HDFC Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 16, 2025
Complaints 32920

File a complaint to HDFC Bank

Having problems with HDFC Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by HDFC Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

HDFC Bank reviews & complaints page 817

abhishek chanda1981
Dec 13, 2018

This is regarding my old credit card 489377xxxxx9324 under my name abhishek chanda mobile [protected].
I raised concerns with grevievances end number of times that my card has fraudly charged two years back without any notification to me. I don't even know what the card number was... And hdfc is continuously adding up unnecessarily late fees and calling me repeatedly to make the minimum payment. I have documented email exchanges with your grievenances team, where i had requested this to settle my fraudulent transactions and all late fees added up without any justifications. Hdfc guys are pressing on saying same thing they can't investigate such old fraud transaction, so payment is applicable to me. Over 4000 rps late fee already laid on my statement which is not appropriate.
I urge to take necessary action this time to stop this as i getting harassed by your collection team without any solution in hand.
I am regular layer of credit cards of other banks with no default history and don't like to spoil my image for such thing in hdfc.

Feel free to reach me on my mobile for any clarification you need but please stop this!

Regards abhishek chanda
Jan 15, 2019
HDFC Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Dec 14, 2018
HDFC Bank Customer Care's response

We wish to clarify that, payment of at least the minimum amount due towards the card outstanding needs to be received by the bank to ensure that the card account is active and available for usage. Further, to avoid levy of finance charges and late payment charges, payment of the total outstanding needs to reach the bank by the payment due date. Specific to your card account, we are not in receipt of complete payments towards the outstanding as per the statement due date and in view of the same, bank charges as applicable was levied to your credit card account. Hence, we request you to effect payment towards the total amount due within the payment due date to avoid levy of bank charges. You may refer to the below link for details of the same. https://goo.gl/fbrudL Further, with regard to your query on transactions, we request you to send us the duly filled and signed form which is available on our website under the following path to cc.[protected]@hdfcbank.com to enable us to do the needful. Forms Center > Credit Cards > Cardholder Dispute Form.

-Nadia
HDFC Bank Customer Assistance

anoopgowtham
    from Bhimunipatnam, Andhra Pradesh
    Dec 13, 2018

Address: Guntur, Andhra Pradesh, 522007

I am anoop gowtham purchased i phone x mobile through hdfc bank consumer durable loan on[protected] and my loan number is [protected]. During purchase they promised me 10000/- cash back and i will receive that cash back after 3 emi payments. They said offer is valid till 10 june 2018. I paid 5 installments but cash back offer is not yet received. I complained issue to the concern department. Now they are saying offer was expired in 11 march 2018 and i don't receive any cash back.
    -if that was the scenario why they promised me cashback during purchase
    -i store sales person asked for reconfirmation of the offer (Hdfc executive said offer is valid till 10 june 2018)

Please kindly resolve the issue
    Jan 25, 2019
    Dec 14, 2018

We request you to write to us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com from your registered email id along with the scanned copy of the invoice and charge slip for further investigation at our end. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Manoj

poonam123789
      Dec 13, 2018

Address: Faridabad, Haryana, 121002

I would request you to send me credit card statements from start of the card till december 2017. Also i would like you to check into my credit card bills for whole period till now. There are some charges charged twice. I have a limit of 50k and in last 4 months including every month payment, i have paid 16000 +2000 every month. Still my balance shows 44000. Please check this adn explain this [censored]. I no longer want to keep this association with you. Also please tell me how to get rid of this debt faster. I am done feeding you.. Also i am not able to reach to customer care.
      Jan 17, 2019
      Dec 14, 2018

We have taken note of your comments expressed with regard to your credit card and the same is being reviewed as appropriate. You may look forward to receiving a response to your e-mail id in 3 working days. We request you to bear with us in the interim. The reference number for this interaction is[protected].

