Thomas Cook India Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Jun 25, 2024
Complaints 321

File a complaint to Thomas Cook India

Having problems with Thomas Cook India?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Thomas Cook India customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Thomas Cook India reviews & complaints page 16

ramprasadb
from bangalore, Karnataka
May 14, 2015

Non refund of tour advance amount of Rs 1,20,000.

We had booked an American tour package and due to health reasons, we had to cancel the tour 1 month in advance. Thomas Cook is not refunding a single rupee even though no arrangements or ticket bookings have been done from their side. They claim that tickets are issued which is false and I am aware that airlines will refund the ticket amount if cancelled 1 month in advance. This is highly unprofessional from Thomas Cook. They...
ramprasadb
from bangalore, Karnataka
May 14, 2015

We had booked an American tour package and due to health reasons, we had to cancel the tour 1 month in advance. Thomas Cook is not refunding a single rupee even though no arrangements or ticket bookings have been done from their side. They claim that tickets are issued which is false and I am aware that airlines will refund the ticket amount if cancelled 1 month in advance. This is highly unprofessional from Thomas Cook. They are not able to show any proofs of any kind of expenses they have incurred in order to take our complete amount of Rs 1, 20, 000. Pleas for partial refund is also taken in deaf ears. This is hard earned money of senior citizens, who wished to travel. Office : Thomas Cook, MG Road, Bangalore Consumer email : [protected]@gmail.com

sanjaydalal
    May 6, 2015

I bought the forex(FX[protected] from Thomas Cook India for my business travel to US. Due to personal reason my travel got cancelled so I cancelled my forex on 11th April. After talking to customer care they said amount will be credited to my account in 5-7 working days. Even after constant follow up/ Emails / Calls to customer care executive till today amount is not yet deposit to my respective account. They have not blocked my mobile number when I call directly. Customer service center just saying it will deposit in 4-5 working days. Not a single reply to my emails. Now Thomas cook looks like a fraud company and not returning my money to me. They are not even replying anything for my query and just blocking my mobile and not answering to my call. Your help will be really appriciate to do some action on this. If there is need of any proof I can provide whenever require.

Parita Shah
      Jan 28, 2015

I came across an advertisement of Thomas Cook which mention Holiday Pe Holiday offer. Book 9 Days Scandinavia get 9 Days East Europe. I shared the advertisement to all my friends who understood the 9 days east Europe tour as free and were willing to travel. However the sales team are not giving any such offer and are providing complete package for 16 days. Such advertisements are misleading and wasting time of consumers
      I totally agree with Parita .
      So sorry to hear that Parita. Could you please write in to service.[protected]@in.thomascook.com with your contact details? Our teams are keen to get a few details and assist.
      Hi Parita, Could also provide us with your contact details along with the name of the rep you were in touch with? We are keen to assist.

Team Thomas Cook India
      Hi Parita,

Upon a quick check with our teams, we have been updated that our service quality team was in receipt of your email and our rep Ms. Dsouza has addressed your query. Please feel free to contact us at service.[protected]@in.thomascook.com should you have any further queries and our teams will be happy to assist you.

Best,
      Team Thomas Cook India

ashu1905
        Jan 9, 2015

I have booked package for Andmaan and 1 month before I paid full amount of my travelling but just before 4-5 days representative named Fahad called me and asked to pay 2576rs more and its their system fault but he assured me that they will refund it but now that Fahad not responds to my mails and not even my calls .Its been almost going to be 1 month.

These people are really damaging the brand.

