HDFC Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 16, 2025
Complaints 32896

File a complaint to HDFC Bank

Having problems with HDFC Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by HDFC Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

HDFC Bank reviews & complaints page 318

pankaj#1234
Oct 30, 2020

Address: Hdfc bank, Jayabhery enclave, Hyderabad

I need to permanently close my account. I opened this as a salary account in June 2018. But I switched my organization and created new account there. My hdfc account has been inactive for almost an year. I logged in now and I see negative balance approx 5000.

I did not received any email/sms/call that my salary account will get converted to normal account and I will be charged for non maintenance and to an extent that my balance will go negative.

After that I have been following up with customer service through mail and calls for account closure but I could not get proper response. I visited branch for closing account but they mentioned there is credit card linked to my account and can not close my account.

Seems credit card they issue is managed not by themselves and other team manages credit card is not responsive to my queries. Totally disappointed and frustrated with service of this bank. They charge Money for non maintenance which is against RBI guidelines. Also they issue credit cards without customer consent.
HDFC Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Nov 05, 2020
Updated by pankaj#1234
No action taken and no communication received from bank.

Prnaay
    Oct 30, 2020

I had applied for a hdfc diners black credit via netbanking cards in september 2019.
    At the time of application, there was a promotion offer on my net banking which said - "get lifetime free hdfc diners black credit card with smartpay registration at the time of application".
    I had registered for smartpay at the time of application.
    Later, i was informed that this smartpay offer is not applicable to diners black card. Whereas the offer was specifically for diners black card.
    I wanted to confirm this on telephone and was thinking hdfc customer care would call me before issuing the credit card. But, i didn't got any calls and card was issued right away. And now i believe the conditions of the offer are being twisted to charge me annual fee, which is ethically wrong.
    After reading this forum, i realised same has happened with a lot of people. This is wrong and hdfc bank should act on it and reverse these fraudulent annual/joining fee charged to customers.
    In the screenshot, one can clearly see actual terms and conditions of the offer, which are not honoured by hdfc bank.

p.sreeraj4
      Oct 29, 2020

Hi HDFC

I had logged another complain previously. This is continuation of the same issue. Please refer

https://www.consumercomplaints.in/hdfc-bank-negative-balance-c2702780#post-your-...

Today I checked the account and found that the negative balance is keeping on increasing. Now it is -612. This account is a Jan Dhan account and If the bank account is mentioned as zero balance then it should not have any additional charges levied on it.

vithaljeethuri
        Oct 29, 2020

Dear HDFC Bank,

I was purchased mobile 21 October 2020 from amazon online 14499/- using my credit card after some days its automatically converted as EMI i was not selected EMI option at the time of purchase. my details below
        please resolve the case as soon as possible.

please refund debited emi charges.

We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. This is not the experience we want you to have. At HDFC Bank, it's our endeavour to understand your needs and provide you with the highest level of service. Please click on https://bit.ly/2Lzhyn3 and share the complete concern. Please mention reference number TT[protected] along with the requested details for us to help you with the solution.

-Anay
        HDFC Bank Customer Assistance

Kanchan Rathore Shekhawat
          Oct 29, 2020

OTP for adding beneficiary is not coming on my gmail

I am trying to add beneficiary for my HDFC netbanking transaction. After adding the beneficiary the OTP for confirmation is going on my mobile which is now out of service as I am abroad. I need the OTP on my registered gmail (kanchan.[protected]@gmail.com) and on my international number (+[protected]. Please help its an urgency....
          Mubarak sheikh
          Oct 29, 2020

Respected

Moratorium was announced pan india from march 2020 to august 2020
          I was having taken loan in hdfc bank ltd
          Moritorium announced pan india and rbi announced not to pay emis to customers for certain period of moritourim

Know bank is issuing notice stating that pay the emis from march to august,
          Their are auto debit and adding up charges an bounce charge
          And making account negative balance and harrasing customer with issuing notice

Rbi announced moratorium for customer critical condition happen in pan india

For what reason..

