Air India Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Jul 27, 2025
Complaints 3175

File a complaint to Air India

Having problems with Air India?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Air India customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Air India reviews & complaints page 109

V Rao P
Jun 14, 2018

Address: 380015

Pnr: kyqzu9, for 11.06.2018 flt ai 982 amd-maa

I was reported at amd airport well in advance with web-checked in for my travel to chennai by ai 982 departing at 06:50, arr at maa 09:10.
Reported at counter to change my seat from 24d to 3d and got the boarding pass re-issued. The sequesnce of my boarding is recorded well in advance.
I was waiting and got in to some urgent office work.
Suddenly i realised that the time of boarding was getting closure, tried checking up the status of boarding.
I was informed that the gate is closed and the aero bridge was being pulled back.
Extreamly shocking and requested the staff to help me in getting boarded.
They half hearted made an attempt to contact the pilot, who denied to allow the aero bridge to be pulled and made me in.
The approach of the staff availbe had never been coustomer friendly.
Got a free advise from them to go out and try at domestic terminal for an alternate flt to chennai.
Finally, the least i expect from the staff and air line is an announcement to alert me which could have helped me in not missing a most impartant meeting i got scheduled at chennai.
Request for refund from the airline and councel the staff to be more coustomer friendly like any another airlines.
Pemmaraju v rao
Air India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

SANDIP_SHAH
    Jun 11, 2018

My both check in bags are delayed by almost 40 hours. Just now i have received one bag. I bag containing clothes is yet not received and as per the feedback it will be dispatched tonight from mumbai. As per the policy delivery of entire checked baggage is delayed beyond 24 hours when a passenger is on a visit to a foreign country and has no access to their own wardrobe, then one time interim expense of gbp 50.00 or equivalent in local currency is reimbursed.in india, the amount is inr 3, 000
    Complain no: (Ref no. Wb-iauh[protected]
    Complain date: 28 may 2018
    Still no response.
    I, Pankaj Dhami, booked a flight from Delhi to Raipur on 30.05.2018 for rs. 7327. But the booking failer after payment. So kindly refund me the amount.

nimisha.bhansali
      Jun 10, 2018

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400006

Was traveling from newark to mumbai paid 100 dollars for extra leg space seat but can’t seat properly as ur remote was portuting so much out that a person can’t seat and was poking
      Etk[protected]c2
      2june. Ai144
      27 c and 27 a
      Would request to compensate by returning my money
      Nimisha bhansali
      [protected]. Mobile

Dev Raj Bajaj
        from Kotputli, Rajasthan
        Jun 9, 2018

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, DELHI

I had booked 4 tickets for 5th june 2018 from trivandrum to delhi. But due to death of my close relative, it was cancelled and a fresh ticket was booked. So i have a query regarding waiver of charges. I tried to contact air india safdarjung office landline[protected] on 09.06.2018 during office hours at least 50 times. The bell went on ringing but no body attended the phone. Also so many landline contact nos. Available on the site of air india do not exist presently. Do i need to travel 100 km for my queries. Toll free no also failed to answer/guide me properly.

Mangesh Salvi
          Jun 9, 2018

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400066

I had an emergency meeting in mumbai so i bought a flight from delhi mumbai at an high rate and to my knowledge i was stopping boarding say flight was full. For this air india has informed me that i can get compensation for my loss. My pnr number was c5xq7c i want to know how much compensation you are going to provide or i may have to file a suit in consumer forum court or file an pli against you for this nasty behavior for no reason. If the flight would have been canceled for some technical issues it’s understood but air india making fool of travelers is unbearable. My email id is [protected]@hotmail.com

windsor26
            Jun 9, 2018

Address: 2573

We flew from lhr to syd via delhi using two planes. Both were badly maintained the first plane our entertainment systems and light switches did not work and as most of the other systems on board were giving trouble none f the staff call buttons were being answered. We had to move our seats to a less comfortable position at the rear and still had a little trouble onme a 7 hour flight without light or entertainment is not what we paid for. The second [plane did not allow anyone to put on their private light and as they turned off the plane lights for most of the 12 hour flight it was most uncomfortable they even gave out the immigration forms to be completed and then turned out the lights before they could be completed. On this plane the food was inedible to a european who cannot take spices and the only meal we possible could have eaten the last breakfast was still almost frozen and was squashed flat it was a cup cake and a cheese croisant not the standard we are paying for we would have done better in almost every other airline. Additionally the plane was delayed by 3 hours so something is rotten in the land i believe the luggage which eventually arrived had my large case smashed beyond repair. The corner was completely ripped off and the wheel was gone almost new case used 4 times had to leave the airport without complaining as we had a train to catch and if missed a 1.5 hour wait for the next train