-Nadia

anukrati dosi
        Dec 12, 2018

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400093

I have been following up for my grievances since last 1 month now. I have got in touch with my personal banker, visited the branch (Kalpatru, mumbai). However, there has been absolutely very little or no help from all these sources.
        Kindly go through the below following grievance:

1) when i open netbanking, the total available balance and total closing balance are showing two different amounts. Why so?
        The available balance is always lesser than the closing balance. For eg. If i have inr 1500 in my savings account, the total available balance will show as some inr 750-800 and the closing balance would be inr 1500. The problem here is that i cannot make any transaction over and above 800 even when i have inr 1500 in my account.

2) i had blocked my credit card around 3 months back and had requested for a duplicate one. However, couldn't get hands on the same as the card was sent on my old office address where i don't work anymore. Anyway, i went to the branch and requested them to change my address so that i can receive the card at my current home address. The address has been changed but no card had has been received by me yet.
        Moreover, when i talked to the same branch people, they suggested me to deregister and deactivate all the existing cards which i did. Now, i want to apply for a new card which i am not able to because there is some error showing on the netbanking platform since last 15 days.

3) moreover, when i spoke to my personal banker.. I came to know that i need to make a payment of inr 560 against my credit card. Why so? And how do i understand the nature of this transaction now when i am unable to access any sort of credit card statement on netbanking platform?

4) the hdfc customer care number[protected] is pathetic. There is no option where i can directly speak with the customer care executive by choosing any bloody option.

5) lastly, i want to order a new credit card. Can somebody help me to get that as soon as possible?

I need hdfc to take action against my grievances on an immediate and urgent basis.

Anukrati dosi
        Customer id[protected]

AS@12315
          Dec 12, 2018

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110058

This is with respect to credit card ending 1721 associated with customer id 28030716.

In the month of january 2018, there was an inadvertent delayed payment as i was travelling out of town. During these months, i was occupied in my pre marriage functions as well.

I have been associated with this bank for more than 9 years now. I have requested for a reversal of finance charges as a gesture which was neveer granted.

In every subsequent month, i have paid all other amounts barring these finance charges. Now, these finance charges have got accumulated to rs. 54, 000.

As they have neither reversed these charges and have been charging interest in this every month. I have never expected such a behavior from this bank with whom i am associated with so long and have recommended this to not only my spouse but other 20 freinds and colleagues..

I am still being told that they are looking into this and i am still awaiting their response.
          Jan 25, 2019
          Dec 14, 2018

We wish to clarify that, payment of at least the minimum amount due towards the card outstanding needs to be received by the bank to ensure that the card account is active and available for usage. Further, to avoid levy of finance charges and late payment charges, payment of the total outstanding needs to reach the bank by the payment due date. Specific to your card account, we are not in receipt of complete payments towards the outstanding as per the statement due date and in view of the same, bank charges as applicable was levied to your credit card account. Hence, we request you to effect payment towards the total amount due within the payment due date to avoid levy of bank charges. You may refer to the below link for details of the same. https://goo.gl/izep3j For further clarifications, we request you to contact our Phone Banking officers at any of our 24-hour Phone Banking numbers mentioned in the below URL. https://goo.gl/czEfVT

-Nadia

ABCDE11
            Dec 12, 2018

I have cancelled the product from amazon on 26 oct 2018. Still i have not received refund for that.

Order date : 26 october 2018

Cancelled date : 26 october 2018

Refund reference #[protected]

Please process the refund asap.

Order id is :[protected]

Ordered product is : egoss plus men's tan leather formal shoes - 7 uk
            Jan 18, 2019
            Dec 12, 2018

I'll ensure this is taken up promptly. Please share your Account No./Card No., registered contact details, details of the transaction & the complete issue on [protected]@hdfcbank.com. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Zubin
            HDFC Bank Customer Assistance.

bhavya778
              Dec 12, 2018

I was offered credit card with my salary account so i applied for it . My address verification was done and i got the message the credit card has been processed and i can check its status . When i tracked it after 2 days it showed declined . I dont know the reason and when call on customer care number i am unable to talk to customer executive as there are automated replies.
              Jan 19, 2019
              Dec 13, 2018

I request you to share your card application no and registered contact details to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID- TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will assist you better.