travelBug
          Sep 15, 2014

I am from Singapore. I booked a customized tour package with Thomas cook Chennai(Adyar branch) for Europe. I told them that i need all the travel related documents including train tickets in Europe, hotel stay before i apply for Visa. In the first call, someone called Dinoh Gurumoorthy from Thomas cook promised that everything can be done in 4 days. I first contacted them on Jul 29th and i received all the documents finally after so much arguments on September 8th. I had to literally chase them for getting my train tickets before my VISA appointment date. Aruna Priya(Dinoh's manager. thats what she told me) from Thomascook told us that Visa doesn't need Train tickets where as VISA office here in Singapore asks for one. What is the issue for thomas cook to issue my train tickets as requested by VISA office even after i paid the full amount incurred for the tour very very early.Looks like even after i paid the full amount they want to safegaurad their money until VISA is approved. Doesn't this sound so cheap? ArunaPriya boasted that Thomas cook is an experienced company and they know everything but I don't find a professionalism and experience in any of their services. I sent them around 70 emails and 'n' number of phone calls from Singapore. They never called me even once also and never replied my emails on time even though I paid the total cost (full amount) of the trip the next day they sent the invoice. The travel agents and their manager seem to lack knowledge in arranging Europe tours. They only talk a lot but I could see nothing in action. I asked for a hotel in Switzerland and Dinoh said there is no availability for my dates. I was able to book the hotel by myself by directly contacting the hotel in the next few hours. I asked them not to book any activities after 6 pm and they booked a Gondola tour in Venice by 7.30 pm which I missed to notice at first since the itinerary was a long one. They suddenly changed plan for Milan to Venice travel dates (due to local festival for which i agreed) for which they forgot to extend the hotel booking and I am left with no room for 1 day from morning till evening. They could have arranged for late checkout the next day but didn't do it and didn't inform us also. When enquired about this a week later, she blamed on my husband that he is reacting too late and didn't inform about this earlier. Looks like their staff needs coaching from customers on how to book hotel co-ordinated with tour / flight timing. Nothing happened as promised. I regret so much on choosing Thomas cook to plan my travel. I myself could have planned in better way. I didn't find time to organize everything so I sought their help but I was left with lack of peace of mind. I would never recommend this company to anyone. They will literally make your tour experience a horrible one.
          1 star since they lack experience / knowledge in planning europe tour. Horrible experience for a such a high amount paid.
          Dear Sir/Ma'am, So sorry to hear that. May we request you to kindly indicate your email ID & contact details? Our representatives our keen to get in touch with you on top priority.

Best,
          Team Thomas Cook India

pranavdeshpande77
            Jul 20, 2014

1. The tour managers did not show up throughout the tour. 2. We had to rely solely on inexperienced drivers to manage the entire tour. Thus, if the tour is to be managed solely by drivers, it means THE TOUR MANAGERS ARE REDUNDANT. 3 The tour managers were not available on phone when we needed them. The cell phones were switched off. 4. Since there were no tour managers, there was no time management. Complete chaos while visiting spots. 5. In absence of tour managers, we could not get any history of monastries, palaces, etc. 6. When we asked for escort guides, we were told that escort guides are only co-ordinators and do not have any info. 7. Cars provided were not proper. They had a jagged edge which created problems for those seated at the back. 8. Thomas Cook does not inform passengers that 35 kms to numbra valley and 10 kms to Pangong lake is full of bumps, stones, potholes and rocks, leading to a severely bumpy ride. Please be aware of this, since Thomas Cook does not inform the public about this. 9. Upon arrival at Numbra valley in sweltering heat, we were given hot pakoras and hot tea, rather than cool refreshing drink 10. No variety in breakfasts. It remains the same, day on day basis.
            Dear Pranav,

So sorry to hear that. Could you write in to service.[protected]@in.thomascook.com please? This will truly help us to resolve your concerns on priority.

Best,
            Team Thomas Cook India
            This is really scary. I am going to Leh, Ladakh this month with my hubby, took Thomas Cook. Now I should be careful. Till now I didnt get the flight details, vouchers etc.

vivek nadig
              Jun 28, 2014

Address: Mysore, Karnataka

Hi.

I Vivek Nadig along with my wife has traveled
              in your tour package European e to extravaganza.with add on Spain & Portugal.
              Our tour started on 30/4/2014 from Rome.Our Tour Manager was
              Mr Rohit Patil. I have booked the package through M/s Bharat International Travels Mysore. .I have following two submission to make and I hope I will get due attention from your end.
              1. I am surprised to note that May1, being labour day Vatican City -16 Chapel was closed on that day. This info was known to you but you have not informed to any one who have boarded from Bangalore, Some from Bombay are given in writing about closure.In my opinion this is an unfair trade practice and needs to be taken care
              2. in the itinerary given it was clear that on 7Th day of Spain tour breakfast/Packed will be served before leaving to Airport. But Tour Manager refused to provided, saying he has no instruction in his itinerary & same has been given to me in writing by tour Manager Mr Ravi Poddar.This also a case o[censored]nfair trade practice.
              Though I have complained to their service & my incident no is[protected]no action only auto response
              Hope necessary action will be taken at your end.
              REGARDS

Thomas Cook India — Visa

My traveling date is 21may For applying Shenzhen visa ur thomas cook agent forcing me to do full payment So then only he will apply for visa Is that necessary to pay 60 days befor