Mayank58
              Jun 9, 2018

Address: Jamnagar, Gujarat, 361008

Your flight ai 648 from jamnagar to mumbai on 03/06/2018 pnr jry6e was late by nearly 4 hrs so i could not catch my connecting flight to mangalore. This has given me financial loss of approx 10, 000 rs. Also as i am medical examiner mangalore students of medical college suffered delay in exam.in short air india gave me mental harassment, financial loss and status harassment. Kindly refund the said amount, if not i will be forced to take legal action caused to me by your jamnagar airlines.
              Dr mayank p acharya
              Professor and head
              Eye department
              G g govt hospital and
              M p shah govt medical college
              Jamnagar

sekarbk
                Jun 8, 2018

Please refer to reservation by reference ekwvel for the passenger bangalore kuppusami sekar and dbiwzu for passerngers vasantha thiagarajan and bhargavi sekar. The ticket was to travel from singapore to coimbatiore on 27th april and back to singapore on 5th may by air india express.

When we travelled back on 5th may by ix686 from coimbatore we had reserved by additional amount for leg space in th exit row paying 16 sgd per ticket. We have chosen with row 14 and seats d, e, f. To our surprise 14th row is not a exit row in the flight and we had lot inconvenience in travelling. (Only row 15 and 16 had near exit)

It is very disappointing that despite paying 16 sgd per ticket, booking in advance we have been asked travel by seat which is less than normal seat as there could any adjustment to seat.

Hence i request you (A) refund the amount immediately.

Rani Channa
                  Jun 7, 2018

I am a canadian citizen, trying to board from delhi to amritsar (Return travel). Due to the unorganized procedures at the ticket counter everything was delayed and so much ruckus caused my flight to be missed and no empathy, courtesy or help was extended by any agent. I had to buy another airline ticket and that costed me 2 airfares for no reason. It was a very frustrated ordeal and i would like someone to acknowledge it and revert back asap.

sheelpatel1
                    Jun 5, 2018

My grandparents were flying to toronto on the 3rd of june, yet due to a storm their flight was diverted to goa. They spent the whole night awake because the air canada crew was unable to get them a flight to mumbai, however once they did manage to get to mumbai, almost 12 hours later, air india took no responsibility of fixing their original missed flight to toronto. I had to call air india and they told me to ask air canada for a flight, so i ended up calling air canada, the agent told me that because the reroute was air india's fault, its up to them to find the passengers a way to their destinations. So the agent from air canada called air india and had to tell them what to do about the situation. It has been 12 hours since that call and my grandparents haven't heard anything from the company since, they have been stranded at the airport for 12 hours now with no food, accommodation or anything!!!

sdaga
                      Jun 4, 2018

I was travelling from Bikaner to Delhi on 31st May 2018.
                      I have a knee problem and had been advised to keep my leg straight and therefore requested the ground staff (counter at Bikaner) to allocate the seat in the first row as it was unallocated. He said it won't be possible as you're a lady and won't be able to open the exit door! Firstly I wasn't requesting for the entire 1st row and was only requesting because the doctor had adviaed.
                      [protected] is my FF no. So have been on Air India quite a few times.
                      Also was travelling to Bikaner for the 3rd-4th time and never faced this problem but was totally disgusted by this attitude.! Hoping for a compensation at the earliest.

vahinsharun
                        Jun 4, 2018

I am indian female scientist working at bhabha atomic research centre, department of atomic energy, govt of india, mumbai. Me and my family had a flight of air india at 9 pm from delhi airport terminal 3 to mumbai on 26th may 2018. Flight number was ai191. Flight was booked by my husband mr vishal sharma.

We travelled all the way from mussoorie to delhi in car and reached delhi airport. We rushed and reached airindia counter at 8:15pm. The person sitting at desk was about to give us boarding pass but immediate another airindia person mr vijay gupta came and asked our name. When we told we are sharma and family he immediately asked the counter person to close the counter and said that we are late and counter gets closed 1 hr before departure of flight i. E at 8pm.

We came to know that flight was already late by an hr and now was supposed to fly at 10 pm.. That means the counter should have been opened till 9 pm.. Though flight was delayed no official announcement was made for this.. We argued on this point and requested to allow us to board the flight. Also we could see that status was showing that security checking goin on.