-Manoj

bonam harsha vardhan
                Dec 12, 2018

Without any infromation 2452.77 has been deducted from my account by bank.
                I did not perform any kind of online payments or witdraw any money from the debit card. I did not even recieve any message regarding of otp or deduction of the amount but it is there in the transactions history. Please respond and provide the solution as soon as possibel here given below is the transaction id.

Transaction id - mir[protected].
                Jan 16, 2019
                Dec 12, 2018

We're sorry to hear that Please share your Account No. with registered contact info & complete issue on [protected]@hdfcbank.com. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Anay

Aadesh.goel
                  from Bareilly, Uttar Pradesh
                  Dec 12, 2018

Address: 249403

Adesh kumar cradit card number [protected] ye account write off h aaj mne kbi is card ko use bhi nhi kiya tha naa hi iska lene k baad password change kiya is account se hdfc bank ne bina btaye 800rs koi charge le liya jiska hme kafi din baad pta chla jo ki 27-3-18 ko mujhe hdfc cradit card service number ne btaya ki isme 4800 jma kr do aapka card bnd ho jayega mere 4800 jma krne k baad btaya ki 492 or jma kro to mne[protected] ko hi 4800 or 492 rs. Jma kr diye uske baad bhi mera ye account mere cibil me write off dikha rha h to mne fr se tollfree number pr baat ki unhone mujhse btaya ki aapke card me koi due balance nhi h aap hme apni cibil report mail kre mne unko mail kiya pr hdfc bank ki side se mujhe koi response nhi mila mne fr tollfree number pr call kr baat krne ki kosis ki to sb yhi bolte h ki aapka card ko close h isme koi balance due nhi h m punchta hu to fr bi ye write off h to kisi k pass is baat ko koi bhi jwab nhi hota wo log baat ko ghuma kr koi dusra number de dete h us number se baat nhi hoti
                  Jan 15, 2019
                  Dec 12, 2018

We note that you have sought clarification with regard to your credit card account. We request you to contact our Debt management officers at[protected] / 5160202 for further assistance in this regard.

-Nadia

Neha Gajbhiye
                    Dec 12, 2018

Address: 400614

I have withdrawn rs.6, 000 from andhra bank, wherein i got a message that my transaction is cancelled and after sometime i got a message that amount has been deducted. On that very day i did a complaint from my net banking but its been 5 days i dint get any reply.

Again calling to customer care is a pain because they asking for too much options.

Please resolved my query as the amount is big for me.
                    Jan 18, 2019
                    Dec 12, 2018

We are working on your concern vide Ref ID:[protected] and will revert to you within 3 working days.

-Zubin

vick1990jain
                      Dec 12, 2018

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110043

I had purchased an samsung mobile using hdfc debit card ending with 8245 on emis on september 08, 2018.
                      The offer stated that within 90 days the cashback would be credited to my bank account which is inr 4000/.
                      However, it has been over 90 days and cashback is not yet received. Also their customer service is one of the worst and pathetic one. They often pick any calls, and if they do, they just disconnect the call after some time.
                      I think i have been deceived and fooled by them. They are big fraud!!

My loan#: 38951783
                      Email: jain. [protected]@gmail.com
                      Jan 12, 2019
                      Dec 12, 2018

We are working on your concern vide Ref ID: HBL=[protected] and will revert to you in 3 working days.

-Zubin

Dec 12, 2018

Myself veerabhadrappa km, i am holding the hdfc bank salary account and credit card from past 10 years.
                        On 16th october 2018, i called hdfc bank customer service and ask for the loan of 2.5 lakh, and it was approved, and he told like,

1) first emi will payable on 6th november 2018.
                        2) every month emi will be inr 22, 493
                        3) one time chargs (Processing fee): rs.500

But i have recieved the jumbo loan statement on november 16th and i need to make the payment on december 6th and it was rs.1500 extra and i spoke with customer care executive twice they said like this was interest because of grace period.