NavThind
                Jun 15, 2014

Address: Ludhiana, Punjab

Hi I am logging compliant against Thomas Cook India. We have planned an Europe Trip with this company for 7 days. As per the itinerary provided during the sales pitch we were in Paris for the first 2 days. Day 1 we were supposed to see all the major attractions like Eiffel Tower etc. The second day it was the remaining like Disney Land etc. When we got out flight details we were landing in Paris at 8:15 PM Day1. Can anyone explain how we can see all the major attractions when we are landing in Paris at night. This was such a big rip-off. My dad had paid for 5 o[censored]s(family). We asked the agent to return 12% of our money back as we are in Paris of only a Day and not 2 days. He gave us crappy reason that the main office in India did wrong flight booking and he cannot do anything about it. When a customer is paying 1.5 lacs per person of a 7 day trip each day counts. I am so disappointed by this company will never book a trip with them again and would advice you to stay away from them. To provide Consumer complaints about more details. This booking was done in the Ludhiana, Punjab Branch of Thomsas Cook and our agent's name is Rakesh Thakur. Thanks!
                So sorry to hear that Navthind, could you please write in to service.[protected]@in.thomascook.com? This will truly help us to resolve your concerns on top priority.

Best,
                Team Thomas Cook India
                Many thanks for your providing your details to us. Our customer care team has received your e-mail dated June 17th. Our teams are currently doing an in-depth check with our on-ground partners. We assure you of our response on top priority and would request your patience in the interim.

Best,
                Team Thomas Cook India
                Dear Mr. Navthind, we had flagged off your concerns on high priority and Rochelle from our service quality team has shared a detailed mail addressing your concerns. Further, our senior manager Amanjot has also spoken to you in this regard. We hope you would understand that we do have tie ups with several airlines for our group tours. However, a particular airline/flight is completely based on the availability on the group blocks for a budget tour. May we please re-assure you that all sight-seeing as mentioned in the brochure will be covered during the tour, Mr. Thind. Please feel free to liaise with our senior manager Mr. Amanjot should you have any further queries/concerns and he would be delighted to assist. Please do not worry, Mr. Navthind; we wish you a great trip ahead.

Best,
                Team Thomas Cook India

Abhishek _Nish
                  May 21, 2014

All of you planning to book through Thomas Cook..Dont go by its name. The Worst experience we had till date. We had inquired for Thomas Cook Tour to Europe in the Month of June 2014 with dates as 18th June, 2014. We contacted Thomas cook (Thomas Cook Ind Pvt ltd, 2 Sukh Chen Complex, Opp Shreeji Diary, Nr Jawahar Chowk, Maninagar, Ahmedabad, Gujarat) executive by the named Mr. Sunny Patel. He guided as through the entire process and offered us dates of June 14, 2014 or June 18, 2014, out of which we opted for Euro Tour dated 18th June, 2014 for 4 persons (adult). We booked the Europen Granduer tour by paying advance of Rs.2, 00, 000/- (Rupees Two lakhs Only) and received confirmation email from him dated 21.04.2014. The tour costed per person Rs. 2, 36, 000/-. inclusive of taxes. For payment activities we used to receive regular phone calls. However it all stopped after they received the 1st lot of payment. While booking tour the agent told us that the process for visa well in advance and no problems shall arise in this case. Initially we were very happy with the response we received which lasted till we made our payment. Then all communication went blank and we kept on asking. This is how you treat a client? Once you get them for booking and take payment then where does all the customer service approach go? Days went by and in spite of our constant follow up no response we received regarding document submission in order to start visa procedure. After document submission from our end also, no one called up in case any additional documents are required. We were the one who called him up regularly and no suitable reply was received. After 2nd week of May 2014 after our constant follow up at the end moment the agents asked for few other documents which were also submitted in time by us.On 20th May, 2014, the agent is telling us that you shall have to shift the date to either 14th June, 2014 or 26th June, 2014. For this also we agreed to shift the date on 14th June, 2014. By evening time after we called up, the agent says that even 14th June, 2014 date is not sure. We could not believe that Thomas Cook the name it holds is giving us such pathetic service. This was certainly not expected from such a well known company as yours. We shall take this matter to Consumer court if we Thomas cook doesn't deliver what we signed up and payed for and no quick action is taken up. Consumers are not there to be taken for granted. This is the worst experience we had with any travel company. Even local tour operators respond much better.Today i.e 21st May, 2014 the agent said 14th June, 2014 tour is also cancelled which they said after we visited their office. We are utterly disappointed and angered to the core by this attitude and we shall never in our dreams also recommend Thomas Cook to any one we know to plan any sort of tour. Who will be responsible for all this???THE WORST TOUR OPERATOR TRAVEL COMPANY.
                  Dear Abhishek,

We are truly concerned to hear your feedback. Our service quality team is currently investigating your case and you will hear back from them shortly.