Customer required justice on priority
          Nov 02, 2020
          Updated by Mubarak sheikh
          Still no one is responding for this

Mubarak sheikh
            Oct 29, 2020

Due to the lock down I lost my job and I'm unable to pay the Emi before lockdown I was paying my Emi with fail now HDFC has started Marking minus in my account and plus charges for that Emi bounces kindly check and remove the minus and do the needful
            Nov 02, 2020
            Updated by Mubarak sheikh
            Still my account is on hold

Manjeet Kaur Bedi
              Oct 29, 2020

HDFC Bank deduction of amount on amb chrg incl gst

Address: GNC SIRSA

This deduction is made on 29-OCT-2020 (two transaction on same date with description SEP-708 and again SEP - 708) and I didnt get any message or warning regarding this on my contact no...
              Singh Ravi All
              Oct 29, 2020

Fund transfer detail,
              Transaction Id[protected]
              Account No-[protected]
              Ifsc-HDFC0000540
              Beneficiary A/C No-[protected]
              Beneficiary Ifsc-BARB0KYDGAN
              Amount-Rs.5000

Request for fund Transfer Through Bhim was accepted, and money was debited from my account but not credited to beneficiary account.

Please help me out.As this is very urgent.

kennypallota
                Oct 29, 2020

I had applied for a credit card on the HDFC website and the card was approved in principle due to my long standing credit history and other factors. However the card has been stuck in process during all this time and there's been no update since then. I had tried to mail the customer care and they haven't replied as well and this is well over the 2 day SLA that they have mentioned in the mail. The customer care number that's provided is also despicable and it's just the IVR service and no human customer care agent to assist with the issue. Totally disappointed with their service and hoped more from one of the prestigious banks in India

Dj2957
                  Oct 29, 2020

I tell every time for satlement of my credit card. I am very depressed form HDFC bank. At this time I have many problams. So I request last 2 months to HDFC excutives for satlement. But they are not respond me..only call many times for money..I lost my job. I have money problams for this time..they are count palenties every month. So plz solved my problam.
                  Name- Devendra Kumar jangid
                  Mob [protected]

Sowmiya_j
                    Oct 29, 2020

I have order an product in amazon, I cancelled it long bank. Amazon also refunded the money back. But it's been more than 1 month. Money is not processed back to my bank account. Please someone take action. I have tried calling customer care. But everytime my cal getting rejected.
                    Nov 12, 2020
                    Updated by Sowmiya_j
                    Noone contacted me regarding my complaint. It's been two months.

SagarSaroch
                      Oct 29, 2020

Please do help me ..you are deducting my money uselessly ..firstly i didnt take it seriously..but now my money is deducted on a daily basis of this kind of tax .DC INTL POS TXN MARKUP+ST for Nearly Rs 350 all time ...please do solve my issue ASAP..

Banick
                        Oct 28, 2020

Address: Na

Why is HDFC bank charging me the following
                        1. DC INTL POS TXN MARKUP+ST[protected]MIR[protected] charged 75.91

2. DC INTL POS TXN MARKUP+ST[protected]MIR[protected] charged 151.82

3. DC INTL POS TXN MARKUP+ST[protected]MIR[protected] charged 151.82

4. DC INTL POS TXN MARKUP+ST[protected]MIR[protected] charged 151.82
                        Can I please get a response from HDFC Bank.. as it's been already 24 hrs and I am here without any explanation and resolution. You guys just keep on deducting money and then there is no notice of that.. y is it so.