I also told that one of my son is not well and we have to reach mumbai urgently.

But mr vijay gupta was not ready to listen to anything and was very very rude. We requested continuously for about half an hr but were denied boarding. Mr vijay gupta was giving us all illogical reasons for denying boarding. He shouted at me infront of all passengers.. Misbehaved and used foul language.

Also he was not allowing us to talk to other senior air india staff and was interfering and shouting. When we argued he called cisf personnel. Cisf personnel came saw my govt id card and himself requested mr vijay gupta and others to reconsider the decision and allow us boarding. But no one agreed.

Then we went to airindia office at airport and requested to talk to manager. No one gave us proper information. We stood there for almost half an hr. Then someone told us to go to counter g and talk to mr rathee or mr pramod. We again went to counter g. No manager was there. Then we were sent to counter f. There i met mr ajay and mr pramod and told my ordeal. I requested if alternate arrangements can be made to travel to mumbai. They all straight away denied and said all flights are full and we cannot make any adjustment. We checked online and saw there were seats available in few flights next day. When we told this we were sent again to air india office.

I was continously roaming here and there at airport talking to managers, air india staff for about 3 hours with my two small kids. I was mentally harrassed for 3 hrs by air india people. I didnt get any help from air india staff. Finally as my kids were not well i left the airport at about 11:30pm.

I request you to kindly give me full refund of the ticket and register my mental harassment complain agains mr vijay gupta who denied us boarding inspite of flight being delayed and shouted used foul language infront of many people. I am so dissappointed with airindia staff behaviour and need apology. This was my family's worst experience.

We had to book another ticket to mumbai by indigo (6e 191 booking id nf[protected]) which costed us around rs 34993/-. This was the cheapest available flight in next three days.

I would like to have answer for following questions
                        1. Why mr vijay gupta was so rude and was pressurising counter person to deny us boarding inspite of flight being delayed by an hour?
                        2. Why was he not allowing us to talk to any senior air india person?
                        3. Why the delay in air india flight not anounced officially?
                        4. Why our name was not anounced before closing the counter?
                        5. Why didnt air india arrange another flight for us or did any adjusstment to help us?
                        6. Why were we not allowed to meet the highest authority of airindia aitting at airport?

All the required details are as follows:

Air india flight no: ai 191 (Delhi to mumbai)
                        Date of departure:[protected]
                        Actual time of departure: 9 pm (But delayed by one hr)
                        Booked from: makemytrip
                        Booking id: nf[protected]
                        Passengers name :
                        1. Vishal sharma
                        2. Sonal sharma
                        3. Vahin sharma
                        4. Sharun sharma
                        Person against whom complaint is made: mr vijay gupta (Air india ground staff), mr pramod (Manager)

Amount claimed :
                        Rs 15, 720 (Charges of ai 191 for four memebers)
                        + rs 34, 993 (Booking charges for another flight on 29th)
                        + rs 15000 (Additional charges for staying in delhi for three days)

Total: rs 65, 713/-

For reference both booked tickets (Delhi to mumbai on 26th and 29th) copy are attached herewith.

There cannot be any charge for the mental harassment which me and my family had suffered. Me and my had had to extend our office leaves.

I hope airindia will take strict actions against the culprits and help us in getting the refund claimed. I hope such incident is not repeated by any airindia staff with anyone.

sudhavenu
                          Jun 4, 2018

This incident happened on 28-may-2018. Flight no ai933, pnr h0wmq my kids, sreelakshmi and sreelekha were the passengers and were there at 4.20am and stood in line. After dropping them even after 15 mints i didn’t get any call back so i called them, they said they are in que, i advised them to go in front and ask that the flight is at 5.10 and do the formalities asap. At the counter, the guy said the flight is full, now please let me know how is it possible that a valid ticket is with us and flight got full. Then i asked my kids to give the phone to him, i telephonically requested that due to some medical emergency they need to go on that date itself at that time he said now he cant allow as the checkin time is over and flight is about to take off. Now please let me know 4.20 to 4.35 you have wasted that time, how are we responsible for it

As usual you people dont think the emotional aspect and i dont want to describe that too. Then when we discussed this with some of our relatives and friends we ealised that some has experienced such heartless cancellation. You know this sector is the busiest sector so accommodating others is easily possible and by that way you can also increase your revenue, sorry i don’t want to argue on that too because a citizen like us can only request you.