Best,
                  Team Thomas Cook India

Rashmi Malpani
                    Apr 26, 2014

I had booked the flights tickets for my In Laws on 17th April 2014. Booking Ref No : FB848469. Money got debited, but the tickets were not booked. Called up Thomas Cook several times, they kept on mentioning it would get credited in 2-3 days. Today Suddenly they mentioned that they have not received any money and they cant do anything. Called up my bank and they confirmed money has been credited to Thomas Cook. Please show some Humanity and refund bank my money Thanks, Rashmi
                    Thomas cook called and followed up to resolve the issue post the issue was posted on consumercomplaints.in . Prior to submitting complaint here, they were not concerned about my issue irrespective of calling them multiple times.
                    customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
                    So sorry to hear that Rashmi, do allow us to do a quick check and we assure you of our assistance to your concerns asap. While our teams look into this, could you provide us your contact details please?

Best,
                    Team Thomas Cook India
                    Thanks for getting back.
                    You should be able to get contact details from booking reference number and the transaction number mentioned in original post.

Request you to please credit back the money ASAP

Rashmi
                    Dear Rashmi,

We had escalated your concerns to our internal Teams and they have treated your case as priority. We are delighted to update you that your refund has been processed and will reflect in your bank account in 4-5 working days. Trust you will appreciate the same. Please feel free to get in touch with our e-biz representative, Maulik in case of any further queries or concerns at Maulik.[protected]@in.thomascook.com. Hope we have been able to resolve your concerns?

Kind regards,
                    Team Thomas Cook India
                    I got a mail which says refund amount approved is Rs 100.
                    Please explain what makes Thomas Cook to keep with themselves Rs 19, 245 (Total amount debited from my account was Rs 19, 345)

Rashmi
                    On website it says, refund amount is Rs 19, 245.
                    Which is correct, email or website?
                    If website, why Rs 100 deducted?

Rashmi
                    Dear Rashmi,

Your feedback was shared with our our e-biz team, we have been updated that our Sr. Manager Maulik spoke to your husband Mr. Vishal, and has further explained him the 2-step refund process in detail. Trust you will appreciate the same. Please feel free to get in touch with our e-biz representative, Maulik in case of any further queries or concerns at Maulik.[protected]@in.thomascook.com. Hope we have been able to resolve your concerns?

Kind regards,
                    Team Thomas Cook India

Avisika
                      Apr 22, 2014

I booked 2 airline ticket with Thomas Cook and then these were cancelled. The company told me that they will refund me the money but later on my audit team found and informed me that they had siphon off my money and had not refunded a single rupee. I kept calling them regularly, wherein they always kept me waiting for 15-20 mins then disconnected the call. They did not even give response to emails. Later on after repeated phone calls and emails, they gave false commitment that they will be paying within 27/01/14, so that I trust them and forget the matter but they did not gave the refund. Again I started emails and calls and said that if they do not provide the refund and compensation thereon then I will take legal action. Then they finally provided me the refund around 17.02.14 of my original amount after keeping Rs.400 from it but the compensation for their this attempt is still pending as they say that if the consumer do not ask us to make the refund, WE DONT GIVE THE MONEY BACK, i.e. siphon off money.
                      Dear Avijit,

We had done a detailed check and have already responded to you via your original social media post. For your ease in reference we reiterate the same once again:

We apologise for any inconvenience caused to you. On receiving your concern, we had immediately escalated this to our e-biz team and our representatives, including our Senior Manager, Maulik, has been in touch with you. The refund was initiated earlier, however due to an exceptional scenario of bank reconcialation and payment gateway issue, did not get processed. Unfortunately, Thomas Cook has no direct control to avoid this system glitch and thus the delayed refund.
                      Our Team has offered you a direct option or a promo code voucher and we do appreciate your understanding.

While we value and respect our customers and their feedback, may we request that you desist from use of terms that are defamatory and malicious in nature.

Team Thomas Cook India.
                      I want to ask just one thing that if my audit team would have not discovered that you have not refunded a single rupee and had siphon off my money, whether you would have returned my money or you would have kept it with yourself. As all the travelling payments of mine are made directly from my office as per the statements received by them and they don't even verify me keeping the trust on me. There this trust on me was mis-utilised by you.
                      Hi Avijit,

We have already responded to you and may we reiterate: Our senior manager, Maulik, has been in touch with you and as stated earlier, your refund has been processed. We have apologized for the concern to you while highlighting clearly that the delay was truly unfortunate, due to an exceptional scenario of bank reconciliation and payment gateway issue; one over which we have had no direct control.
                      Once again, Avijit, we request that you kindly desist from using language that is both malicious and defamatory in nature.