My concern:

1) while taking the loan customer support executive told like, you are going to make the first emi on november 6th but i didnt recieve any statement but i kept the amount in my savings account, they didnt deduct.

2) i have recieved the statement now, and they are saying like extra rs.1500 i need to make the payment because of grace period., why should i make the extra payment? This is not my fault.,
                        Jan 15, 2019
                        Dec 12, 2018

I request you to share your complete concern, Card No. and registered contact details to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID- TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will assist you better.

-Manoj
                        Dec 12, 2018
                        Updated by [email protected]
                        Hi Manoj,

I have already sent an email to customerservices.[protected]@hdfcbank.com and grievance.[protected]@hdfcbank.com..

also, I just sent an email to "[protected]@hdfcbank.com"..

My registered email ID: veeru.[protected]@gmail.com
                        Dec 17, 2018
                        Updated by [email protected]
                        I have sent an email on Dec 12 th still i didnt recieve any reply from HDFC side..
                        Is there any response from HDFC?

anurag29
                          Dec 12, 2018

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110059

Hello team,

My name is anurag bhatia. I purchased two wheeler loan 40882529 from hdfc bank and completed all emi's. But after 7 months i came to know that there are some overdue charges of 15, 000 on me and i have to pay that. As i made my last installment after that i never informed about these charges and no message, call or mail received. I send a mail to hdfc so i came to know abut this yesterday. I checked my cibil score 5 days back and then i came to know that account is still open and it give me a lot of loss, i am trying to maintain my cibil but these guys never informed me about this and at my back my record is going down. I am not ready to pay now this amount because i already get a huge loss of my cibil due to the negligence of hdfc customer care department because no one informed me about this.
                          Jan 19, 2019
                          Dec 12, 2018

We are working on your concern vide Ref ID:[protected] and will revert to you within 3 working days.

-Zubin

velmurugan58
                            Dec 12, 2018

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600012

Kindly stop. Ach debit return charges. And reverse my 590 rs

I already paid some amount for credit card this month why you guys charged 590 rs

Screenshot attached for your reference. Pls help

My customer id 59587314
                            My account num: [protected]
                            Ifsc:hdfc0000010
                            International debit card number:[protected]
                            Branch: besant nagar
                            Contact num:[protected]
                            Alternative contact number [protected]
                            Jan 14, 2019
                            Dec 13, 2018

Our branch official has made multiple attempts to contact you however could not get through. As a one-time service gesture, we have processed reversal of said charges excluding GST which will be credited to your account in 3 working days.

-Anay
                            Dec 14, 2018
                            Updated by velmurugan58

KOGANTI RAJASEKHAR
                              Dec 12, 2018

Address: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, 500018

Applied for hdfc fastag on 30th november. No response for 5 days. Called customer care and as per their request submitted all the documents. Since then no response, customer care phone is not connecting and mail is bouncing back even though first mail with attachments was received by them. My application reference number is hfr091344. Please provide justice
                              Jan 14, 2019
                              Dec 12, 2018

Kindly write to [protected]@hdfcbank.com mentioning the Fastag reference number, to enable us to assist you further. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Zubin
                              HDFC Bank Customer, Assistance.

