response with respect to my complaint dated 20/05/2011.

P.S. Rajeev
        p.s.[protected]@adityabirla.com
        Dear Sirs,

Approx. four (4) months have already been passed, still I have not received any response againt my complaint dated 20th May, 2011.

May I request the concerned authority to please look into the matter and give me a response in the matter.

P.S. Rajeev
        Qtrs. No. N-19/12
        H.R. Department - Renupower
        Renupower Colony
        P.O. Renusagar 231 218
        Distt. Sonebhadra (U.P.)
        Mobile [protected]
        E-mail: p.s.[protected]@adityabirla.com

chandnanivk
          from Ratlam, Madhya Pradesh
          May 20, 2011

Address: Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh

I have travelled to Mumbai on 01.08.2010 thru Godan Exp in 2 AC but AC was not working hence TC has issued the certficiate confirming the AC was not working. I have file TDR on 15.08.2010 and forwarded the copy of E Ticket as well orginal certificate to IRCTC, Delhi but till today I have not recd the Refund.
          Despite wiriting many mail to [protected]@irctc.co.in. The details are as under :-
          Train no : 1056 Godan Exp. Dt of Journey : 01.08.2010 Class : 2 AC Transaction : [protected]
          Certficiate no : C997482 dtd 02.08.10 issued by TC.
          TDR Status : Forwarded to Railways.

Pl help me

Vijay [protected]

mahendra_choraria
            May 20, 2011

Address: Vizianagaram, Andhra Pradesh

The ticket counter at the railway stations are supposed to open by 8 am, however in Parvathipuram the counter does not open before 9 am.

However the employees of Railways at the ticket counter would be behind the windows issuing tickets to people who enter through the back door. They issue the tickets first to the people of their preference and the general public has no choice but to wait for additional 1 hour for tickets to be issued.

HEMCHANDRA VERMA
              from Vidisha, Madhya Pradesh
              May 20, 2011

Address: Raipur, Chhattisgarh

WITH REFERENCE TO TRANSACTION ID NO.[protected]/[protected] E- TICKET BOOKED FOR THE TRAVELLING ON[protected] FROM RAIPUR TO JHARSUGDA THROUGH TRAIN NO.12129 AZAD HIND EXP. BUT UNFORTUNATELY THAT TRAIN HAS DELAY FOR 13 HOURS & WE HAS TO CANCLE OUR JURNEY.THAT INFORMATION HAS ALREADY BEEN FORWARDED TO ON THE SAME DAY THROUGH CANCELLATION PROCEDURE 06 HOURS BEFORE THE ARRIVAL OF TRAIN AT RAIPUR. WE ARE REQUESTING TO YOU THAT PL. REIMBURSE RS. 263/- IN MY HDFC A/c NO.:[protected] AS EARLIEST.
              THANKING YOU HEMCHANDRA VERMA MOB.NO.:[protected]

brahampalnagar
                May 20, 2011

I have launch a complaint against cancellation of local train no-sna-2 from shakurbasti to aligarh.My Complaint no is 372.But yet no steps have been taken on this matter
                we the passengers of this train boarding from shakur basti is now in great trouble
                That sir we expect a quick action from your end

we will be highly obliged if you take immediate action on this matter.

with regards

dainik rail yatri union
                Secetary
                Brahampal Nagar
                Dadri,UP.

Our Email Address:[protected]@rishabhfragrances.com

HEMANT DOSHI
                  from Quepem, Goa
                  May 19, 2011

ON Dtd.19/05/2011 my ticket
                  PNR No: [protected] Train No. & Name: 19144/LOK SHAKTI EXP
                  Date of Journey: 19/5/2011 Date Of Boarding: 19/5/2011 Class: SL
                  From: AHMEDABAD JN(ADI) To: BORIVALI(BVI) Boarding: AHMEDABAD JN(ADI)
                  Resv Upto: BORIVALI(BVI) Distance: 0462 KM Scheduled Departure: 21:05
                  Total Fare: Rs. 609.0 Adult: 3Child: 0
                  on that day while traveling the ticket checker MR. M.B.PARMAR came to check the ticket.I saw my ticket & my voting card id proof but he said that you have to give me rs.500/- otherwise i will punish. because the ticket is E -ticket At that time he harassed us mentally by taking 500/- Rs.even i have a reservation ticket.