Team Thomas Cook India
                      I still have not got the reply to my question and I reiterate "if my audit team would have not discovered that you have not refunded a single rupee and had siphon off my money, whether you would have returned my money or you would have kept it with yourself."

jaykay57
                        from Thrissur, Kerala
                        Feb 11, 2014

I booked 12 days and 11 nights “Delights of Japan and China” tour starting from 9.5.2012 through Thomas Cook, Adyar, Chennai. They did not the visas untill the night of 9.5.2012 thereby nearly two days of the 5 days in Japan was deprived. Agreed to compensate. But did not even choose to acknowledge the notices. No other option except to file consumer complaint and warning the public through media forums like this
                        So sorry to hear this, Jay. Would you share your contact details please? We would like to do a quick check on this with our team. Please be assured that your concerns will be addressed and we will get back to you on this.
                        Team Thomas Cook India
                        Thank you for your response. I can be contacted @ [protected] or my wife Mrs. Suganthi @ [protected]. Hope the issue is sorted out at the earliest.

Jayakumar
                        Advocate
                        It is more than five weeks. Still they are doing "quick check". No response till now. This tells about the company and its intentional cheating.

Jayakumar

dr.gopal
                          from Basi, Punjab
                          Sep 22, 2013

G[protected] Europe for all experience Hello i would like to draw your attention towards service quality offered by thomas cook on G[protected] Europe for all PRE TOUR services provided by delhi offices were pathetic , even after booking and paying advance of 1 lac in january at WEST GATE MALL RAJOURI GARDEN there was no follow up regarding documents and visas . i only have to call to which they used to give me some different number to call every time , later i got call from Abhay delhi branch and he helped me thru visa process , but after sending my passports these people forgot about and again same thing started calling different numbers abhay alok etc no one replied about my visa status passports this continues for 2 week later to find out my passports at rajouri garden office , when i went to collect it they dint give me travel kit misery doesnt end here it became worse , as i booked my trip 2nd May 2013, I dint get my tour itineary and tickets til 27 th April in between i used to call so many people MUNAZIR delhi office who handled my file keep assuring me that he is in touch with mumbai office to ge tickets as soon as possible , guess worst was about to happen jus 4 days before he calls me and say my trip has been cancelled and it will go on 10th may . as if we are fools , i called thomas cook office and talked to so many persons SUMAN PATIAL tried her level best to help , she really was great help but i guess fault lies above here that is in mumbai office from where tickets and vouchers have to be isssued i called so many people later called head DILKUSH, to which she responded i shouldnt have called her as if i have commited some crime calling her , i have given full payment and just 4 days before depature they called me and say its cancelled , I am doctor have prior commitments she told to call SARAANSH , his phone was forever switched off later to find number given in mail was his old number . these people i am singling out because i know they are not responsible but they can tell who were responsible for the mess. Till 3 rd i wasnt having my ticket as they decided to adjust in 6th may tour , all false promise absolute crap was uttered that you have been booked under qatar airlines and all . later when things gotta above head i have lost my peace of mind and was mentally harassed to core they send me tickets from altogather different airlines on evening 4 may . come on thats just 24 hrs before departure i never expected such kind un professionalism from thomas cook Tour We were told we will meet our tour manager paris airport . SANTOSHKUMAR PURUSHOTHAMAN met us at airport but after getting us checked in he was lost and told us to meet cassius who was reaching paris later in evening from london Thinking we would waste 10 hours in hotel . this is heights o[censored]n proffesionalism
                          Dear Dr. Gopal,

We are truly concerned to hear your feedback. We hope that our team has resolved your concerns in a satisfactory manner.  
                          We value your feedback and loyalty, and hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Team Thomas Cook India

victor_nausheer
                            Jul 8, 2013

just finished GRANDBARGAIN tour o[censored]SA with Thomas Cook. A very sad experience. Cheated on account of Poor Hotels, very poor transport and an inapt and unprofessional Tour Manager by the name of NAUSHEER who totally disassociated himself from the group and handled the group in most unprofessional and aloof manner.
                            our association ends with Thomas Cook for ever.
                            would recommend the same to anyone who is considering associating themselves with Thomas Cook India... and their Delhi office in Connaught Place..
                            Dear Nausheer,
                            Your feedback is truly a concern and we are keen to assist resolve this at the earliest.
                            Could you please send details of your case to service.[protected]@in.thomascook.com
                            Team Thomas Cook India

MG Travels
                              from Duliagaon, Assam
                              Jun 23, 2013

We have booked our package for Switzerland with Thomas Cook by transferring advance amt of Rs.1,40,000/- dtd. 10/05/2013.

