Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 16, 2025
Complaints 10839

File a complaint to Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC]

Having problems with Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] reviews & complaints page 508

stilwalli
May 24, 2011

Address: Haryana

I had been using an IRCTC user id since last 4-5 years. IRCTC has suddenly disabled all the user ids. On informing IRCTC, they told me that, as I had multiple user ids, they have disabled all my user ids. These ids were created long time back, and I have not even used any of them since ages.

IRCTC should at least give some kind of notice, before performing this kind of action. I have lost all the history of past travels.

I have not been able to cancel my ticket. I wrote an email to [protected]@irctc.co.in for cancelling it. They have not even responded to my email. How should I cancel my ticket now.

Infact I used my irctc id after long time, since the inception of other booking sites like Yatra/Make My Trip. Though they are bit costly, but its really worth going through those sites.

sugandhg82
    from Nawanshahr, Punjab
    May 24, 2011

Address: Patiala, Punjab

respected sir
    i booked a flight for roundtrip to delhi-nagpur and wrong bookings have been done.i booked for
    delhi to nagpur 16th july 2:45 pm jet konnect 9W-2621
    nagpur to delhi 18th july 7:30 pm indigo 6E-134
    after the card transaction took place and i got the flight details
    they were for spice jet.kindly change these immediately as the timings do not suit us as we have prior bookings to reach delhi airport.
    there has been some serious mistake with your server while booking.
    it just happened a minute back and i spoke on your toll free number who told me to write an email.
    yours truly

i am a regular with irctc so i have faith that you will refund the "wrong" bookings and change them. PLEASE GET ME JUSTICE. I HAVE NOT BEEN HEARD ON MAKING REPEATED CALLS/ EMAILS TO IRCTC.CO.IN

niranjankrsingh
      May 23, 2011

I boarded the train no.12541(gorakhpur ltt superfast express) on 21st may 2011 from gorakhpur to lokmanya tilak terminus while travelling on 22nd may 2011 my daughter 3 yrs old was suffering from high fever ,i informed TTE and asked for medical help ,then TTE informed bhopal station with all my particulars(seat no-RAC 63,pnr no-[protected],COACH-B1 3AC etc.)and then i was told doctor will be coming at next station I TARSI . two persons visited and saw the patient in itarsi given two bottles of medicines (govt. supply not for sale) then both of them asked for Rs 400.00 as doctors fees i insisted to give receipt they refused to give receipt and forcibly taken money by saying this you have to pay. I feel this money was wrongly extracted from me and it should be refunded.

Amol Kothale
        May 21, 2011

Address: Jalgaon, Maharashtra

I am booked the ticket from BSL to NGP for the journey date 05.02.2011 morning 7.30 am.wide Pnr Number: [protected] Transaction ID: [protected] Train No: 12879 Train Name: LTT BBS SUP EXP From Station: BHUSAVAL JN(BSL) To Station: NAGPUR(NGP) Date: 05/2/2011 Class: SL Boarding: BHUSAVAL JN(BSL) Resv Upto: NAGPUR(NGP) Quota: General Booked By:

I am residing at Jalgaon. Early in the morning I am reached at BSL station at.07am
        I am just checking the time & plat form of the train I saw the train was late 7 hrs. and I have to reached at Nagpur any how on 05.02.11 before 4pm for my interview.
        The train was late and I am helpless there in unkonwn place. I am took a general ticket of Mahrashtra express and start journey to Nagpur.

While I am sitting station I am tried to cancel this online ticket due to train were late 7hrs. The ticket is not cancelled.Getting error chart is already prepared.

I am seeking refund of my money for which I am not travel. Only the reason the train were late due to the internal problem with railways. Railways is servicing to general public for that we are paying amount to them. The service which I am not use for that I am paid I need my money back.

I am immediatly contacted BSL railways dept for cancellation. They told me it's online booking you have to cancel online. That time I am not in a position to complaint and I don't know to where the complaint noted.

Details of my booking I am already given.
        Please do the needful at the earliest.

Ticket Details
        1 AMOL KOTHALE 31 Male Lower
        Payment Details
        Payment Option: ICICI Ticket Charge: Rs 201.00 Internet Service Charge: Rs10.00
        Total: Rs 211.00

delhijacky
          May 18, 2011

(1) Train No. 12505 North East Express for 16th May, 2011 chart prepared on 15th May, 2011 evening 5.00 P.M. why? As per Railway rule chart prepared before 6 hors living train.