Indian Railway — Ticket Checker

Compalint made at Amritsar Railway Station on 16/07/2010 at 3.30pmregarding Ticket checker in Train no 9771 not sort out till date.Same day I got cell calls from official of Railway Div Ferozepur they confirmed they complaintent.So please take this matter to concerned
                  G.S.Grover

Railway ticket checkers corruption — complaint about Railway ticket checkers corruption

I was travelling from Dadar to Ahmedabad in Saurashtra Mail Sunday 12th Sept 2010
                  I got only 1 confirmed ticket but was needed 2 tickets so we bought normal ticket and started journey.

I was ready to pay penalty charges as applicable as me and my mother needed rest
                  When Ticket checker came in.i showed him both the tickets 1 was confirmed and 1 was general one.

He said you will have to pay Rs 300+ as penalty

As said i have given mentioned amount to TC.But in receipt he mentioned only Rs105 as charged
                  when asked for why he is not putting rest Rs 200 on receipt.He started threatening us

He started shouting on us when we demanded full receipt

He wanted to make corruption for Rs 200 from us also same way he had cheated many
                  people in front of me in the same bogie

I failed to get ticket checkers name but you can find by train no and date of journey
                  train no = 9215 SAURASHTRA EXP 8.35 pm is departure time
                  Bogie = S6
                  My confirmed seat number = 50
                  date = 12th Sept 2010

We need to stop corruption in railways in any way. Please help us

My contact = Harshal Bhavsar, mobil = [protected]

Indian Railways — ticket checker

I was traveling with my family in 12936 intercity express on 26th march 2011 from vapi to andheri. We had reservations in compartment number D4 and one of the members of my family couldn't make it to travel that day and one of my seat was vacant (not cancelled). Being a reserved compartment the people with unreserved ticket i.e. those who were suppose to travel in general compartment were also traveling in this compartment. As there was no place to keep my bag on the carrier or elsewhere i had to keep it on the seat which was vacant because i felt that i had paid for the ticket and i had to right on the seat from vapi to andheri. During this the ticket checker comes in the compartment starts checking my ticket, this person has no reaction seeing all the reserved compartment packed with people all over. One of the person standing illicitly hands him a 100 rupee note and asks for my vacant seat. The TC humiliatingly argues with me and my family and says that he has official right to do so which i do not believe is true. He shouldn't let those people travel in reserved compartment and even if he does let them travel i believe he has no right on my seat for which i have paid the money.
                  All in all my complaint is not against those 50-60 passengers traveling illegally but it is against that ticket checker who is responsible to see that no person is traveling with improper ticket, who did not justify his duty and sold himself for hundred rupees. By lodging this complaint i expect that strict action is taken against the TC.

sahu.ankurjune1
                    May 18, 2011

TO,
                    THE RAILWAY POLICE
                    NEW DELHI(NDLS)

I Ankur sahu informing you that while traveling on[protected] from Poorva exp PNR NO-[protected] TRAIN NO-12304 COACH NO-B2 SEAT NO-40 my wallet had been theft on railway station.

Details of theft material-
                    1.PAN CARD-BXEPS9619F
                    2.RS 1200/-
                    3.ATM CARD NOS-2 (HDFC,SBI)
                    4.SOME DOCUMENTS

KINDLY REPORT IT AS I DON'T SUFFER ANY PROBLEM RELATED TO THIS IF SOMEONE USE MY PAN ETC IN ANY WRONG MANNER

THANX & REGARDS

ANKUR SAHU

skbhardwaj_9
                      May 17, 2011

I have parceled my Bike (RN MH41-121, black, Bajaj Pulser) from Vadodara JN up to Bhopal JN on 10/05/11 in train. From Vadodara Station i get the information that it has sent through parcel in Train no 12583 on 12/05/11, but till date it has not reached at Bhopal JN.
                      please let me know what to do.
                      I am hoping for the positive response from your side

Suresh Bhardwaj
                      Geologist
                      Geological Survey of India
                      Bhopal-462016
                      Mob;[protected]

indian railway parcel service. — Parcel not reached .

i booked Hero honda CBZ bike parcel on 22/10/10, receipt no D043007 from Jhansi(uttar pradesh to) secunderabad station. but till date it has not been reached. i send persons to jhansi parecel booking office they could not say the status of my parcel. i am finding much difficulty with out bike.

aeparams
                        May 17, 2011

I am a Highway Engineer working at chennai: And I have brought my cousin R.Raveendiran (farmer) to chennai from his native district Kanyakumari for doing some of my personnel works, in the first week of
                        April 2011. On completion of his work he returned back to his native place on 23.04.2011, in Kanyakumari Express (No.12633) by taking tatkal ticket at railway reservation counter.