Due to delay in applying for our visa by Thomas Cook person's all our package dates were reshuffled and we were only asked to pay Rs.29,000/- per person for that.

Hopeless Company and Hopeless Staff Person.

I will request to kindly take the action on this matter and ask the company person's for the reason of delay in applying for Visa.
                              Also, refund me the amount for the same.

Rgds

Yogesh Khemka
                              Email : [protected]@gmail.com
                              Ph : +91 [protected]
                              Dear Yogesh,

Our senior manager has been in touch with you and had even offered you a credit voucher as a goodwill gesture given the current circumstances. We hope that our customer care has resolved your concern in a satisfactory manner.
                              We value your feedback and loyalty, and hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Kartik Sharma
                              Dear Yogesh,

Our senior manager has been in touch with you and had even offered you a credit voucher as a goodwill gesture given the current circumstances. We hope that our customer care has resolved your concern in a satisfactory manner.

Team Thomas Cook India
                              Dear Kartik/ Team Thomas Cook India

I would like to bring in your notice that I had paid Rs.65000/- (approx.) extra excluding your package cost and your company is offering me just Rs.30000/- voucher.
                              Inspite of all harsments suffered by me I just ignore everything and asked to refund Rs.50000/- in cash to me.

Hope you all will discuss & solve my complaint at the earliest possible.

Yogesh Khemka

visitdhiraj
                                Apr 12, 2013

Address: Maharashtra

Fictitious Fuel Surcharge being charged 2013

Fictitious fuel surcharge being charged by Thomas Cook India.

I had booked a tour on April 6th 2013 for Europe departing on 24th may 2013, I got a quotation of 1,23,000 all inclusive to which we mutually agreed. Now after the clearing of my 1st installment cheque of 50,000 per person they sent me an email that I have to pay them 5000 more for the fuel surcharge that being charged by the airline.

I asked them that when did you come to know about the fuel surcharge increased by the airlines. They didn't reply exactly at first, but after my insistence they told me that they were told by the airlines in march and in the first week of April 13.

I am surprised how can they charge me surcharge that they were aware of before taking my booking?? They are hiding under their unethical policies that states that they can charge surcharge. I can understand that they charge me surcharge for something that has increased after I have booked. Why should I pay for something that they were are already aware of while taking my booking??

This is a clear case of fraudulent practices! If I was aware of the increase in the price, I would have gone with the other tour operator. This is clear plan to first close sales with showing low prices and then later increasing the price under the excuse fuel surcharge. Now on either side their hands are in honey. If I I chose to cancel they will make money under cancellation charges. They are actually in a way coercing me to pay now.

However, I am determined not to get coerced and fight till the very end…

I would like to inform that thomas cook india is engaging in unfair trade practices under unfair internal policies. I request all the Thomas cook clients who are being charged this unfair surcharge to unite and deny paying them any surcharge.

I am determined to fight and will not pay them this unfair surcharge. I once again request all affected people to unite

Dhiraj S

([protected]@aol.com)
                                hi

i have booked for the departure from 12th may 2013, I have gone through the same thing, infact i had read earlier before booking about the surcharge on fuel being hiked for a passenger similarly, also during the booking i asked them clearly if any other charges i need to pay later they said no now they send me a mail, for my surprise
                                Hi, the same case is with me. I had booked a tour in Delhi (CP Office) for South Africa departing May 31 and now they are saying that I have to pay Rs.3000 per person extra as Fuel Surcharge out of the Blue and sending me Letters of just 2 Airlines in which I am not even travelling.

This is purely illegal.

My e-mail is [protected]@hotmal.com.

Kindly contact so that we can group together and talk to them collectively.
                                Thomas Cook rapped for deficiency of service
                                Garima Prasher, TNN Apr 30, 2013, 06.44AM IST

BANGALORE: It was supposed to be the trip of a lifetime for Prof Seema Gupta and her 15-year-old son. But it turned out to be a nightmare. Thanks to her travel company's goofing up, Seema coughed up over Rs 1 lakh rupees in addition to the planned expenses.
                                Seema, a professor at one of the country's prestigious B-schools here, took the issue to the consumer forum. Pulling up the travel company, Thomas Cook, for deficiency in service, theforum ordered it to refund Rs 94, 500 to the professor from whom the money had been collected as rescheduling charges.