Yunus Kayamkhani
                                from Udaipur, Rajasthan
                                Dec 12, 2018

Address: Jaipur, Rajasthan, 302017

This is in reference with my credit card application 18j[protected]n4. I have received a second email for my application rejection without any reason. I have submitted the same query before 20 days and got reply that just wait for next 6-7 days and now after waiting for 2 weeks i received the same email which says "we cannot approve your credit card request". After waiting for 1.5 month and seeing the status in process. Now you finally came to know that you cannot approve my request. Are you trying check my patience level or what. From last 1 month i'm not able to figure to whom i should call. There is no direct number to call. I need the ans. Within next 2 days and please share the number where i can contact.
                                Jan 16, 2019
                                Dec 12, 2018

We have reviewed your comments expressed and wish to inform you that your request for credit card facility is under process and will revert to you on completion of the process. We appreciate your patience in the interim. You may also track your credit card application status in our Bank's website : www.hdfcbank.com under the below link. https://bit.ly/1GMQt4j

-Zubin
                                Dec 13, 2018
                                Updated by Yunus Kayamkhani
                                I know how to track it and I'm doing the same from last 2 weeks. Please share the number where I can contact. I always receive these kind of automated response from your end.

Vickybaby
                                  Dec 12, 2018

Please deactivate my oneassist membership plan. I don't want this plan anymore. The plan is going to expire on[protected]. Please stop this service. I am not interested. Please don't debit any amount from my credit regarding this plan. Please do the needful to stop this service.

Oneassist membership id - [protected]
                                  Credit card no - xx4028
                                  Name - vignesh r
                                  Amount - 1399

Mobile no - [protected]
                                  Email id - [protected]@gmail.com

Vignesh r

ankitathydra
                                    Dec 12, 2018

Dear concern person,

An amount of rs 590 was deducted from my account on 11th dec 2018. I received no notification about that neither any clear reason is mentioned in the statement.
                                    It is mentioned as. Ach debit return charges.
                                    Please help me get my money back.

Hdfc account details :
                                    Account number: [protected]
                                    Customer id: 75458958

Transaction details :
                                    Reference number : mir[protected]
                                    Narration :. Ach debit return charges[protected]mir[protected]
                                    Deducted date : 11 dec 2018
                                    Amount : 590

Looking forward for the solution
                                    Jan 17, 2019
                                    Dec 13, 2018

We have checked our records and confirm that the charge of Rs. 590 levied to your account on December 11, 2018, pertains to ECS debit return done on December 04, 2018 for Rs. 11, 000. In terms of Clearing guidelines, issued by RBI, the clear funds balance available in the account at the beginning of the day would be considered for the purpose of ECS(s) received in the clearing. We note that in your said account, the clear funds balance at the time of presentation of the said ECS(s), was not sufficient to cover the ECS(s) received in the clearing. Therefore the ECS(s) was returned due to insufficient funds and the corresponding charges for ECS(s) dishonor were levied to your account. Kindly note that these charges attract GST as applicable. We advise you to maintain sufficient clear funds balance in the account in the future, at the time of issuance of the ECS(s), to avoid the ECS(s) return charges being levied to your account.

-Anay

Uma Shivalli
                                      Dec 11, 2018

I have HDFC credit card since october 2017, which was said to be a lifetime free card.This month i saw in my credit card statement a transaction of 500 rupees in addition to rs.90 igst for membership renewal fees. i have already made the payment as last date was approaching.I request the bank to cancel this transaction and refund the amount.I have already spoken to customer care representatives who are just not resolving the issue since a month.
                                      Kindly look into it and resolve the issue.

Uma S
                                      Jan 20, 2019
                                      Dec 11, 2018
                                      Updated by Uma Shivalli
                                      Credit card statement received in November. Made the payment this month
                                      Dec 13, 2018

Let us look into it for you. Please share your Card No. with registered contact info, charges details & the issue on [protected]@hdfcbank.com. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Anay

navingupta2893
                                        Dec 11, 2018

This is navin gupta, account number [protected], cheque no. 115834, the cheque has been deposited on 7th dec 2018, still i didnt get the amount in my account. When i checked the status of the cheque through sms banking it says cheque invalid.

The money has been debited from depositers account. : (

I can not visit the bank as i have shifted to pune. Please suggest what needs to be done.

Navin
                                        Jan 14, 2019
                                        Dec 12, 2018

We are working on your concern vide Ref ID:[protected] and will revert to you in 2 working days.

-Zubin