The PNR No is[protected] (S1 coach)

On boarding into the train I informed to the TTR incharge for S1 coach that my cousin R.Raveendiran
                        (aged 58 Years) has taken tatkal ticket at railway reservation counter, but does not have ID card since he being a farmer. But, the TTR was acting at angry mood that he will not accept the tatkal ticket without ID card and stated that he will make my cousin to be sent out of the train considering him as without ticket: Further he added that if necessary he will be handed over to the police.

Situation being like this, my cousin informed to me that the TTR came and checked his ticket, asking him to show the ID card. Since he was not having the ID card he was asked to go to the unreserved compartment . This action of TTR is completely arrogant and harassment on a passenger who has taken a valid ticket even at the extra cost of tatkal at Railway reservation counter. Hence, I request that kindly intervene in the above matter and solve the problem for the tatkal ticket travellers in train and also necessary action may be taken on the particular TTR.
                        Thanking You.

Er.C.Brahmarajan,B.E M.T.P.,
                        M12/6, Nava Bharat Colony,,
                        Kauvery Salai, Besant Nagar,
                        Channai - 90.
                        Cell:[protected].

jain_sunil1981
                          May 15, 2011

Address: Gaya, Bihar

We were travelling by train no. 12496 on dated 13.05.11 from kolkata to bikaner. Our Coach no. was BE-1 and birth no. was 57,58 and 60.
                          1> rishabh bucha M 20
                          2> mamta jain F 27
                          3> akshat M 6
                          Our one baggage contains Laptop, one mobile, Pan card, Atm card and 4000 rs. cash was theft by someone in the stations between dhanbad and gaya.

After knowing that our baggage was stolen, we report it direct to the incharge TT. The TT refuse to provide the concern form and suggest to break the journey and told us to report to the next police station.

Because I have the family and children with me, I couldnot break the journey.

But that is his duty to give us the complain form and submit to the next police station.

We required the FIR form in top priority.
                          Bikaner Station is also Refuse to login the FIR.

PLs Help us to get the FIR.

We will highly oblige to you.

Rishabh bucha

gautamroy1
                            May 13, 2011

Address: North 24 Parganas, West Bengal

This is to inform you that while booking the ticket in IRCTC for takal ticket from 08 am the server goes down
                            this is because the agent use the services and booked the ticket & sell at a higher rate.
                            This was stop few month back after the news report was shown in the Star News in detail about the server down from 8 am to 9am. after the 9pm the server become normal when the ticket are booked by the agent. the same practice is started again the server down from 8am to 9am

Kindly look into the matter and stop this type of practices in IRCTC for the agent booking the ticket in takal & selling the ticket in higher rates.

Gautam

Monia Tolani
                              May 12, 2011

Address: Madhya Pradesh

My mobile has been stolen on 12 may 2011 while i was travelling in Train no 12191 bith no 32 coach s1....
                              A person on birth no 31 on d same coach has taken it..as he called my father nfrom my no and confirmed d same.m trying 2 get his address through his birth no...kindly help me in doing so and suggest a way out 2 trace it...i have already registered my fir.
                              I would be highly thank ful and oblidged ...Please help me out.
                              It is submitted that I along with my wife Smt. Gyanti Devi boarded Maha Kaushal Express from Sihora at about 1850 hrs on 2506.2013. I was allotted the berth No.43 & 45 in the Coach No. A-2, AC Two tier sleeper vide the PNR No. [protected]. At about 0600 hrs, in the morning when the train reached Gwaliar I found my dual SIM Macro max mobile No.[protected] & [protected]( or6699) stolen from my table and I immediately tried to contact the coach attended and I desperattely walked from one coach to the other but I could not find him for 15 minutes. Then I enquired from the coach attendant who instead of taking pain to take me to the coach in charge or call him to me very reluctantly told me that he is at berth No. 7 in the next coach. When I approached the berth No. 7 in the next coach, I found a man sleeping there. I thought he could be a passenger and did not think proper to disturb him. Then I again approached the Coach attendant then instead of helping me he misbehaved with me. Then again went to the berth No.7 and this time I awoke him and asked him if he was the coach incharge, then that gentleman answered in affirmative but when I told him about the incident of mobile theft and expressed my apprehension on the coach attendant. he misbehaved with me and tried to justify his sleeping on the berth while on duty at about 0630 hrs. Then I asked for the complaint book and after hectic persuasions I was provided with the complaint book and I lodged a complaint to this effect at Sl. No, 022809. Then at about 1100 hrs. I was informed by my son on my wife's mobile No.[protected], that my aforesaid dual sim mobile is in custody of the RPF Staff at Gwaliar I immediately contacted the RPF staff who told me that they had recovered this mobile from a man who had jumped out of the train when it slowed down due to pulling of chain. I am quite shocked and surprised of the behaviour of the Coach attendant and the coach incharge who appear to be hand in glove with criminals. Although now the aforementioned mobile is in custody of my relatives thanks to the cooperation of the RPF Staff, but would the high officials of Railway take the cognizance of my complaint and take remedial action ?
                              With Regards!
                              Harish Chandra Yati
                              Saraswati Niwas, C-322, Sector Alpha-I Greater Noida
                              District: Gautam Budh Nagar (U.P.)-201306