(2) Train caters not mention the food quality, quantity and charged the excess price fixed by IRCTC.

(3) In reserved coach so many unreserved passenger travel. Train TTE allows this type of passenger. Why?

(4) Before the Mural Shari station train water stock empty, no body checks the train water.

(5) This train is superfast train, but reach ANVT (Delhi) more than 5 hours late, why?

Please look in this matter and take the necessary action. I am highly thankful to you if provided me action taken report hard copy.

Yours faithfully.
          J.N. Sharma
          PNR No.[protected], Coach No.12 set No. 7 (Setting on 13) Train No. 12505 North East Exp. Date of Journey 16th May 2011 GHY to ANVT
          Dated:[protected]

My name is Krishna K Das. I'm a regular traveller in Indian Railways and prefer its services rather than other Conveyances. Recently dated 23.09.2014, I've a journey from NDLS to TATA in train no. 12820. My PNR No. is [protected]. As regular ordering in Catering Service I've ordered Veg Meal priced INR.90.00. They delivered me the meal before 11:00 am saying that from Kanpur no meals will be available till evening. The caterer before taking the order said that they will provide Rice, Chapati, Dal, Mixed Veg, Salad, Pickle and a Cup of 200ml Water. After opening the box delivered by them I found only Rice, Dal and Mixed Veg comprising of Potato and Pumpkin only. When I asked the Caterer for Roti and Salad, he gave me a pouch of extra rice and said no Salad for Sleeper Coach and Chapati have got ended. After entering Kanpur Central, I found a new catering party and the old one have fouled my belief that no lunch shall be available from Kanpur Central. After getting such response I've not ordered the dinner in night because I don't want to get betrayed again.

This similar incident is not a new one to me and I've also experienced the same in YPR Duronto in which a Complaint has been generated but no response came till now.

If similar things continuously tend to happen on regular basis then common people like us will have to think of travelling in Trains without food. Kindly look after this issue and try to help common people like us from breaches like this.

reenashah
            May 17, 2011

To inform with deep regrate that IRCTC Tatkal online (e-ticket) reservation process is of no use with session getting drop or unavailable during initial hours of it's opening period.

Virtually every time you try to book in the morning at 8:00AM, session will either drop almost instantaneously, with "service unavailable" error, failing to load entire page, intermittent disconnect etc. Surprisingly access to all sites other than the irct works okay during initial period of Tatkal e-ticket reservation.

More to the surprise, suddenly after couple of hours of opening duration, everything start working fine only to know that all tickets have beeen waitlisted by that time. Since this is not one time or isolated incidents but being a daily affair, I feel that there is some kind of nexus to prevent people from their rights of equality.

Request to address asap in order to restore faith in the services

IRCTC TATKAL — PATHETIC OR DELIBERATELY POOR SERVICE

THIS TATKAL THING DOESENT WORK TILL EXACTLY 09.00 AM WHEN ALL THE SEATS ARE FULL. WHATEVER MAY BE THE REASON IT CAN BE SOLVED IF THE INTENTION IS THERE. BUT IT GETS WORSE. THIS IS DUE TO OUR LEADERS SITTING UP THERE WHO DOESENT CARE AT ALL FOR ANYTHING.
            No that is not true. The reason is many people will be trying to access online tatkal ticket booking, due to this servers are quite busy, hence you always get a error message as unavailable. ...

aditr80
              May 17, 2011

Address: Sagar, Madhya Pradesh

i had filed a tdr on date 10/07/2010 for the train no. 0892 / pnr no. [protected]/ booked on 07/07/2010 / date of journey 09/07/2010 / amt Rs. 498 /from: Saugor / to: Bilaspur / Quota- general / Class- SL / Ticket type- eticket / transaction ID: [protected] / Internet service charge 10/- / Bank: SBI Debit.