Request you to atleast refund the amount as it was not no-show ticket my kids were very much there and it was because of wasting time on argument or by giving the confirmed booking to somebody else, younpeople have. Not allowed to board the flight. Atleast expecting some humanitarian concern towards citizen from your side by refunding the hard-earned money.

shehzar
                            Jun 3, 2018

I was travelling from jeddah-mumbai on[protected]Ai 932) with my mother. It was sehri time around 3.45 am (Time when we start fast). My mother had to take medicine before starting for fast so she asked me to call any crew member for water.

At 3.45 am i pressed the crew assistance button above my seat for help. After waiting for 30 minutes when no one came at my place for help i went back personally to take water. When i reached back of the flight i saw all the crew members were having good chitchat without caring anyone onboard where everyone waiting for water since it was sehri time.

When i raised my concern to crew members, they said that they already served water to everyone 15 minutes back which was big lie. And they started talking to me in very rude manner. Other passengers when heard my voice then they started complaining that even they were waiting for help for so long.
                            Even though if they had served water 15 minutes back then what about if there is any emergency after 5 minutes?

Crew members were treating all the passengers like army officers. I have travelled with so many international airlines till now but this is the first time i have seen crew members treating passengers onboard so badly. Hardly they have spoken with anyone politely or they have smiled looking at anyone. I understand most of the passengers onboard were labour class but that doesn’t mean they are traveling for free and they don’t deserve service for which they are paying to airlines.

Crew members are the only care taker of passengers when they are thousands of feet above the ground level where they cannot ask for help anyone else. No doubt this level of service by air india forced them to go in debt and look for their bidder.

I would really appreciate if air india train their staff and ask them to provide service to the passengers for which they are getting paid.

Also, i don’t want to describe about mumbai-jeddah flight on[protected]Ai 931) where take off was delayed by 5 hours and we were forced to come out from the flight after 2 hours of boarding to change the plane since there were some technical issues in the plane. Amazing part of the story here is air india provided peanuts as compensation to all the passengers for 5 hours delayed.

Please check the authenticity of complain with your crew member. Hope they will spill out truth what happened onboard.

Shehzar khan
                            Dear Sir, 23rd May'18 i've booked ticket for my relative using with my Credit card. But the tickets are not booked the amount has been debited from my account on 24th May'18. still now not yet refund my money to my account. When i contact to customer about this issue, they give really bad response or disconnecting the call. EVERYTHING WORST

Komal Dhiman Ckk
                              Jun 3, 2018

Hello, i travelled yesterday from hyderabad to new delhi via air india. Travelling experience was fine but i found my luggage damaged today. My glass photoframe was broken which was a fragile item. Secondly, my bag and its handle was torn from outside. Luggage staff might have pulled it in a very hard way that the bag was damaged. Its ridiculous. At least the staff must be properly trained for this and they must handle the luggage in a good way.

Komal singh

Bhavin Vala
                                Jun 1, 2018

My family is traveling from muscat to ahmedabad via bombay thru air india ai986. Now this flight is getting delay every day by 1-2 hours. I was tracking the flight then i come to know due to delay from bombay to ahmedabad ai91 this flight is getting delayed. Ai 91 bombay to ahmedabad 5:40 pm to 6:30 pm, ai 985 ahmedabad to bombay 7:20 pm to 9 pm, bombay to muscat 10:20 pm ist to 11:20 gmt. If local flight is gets delayed. International passenger are getting harassed. Due to this ai 986 will get delayed & reach ahmedabad by 8 am morning.
                                Due to mis-management by air india passengers are suffering.
                                This is making bad reputationsof india as it is national carrier of country

neetu684
                                  from Bhawanigarh, Punjab
                                  Jun 1, 2018

Address: Chandigarh, Punjab, 160055

I had a air india flight ai813 from chandigarh to pune at 9.15 on 01.06.18. I was traveling with my 3 yr old son. I was comming from patiala and due to farmers agitation against goverment and traffic on new opened toll plaza on chandigarh patiala road, i was little late but still after scanning my bags at airport i reported the air india counter at 8.35. I had the web checking boarding pass. But air india employee mr. Sandeep told me that he couldn't allow me to board the luggage and i could take only my hand bag. I told him the reason why i was late, i requested him to send my luggage in next flight. But he refused. He wasted the time and then said he couldn't allow me to board. I was feeling so helpless. I requested alot but no use. Other flight like indigo jetairway always cooperate with their passengers, the make need full arrangements for late passengers. I could board the flight but due to non cooperative behavior of mr sandeep i couldn't. Air india should compensate for this non cooperative behavior