swappu
                                May 11, 2011

Address: Surat, Gujarat

i didnt get the copy of e-ticket by mail on my email account.
                                on 11/05/11 i have booked a e ticket from mumbai central to surat
                                with transection id is [protected] but i didnt get any confermatin by mail or
                                by message on my cell. and fare charges are deducted from my bank account.
                                please be needful.

Reservation — not get ticket

i book my ticket but idont get my ticket and i pay my payment so please send my ticket as soon as possible
                                Please find all details of my e-ticket. when given by me transaction id of e-ticket[protected].
                                dmit.[protected]@gmail.com

GVLasya
                                  from Nizamabad, Telangana
                                  May 11, 2011

Address: Khammam, Andhra Pradesh

Sir,I booked 4 tickets online from Vijayawada to Nagarsol with PNR number [protected] in the Train number 17206 under General quota on 1st may 2011 with Waiting List status 100,101,102,103.Later 3 of them were confirmed under EQ quota and the 4th one still remained in waiting list with number 17.The amount pertaining the last ticket was not credited back to my account.My account number was [protected].
                                  With Regards,
                                  G.V.Murali Mohan

lovingsumit143
                                    from Thrissur, Kerala
                                    May 11, 2011

Address: North Delhi, Delhi

This is regarding an incident which occured on 16th April 2011 during my journey on (). My ticket status when I boarded the train was RAC 18 and WL 1 - 3 tier AC. I was supposed to share my seat with another individual. As per the railway rules people with RAC status in 3AC should be given PREFERENCE OVER individuals from General quota. However in gross violation of the above rules the TT on the train (details mentioned above) allotted seat no 53 in B1 coach to a general quota passenger by making a penalty receipt. When I raised this concern with the TT and pointed out that the rules were not being followed, he misbehaved with me and my co-passenger and even asked us to go out of the coach. Its apalling to see that TTs are openly flouting the rules and misbehaving/not showing respect to even female passengers. This issue should be looked into immediately and the concerned official brought to task

Deepa Kumari.

Minnie
                                      May 10, 2011

Sir / Ma'am,

Greetings, I would like to complaint about the delay that is been regularly exercised by your staff for a Churchgate departing train from Virar, the train comes on time but is very late when it comes to reaching the destination, I really pity the management bcoz its v. badly mismanaged, most of the revenue of western railways is generated by commuters from Virar-Churchgate & they are the one who suffer alot, u'll should be really ashamed o[censored]rself bcoz people reach late to their offices, schools, etc despite of leaving on time, i[censored]'ll cannot manage, stop generating revnue from the Public, the train timing from Bhayandar is 8:45, 8:49, 8:53 which are always late, always.
                                      Kindly look into the matter.

srinivasa y v
                                        May 10, 2011

In kengeri railway station, bangalore, parking collecting 4 times of fee, As per the token it shows the for Rs.2 for 2 wheelers but this people collecting Rs.10, When i am inform to Kengeri railway station master, even himself also supporting to parking guy. But backside of parking token shows for 2 wheelers Rs.2 and for 4 wheelers Rs.4.

So kindly i request you to all, pls tell me the contact person regarding to my complaint

Srinivasa Y V