TICKET DETAILS:
              1. Aditya Trivedi / Age 32 / sex- male / Res status- booked
              2. Noopur Trivedi / Age 31 / sex- female / Res status- booked

REASON FOR TDR--- Train late more than three hours and passenger not travelled

TDR Status-- CCM registered

TDR Zone-- SEC

Reference No. ekt[protected]

nishantkk
                May 16, 2011

Address: Central Delhi, Delhi

Dear Concern,

I was booked a Ticket from DEHRI ON SONE(DOS) TO NEW DELHI(NDLS) for 18th May 2010. Train late more then 3 hours , so i Claim TDR for full refund amount of Rs 2248/- on 19th May 2010 out of which i have received only Rs. 1124/- on 30th Oct 2010. Rest Rs 1124/- is still Pending.

For that amount i followed up several Time (16th Nov 10, 30th Nov 10, 07th Dec 2010 & 30th Dec 2010 but No revert from IRCTC & TDR department.

PNR Number: [protected]
                Transaction ID: [protected]
                Booked On:[protected]
                Class: 3A
                Date Of Journey: 18/5/2010
                Ticket Charge: Rs 2248.00
                IRCTC Zone: CCM/NR

Please look into the matter.

Kr. Nishant Giri

mtrifaley
                  May 16, 2011

I booked online the AC 2A tickets in Tatkal for Pune Bilaspur Train. Till the chart confirmation, my number went up by 2. But unfortunatly it didnt turn as confirm tickets. This was on 13th May 2011. I am still wating for my refund, which was arprox Rs. 5500.00. Also I am trying IRCTC customer care center since morning. There is no responce. Either it rings or it shows Number is busy.

Please do let me know what should I do for it.

Mandar

nklkrishna
                    May 16, 2011

Address: Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu

IRCTC website is not working properly for the past 4 month. Server always busy or it wont open or it wont load. Then how passengers can use the website. Once I missed my journey because of this website, since I cant open the site and take print out. Like wise cant book tickets at required time. Money lost while transaction.

IRCTC is becoming worst website in public service...

rohit_39
                      from Siliguri, West Bengal
                      May 15, 2011

Address: Jalpaiguri, West Bengal

My irctc user id and password is invalid so I reset my password from forgot password option and they say that your password reset and send it in your e-mail id but i dont get any mail.
                      Hi..My IRCTC user name is "banp"..i forgot my passowrd and security question also.....kindly send me the passowrd to prashant.[protected]@oracle.com

I forgot my password of IRCTC website. I even tried to reset the password but I forgot my secret question. Now, the problem is I have booked tickets which I want to cancel but without password how will I be able to cancel the tickets??. I tried calling them also but either they do not pick up the phone nor they respond to the emails. Please help me what should I do?

i have not recieve a password via email of id sty.[protected]@gmail.com
                      PASSWORD I HAVE NOT RECIVED A PASSWORD via EMAIL OF ID KUNCHE.[protected]@GMAIL.COM
                      I forgot my irctc login password and also I don't remember the question i chose. pls do help me.
                      User ID is RAKA108

My email id is [protected]@yahoo.in
                      I faced the same problem write a mail to irctc and u wil get it immediately
                      hai..
                      i have changed the mail id in my account settings. so that the password had changed automatically and the changed password was not sent to neither to my old mail id nor to my new mail id. now i was not able to access my irctc account .. please help for this..
                      While updating my irctc profile I have updated wrong email id and password has been automatically reset and sent to wrong id. I need to cancel pnr [protected] urgently. Travel date 20 Nov. Please help.
                      I cant access my account
                      fake id is not acceptable cause confirmation mail goes to the given mail only. Do try to recall what id you mentioned there its one of your fake mail ids.
                      I mentioned smriti.[protected]@gmail.com there is a User with this id. Its not my id. How do I correct id and get my password
                      I already submit my complaint about my I R C T C password, and mail id, please update my complaint and inform this mail id [protected]@gmail.com, my mobile no-[protected]
                      I forgot my password.
                      forget my password please help me
                      My password is lost
                      16 Comments

hopeindia
                        May 15, 2011

I would like to bring your notice to the possible fraud going on in tatkal tickets booking on IRCTC website. It is widely known fact that the site freezes goes blank or stops responding exactly from 8:00 am onwards for atleast 1 hr. I tried to book tatkal ticket from Delhi to Hyderabad as per the procedure, but all attempts on IRCTC website was wastage of time as site didn't work. I observed that tatkal tickets in all classes (2AC, 3AC, SL) in all trains were gone by 8:03 am. This would be approx 1100 tickets combined for all trains running in a day between Del-Hyd. I suspect below reasons for this mess.