Aurobi D
                                    from Patiala, Punjab
                                    May 30, 2018

Today 30/5/2018 i had air india flight from delhi to kolkata from terminal 3. I was carrying my very old 82 years very sick icu returned mother alone. I had 2 bags of medicines with me and they charged me 12 thousand extra for these medicines bags which i was not in a situation to afford. I requested to give senior citizen concession as it is only medicines which i had shown to manager to help me out. Instead of helping air india manager advised to throw medicines if i cannot afford extra 12 thousand to board the flight. I cancelled the flight as my request for seniors citizen medical concerned request failed. They are money minded. No humanity care for sick very old senior citizen.. They should change their attitudes
                                    Jun 28, 2018
                                    Updated by Aurobi D
                                    No Resolution of my complaint submitted yet..Air India should compensate at least by refunding my ticket money at least my mother's ticket fare as she is super seniour citizen 82 years.

from Unnao, Uttar Pradesh
                                      May 30, 2018

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110012

On 30may i missed my flight from delhi to goa ai156 due to heavy traffic because of a truck overturn and a procession. Lots of people were stuck in the traffic.. Other airlines like indigo and vistara had made arrangements for their passengers who were late in the next flight with no extra charge.. But air india official denied any help.. I was traveling with two kids.. I constantly called the customer care and the counter on the airport before and after missing the flight for rebooking but nobody helped.. I had to book another flight on indigo at an exorbitant price for the next day.. My name is sonal kaur parmar.. Pnr j604l.. I would be highly obliged if i would be compensated after so much of harassment..

Sridhar D Iyer
                                        May 30, 2018

Address: 403002

Dear sir / madam,

Greetings from goa.

We had a harrowing time on board the flight ai 975 from chennai to goa on 23rd may 2018. Kindly see the following details.

1. The passengers boarded on time at chennai and the flight took off at 1825 hrs. Prior to approaching dabolim airport at goa the pilot announced that due to the absence / failure of landing lights on the runway at dabolim the flight would be diverted to hyderabad. The announcement was probably made (1900 hrs) after the flight was already diverted as we noticed the aircraft taking a turn and also because within 30 minutes of the announcement we reached hyderabad airport.

2. The aircraft was parked in a hangar at 1930 hours. There was no announcements nor information for a long time. After a while it was announced that clearance has been obtained and the flight would be take off to dabolim. The boarding doors were closed and latched.

3. Within 5 minutes of the above announcement, the doors were opened and for more than 4 hours there was no announcement nor update from the pilot about the likely time of take-off.

4. We stayed put in the aircraft till 2355 hrs i. E., for more than 4 hours after the aircraft had landed at hyderabad.

5. Few water bottles were supplied but there was absolutely no food. This is not acceptable. There were onboard several infants, kids, senior citizens and diabetic persons.

6. The rear toilets were stinking and one of the washbasin was clogged.

7. Several passengers became restless and got off the aircraft with their cabin baggage and stood on the tarmac! The cabin staff could not stop them. Later security persons arrived and asked the passengers to get back to their seats. But most of them did not listen and continued to stand outside. The situation was grim and seemed to be going out off hand.

8. Unfortunately, when so much activities and tamasha were happening the pilot and co-pilot remained immune and had shut themselves in the cockpit. They refused to either come out and console / comfort and explain the delay nor did they make any announcements about the departure. The cabin staff were upset and helpless since the passengers were getting agitated.

9. We landed at dabolim at 0030hrs on 24th may and had to travel for more than 1 hour to reach home and later slept on an empty stomach.

Kindly imagine the above scenario and the problems that we faced. What was supposed to be simple straight flight (1 hr 20 m) from chennai to goa turned into a nightmare that last for more than 4 hours.

In view of the difficult times we had suffered, physically, emotionally and mentally, we request and seek compensation for the more than 4 hours of delay, as per the rules of compensation initiated by the dgca / goi.

We hope that the matter would be settled amicably.

Anticipating an early and positive response.

Regards.

Sainandan
                                        Sridhar
                                        Kamakshi

30/5/2018
                                        May 30, 2018
                                        1. No steps taken to resolve / reply / or call from Air India for the stated problem 2. Following email was received: "Hello Sridhar D Iyer, Chanchal Gupta Advocate sent you a message. You must log in to ConsumerComplaints.in to see or reply to the message. Regards, Consumer Complaints Team www.consumercomplaints.in" 3. Kindly inform status of the complaint.