The travel company was also asked to pay Rs 40, 000 as compensation and cost of Rs 5, 000 to the complainant.
                                Seema had booked a 10-day vacation with her son to the UK and Europe with Thomas Cookfrom May 1, 2012. She paid Rs 1, 26, 250 per person, including all charges like payment for visa, flight tickets, bus charges for travel in Europe, food, accommodation and tour guides.
                                The trip needed two visas - one for the UK and the Schengen visa for the European countries. The complainant alleged that because of the travel company's "casual" approach only her visa was granted, while her son's was withheld as the papers submitted did not include a No Objection Certificate and an affidavit from her former husband as was required. However, after the required documentation was done, the UK visa was granted to her son.

However, the Italian consulate did not grant Seema the Schengen visa as the travel company had applied for it only on April 30, 2012 with a wrong document. The company had got the legalization of affidavit from Seema's ex-husband done by the home department of Mumbai, whereas it should have been done at Bangalore, his place of residence.

The glitch about the Schengen visa was conveyed to Seema only a day before the trip began. Seema's trip was rescheduled for May 10, 2012 but after the visa was arranged, the company asked for an additional amount of Rs 94, 500 as rescheduling charge. The company also allegedly told her it would not release the visas, tickets and other travel documents if she did not pay the extra amount. When Seema asked about cancellation charges, the company said it would be Rs 1, 18, 500. After weighing all the options, she paid the money and went ahead with the trip.

She later approached the III Additional Bangalore Urban District Consumer Dispute Redressal Forum.

The defence

Thomas Cook denied any deficiency in service. Regarding the visa complications, the travel company argued it could not influence the visa agency which took decisions at its discretion. The company said it was only a reference point between the complainant and the consulate for the visa and its responsibility was restricted to forwarding documents it received from customers to the consulate.

The verdict

The consumer forum, comprising president T Rajashekharaiah and member Dr Subhashini, held the complainant had established the alleged deficiency of service. The forum said there was an omission on the company's part in giving proper guidance and this led to the delay in issuing of visa. The forum didn't accept the complainant's claims the food during the tour was not good and tour guides too were not good.
                                The forum said the complainant was entitled to refund of rescheduling charge of Rs 94, 500. Considering the mental tension and hardship she underwent, the forum awarded a compensation of Rs 40, 000 and Rs 5, 000 towards costs.

anushar14
                                  Aug 3, 2012

My name is Anusha. I had booked a Europe Bargain tour for travel on June 6th with my husband.We had paid an advance amount of Rs.80,000 for both o[censored]s. Unfortunately, I could not travel due to medical reasons. I had to cancel the travel on May 14th. I sent my medical certificates and Thomas cook was kind enough to reduce my cancellation charges frm Rs.70,000 per person to Rs.15,000 per person. Hence the cancellation was Rs.30,000 for both o[censored]s. I asked them if they can retain the remaining Rs. 50,000 for future use. We were told that we will get a credit note valid till December. However, we never recd any credit note. I had to follow up and finally got hold of Ravi Thomas(ravi.[protected]@in.thomascook.in) from the Mumbai branch. He told me that we do not need a credit note if we travel before Sept. I wanted to travel during the Aug 15th week,

I told him to provide some domestic packages as i did not want to travel internationally as i am pregnant (4 mths) and would prefer to travel domestically. Thomas told us that since this was an international trip's credit note, we cannot use it domestically. My doctor has asked me to avoid travelling internationally. Thomas says he checked with the management and they refused to let me use this domestically. Whenever I request, they say you are lucky hat you got a credit note itself. Maybe, but I was not told at the time of the credit note that we will not be able to use it for domestic travel.

Helplessly, I asked Thomas to check for International packages. I said i want something within the 50k budget, which he claims cannot be possible. I am still following up.

I want to know why can't I use the credit note to travel domestically?? If something happens to my health, can i hold Thomas cook responsible for it? As you are forcing me to travel internationally when i do not want to. I am disapoointed with this behaviour. I believe just because Thomas cook has my Rs. 50,000 already, they are making me play. Putting conditions like you cannot travel domestic, cannot exchage credit note for foreign currency, if money is left after booking it will not be refunded etc,

I do not feel like a customer at all. I am being forced to go abroad, which is unaccepatble. If I go, and face any health issues, i will straight away get back to Thomas cook.