- The website is genuinely busy, but as it is perennial problem then why railways has not acted so far. There are plenty of ways to improve the speed of websites...after all how often do we face problem on Google where millions of hits received every sec.
                        - Corrupt railway officials deliberately bring down the site at tatkal opening time, so that they could charge extra for booking tickets at counters.
                        - Agents are using softvalley software for mass bookings. This fraud had already been revealed by Star news (check youtube videos)

I agree that site goes busy at 8:00 am, as many people try to book tickets online, but real culprit is point 2 & 3 mentioned above. 1100 tickets gone in just 3 min looks unrealistic.
                        IRCTC website and tatkal tickets are of immense use to travellers as now they don’t have to stand in queue at railway counters. But it has cut income of ticket clerks and travel agents. So these losers have joined hand to bring us back to old corrupt days.

naare2020
                          May 13, 2011

Hi this is Naresh, i am booked my e-ticket from my online account on www.irctc.co.in on 13/May/2011 for the day of journey 22/May/2011 from GUDUR(GDR) to SECUNDRABAD(SC) through HDFC NetBanking. after making my payment with conformation through HDFC NetBanking the page will not redirect to irctc site(it was rendering their itself), but by transaction has been done successfully. i received the sms to my mobile during this transaction form HDFC, and my amount will be debited from my account. these are the transaction details i am seeing on my HDFC Netbanking

Service Charge:13 May 2011 [protected]-INDIAN RAILWAYS[protected] May 2011 11.03
                          Payment: 13 May 2011 [protected]-INDIAN RAILWAYS[protected] May 2011 289.00

But i am not able to see e-ticket on my print e-ticktet list, seams that not able to take a print out of my ticket. please help me regarding this before my jounery date..... Thanking You in Advance.

urgent
                            May 12, 2011

Whenever we tried to book tickets for south indian train through tatkal,we are not able to login to the website,For the past six months the performance is under the normal rate.Even if we go for booking the link was processing for a long time and it was displayed timeout.We have tried with many people it was not able to book even a single ticket,but ticket counts are reducing at each time we were not able to book.Could you please do the needful.

Siva,

B G Prasad
                              May 11, 2011

Address: Raipur, Chhattisgarh

I had booked a train ticket on of may 2011 from IRCTC web site in Bhopal and suppose to be delevered at the following address C/O B. koteshwar Rao, 18/85, New Shanti Nagar, Raipur - 492 007
                              Someone from overnight express courier service, Raipur has colled me at morning on my phone and he requested me to collect the tickets at overnight express office, Raipur without stating the branch I requested him to diliver it at my home address but he had not do so. He said we do not diliver at home address i[censored] need it You must come to here. very bad service of Raipur office.

concerned offcer is requested to please take strong action against Raipur Branch.under intimation to my email:[protected]@yahoo.com

apkesri
                                from Khanpur, Uttar Pradesh
                                May 11, 2011

Address: Bijnor, Uttar Pradesh

I have done an online transaction to purchase a ticket on Lucknow mail from Moradabad to Lucknow boarding on 13/06/2001 for Brij Nandan. Unfortunately after the payment was made through HDFC payment gateway, the error, "REDIRECT=https://www.irctc.co.in/cgi-bin/bv60.dll/irctc/booking/bankrespon... came up without giving me the confirmation of the payment and neither the ticket is generated.

This is really embarrasing situation and IRCTC is expected to help me at the earliest with the ticket if the payment is already confirmed at their end. If not refund the same amount.

Expecting a reply as soon as possible.

A P Kesari
                                Call me: [protected]

pavan_geo
                                  May 10, 2011

Address: Karimnagar, Andhra Pradesh

My user-id got deactivated.
                                  They(IRCTC) are saying that a person should not have two user-id's
                                  Why is IRCTC harassing us like this. By deactivating a user-id, IRCTC is encouraging people to create more user-id's. This will in turn create a problem. Thay have put a ceiling on monthly bookings(10).
                                  Do they feel that people will travel only 10 times a month? Many people travel more than 20 times a month. Why don't they revise that ceiling? If they would have increased that ceiling to 20, many people wouldn't have created additional user-id's.