Trishitendu Mukherjee
                          Oct 28, 2020

Address: HDFC bank Bankura branch

My account was opened on August 21st. It's been more than 2 months. It's very much unfortunate and surely a matter of grief that I still haven't received my debit card, my cheque book or net banking pin. I got my passbook on August 28 but since then there's been no update . I didn't expect such pathetic service from a well reputed bank like yours. I'm facing loads of problems because of this and due to this my admission procedure in colleges are being postponed. I earnestly request you to look into this matter as soon as possible. I'm pretty sure that this incident would not affect your company's reputation. Regards

radhika.narojula
                            Oct 28, 2020

Address: Hyderabad

I have a salary account with hdfc bank. I have started with sip in mutual funds (Paytm money app) using auto-pay option. But i didn't have sufficient balance in sip date so i have been charged ach debit return charges of rs 590 (3 times) and total 1770 is deducted from my account and now my balance is showing - on 28/10/2020.

I have called customer care and they told me that this amount is deducted because of payment bounce.

I have never been informed that this would be charged due to lack of funds. What are these charges for! Why are they so high. It is not a debt i have to pay. It is sip. How can you inculcate habit of regular savings if you penalise so harshly for not having balance.

Hdfc bank has to return this money. There was no intimation from the bank on the consequences of not keeping sip amount in account.

Please help me resolve this. People are losing trust in public banks and now these banks also!!!. Although it doesn't make a difference to hdfc bank for sure, but i will close my account if it is not returned. If auto debiting is a service you provide as a bank, then it is your duty to inform me of the charges for the same. Heights of fraud. You must give me a warning that if funds are insufficient you will be charged. Nothing was there.

Please please help me resolve this and return my money.

vijaysinghani
                              Oct 28, 2020

The hdfc bank has put a hold on my funds of rupees 1972.37 as my revenue hold through gefu, ac number is
                              Account number: 5020******6084
                              Ifsc: HDFC0004066
                              Branch: Loharu
                              The customer service is not able to give any info on this.
                              First of all it's hard to reach customer service because it takes a alot of time and the ivr options are very difficult and tricky to navigate, after all the effort the customer service is not helpful

Sayatya
                                Oct 28, 2020

My wife and me had opened PPF accounts through netbanking. However, we were allotted Anna Nagar Branch in Chennai although I live in Kolkata and my registered address as per bank records is in Kolkata. I have written to my relationship manager as well as branch manager to change the address of my account but no action has been taken by them. I am unable to invest unless the account is shifted to Kolkata.

Rahul Khokawat
                                  Oct 28, 2020

Whenever I'm making online payment via hdfc I'm not getting otp on registered mobile number. This is happening since last 3 days

I understand the inconvenience. Please click on https://bit.ly/2Lzhyn3 and share the complete concern. Please mention reference number TT[protected] along with the requested details for us to help you with the solution.

-Anay
                                  HDFC Bank Customer Assistance

NidhiTiwari
                                    Oct 28, 2020

Address: Noida

I have been facing this issue with my relationship manager from HDFC - VISHAL. He is highly unprofessional and unresponsive to the calls.

Whenever I try to call him, his number is always busy or not reachable. Had this been the case of covid times, I would have understood but now its been a year and I am literally fed up with him.

My previous RM was genuinely helpful and solution oriented and look at this guy, doesn't really care what his clients' expect out of him.

I tried calling him for one week straight, with no luck. He never called back. In fact I receive text messages stating that my RM tried calling me but I never received any call from him.

Such a disgusting guy!

I am highly disappointed with him and just because of him I don't mind switching my account to any other bank.
                                    i called my relationship manager but always avoiding my calls and never call back. and dont give response about my query.her name is tanvi tina-[protected]. i think she is not intrsted in her own job ..as she did not know how to behave with customers and may be no one want to open bank account in hdfc bank after this type of service. i also wanted to change my bank account and open it in some good bank where i can get good relationship manager
                                    CRM contact number
                                    Sabu Dulari's reply, Aug 30, 2021
                                    Loan related issues
                                    I am calling my relationship manager (Parthasarathy Masilamani,[protected] but he is not calling me back or replying to my emails. He guided me to opt for a credit card but it's been 2 months now I am not sure where this is lost. I am really unsure what needs to be done as the relationship manager is not responding even after multiple attempts.
                                    17 other people found this review helpful
                                    17 found this helpful