Please let me know if you can help me to travel to a domestic location. Thanks.
                                  Dear Anshu,
                                  Please email us your contact no. on service.[protected]@in.thomascook.com, along with the following details (Name of the package, Booking Ref No, Date and Office location where you had applied for visa ) to enable us to serve you better.
                                  Kind Regards
                                  Team Thomas Cook India

zahir1295
                                    Jun 22, 2012

Address: Mumbai Suburban, Maharashtra

I had taken Thomas Cook package for my Honeymoon from Thomas Cook (Versova, Andheri(West)).
                                    for Mumbai to Mauritius between 11th April to 17th April 2012.
                                    We had taken the entire package which included flight tickets, Hotel Stay and Sight Seeing from
                                    Thomas Cook. In Mauritius we stayed in Jalsa Beach Resort and Spa Hotel.

During our stay we had following problems, and we seek COMPENSATION for this...

1) We had asked for the 2nd floor room in the jalsa hotel, but we were given the ground
                                    floor room. We had absolutely no view of the ocean
                                    from our room.
                                    We had got assurance from Thomas Cook that we will get 2nd floor ocean view room before
                                    we started our trip.
                                    Zoheb Jivani from Thomas Cook had shown the email to us from the operation team
                                    confirming the ocean view room. We had confirmed
                                    this multiple times and only then we booked it. This was the main reason
                                    that we booked the Double Deluxe room and not the Standard room.
                                    WE NEED COMPENSATION FOR THIS.

2) We had taken the Catamarun cruize from your Thomas Cook
                                    representative Kumar in Mauritius. But just 1 day before he informed
                                    us that the cruize is damaged and we would be going on speed boat
                                    instead. Because of this we not only lost the Cruize experience
                                    but also did not get the lunch on the Cruize.
                                    We were informed only 1 day before ,
                                    moreover to be precised we were informed at 1.30 PM in the afternoon.
                                    Due to such late information we did not have any chance to change
                                    anything or to arrange from some other operator. We were left in such a
                                    terrible situation that we had no option but to accept it.
                                    This is absolutely NOT acceptable. It spoiled our mood. We mentioned in the feedback form
                                    given to vikram (Thomas Cook representative in Mauritius)
                                    at the end of the trip.
                                    WE NEED COMPENSATION FOR THIS.

3) Some of the people travelling with us on a similar package got some
                                    gifts from Thomas Cook, which we did not receive it.

I have been following up with Thomas Cook since 2 months now, but I am not getting
                                    any proper response. We need COMPENSATION for all the trouble that we have had during
                                    Honeymoon trip.

Below are the Thomas Cook contacts that I have tried to get in touch...

1) Zoheb Jivani - Cell #: [protected] ; Email: Zoheb.[protected]@in.thomascook.com
                                    2) Rita Shah[protected]/07/10 ; Email: Rita.[protected]@in.thomascook.com

Thomas Cook India Ltd.
                                    Shop No.26,Meera CHS Ltd.,
                                    New Link Road , Near Oshiwara Police Station,
                                    Near Mega Mall, Andheri (West)
                                    Mumbai - 400053
                                    I am surprised to see your comments. These guys are honest and focus on quality. Also to confirm a particular room on a particular floor seems very tough- no one does this! If a cruise ship is damaged, seriously what can a tour agent do, but give you an option? I have travelled on honeymoon and every year since with Thomas Cook India. I am a big fan.

yelhsa
                                      Nov 30, 2011

I had gone to Thomas Cook - Spencer Plaza branch on 24th November 2011 at around 2.10 pm and had wanted to send in Rs. 50,000 to my sons account in London [NatWest Bank] as it was an emergency and he needed the amount very badly. All the time he had tried to pay bills through his Card between 28th to 30th November, the transaction amounts failed.
                                      On phoning Thomas Cook again on 30th November [that is after a period of 06 days] at around 6 pm to confirm as to what had gone wrong - I got a very polite reply saying that the amount has not yet been despatched from Chennai.
                                      Thomas Cook being a reputed organisation was the reason why so many people flock to it for its services, but I was very disappointed as my son had faced many irritated faced in London due to delayed payments and was even spoken badly of due to the default of service from Thomas Cook.
                                      I would request Thomas Cook to ensure that some sort of compensation be paid to the difficulties caused to my son during the period 28th to 30th November as there were a number of international calls made and many unnecessary apologies explained for no reason of his fault.
                                      I hope and expect action to be taken at the earliest without fail as requested.
                                      Mrs. Merlin Moreira [Sr.Citizen of India - aged 65 years +]
                                      These things do happen but it is mostly because of the bank these transactions get delayed and not the operator.