Did they ever think about the facilities that are being provided by them?
                                  What kind of facilities irctc is providing in their canteens?
                                  Non hygienic food is being served in many places at very high price.
                                  Did they ever conducted a customer feed back survey?
                                  More fraud is done through offline bookings than online bookings.
                                  To cover all their inabilities they are doing these kind of Deactivations.

This is really a harassment from IRCTC.

Anurag Saran
                                    May 9, 2011

Address: Uttar Pradesh

Dear Concern,

I had booked two tickets of 3AC from Anand Vihar to Bareilly to Train no 12552, PNR No is [protected]. Ticket was confirmed in coach G7 Passenger Name Anurag Saran Seat NO 0077/SM &Passenger Name Swati Saran Seat NO 0078/SU . But train route was changed due to Gurjar Andolan. We didn't journey on that day this train because train was not going to Bareilly it was going through Kanpur and Lucknow .Total Amount i have paid 552 for two tickets .I file TDR for those tickets on 17th March 2011, but till date on refund I got in TDR status it is showing Refund Status . Refund under Process the Reference NO ekt[protected]. Kindly try to refund my ASAP. still 3 months already complete for this issue . Waiting for your response.
                                    My Mobile NO.is [protected] my Email id is [protected]@rediffmail.com
                                    Dear Concern,

I had booked fore tickets of SL from BBS to BSP to Train no 18507, PNR No is [protected]. Ticket was confirmed in coach S5 Passenger Name 1. PANCHU NAHAK 29 Male CNF S5 10
                                    2. MEENAKHI NAHAK 24 Female CNF S5 15
                                    3. KABIRAJ NAHAK 35 Male CNF S5 13
                                    4. REENA NAHAK 27 Female CNF S5 12.

But train LETE 09:30 HRS. We didn't journey on that day this train because NEXT train LEAVE FROM BSP STATION.Total Amount i have paid Rs. 1282.90 * for FORE tickets .I file TDR for those tickets on 22 DEC 2015, but till date on refund. Waiting for your response.
                                    My Mobile NO.is [protected] my Email id is [protected]@gmail.com
                                    Refund My TDS Amount pls.

Complaint comments 0 Comments
                                    Share0 Tweet0 Share0

vikas1985
                                      May 9, 2011

I Vikas Tripathi had booked tickets for a journey on 10.05.2011 evening 4:30 p.m. almost, from New Delhi to Dhanbad for three people and return journey on 12.05.2011.

The PNR for journey from New Delhi to Dhanbad is [protected], and the PNR for return Journey from Dhanbad to New Delhi is [protected].

Now due to some reason i have to cancel the trip.
                                      SInce morning i am trying to login in www.irctc.co.in , site is not working, i had tried to take help from my friends in Delhi as well as in gurgaon, but site is not opening anywhere.

And i am trying to reach IRCTC customer care since one hour before lodging this complaint on these numbers of IRCTC customer care
                                      Tel.No.[protected] Fax No.[protected]. Customer Care No.[protected], 23344773, 23340000.
                                      But i am not getting answer anywhere, numbers are either engaged or not answered.
                                      Now as per the clause of railway refunds, if cancellation is done within 24 hours of train journey is done, minimum flat rate or 25 % of ticket value which is higher is deducted, here i am trying my best to cancel the tickets before that 24 hour deadline, but there is no option exercisable for that.
                                      So it is my fault that tickets are not cancelled.

Asking for appropriate action.
                                      With Regards,
                                      Vikas Tripathi

D.Narendra
                                        May 9, 2011

i am Narendra , i frustrated with irctc website. i want to know the process behind arranging TATKAL reservation. How can a broker(reservation agent) set a ticket of waiting list num 84 get confirmed. And they are demanding 1000 to 1500 rs extra charges for a ticket. now, a common man can not take a tatkal ticket in irctc.. y all these fuss,,,, if we take a tatkal ticket ,, i'm sure that won't be confirmed.
                                        We can't get availability for a trip before one month. i know,, this is a BIG SCANDAL, that a common man can not understand. PLEASE make it FAIR............